Submitted by Bentley

For years (article published in Barbados Underground in 2007) I have been saying that diabetes, hypertension, Alzheimer, erectile dysfunction and several other similar conditions all have the same cause, the inability of the body to metabolise carbohydrates effectively, a condition named Chronic Metabolic Collapse Syndrome.  The medical community is only now recognising this.  It will take at least another 15 years before they start recommending effective methods to prevent these conditions.

See brief presentation:

262 responses to “Health Issues for Barbadians – Diabetes, Hypertension, Alzheimer, Erectile Dysfunction”

1. David
    December 2, 2018 12:25 PM

Hoping you had a view as one of the elders on the blog about the Bajan identity and how immigration would change it for better or worse. Carry on!

I’ve already written at length on Bajan values and identity.

Remember

CHOYCE, ROCK, HOPE, CONTENT, HARMONY, FRIENDSHIP, UNION etc etc

Nice to know I am considered an elder, and by extension, WISE!!

More recently I looked at how they were lost.

2. @David December 2, 2018 9:35 AM “Is it a simple transaction to bolster population level? What about our identity, the values of a Bajan?”

Identity is entirely a social, not a biological construct.

Yes we can..

Turn a Chinese into a Bajan.

3. @TheOGazerts December 2, 2018 10:22 AM “Wondering how the alcohol helps/helped.

Alcohol alters judgement. So the alcohol helped by causing you to believe that you are a bedroom gorilliphant. Lolll!!! But if the lady had in one or two as well, and so believed as well and everybody ends up happy. What then is the problem?

Or maybe to quote Shakespeare ““it provokes the desire, but it takes away the performance”

But ssshhh.

I won’t tell

4. Imagine that, to substantiate a point by using the knowledge/findings of a doctor, another one finds his remarks invalid, offensive or not fully explanatory for whatever reason… Really? just for the satisfaction of ego? no wonder the confusion.

@ Lexicon.. valid point.

As for Aspartame, John Public became of its use and it’s dangerous effects. Though not fully removed, it is still used in certain chewing gum and rat poison.

5. Georgie Porgie December 2, 2018 11:07 AM “WHY DID SO MANY OF US WHO WENT SCHOOL IN DE 50’S AND 60’S SURVIVE PUN JU-C’S AND MARTINEAUX DRINKS…AND LEARNED WELL?”

Back in our good old days, most mummies and daddies did not drive their little darlings right into the school yard. We walked a quarter mile or half a mile or maybe a mile to the bus stop. We had a lot of brothers and sisters and cousins, and stent our vacations playing outdoors.

We quite naturally got plenty of exercise.

6. 9 OF 9

TELL US WHAT ASPARTAME IS? AND HOW IT IS SO BAD AND WHY?

RE no wonder the confusion.

THE CONFUSION IS ONLY IN THE MINDS OF ILITTERATES WHO THINK THAT ALL THEY FIND ONLINE IS GOSPEL ON ANY SUBJECT

RE Imagine that, to substantiate a point by using the knowledge/findings of a doctor, another one finds his remarks invalid, offensive or not fully explanatory for whatever reason… Really?

YES JACK ASS BECAUSE HE IS SAYING WHAT SOME ONE HAS PAID HIM TO SAY EVEN THOUGH HE KNOW IT IS NOT TRUE

YOU TRIED to substantiate a point by using the knowledge/findings of a doctor,WITHOUT KNOWING THE BASIC INFO THAT HE WAS TELLING ABOUT. UNLIKE YOU I KNOW THE RELEVANT BIOCHEMISTRY

IF THE DUMMY YOU CITE MAKES REMARKS THAT ARE invalid, offensive or not fully explanatory for whatever reason…THEY ARE JUST THAT ……….. invalid, offensive or not fully explanatory for whatever reason…AND I MAKE NO APOLOGY FOR SAYING SO

YOU HAVE NOT GIVEN ANY THOUGHT TO WHAT I HAVE SAID BECAUSE AS USUAL WUNNAH BU MORONS TINK THAT A BAJAN CANT KNOW ANYTHING AND ONCE YA COME FROM OVAH IN AWAY YA RIGHT

I LOVE TO CRUSH SUCH THINKING LIKE WHEN YOU WERE MISLEADING THE BLIND HERE LAST CHRISTMAS ON THE DOCTRINE OF THE RAPTURE ABOUT WHICH YOU KNOW NOTHING!

7. RE Back in our good old days, most mummies and daddies did not drive their little darlings right into the school yard. We walked a quarter mile or half a mile or maybe a mile to the bus stop. We had a lot of brothers and sisters and cousins, and stent our vacations playing outdoors.

We quite naturally got plenty of exercise.

SO WHAT EXACTLY DOES THAT HAVE TO DO WITH THE NUTRITIONAL VALUE OF SWEET DRINKS? TELL ME.

8. @ Georgie Porgie MD,

I have an appointment to see a Cardiologist tomorrow but I think that since I think the heart is like a ” pump “, I should go to my mechanic instead.

He is very good at repairing fuel and oil pumps.

9. QUESTION

Georgie Porgie December 2, 2018 11:07 AM “WHY DID SO MANY OF US WHO WENT SCHOOL IN DE 50’S AND 60’S SURVIVE PUN JU-C’S AND MARTINEAUX DRINKS…AND LEARNED WELL?”

ANSWER
    THE CARBS IN THE SWEET DRINKS
    1- PROVIDED ENERGY FUH WE TO RUN BOUT
    2 – IT PROVIDED GLUCOSE- THE FUEL THAT THE BRAIN PREFERS ABOVE ALL FUELS

10. I have to admit that I am wondering if you people with the crazy comments aren’t actually tricking GP into making a contribution.

I have been wondering about these research findings and coming to the same conclusion – “He who pays the piper calls the tune.”

Anyway, I eat what my grandparents and other family elders ate and what my parents still eat, get some exercise
    and sleep and hope for the best.

11. Georgie Porgie

Here the answer to your question: research has shown that high fructose corn syrup which is added in sodas ( in America … don’t know about Barbados) has an increase risk of high blood pressure, heart disease and diabetes …

12. RE Hants December 2, 2018 2:11 PM

@ Georgie Porgie MD,

I have an appointment to see a Cardiologist tomorrow but I think that since I think the heart is like a ” pump “, I should go to my mechanic instead.

He is very good at repairing fuel and oil pumps.

YES DO THAT MAN
    DO THAT
    AND SEE IF THEY DONT HAVE TO PLANT YA SOON

PLEASE NOTE the heart is NOT like a ” pump “, the heart IS a ” pump “
    THAT IS THE FUNCTION FOR WHICH CARDIAC MUSCLE IS DESIGNED

13. It has nothing to do with the nutritional value of soft drinks, and I did not say that it had.

We ate/drank high caloric foods. We got a lot of exercise and “burned off” any excess consumption.

In addition since most families did not have refrigeration, and since sweet drinks taste better when they are nice and cold, chances are the 6 to 8 once sweet drink we had on school days was it. Likely we had none at home, except maybe at Christmas time.

I still get a lot of exercise, 7 to 15 hours per week I eat pretty much what I feel like, but I haven’t gained any weight for decades, and sometimes when I go to the doctor I have lost weight, that is especially so during the rainy season when I do maybe 15 hours of hard labour each week.

But making gauva jelly now. 10 bottles today, another 10 tomorrow. Lolll!!!

The doctor did NOT order the gauva jelly making.

But we all need a little fun/sweetness in life.

14. RE Donna December 2, 2018 2:12 PM

I have to admit that I am wondering if you people with the crazy comments aren’t actually tricking GP into making a contribution.
    THEY NOT TRICKING ME TO MAKE NO CONTRIBUTION CAUSE I HAVE SAID NOTHING ABOUT HEALTH ISSUES FOR BARBADIANS – DIABETES, HYPERTENSION, ALZHEIMER, ERECTILE DYSFUNCTION AND DONT PLAN TO

IT IS AMAZING THAT YOU THINK I AM MAKING A CONTRIBUTION WHEN I AM NOT EVEN TRYING

I have been wondering about these research findings and coming to the same conclusion – “He who pays the piper calls the tune.”

YOU ARE 100% CORRECT HERE

Anyway, I eat what my grandparents and other family elders ate and what my parents still eat, get some exercise and sleep and hope for the best.

AND YOU WILL MOST LIKELY REACH 100 YEARS OR NEAR TO THAT IF YOU CONTINUE DOING THIS!

15. Finally a John video that I can watch!

16. I ONCE HAD A PATIENT IN HOSPITAL WHO WAS AN AGRICULTURAL WORKER ALL HER LIFE
    COMING UP TO CHRISTMAS THE YEAR SHE DIED SHE GOT HER ANUAL HOLIDAY, CAUGHT THE FLU AND DECIDED TO LIE DOWN

NEXT THING YA KNOW SHE IN HOSPITAL WITH A DEEP VEIN THROMBOSIS

WHEN THE BLOOD TESTS CAME BACK SHE WAS FOUND TO HAVE LUKEMIA AND SOON DIED

ONE WONDERS HOW MUCH LONGER SHE WOULD HAVE GONE ON IF HER VACATION HAD NOT COME UP THEN, SINCE SHE DIDNT DEVELOP THE CANCER OVER NIGHT

17. GP,

So you are wondering if perhaps the news killed her rather than the disease?

18. NO I WONDER IF IT WAS THE REST…..NOT THAT REST IS BAD
    BUT SHE HAD BEEN WORKING HARD UP TO HER VACATION WITH OUT ANY SYMPTOMS EVEN THOUGH HER WHITE CELL COUNT WAS VERY HIGH

SOME FROWNED ON SUCH HARD WORK BACK IN DE DAY AND BARROW LONGED FOR THE DAY WHEN THERE WOULD BE NO CANE BLADES

WE ARE ALMOST THERE BUT WE HAVE NOT ADEQUATELY REPLACED THE HARD WORK OR THE CANE BLADES

SO MANY WORKED FOR 65 YEARS AND WENT HOME AND SAT IN THEIR LOVELY LOUNGE CHAIR RECIEVED AS A RETIREMENT PRESENT AND WERE DEAD IN A SHORT WHILE FROM DEEP VEIN THROMBOSIS

19. Google what, you seem not to understand the power of intuition when that door is widely open, neither of accessing the realms of Source, the Akash or mind, ….like the Pharasees..”having knowledge but lack the power thereof”. By the way, why do you associate me with Biochemistry, that is so much linearity and based?

Now you move to Fabrications, no where in the video did the Dr say he is being paid, obviously you are disclosing aspects of the fraternity, nothing new there, actually by your definition, it seems that doctors are dummies, that says much of those who tutor them.

As for the Rapture, not so much the what, but how it unfolds…it’s future knowledge for most and by that time, many will be aghast at the loss for lack of belief and action.. “Depart from me, you workers of iniquity”.

Still waiting for what is your answer to what is the Trinity and while you at it, the code of 12. ..

Don’t play with me.

20. SIMPLE SIMON WILL PROBABLY GET UP TO 100 OR NEAR THERE WITH ALL HER GARDENING—IT IS ENJOYABLE EXERCISE AND MUCH LESS EXPENSIVE THAN GOING TO THE GYM
    THERE IS SOMETHING ABOUT HARD WORK AND THE FOODS WE ATE THAT PROMOTES LONGEVITY
    IT IS ONE OF THE THINGS OUR VERY AGED FOLK HAVE IN COMMON

21. Still waiting for what is your answer to what is the Trinity

ASK BUSH TEA HE KNOW ALL ABOUT IT

OR BETTER READ A TEXT BOOK ON SYSTEMATIC THEOLOGY.
    I RECOMMEND T.G EVANS, THIESSON OR CHAFFER

OR YOU CAN GOOGLE IT LIKE YOU HOW YOU GOOGLE THE VIDEO ON FRUCTOSE ETC WHEN YOU SOUGHT TO TEACH ME ABOUT GLYCOSIDIC BONDS LOL LOL

and while you at it, the code of 12. .. I DONT KNOW NUTTIN BOUT NO CODES

22. G.P,.

Oh, I see! You are wondering if the exercise was counteracting the progression of the disease. That is an interesting thought.

Yep. Outdoor work mostly, producing the foods that you eat. I was thinking the same about Simple Simon.

23. GP …your thoughts
    As salt was to the past, GARLIC is to the future

24. @Georgie Porgie December 2, 2018 2:35 PM

i am wondering if your patient didn’t “catch the flu” because her immune system was already compromised by the underlying but undiagnosed luekemia?

Then she lay down at home because she was “tired” frm both the flu and the underlying lukemia?

25. OK 9 0F 9
    I WILL GET SOME GARLIC FOR YOU LEXICON AND OTHER MORONS OF YOUR ILK
    I LOVE GARLIC AND SO DO THE IRON CHEFS!

26. Simple Simon December 2, 2018 4:18 PM
    i am wondering if your patient didn’t “catch the flu” because her immune system was already compromised by the underlying but undiagnosed luekemia?

Then she lay down at home because she was “tired” frm both the flu and the underlying lukemia?

INDEED! VERY LIKELY BUT I ALSO LIKE DONNA’S THOUGHT ABOUT HER HARD WORK COUNTERACTING THE DISEASE

I NOTE YOU SAID SHE MIGHT HAVE BEEN TIRED frOm both the flu and the underlying lukemia BUT NOT FROM THE HARDWORK.
    CAUSE HARDWORK DONT KILL NOBODY

27. Georgie Porgie
    December 2, 2018 3:18 PM

SIMPLE SIMON WILL PROBABLY GET UP TO 100 OR NEAR THERE WITH ALL HER GARDENING—IT IS ENJOYABLE EXERCISE AND MUCH LESS EXPENSIVE THAN GOING TO THE GYM
    THERE IS SOMETHING ABOUT HARD WORK AND THE FOODS WE ATE THAT PROMOTES LONGEVITY
    IT IS ONE OF THE THINGS OUR VERY AGED FOLK HAVE IN COMMON

++++++++++++++++++

My old cane cutter friend, 74 last Thursday, told me all the old people up by him keep or kept a garden with sweet potatoes minimum.

By old he means anyone older than he is who he came and found, so 85 and above!!

He introduced me to a 98 year old man who rides his bicycle daily to lime with the boys!!

Part of the benefit of the garden, besides exercise and good food is that it allows the old person to just step outside and make a healthy meal.

They don’t have to rely on young folk to transport them to the supermarket or bring them food.

Gardening makes them INDEPENDENT, a feeling they enjoyed from long before 1966!!

I have noticed that old people tend not to eat if it is difficult to get food and can quickly go down hill if their families are slow to spot the signs.

Sometimes it is necessary to take the independence away gently.

28. I AM WITH YOU THERE JOHN
    NOT DOING SOME MEANINGFUL WORK IS KILLING ! NOT FOR THE MONEY BUT FOR THE MIND
    MY 87 YEAR OLD MOTHER IS SUFFERING NOW THAT SHE IS UNABLE TO GET IN HER GARDEN REGULARLY –SHE ALWAYS HAD A GARDEN

29. John,
    Which part of the country is the 98 yr old man who rides a bike to lime with the boys?

30. My great grandmother on my Grandfather’s side was a seamstress and her husband a tailor.

They lived in Oistins.

She worked hard all her life to make ends meet.

One day, she decided she was done with all the work and took to her bed.

She quickly passed.

She was born in the 1850’s and died in the 1930’s, long before I was born.

She was probably about 80.

It is possible she was ill but the oral family history was she just decided to go ‘long.

My grandfather died at 91 in 1985.

He ate well and did not take a lot of exercise but was never overweight.

He was always however thinking and interested in life!!

He was sharp as a tack until his death.

What’s inside your mind is also important, it isn’t only diet and exercise.

My grandfather survived a near death experience in 1968, left the island for surgery in New York in 1968 on a stretcher and survived to tell the tale … in fact he used to enjoy relating his experiences to anyone who would listen, family or not, even to the point of showing the scars,

All I knew as a child was he had his spleen removed.

Health is a combination of the mental and physical.

Quite often the mental aspect of health trumps (no pun intended) the physical!!

31. Christ Church Hal

32. @John,

Providence.

33. I know from my research of a 126 year old, a 120 year old and also a 114 year old slave!!

Elizabeth Holder at 120 was buried in Westbury in 1878 I think, need to check where she died.

The 114 year old slave who appears in the 1817 returns I believe was Ch Ch or St. Philip but I would need to check.

The 126 year old woman, Elizabeth Philips, was either Ch Ch or St. Philip, would need to check.

That was in the 1800’s.

34. Hal Austin
    December 2, 2018 5:46 PM

@John,
    Providence.

Returning national!!

35. … from the UK!!

36. He may have eaten well and had lots of exercise in the UK but there is a strong mental aspect to health.

37. John,

They do not make them like that anymore.

38. Hall

Diet and exercise have changed for sure.

Nobody however seems to link the philosophy of life that was passed from generation to generation to health!!

39. Hal

I know of one recent centenarian according to my barber and others at the time, who came to blows with a younger man over a young woman from Cuba!!

He was probably in his 90’s at the time of the incident!!

There is a mental toughness in people who make it to these ages that transcends the physical.

For them life is simple.

40. We are the ones who make it complex!!

41. We are the ones who look only to the physical to give us long lives!!

42. You will see life expectancy in the US falling, not by much, but falling nonetheless!!

The decrease is caused by increases in death by suicide and drug overdose in young people.

That says it all!!

43. John,

The key is not to let our elderly talk yo foreign researchers. In fact, they should be banned from the country for working without work permits.

44. No Hal

The key is to get our youngsters to want to seek out the wisdom of their elders!!

What our centenerians will mostly say is that it is God!!

… and they got that from their elders and applied it to their lives.

45. John

IN 1975 IN THE SUMMER HOLIDAY AFTER MY FIRST YEAR AS A MED STUDENT MY MOM GOT ME A JOB WORKING IN THE HOSPITAL LAB. THAT SUMMER I ATTENDED 25 POST MORTEMS

AT ONE PARTICULAR POST MORTEM I WATCHED THE PATHOLOGIST REMOVE TISSUES AND ORGANS FROM ALL OVER THE BODY OF THIS DECEASED 80 YEAR OLD.

AS HE SLICED UP THE MATERIALS FOR MICROSCOPIC ANALYSIS LATER HE KEPT SHAKING HIS HEAD

EVENTUALLY OUT OF CURIOSITY, I ASKED HIM WHY HE WAS SHAKING HIS HEAD

HE SAID THAT HE COULD FIND NOTHING WRONG WITH THE MAN FROM GROSS VISUALIZATION OF THE TISSUES

I CONCLUDED THAT THE MAN HAD DIED NOT BECAUSE HE WAS SICK BUT BECAUSE HE HAD SINNED. CALL ME CRAZY BUT THAT IS WHAT I THOUGHT THEN AND IT IS WHAT I BELIEVE NOW. AND I HAVE SCRIPTURE TO BACK MY VIEW

46. Hal

All you have to do is google “common traits of those who live to 100” and you will see the researchers already know, or at least, think they know.

What they do not know and will never know is which are the more important traits and in what combination.

So they reduce it to a dozen or less!!

Maybe they missed a couple of important ones!!

47. @Georgie Porgie December 2, 2018 4:34 PM “I NOTE YOU SAID SHE MIGHT HAVE BEEN TIRED frOm both the flu and the underlying lukemia BUT NOT FROM THE HARDWORK.”

This is completely unscientific, but i speak about “good tired” and “bad tired”

Good tired is what I feel after two to five hours working in the garden in the hot sun, I always take along plenty of water, and most times a good friend. When I come home I am good tired. But a shower and a good meal renews me. So sometimes I’ll then do 3 or 4 hours of light housework, laundry, cooking, cleaning windows. A good night’s sleep and I am good to go next morning.

Bad tired is what I feel if I sit around all day. Bad tired is what I’ve felt when I had had the flu. Had the flu last in 2012. At that time I was so tired that I felt that death would have been a release.

However I am glad that I am still here.

So I am all for physical activity, including regular intense activity.

48. @John December 2, 2018 6:45 PM “You will see life expectancy in the US falling, not by much, but falling nevertheless!! The decrease is caused by increases in death by suicide and drug overdose in young people.”

We have suicide and drug abosuse in Barbados too, but maybe our elders can teach the world something.

When a friend f my father’s was only 103, I asked him if he would marry again. He had been married a couple of time before. His response “of course nuh!” I don’t think that he ever worried about ED. Very, very, positive person.

Another old guy I know would every evening ride his bicycle from Sion Hill to Green Hill (a distance of about 7 or 8 miles) when he was well up to his late 80’s or early 90’s. He lived alone, and “did” for himself, but I heard that he had a girlfriend at Green Hill, but I am not a one to bring tales out of school (may he rest in peace)

49. SS
    WHAT YOU CALL “GOOD TIRED” IS A SENSE OF SATISFACTION—PLEASURE AT HAVING ACHIEVED OR ATTAINED A PARTICULAR GOAL…

WHAT YOU CALL “BAD TIRED” IS A SENSE OF BOREDOM–A SENSE OF HAVING WASTED SOME OF THE TIME ALLOTTED TO YOU. THIS IS PAINFUL AND NOT AT ALL PLEASURABLE

I CANT UNDERSTAND HOW FOLK DONT LIKE OR WANT TO WORK

AS SOON AS GOD MADE ADAM HE PUT HIM TO WORK
    I SINCERELY BELIEVE THAT WE WERE MADE TO WORK

I ALSO BELIEVE THAT MEN SHOULD SEEK WORK BEFORE THEY LOOK FOR WOMAN JUST AS ADAM HAD WORK BEFORE EVE WAS MADE