barbadosI may have finally understood the concept of independence in Barbados. It is of a country which gained political independence from Great Britain in 1966 but somehow the teetered yoke of dependence remains firmly affixed to the necks of its people. I hope the sociologists and political scientists from the UWI will weigh in on this one.

We have had a long history of dependence. It was shaped by the slave masters who created a dependence for food and shelter during slavery. It was enhanced by the British Government during the colonial era and for the past 52 years that dependence has been enshrined by the successive political administrations which ruled after 1966. So, for the past 52 years politics has shaped our economic dependence.

The Bizzy Williams, Cow Williams, Mark Maloneyโ€™s and the lot all depend on each political administration for lucrative contracts and sweet heart deals to become successful. They have benefited from dependence. The poor and the middle class depend on the government for a job which technically ends up as a trap as they deny themselves independence.

The dependence on government jobs is a trap for life but most see it as job that belongs to them until they retire. That job security has instilled the dependency syndrome. They have failed to understand that they are not economically independent.

The two-party system has also been to our detriment. We have developed a penchant for political promises and believe that everything should be provided by government and if is not provided by one administration, the other plays a game of bait and switch. We have allowed successive administrations to prevent us from becoming economically independent.

We have not pressed for a referendum to effect change in any area; we are leaving it up to government to make those changes if they want to; we have not agitated for inclusions to be part of the ballot. Our dependency has put our fate in the hands of each administration. Two good cases that we have at present to press for a referendum on are the decriminalization of marijuana and the creation of a new mortgage legislation. Changes in both areas will alter our economic dependence. However, we are waiting patiently, depending on government to makes these changes that we need in its own time frame.

The retrenchment by the present administration has touched a sore nerve, everyone expecting the worse, pondering what people will go home to do, wondering how they will pay their bills, referring to the fact that they have children to send to school, being over reactionary about last- in first- out scenarios, the union are on high alert and predicting even more job losses. It is as if the skies were falling but all we are hearing are echoes of dependency.

It is the same dependency that has led us to be thinkers and not doers, to make abject criticism of everyone who has a difference of opinion, to discourage new ways to doing old things. We display the apathy of being stuck in rut when we are intelligent enough to do better. We have become so dependent on government that it has taken what has occurred during the past 10 years for some of us to admit that government does not have all the right answers.

Ultimately the one question that must be asked is if the only persons to receive economic freedom on November 30th, 1966 was the political class. Our success or failure should not depend on the political actions of government; we must become economically independent by becoming involved in activities to make us economically independent. We must change our mindset to understand that if ever a national retrenchment occurs, it is viewed as an opportunity for a people to change the course of their history.

215 responses to “A Heather Cole Column – Barbados: Politically Independent Country-Economically Dependent People”

1. John, my dear George is the twisted badword. But you may take the name if it fits you.

2. That there is a Caribbean lecturer in 1940s/50s London (they are still few and far between), with a Barbadian student, young, radical (as you say) and at the same college who did not find time out to attend any lecturers by this celebrated young Caribbean economist at the LSE? Nor has Barrow ever referenced any of Lewisโ€™ books or essays. Very strange.

If you listen to Deakin and his first clip you will hear of 8 instances of young people in the 30’s in Britain who joined the Communist Party of Great Britain.

You will realise that students at the LSE from the 30’s were joining the CPGB.

Sir Arthur Lewis went to the LSE in 1932.

In the 1930’s you will hear Deakin say that not only did the CPGB have an influence at universities in Britain, but also in the colonies.

Did Sir Arthur Lewis join the CPGB at LSE?

He also speaks to the change in focus of the CPGB in the latter half of the 1930’s so it is possible he did not.

EWB was 17 when Clement Payne came to Barbados (a colony) in 1937 from Trinidad (another colony) and then went to England in 1940 where he stayed for the war.

Perhaps when he got to the LSE he was a “radical” already and perhaps Sir Arthur Lewis was not!!

Sir Arthur Lewis would have come of age 5 years before EWB who would have come of age in the last part of the 1930’s and early 40’s.

Would be interesting to read about Sir Arthur Lewis and his time as a student at LSE but there is perhaps nothing strange about EWB not attending any of his lectures. After the war EWB studied Law at the Inns of Court and economics at the London School of Economics concurrently, taking degrees in 1949 and 1950 respectively.

Here is Sir Arthur Lewis’ biography. He was at University of Manchester from 1950 where he really got into developmental economics.

https://www.nobelprize.org/prizes/economic-sciences/1979/lewis/biographical/

“I did some lecturing on this to colonial students at LSE in the 40s, but it was the throng of Asian and African students at Manchester that set me lecturing systematically on development economics from about 1950, following Hayekโ€™s rule that the way to learn is to teach.”

“Half my interest was in policy questions, and here, my knowledge broadened in the 50s and 60s as a result of numerous visits to, and work stints in, African and Asian countries. This half led to my book on development planning published in 1966.”

“One day in August, 1952, walking down the road in Bangkok, it came to me suddenly that both problems have the same solution. Throw away the neoclassical assumption that the quantity of labour is fixed. An โ€œunlimited supply of labourโ€ will keep wages down, producing cheap coffee in the first case and high profits in the second case. The result is a dual (national or world) economy, where one part is a reservoir of cheap labour for the other. The unlimited supply of labour derives ultimately from population pressure, so it is a phase in the demographic cycle.”

These last two excerpts suggest to me Sir Arthur Lewis was too interested in his subject area to be too interested in being a radical and that he became an authority who would be sought out by students in the 50’s and 60’s, after EWB had left LSE and finished his studies.

He and EWB thus had little in common except they both happened to go to LSE.

Hope this helps resolve the strangeness question.

3. @Jeff,
    No it does not. It makes me very suspicious. I will give an example: I lived in London during the student movement of the late 1960s; it was a time when many radical lecturers (American, Australian, European and British) joined the students at the barricades.
    At the LSE, they tried to get rid of Robin Blackburn, a young sociology lecturer, and the LSE was invaded. I was part of the hundreds of thousands who descended on the American embassy in October 1968 in protest of the Vietnam War.
    Most important of all, is that the radical lecturers came from all kinds of disciplines, which led to many of us reading books on subjects many of us did not fully understand. Equally, many of them attempted to relate their disciplines to the student struggles.
    People of the calibre of Ronald Dworkin(Legal theory), Thomas Szasz(Psychiatry), Sartre (philosophy) and numerous others (subjects which I still have an interest in today). You read their books because you wanted to know who these people were that identified with the political causes you supported.
    It was also the era of black power, so we read any and everything by or about black authors, everything in foreign languages translated in to English (mainly from French ie Frantz Fanon, Negritude, Aime Cesaire, et al)). We listened to music, visited art galleries, read poetry, etc. We were discovering black culture.
    I lived not far from CLR ‘Nello’ James and spent a number of evenings at his home at 20 Staverton Road in North West London just sitting and hearing this great man speak of his experiences. I sat and listened to the late Leroy Harewood, a great Barbadian, talking about his times in London, Barbados and London again. When Walter Rodney was kicked out of Jamaica in the mid-1970s many of us were there outside the high commission protesting about this act of betrayal.
    It is very difficult describing those times unless you were there. I say all this @ Jeff, to point out that I and my friends, many of them Barbadians, were driven by curiosity. We wanted to know who we were as a people.
    That Barrow did not seem to have this curiosity I find very disappointing.

4. “After Malaysia threw Singapore out, the PAP leaders did not have much choice but to adopt an export-driven industrialisation strategy. Credit for this belongs to Albert Winsemius who was Singaporeโ€™s economic adviser from 1961 to 1984. There was nothing particularly cutting-edge about it.

In fact, the plan was based on a simple model in vogue at the time called โ€œEconomic Development with Unlimited Supplies of Labourโ€ put forward by the West Indian economist and Nobel prize winner Arthur Lewis in the 1950s. Lewisโ€™s model was similar to the Soviet model of extensive growth relying on using abundant cheap labour employed at subsistence wages, which could then be used to finance investment and employ more labour.”

https://kenjeyaretnam.com/2015/04/02/perspiration-without-inspiration-singapores-role-in-the-asian-economic-boom/

Found this interesting โ€ฆ. obviously Lee Kuan Yew sought out Sir Arthur Lewis whereas EWB did not!!

5. @John,

Stop lifting stuff from Wikipedia. You still do not understand. I am out of further discussion about this subject with you..

6. dearest darling donna
    John, my dear George is the twisted badword.
    thanks for your very kind words
    i will treasure them till I die
    but I AM VERY STRAIGHT FORWARD

7. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

That Barrow did not seem to have this curiosity I find very disappointing.

Hal, I suspect that Barrow was a conservative at heart.

8. HAL
    THE MAN CAN RED WUH HE WANT FE READ JUST AS YOU CAN TALK YOUR RUBBISH IN YOUR GREAT MAGNUS OPUS AH LIE
    TOO MANY A WUNNAH WANT FE TELL PEOPLE WUH FE DO

9. @ Jff,

That is my point. A very class conscious conservative. The ideology of a certain class of Bajans.

10. Hal

It is sosimple.

Sir Arthur Lewis was born in 1915, Erroll Barrow in 1920.

Sir Arthur Lewis attended LSE as a student from 1932 when Erroll Barrow was 12.

He became a full professor at Manchester in 1948.

EWB took degrees in 1949 and 50 when Sir Arthur Lewis was at Manchester!!.

EWB and Sir Arthur Lewis were not alike, one was an intellectual, the other was not.

11. Hal Austin
    November 30, 2018 6:03 PM

@ Jff,
    That is my point. A very class conscious conservative. The ideology of a certain class of Bajans.

++++++++++++++++++++++

I think he was a radical, either from the time he left Barbados or from his experience in the war.

Manley, Burnham and EWB all went through the LSE with LKY yet one came out different from the other three.

12. JOHN

IS HAL AUSTIN AN INTELLECTUAL? OR JUST AN OLD DUMMY ? LOL
    HE IS AN OLD GREAT MAGNUS OPUS

13. I HEY WATCHING DE NATION PARADE AND CELEBRATE HOW WE FALLING DOWN AND FAILING AT ALL LEVELS

I RECALL WHEN I USED TO PERSONALLY KNOW MANY OF THE PARADERS……….POLICE DEFENSE FORCE PRISON OFFICERS FIRE OFFICERS

IN THOSE DAYS THE PHOTOGRAPHY WAS BETTER AND ONE COULD SEE FACES MORE CLEARLY

14. @John November 30, 2018 1:40 PM “Did you know that Walter Edward Guinness, 1st Baron Moyne, DSO & Bar, PC (29 March 1880 โ€“ 6 November 1944)…Did you know that in 1936 his former daughter in law married the British fascist leader, Sir Oswald Moseley in Berlin with Hitler and Goebbels as witnesses?”

Cuhdear!!!

To attepmt to blame a man for the actions of a former daughter in law is beyond foolish.

Most of us don’t like our current inlaws much…and certainly don’t care whether former inlaws are living or dead.

Stuespeee!!!

15. @Georgie Porgie November 30, 2018 6:22 PM “IN THOSE DAYS THE PHOTOGRAPHY WAS BETTER AND ONE COULD SEE FACES MORE CLEARLY.”

Have you considered that maybe your eyes are worse, and that there is not a thing wrong with the photography, or the photographers?

16. HAS IT OCCURRED TO YOU THAT AS AN EXCELLENT PRIZE WINNING PHOTOGRAPHER THAT I KNOW WHAT I TALKING ABOUT?

HAS IT OCCURRED TO YOU THAT I SPEAK ABOUT THAT WHICH I KNOW?

17. Simple Simon
    November 30, 2018 6:23 PM

@John November 30, 2018 1:40 PM โ€œDid you know that Walter Edward Guinness, 1st Baron Moyne, DSO & Bar, PC (29 March 1880 โ€“ 6 November 1944)โ€ฆDid you know that in 1936 his former daughter in law married the British fascist leader, Sir Oswald Moseley in Berlin with Hitler and Goebbels as witnesses?โ€
    Cuhdear!!!
    To attepmt to blame a man for the actions of a former daughter in law is beyond foolish.
    Most of us donโ€™t like our current inlaws muchโ€ฆand certainly donโ€™t care whether former inlaws are living or dead.
    Stuespeee!!!

I am not blaming the man, just pointing out how small a world I was and how differently people thought back then!!

โ€ฆ and of course, how ignorant we are of what was going on back then

18. @John November 30, 2018 5:55 PM “Found this interesting โ€ฆ. obviously Lee Kuan Yew sought out Sir Arthur Lewis whereas EWB did not!!”

“In 1959 Lewis returned to the Caribbean region when appointed Vice Chancellor of the University of the West Indies. In 1963 he was knighted for his contributions to economics. That year, he was also appointed a University Professor at Princeton University and moved to the United States. Lewis worked at Princeton for the next two decades, teaching generations of students until his retirement in 1983. In 1970 Lewis also was selected as the first president of the Caribbean Development Bank, serving in that capacity until 1973.”

Barrow was first elected to Parliament in 1951. Co-founded the Democratic Labor party in 1955.

Became Premier in 1961 and remained so until 1966 when be became Prime Minister and remained so until 1976.

It seems to me that since Lewis was head of the CDB from 1971 to 1973, that even if Barrow appeared not to have sough out Lewis when he Barrow was a post-adolescent, he would appear to have sought out Lewis in the 70’s when he Barrow was a mature man in his early 50’s.

19. Is 130,000 a real statistic or made up. It appears to be too large a number.

20. It seems to me that since Lewis was head of the CDB from 1971 to 1973, that even if Barrow appeared not to have sough out Lewis when he Barrow was a post-adolescent, he would appear to have sought out Lewis in the 70โ€™s when he Barrow was a mature man in his early 50โ€™s.

Let’s say he did.

Can you see anything resembling Singapore in Barbados?

Have you read the synopsis of model Lee Kuan Yew got from Sir Arthur Lewis?

21. https://www.caribank.org/bank-history

Here is a photograph of Barrow and Lewis signing the agreement to start the CDB. So it would seem to me that both Barrow and Lewis were instrumental in the setting up of the bank. Therefore Barrow very likely knew of and respected the work of Lewis and called on his services, and that Lewis responded positively.

“After a Canada/Commonwealth Caribbean Conference in 1966, a recommendation was made that a study be conducted to investigate the possibility of establishing a financial institution to serve the Commonwealth Caribbean countries and territories. The report, submitted by a team of experts in July 1967, recommended the establishment of a Caribbean Development Bank with an initial capital of $50 million. This report was considered and accepted at a meeting of officials in Georgetown, Guyana in August of the same year and a committee formed to prepare the draft agreement and finalise the details for the Bankโ€™ establishment. This draft Agreement was submitted in 1968 and adopted after meetings held at the ministerial level. A preparatory committee for the Bankโ€™s establishment was set up and a project director appointed. Assistance was received from the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (later called the World Bank), the Inter-American Development Bank and the United Nations Development Programme.”
    Caribank.org

22. John November 30, 20187:12 PM “Letโ€™s say he did.”

No “let’s say he did”

He in FACT did.

And since the bank was at that time on the fifth floor of the Treasury Building, that is literally across the street from Parliament, to appear to set up some sort of fake conflict between both gentlemen when they have both been dead for decades is false.

23. Population of Singapore: 5,638,700
    Population of Barbados: 277,821

And the Singaporeans are mostly not Christian
    Bajans are mostly Christian

24. Instead of trains/trams, what about high speed, large capacity ferries, Oistin to Bridgetown, Speightstown to Bridgetown. (other ports possible) Some mini buses reoriented to move passengers from Docks to work etc. Might be more economical.

25. Can some body please explain what Mottley said to those living in the dispora in a tone representative of political rhetoric as she made a plea for them to return home next year starting at the beginning of the month as to when each month correspond to their birth
    Cant this woman remove from her thicken skull all props or connection to campaign strategy
    The 52 nd anniversary now represents a barbados that has found itself begging at the doorsteps of Western Capitalist a place which Errol Barrow worked steadfastly to remove Barbados from our former colonial masters
    However on Mayv24th fate would have it otherwise when Our new PM made a U turn which has placed barbados right on the doorsteps of those that thr late great Errol Barrow had once removed barbados

26. Here is the Lewis Model.

Compare what pertains in Barbados and Singapore.

27. Simple Simon
    November 30, 2018 7:17 PM

John November 30, 20187:12 PM โ€œLetโ€™s say he did.โ€
    No โ€œletโ€™s say he didโ€
    He in FACT did.
    And since the bank was at that time on the fifth floor of the Treasury Building, that is literally across the street from Parliament, to appear to set up some sort of fake conflict between both gentlemen when they have both been dead for decades is false.

Look at the model.

Then, look at Barbados

What’s missing?

28. Jeff cumberbatch

You said that you suspect Barrow to be a conservative, at heart

Now that is a level of cander not usually expressed about Barrow.

Indeed, any critical analysis of EWB cannot avoid your conclusion.

29. Check Singapore’s population growth from 1960.

https://knoema.com/atlas/Singapore/Population

Need for labour increases as economic growth occurred.

Expected from Lewis model.

So what’s missing in Barbados if EWB sought out Sir Arthur Lewis, like Lee kuan Yew and why?

30. Actually even though public transportation in Barbados can do with some improvements, it may not be as bad as some people make out. Since the people making the most noise haven’t taken public transportation for decades, if at all in their whole lives, but they are experts.

Right.

I actually take public transportation and I have done so virtually everyday since February of 1999. Including 16 years of going to work by public transportation every day. Going shopping by public transportation. Going to church by public transportation. Going to entertainment/recreation/socialization etc by public transportation. Mostly by bus, but also by yellow vans and ZR vans, and from time to time if I have heavy packages taxis.

My take is that most Bajans choose to go by car because a car has become the ultimate status symbol. Car ownership has nothing to do with getting to work on time, and everything to show others that you have arrived

And Bajans complain about sweatiness. Always the sweatiness of others, never of themselves. But Bajans are no more nor no less sweaty than other people. The sweatiess public transportation that I even took was a train at rush hour in Paris. I wondered at that time if the French exported all of their perfume and kept none for local use.

So if you have questions about public transportation, ask me.

Do NOT ask the theorists.

31. So if you have questions about public transportation, ask me.

You and I and about 300,000 others make up the Barbados population.

However, we have over a million visitors besides ourselves who come here over the period of a year.

We are in a minority.

32. In 1950 he was admitted to the bar in Britain before returning to Barbados, where his radical political views soon gained him membership in the Barbados Labour Party (BLP). He was elected as the senior member for St. George in the 1951 elections.

https://www.encyclopedia.com/history/encyclopedias-almanacs-transcripts-and-maps/barrow-errol

33. Can somebody in the profession of wardrobe attire give Mia a lesson on how to dress for the ocassion as Head of govt paritiotic duty

34. Can somebody in the profession of wardrobe attire give Mia a lesson on how to dress for the ocassion as Head of govt

35. Did some body in govt just fudge the Tourism numbers by stating that the numbers for this winter season would show an increase

36. “Tourism in Singapore is a major industry and contributor to the Singaporean economy, attracting 17.4 million international tourists in 2017, more than 3 times of Singapore’s total population.”

37. Can Mariposa please shut up?

38. Barbados attracts more than 1 million visitors per year, about 4 times Barbados’ population.

39. David BU

You may be more aware of what I am asking ……have Barbados ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ง ever experienced a hurricane in December ?

Here in December 2018 Barbadians are bracing for category 5 Hurricane Mia !

She already blow away :

โ€ข CBC

โ€ข BWA

โ€ข Registration Department

โ€ข RDC

โ€ข BADMC

โ€ข Transport Board

Wha next ?

Owen Arthur warned Barbadians about the DESPOT !!

Greediness caused some to vote against their better judgment.

40. FRACTURED I DISAGREE WITH YOU SIR

MIA MAO MUGABE MUTTLEY IS FAR WORSE THAN ANY CATEGORY FIVE HURRICANE
    YOU CAN RECOVER AND BUILD BACK AFTER ANY CATEGORY FIVE HURRICANE

BUT BARBADOS WILL NOT BE ABLE TO RECOVER FROM MIA MOTTLEY……..EVER!

41. RE Simple Simon November 30, 2018 8:39 PM

Can Mariposa please shut up?

WHY? YOU ARE ALLOWED TO SPEAK FREELY AND EVEN MISLEAD THE FORUM ON THE TREATMENT OF TB AND LICE

YOU ARE ALLOWED TO CHALLENGE AS YOU CHOSE AND EXPRESS YOUR OPINIONS

WHY SHOULD SHE SHUT UP? IS SHE LESS THAN YOU?

SHE AINT NOBODY TOO?

42. Unexpectedly Mia got into.another emotional rant and rave begging barbadians living in the diaspora to celebrate their birthdays in barbados
    Question Mia what does barbados have to give to those living in the dispora whose life savings was snatched by present govt

43. No response onthe number of cars, so I had to google when I get home.
    In terms of square miles Barbados has almost 800 vehicles/square miles
    My crude calculation put the US at about 800/square mile
    and Denmark at 133/sq mile.

44. Mia beg the UN
    Mia Beg the IMF
    Now Mua begs the overseas bajan who for the best part senfs home income to their families and also deposit money in the banking system
    Question Mia why cant you beg all those friends and associates of present govt to pay back some of the money they receive in tax waivers
    Btw have the law firm with which you were /are associated pay the back taxes as you had once stated which the firm owes to govt

45. Are people in Barbados better off than those in Denmark?
    What we are seeing is the difference between a well planned/organize society and random policies.

46. The PM said one day coming soon barbados would punch agsinst its weight
    Well what seems to be the rallying cry from most barbadians is that this govt is punching the living daylights out of them with all those taxes

47. Also external creditors have daid that govt is playing a deadly game of cat and mouse by ignorning efforts to bring resolution to the table

48. So, Barrow and the BLP in 1951 were described as radical.

The BLP first came on the scene as the Barbados Progressive League in 1938, the year after the riots.

“In 1940 the BLP faced its first elections. Its first MPs were Sir Grantley, Dr. Cummins, Mr. A. Graham Gittens and Mr. Victor Vaughan.

In 1948 it won a majority of two in The House of Assembly.

In the 1951 elections, adult suffrage having been introduced the previous year, The Barbados Labour Party won 15 of the 17 seats which it contested, at the same time making history by returning Edna Bourne as the first female candidate to enter the House of Assembly.”

http://www.caribbeanelections.com/bb/parties/blp.asp

49. EWB won a seat with the BLP in 1951.

Wikipedia says “The DLP was founded in 1955 by Errol Barrow, James Cameron Tudor, Frederick “Sleepy” Smith and 26 others.[1][2] Once members of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP), these 29 broke away to form this more left-leaning alternative. However, as a result of this common origin, the two parties have been and remain ideologically similar. In the 1956 general elections the party received 19.9% of the vote and won four seats.[3] In the next elections in 1961 it received fewer votes than the BLP, but won a majority of the seats in Parliament, with Barrow becoming Premier.”

So, it would appear that EWB was more radical, more left leaning than were the folks in the BLP.

50. TheOGazerts
    November 30, 2018 9:53 PM

Are people in Barbados better off than those in Denmark?
    What we are seeing is the difference between a well planned/organize society and random policies.

+++++++++++++++++++

Ditto Singapore!!