barbadosI may have finally understood the concept of independence in Barbados. It is of a country which gained political independence from Great Britain in 1966 but somehow the teetered yoke of dependence remains firmly affixed to the necks of its people. I hope the sociologists and political scientists from the UWI will weigh in on this one.

We have had a long history of dependence. It was shaped by the slave masters who created a dependence for food and shelter during slavery. It was enhanced by the British Government during the colonial era and for the past 52 years that dependence has been enshrined by the successive political administrations which ruled after 1966. So, for the past 52 years politics has shaped our economic dependence.

The Bizzy Williams, Cow Williams, Mark Maloney’s and the lot all depend on each political administration for lucrative contracts and sweet heart deals to become successful. They have benefited from dependence. The poor and the middle class depend on the government for a job which technically ends up as a trap as they deny themselves independence.

The dependence on government jobs is a trap for life but most see it as job that belongs to them until they retire. That job security has instilled the dependency syndrome. They have failed to understand that they are not economically independent.

The two-party system has also been to our detriment. We have developed a penchant for political promises and believe that everything should be provided by government and if is not provided by one administration, the other plays a game of bait and switch. We have allowed successive administrations to prevent us from becoming economically independent.

We have not pressed for a referendum to effect change in any area; we are leaving it up to government to make those changes if they want to; we have not agitated for inclusions to be part of the ballot. Our dependency has put our fate in the hands of each administration. Two good cases that we have at present to press for a referendum on are the decriminalization of marijuana and the creation of a new mortgage legislation. Changes in both areas will alter our economic dependence. However, we are waiting patiently, depending on government to makes these changes that we need in its own time frame.

The retrenchment by the present administration has touched a sore nerve, everyone expecting the worse, pondering what people will go home to do, wondering how they will pay their bills, referring to the fact that they have children to send to school, being over reactionary about last- in first- out scenarios, the union are on high alert and predicting even more job losses. It is as if the skies were falling but all we are hearing are echoes of dependency.

It is the same dependency that has led us to be thinkers and not doers, to make abject criticism of everyone who has a difference of opinion, to discourage new ways to doing old things. We display the apathy of being stuck in rut when we are intelligent enough to do better. We have become so dependent on government that it has taken what has occurred during the past 10 years for some of us to admit that government does not have all the right answers.

Ultimately the one question that must be asked is if the only persons to receive economic freedom on November 30th, 1966 was the political class. Our success or failure should not depend on the political actions of government; we must become economically independent by becoming involved in activities to make us economically independent. We must change our mindset to understand that if ever a national retrenchment occurs, it is viewed as an opportunity for a people to change the course of their history.

215 responses to “A Heather Cole Column – Barbados: Politically Independent Country-Economically Dependent People”

1. The people would never have been so dependent if the TIEFING LOWLIFE BLACK LEADERS did not spend decades ripping off the island and people then got the NERVE to iNVITE every 2 bit lowlife crook and thief they can find to help them rip off the people and island FOR BRIBES…every stinking last one of these negros have committed crimes against the people in exchange for bribes for 53 years…every dirty one of them.

2. PoorPeacefulandPolite Avatar
    PoorPeacefulandPolite

Together we are better – no two ways about it. Recriminations will not address the challenges of the present or those of the future. A dependent organism grows to become independent and then finally INTERdependent in order for it to survive.

3. You are describing a fascist system of government where the Government controls everything!!

4. On the blogmaster’s wish list is for this or any government to see the implementation of a modern and efficient transportation system as a priority. We have 130,000 vehicles on the roads because of it!

5. wishing and hoping remember dat song of years ago?
    who in barbados can implement anything? who?
    bridgetown bridges are broken down despite all the pithy palaver on the daily drivel ah lie?
    barbados is getting what it deserves!
    gone to the dogs!
    gone thru the eddoes!

6. @ David

You are absolutely correct. Our lack of a well run transportation system is
    contributing to our lack of productivity in many areas. One of the major failures of the duopoly is the poor public transportation service . Unfortunately there seems to be no real plan to improve it in the near future.

7. On the blogmaster’s wish list is for this or any government to see the implementation of a modern and efficient transportation system as a priority
    Boss
    You NEVER cease to amaze Bushie….
    Which government?

The one that planned this parade today to have all these children standing up …while national awards are presented?
    Fortunately it pissed rain and avoided them standing in the hot sun.

Who the Hell plans a BIG complex PARADE …on the day after sacking hundreds of long-term employees?
    What EXACTLY are they celebrating?

Shiite!!
    Marie Antoinette said to the hungry citizens of France “Let them eat cake….”
    What are we saying to the fired workers …. “Let them come and enjoy the Parade….?”

If there was EVER a year for a small, modest, simple parade … it is 2018.
    Not even the clear SIGNAL of the rain coming almost on cue will mark fat with these morons….
    Only’ ‘GRASS’ appears as an option in our future…

Steupsss
    If you SERIOUSLY think that we can solve the transportation problem
    then Bushie has a nice swamp to sell you….. cheap.

8. The transportation problem is getting worse but you know what the politicians and their families don’t travel on public transport so they don’t see it as a problem,

9. @Bush Tea

Do you deny the opportunity of sirFuzzy to mock the blogmaster that hope does not spring eternal? How can we have an efficient transportation system to ride on a cart road network?

The parade and presentation of national awards is a tradition, let the show continue!

10. David
    November 30, 2018 9:19 AM

On the blogmaster’s wish list is for this or any government to see the implementation of a modern and efficient transportation system as a priority. We have 130,000 vehicles on the roads because of it!

A train line connecting St. Philip to Bridgetown would sure reduce the need for cars!!

Do the math on how much scarce foreign exchange was needed to import 130,000 cars.

If you put a unit price of $10,000 US per car, that is $1.3 billion US in foreign exchange we have on our roads!!

… and we wonder why we are in so much economic trouble.

11. Complete the comment John!

How much is the revenue collected from cars on the road?

How many people are employed?

What is the strength of the lobby by the owners of the retail and distribution sectors? An ignorant question in context but relevant.

12. The parade and presentation of national awards is a tradition, let the show continue!
    Brass bowlery is closely associated with tradition.
    Wisdom and success are correlated to thinking, changing and actively pursuing excellence.

13. You deserved that long hop!

14. For years I have been advocating some form of modern rail/train transport but it seems to be a very unpopular idea. I still think it can quickly eradicate a considerable number of problems we have currently.

15. David

You can’t have it both ways. On the one hand suggest that national awards are some tradition, a bad one it is. A very English tradition to appease a population. They were always artificial constructions.

And on the other, your acceptance that the mentality which engages in that type of public pandering will never be able to exit the current dysfunctional transportation system.

WHY CAN’T EVERY BAJAN JUST BE A CITIZEN? AND WHY CAN’T THE CITIZEN BE THE HIGHEST FORM OF BEING?

16. How much is the revenue collected from cars on the road?
    How many people are employed? What is the strength of the lobby by the owners of the retail and distribution sectors?

That is why we will probably be one of the last countries on this Earth that will face the problem when oil begins to dry up.

Why don’t we remove ALL duties/taxes on electric vehicles and start seriously looking to the future?? Electric vehicles will need ‘workers’ also…. so there won’t be massive layoffs across the island. Solar plants will assist in re-charging vehicles, massively less pollution, FX savings, etc……

… and we wonder why we are in so much economic trouble.

17. @ks

You know the answer don’t you?

18. David
    November 30, 2018 9:50 AM

Complete the comment John!
    How much is the revenue collected from cars on the road?
    How many people are employed?
    What is the strength of the lobby by the owners of the retail and distribution sectors? An ignorant question in context but relevant

What is the revenue collected from cars on the road used for?

Taxes … promotes dependency on Government … promotes facism.

Cars, like land are big ticket items … promotes Money Laundering.

Cars are financed by banks … promotes dependency and money laundering.

Cars however have real and other benefits which I won’t deny.

How much foreign exchange is spent per year on importing automobiles?

How do we get that foreign exchange?

(QUOTE)

“The Bizzy Williams, Cow Williams, Mark Maloney’s and the lot all depend on each political administration for lucrative contracts and sweet heart deals to become successful. They have benefited from dependence. The poor and the middle class depend on the government for a job which technically ends up as a trap as they deny themselves independence.”

GOB depends on these folks for revenue … and FOREX … to keep the fascist system going.

Everybody is dependent on everybody else … and naturally, some are at the top!!

BTW, you left out Sir Kyff!!

Who controls the fuel for the cars?

What we have in Barbados is a fascist system of Governance!!

We do not produce enough from our local economy to be able to explain from where this $1.3 billion originates or the FOREX needed to run them.

We cannot even feed ourselves.

Obviously, somebody(s) purchased our independence over the past 52 years, just we know not whom!!

19. Electric Cars run on oil!!!

Waste of time!!

20. @John

Not if you charge them from the SUN!

21. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Heather

The basic philosophy of economy and society is inter-dependency. We need each other. It becomes a moral hazard only when we become parasites taking all and giving nothing. If it is not broken,do not fix it.

God bless Barbados on Independence Day.

22. @Vincent

“Barbados is not only an economy. It is a society – David Thompson “.

23. The two-party system has also been to our detriment. We have developed a penchant for political promises and believe that everything should be provided by government and if is not provided by one administration, the other plays a game of bait and switch. We have allowed successive administrations to prevent us from becoming economically independent.(Quote)

Please explain.

We have not pressed for a referendum to effect change in any area (Quote)

Under our system of government we do not have referenda.

24. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu (The Devil’s Advocate)

Are they separable?

25. @Vincent

Of course not.

26. So, let me see what Heather’s saying here –

Let’s start at the very beginning
    A very good place to start
    When you read you begin with a b c……

No kidding.

27. I apologise before hand but the hills are alive with the sound of music- at least in my head.

When you know the notes to sing
    You can sing most anything!

I promise this is the only one.

28. ks
    November 30, 2018 10:26 AM

Not if you charge them from the SUN!

Run a wire to the sun!!

The simple fact is the outlet into which an electric car is plugged receives its electricity from the electric company which generates its electricity from oil!!

Plus, the sun goes out at night!!

29. Instead of the stoopid parade celebrating independence that we don’t actually have, the bedecked so-called nation builders of the falling down house should be having discussions on how to build a strong foundation on solid rock.

We have to look within ourselves, accept our false start and start again.

30. William skinner

“Advocating for some kind of rail/ train transportation”

Where is your proof that this idea can eliminate some of the problems we are facing in transportation today…? And the idea sounds rather ridiculous because Barbados is much too small for rail/train …

31. Donna
    November 30, 2018 11:53 AM

Instead of the stoopid parade celebrating independence that we don’t actually have, the bedecked so-called nation builders of the falling down house should be having discussions on how to build a strong foundation on solid rock.

We need to go back to the basics our Christian ancestors taught and lived and build on the Rock on which they built.

32. Lexicon
    November 30, 2018 12:01 PM

William skinner
    “Advocating for some kind of rail/ train transportation”
    Where is your proof that this idea can eliminate some of the problems we are facing in transportation today…? And the idea sounds rather ridiculous because Barbados is much too small for rail/train …

++++++++++++++++++++++

A railway existed in Barbados for atleast 50 years, 1885-1935 if memory serves me right!!!

Today we have over a million visitors to add to our local population who use the bulk of the 130,000 cars!!

The railway has an appeal to our visitors and will also benefit us.

33. It may also be more efficient than driving your car since you don’t have to stop for gas, and trains typically travel at a faster speed with no traffic.

The manhours alone wasted in the traffic created by 130,000 cars is staggering!!

34. John

Let us start by promoting Jesus’s Great Command … go thee therefore and teach All Nations … baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Ghost …

35. “For years I have been advocating some form of modern rail/train transport but it seems to be a very unpopular idea. ”

ya done know that even the THOUGHT of maintaining a light rail/train which will need 24/7 maintenance is a HUGE turn off for those who can’t see any bribes coming outta that.

36. A train travelling at a leisurely 20 miles an hour would take an hour or less from the Crane to Bridgetown.

Sitting in traffic coming from St. Philip in the morning easily wastes more than an hour!!

If the train speed is upped to 40 miles and hour, half the time is spent!!

37. All through the day visitors and locals can use the train for recreation.

38. No road rage!!

39. “WHY CAN’T EVERY BAJAN JUST BE A CITIZEN? AND WHY CAN’T THE CITIZEN BE THE HIGHEST FORM OF BEING?”

Exactly…and get rid of all those bullshit pretentious titles for this idiot and that idiot which are ALL now associated with LAND THIEVES, LIARS, FRAUDS, corrupt demons stealing estates from the elderly, stealing properties and money from everyone, destroying a whole judiciary, a whole Supreme Court system. and violating the human rights of the population…everyone of them are now known as world class thieves, frauds, money launderers, tax evaders, they are an embarrassment for the island…I have been saying this for 6 long years.

40. I don’t believe that Errol Barrow meant for us to have this suckabubby mentality. If he had lived he probably would have weaned us off the breast . But alas! Here we are like helpless babes in a jungle.

Time for us to grow up!

41. @ Lexicon
    I am merely saying that with our size and the projected traffic over the coming years, a suitable rail transport system might be more feasible than you think. Our size maybe more an advantage. If we have to get our people on the move quicker and perhaps safer, I see an investment in rail transport to be worth the while. Less cars on the road; less traffic jams and productivity increases.

42. @Pacha

Thanks for the esoteric relief!

43. Number One: We must learn our name, our identity
    Number Two: We must learn how to feed ourselves.
    Number Three: No more baby see toy. Baby want toy.
    Number Four: We must learn to properly dispose of our own waste.
    Number five: We must learn to share and co-operate

What else?

44. @William,

The real problem is that we have too many cars/vehicles on the roads. I have proposed a one car per family policy, which this government could have introduced on May 25. I have also proposed a congestion policy – that private car be restricted to within two miles of Broad Street from about 6am to 5.30pm. Another policy proposal is restricting cars within the two mile limit to vehicles with two or more passengers. Delivery vehicles should be restricted to between 4.40m and midnight or 4am and 7am.
    On the train/tram idea. I have suggested a singe line tram running East in the first instance from the airport to Culpepper Island, then gradually round the country.
    But, congestion and for environmental purposes (think of the amount of land used for roads and parking) we need to restrict the number of cars. At present we have as many as four cars per household – parents and two children. This is ridiculous.

45. JOHN
    YA HIT DE MORON TOO HARD THOUGH
    THATS THE WAY TO GO WHEN DESE ILLITERATES TRY TO CHALLENGE YOU IN YOUR FIELD OF EXCELLENCE

LIKE THE KNOW IT ALL DAT SAYS ON ANOTHER BLOG THAT YA TREAT TB WITH ANTIBIOTICS
    YEAH GIVE A FEW TABS AND TB GOES AWAY JUST SO

I WISH WE COULD GET SOME CARAVANS FROM CENTRAL AMERICA COMING TO BARBADOS WID TB, HEPATITIS AND OTHER COMMUNICABLE DISEASES FUH THE MORON TO SEE HOW DAT WORKS

46. Donna
    November 30, 2018 12:23 PM

I don’t believe that Errol Barrow meant for us to have this suckabubby mentality. If he had lived he probably would have weaned us off the breast . But alas! Here we are like helpless babes in a jungle.
    Time for us to grow up!

You are joking, right.

Look at the names called and see if they don’t go right back to EWB!!

Sir COW and Bizzy got their start with EWB.

Sir Kyff too!!

Maloney is the next generation.

If you look into the political class, you will also find the generational aspect as well and you can link the families right back to the founder of CLICO through the Penny Bank!!

What exists today has been nurtured for the past 52 years, even longer.

It predates Clement Payne, the communist agitator sent from Trinidad to destabilize Barbados.

Communism, fascism and socialism are constructs of the left.

Fascism is from a Roman symbol of authority, the fasces, which were a bundle of sticks tied together. The symbology was that each particular stick, or person, wasn’t very strong, but when aligned and tied together, they could be.

We are far more left than you could ever imagine!!

So if you like, the political class and heavy rollers have combined together with their lackeys to form a bundle of sticks, fasces which are aligned and tied together!!

You can have fun with the word fasces!!

The South Coast is a logical result!!

47. Rail, really? Show me the operational and maintenance costs please! The solution to our traffic woes is not confined to our public tranportation system, a look at tranport as a whole nust be the start. Any solution must include the provision of infrastructure for cycling and walking, the development of a dynamic taxi service, an understanding of the link between housing development and transportation, and the introduction of flexible working across the public and private sector, where practical.

48. Steupse!

49. @enuff

Did you say Singapore?

50. Power corrupts and so does a taste of money. Who knows if Bizzy and Cow were always that way?

P.S. The Moyne report did not blame Payne but the unfairness perpetuated by the colonizers.

You are one twisted badword!