Is collusion a crime? Since the beginning of special counsel Robert Mueller’s investigation, allegations of “collusion” have dominated the debate. President Trump regularly claims there was “no collusion” with the Russians seeking to influence the 2016 presidential election. His attorneys and other supporters also have repeatedly argued that even if collusion took place, that would not be criminal. But last week, in a case brought by Mueller, a federal judge upheld the legal theory under which “collusion” may indeed be a crime.

I’m not sure how the term “collusion” became so central to discussions of the Mueller investigation. It really should be banned altogether. (I know, I know — this from the guy who just wrote a blog post with “collusion” in the title, right? But hey, I can’t unilaterally disarm.) All it does is breed confusion and lead to diversionary arguments about whether collusion is criminal.

It’s true there is no criminal statute titled “collusion.” But as I’ve noted in several places (here and here, for example) the relevant crime is conspiracy under 18 U.S.C. 371. Collusion refers to an agreement with others to achieve some improper end. In criminal law, we call that a conspiracy – a partnership in crime. And the breadth of the federal conspiracy statute makes it particularly well-suited for cases like Mueller’s probe of Russian interference with the election.

Read full textCOLLUSION / MUELLER INVESTIGATION

467 responses to “Collusion a Crime – Judge in Mueller Case Upholds Legal Theory”

1. Georgie darling,

Here’s one for Stormy and Co. from ya boy Donald Duckie!

I shoulda walked away!

2. … another kiki …. 555 dub street!!!

3. SORRY SATAN
    TRUMP IS NOT MY HERO………CHRIST IS!

BUT TRUMP IS LOADS OF FUN AND HAS BROUGHT ABOUT THE NEW DISEASE TRUMP DERANGEMENT SYNDROME. WHICH IS VERY INTERESTING TO ME A MEDICO.

SORRY SATAN
    RE Trump is likely the most wicked, selfish and spiteful personality to EVER have infested the White House….. CERTAINLY he is the greatest liar by a mile ….

NO NOT TRUE. THAT HONOR GOES TO SHITBAMA THE TOKEN BLACK AND CLASSY FAILURE

RE when Trump’s donkey is languishing in an American jail somewhere – without his golden toilet and attendant lackies….

IF THIS SHOULD HAPPEN IT WOULD TAKE NO SKIN OFF MY BACK……AND MY WIFE WILL STILL MAKE MY FISHCAKES EVERY SATURDAY MORNING

IF THIS SHOULD HAPPEN HE WOULD BE IN JAIL……NOT ME. BUT SURELY ANY IDIOT CAN SEE THIS ah lie?

re It makes one wonder about his committed and articulate dedication to his religious dogma –
    YOU CAN WONDER IF YOU LIKE
    I HAVE NO RELIGIOUS DOGMA BUT I BELIEVE THE BIBLE AND THERE IS NOTHING WRONG IN BEING COMMITTED AND DEDICATED TO BIBLE DOCTRINE

even when he is stumped with basic questions about the logic of his beliefs.

I AM NOT STUMPED BY YOUR MORONIC QUESTIONS I JUST IGNORE THEM BASED ON BIBLICAL INSTRUCTIONS

I AM NOT INTERESTED IN WHAT YOU CALL LOGIC………SUCH REASONING IS LIKE SOLOMON’S STATEMENTS MADE IN HIS THINKING “UNDER THE SON” RATHER THAN ABOVE THE SUN…..AND UNDER THE SON

RE One wonders about his excuses when they discover that what they professed and preached for so long …is actually worthy only of flushing….

WONT HAPPEN DUMMY
    1 PETER 1:24-25 CLEARLY STATES
    For all flesh is as grass, and all the glory of man as the flower of grass. The grass withereth, and the flower thereof falleth away:

But the word of the Lord endureth for ever. And this is the word which by the gospel is preached unto you.

I BELIEVE WHAT IT SAYS IN PHILIPPIANS 1:6
    Being confident of this very thing, that he which hath begun a good work in you will perform it until the day of Jesus Christ:

I ALSO BELIEVE WHAT IS SAID IN 2 TIMOTHY 1:12
    for I know whom I have believed, and am persuaded that he is able to keep that which I have committed unto him against that day.
    AND JUDE 24
    Now unto him that is able to keep you from falling, and to present you faultless before the presence of his glory with exceeding joy,
    AND JUDE 14-15
    Behold, the Lord cometh with ten thousands of his saints, To execute judgment upon all, and to convince all that are ungodly among them of all their ungodly deeds which they have ungodly committed, and of all their hard speeches which ungodly sinners have spoken against him.

YOU SEE
    MY FAITH HATH FOUND A RESTING PLACE AND I NEED NO OTHER ARGUMENT

My faith has found a resting place,
    Not in device nor creed;
    I trust the Ever-living One,
    His wounds for me shall plead.
    I need no other argument,
    I need no other plea;
    It is enough that Jesus died,
    And that He died for me.

Enough for me that Jesus saves,
    This ends my fear and doubt;
    A sinful soul I come to Him,
    He’ll never cast me out.

My heart is leaning on the Word,
    The written Word of God,
    Salvation by my Savior’s name,
    Salvation through His blood.

My great Physician heals the sick,
    The lost He came to save;
    For me His precious blood He shed,
    For me His life He gave.

4. “Many will say to Me on that day, ‘Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in Your name, cast out demons in Your name, and done many wonderful works in Your name?’ But then I will declare to them, ‘I never knew you. Depart from Me, you who practice evil.”
    Not Bushie who said that….

5. Why bother wasting time arguing when…..

The heat is on!

6. Johnnie ma boy,

Wasn’t it you who said we should lighten up??????

At least I’m playing white boy music today.

7. THIS STATEMENT WAS MADE BY BUSH TEA THE DEVIL’S REPRESENTATIVE ON BU

One wonders about his (and others of his ilk’s) excuses when they discover that what they professed and preached for so long …is actually worthy only of flushing….

HE IS SAYING THAT THE WORD OF GOD IS ONLY WORTHY OF FLUSHING ……BUT
    God’s Word Is True

Psalm 119:160

The sum of Your word is truth, And every one of Your righteous ordinances is everlasting.

2 Samuel 7:28

“Now, O Lord GOD, You are God, and Your words are truth, and You have promised this good thing to Your servant.

John 17:17

“Sanctify them in the truth; Your word is truth.

Psalm 19:9

The fear of the LORD is clean, enduring forever; The judgments of the LORD are true; they are righteous altogether.

Psalm 119:151

You are near, O LORD, And all Your commandments are truth.

Psalm 119:142

Your righteousness is an everlasting righteousness, And Your law is truth.

John 18:37

Therefore Pilate said to Him, “So You are a king?” Jesus answered, “You say correctly that I am a king For this I have been born, and for this I have come into the world, to testify to the truth Everyone who is of the truth hears My voice.”

The Bible stands like a rock undaunted
    ’Mid the raging storms of time;
    Its pages burn with the truth eternal,
    And they glow with a light sublime.
    Refrain:
    The Bible stands though the hills may tumble,
    It will firmly stand when the earth shall crumble;
    I will plant my feet on its firm foundation,
    For the Bible stands.

The Bible stands like a mountain tow’ring
    Far above the works of men;
    Its truth by none ever was refuted,
    And destroy it they never can.

The Bible stands and it will forever,
    When the world has passed away;
    By inspiration it has been given,
    All its precepts I will obey.

The Bible stands every test we give it,
    For its Author is divine;
    By grace alone I expect to live it,
    And to prove and to make it mine.

8. YES BUSHIE THOU SON OF BELIAL
    IT IS WRITTEN ALSO IN James 2:19
    Thou believest that there is one God; thou doest well: the devils also believe, and tremble.

9. And of course we can’t leave out Donald Duckie Jr., can we?

Might as well jump!

10. Go ahead and jump!

11. And for his elected partners in crime…..

I know I promised you all white boys but……….I LIED!

12. But in apology here’s the REAL KING, the GOOD LOOKING one with the final number!

13. I lied again!

14. BT

Trump is bare fun, never a dull moment!!

There has never been anyone like him as president.

Lighten up, relax and enjoy like Donna!!!

15. No no. Trump isn’t the fun. My fun is only now beginning!

From Melania with er……

16. John would have probably coin the phrase “Quaker Derangement Syndrome.”

17. David BU

Your assistance with a previous contribution is needed. Thanks.

18. Hello Artax.

Call me DJ Dun De Fete. The Trumpettes don’t like my music.

19. Yeah Bushman…it took WOMEN in Ethiopia to make the INTELLIGENT CHANGES.

20. How were your conkies today?

I had pudding and souse and breadfruit for the main course.

And three conkies for dessert.

Now that it is almost sunset, in tribute to Mother Africa I think that I will have a cup of coffee.

Ahhh!!! A good day.

21. Nothing about Trump.

I’ll let the good people of the United States of America sort him out.

22. @Dee Word

What is up with your friend Avenatti?

23. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

LOL @David The Blogmaster…Avenatti is the type of friend from whom you keep far away …

If you love Trump’s style then you gotta love that brother…but neither of them are my cup of tea – or coffee for that matter!

His Presidential aspirations were awesome PR gamesmanship…nothing more…he has had his 15 mins of fame and will enjoy many years of infamy and a growing legal practice which was his goal from day one…one assumes.

Many people will try to replicate the Trump rocket but his ride to that ultimate goal was YEARS in the making and its doubtful anyone can ever again wear such teflon suits to achieve what he did !

24. this is a very good article

Leftist Progressivism’s Failure: Obama Face Plants into the Wall of Reality
    Dustin KoellhofferDecember 3, 2018

https://ipatriot.com/leftist-progressivisms-failure-obama-face-plants-into-the-wall-of-reality/

25. GP,

I haven’t forgotten you. This one is for all the Trumpettes!

King Liar!

26. SORRY
    I LOVE CLASSICAL MUSIC GOSPEL HYMNS PROPERLY SUNG AND THE MUSIC OF THE UK ANGLICAN CATHEDRAL CHOIRS LIKE KING’S COLLEGE

27. So do I but I also love calypso.

28. Trump will be in a foul/fowl mood today, the DOW dropped 700 points.

29. ARE YOU NOT HAPPY?
    THIS WILL MAKE THINGS MUCH BETTER IN BARBADOS, WONT IT?
    THIS WILL HELP MIA RUN BARBADOS BETTER, WONT IT?

30. Trump will be in a foul/fowl mood today, the DOW dropped 700 points.

THIS WILL HELP THE MINISTRY OF HEALTH AND OTHER MORONS RESPONSIBLE IN BARBADOS TO SOLVE THE ISSUES IN MY BELOVED GRAHAM HALL SWAMP AND WORTHING BEACH

31. Trump will be in a foul/fowl mood today, the DOW dropped 700 points.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/219771/-workers-nis-bind

THIS IS GOING TO HELP US SOLVE THIS PROBLEM IN BARBADOS

CAN WE GET THE DOW TO FALL EVERY DAY? IT WILL HELP US WITH OUR PROBLEMS IN BARBADOS

32. North Carolina Election Board is investigating result, ballot tampering.

33. Heheheheheheh

Dr. GP heheheheheheh

Why you doan leave dis third of the BU Borg alone?

Dost thou not understand that it is the objective and imperative that the blog is used, BY THIS SPECIFIC BORG, to misdirect?

The original BU David is the patriot among the BU Borg

But there are those among the BORG that are BLP supporters FOREVER!!!

You are a man who can understand this concept, in abstract.

So you will realize that, when de ole man speaks to Barbados’ Problems, and then juxtaposes them against those of the Trumpian esapade, even me colleague, de fellow dat you does lik up all de time, heheheheheh DpD, does chide me.

Yet here you are, first among those who comments on Trump (favourably???) to throw a spanner at the Honourable Blogmaster and ask him what does a 800 point stock market drop have to do with Barbados.

AND BARBADOS” PROBLEMS?

Now wereas you can shift effortlessly between the varied topics and drivel herein presented, what happens with the minds of the Inferior Superiors, is that they cannot grasp your “shift” so you can expect that you gine get real heat coming from the masses.

THose of whom have balls to challenge you that is.

heheheheheheheheh

De ole man notes that you have renewed your remarks against Mugabe, people do not know that it is not “started” but “renewed” BUT, and here is the thing most miraculous, NOT A FELLER does ever EVER MENTION YOUR NAME AMONG THE MUGABE POOCH LIKER BRIGADE, appointed to come here and decry the Mugabe regime.

NOT ONE MAN, of woman born or untimely ripped, MENTIONS YOUR NAME, Dr. GP!!

Why is that? heheheheheheheh

34. Isn’t the barbados dollar peg to the US dollar?

#myopia

35. Isn’t the barbados dollar peg to the US dollar?

#myopia

ACTUALLY MYOPIA IS AN EYE DISEASE AND HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH THE barbados dollar peg to the US dollar

WHY IS IT THAT WHEN THE DOW WENT UP STEADILY AFTER SHITBAMA LEFT OFFICE WE DID NOT HAVE COMMENTARY THEREON? WHY?

WAS THAT PRESBYOPIA OR A HEMIANOPIA OR GLAUCOMA OR CATARACTS TOO

36. Myopia – a lack of foresight or discernment: a narrow view of something

Source: Merriam-Webster

37. MR PIECE SIR
    The original BU David is the patriot among the BU Borg
    I DON’T CARE WHO IS WHO AND WHO IS NOT

But there are those among the BORG that are BLP supporters FOREVER!!!
    I AM NEITHER DLP OR BLP. I AM NEITHER DUMBOCRAT OR REPUBLICAN
    I SAY WHAT I THINK THAT SEEMS LOGICAL AND FAIR TO ME, AND I TEND NOT TO SUFFER FOOLS GLADLY
    I GET THE IMPRESSION THAT YOU ARE LIKE MINDED.

de fellow dat you does lik up all de time, heheheheheh DpD, does chide me.
    WELL HE IS AN IDIOT AND TERIBLY BIASED . AND CAN ONLY SEE ONESIDE OF A STORY—USUALLY THE WRONG SIDE. HE THINKS HE IS A DEBATER, BUT SPEWS BOTH BOVINEAND PORCINE EXCREMENT- THE LATER BEING THE STINKEST OF ALL

Yet here you are, first among those who comments on Trump (favourably???) to throw a spanner at the Honourable Blogmaster and ask him what does a 800 point stock market drop have to do with Barbados. AND BARBADOS” PROBLEMS?Now wereas you can shift effortlessly between the varied topics and drivel herein presented, what happens with the minds of the Inferior Superiors, is that they cannot grasp your “shift” so you can expect that you gine get real heat coming from the masses.

WITH ALL DUE RESPECT SIR I DON’T CARE BOUT THE INFERIORS. THE SO CALED Honourable Blogmaster OR NOBODY. WHAT MAKES THE BLOGMASTER SO HONOURABLE THOUGH

THose of whom have balls to challenge you that is.

THEY CAN CHALLENGE IF THEY LIKE AND I WILL RESPOND APPROPRIATELY

De ole man notes that you have renewed your remarks against Mugabe, people do not know that it is not “started” but “renewed” BUT,

THE WOMAN IS A BIG MOUT IDIOT AND I WOULD LIKE TO TELL HER SO TO HER FACE. I ENJOYED COMING UP AGAINST HER FATHER IN COURT WHEN GIVING EVIDENCE FOR THE CROWN………BUT THIS WOMAN HAS A BIG MOUT ONLY AND HER BRAINS SEEM TO BE MADE OF ALL MUSCLE (ACCORDING TO HAL AUSTIN) WITH NO BETZ CELLS AT ALL

RE NOT ONE MAN, of woman born or untimely ripped, MENTIONS YOUR NAME, Dr. GP!!
    Why is that? Heheheheheheheh
    YOU WOULD HAVE TO ASK THEM

BACK TO TRUMP
    THE MAN IS FIGHTING THE
    1 DUMBOCRATS

2 THE OVERT REPUBLICANS—- THE SO CALLED RHINOS

3 THE COVERT REPUBLICANS BOTH IN CONGRESS AND IN THE WHITE HOUSE WHO OPPOSE HIM ON THE SLY

4 VERY IGNORANT FOLK IN THE MAIN STREAM MEDIA
    AND HAS DONE VERY WELL DESPITE THE METHANE AND HYDROGEN GASSES HE HAS TO SMELL AROUND HIM

AND YOU HAVE ASSES ON THIS BLOG, THAT ARE ABJECT FAILURES AND WHO HAVE NOT ACCOMPLISHED ANYTHING IN THEIR LIVES TALKING SHITE, INSTEAD OF TRYING TO HELP MIA MAO MUGABE MUTTLEY AVERT THE CONTINUING CRISES AND CUMULATING CHAOS IN CHRIST CHURCH AND ELSEWHERE

RE THE BARBADOS DOLLAR PEGGED TO THE US DOLLAR
    IS THE SHITE IN BARBADOS PEGGED TO THE US TOO?

THE ASSES IN BARBADOS SHOULD SEEK TO REMOVE THE BEAM FROM THEIR EYES BEFORE TRYING TO REMOVE THE MOTE FROM DONALD’S EYES

DONALD KNOWS WHAT HE IS DOING
    DOES MIA OR HER CAST OF 26 DUMB STOOGES AND ASS LICKERS?

38. Mueller to release info soon about how Michael Flynn cooperated with the investigation.

39. Myopia – IS AN EYE CONDITION ALSO CALLED SHORTSIGHTEDNESS

YOU CAN READ ABOUT IT IN PHYSIOLOGY AND OPTHALMOLOGY TEXTS AS I DID IN MY TRAINING

MANY SCHOLARS AND INVENTORS ETC ARE MYOPES AND DO NOT AT ALL LACK FORSIGHT OR DISCERNMENT AT ALL. IN FACT THESE FOLK THINK OUT OF THE BOX AND CERTAINLY HAVE A VERY WIDE VIEW OF THINGS

THE DEFINITION BELOW IS THE BULL SHIT FOUND ONLINE BY AN OBVIOUS MORON

A lack of foresight or discernment: a narrow view of something

PLEASE GOOGLE THE RIGHT LITERATURE FOR THE CORRECT DEFINITIONS

40. I LOVE IT WHEN BU MEDICAL ILLITERATES TRY TO TEACH ME MEDICAL TERMINOLOGY USING THE WRONG SOURCE FOR THEIR INFORMATION

I WOULD RECOMMEND DORLAND’S MEDICAL DICTIONARY

SEEMS SOMEONE THINKS THAT I AM LEXICON AND DONT KNOW WHAT I TALKING BOUT

MURDAH

41. @ GP
    Boss
    Why don’t you stop making an ass of yourself?

Just because YOU want to use medical terminology (which is the ONLY shiite you can brag about – because few others CARE enough to engage you) DOES NOT mean that everyone else is using your shiite jargon.

NORMAL people use ‘myopia’ to express a concept of ‘a lack of foresight’…..
    CLOWNS and shiitehounds tend to see EVERYTHING from their own NARROW perspective…
    To a carpenter …every shiite needs a hammer.

Which is why such people tend to think that ‘water is water’.
    …at least you did …until recently EDUCATED by the bushman….. LOL

GROW UP GP…
    Life is MUCH more complex than the little BASIC shiite knowledge that you learnt by rote from your old outdated books…
    You don’t know squat….
    Yuh old, decrepit, miserable, lonely, fish-cake-glutton, loser…
    Get thee behind Bushie do….!!

42. RE Get thee behind Bushie do….!!

I AM VERY VERY SORRY BUSH TEA I DO NOT BULL!
    WHY DO YOU WANT ME TO GET BEHIND YOU.?
    I HAVE NEVER BULLED
    AND I DONT EVER PLAN TO BULL
    SO DONT ASK ME TO GET BEHIND YOU

RE fish-cake-glutton
    THE WIFE WILL MAKE ME ANOTHER BATCH ON SATURDAY AND I PLAN TO ENJOY THEM TO MY HEART’S CONTENT

NOTE THAT I USED THE MEDICAL TERMINOLOGY VERY CORRECTLY
    CHECK THE MEDICAL LITTERATURE AND YOU WILL SEE THAT

IF YOU AND OTHERS USED IT INCORRECTLY THAT IS NOT MY BUSINESS
    I STICK TO WHAT I KNOW
    IT WORKS FOR ME

LIKE I DONT KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT BULLING SO I WONT BE GETTING BEHIND YOU

43. RE Mueller to release info soon about how Michael Flynn cooperated with the investigation.

AND IT HAS BEEN SHOWN THAT MULLER DID BEAR SHIT TO DESTROY A MAN THAT THE SHITBAMA ADMIN HATED

DONT WORRY FLYN

MULLER WILL FACE THE JUDGE OF ALL THE EARTH EVENTUALLY

44. Mueller recommends no jail time for Flynn saying his cooperation has been substantial. Remember when Trump ask Comey to bury any investigation of Flynn? That cooperation will give Trump the “willies” since Flynn was his point man with Moscow, look for Trump to turn against Flynn while he sends signal that he is going to pardon Manafort.

45. @Bush Tea

BU is just another artery in the social media distribution network that share information and opinions. Some commenters intrigue by their articulation in delivery. Given that time is precious, it is unfortunate a few prefer to waste it by continually haemorrhaging it in the role as keyboard warriors. Operating in the blog space is no place to be thinskin, you open yourself to nerves being frequently pinged. You are often surgical in your plethora of attacks (playfully) on fellow commenters. Unfortunately the dyspeptic disposition of the Statler and Waldorfs personality types border on schizophrenia… (to be continued if the blogmaster is so inclined to respond to those suffering from myopia)