The following statement was issued by Toni Moore, General Secretary of the Barbados Workers Union (BWU). The blogmaster confesses the statement raised many questions regarding the retrenchment exercise government is committed to executing as part of BERT.

1. Why in 2018 the LIFO is the method used to identify workers to sever from the public service? Toni Moore hinted in her statement that the PRDS (a performance system) does not command the confidence of the BWU. We have to ask why?
  2. How does government expect to change the culture of the civil service using LIFO as the basis to send home workers?
  3. Prime Minister Mia Mottley has repeatedly stated that the government has held several meetings with the social partnership to ensure all are on the same page. Did we hear Toni Moore suggest that there is some confusion with the execution of the retrenchment.
  4. What is the objective of government’s retrenchment exercise? Is it a cost cutting measure or is the government sincere in the suggestion that obsolete functions have been retired

115 responses to “LIFO in 2018?”

1. Oh lord call Jenkins quick,quick lollll

2. The political class will always feel obligated to find favour for the hands that feed them. This is the chink in our ‘democratic’ system.

3. So David – they can find new hands to feed them;No ?

4. @T. Innniss

“Unfortunately black governments see their role not as giving a helping hand to pull those from within their community out of the deep financial hole – but to be there to facilitate through contracts a David Seale,or a S.Y. Adams or an Abdul Pandor,or Tony Abed”
    +++++++++
    Bravo!
    This, my friend is why the future of B’dos is grim and the deeply embedded inequalities are set to widen.
    To those who can: emigrate now!

5. Inniss
    David Seale grew and made a success out of his dad’s provision merchant’s business on Roebuck St.

6. Gabriel

Are you saying you don’t know of these other hand ups he was given as a party financier?

7. @Idiot,

No I have never. I do not even know where Harmony Hall is. You have done this before, you have form. You insisted on telling me where I had been involved in buying timeshare, although I said I did not know the place you mentioned and it was wrong, you insisted. I remember it was GP who incorrectly named the place, near St Lawrence Gap.
    I mentioned that Acme made buses for the Transport Board in the 1960s from its Roebuck Street workshop, which I saw with my eyes and read in the Advocate.
    It was only when someone came on and said he left Barbados in 1967 and before that worked at the Transport Board and Acme did make buses for a the TB you sort of accepted. No apology. You then drifted in to waffle about bus specification. All totally irrelevant to the substantive argument- whether or not Acme made buses for TB. You wanted written evidence. The mind of a fool.
    Now you are fabricating that I mentioned Harmony Hall in some proposal. Find it and prove me a liar. You fabricate just as much as the cut and paste agent.
    Let me repeat: government should launch a major infrastructural programme by bulldozing the City slums and rebuilding. I won’t go in to details again because sensible readers will understand, even if they do not agree. This is the stimulus the local economy needs.
    If Harmony Hall is part of the City slums, then that is included. But I have never mentioned Harmony Hall by name because I do not know where it is. In the meantime, I am still waiting to hear about this ‘agenda’.

8. Inniss
    It is clear to me you are phishing.You don’t know David Seale.So sya.

9. Gabriel

He is not my friend but I stand by what I referred to above – because there are some people still bitter about what took place back then who are even more intimately aware of what I spoke about.

It was an open secret Gabriel.

10. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

The question was asked ..

“…When are any of you going to present any viable alternative economic policies for debate or discussion…….”

Barring the multimillionaires Bush Tea and Frustrated Business man there are few here who are so blessed in income that they can honestly AS ANONYMICE, come and give way their ideas for free.

Barring de ole man dat is, but I stupid.

Here is the thing about debates and discussions.

For them to be effective they should be discussed with equals and for them to be equitable, people should be paid for those ideas.

So qui vadis? Where can and did yo go from here?

We can rehash the foolishness done with the oversized cabinet till they Kingdom Come, and it is not going to change, but similarly so, what will our contributions mean to idiots bent on self destruction?

Human nature IS NOT DESIGNED TO GIVE FREELY for the benefit of the collective.

We are mainly selfish people. FULLSTOP, who wants for ourselves and our family and friends.

But what is wrong with being paid? Especially with all these increased taxes?

Secondly, Artaxerxes, the current design of this blog DOES NOT LEND ITSELF TO THE DYNAMICS OF DEBATE

THE THEME IN PLACE uses single threads and noncontigupus submissions.

And that is excellent for this non contiguous discourse.

That will deflate what is required under a nested topic where each thread would have sub comments

Serious debate requires contiguity not non continuity.

I hope I explained that properly

BU is best served in this format and to change it to the other format, would be a serious disservice

So you have (1) format (2) content ownership (3) compensation to the suppliers and of course, something that must not be forgotten (4) accreditating the author for their works

Before you actually get to content Artaxerxes, just share your ideas on the other elements I outlined please

@ A Dullard

I am not at liberty to say right now about the 31st.

11. 🙂 Have anyone considered LIAO… Last in, all out 🙂

————Not able to contribute that much——————–
    We can discuss various strategies for determining who get the boot, but the guy on the receiving end of the boot will believe you picked the wrong strategy.

I have seen many talk of performance evaluation followed by the comment that we don’t have a system or the metrics to do a good evaluation.

My heart goes out to the family who is looking forward to harsh Christmas

12. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item for Artaxerxes thank you

13. @T.Inniss

Like the Chinese for instance?

14. Predictably the unions have started to whimper.

15. David/BU @ 6:33.

Pray God no – not them please.

16. $25,000 from one person, or $1 from 25,000=exactly the same amount.

I think that ALL of our political parties are lazy and unimaginative.

Otherwise they would long since have figured out how to get that $1, or $2 or $5 or $10 from ordinary Bajans. Then they won’t be beholden to “party financiers”.

Stupseee!!!

For many decades I’ve given 1% of my gross income to my church. I would give the same to any political party, but none have ever asked.

if you don’t ask.

You don’t get.

I really can’t deal with idiotic people.

17. 245,672 people on the electoral roll, and parties scrunting for money.

Lolll!!!

245,672 x $100 (that is by $2 per week) =$24,567,200 (twenty four million, five hundred and sixty seven thousand, and two hundred dollars) every year. In five years $122,836,000

More than enough to fund any election campaign, and to release political parties from the bondage of “campaign financiers”

And our political “leaders” can find a way to persuade people to give them $2 per week?

Lolll!!!

Looka, I gone hear.

18. T.Inniss October 31, 2018 4:01 PM
    “Unions seem to be on their back feet.They have been knocked back by ……….the severing of the close relationships once held by (true) labour parties….”

T. Inniss,
    This is an extremely fascinating point which I would like to see developed.
    For starters, I would like to get to know who the “true labour parties” are, and who the false ones are.
    Secondly, I would like to know what gave this “severing of the close relationships” the ability to knock back the unions.

I relish this opportunity to sit at your feet and be educated.

19. ” From as early as 8 a.m., workers from four of the BADMC branches were sent home, with the headquarters in Fairy Valley, Christ Church, being hardest hit – 54 were dismissed from there.”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/209751/ceo-dark

#WEGOTTHIS

20. wunna remember Malik song ” world cup cricket” ?

21. Jackass

I’m going to put an end to this back and forth.

I DESPISE PEOPLE LIKE YOU.

Why????

You mentioned growing up poor in the Ivy and went to the UK in the 1960s……. probably at the expense of your parents. You bragged about attending expensive schools and universities in the UK, awards you won, courses you helped developed, which is also “the retreat of the bogus,” while trying to trivialize or describe as bogus the achievements of others you don’t know.

So now you’re a “big boy,” you have “arrived” …….. you now look down upon Barbados and Barbadians. You must have had to “kiss nuff white ass,” after all it was the 1960s, and even if you had ability, it did not matter then. Perhaps that’s why you come over as being so angry.

And you’re coming to this forum to insult Bajans, using silly terms such as “Bajan stupidity.” Don’t you realize these characterizations include your RELATIVES living here as well? And this is how you repay them, believing yourself to be more important than they are? Don’t you realize “Barbados is a failed state” for them as well?

Then again snobs look down upon others they believe are beneath them, so I won’t be surprised if you “renounced” your relatives here. And this is the reason why you can only communicate using insults, because you believe certain people are beneath you.

You’re a POMPOUS, ARROGANT, SANCTIMONIOUS, PANTOMATH SNOB that comes to this forum with the sole purpose of RIDICULING and INSULTING other contributors, especially those who do not share your views……

…….. and to impress upon others that you KNOW EVERYTHING ABOUT EVERYTHING, believing Barbadians living here are backward. You use disparaging remarks to criticise every single professional, systems… everything……..there isn’t anything in Barbados that is of any worth to you.

Recently, you have taken a special delight in dissecting David BU’s contributions…… describing them as “waffle” and referring to him in prerogative terms……suggesting he is ignorant. When your actions are reciprocated, similarly to a spoilt little girl…… you “cry foul” and “drop a lot of silly remarks.”

You mentioned how “stupid as ass” you and your silly wife bought a $1,000 time share and was scammed and when reminded….. you denied it. ASK BUSH TEA, HE ALSO MAKES MENTION OF YOUR FOLLY. A financial advisor indeed. NOW THAT’S THE MIND OF A FOOL.

More folly came when you mentioned the BDF conducts regular patrols of the West Coast.

Once again, Hal Austin you’re a pompous jackass and I DESPISE PEOPLE LIKE YOU.

22. Draytons two “yuh got to pay”

” Come December 1, parking at GAIA will now cost $2 for 30 minutes and $3 for one hour. While those saw a modest increase of $1 each, parking for 24 hours is now $24, double the previous amount.”

23. Two years of re learning the joys of home cooking.

“Central Bank Governor Cleviston Haynes accepts Government’s “strong” austerity measures will be “tough” for Barbadians over the next two years.”

24. Imagine if the DLP had done this.

Read front page of BarbadosToday.

25. Hants

My man yuh know what they say – who the dog likes he licks and who he don’t like he does kick.

Yuh bring back good memories there of Malik’s song ‘World Cup Cricket’ – and the list of people who were ‘FUH CUP’.

I have to go back and take a listen.

26. You lie again. Have I ever bragged about having had an ‘expensive’ education? The only schools that I have ever mentioned attending on BU are Belmont, St Giles and Combermere. And I have never mentioned any university – you have made such claims.
    Your response says everything I have suspected: envy, anger, a perception of being ‘looked down upon’, that I am a snob. You refer to my wife as ‘silly’, and now try to speculate that I dislike my family. You lie again by claiming I denied I attempted to buy a timeshare.
    What I have denied, is your claim that the place was somewhere in St Lawrence Gap (it was GP who wrongly identified such a place). It was not. You still insist that was the place.
    You still insist that I have claimed to be a financial adviser, I have never said any such thing. Even though I have pointed out to you that it is a criminal offence for anyone in the UK to claim to be an independent financial adviser, you persist. Because in you are a hate-filled verbal thug who fabricates myths which you then seek to destroy.
    You claim I have bragged about courses I have helped develop. Another lie. I have mentioned, in context, that City University’s MA in Financial Journalism was my idea and I was instrumental in structuring it in its early days. That’s on the record. It was Financial Times Group that first approached City University about launching the course. That too is on the record.
    Here is a challenge: get rid of your mask, write under your real name so neighbours, friends and colleagues know what you are really like. Or are you simply a coward too?

27. This lay off process shows once again Mia’s propensity to jump headlong into matters before fulling considering all the consequences or implications.

Whether it is the decision to default on the debt 2 days after winning the General election – something never even considered by past prime ministers,

or the position taken on the pensioners investment in government paper,

or these lay-offs which from all reports are creating chaos – whether its the sending home of clerks in the Police service,the Court process dept,the Customs department,the Land registry,NIS – wuhloss man – she is too hasty – which is not a good trait as a leader of a country

Then we also have decisions such as the selection of weather presenter Selma husbands as deputy permanent secretary

or the decision not to even have a discussion with the foreign creditors before she made the announcement to default

We are now hearing about key departments with no clerk/typists and the work just piling up.

There seems to be no proper planning in this whole process.

See today’s Nation newspaper where the CEO of the BADMC was not even aware of the lay-off which were taking place from as early as 8:00 a.m. where 62 workers from the 200 at fairy valley were sent home,then another 4 in another department – then to also hear that some areas were closing down.

The BLP carries this thing about political victimization too far.So because the CEO is the brother of DLP candidate Kim Tudor – it means he should not even be given the respect normally accorded to a CEO by letting him know that about 30% of your workers were being sent home that very day.

Every department you are hearing the same stories.Statutory corporations which should be following the notice provision in the Employment Rights Act – are now just sending home these workers without their severance pay in their hand as Mia and the Dr Wordroffe kept saying they were complying with for the most part.

As Hal Austin keeps telling us – this will all end in tears in the long run.

28. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Simple Simon

Just a small clarification on your recent comment

Toy said and I quote

“…245,672 people on the electoral roll, and parties scrunting for money…”

As far as I recall, and de ole man could be wrong, there are not 245k people on the electoral roll since the roll only carries people eligible to vote.

UNLESS YOU ALSO ADDED IN THE 40,000 ILLEGAL GUYANESE

The number that you may have used seems to be the population of the country and if so your mathematical calculations may be off as well.

But de ole man will be guided by the official data when provided

29. @ Hal Austin

Why do you bother with a dishonest intellectually challenged nitwit like Artax?

He has a small minded mentality and an obvious chip on his shoulder.

Ignore the fool and continue with your submissions.

I like the fact you add a wider perspective and much food for thought.

30. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Artaxerxes
    @ Hal Austin

You two gentlemen are quite capable of discussing issues without letting your egos distort your contributions that are very often insightful.
    Some body has to take the high road , why not you?

31. Murdaah in the market murdaaa. Hal did write about redeveloping the Transport Board site for housing. He has never mentioned anything about expensive schooling though, far less what university he attended.
    But back to the topic, has any of the talkers experienced a restructuring with a PR system in place? What is the process for firing/keeping staff?

32. Enuff,
    I said that the Roebuck Street was one of the most expensive real estate spots in the country. I proposed tat the Transport Board could be moved to St John, the poorest parish in the country, and that site be redeveloped with apartments, shops, offices, restaurants, and leisure facilities. It is still a very good proposal, which could form part of any infrastructural development.

33. Whether I agree with Hal or not, he seems like a decent, well-meaning chap. Whether I agree with Artax or not, he seems like a decent well-meaning chap. Both bring suggestions. Whether I agree with them or not I think that is a good thing. You guys are on the same side.

34. Hal Austin

What the government ought to do is to outsource the island’s transportation to privately own companies, but still maintain a minimum level of oversight as a way to save money and improve efficiency.

This perpetual dependency of government as the sole solution or alternative to the island economic vicissitudes … is self -defeating!

35. Lexicon,

The BLP/DLP have a distorted idea of privatisation – that assets must be sold to a bidder or preferred buyer with ready cash. It is perverse.
    There are other forms of privatisation, from cooperatives, to worker-owners to conventional corporations; more fundamentally is a need fore a new Companies Act, and not the current one based on the joint stock companies of the mid-19th century. But as it applies to the Transport Board, the real problem is competent management, not ownership. Travellers could not care two hoops who owns the buses, as long as their are safe and arrive on time.
    Finally, there is supposed to be a business school at Cave Hill. Don’t they run courses for SOE managements?

36. Hal Austin

It is time black people move beyond from the idea of work for others, and start thinking about ownership … as it is ingrained in the East Indian and the Chinese from birth … you seldom hear East Indians and Chinese talking about working for others…you hear these people speaking in terms of ownership … so therefore, is it time the race of black adopt this same way of looking at the world…

37. Lexicon,
    It seems to be part of Caribbean culture. We prefer to be employed and get a monthly salary than to take the risk of failing with our own businesses. It is the same in the UK.
    I will give an example: Asians who qualify as pharmacists often opt to start their own businesses, while Africans/Caribbeans prefer to be employed by one of the big firms. It is a matter of confidence.
    Same in Barbados. Black people are the bulk of the consumer market, yet if a black person opens a retail store buyers will prefer to go to an emporium in Broad Street than to buy from the 5&10, for example.

38. We have been conditioned that way. But it is changing. We are making slow progress. We need to speed up. This is why I speak about deprogramming. We must be prepared to take risks. We must see failure as an opportunity to try again. We must stop laughing at people who fail at their first attempt at entrepreneurship and recognize that most people take some time to get it right. One thing about we black people that causes those who do try entrepreneurship to fail is that they do not understand that you cannot expect to live lavishly off the business in the first years.

39. Austin
    If you were well read you would not pose these idiotic statements.Get a life.Its never too late to learn to cultivate the very good habit of reading and reading and reading good informative books which develop the mind and cultivate the personality.History should inform you and expose you to some truths you need to know.

40. Gabriel

Is there such a thing as being well-read when all that we are taugh, or what we read becomes irrelevant and antiquated with time?

A lot of the ideas of the ancient and medieval philosophers have been proven irrelevant by the contemporary philosopher, and such should be the case of the contemporary philosophers as their ideas gives away to time.

41. @Gabriel,

Many thanks for the suggestion. Plse recommend two or three good books I should read to bring me up to speed.
    @Lexicon,

The ancient philosophers work is still relevant. I suggest you read Plato’s Republic. On of his theories is quite relevant to Barbados. Put simply, if a group of people sat in a cave looking in t the stage, in time they believe life is all about what happens on that state; however, if another group is outside the cave, while recognising what is taking place in the cave is real, they also know there is a wider world outside. It is still the best description of learning by rote – 2000 years later.

42. Look this rash decision to default by ‘Give muh de vote and watch muh’ Mottley and this hasty lay off process is causing such turmoil in this country – that it is ripe for social unrest.

People are all over the country cussing Mia for the crap she is doing – for the suffering of poor families facing a hungry xmas – Yet de big guts Cabinet still in place and Mia up and down flying up and down every where.

THESE ARE THE VERY THINGS SHE CUSSED THE LAST GOVENMENT FOR.SHAME,SHAME AND ETERNAL SHAME ON ‘WATCH MUH’ MOTTLEY.

SHE HAS NO EMPATHY FOR THE SAME POOR PEOPLE SHE HAD RUNNUNG UP AND DOWN BEHIND HER – AND WHO SHE TOLD THAT ‘SHE CARES’ ABOUT THEM.

43. TInniss
    You gine be posting until yuh fingers sore. Mia and the Cabinet looking to build a legacy, and if it means making tough decisions to bring a better life for all in the long run they seem determined to do so. Roll out the Trust Loans from next Monday–another promise kept.

44. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ T. Inniss

Let de ole man ask you a question

When you were going school, you ever had your parents ask you how you doing, in your worst subject, AND YOU TELL DEM GOOD and when de end of term come, you fadder roast you behind?

How did he do that Inniss? was daddy a voodoo priest or didn’t he simply look at your report card?

If the report on these $5k mini loans are made public, it will be seen that 70 to 80% of them are going to be on consumer goods, stocking up a business with imported items to sell.

Which, given our current state of affairs, defeats the point, does it not?

But you can be assured that the report card on the use and efficacy of this $10M xmas present WILL NOT BE SHARED WITH THE PEOPLE WHO ARE GOING TO BE PAYJNG FOR THE IMF LOAN TILL 2033!

Suffer yah RH suffer…

45. Vincent Codrington
    Donna

I believe I have the right to set the record straight.

A “lie” may be defined as “a false statement or an intentional untruth made with deliberate intent to deceive or to convey a false impression.”

Supposed “George” said something about “Michael,” who subsequently says it is untrue, but does not present any evidence to substantiate his claim, how do we determine which individual is lying, in circumstances where scenario becomes “George’s word against Michael’s word?”

Obviously, the members of Michael’s “fan club” and those who are not particularly fond of George, would obviously believe Michael….. and vice versa.

I know I’m not one of the popular contributors to BU, especially among the DLP supporters. I made certain statements about Hal Austin, who accused me of being “a hate-filled verbal thug who fabricates myths,” and based on his word ONLY and in the ABSENCE of PROOF, his “fan club” members were quick to “jump upon his band wagon.”

And my point is reinforced by Hal Austin’s April 24, 2018 9:09 AM response to Mariposa re: “Historic allegations are always suspicious. Without forensic evidence, they are based on HE SAY, SHE SAY.

I, and others, have mentioned in this forum on more than one occasion that Austin bragged about he and his wife buying a £300 ($1,000) time share from Divi Southwinds and subsequently losing on the investment. He is adamant he bought the time share…… but DENIED buying it form Divi Southwinds and KNOWING where the hotel is LOCATED…..

I must admit Austin and I REFUTED each other’s claims relative to from where the time share was bought…. and in the ABSENCE of any SUBSTANTIATING EVIDENCE, it would UNREASONABLE under these circumstances for anyone to make an HONEST, UNBIASED DETERMINATION as to whether who is lying or not.

But I will reserve making any further comments on this issue…… until I find where I saved the original contributions.

46. In a previous contribution I mentioned many of you smart, intelligent guys have a TENDENCY to FORGET what you contribute to BU. I on the other hand, have an excellent memory and knowing the “modus operandi” of sum uh wunnuh………… I like to save certain contributions for “further reference.”

As it relates to Austin’s November 1, 2018 3:42 AM comment re: “You lie again. Have I ever bragged about having had an ‘expensive’ education?,”………… on May 16, 2018 7:38 AM, I responded to one of Austin’s comment with the following: “I recall a journalist writing that reading several financial statements qualifies him to comment on accounting issues.”

Knowing my comments were a reference to him, Austin responded “accordingly”: “Hal Austin May 16, 2018 7:16 AM: Artax May 16, 2018 7:38 AM: What a terrible journalist. Some journalists also learn to read financial reports at some of the best business schools in the world who run top of the class financial courses. That is why we have financial analysts. Al drivers do not have to be taxi drivers; the same way all those who know about accounts do not have to be accountants.”

I know members of the Hal Austin fan club will “spin” this issue……. but I rest my case.

This brings me to two individuals, enuff and T. Inniss.

Enuff, perhaps you can’t remember your contribution re: July 24, 2018 3:54 PM: “Hear Hal: “According to today’s Nation, Avinash Persaud is a financial analyst. Is he? But are you? Didn’t Avinash attend London School of Economics, one of the Russell Group universities YOU LIKE TO BRAG ’BOUT HERE ON BU? Lmbao….”

Because if you had remembered you would not have made the following comment: “November 1, 2018: “Murdaah in the market murdaaa. Hal did write about redeveloping the Transport Board site for housing. He has never mentioned anything about expensive schooling though, far less what university he attended.”

As such, enuff……… perhaps you should admit to lying as well.

Okay, that’s enough of enuff……… so, I’ll move on to T. Inniss.
    ++++++++++++++++++

In his October 29, 2018 1:16 PM contribution, T. Inniss used some very pejorative statements to describe me, as follows:

“You see what I tell you that Artax is a real BLP KOOL AID DRINKER STOOL PIGEON.” “This man is so PUFFED in his IGNORANCE and IMAGINARY BRILLIANCE” – that he likes to jump into bloggers post and boldly try to correct them while unwittingly showing up himself to be a PURE BRED JACKASS.” “But this SHITE HOUND Artax is of a particular brand of STUPID.” “I expect no better from this brilliant BLP FOOL.”

There isn’t anything wrong with that, after all he has freedom of expression.

But…. it may come as a shock to BU that, the same T. Inniss who wrote the above “colourful remarks,” is the same T. Inniss that wrote the following comments, in an attempt to defend his colleague:

“T. Inniss June 3, 2018 5:38 PM: I don’t agree with your position @ 8:52 a.m. on Mariposa – an obvious DLP supporter. I thought you were a bigger man or woman than that. I can understand you being DIAMETRICALLY OPPOSED to Mariposa’s VIEW but surely that is what DEMOCRACY and FREE SPEECH promote.

“Sure she may get you VEX AT TIMES but if THE BLOG IS FOR EVERYONE why KEEP SINGLING out Mariposa, Fractured blp or pointing out that it’s is ‘Waiting in vain’ posting in another name?”

“I see no such anger directed at those BLP posters who can be downright OFFENSIVE, VULGAR and REPETITIVE..”

“I AM REALLY HOPING THAT ON THIS BLOG WE WILL ALL ENDEAVOR TO GET ALONG AND LIVE AND LET LIVE.”

Apparently, when the name “Artax” surfaces on BU,” Inniss immediately sees “red.” He purposely forgets “the blog is for everyone” and being “diametrically opposed to my view,” gives him an excuse to forget “what democracy and free speech promotes.”

As a result of I “getting him vex (all the time),” he “directs his anger” at me………. “keeps singling me” to be “downright offensive, vulgar and repetitive,”………….

………… and all “hopes of we all endeavouring to get along and live and let live,” automatically goes through the window.

Are such insults reserved for contributors Inniss perceive as his “enemy,” or as a BLP supporter?

Does being “diametrically opposed to my view” give him the right to be abusive?

Was Inniss being a “bigger man or woman?”

Or is this not the height of hypocrisy?

47. Knowing my comments were a reference to him, Austin responded “accordingly”: “Hal Austin May 16, 2018 7:16 AM: Artax May 16, 2018 7:38 AM: What a terrible journalist. Some journalists also learn to read financial reports at some of the best business schools in the world who run top of the class financial courses. That is why we have financial analysts. Al drivers do not have to be taxi drivers; the same way all those who know about accounts do not have to be accountants.”(Quote)

Grasping at straws. I had planned to ignore your juvenile and boring behaviour. But here you go again trying to justify a fabrication. Even with your limited ability it is clear that there is no reference there to the personal pronoun ‘I’.

Enuff, perhaps you can’t remember your contribution re: July 24, 2018 3:54 PM: “Hear Hal: “According to today’s Nation, Avinash Persaud is a financial analyst. Is he? But are you? Didn’t Avinash attend London School of Economics, one of the Russell Group universities YOU LIKE TO BRAG ’BOUT HERE ON BU? Lmbao….”(Quote)

Again, which Russell Group university have I ‘bragged’ about? I| asked a simple question.

Your obsession is showing a sad side of your personality. What would a psychologist say about someone saving contributions so that s/he could come back months later to score cheap points?
    Just to make it clear, I will no longer be responding to your contributions no matter what you say.

48. Hal Austin October 31, 2018 5:19 PM: I mentioned that Acme made buses for the Transport Board in the 1960s from its Roebuck Street workshop, which I saw with my eyes and read in the Advocate.It was only when someone came on and said he left Barbados in 1967 and before that worked at the Transport Board and Acme did make buses for the TB you sort of accepted. No apology. YOU THEN DRIFTED IN TO WAFFLE ABOUT BUS SPECIFICATION. ALL TOTALLY IRRELEVANT TO THE SUBSTANTIVE ARGUMENT- whether or not Acme made buses for TB.

PLEASE NOTE CAREFULLY, “drifting into waffle…. “ALL TOTALLY IRRELEVANT TO THE SUBSTANTIVE ARGUMENT.”

Austin asked the following question:

“Hal Austin October 28, 2017 at 12:00 PM ” Is a state pension of Bds $179 a week an adequate income?”

Simple Simon responded:

“Simple Simon October 28, 2017 11:47 PM: @Hal Austin October 28, 2017 at 12:00 PM ” Is a state pension of Bds $179 a week an adequate income?”

“Not really. A state pension of $179 per week is minimally sufficient. However most people “contributory pensioners” do get more than $179.00 per week.”

Austin responded by drifting into waffle about the “history of mathematics”…..” ALL TOTALLY IRRELEVANT TO THE SUBSTANTIVE ARGUMENT.”

“Hal Austin October 29, 2017 10:54 AM: @Hal Austin October 28, 2017 at 12:00 PM ” Is a state pension of Bds $179 a week an adequate income?” Not really.”

“@Simple Simon, Apologies for being late coming back to you, but I shall deal with both your concerns here. First, I have no doubt about the ability of black men and women to be outstanding mathematicians. Historically this has been the case. To suggest otherwise would be to go down the road of biological determinism.”

“Second, and most important, I have an intellectual curiosity about ethno-mathematics, the reasons why I have raised in the blog on a number of occasions that economics is not a branch of mathematics (nor of biology or psychology) and that we must challenge the consensual orthodoxies of every discipline, including mathematics and the wider sciences. This is even more so given the rise of the digital revolution, with artificial intelligence making key decisions for us. My argument has always been if you put rubbish in to computers, you get rubbish out.”

“I am not a mathematician, but the basic history and sociology of mathematics is that it is just another filtering mechanism for colonial educational domination. But it is important that to oppose it you must fully understand the discipline.”

“Previously I raised the issue of Euclidian geometry. In the orthodox history we are told that the Babylonians first developed modern mathematics, then the Greeks. We know that is not true. We know that the Egyptians had advance mathematics which they used to trade with the Babylonians; it is also my case that the Babylonians were not the only trading partners with the early Egyptians.”

“Before the Arabs moved in to Egypt the Nubians occupied most of that part of Africa, even after the Arabs moved in they continued to trade with the Nubians, as far as Sudan and Ethiopia. It is part of my argument that traders came from farther and wider, so they must have had a form of mathematics in order to trade. This is the historical and philosophical basic of ethno-mathematics. As Bill Barton has asked: how did any one cultural form of mathematics came to dominate the discipline (to extend this argument, for mathematics, read medicine). Anyone with an interest in mathematics will tell you that in UK mathematics we use the X as a symbol of times (multiplication) in algebra, while the Americans use a dot, similar to what in the UK we use in decimals (in continental Europe, they use a comma).”

WTF!!!!!

49. I stand by my comment re: “You’re a POMPOUS, ARROGANT, SANCTIMONIOUS, PANTOMATH SNOB that comes to this forum with the sole purpose of RIDICULING and INSULTING other contributors, especially those who do not share his views……” ….. but I for forgot to include HYPOCRITICAL as well.

“Hal Austin January 16, 2018 10:38 PM: I TRY MY BEST TO BE HONEST AND POLITE. In case you do most realise it, DEBATING IS THE SHARING OF IDEAS.”

“Hal Austin March 10, 2018 9:15 AM: Let us start now by being serious about the issues and RESPECTING EACH OTHER.”

Hal Austin October 29, 2018 6:55 PM: A LACK OF GOOD MANNERS IS A COMMON CHARACTERISTIC. They are always ‘vex’, and do not debate to exchange ideas, but to score points, TO SHOW HOW CLEVER THEY ARE, since they perceive they are not appreciated, that is why they focus on the micro-issues, the examples, and not the substantive issues.

“They are the sort of people who talk about spelling mistakes in a work on moral philosophy. Such people lash out and translate that anger in to vindictiveness for all kinds of reasons. There are some common features in Barbadian culture. Remember those school boy fights and the reasons behind them? But I digress..”

The above comments shows ONE SIDE of Hal Austin………but…… because he usually contributes to BU infrequently, his bad ATTITUDE, as reflected in his contributions, are often overlooked. But when those contributions are compiled…… the REAL Hal Austin comes to the fore.

The following Hal Austin comments are examples of him at his best.

Hal Austin October 21, 2016 10:39 AM: Pachamama, I am pleased to apologise for calling you a plagiarist. However, your ignorance may be explained by your APPALLING economic SEMI-LITERACY and EMBARRASSING ARROGANCE.

Hal Austin November 11, 2017 12:38 PM: Plse read below for a classic example of SEMI-LITERACY parading as informed comment.

A responses to Bush Tea:
    Hal Austin November 12, 2017 11:43 AM: Your spectacular and APPALLING IGNORANCE is amazing. You are trivial and, as someone has described you, risible. I could not care how much you ‘cussed’ Owen or the man from Mars, put a sensible argument or shut up…

Hal Austin August 29, 2017 9:26 AM: James Greene, I am not sure how long you have been reading BU, but Bush Tea so-called is an idiot who thinks getting cheap laughs equates to serious discussion. Just read his posts and form an opinion of him.

Responses to one of the HUMBLEST …… RESPECTFUL contributors to BU, Peter Lawrence Thompson, whom he also referred to as a “keyboard warrior:”
    @PLT, You SEEM to be an EMPTY VESSEL. Can’t you define modern capitalism without Googling it? Plse, can you give a clear and precise definition of modern capitalism? [August 1, 2018 9:54 AM]

@PLT, You talked of slavery being the foundation of modern capitalism. I asked you to define modern capitalism and you drift off in to your USUAL NONSENSE. We are now in the 21st century, slavery was at its heights in the 17th-18th centuries. Are you suggesting that the capitalism of the East India company and of slave owners and the plantocracy, or Ford or Standard Oil, are the same as that of Apple, Google (your friend) and Facebook?

Let us expand the discussion: slavery co-existed with the Age of Reason, so, according to your reasoning, slavery was the foundation of reason. Sometimes I get so angry at what PASSES as KNOWLEDGE among the KEYBOARD WARRIORS on BU. But it is not surprising. [August 1, 2018 11:14 AM]

Responses to David BU:
    It is your way of hitting back for your USUAL IGNORANCE of discussions you always intervene with no proper understanding. A Bajan tantrum. You do it almost every day. One of the weakest, if not the weakest, contributors on BU. [July 21, 2018 8:09 AM]

Here goes David with his mindboggling simple thinking. Remind me, David, WERE DID YOU GO TO SCHOOL? [August 4, 2018 11:17 AM]

Unique or special? David, please let me assure you, I can read and understand better than you ever will be able to, that is the probem. You just do not understand the real world. You live in your little box. [August 3, 2018 1:35 PM]

David’s problem is not ARROGANCE, but IGNORANCE. He has nothing to be arrogant about and he is too deferential. [August 3, 2018 3:17 PM]

I can understand any sane and reasonable individual would express some level of anger at Hal Austin based on his behaviour, but to be “envious” of and having a “perception of being looked down upon” by him, is ludicrous and further confirms the man is also a narcissist.

Hal Austin October 29, 2018 6:55 PM: They are the sort of people who TALK ABOUT SPELLING MISTAKES in a work on moral philosophy.”

Ironically, Austin posted the following contribution to BU a year prior:

Hal Austin October 29, 2017: I am not being boring, but the Scots SPELL their product as whisky, not whiskey. No other country can spell their whisky similarly. It is what we should do with Barbadian (Bajan) rum.

I rest my case.

And this man accuses people of appallaing ignorance.

50. “Again, which Russell Group university have I ‘bragged’ about? I| asked a simple question.”

You have to ask Enuff that question.