The following statement was issued by Toni Moore, General Secretary of the Barbados Workers Union (BWU). The blogmaster confesses the statement raised many questions regarding the retrenchment exercise government is committed to executing as part of BERT.

1. Why in 2018 the LIFO is the method used to identify workers to sever from the public service? Toni Moore hinted in her statement that the PRDS (a performance system) does not command the confidence of the BWU. We have to ask why?
  2. How does government expect to change the culture of the civil service using LIFO as the basis to send home workers?
  3. Prime Minister Mia Mottley has repeatedly stated that the government has held several meetings with the social partnership to ensure all are on the same page. Did we hear Toni Moore suggest that there is some confusion with the execution of the retrenchment.
  4. What is the objective of government’s retrenchment exercise? Is it a cost cutting measure or is the government sincere in the suggestion that obsolete functions have been retired

115 responses to “LIFO in 2018?”

1. A longer serving public servant is more likely to be a union member.

2.         @ the Honourable Blogmaster

You posed this as one of your questions when you said

“…Why in 2018 the LIFO is the method used to identify workers to sever from the public service? Toni Moore hinted in her statement that the PRDS (a performance system) does not command the confidence of the BWU. We have to ask why?”

Have you ever had the displeasure of seeing the PRDS?

Have you anyone who knows about it?

Have they told you what it does and what it is supposed to do?

Have they told you how many people use it?

Do you know what its outputs are?

Once you get those questions answered then you will understand who Toni Moorre and others have no confidence in it

ASK Senator Caswell Franklyn he will tell you bout PRDS, but the ole man will say that , UNLIKE MyMoney, it physically exists heheheheheheh

3. The the class idiots will ask why have we not heard from the unions and other vested parties addressing the issue of the failed performance management system in the public service? On what basis can anybody speak with authority about worker performance in that sector?

4. If there is agreement that we need to change the work culture in Barbados, how is it even possible without an effective performance management system in 2018?

5. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

I going ask the Honourable Blogmaster to Ban you!

For those three questions alone you are displaying seditious and treasonous views that require your banning.

This is what Mr Vincent Codrington was speaking to when he said, and I quote

“…Too besides, the LIFO system is useless in the context of restructuring the workforce to ensure greater productivity…” purely because there is and has never been baseline data.

6. Toni Moore and Akanni Mcdowell – 2 other politiclly compromised individuals.

Caswell was able to deal with them well.

7. Why didn’t the government ask for volunteers – and offer those who volunteer an attractive package?

8. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Blogmaster which is it? Is it an ineffective “performance management system” or none at all?

The Gen Sec’s lack of confidence suggests there is a system which they just don’t like.

Taking @Pieces remarks above on board it doubly seems that whatever system is there has various issues but then that begs the questions, what are they!

Performance management is as simple obviously as regular (twice per year or annual) review between manager and subordinate properly documented with appropriate avenues for appeal against a bad appraisal. All this on a searchable, editable, secure network across agencies where employees may transfer.

Very basic at one level …so what is causing the big problems and lack of confidence?…Or is this a canard?

Losing a job is tough as the Dean noted on Sunday…the govt needs to complete the retrenchment carefully, with compassion and transparency and these noises re performance appraisals should have been addressed long ago.

9. It is NOT POSSIBLE for incompetent brass bowls who find themselves in position of authority via a flawed system of elevation, to conceptualise, implement, OR TO RUN …. even the most advanced, sophisticated, and effective systems that are known to mankind.
    NO kind of PRDS or other personnel evaluation system can be instituted by idiots who would THEMSELVES fail any kind of serious evaluation.

Only DRASTIC, revolutionary change – implemented by OUTLIERS (who have demonstrated success against the odds ) can possible bring positive change to Barbados.

NOTHING ELSE.

How has Sir Kyffin Simpson manages such phenomenal success …even when our economic geniuses were digging our greaves? …How has Bushie….?
    How have we sought to tap into these methodologies?

Steupsss..
    In the abundance of water, the fool is thirsty….

10. It is a general practice for governments in Barbados to employ party supporters starting after they win an electionand employ more the year before the next election.

Last In First Out will send home DLP supporters to make room for BLP supporters when government starts hiring again.

11. @ Bush Tea who wrote ” How has Sir Kyffin Simpson manages such phenomenal success …even when our economic geniuses were digging our graves? …How has Bushie….?”

I don’t know who Bushie and have no idea what he has done to be successful.

Barbados is a captive market of consumers in a capitalist economy.

Simpson sells to consumers.

12. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Brother in Arms Bush Tea

I actually was going go ask you the define Sir Kyffin ‘s contributions as a private sector player as it related to “exports”

Brother Hants said it well when he said and I quote

“…Simpson sells to consumers…”

Barbados does not need the middle man merchant who, WHILE THEY HAVE BEEN IMMENSELY SUCCESSFUL IN THE VEHICLE-SALES-CONSUMER-CREATION-ARENA, haS not ever manufactured nor produced one bolt for the wheel of said vehicles locally, for export.

What is needed is creativity, invention and innovation, we have to mek AND EXPORT SOMETHING in the quantities that generate foreign exchange, so Foreign Direct Investment while great, which does not generate revenues, preferably Forex, is a leech on our lifeblood.

But you know this particularly with your rapid growth BREADFRUIT trees do you not?

You only telling Mia in cryptic language to come and ask you why to do.

Bush Tea let me tell you something!

She ent going come to you now cause, even thought she fun know who you are, she small minded, and does not want help from “non yes men”

You ent going suck her pooch.

BUT when January 31st come she going run to menses like you, Mark de ole man’s words

13. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here thank you

14. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Bush Tea at 9 :07 AM

In an abundance of salt and contaminated water ,a thirsty fool is a wise man. The worse form of dishonesty is intellectual dishonesty. The BWU General Secretary is on a sound intellectual base….in my opinion. One cannot transfer the laws of Particle Physics to Astronomy.

15. @Hants

The padding of the public service by successive political parties strikes to the heart of the problem. We need to get serious.

16. “Last In First Out will send home DLP supporters to make room for BLP supporters when government starts hiring again.”

You’re on to something.

We had a similar situation in 2013 when the former DLP administration announced their retrenchment program.

Only difference is the DEMS refused to adhere to their agreed terms of using, “First Out, Last Out,” which would have sent home DLP supporters………

……… and opted to use the “First In, First Out” method instead, which obviously sent home BLP supporters to make room for DLP supporters when government starts hiring again.”

And we all know when the “dust settled” after those retrenchments were completed in 2014, DLP supporters were hired at Transport Board, NCC and a few other SOEs.

“Six is half dozen.”

As David BU correctly concluded: “The padding of the public service by successive political parties strikes to the heart of the problem. We need to get serious.”

But when I “point out these things,” I’m accused of being a “kool aid drinking, BLP stool pigeon.”

17. ******** Only difference is the DEMS refused to adhere to their agreed terms of using, “First In, Last Out,” which would have sent home DLP supporters………

18. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU at 11:59 AM

What is the real issue ? Political padding and unpadding?

Or

Transformation of the Public Service to fit the new economic/social environment of the third decade of the 21st century?

If the latter ,clearly LIFO is the incorrect methodology. Among the Last In are there none with blockchain technology and other digitizing skills?

Wuh Loss!

Whunna really think that bajans are all brass bowls.

19. William Skinner Avatar

It seems that we believe that the major solution is laying off public servants. The truth is that after laying off public servants and reducing expenditure, we will still be confronted by our inability to earn foreign exchange.
    Whatever gains are made will then be frittered away because we have to still support our lifestyles. We can’t have it both ways.
    We note that if the lazy visionless private sector does not abandon its mendicant attitude, we would be back here even before we achieve the goals that are supposed to be attained by 2033.
    All we have done so far,according to the Central Bank governor is take from Peter to pay Paul.
    In other words if we had not defaulted on our debts, we will still have weak foreign reserves. The foreign reserves have improved because we borrowed money from the IMF. The savings on expenditure are almost what we got from NSRL. The economy will not show any growth . So workers going home; increased taxation ; rising prices and we going no where fast.

20. @PUDRYR
    “BUT when January 31st come … Mark de ole man’s words”

What is gonna happen on Jan 31?? [a sincere question from a dullard]

21. Mr. Skinner

You and other contributors have expressed the opinion that BRERT will fail and “it will be tears before bed-time.”

When are any of you going to present any viable alternative economic policies for debate or discussion…….

………. other than the repeated suggestion that the Cabinet is too large and should be reduced (something I whole heartedly agree with and alluded to in previous contributions).

I recall those who were critical of the previous inept DLP administration were told, “rather than criticize, bring solutions,” by members and supporters of the DLP. That slogan became their mantra.

Ironically, now the “shoe is on the other foot,” critics of this current BLP administration are engaging in similar activities ………. being critical without presenting any solutions.

This clearly indicates that we’re not serious, because supporting and scoring political points for either the BLP or DLP is of paramount importance to supporters than what is best for Barbados.

Additional proof that we’re not serious is the fact that discussions in this forum about the economy, for example, begins well, but after 15 contributions, the “conversation” usually strays from the topic (as with EVERY article), and goes to irrelevant issues such as bashing each other, the Quakers, racist white minorities, scum bag lawyers, and of course, the favourite…..Donald Trump.

Then the discussion “peters out” after 1 day……. and 50 relevant contributions and 125 irrelevant ones.

But an article about Trump could attract at least 300 or more contributions over a 5 days period.

Rather than wait on the traditional media, David BU could contact the economists that are “anti” and “pro” BERT, ask them to submit articles or, use BU’s facebook page for them to share their views in an on-line discussion.

When “I point out these things,” I’m accused of being a “kool aid drinking BLP stool pigeon.”

22. @ Vincent
    In an abundance of salt and contaminated water, a wise man gets a filter …or better yet, he distills…..
    A wise man is NEVER thirsty…. (it is almost a means of telling…. 🙂 )

@ Hants
    Simpson sells to the world.
    Consumers (customers) are the ingredients that fuel ALL success in this albino-centric world.
    Our ‘tourists’ are our consumers. There is no difference – except that while we are going broke, Sol was just sold for BILLIONS…

Our problem is that we have no appreciation for TALENT and successful EXPERIENCE. Brass bowls are like that….
    We think that ‘success’ is some right that is due to us….. no matter what stupidity we pursue…. or which idiots we follow…

@ Piece
    … we have to mek AND EXPORT SOMETHING in the quantities that generate foreign exchange
    ++++++++++++++++++++++
    No we do not.

We simply have to be world leaders in whatever we choose to pursue ..and we will reap the appropriate success. It could be in music like Rihanna, or just making tourists feel valued and special – like we claim to be interested in pursuing as a country…

Brass bowls DO NOT HAVE the wherewithal to be world class CREATIVES. …THAT is ten bridges too far….

BTW…
    Bushie is NOT seeking any role…. from Mia or from ANYONE else…
    Bushie is ALREADY engaged…
    It is just difficult to see brass bowls so in need of a bit of polish …and not throw around some Brasso from time to time….

23. @ Artax
    When are any of you going to present any viable alternative economic policies for debate or discussion…….
    The OBVIOUS alternative to BERT was debated here on BU recently and your position there does not immediately ring a bell as having explained the weaknesses of THAT alternative….

If you managed a business where the annual income was 30% BELOW the annual expenditures would not your first instinct be to cut expenditures by AT LEAST 30%?
    If the cuts HAD to apply to your family and friends who you employed in that business, would you NEXT instinct not be to EQUALLY and compassionately share the pain of the needed cuts ACROSS the whole organisation?

OR….
    Would you do a bert and give yourself a 5% rise…… hire all your close friends (even those over and away) …and then fire the regular day -to-day workers who actually make the business run (even if badly)?

BERT is shiite.

The OBVIOUS answer is much like the one that Sir Lloyd implemented successfully – before being punished for his wisdom by the most dedicated set of brass bowls ANYWHERE.
    Sandi did not seem to know that where ignorance is bliss it was folly to be wise….
    ha haha

24. @Vincent

The crux of the matter is that the there has to be a system in the year of our lord 2018 to measure/evaluate the performance of workers using a more scientific approach. Believe it or not it is not rocket science!

25. William Skinner Avatar

@ Artax
    From the outside I have opposed any government anywhere in the Caribbean going to the IMF. I have always expressed the hope that our government will be successful. I have blamed the BLPDLP for taking us to the fund three times. Everybody on this blog knows that I refer to the IMF as international loan sharks.
    I have given my ideas on the way forward almost eight months ago. At that time I called for a four day week for public servants; a massive billion dollar road program over ten years; fifty million to advance the fishing and related industries along with ideas to lift small business persons.
    I have maintained that our economic problems are cultural and result from our failure to reform the education system etc.
    I have written in BU time and time again that we cannot produce a 2018 model on a 1918 production line. I am sorry you have not read these views that I have published on BU.
    On the private sector I have castigated them for not rising to the national task; have almost been alone in defending the public servants because I believe we have the best public service in the Caribbean or any place else. I could go on and on.
    I severely criticized Barbados Shipping and Trading for exploiting and then selling out Barbados. I have publicly in BU and the Nation newspaper gone after COW Williams.
    I don’t give two beans about George or Roebuck Streets. In my way of thinking the only difference between the Dems and Bees is how their members spell their names. Those on BU are no exception. There is nothing that Mariposa is doingnow that Enuff and Gabriel did not do. I have never joined in any discussion about that scumbag Trump!
    So please don’t attempt to put me in any box. Thanks.

26. William Skinner Avatar

& Artax

Should read from the outse I have. ……Not outside.

27. @William,

For someone to appreciate an alternative economic policy they must first know about different economic approaches and recognise an alternative when one is proposed.
    The reality is that the only differences between the DLP and BLP governments are personalities and while one was simply inept, the other behaves like a Mafia.

28. William
    Correction.The only difference between the Dems and the Bees is the Ends and you got beaten severely for throwing your lot in with the Ends in ’91.Afterawl 149 votes of a possible 6000 is similar to the 30 love the bees pelt in the Dems rear ends.That William is your Achilles heel,like it or lump it a la Bongo.

29. Mr. Skinner

My comments were not meant for you or Bush Tea.

I never attempted to put you in any box….. and I’m sure that you’ll agree that I have often mentioned that you’re one contributor that always offer alternative solutions.

It is true that, “For someone to appreciate an alternative economic policy they must first know about different economic approaches and recognise an alternative when one is proposed.”

However, one must recognize the need wary of accepting economic proposals from individuals with specific agendas, who by their own admission, are not economists, whose claim to fame is reading several financial statements and insist one of the reasons BERT will fail is because there wasn’t any mention of a redevelopment of the Harmony Hall area.

30. That’s right a big ole nasty blp stool pigeon lollll.

Nice shots from Bush Tea @ 2:22 p.m.

William skinner @ 2:47 p.m.

and Hal Austin @ 2:51 p.m.

I am reading and liking all of the above.

31. Hahahaha…

Nice to see you have recovered after your lies and ignorance were exposed.

32. This government as well as the last one – all made a big song and dance about encouraging entrepreneurship – but where is the enabling environment – can anybody point me to it ?

They fail to recognize that 90 % of their population and almost 98.5 % voters ( in both parties) are black.

Yet where are the creative policies from governments – past and present – to enable a future Bizzy or COW Williams,or a kyffin Simpson or Bjerkham through one of our black sons and daughters out of the community in the Orleans,or Husband Heights or Black Bess ?

How could Mark Maloney emerge from being an ordinary employee in 15 years to a multi millionaire and a mover and shaker in this place – yet rawle baranker and his sons still struggle with all the impediments placed in their way?

Are we only good to cut coconuts or sell ackees,or be a salesman for one of the distributing companies ?

Unfortunately black governments see their role not as giving a helping hand to pull those from within their community out of the deep financial hole – but to be there to facilitate through contracts a David Seale,or a S.Y. Adams or an Abdul Pandor,or Tony Abed.Steupes.

The decks are fully stacked against the ordinary,average black man or woman – whether its through the lack of financing from the banks,the dishonesty in those at the fund access agencies,or the very elected persons who say they want to give back to their country.

33. NorthernObserver Avatar

Many Unions are well beyond their ‘best Before date’. Any discussions in the ‘Social Partnership’ about public sector staffing is a straight bi-lateral deal, the private sector carry no weight. In the past years when there were no raises, just “talks”, what did they do about implementing measures to improve productivity, to help buffer membership in the event of a downturn. The same membership whose dues form the revenue the Union spends.
    What they do, is what unions have done elsewhere, sit back, continue to live well at the senior level, and keep a little noise once something negative affects them. They are proactive on little. This is because they are scared, any changes will upset at least sectors of the membership, particularly senior members, and potentially cost union leaders a job, they cannot find anywhere else.
    It isn’t easy, because these days one needs continual education.
    If you look at pro sports, gone are the days when the incoming recent draft picks, are seconded to the minor leagues for “seasoning, to get them ready”. They put them on the playing field pronto. Why? because they are cheaper than the old pros. And may develop into something or more, not less, value.

34. For the record, I do not know where Harmony Hall is. If the silly author is referring to one of my contributions (by innuendo, thus in a way that is typical of the slow of mind) I have proposed, and have done for years, the infrastructural development of the City slums, and have cited the development of Grazettes, the Pine and other areas by the Grantley Adams government as positive examples.
    In case his book keeping is not up to speed, this is the fundamental proposal for an alternative macroeconomics, which he does not recognise. We have had @PLT in previous discussions asking where the funds will come from and I answered that reservation. He, nor any of the opposition, have ever said if they opposed the substantive idea.
    Once more there is the nonsense of a specific agenda, but no explanation. If he is referring to me, what is the agenda? I am a retired man, with no further plans to work, who spends most of his time reading, visiting and entertaining family and friends, listening to radio, occasionally watching television, and attending seminars, conferences and courses of interest.
    There is no Barbados agenda, if that is what is implied. Nor, indeed, any further agenda or grand plan. I am not seeing any appointments in Barbados and only recently refused to allow my name to go forward for a Barbados award. There is no British agenda, apart from the consideration of cremation or burial.
    I am not an economist (nor a chartered accountant, property owner apart from my home, politician, doctor, consultant, nothing), nor have I even been to school beyond the age of ten. As to a claim to fame, another example of silly reasoning to get a cheap laugh. Reading annual reports was part of my job, but not the most important or even a big and significant part of it.
    For my sins, I worked as a financial journalist in a highly competitive environment and people, in their judgement, made a number of awards to me for my work, which I accepted in all humility and rarely referred to during my working life and certainly do not now..
    I do not refer to qualifications – and never have on BU – since it is the retreat of the bogus: do you know who I am, I have a PhD in law or economics from Trump University. Nor, I am a property magnate and, thus, am successful. That argument is meant to close down debate. I don’t buy it.
    I like ideas and am prepared to debate ideas at any time and any place with our leading economic thinkers. I stand or fall by what I say, not by my qualifications.

35. Northern Observer

Sadly your first sentence seems to be true and very evident all across the world – in both developed and developing countries.

Unions seem to be on their back feet.They have been knocked back by some of the selfish policies of multi-national corporations,the severing of the close relationships once held by (true) labour parties – and most of all the lack of agility in being able to adjust to a changing work environment and changing work force.

Sad though – because I believe Unions are needed to balance the equation in society.

Union leaders like Moore and McDowall have not helped to enhance the image of the unions here in Barbados – especially at a time when workers are questioning the relevance of the union to their situation.

The lambs lay down with the lions – and the lions gobbled them up.

36. Mr. Skinner

It did not take long for T. Inniss to expose himself as one of the individuals I was referring to.

Other excess criticisms of the BLP (or cussing me), can you or anyone REFER to ANYTHING in his contributions that could be IDENTIFIED as an alternative economic policy?

37. NorthernObserver Avatar

@TI
    the castration of the unions happened long before they chose partners in the March. It seems that March has a long term stinging effect in the minds of many? Maybe they should have Marched more often?

38. Hal

Well played @ 3:59 p.m.

Don’t worry the truth will out sometime.

I respect the contribution you make as well as all the other bajans in the diaspora.

There are some here who just like showing up their ignorance by attacking bloggers contributions with their jobby and once caught out in their crap and their lies – without shame seek to spin the story.

How can we go forward as a blog site with that sort of mindset.

Carry on Hal – At least you make your contributions with an honest intention.

39. Clearly you have some very serious issues for a man your age……. medication may work…… but therapy/counselling may be needed quell your need for attention and for you to behave and relate like an adult and not a child.

40. @ T. Inniss
    How could Mark Maloney emerge from being an ordinary employee in 15 years to a multi millionaire and a mover and shaker in this place – yet rawle baranker and his sons still struggle with all the impediments placed in their way?

Are we only good to cut coconuts or sell ackees,or be a salesman for one of the distributing companies ?

Unfortunately black governments see their role not as giving a helping hand to pull those from within their community out of the deep financial hole – but to be there to facilitate through contracts a David Seale,or a S.Y. Adams or an Abdul Pandor,or Tony Abed.Steupes.
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Unless one already have many $$$thousands to pay to play upfront then one is not allowed in the game which disqualifies most black locals and the honest ones.

41. NO

Respect your view – although its not shared by me.

42. Sorry – But I am checking to see where in my contribution – I mentioned Harmony Hall.

Oh well – never mind – another lie from the BLP stool pigeon.Steupes.

43. Ask Kyffin Simpson who created him in his persona as businessman extraordinaire.None other than Errol Walton Barrow.Kyffin got his leg up from Barrow.Read the press if there is doubt.

44. IMF

COW himself said he started with nothing – no big collateral – and as a young man – the banks were willing to lend him money.

SY Adams started out repairing cars in mason hall street – then through one of the siblings close relationship with Billie miller – then ended up with multiple bus licenses – which along with ‘ the importation of other things’ – helped them to aquire a lot of property in Bridgetown and speighstown.

David Seale had his supermarket in black rock and then Wildey (plus I think the small fledgling e.s.a.f rum brand) – however it is well known that he owed the Development banks millions – and as a blp supporter – his loans were written off.

What about the school meals syrup fiasco

And last of all – how that land at foursquare was acquired?

IMF they did not always start out with money to pay the political players – but doors were open for them to enable them to make wealth and then – down the road – give monetary favours to the politicians.

45. I can point to five black bajan millionaire entrepreneurs all of whom prefer to stay out of the public limelight and I posit that is one of the secrets of their success.Another possible component of their success is they pay attention to their businesses and not to the delilahs around and about.

46. Gabriel

Alright then.That is what all these politicians ( of all stripes) are noted for.

47. @T.Inniss

You should ask yourself from where does campaign financing flow, the minority groups perhaps?

48. David/BU

Yup – But have you noticed David these politicians never create the space for up and coming black businesses to emerge and grow – so that in time they too can become party financiers ?

It seems they are only comfortable with enriching those from the paler shade.

49. Have you never came to this forum suggesting a redevelopment of the area from the Globe cinema, (which is located at the corner of HARMONY HALL and Roebuck Street) and going as far as the Transport Board depot?

And you know I have the ability to find that contribution.

I asked for a serious discussion about BERT and I’m being vilified………

……..something you previously asked for on September 1, 2018 3:21 PM: “When are we going to have a serious ECONOMIC debate, about BERT?”

50. The negative comments some of you write would give a Martian the impression that Mia and the BLP have been in Bay St since 2008.For Pete’s sake,give the party some space to stop the rot,inspect it,throw out the garbage,bring in the replacements and manage the future prospects of country Barbados.The GoCB thinks the country is now more manageable.Watch she!!