The blogmaster followed with interest the debate in the Upper House on the Debt Holder (Approval of Debt Restructuring Bill, 2018) on the 17 October 2018. The contributions of Senators Caswell Franklyn, Crystal Drakes and Crystal Haynes were instructive and generally accorded with the view of the blogmaster.

The blogmaster however was impressed with several of the points made by Senator Rawdon Adams. Of note is when he referred to what the Barbados brand use to be, how it has been dismantled in recent years and how we appear not to know what kind of Barbados we want to replace it.

Here is the video of the presentations of the four Senators mentioned with Senator Adam’s presentation found at 2hrs and 9 minutes into the video.

238 responses to “Senator Rawdon Adams Sobering Intervention in the Debt Restructure Debate”

1. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David October 20, 2018 11:19 AM
    “Is tourism a product offered by many countries? Does weed have unique qualities based on where it is cultivated? Asking for a friend.”

Yes, David!
    Just like coffee, mary jane is ‘rated’ according to its ‘soil’ of origin.

Jamaica has its Blue Mountain strain; just like its coffee.

Like its exotic sandy beaches, why can’t Barbados market its mary jane called the Bush Hill variety? A mellow combination of old Bajan sweetness infused with a whiff of Atlantic Ocean breeze.

2. Miller…are you talking about smoking or medicinal..

Ah don’t smoke so sencilmania ..Jamaica…and red beard…Columbia.. means nothing to me, it is if the bud is grown well for potency in processing is my concern..

ya can grow a plant in ya house although outside soil is much better…and if that plant is not grown properly good soil not withstanding, it will not process into medicinal form properly….and from what the experts say…same goes for those grown in outside soil….and the plant appears to be fickle and temperamental…like the Rosemary plant, if ya ever tried to got one of them..pure hell…although they say marijuana in the right, controlled environment…is vey easy to grow..

3. Miller. though..why would you want to name a good piece of bud…Bush Hill..lol

4. Sooner or later Barbados will legalise cannabis, build gambling casinos and legalise wikkinanbullin.

5. Mari 10:43 am

Is that the only thing I said?

Didn’t I not go on and explain what the disaster relief insurance funds was for and give you an example? Or is your brain to small to understand what I was saying and you can only see and cherry pick what you want?

There was a larger family in St James that lost all in a fire, why are you not equally concerned about them and their plight?

The money from the relief funds was not made for a family in their situation either.
    That is what home insurance is for!

You want government support from the cradle to the grave and a government hold hand at every event in the turn of life?

The relief fund was not made for the man who lost his car due to the flood water. he was poor and the car was his means of making a dollar.

THATS IS WHAT CAR INSURANCE IS MADE FOR.

If you lose everything and find ends hard to meet that is what the Welfare Department is for!

Now go and made that donation to the flood family and while you at it don’t forget the fire family!

6. waru you must be smoking and eating that stuff that they grow around graham hall swamp, or should I say holding tank
    o gazerts you pseudo irish twat…you do realize that the black donnellys werent black right.

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ WARU October 20, 2018 12:23 PM

The smoking cannabis is incidental to the mary jane buisness. In fact, smoking in whatever form is harmful to human health (for example cigarettes but which, however, can be bought over the counter of any rum shop or convenience store).

Why not explore the other uses of cannabis? What about using it to produce plant-based pharmaceuticals instead of the synthetic varieties which are not working to improve the people of colour?

What about using it as a healthy and cheap source of organic animal feedstock to save forex?

There are tremendous commercial opportunities which only require the unleashing of latent entrepreneurial talents of some people but within a non-criminalizing framework.

It would be a massively shortsighted letdown if the IMF-loans are used to prop up the balance of payments to facilitate the importation of cannabis-based products while the fields of Barbados are overrun with cow itch and left to remain in a state of abject ruin absorbing the shameful sweat and tears of the fore parents of the current crop of black Bajans and their myopic political masters.

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@millertheanunnaki October 20, 2018 12:50 PM

“Why not explore the other uses of cannabis? What about using it to produce plant-based pharmaceuticals instead of the synthetic varieties which are not working to improve the people of colour?”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

That should read:
    ‘What about using it to produce plant-based pharmaceuticals instead of the synthetic varieties which are not working to improve the health of people of colour currently wracked by NCDs?’

9. Miller…from your brains straight to the Divine’s ears..

For what I am told, there is a movement currently afoot to encourage the Mia government to legislate the necessary laws that would allow the black entrepreneurs on the island….to pursue all that you are suggesting…am sure they are still waiting for whomever is taking taxpayers money in salary every month and is responsible for getting that show on the road…to do so BEFORE everything falls apart even more..on the island.

If the government REFUSES to act to prevent a further downward spiral in the lives of the majority population, knowing they now have the Cannabis option for the majority population to utilize …they may see this as unfortunate but…I am currently in a unique position to post the information on BU..

10. Lawson..ah still waiting for a photo of your abs…minus ya 4 legs..

11. The bigger cointries have sufficient advance technolgy to grow and produce marijuana and convert it into medicinal use than the smaller islands
    The smaller countries relevance to selling the plant to those bigger international countries where the plant is legalise
    These small countries need for sourcing other countries would sooner or later come to a small crawl for sourcing
    Furthermore when the market becomes over saturated with the plant the prices would drop and small competitors would not be able to sustain sourcing the products in international markets at a loss

12. John2
    The latter part of your comments does not discredit what you stated about poor people living in the flooded zones where you indicated that these poor people should have Flood insurance and not wait or rely on govt assistance for necessary help

13. yardfowl…give it up…first find out how the plant material is processed and then talk that rubbish…

Jamaica just processed am sure a good ton ..a lot…of oil and sent it to Canada…any small island can do it..you can do it if ya don’t blow up yaself first from not following instructions….with ya light head.

14. Ya get so tired of all of them, the best thing that happened for all of DEM/BLP is social media..

“BRIDGETOWN, Barbados, Friday October 19, 2018 — The Mia Mottley administration is being warned that if it does not get its job cuts procedures right, it could end up facing expensive lawsuits.

That caution has come from Democratic Labour Party (DLP) President Verla De Peiza as she gave her party’s perspective on Government’s plans to send home 1,500 public workers as part of the International Monetary Fund-supported Barbados Economic Recovery and Transformation (BERT) programme.

She expressed concern that the Government seemed not to have learned from the ruling of the Employment Rights Tribunal in the matter of the hundreds of National Conservation Commission (NCC) workers who were retrenched by the previous DLP administration.”

Read more: http://www.caribbean360.com/news/barbados-government-warned-of-lawsuits-if-public-sector-layoffs-not-done-right#ixzz5UUqm89Z0

15. Lady u speak light a snake oil salesman
    On the subject exportation of marijuana
    Presently Canada is the only country internationally that allows for the importation of marijuana
    America has a few states that have acess to marijuana in limited productivity and for medical purpose
    Again on the subject of Jamaica
    The exportation to Canada lends only to second or third party interest who has businesses in the planting !growing!and refining of the plant to oil which is exported to Canada
    Jamaica govt role as a facilitator. starts with granting investors permitsvto buying or planting and refining but not as a wholesale investor/ distributor in selling the refined product to any country

16. Mariposa..am not trying to convince anyone of anything, I get my processed cannabis, which is fine as long as there is a supply…and I don’t have to travel too far….

from your useless mouthings, it is clear you know absolutely nothing about the current trade…let alone how lucrative the plant’s many uses are…

……I know hypocrite bajans like yaself only too well…next thing ya hear you will be the head one trying to sell it or export the processed medicinal form….while still crying down the Mia government for legislating it’s many uses.

and since yall got kicked out of parliament anyway..ya cannot stop anything once it is set in motion to benefit the people.

17. In December, the World Economic Forum (WEF) officially reported that by 2020, solar will become the most affordable renewable form of energy in the world.

https://youtu.be/cQLY4uIuEV4

18. As I said…you are clueless..and uninformed, stop spreading lies and propaganda..

BTW…we are on the cusp of autumn

while the feds are stills playing footsie in US, they too are loosening up..

“News
    Medical cannabis will be available on prescription in UK from autumn

BMJ 2018; 362 doi: https://doi.org/10.1136/bmj.k3290 (Published 26 July 2018)
    Cite this as: BMJ 2018;362:k3290

Medicines derived from cannabis will be able to be prescribed on the NHS for patients with an exceptional clinical need by specialist clinicians from the autumn, the government announced today.

//////////////////////////////////////////////////

“Canadian marijuana company has been granted permission by the U.S. federal government to export medicinal cannabis to California for scientific research.

The company, Tilray Inc., and Dr. Fatta Nahab, an associate professor of neurosciences at the University of California San Diego’s medical school, who is behind the research, believe it is the first time that the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) has given the green light to a Canadian producer to export a cannabis study drug south of the border, The Toronto Star reported. Getting approval was a months-long process that also required the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) to agree.”

/////////////////////////////////////////

“Medicinal cannabis: importation and the traveller’s exemption
    21 March 2018
    Medicinal cannabis products can be imported into Australia for the treatment of patients through a number of mechanisms.

Recently, the Department of Health has allowed for the bulk sponsored import of medicinal cannabis products.Information about medicinal cannabis products and existing licenced manufacturers and importers can be found on the ODC website: Importers and manufacturers of medicinal cannabis products. For medicinal practitioners using the above prescription pathways, these products are readily available in Australia and there are no delays to access as these bulk sponsored imported products do not need to be imported for individual patients.”

//////////////////////////////

“These 30 Countries Have Legalized Medical Marijuana in Some Capacity
    A growing number of nations are waving the green flag on medical cannabis.”

19. Shit hound WARU you comments are as crazy as you and speaks to your mentality
    Obviously you can not dispute convincingly what i say hence your insipid attacks
    For Chrit sake go take a bathe

20. Stupid and how many of these countries are in line to source marijuana from the Carribbean
    As stated by me previously only Canada has begun sourcing from Jamaica with having so far second or third party interest involved those being foreign investors

21. @ The Sage Anunnaki

You need to stop posting here cause every time you delivery your gems all that happens is that the sheeple around you go “baaaaaaaa.”

Imagine using an extract of the wacky tabaccy to cure COPD???

I going start a campaign to get you banned as well cause every single time fellers like you and Bush Tea and Theophillus and de big guns does post wunna does drop gems in front of these swine and them does pees and shy** pun dem and it does be lost in the swill

Here is another one of your ideas

https://i.imgur.com/sFKOZMs.png

The fact is that, as a standalone, your idea does not achieve its full potential oh Sage.

It has to be nested among some concurrent elements

Nonetheless you sir can rely on the clowns at the BTMI to really ef up that idea.

22. William Skinner Avatar

@ Hal
    Good piece. The apologists only criticise who live outside because they have ran out of people to criticize. They are ashamed that the country is disappearing before their eyes and there are no answers in Roebuck or George Streets.
    They will soon engage in rampant political cannibalism by eating themselves.
    The process has started here on BU the firecrackers and little star lites will soon run out of petty insults and inferior party posturing.
    Their days are numbered. After fifty two years of independence the country is being managed from Washington.
    Let die in shame!

23. Do your research, just days ago there was an article in the St. Lucia online news that said 3 YEARS AGO…the Caribbean islands were approached by countries to supply them because of the year round summer conditions on the islands..and the slow ass lazy ass Caribbean governments did nothing..only Jamaica had the vision in the last 3 YEARS to rise to the top and LEAD, other islands will now follow…..

If you do not know what…. DEMAND is greater than SUPPLY means, please google it..

24. Ya should ask dotish Fruendolittle if he was contacted…ah bet he was…the clown..

…or maybe Dumbville also contacted, but ya done know he wants his bribe upfront..

25. “Their days are numbered. After fifty two years of independence the country is being managed from Washington.”

Holy crap…William is that you???? I really thought it would have been someone else voicing that….

Ah know you are in touch and quite capable of figuring it out, but it never occurred to me that it was you who would voice it..

26. I have been waiting the whole week for that reality to come from one of us on BU..

27. @William,

Thanks.

28. Nut case di u. not understand that the govt interaction is to act as a facilitator giving permission to foreign investors that deals with the harvesting and refining and converting of the plant to oil
    Wherby the exportation under the permission of Jamaica govt becomes legitimate for the investor

29. ….now we see why DLP was such a big FAIL…30-0

30. 0 mean nothing without sucess
    Jac a.ss go figure
    Still cant dispute my comments
    Amm try yuh friend goggle

31. your comments make no damn. sense, I did not even try to decipher that blather…I just skipped right over it..

Mandarin is easier to translate.

October 23rd is Tuesday…have ya bought ya ticket yet to get a seat in the Brooklyn Court house, can ya travel….will all the former minister be there…lol..is Fruendel going..

32. 30.- 0 means nothing without sucess

33. Am sure you view that as success, I expect nothing less.

ya will get ya opportunity next election to be in the same company 30-0 company…yall can exchange notes…

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ pieceuhderockyeahright October 20, 2018 3:05 PM

Why not get your grandson come up with a promotion & marketing tagline in one of his ‘brilliant’ cartoons which could convey the following theme to enhance the Bajan tourism brand with Rihanna as the ‘shinning’ focus?

“Come fly with Virgin to feel like a Diamond in the Atlantic Sky!”

Piece, it seems your grandson is following in his grandfather the master’s footsteps.

Like the BU legal luminary Jeff Cumberbatch, the miller, too, would like to acknowledge your well-rounded authority not only in the realm of Literary appreciation- so consummately expressed in your premonition with the analogous reference to Edgar Allan Poe’s “Nevermore” the talking raven (equivalent to the Bajan black bird)- but also your vicarious (through your grandson’s “stoopid cartoon”) depiction of the Fravashi.

Your ‘open’ pineal gland allows knowledge and understanding to flow rather deep under the three rivers (Euphrates, Tigris and the Nile) on whose banks lie the esoteric pillars of ancient wisdom.

Zarathustra would have been proud of one of his initiates to Ahura Mazda’s heavenly throne of Light & Truth.

35. A Happy good morning to all.
    🙂 I am wondering if the Miller is located in Canada as the volume of smoke seem to be obscuring his keyboard
    Hopefully his celebration of October 18, will soon end. 🙂

Have a great day Miller

36. Does Caswell identify with some of the absolute nonsense being espoused by Dr Atherley in parliament? Is there a limit to Bajan buffoonery?

37. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ TheoGazerts October 21, 2018 9:29 AM

Sorry, Theo the friendly mouthpiece of your god!

The encoded message might have been a bit too ‘garbled’ for your Irish liking (as deduced by the mad Celt Lawson).

Next time we will try to speak through your patron saint Paddy.

You too have a “great day”. But don’t forget your whiskey in the jar.

38. it is indeed a most sad thing when The parliament of Barbados and its videos and documents to the world are so infiltrated with “tracking protocols” that any person being stoopid enough to access the documents find themselves with a Jong or is that a Long infection of the cybercode type.

OF COURE PERSONS BEHIND FIREWALLS, DO NOT GET ACCESS TO SAID OSTENSIBLY PUBLIC DOCUMENTS because your site is unable to effect a handshake with those files because of your firewalled machine.

In short your machine does not tell Jong where you are so you wont get the documents like the pdfs which tell them who downloaded what when AND MORE IMPORTANTLY , depending on who you are, permits them to “CALL HOME” with your continuing use of your machine thereafter.

You have subscribed to the BLP’s Trojan Horse backdoor and dem is having unprotected sex with you every day you turn on your machine.

This is what you will see in those circumstances

https://i.imgur.com/qLGMlsH.gifv

Look at what Barbados has come to – a country where despots need to see what is on your hard drive cause (a) dem is devoid of ideas (b) dem has no intention to share anything with anyone other than Stephen and Jong heheheheheh and (c) dem fears those who are different

39. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Sage Anunnaki

De ole man is humbled by your compliment yet you should be aware that I have yet to achieve your Third Eye acuity and mastery of tongue both in writing and AND ORALLY.

Your dexterity is legendary cause whatever you write you can say with equal fluency.

What is here written by the grandson, and which a part does indeed leverage your fuselage initiative, is just the tip of the iceberg.

Since no one other than Simple Simon answered the question and you and Bush Tea were debarred, de ole man will answer the question in part.

The first part of Bush Tea s question to be addressed us “what do the people want?”

And by “the people ” we do not mean the bajan population we mean the global audience.

And then the second part of that gestation issue is immediacy to market.

So it must have the element of popularity EVEN THOUGH IT DOES NOT EXIST AS YET, and must be immediately deployable.

Now mind you, Bush Tea dun said this when he penned his comment here many moons ago but the sheeple and class idiots, and they know who they are, were unable to understand what he wrote.

Now here is the real thing Oh Sage.

In what subject does one proceed to focus the Bush Tea matrix?

Remember that it has to be popular for the global population and immediately realizable

Food? That is one excellent example. A food staple which, being indigenous to the country, might be easily convertible to a global commodity

Natural Disasters? Another issue for which there is a global appetite with an immediacy that if it can be met, spells revenues.

IT, another sector IF ONE CAN FIND THE SPECIFIC GOOGLE-TYPE OFFERING, which is readily deployable, given the inherent subscription quotient of such a product, you have yourself a third winner.

Health. This is a multi sectoral market where, if for example you had a bush tea that could cure erectile dysfunction, you gone clear.

Now ammmm let de ole man be clear about this.

What Bush Tea has sain in theory, exists in practice, this IS NOT SPECULATION ON DE OLE MAN’S PART, it is just that fellers like PLT got to tinker wide dese tings while de Budh Tea s of the country have these INDUSTRY BOLT-ONs that can be deployed overnight.

But, there is one problem with this Bush Tea Strategy.

THERE IS NO PROVISION THROUGH WHICH BUSH TEA LIKE IDEAS CAN BE (1) protected and (2) compensated so that Budh Tea does not get robbed of his idea in addition to not getting paid

You take a look at the Ideas4Barbados web portal on the Ministry of Labour’s website yet?

Up to now, the very portal that is to be the gateway for innovation and creative, ent get a mechanism to manage their intake process yet!

Yet we got US $30 million for entrepreneurial retraining from de IMF, we ent ready doah

40. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here thank you

41. A seven-point prescription for the economy is the correct one to bring about three-per cent annual growth after a stalled decade, insists former Governor of the Central Bank of Barbados Dr Delisle Worrell(Quote)

Can the good doctor tell us the years since independence when the Barbadian economy grew by three per cent annually? While at it, can he also list the years when the global economy grew by at least three per cent since 1966? And, to fill in the picture, can he also list the years since 1966 when the regional economies (Latin America and the Caribbean) grew by at least three per cent annually?

42. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ PUGRYR

Spot on. If only the experts would understand and heed. But hang on in there. There must be, some day coming soon, a Damascan moment. We must live in hope.

43. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Sorry . That was for Piece of the rock Yeah right.

44. The problems with Barbados run far deeper than economic. We now have a situation in which the HR department t the police have to make a public appeal to contact two of their employees. It can only happen in Barbados, where incompetence is given a special award. And it is treated as normal. What can BERT do about this?
    Barbados is a failed state.

45. […] in the Senate by Senator Rawdon Adams continues to resonate with the blogmaster – Senator Rawdon Adams Sobering Intervention in the Debt Restructure Debate. What was responsible for the Barbados brand? A brand that was the envy of the Caribbean and wider […]

46. Several state-owned entities will be restructured or shut down as part of phase 2 and 3 of the Barbados Economic Recovery and Transformation (BERT) plan, starting the next fiscal year.
    Some of the first casualties, identified in a document called Proposed Public Sector Expenditure Reduction Programme, are the National Initiative for Service Excellence (NISE), the Department of Constituency Empowerment and the Productivity Council.
    NISE and the Productivity Council will be replaced with a “small unit formed in the Divisions of Economic Affairs and Investment to deal with competitiveness.”
    The Department of Constituency Empowerment will be disbanded with no indication of an alternative unit.
    The document also revealed that major cuts are coming to several other Government departments.
    For instance, the Cultural Industries Development Authority and Pan African Commission will be reabsorbed into the National Cultural Foundation (NCF) before the end of the fiscal year, while the Barbados Conference Services Limited, which operates the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre, is currently undergoing a rationalization programme through the lease of the office building to Ross University.
    The Barbados Defence Force’s (BDF) Sports Programme is continuing as it, but with no funds from Government.
    The document also proposed to send home workers from the Government’s Public Affairs Department which comprises the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation (CBC), the Government Printing Department and the Barbados Government Information Service (BGIS) by the end of Ocotober.
    CBC’s Multi-Choice Television (MCTV) will remain, but is being restructured.
    The Mia Mottley-led administration also intends to divest the Caves of Barbados as a business and lease the caves, a major tourist attraction, to the private sector.
    Kensington Oval Management Inc (KOMI), the company which operates the mecca of cricket, will be managed through a joint venture between the Government and the Barbados Cricket Association, while Gymnasium Limited, the entity that runs the Wildey Gymnasium of the Garfield Sobers Sports Complex, is being incorporated into the National Sports Council (NSC).
    The Government is also targeting its Registries to be operated under a public-private partnership arrangement. The document noted though that Government officials must first meet with staff of the Supreme Court Registry, the Land Registry and the Corporate Affairs and Intellectual Property Office before the proposed plan could be implemented.
    In the third phase of the public sector spending cuts plan, the Barbados Water Authority (BWA) and the Transport Board will be fully restructured in four phases.
    Regarding he BWA, the first phase is expected to result in layoffs and will be completed by November 15, the second phase by March 31, the third by December 2019 and the final by June 2020.
    Workers at the Transport Board will be sent home during the same time period as the BWA.
    The National Housing Corporation (NHC), the Rural Development Commission, Urban Development Commission, the Grantley Adams International Airport (GAIA) and Government’s agricultural agencies will also be impacted by the spending cuts.
    A rationalization study is to be conducted by the Office of Public Sector Reform and MCS and its recommendations will be implemented with regards to the NHC, UDC and RDC. Phase 1 is to be done by March 31, 2019 and phase 2 by June, 2020.
    The airport is to have a new structure by September 30, 2019, through a private-public partnership in conjunction with the International Finance Centre.
    The document also itemizes a $2 million efficiency rationalisation programme of the Barbados Agricultural Development and Marketing Corporation (BADMC), a $10 million – $12 million rationalization of the Barbados Agricultural Corporation (BAMC) and the closure of the Barbados Cane Industry Corporation (BCIC).(Quote)

Please note the preponderance of publicly owned assets being shifted to the private sector – the shift of wealth from taxpayers to the wealthy. This is state-sponsored robbery, theft on a grand scale.
    We thought we had it terribly with the incompetent DLP, but this BLP regime is operating like a Mafia gang. Better the devil you know. Whereas the DLP was just incapable of governing, it looks as if this BLP administration is mugging the nation. It is going to end in tears.

47. Hal

Did Mia campaign telling the people upfront she was going to engage in massive privitisation?

I don’t remember hearing her discuss that.

Persons must demand that she be transparent as to who in the private sector will be part of that private/public partnership

What are the conditions or terms of the partnership

What does Barbados stand to benefit

The length of time for the arrangement

What other Companies were considered

Basic information – because like Selma Husbands transition or promotion from YES /WEATHER GIRL TO THAT OF DEPUTY PERMANENT SECRETARY – we may learn after the fact that another unqualified chosen one will be enjoying this privitisation benefit.

48. When all is finished the social enviroment would be gutted and drugs and poverty would take its place
    Meanwhile the financial institutions backed by the IMF wouldnt give a dam
    Jamaica is our closes example to how the IMF Policies has created a country of have nots
    Barbadians made that choice and now they have to live with the consequences

49. @T. Inniss,

The BLP campaigned on a skeletal manifesto. I said at the time in BU that voters should not buy a pig in a poke. They did. Mia represents a side of Barbadian politics that most people do not want to admit exists. She will use the super-size Cabinet and the technocrats to validate her reactionary policies. She is an autocrat. But it is going to end in tears.