Officially from today, the second airline departure tax will be levied on all flight tickets purchased, adding another US$70 per person, irrespective of age, for extra regional travel and US$35 within the Caribbean.

Time will tell of course of the impact that it will have on arrival numbers and perhaps more importantly, average spend, but clearly in certain markets, it will have a profound effect.

Thomas Cook, one of the largest British tour operators, has reported a substantial drop in projected profits for the financial year ending 30th September. They are predicting a fall of GB Pounds 43 million, which when announced saw their share price fall by up to 25 per cent, blaming mostly the unseasonal long summer and prolonged hotel weather across Europe.

Chief executive, Peter Fankhauser, commented that ‘summer 2018 has seen a return of popularity of destinations such as Turkey and Tunisia’ and that ‘many customers spent June and July enjoying the sunshine at home and put off booking their holidays abroad, leading to even tougher competition and higher than usual levels of discounting in the late market of August and September’.

Concluding that, ‘our recent trading performance is clearly disappointing’.

While Barbados is not necessarily in the same market as Turkey and Tunisia, it must reflect of the value of currency exchange, price affordability and perceived value-for-money.

For many of our long term loyal British returnee visitors, this year they will be summing up if they can still continue to include us as a destination of choice, when as a result of our economic position, the cost of just about everything has risen substantially.

Should our tourism policymakers and planners be looking for additional creative ways to help mitigate these price hikes?

Absolutely!

Thomas Cook over the last few years have substantially increased their interests in owning and operating hotels, with a total now standing at 190, according to their website.

Is there some way that otherwise derelict hotels, like Silver Sands could be brought back into profitable use by smart partnering with them?

Not only would it create much needed employment in that area, but generate more foreign currency and entice the airline division of the company to extend its season service from Gatwick and Manchester to Barbados, throughout the summer months.

A revitalised Silver Sands could attract a year-round predominately ‘millennial’ following, who have a special interest in water sports, including kite, windsurf and SUP paddle boarding.

This property would appear to be a perfect match for their Cook’s Club or Casa Cook brands and as a recent media release indicated, the company is ‘hopeful of opening another ten youth focused hotels next year’.

I always find declared mission statements interesting, if not always compelling.

Cook’s Club is ‘leading the way in bringing a sense of urban cool to the beach’ and Casa Cook’s declaration is ‘laid back places for kindred spirits’ and ‘across cities and continents we’re connecting a new and multi-facet tribe of travellers – foodies, creators, trekkers, soul searchers, beach buffs, dancers, dreamers – individuals bound together by similar values and their shared quest for a deep fulfilling experience’.

Perhaps for a dinosaur like me, a touch too heady and feely, but maybe for many, captivating and alluring enough to book.

71 responses to “The Adrian Loveridge Column – The tax, the tax!”

1. Funny When I see how Mia put in the departure tax the word turkey does come to mind.

2. This is the EXACT same thinking of Stinkliar – with regard to the tipping fee….

Perhaps this is just a case of linear thinking, but only a complete RH cannot see that, far from IMPROVING revenues, such action will significantly impact the basic operations in such a negative way, as to negate – and very likely REDUCE – even the benefits currently being realised.

Life is already much to complex for such simple -minded thinking – and it will only get worse.
    Either we find WISE leadership …. or we die.

Here comes the grass….

3. WAX WAX
    PAX PAX
    TAX TAX
    DONT BE LAX
    PLAY THIS TUNE ON YOUR SAX!

MURDAH!

4. The PM is a lawyer and she is surrounded by other lawyers and economists

How do lawyers and economists deal with problems:
    a) Pretend it isn’t a problem and call it something else
    b) Downplay the significance of the problem and ignore it
    c) Create a new problem
    d) Blame someone else for the problem
    e) All of the above

We have a forex problem, Mia and her team have chosen option e.
    The only thing lawyers and economists have ever created is chaos

5. Toronto to Barbados on Air Canada
    1 adult
    Air Transportation Charges 497.00

Taxes, Fees and Charges 187.50

GRAND TOTAL – Canadian dollars (Change currency) $684.50

6. Lawson,

It I not Xmas yet, although Bajans are drinking the Falernum.

7. Strangling the goose …….. The tax might be paid and the spending on island curtailed or they decide to go elsewhere for a cheaper vacation.

I would.

So I can pay the cheaper inter Caribbean tax and connect to extra-regional; i.e. VIA POS to Miami.

8. Might it not be beneficial to our foreign reserves GoB not consider special premium exchange rates for visitors to our island who exchange their foreign cash for BBD?

Instead of US$1=BB$2 if you exchange US$ cash you will get, say $2.20.

You get the idea.

9. PREVIOUS POST EDITED.

Might it not be beneficial to our foreign reserves for GoB to consider special premium exchange rates for visitors to our island who exchange their foreign cash for BBD?

Instead of US$1=BB$2 if you exchange US$ cash you will get, say $2.20.

You get the idea.

10. Poor Taxi drivers cant win for losing
    To think that govt is thinking of embracing Uber
    Well Wuh loss
    The goose that laid the golden egg is being craved into itsy bittsy pieces right before our eyes
    First the fatted lamb was slaughtered
    Now the goose
    Lawd hav merci

11. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hal at 9:35 AM

You are right for once. We ha fer learn um the hard way.

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Adrian Love(ridge):
    “I always find declared mission statements interesting, if not always compelling.
    Cook’s Club is ‘leading the way in bringing a sense of urban cool to the beach’ and Casa Cook’s declaration is ‘laid back places for kindred spirits’ and ‘across cities and continents we’re connecting a new and multi-facet tribe of travellers – foodies, creators, trekkers, soul searchers, beach buffs, dancers, dreamers – individuals bound together by similar values and their shared quest for a deep fulfilling experience’.
    Perhaps for a dinosaur like me, a touch too heady and feely, but maybe for many, captivating and alluring enough to book.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

How can Barbados be convincingly sold to ‘modern’ Brits like those who prefer to do their thing in the open instead of undercover like their parents and grandparents?

How about Barbados first getting rid of its archaically irrelevant laws’ which the restrict the chances of that “multi-facet tribe of travellers– foodies, creators, trekkers, soul searchers, beach buffs, dancers, dreamers” in achieving their dreams through some “deep fulfilling experience in” a tropical paradise called Barbados when there are so many draconian laws from a bygone Victorian era still on the statute books?

Would these ‘soul searchers and beach buffs’ be prosecuted for having on the beach just a whiff of a Bajan-grown spliff nicknamed the Green from Mount Hillaby to sharpen their (foodies) appetite instead of dragging on a Silk Cut or B&H which has the opposite effect on their bodies?

Would the local constabulary be overly interested in the behaviours of same-sex-couples expressing their love and admiration of each other as they are accustomed to displaying on any street in London or Glasgow?

Would the agents of the local judiciary be prepared to recognize -in a case of emergency- the right and responsibilities contracted under a civil partnership sealed in the UK?

Would the agents of the Bajan Law be equipped with the right to conduct ceremonies to recognize the social commitment and legal responsibilities of same-sex couples who became attracted to each other while boarding a Thomas Cook charter flight (or even gay cruises) found love while vacationing in Barbados?

Why not put the internationally well-known and more libertine-minded Rihanna to drive the cart which Barbados currently but- stupidly and backwardly- wants to put before the horse?

It’s time Barbados become a proactive agent of change in the tourism market or suffer the consequences of being left behind in a 1970’s tourism model time capsule of sun, sea sand, rum (and later undercover sex).

13. @ millertheanunnaki October 1, 2018 10:38 AM

The feeling of a holiday in Barbados is so conservative, I highly recommend the local hotels to advertise in Afghanistan, Saudi Arabia und USA in order to attract some Taliban, Whahhabism radicals and some Evilgelicals as tourists. They would be OK here, since the clueless, but “educated” massives deeply hate same gender sex (officially) and any modernization.

14. @ Robbie-John October 1, 2018 10:05 AM

What you suggest is a devalued dollar for tourists. 2.20 BBD : 1 USD is already the exchange rate of the local shadow market. Tourism needs a lower value of the BBD, say 1:3 or 1:4 at the very least.

However, your suggestion will fall on deaf ears since the local politicians and their consultants prefer some Taliban or North Korean model for the economy. Robbie, if you want to invest your dollars into some local villa, wait two or three years until the Barbados-Dollar has actuallyy devalued and you get a better deal. Also make sure that you have enough barbed wire, lights and sensor around your house to keep people at bay.

15. Have to agree Adrian

As a business owner I have never seen customers rejoice at paying more for the same service or product. Would be naive think this would not negatively impact the number of arrivals and visitor spending. Basis business.

We need creative ways to attract visitors and offer tourists value for money not lazy slap-a-tax approaches.

Oh well, one can hope

16. Apologies for the smartphone typos

17. BEAUTIFUL BEIGE Avatar

Well, well, well. While the subject matter of this post may have some merit, I never cease to be amazed at what some of the commentors say.

Because of the archaic way in which this website is set up, it does not lend itself to 21st century norms where on other sites one can immediately reply to a person’s comment.

David has already told me he likes it this way. Must have an ulterior motive.

I will add my “two cents” to this discussion. Yes Adrian Loveridge — Tax, Tax, Tax, and it is not only hurting the tourist industry but the middle and lower classes of this island but I am told that “Mia” cares.

I saw the “Honourable PM of Barbados” at the UN. Selling out Barbados with theories that have been well proven to be incorrect just for the sake of getting a “handout”.

Yet you will constantly hear on this same BU of how atrocious and wicked and every negative word that can be found in the dictionary that people of a fairer complexion are.

Pray tell me: who was the Honourable “friendsing” up with??? One I saw on this very web site was the PM of Canada and last time I checked his skin is fairer than mine.

This is a lot of NONSENSE that is going on in this country. HYPOCRISY of the highest degree. Selling your souls out to the Devil for a mess of pottage and blaming everything on the colour of people’s skin.

Pay me no mind. Don’t listen. Hard ears won’t hear……………………..hard ears will feel.

18. I have really tried hard not to comment on this topic.

But try as I may, much like Jonah sought to avoid going to Nineveh de ole man is on a collision course with Chairman Mottley NO MATTER WHICH WAY I TURN.

Try as one man otherwise, the stars are aligned and the dye is cast.

The only way that people in Barbados are going to wake up is going to be to the truth.

And EVEN THEN the majority of these sheeple, WILL STILL SLEEP ON.

Here are the facts of this matter for all of you who propose to read this Adrian Loveridge article.

1.Mia is surrounded by buhkvunts who are equal to and in a few cases exceed the hairyness of the last lot of female rabbits.

2.Balancing this act while she is beseiged by buhkvunts is a very time consuming feat WHILE ATTEMPTING TO LOOK IN CONTROL so she has to put her hound dogs in every single committee with the explicit instruction that these dogs have the final word.

@ The Sage Annunaki

periodically you make mention of using the business acumen of the newest Plenipotentiary to drive this sector in fact you said and i quote “…Why not put the internationally well-known and more libertine-minded Rihanna to drive the cart which Barbados currently but- stupidly and backwardly- wants to put before the horse?…”

I will send you an item to your personal email Sage that you MUST SWEAR NOT TO RETRANSIT TO ‘no man of woman born, nor untimely ripped, nor planned and timely taken from woman’s womb” so that you start to comprehend how serious this situation is that our Barbados is in.

Once you would have read this Oh Sage you will then start to see the predicament that she is faced with.

How can she “walk this idiocy by her Buhkvunt Oblong head Kerrie back?”

This has sealed the coffin on our tourism industry.

3.The solution was to do about 10 things synchronously BUT AS USUAL BECAUSE THE IDEA was never theirs to begin with, they prostitute the gold FOR LEAD and now cannot go left NOR RIGHT because either side is a precipice.

One side discredits the administration while to other side discredits *** AND IN BOTH CASES Barbados suffers but whereas de ole man’s “reach” is not global THAT OF *** is.

4.Now, after the interaction(s), one starts to understand why the party must be “managed” and that it is now, too late, is in not, to “walk” that one back? Like it is too late to walk Kerrie’s madness back. There is no badword big enough to call in this matter.

5.VOLUME. The PRC who Chairman Mia is courting for their Manadarin teachers do one thing with practiced patience and repetitive success. “the journey of 1,000 miles beginning with one step” and so too was this process to be fashioned as many single steps that ultimately, LIKE JOSHUA circumventing the walls of Jericho, the continued marching undermines the foundations and the primordial scream achieves the natural resonance of the walls they THUMP.

6.What do you have now? Mia

A series of disjointed initiatives WHICH, IN AND OF THEMSELVES, MEAN NOTHING and IF IMPLEMENTED IN A VACUUM, will only aggrandize one person, IF IT WORKS. and by now you should understand that, GIVEN ITS LACK OF CONNECTIVITY, IT WAS NOT THEIR IDEA!

AND, unfortunately YOU CANNOT FORCE THEM TO STOP!! you feeling me?

You dont know where to go, they obviously know not where to go, because of its disjunctive nature, but, it you continue as you are being encourged? to continue, who is going to suffer?

Not them, they are in a way impervious to the shock, but you are not!

You cant win this one, cause “your hands are too short to Box with God”…listen to the ole man

19. The government’s spokesmen are of the view tourists that budget thousands of dollars for travel will not see USD35.00 a deal breaker to choosing Barbados as a destination.

On Mon, Oct 1, 2018 at 9:12 PM Barbados Underground wrote:

20. William Skinner Avatar

@ Six decades as a tourist destination and we still cannot get it right.
    Still promoting sea and sand.
    60 years………,…,

21. @ David fact check.

” Effective October 1, 2018 an additional fee has been added – passengers flying outside of the Caribbean region pay US$70 per person,

Those flying within the Caribbean pay US$35 per person.

22. @Hants

Those beer bellies from the UK will not quibble aboutnUSD35.00.

23. @ David,

passengers flying outside of the Caribbean region pay US$70 per person,

Air Transportation Charges 541.00

Taxes, Fees and Charges 187.50

GRAND TOTAL – Canadian dollars $728.50

24. @Hants

You are suggesting dem Canadians cannot afford the tax eh?

25. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ William Skinner

William

You said and I quote “…@ Six decades as a tourist destination and we still cannot get it right.
    Still promoting sea and sand. 60 years………,……”

I responded earleir to another remark that you said on another blog here on BU. No I am not stalking you but I tend to practice an echolalia of sorts with statements that summarize the depth of our idiocy like a sidewinder…

I will step up to the plate because, well ammmm de ole man ammmmm well leh we say dat de departure lounge beckons….

There is something that I have understood after all these years. Idiots DO NOT LIKE PEOPLE WHO ARE NOT IDIOTS.

You notice that i did not even employ any comparative degree or even say less idiotic or smart or smarter.

It is a universal law that obtains whether you are black or white on chinese or whatever.

If you have sense and your bosses are chvunts, your donkey is grass.

You threaten their serfdoms “all this talk bout changing the education system and creating real thinkers, you can bet your last dollar that Kay MCConney and Santia Bradshaw and all dem Visionaries ent going like you.

You dun know dat fellers like Cheterfield and he boss up deah collecting a big paycheck every effing month and flying bout pun airplaines and all dem perks and you bout heah talking bout changing this pup – well you can bet your last dollar that you ent going get no “Call to Duty” heheheheheh

A fellow sent this url to the grandson last week

http://online.nextflipbook.com/dowg/34qk/

The granson was fascinated by its format.

I was moreso interested because of its applicability as a national driving mechanism for any sector, for any Small island Developing State, that has a national hero

For example this Tourism thing that my buddy the Sage Annunaki has been hinting at with his series of ideas.

You check out how the sage lay down that fuselage idea? Like a bossss dennnnnnn but William you can bet your last dollar, and I my old Kangol, dat dem going eff up dat one too.

The grandson said that the email auth is BIMteifs@gmail.com NOTHING ELSE and hit enter

So you have a number of choices William.

1.you try to help (if dem ent jes like de udder set of mouf giants and like teifing your ideas WHAT A COINCIDENCE with the email)

2.You show them to be stupid and replicate said unique concepts, with more receptive jurisdictions. That replication brings them instant competition. one can expect that.

The same way that Ross University was teifed by Barbados (according to Mariposa) other Caribbean islands are hungry for ideas, and innovations and inventions.

Unfortunately, while the original construct was multi-jurisdictional teifing now makes this a bref for youself ting

3.Or you keep quiet and say nothing and let them walk all over you

I is an ole man William so I gine do number 3 heheheheheheheh

26. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster Your assistance please with an item for Mr. William Skinner thanks

27. The fundamental issue isn’t taxes here. It is the need for a massive overhaul and restructuring of the economy and bureacracies.

You cannot supplement insufficient funds in our national coffers by drafting arbitrary tax codes and raising fees without implementing proper measures to stymie the adverse effects of inflation and refusing to spur new industrial bases to advance the economy by strategic means (ie. Providing subsidies in new key industries, and investing in our human capital via welfare and education).

Specifically outside of Tourism and offshore banking.

These tax codes are punitive, if not asinine. And it sure as hell wont encourage any sustainable growth in our tourism sector. Bim is small and relatively flat with no natural resources to readily exploit. We must be practical about our approach or risk hanging ourselves.

28. @Bruddah Bim

Based on what you have seen so far of government policy are they on the right track in your opinion?

29. right track to where…?

30. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ The Honourable Blogmaster

You asked a question of Bruddah Bim and you might not have seen it in his response but he said and de ole man quotes

“…THESE TAX CODES ARE PUNITIVE, IF NOT ASININE.

And it sure as hell WONT ENCOURAGE ANY SUSTAINABLE GROWTH in our tourism sector.

Bim is small and relatively flat with no natural resources to readily exploit.

We must be practical about our approach or RISK HANGING OURSELVES…” {the CAPS are mine not his]]

More and more “big rollers” are coming to BU are they not?? but more importantly they are not remaining just viewers THEY ARE COMMENTING!!

And, in the final analysis, this is what Chairman Mia fears – the fact that she is under scrutiny.

De ole man expects that the next changes that we will be seeing will be changes at the Boundaries and Electoral Commission particularly in the method that will be introduced as the new mechanism for voting.

Now here is the one area that it will show how the bottom feeder David Commissiong will either rise to the occasion and speak out against the pernicious system that is being planned or will continue his merry way along with his cousin.

When the innovations and initiatives are released (not that i did not say “authentic” and they start to be implemented in their willy-nilly fashions, AND THEY START TO FAIL, what will happen is the Chairman Mia will start to panic.

And understandably so.

For indeed her legacy will be seen as being build on hot air and deliverables which “ARE NOT DELIVERING!!”

So that will mean that the Electronic Ballot Box tampering mechanisms will then be relied on because she cannot bear the ignominy of a 5 year term.

Man wunna must feel dat de ole man got access to another phone call interception unit nuh?

heheheheheheh.

By the way the one at Station A still operative?

@ T. Inniss

If you really want to do something serious you have to get the names of the DLP team that has been replaced at Station A and let them give you some dirt on what continues to be done under the 1933 Enablement Act that the Luminary Mr. Jeff Cumberbatch was expanding on recently.

De ole man hopes that the Luminary’s Articles ent get “cancelled from on high”

31. @ Piece:
    “Man wunna must feel dat de ole man got access to another phone call interception unit nuh?

heheheheheheh.

No, man we all know that you keep in touch with your former CIA operatives, no? hahahaha.

32. William Skinner Avatar

@ Piece
    In these days , we need objective analysis rather than rabid party posturing on either side. Like you I don’t expect and certainly do not want a call or a food from the duopoly.
    It is sometimes laughable but always sad, when we realize, we have consistently spent most of our expenditure on education and a man with a PHd in economics is on the radio saying that we should be proud to have negotiated a deal with the IMF. He then went on to say that this remarkable feat is evidence of our resilience and character.
    I know a man who left primary school in class 3. Never earned $ 500 per week and left at least three properties for his children, free of all debt.
    So , we can see how far our character and resilience has come since then.
    Let’s see what happens in 2033……..

33. PIECE
    I \ HAD AN ELDERLY NURSE WHO SAID TO ME ONE DAY “DR GP, YOU MUST NOT BE ALWAYS RIGHT……….PEOPLE DONT LIKE IT WHEN YOU ALWAYS RIGHT……….. PEOPLE DONT LIKE YUH WHEN YOU ALWAYS RIGHT………..

SEEMS LIKE YOU SAYING THE SAME THING HERE

BUT IN BIM – AND ELSEWHERE- YOU CAN HAVE LOTS OF INFERIOR SUPERIORS!

34. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

There are those who call Mia Mugabe a thief.

But the old man also knows of those who would say that a man or woman accustomed moving linemarks as part of the daily practice of arbitration is not truly a liar but and accomplished arbitration specialist. Don’t you agree?

Then they are those who will call her a liar or dischordant brimler or clown like de man jn de Bahamas

DE ole man also knows of those who would say that “so accustomed is Mugabe to speaking “grafted truths” euphemisms for untruths, as a MP in her constituency, for all her adult life, and being exposed to a father who was also a lawyer and an MP, that “truth” has congealed into another state, one which we sheeple have yet to achieve.

Here we have a bevy of lawyers, practiced dissembled and benders of the truth, tasked with running the affairs of 250k bajans and 50k guyanese, doing what they do best.

Lying and teifing!

And we give them unfettered access to the Treasury!

And to the Constitution!

Yet we are amazed when 60 days into their administration they raise their salaries!

Then we wonder how 2 weeks into their administration they change the constitution to bring back 3 expatriates

And now changing the same constitution every other week for an act to lick up dissenters

And a next one to refuse to pay people interest due on sovereign debt

Oh yes. MIA GOT THIS !!!

35. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

“DAVID COMISSIONG HAS NO OLIVE BRANCH TO OFFER ON THE HYATT CASE!”

The deal is done. Hyatt will be opened in 2020.

Piece you are up very early

36. If true, is David Commissiong going to resign, or will his excuse be that he only wanted an environmental assessment study done? Some people may say he has been bought off with a title, in the way African chiefs were bought off with baubles.

37. Saw a comment that gave me concern. Take my rambling statement as a sign of advance age.

One must not only hide using a technological shield, but one has to limit comments about those in our orbit.

Compilation of comments, diligence in review, and then keeping only those that fit the criterion may allow others to zero in on a possible nephew. Then you can focus on possible uncles

Too early. I need my meds

38. @Talking Loud Saying Nothing

Did Billy Griffith say that the EIA was not going to be done? When Billy Griffith was asked by the reporter about the EIA what was his response? Isn’t the developer on record as stating he had no problem doing the EIA?

39. RE Lying and teifing!

And we give them unfettered access to the Treasury!

And to the Constitution!

Yet we are amazed when 60 days into their administration they raise their salaries!

Then we wonder how 2 weeks into their administration they change the constitution to bring back 3 expatriates

And now changing the same constitution every other week for an act to lick up dissenters

And a next one to refuse to pay people interest due on sovereign debt

Oh yes. MIA GOT THIS !!!

=========================================================
    PIECE! PIECE! YA CANT ALWAYS TELL THE TRUTE SO
    YA CANT ALWAYS BE RIGHT ARE YOU ALL
    MIA MAO MUGABE WILL SOON SEND THE RBPF OR THE BDF FUH YA OLE TAIL YUH!

I CAN HEAR HER NOW
    “FIND THIS MAN AND BRING HIM HITHER FOR ME TO BITE HIS BALLS!
    THEN DIP HIM IN THE CAREENAGE BEFORE THROWING HIM IN THE ANIMAL FLOWER CAVE AT HIGH TIDE DURING ROUGH SEAS”

40. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Theophillus

You said and I quote “…One must not only hide using a technological shield, but one has to limit comments about those in our orbit…”

That is extremely frightening Theophillus

How man bajans in Bulbados really give a badword badword about what you have observed?

You think that of the 250K bajans and the 50K guyanese that of those let us say 50% care what you have been saying?

But there is precedence to this request to you Theophillus by He Whom I Serve which is found in Genesis…

“…And the LORD said, If I find in Sodom fifty righteous within the city, then I will spare all the place for their sakes. 27And Abraham answered and said, Behold now, I have taken upon me to speak unto the Lord, which am but dust and ashes: 28Peradventure there shall lack five of the fifty righteous: wilt thou destroy all the city for lack of five? And he said, If I find there forty and five, I will not destroy it…”

Do you think that in your perambulations across barbados Theophillus that there be 5% of the population who know of this concern that Mia Mugabe Mottley doth now conspire to (continue to) look in peoples hard drives and via her agents to see WHO ARE THE DISSENTERS in the midst?

And then you in your inimitable style continue

“…Compilation of (names) comments, diligence in review, and then keeping only those that fit the criterion may allow others to zero in on a possible nephew.

Then you can focus on possible uncles…”

You do know that you too are on this list, as is Dr. GP, and John the Quaker, and Sargeant, and Hants, and Bush Tea, and Donna (she who loves my Christ but is torn by her substantive profession) and even the Sage who anteriorily, his allegiances were known but now is driven by a principle that does not kowtow to such fickleness?

In fact you see the “follow” widget on your lower right corner? man dat tool does do nuff tings

41. PIECE
    ARE YOU SAYING THAT MIA MUGABE MAO IS SEEKING TO BITE THE SCROTA OF Dr. GP, and John the Quaker, and Sargeant, and Hants, and Bush Tea, TOO? WUH LOSS

DO YOU TINK THAT SHE RECOGNISES THE DIFFERENCES AND SIMILARITIES OF SCROTA AND VULVA?

42. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Dr. GP,

“it seems to me a think most strange, seeing that death, a necessary end, will come when it will come…”

There are many necromancers who, in appeasing the goat, use ritual bloodletting as their tool for promised longevity, but by my reckoning, even the most renown of these, have not put stave to the hand of death.

But you nor I fear him nor her who having “facilitated” the first death, as all men are to die, have no power in or over THE SECOND DEATH.

All uh dese peeple dem is flyweights in the Eyes of Our Lord.

You speak ONE TRUTH Dr. GP, why is that? Unflailingly, unfalteringly…

And that is why I have no respect for men like the Atherleys and the Durants CAUSE WHEN GOD DRIVING YOUR MOTOR CAR you can go through any corner and your car going hold…

Where is this impotent church that out there tekking tithes and not opening its mouth and speaking out against these civil liberties being whittled away.

Yet every week dem heathens got a opening service wid Cynthia Forde or some other badword who dem does genuflect to when ever dem comes to the congregation and leave the first pew for these necromancers and sons of the one whole name i does try not to mention

43. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ THe Honourable Blogmaster

Your assistance please with an item here for Dr. GP

@ Dr. GP.

We are fickle things, we men, when driven by these gunas, and our fallen selves.

When you and I were young and a woman or women would tell us, how masterful we were and how “sated” they are, you would preen and push up your chest and feel like a bad boy but time make us wiser.

Some of these people, like Mottley, still preening and in love with the adulation, and cannot move past that.

44. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ The Honourable Blogmaster

Your assistance please with and item for Dr. GP in which de ole man speaks of the first death that man can give and the second death over which he has no control

45. I remembered when the British government put on the travel tax to the Caribbean, many local government officials were lobbying for them to remove or reduce it. Now this government decides to put a similar tax on tickets in and out of this island. I thought I heard from this present government when in opposition say you cannot tax your way out of debt! Why can’t people see that taxing the golden goose we depend on, our only source of FX will eventually kill it?? We need to improve our physical appearance, improve our manners and be consistent with our product to grow our Tourist industry. When too many people clutch at a straw it will break.

The emphasis should on producing more food and reducing our import bill. Idle land should be made to be put back into food production. Incentives to farmers or importers to bring in equipment duty free and not make them jump over hoops and duck under bridges.

Barbadians should be encouraged to join Airbnb to bring in FX. Hotels will not suffer even though they eye it with jaundiced eyes.

Barbados and Barbadians must look at things differently and adapt to change positively. Our education system needs a complete overhaul. We need skilled technical people, not lawyers and doctors. We need designers and innovators. We need a skilled and educated workforce. The pool is extremely small and becoming stagnant with unskilled workers. We have to stop looking for freeness and start making a difference.

46. Hey brother, David. I have taken note as to what just transpired with the passing of this tax code. And I can honestly say that this will be very detrimental to our economy. I don’t foresee any ability on part of the government to an able any capping of such a tax when it is implemented. As the economy gets worse both at home and abroad, there will be very little incentive for any Outsider to restore not, to venture to Barbados do to these ridiculously exorbitant fees. It’s been some years, David. how have you been?

47. However, I have noted how the current prime minister is taking a seemingly different approach from that of her predecessors. All previous prime ministers in post-independence Barbados have gone on with the predilection that they know best, even more so Then the rest of the nation. Very little has been done in order to facilitate a culture in which information and ideas are freely expressed and exchanged.

the very fact that the current prime minister has Reached out to the Barbadian diaspora in the United States, Canada, as well as the United Kingdom, gives me a sense of great optimism. She seems Keen to ask questions On how we as a people both at home and abroad can come together and collectively save the nation. This will be no easy feat. And she is by far, the most open prime minister in regards to their honesty in terms of how we should be pursuing advancement as a society.

Never has such a precedence taken place within Barbadian society. And it is a step in the right direction in my opinion.

48. Forgive rhe typos. I’m using speech-to-text, and my phone is a tad finicky

49. Keeping the flag fluttering. We have survived four prime ministers so far.

50. BRUDDAH BIM
    MIA MAO MUGABE GOT TO REACH OUT HEY DEY AND EVERYWAY CAUSE SHE DONT KNOW WHAT SHE DOING