The popular local reaction to the impending Integrity in Public Life legislation has been intriguing. Given the populist perception of politicians in general and our seeming inability to rein in the lawless conduct of some notorious sectors of society, cynicism naturally abounds. A fellow columnist and learned friend, in his column last week, categorized it as an attempt to legislate morality; what some lawyers call a brutum fulmen (empty threat). At one level, he is right. Integrity cannot be created by legislative fiat but rather resides in the heart of the individual to be exercised accordingly of his or her own free will. At the same time, however, there is a clamant need for such an injunction, if only to attempt to deter those who might be inclined to act contrarily. Stealing is also immoral, yet none denies the need for condign legislation in this regard.

In last week’s essay, we examined the declaration of financial affairs by specified persons in public life. We also noted the avenue for such an individual to put his or her assets in a blind trust to be administered by an independent trustee. The blind trust is not a device with which most Barbadians will be familiar but it is of critical importance to its validity that the cestui que trust or beneficiary retains absolutely no control over the trust assets during its subsistence. Hence, as I suggested textually last week, there appears to be a drafting error in section 28 (5)(b) that reads as follows in my copy of the Bill-

…income derived from the management of the assets is to be distributed, in accordance with the agreement, to him, his spouse or his children until he ceases to be a specified person in public life…

Arguably, any such distribution and, indeed, any such agreement would be antithetical to the concept of a trust and would amount to the mere transfer of property as a stakeholder. The word “not” should therefore be inserted between “is” and “to” in the first line.

Once the declaration has been duly made to the Commission or the Governor General as the case may be, that entity or its staff will examine it and “make such inquiries as it or he considers necessary in order to verify or determine the accuracy of the financial affairs, as stated in the declarations, of persons who are required to file declarations under this Act”Clause 29 (b).

Where the Commission is satisfied that a declaration has been fully made as defined in Clause 31 (5), it will issue a certificate of compliance. Where it is not satisfied with the information given, however, it may report the matter to the appropriate Service Commission, board or other authority and the Director of Public Prosecutions.

There is a curious (I put it no higher than that) time bar for the commencement of an inquiry by the Commission in Clause 32 (5). According to this –“An inquiry shall not be commenced after 2 years from the date on which the person ceased to be in public life”.

As has already been pointed out elsewhere, this may amount to “a rogue’s charter”, whereby a specified person in public life may arrange for his or her financial affairs to be significantly altered to his or her advantage after retirement when he or she is no longer subject to regulation by the Commission. It might perhaps be more advisable here to have the specified person in public life report his or her financial affairs to the Commission after retirement for a period of five years or other sufficiently lengthy period or until death. Of course, what might give such a provision even more teeth is the enactment of civil forfeiture legislation, but that is purely a matter of legislative policy.

Where, in the opinion of the Governor General, further information is required from a member or staff of the Commission in respect of his or her declaration, the Governor General is mandated “after consultation with the Prime Minister and the Leader of the Opposition, to appoint a fit and proper person as a tribunal to require the declarant to furnish such further information or documents and to conduct any inquiry, where found necessary, to verify the declaration, document or other statement filed with the tribunal”.

As with the inquiry pertaining to the affairs of a specified person in public life, there is also a time bar in respect of such an inquiry; this time five years after the date on which the declarant ceases to be a specified person in public life –Clause 33 (3). The reason for the difference in limitation periods here is not immediately apparent.

The Commission declarant is also differently treated in respect of the results of the inquiry. If the appointed Tribunal finds that the disclosure is full, he or she shall publish a statement to that effect in the Official Gazette and in a daily newspaper with nationwide circulation in Barbados, and reimburse the declarant for all expenses reasonably incurred by him or her in connection with the inquiry.

The Bill employs the concept of naming and shaming for the failure to file a required declaration in Clause 34 and also provides for the sending of a report to that effect to the appropriate Service Commission, board or authority and to the Director of Public Prosecutions.

As is traditional, the contents of the individual declarations are to be treated as confidential and it is an offence punishable on summary conviction to a fine of $ 20 000 or to imprisonment for 3 years to contravene this proscription.

The severity of this penalty contrasts with that in Clause 36 (1)(d) for an offence that seems much more blameworthy. There any person who fails, without reasonable cause, to comply with a direction of the Commission given pursuant to section 28(2) within the time specified by the Commission, or knowingly gives any false or incomplete information in the trust deed filed with the Commission, is guilty of an offence and is liable, on summary conviction, to a fine of $15 000 or to imprisonment for one year or to both. [Added emphasis]

As one astute commenter on my columns has pointed out, this fine may be even less onerous comparatively than the much ridiculed fine of $2 500 was in 1929 under the Prevention of Corruption Act. It clearly needs to be more dissuasive.

To be continued…

354 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – On Preventing Corruption 4”

1. IF THERE WAS NO CHAFF ON BU…….BU WOULD DIE! AH LIE?

IF THERE WAS NO CHAFF COVERING THE WHEAT AND CORN…….THE GRAIN WOULD DIE BEFORE THE HARVEST.AH LIE?

THE LORD GOD THE CREATOR MADE CHAFF AH LIE?

BLESSED BE THE CREATOR GOD WHO MADE CHAFF

2. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Luminary Mr. Jeff Cumberbatch

I am fast becoming aware that the hope that men and women, will do the right thing, is really a fast fading hope

When you stop and assess the state that we are in you quickly become fearful on the brave new world we leave our children and grands.

Nowadays, I find myself training the grandson in isokinetics and psyche profiling for the Workplace 101, gleaned from TV.

Simple things that he must observe in his office that will allow him to assess who is of “more sound” character.

You would appreciate the subtle difference between more sound and sounder.

I tell him things like “if your colleagues, or boss, come and sit their nasty botzie on your desk…they are not only nasty but they are disrespectful ”

Or if your work colleagues use the bathroom and do not wash their hands after pissing or shiting, they are both unhygienic and devoid of character.

I MENTIONED TO HIM THAT, USING THE LAST BLOCK OF ICE, and not filling back up the water trays, or leaving their “track marks” in the toilet bowl, are pointers to poor character

Teifing reams of paper from the office etc., are signs of teif in the making, euphemism for politicians

Shifty eyes, weak handshakes, like David Thompson, the list is long and i often wonder if my pretend expertise is doing him any good.

How do you rationalize the real world issues of this patently corrupt world with a set of rules that, in spite of the fact that the population of criminals is increasing, will protect the lawbiders?

Let me give you an example of how this corruption manifests itself in Barbados.

The country has what? 10 known druglords right?

But, it is a thing most strange that, neither policeman, nor pastor, nor reverend, nor bishop, nor politician, nor activist will open their mouths about any one of them, at any time!

Isnt that frightening!

All the talk about fearless Ty P Griffith, or former Commissioner Dottin, or the other fellow at the Regionsl Services place, or Durant, not a fellow ent powerful foolish to open dem mouf and point to a criminal.

Yet members of the BLP administration are showboating every day and talking loud out about inconsequential things like the death penalty and abstract concepts about replacing hanging with lethal injection.

Have you noted that even successive Attorneys General fraid to call one drug fellow’s name

We are really in a bad place, given the limited options we have for addressing and reducing corruption, AREN’T WE?

3. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item thank you

4. wid all due Mr Piece

listen up to this piece of chaff

do your best and pray for you and yours
    but between me and you ONLY GOD CAN HELP HERE
    CERTAINLY The Luminary Mr. Jeff Cumberbatch CANT DO ONE THING TO HELP OR HINDER THE CONTEMPORARY PROCESSES

BEST IF YOU READ 2 Timothy 3 King James
    1 This know also, that in the last days perilous times shall come.

2 For men shall be lovers of their own selves, covetous, boasters, proud, blasphemers, disobedient to parents, unthankful, unholy,

3 Without natural affection, trucebreakers, false accusers, incontinent, fierce, despisers of those that are good,

4 Traitors, heady, highminded, lovers of pleasures more than lovers of God;

5 Having a form of godliness, but denying the power thereof: from such turn away.

6 For of this sort are they which creep into houses, and lead captive silly women laden with sins, led away with divers lusts,

7 Ever learning, and never able to come to the knowledge of the truth.

8 Now as Jannes and Jambres withstood Moses, so do these also resist the truth: men of corrupt minds, reprobate concerning the faith.

9 But they shall proceed no further: for their folly shall be manifest unto all men, as their’s also was.

12 Yea, and all that will live godly in Christ Jesus shall suffer persecution.

13 But evil men and seducers shall wax worse and worse, deceiving, and being deceived.

14 But continue thou in the things which thou hast learned and hast been assured of, knowing of whom thou hast learned them;

THAT IS MY PIECE OF CHAFF PIECE

5. GOOD MORNING TO ALL
    HERE IS MY EARLY MORNING PIECE OF CHAFF
    NOW THIS IS NOT A HEIGHTY TOIGHTY SUBMISSION FROM A LUMINARY
    THIS IS PLAIN CHAFF FROM A MOCKING MYOPE

ALAN DERSHOWITZ SAYS IF SWETNICK LIED, SHE MUST BE SENT TO PRISON
    Steven Ahle OCTOBER 5, 2018

Alan Dershowitz, a noted attorney and Harvard Professor, has no love lost for Michael Avenatti or Julie Swetnick. Dershowitz points out that after a lawyer submits an affidavit, he has the legal responsibility to pull it back if it is found to have false information in it. Just going by her interview with NBC, her affidavit contains accusations that she has backtracked from, yet Avenatti has made no attempt to withdraw it.

And since that affidavit is sworn to be accurate with a penalty of felony, Swetnick should be trying on orange jumpsuits. There are a lot more lies in that affidavit unless I miss my guess.

From The Gateway Pundit

Alan Dershowitz: I have done some research on it and there are some ethical and bar rules that say when you submit an affidavit even to Congress and you later learn that there are things in the affidavit that are false you have a continuing obligation to withdraw the affidavit. You cannot allow an affidavit to remain on the record if you have information suggesting it’s false… She has to be investigated independently of the background check, criminally investigated to see if she deliberately and willfully… made a decision to frame somebody that he had nothing to do with. The evidence seems to suggest they never knew each other they were years apart.

They were operating in different circles. It wouldn’t surprise me if an FBI investigation proved they never met each other. And if that turns out to be the fact she belongs in a court of law being prosecuted, with the presumption of innocence. But if the evidence shows she committed perjury, prison.

And if Swetnick is prison worthy, how about Christine Blasey Ford? She told enough lies in her testimony to the Senate Judiciary Committee to fill a book. Like claustrophobia, fear of flying, why and when she put in a second door on her house, among others. The only way to stop this nonsense in the future is to send them to prison and discourage people from making false claims.

6. HERE IS SOME MORE CHAFF

GOP SENATOR: REFER JULIE SWETNICK TO FBI FOR FALSE STATEMENTS TO CONGRESS
    Steven Ahle OCTOBER 4, 2018

Sen John Kennedy (R) La, has requested that a criminal referral get sent out to the FBI for investigation and the prosecution of Julie Swetnick. In her sworn affidavit submitted through her lawyer, the creepy Michael Avenatti, Swetnick says she saw Kavanaugh and Mark Judge spiking the punch.

But in her TV interview, she says she never saw them spike the punch. Her story is falling apart faster than a fifty dollar car. Avenatti has been complaining because the FBI hasn’t interviewed his client. He may soon get that wish fulfilled. Just not in the way he had hoped.

U.S. Senator Bill Cassidy, M.D.

@SenBillCassidy
    A criminal referral should be sent to the FBI/DOJ regarding the apparently false affidavit signed by Julie Swetnick that was submitted to the Senate by @MichaelAvenatti.

Swetnick, 55, alleged in a declaration submitted under oath to the Senate Judiciary Committee on Sept. 26 that she witnessed Kavanaugh spike girls’ drinks at high school parties.

Swetnick, who is being represented by attorney Michael Avenatti, also alleged that she saw Kavanaugh waiting in line to have group sex with girls at the parties. Swetnick further claimed that she was gang raped at a party, though she did not accuse Kavanaugh of taking part.

Swetnick’s credibility has been called into question, and she has failed to produce eyewitnesses to back up her story.

Swetnick provided NBC News with the names of four people she claimed could corroborate her story. But the network reported on Monday that one of the people said they did not know Swetnick. Another alleged eyewitness was deceased and the other two could not be reached.

An ex-boyfriend of Swetnicks’ claimed that she threatened to kill him and his family after they broke up in 2001.

Another longtime boyfriend of Swetnick’s said she never mentioned rape but she did tell him that she liked group sex with a number of men at the same time. She said she started pulling trains in high school. The boyfriend signed the affidavit under threat of felony.

7. Trump Derangement Syndrone (TDS) makes people do foolish things!!

They probably believe they are fighting for a cause and the ends justifies the means.

If Kavanaugh was guilty of anything of which he was accused, the accusers needed to be more convincing and have their ducks lined up in a row.

Ballsy Ford’s timeline shifted from the late 80’s back to ’82 because she needed to get her life events and his life events to intersect.

She was left with High School as the best bet because the simple fact is that once he had spread his wings and flown his childhood haunts chances are she was never going to see him again, not at university and not at work … unless she appeared before him in his court or followed a legal career.

Her story was told with no emotion, just apparent fear.

There should have been anger, indignation … a lot more than the fear portrayal we saw.

She was either scared shitless she would be discovered or putting on an act to make people believe she was a victim.

Sputnik was always a joke and Ramirez couldn’t remember anything because of her alcohol abuse.

… and yet there are idiots who will use these three as a basis for their protests!!

TDS makes people do foolish things!!

8. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Pieces, I wish you well with your “isokinetics and psyche profiling”. I am now made aware via your post of that first term and although I share your intent I am less enthused of true success.

The opposite clearly of a ‘weak’ handshake is a robust, firm grasp. For every limp wrist you shake I argue to you that you greet many more who shake robustly simply to make that positive impression…they are inwardly as spineless and untrustworthy as they are outwardly being deceptive.

Have you not also met some folks with poor initial habits – sloppy drunks for ex – who otherwise clean up well (the toilet too) and present as worthy and of sound character!

BTW although I interacted with the man over many years I don’t recall ever having reason to shake his hand…never would have expected him to offer a less than firm grip.

@Dean Jeff, yes lots of chaff that blew in unrelated to the main topic but realistically also much with quite direct relevance to this matter of ‘preventing corruption’ particularly in the courts.

You may be disinclined to comment on US SCOTUS issues considering the many more relevant local issues but there is much grist there that touches our interests.

When we were searching for a CJ, it would have been mucho interesting if we had activists or traditionalists or professors of law advocating as strongly as we see for this US nomjnation….yes different but for those infactuated about law high level life time judicial appointments do require a level of scrunity and interest (and comment) whatever the country.

But yeah, lots of fluffy chaff here too.

9. HERE COMES THE ASS LICKER AND PURVEYER OF MORE CHAFF ON BU THAN ANYONE ELSE——THE PSEUDO PSYCHOLOGIST–THE CERVICAL SPINE EXPERT WHO ALSO THINKS THAT WE SHOULD HAVE EMERGENCY POST MORTEMS

THERE IS NONE BETTER THAN THE MIGHTY DPD
    AS A ONE TIME DABBLER IN FARMING I NOTICED THAT MANY SUBMISSIONS BECAME OVER COME BY CHAFF….LOL

IS IT ALSO LIKELY THAT SUBMISSIONS ON BU SHOULD NOT BE SMOTHERED BY CHAFF ALSO
    ONLY A NARCISSIST THINKS THAT HIS SUBMISSIONS SHOULD NOT BE SMOTHERED BY CHAFF
    ONLY AN ASS LICKER AGREES

BU IS ALL ABOUT CHAFF FOR ME AS I MOCK IN DE DAILY DRIVEL OF THE RUM SHOP
    AMIDST MY OTHER THINGS I DO ON MY COMPUTER, I DAILY LOG ON TO BU TO HAVE SOME INTERACTION, AND ENJOY THE CHAFF, AND GIVE SOME TOO….BUT I WONT BE LICKING NO BODY ASS

DING DONG MERRILY ON HIGH
    IN HEAVEN THE BELLS ARE RINGING

DING DONG MERRILY BELOW
    ON EARTH THE HOES ARE LYING ah lie?

DING DONG MERRILY ON HIGH
    IN HEAVEN THE BELLS ARE RINGING

DING DONG MERRILY BELOW
    ON BU THE CHAFF IS FLOWING ah lie?

bare mock sport and chaff in de rum shop

10. @ John October 5, 2018 7:55 AM

Trump Derangement Syndrone (TDS) makes people do foolish things!!

They probably believe they are fighting for a cause and the ends justifies the means. TRUE

BUT

If Kavanaugh was guilty of anything of which he was accused, the accusers needed ONLY to HAVE TOLD THE TRUTH

I GO BACK TO THE WORDS OF FANNY FIELDS
    IF IT IS THERE………IT WILL REACT
    IF IT AINT THERE……IT CANT REACT!

YOU WONT FIND EVIDENCE FOR A CRIME THAT DID NOT OCCUR………….IRREGARDLESS OF HOW MANY HOES COME FORWARD AND TELL THEIR LIES

SEEMS TO ME THEIR LIES WERE JUST CHAFF! uh lie?

mocking in de rum shop too sweet doh

11. You are right, that’s as simple as it gets!!

… the truth sets you free.

12. PUDRYR

Why don’t you simply try setting a good example for the grandson to follow.

Children learn by example … not no lotta long talk!!.

Next time you are reading your Bible, read it with him and share its wisdom.

13. But not your alternative facts though!

14. Because we all know that “truth isn’t truth.”

15. Did not the very same Bible instruct us to speak with our children? A combination of approaches would most obviously be necessary.

Steupse!

16. Donna
    Where in the Bible does it instruct parents, guardian or adults unambiguously to speak to children? The Bible implore us to training up a child in a way that he may go and when he gets old he will not depart from it. The Bible also tells us unequivocally to spare the rod and spoil the child, as well as parents ought not to cause their children to wrath.

17. Donna
    Truth is truth … but we have to ask ourselves whether or not Truth is relevant or is it absolute? Because some of the things we held as being True a hundred years ago ain’t relevant today…

18. DPD
    COULD THIS POSSIBLY BE TRUE OR IS THIS ONLY CHAFF?

One of Dr. Christine Blasey Ford’s key witnesses told FBI investigators that one of Ford’s allies attempted to pressure her into changing her story about the events in question.

According to The Daily Wire:
    Leland Keyser told investigators that Ford’s friend, former FBI agent Monica McLean, had urged her to alter the original statement that she gave about not remembering any such party and not knowing Kavanaugh, The Wall Street Journalreported.

The Journal noted that Keyser’s statement to the FBI offered “a glimpse into how Dr. Ford’s allies were working behind the scenes to lobby old classmates to bolster their versions of the alleged incident.”

A source close to the situation told the Journal that Dr. Ford’s friends “including Ms. McLean, had contacted Ms. Keyser after her initial statement to warn her that her statement was being used by Republicans to rebut the allegation against Judge Kavanaugh.”

In a statement, David Laufman, McLean’s attorney, denied the allegations, writing: “Any notion or claim that Ms. McLean pressured Leland Keyser to alter Ms. Keyser’s account of what she recalled concerning the alleged incident between Dr. Ford and Brett Kavanaugh is absolutely false.”

McLean is the woman who Ford is accused of helping pass a polygraph. This would directly contradict her statement, under oath, to the Senate.

19. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

When we were searching for a CJ, it would have been mucho interesting if we had activists or traditionalists or professors of law advocating as strongly as we see for this US nomjnation….yes different but for those infactuated about law high level life time judicial appointments do require a level of scrunity and interest (and comment) whatever the country.

@dpd, Fortunately, our system for the selection of members of our highest domestic court differs fundamentally from the by-election redux currently being conducted in the US Senate. The opinion of activists, traditionalists and professors matters not one jot or tittle in the choice ultimately made by the Prime Minister. after “informing” the Leader of the Opposition.

20. RE we have to ask ourselves whether or not Truth is relevant or is it absolute? Because some of the things we held as being True a hundred years ago ain’t relevant today…

TRUTE YA AH TELL CAUSE UM IS NO LONGER TRUE DAT
    YOU ARE INNOCENT UNTIL YOU ARE PROVEN GUILTY!

COREY BOOKER THE BUBBY GRABBER (SORRY GRABBER OF THORACIC APENDAGES) SAID THAT WHILE LYING ST BALLSY FORD “told her truth” …….AH LIE?

SO TRUTH IS NOT ABSOLUTE CAUSE IT MAY NOT BE RELEVANT TODAY

TODAY THE BIBLE IS NOT RELEVANT TO MANY BUT IT IS STILL TRUE WHEN JESUS SAID “THY WORD IS TRUTH” IN HIS PRAYER OF JOHN 17. AH LIE?

21. Q, Where in the Bible does it instruct parents, guardian or adults unambiguously to speak to children?

A TRY DEUT 6:6-9 AND SEE IF THAT ANSWERS YOUR QUESTION

And these words, which I command thee this day, shall be in thine heart:

7 And thou shalt teach them diligently unto thy children, and shalt talk of them when thou sittest in thine house, and when thou walkest by the way, and when thou liest down, and when thou risest up.

8 And thou shalt bind them for a sign upon thine hand, and they shall be as frontlets between thine eyes.

9 And thou shalt write them upon the posts of thy house, and on thy gates.

THE INSTRUCTION ABOVE IS VERY DIRECT! NO AMBIGUITY AT ALL!

22. If the grandson comes away with the simple principle of doing unto others as he would have them do unto him he is good for life!!!

All the lotta long talk about not using the last ice cube or cleaning up in the toilet is not necessary.

He is only going get bored and think Grandad is full of it!!!

23. New York Times!!!!

“For the first time since Donald Trump entered the political fray, I find myself grateful that he’s in it. I’m reluctant to admit it and astonished to say it, especially since the president mocked Christine Blasey Ford in his ugly and gratuitous way at a rally on Tuesday. Perhaps it’s worth unpacking this admission for those who might be equally astonished to read it.

I’m grateful because Trump has not backed down in the face of the slipperiness, hypocrisy and dangerous standard-setting deployed by opponents of Brett Kavanaugh’s nomination to the Supreme Court. I’m grateful because ferocious and even crass obstinacy has its uses in life, and never more so than in the face of sly moral bullying. I’m grateful because he’s a big fat hammer fending off a razor-sharp dagger.”

https://www.nytimes.com/2018/10/04/opinion/trump-kavanaugh-ford-allegations.html

24. @ John the Quaker

heheheheheh.

If only wunna was to know the real world “truths” that are being stated here.

did you know that 80 percent of black americans CANNOT TELL YOU WHAT 8 time 9 is?

You think I am talking fabrications and faeces when I use those examples, dem is not, IS NOT IMAGINATIONS MY MAN, dem is for real!!!

@ the Luminary Mr. Jeff Cumberbatch

I do hope that this item “finds you” yet again in the midst of the rest of it heheheheheh…

But let me continue on the practical issues of this corruption matter

“…Peter O’Rourke, the former Trump-campaign staffer who became the acting VA secretary after ousting David Shulkin is set to leave the agency as soon as this week.

O’Rourke enjoyed a highly contentious relationship with the agency’s Inspector General and Congress while running the agency for a few months earlier this year. He was reported by House Democrats for perjury following a hearing where he delivered likely false statements about the Accountability Act and spurious decisionmaking on the law.

Last summer, O’Rourke helped stand up the agency’s Office of Accountability and Whistleblower Protection (OAWP).

Whistleblowers, believing the offices were actually there to protect them, soon reported the (incidences and the) office instead investigated whistleblowers and then turned the information over to the same management officials engaging in wrongdoing…”

Does this sound familiar to you oh Luminary?

How often here on BU do we hear that the Ombudsman is a slouch and is tekking taxpayers money while doing nothing, or that the Attorney General, the current and the former one(s) is/are “on the take? or that the CoP of the Royal Baygon Police Force is but a wimp and only will prosecute the small man or help hang the sons of the poor ant the unfortunate like Nazzim Blackett?

Just recently one of the Royal Baygon sorry Barbados Police Force was in the newspaper making an appeal for people to call and expose who got a gun.

Call 4307100 Oh Luminary!

As soon as you call your number is registered and a recorder starts recording your call.

Imgine me calling to say Bumpy from *** got an illegal gun!

That is like saying to Bumpy, I see a coffin at Two Sons’ dat i like and come tonight and will my ingrunt donkey…

So when I put a comment out there about tyre tracks and John the Quaker will get sidetracked with the insubstantial, I grow sad that such brilliance that both he, and my Christ Illumed Brother in Christ Dr. GP, are thusly disposed to these matters which will be resolved in 45 days.

While these laws and statutes of Mia Mao Mugabe Mottley will bind these ingrunt sheeple for yet another 10 years at least.

25. RE did you know that 80 percent of black americans CANNOT TELL YOU ANYTHING AT ALL
    IS TRUTE YOU AH TELL

EVEN THE BLACK PROFESSORS AND LAYERS DAT COME PUN TV DOES TALK SHITE

I ACTUALLY OFTEN THANK GOD THAT I AM NOT A BLACK AMERICAN

26. That is exactly the passage! I have literally followed that instruction and so that is how I know. Mr. Lexicon, try not to oppose for opposing’s sake. Even without that passage logic would suggest that a combination of approaches is necessary. Children learn by example but not by example only. Some things have to be talked through so ideas can be explored. Children often appear bored but speaking as a former teacher and a Sunday School teacher I can tell you that as they grow up they can tell you the sayings of their parents that they have come to understand and appreciate. They actually ARE listening. They sometimes don’t understand what they are hearing until it marinates.

27. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

You know I am truly grateful for Trump too.

We have been tutored that lying, cheating, mocking and self aggrandizement are all quite acceptable…of course many others before him acted like that but surely never this brazen and loudly and continuously in full public glare.

I am glad he stands up to China because why should the US companies who willingly rushed off to the cheap labour and vast market there and made themselves trillion $$ revenues and recently that type of market valuation in the process suffer the ‘indiginities’ of Chinese intellectual theft and its world economic domination intentions.

You have to be glad that a man who made his branded products in that cheap Asian market has the gumption to sell the idea of US based manufacturing and turn the entire “free trade” dynamic upside down…consumers want the cheap stuff but no longer willing to cede to lower cost locales.

We all must be happy to know that it’s smart to manage our taxes and the cash disbursements from our parents by any methods necessary as long as we can avoid onerous levies.

So I am happy to tell my kids to be like the President who stands up so well for what he believes is right and cares not how or when he tramples rules or laws…

I can tell them that he spoke eloquently about Medgar Evers and Dr King calling them heros of yesterday’s harsh struggles for equality even as he previously recounted how white supremacists like those who would have shot those heros were equally bad or good in comparison to current civil rights marchers.

I tell them applaud his support of Kavanaugh’s innocence even as one reflects on his verbal non-support of victims of sexual harassment…surely this is a good man with great intentions merely misunderstood in his swashbuckling way of stirring the narrative.

Yea….surely..we should be very glad for him!

28. Simple Simon,

What did I tell you? You are too optimistic. Powerful men are not ready to give up their sampling buffet. And they are not ready to deny their college sons. Hasn’t the Secretary of Education reversed Obama requirements for handling of sexual assault claims on college campuses? Of course victims’ claims were being dismissed and no proper investigations were being done. The girls had nowhere to turn. The reputation of the college campuses was of greater importance than the victims. Just like the Roman Catholic church.

These women are still not willing to stand up to men. Senator Collins makes a great case except for the lies that Kavanaugh told about those words in his yearbook. The urban dictionary clearly defines “ralphing, boofing and the devil’s triangle. The judge lied.

Enough said.

29. But, we shall eventually overcome. These things take time. I am raising a non pussy grabbing son. And a son who will pursue the pussy grabbers.

30. re de pedantic Dribbler October 5, 2018 4:19 PM

You know I am truly grateful for Trump too.

YOU ARE A NASTY STINKING LIAR!

ALL THIS SHIT YOU WRITE IS JUST SARCASTIC SHAFF!

WE ALL KNOW THAT YOU HATE TRUMP AND ANYTHING ASSOCIATED WITH HIM WITH A PASSION.

AS BAD AS TRUMP IS——— HE IS NOT JESUS BY ANY SENSE OF THE IMAGINATION.
    BUT HE HAS TRIED TO KEEP HIS PROMISES DESPITE ALL HIS FAULTS AND FLAWS…….AND HE IS LOADS OF FUN!

WE ALL KNOW WHO AND WHAT HE IS!
    NO FAILED PROMISES OF “HOPE AND CHANGE AND SHITBAMA UN-AFFORDABLE CARE”

BE THIS KNOWN TO YOU

“THE HEART IS DECEITFUL ABOVE ALL THINGS, AND DESPERATELY WICKED, WHO CAN KNOW IT

31. …….AND HE IS LOADS OF FUN!

Greatest show on earth, miles ahead of his opponents!!!

From the time I spent time in the house with the TV and started following him I have had no end of entertainment and enjoyment watching him make a mess of supposedly highly intelligent people hell bent on destroying him.

Why people don’t lighten up, relax and enjoy I will never understand!!

32. Powerful men are not ready to give up their sampling buffet. And they are not ready to deny their college sons. Hasn’t the Secretary of Education reversed Obama requirements for handling of sexual assault claims on college campuses? Of course victims’ claims were being dismissed and no proper investigations were being done. The girls had nowhere to turn. The reputation of the college campuses was of greater importance than the victims.

So who is going to take any woman seriously when they come forward to complain?

This frigging idiot, Ballsy Ford, has screwed up women completely.

Look at these 300 jenny asses (can’t use jack asses because that would be to denigrate males) who now have an arrest on their record!!

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2018/10/05/amy-schumer-emily-ratajkowski-among-300-arrested-kavanaugh-protests/

33. Yeah. Lighten up and enjoy the pussy grabbing.

The devil promised to destroy and he is keeping his promises. And this, it seems, is a good thing.

What next?

34. Just like the Roman Catholic church.

No, it is completely different.

The issue with the RC Church is all about children, not women!!!!

Bringing in the RC church by stupid screw up women who we have watched play acting is an insult to the numerous children who have actually undergone sexual assault and don’t play act.

35. Martin Luther King Jr. had an arrest record. He now has a day in his honour. Nelson Mandela was locked up for twenty-seven years. Soon after his release he became president. Do you not understand civil disobedience? It comes with a price. Some brave people are willing to pay that price to achieve justice. In Barbados, the 1937 “riots” are now called an uprising. Those killed have a memorial in their names. People do not willingly relinquish power. One has to take action to wrest it from them. But you go on your merry way either being ignorant or pretending to be ignorant.

36. Were you there? How do you KNOW she was play acting? I do not KNOW that she wasn’t. The same way the Democrats were engaged in a “conspiracy” could not the Republican” also be engaged in a conspiracy, you one-eyed monster? How do you KNOW?

Sexual assault is sexual assault. Women feel it just as children do. My point was about a cover up to protect an institution. The situations have that in common. What exactly is your point?

Tell you what, I don’t even want to know. I have no more time to waste with your kind.

You may have the last word. You or your sidekick.

37. RE I have had no end of entertainment and enjoyment watching him make a mess of supposedly highly intelligent people hell bent on destroying him.

Why people don’t lighten up, relax and enjoy I will never understand!!

SO HAVE I SUH! SO HAVE I !
    AND I ENJOY SEEING AND HEARING FOLK GET CAUGHT UP IN TRUMP DERANGEMENT SYNDROME AS THEY HATE, RESIST AND OBSTRUCT, AND COMPLAIN!
    AND ACT JUST ILLOGICALLY MOST OF THE TIME

38. The Republican conspiracy was simple!!!!

Give her rope and let her hang herself!!!!

She was scripted.

Trump said from early, this is a con job!!!

Trump was miles ahead of his opposition!!

Now it is looking like her buddy. Maclean, wrote the letter!!!

39. JOHN
    FORTUNATELY ALL WOMEN ARE NOT ILLOGICAL AND EMOTIONAL

MSNBC Reporter Tries to Corner Pro-Kavanaugh Woman, It Doesn’t Go as Planned.

October 5, 2018 By Michael Stanley

An MSNBC reporter thought she was going to corner a pro-Kavanaugh woman during an interview in Maine, but clearly got way more than she bargained for.

Terry Hamm-Morris told the reporter that she has not seen any evidence to corroborate the sexual assault charges against SCOTUS nominee Brett Kavanaugh and thus she wanted Sen. Susan Collins to vote in favor of confirming him.

She also went on to denounce the fact that some of the anti-Kavanaugh protesters making a big ruckus for working for George Soros funded organizations.

“I think Brett Kavanaugh has been unjustly accused of these things,” Hamm-Morris said. “I don’t know why Christine Ford made the allegations that she did.”

“As a woman, you’ve seen all of these other women protesting in Sen. Collins’ office,” the MSNBC reporter replied. “Does that affect you at all?”

“No,” Hamm-Morris said flatly. “I think it is a reaction that has been fueled by money from the George Soros campaign, from Nancy Pelosi … I don’t think a person’s life should be ruined just for political expediency.”

The MSNBC reporter incorrectly claimed that Kavanaugh admitted in a Wall Street Journal op-ed that he “regrets” some of the things he did, but was quickly corrected by Hamm-Morris.

“No, he regretted some of the things that he said when he answered,” she asserted. “And I don’t blame him for being upset … I would be pretty ticked off myself.”

Don’t you just love a bold, brave conservative who isn’t afraid to stand on the truth, no matter how hard folks on the left might try to push, shame, and bully them into doing otherwise?

It’s a truly beautiful thing, and we could certainly use more of that these days.

40. READ THIS WUN JOHN
    U TINK DESE PEOPLE SWEET?

What This Witness Revealed to the FBI About Kavanaugh Accuser’s ‘Allies’ Speaks October 5, 2018 By Michael Stanley

One of the women that Dr. Christine Blasey Ford claimed was at the party where she alleges that SCOTUS nominee Brett Kavanaugh sexually assaulted back in the early 1980s told FBI investigators that the accuser’s “allies” pressured her into changing her story about the events that unfolded that night.

Leland Keyser, Ford’s friend, said that former FBI agent Monica McLean urged her to make alterations to her original statement, which noted that she did not remember any such party taking place or knowing Kavanaugh.

Slimy tactics.

he Journal noted that Keyser’s statement to the FBI offered “a glimpse into how Dr. Ford’s allies were working behind the scenes to lobby old classmates to bolster their versions of the alleged incident.”

A source close to the situation told the Journal that Dr. Ford’s friends “including Ms. McLean, had contacted Ms. Keyser after her initial statement to warn her that her statement was being used by Republicans to rebut the allegation against Judge Kavanaugh.”

In a statement, David Laufman, McLean’s attorney, denied the allegations, writing: “Any notion or claim that Ms. McLean pressured Leland Keyser to alter Ms. Keyser’s account of what she recalled concerning the alleged incident between Dr. Ford and Brett Kavanaugh is absolutely false.”

The Journal notes that allies of Kavanaugh also reached out to people, including former classmate Karen Yarasavage, who said that she was asked to go on record about the allegation made by Deborah Ramirez.

Ford’s ex-boyfriend claimed this week in a letter to the Senate Judiciary Committee that Ford had coached McLean on how to pass a polygraph test so she could get into the FBI. This accusation was serious because, if true, Ford perjured herself under oath when she said that she had “never” given anyone any tips on how to take a polygraph test.

All of this comes hot on the heels of Ford’s story being thoroughly dismantled by prosecutor Rachel Mitchell who questioned her during the Senate Judiciary Committee hearing, stating it was “even weaker than a he said, she said” case.

Ouch.

It seems pretty safe to say that Ford is about as far from credible as a human being can possibly get and that her story is nothing more than cannon fodder for the left who tried to use her as a means of stopping Kavanaugh from being confirmed.

Well, it looks like that strategy backfired. Big time.

Hopefully, Kavanaugh will be confirmed soon, maybe this weekend, and we’ll finally be able to move on from this fiasco and get back to making America great again.

41. JOHN
    FORTUNATELY ALL WOMEN ARE NOT ILLOGICAL AND EMOTIONAL

That’s how Ballsy Ford got caught.

No woman who was wronged is going to take the stage Ballsy Ford did and come across as a timid mouse.

A normal woman would not be taking prisoners, she would be killing!!!

The Republican conspiracy to give her the stage simply laid out her subterfuge for all to see.

Can you imagine what would happen if Jackie Stewart was given such a forum?

Compare the two, both are supposedly wronged women yet one is like a mouse and the other roars!!

42. JOHN

THIS IS A VERY INTERESTING AND FACTUAL ARTICLE

Lock him up – Nazis vs. Christians; Democrats Make the Nation INSANE!
    Dustin KoellhofferOctober 5, 2018

Democrats are stoking an insane rage in their lemmings with their lies and when Republicans respond in righteous wrath say we have no right to do so and declare that proof that we are the haters. This is Obama’s America where Democrat Nazis want to assassinate an innocent man they have demonized in the minds of their blithering idiot liberal lemmings. Judge Kavanaugh will require Secret Service protection for the rest of his life, like Sarah Sanders the first Press Secretary ever to do so, because of liberal wackos who want to kill him over their lies that he is a serial rapist. They’ve adopted the chant of “lock him up” in the reflection of Trumpster’s chant of “lock her up” for Hillary’s actual crimes against the country. (Another example of how liberals corrupt the truth for their own malicious intent.) They still applaud her husband the serial sexual predator they voted for and kept in power despite his crimes.

The mental disorder of liberalism is becoming more and more violent as young skulls full of mush are filled with delusions of righteousness fighting evil. Millions of Americans are infected with the sickness of liberalism. Not just the sickness of greed and envy, not just the sickness of self-righteous hypocrisy, but the sickness of delusional hate. Liberalism is the ideology of believing in lies to the point of being willing to murder people over them. This is Islamism wherein some distant sociopathic Islamist will murder a nearby innocent person, believing they are justified because they somehow associate them with a story they heard about some distant person that they hate.

Trump Derangement Syndrome. Liberal wackoism. Libtards. Leftwingnuts. Agitators, activists, anarchists, America haters, man-haters, Christ-haters. Radical resistance is the tactics of leftist socialist black shirt fascists of Mussolini and the brown shirt fascists of Hitler and the proletariat bomb-throwing Bolsheviks of Marx. Alinskyites, Obamaites, Hillaryites – parasites all. The shrill irrational screeching of Democrats exemplifies all that is wrong with leftist politics. None of them are listening. Abortion, global warming, Russian collusion, rape trains, tax cuts for the rich, welfare, socialist tax theft, Islam, atheism, and foreign invasion. Everything they believe is a lie and they are not willing to hear the truth.

t
    These people are neither decent human beings nor civilized. The sickness of the anti-civilization ideology of the left has not only severely damaged the mentality of borderline psychotics to make them raving lunatics. Ignorant young people who have not been educated are easily duped into believing whatever they are told, and Democrats want to give these young simpletons the vote. They deceive them with their lies and young fools follow them blindly like the Pied Piper of Hamlin.

Democrats want the FBI to investigate Republicans until they find proof of guilt that doesn’t exist, or they die in the attempt. Sickness. Liberals don’t understand how an investigation works. How could they when they don’t investigate the least little fact but are spoon-fed their delusions? They don’t understand math, history, sociology, economics, biology, science, or psychology, but they think they are all geniuses. Monkeys have more sense.

Liberals are becoming more hysterical, more irrational, and more violent. Not because they are seeing their rights taken away, but because they are losing the power to take away the rights of others, and that is what leftist control freaks live for. Leftism is about having power over others and being willing to lie, cheat, steal, and kill to get it. That is why the righteous are referred to as the right and the lying thieves are referred to as the left because they are always wrong.

Democrat leftists declare the innocent guilty until proven innocent. Kavanaugh accusers give the FBI fictitious names that they cannot investigate and then declare the investigation a fraud when they don’t interview these fictions. This kind of evil is why debate doesn’t work with Democrats. In their deranged minds they believe the Christians to be the Nazis and themselves to be angelic without sin. There is no other way to describe this except as being the mental disorder of mythomania; a person who believes their own lies. There is not providing proof of reality to them as they don’t accept the truth. They are blinded by the light.

This entire episode is not about truth, quality, or facts. This is not just about dirty politics. It’s about leftist Nazis vs. righteous Christians with the Nazis believing they are acting as Christians and that the Christians are the Nazis. It is the mirrored world of liberal delusions and there is no escape for the mindless control freaks immersed in them. There is only their rage and hate and the violence that comes of it. When a righteous person tries to explain the truth to them they respond by declaring that person has no right to free speech. This is the evil that America is up against and will either beat down in November or be consumed by.

43. Boy, I does write my own Shiite

Don’t copy long bits of jobby and post….

44. Now there’s a reason to lighten up! Good one, Gazerts! At least you does shiite fuh yuhself!

45. Donna
    October 5, 2018 6:02 PM

Martin Luther King Jr. had an arrest record. He now has a day in his honour. Nelson Mandela was locked up for twenty-seven years. Soon after his release he became president. Do you not understand civil disobedience?

I note you have used men as the example to follow!!!

These women are idiots and can’t be compared to these two sensible men!!!!

They have done real female victims a disservice.

The two men you name chose their battles and did not engage in civil disobedience for the sake of engaging in civil disobedience.

They both had a higher goal.

I’ll name a third one for you … a man … Mahatma Ghandi.

Can you see the higher goal where it was permissible to be civilly disobedient?

46. Atleast somebodies happy!!!

47. Hope my government is not going to use my tax money to repatriate these students. An air ticket from Barbados to India is not cheap.

A question: Since it seems like water and electricity bills were not being paid. Were income tax, VAT and NIS bills being paid.

A few years ago with my Little Johnnie I tried to borrow $50,000 BDS from the government of Barbados (SRLF). They told us “no” and never looked back to see how or if we got through.

I don’t want my tax money used to send these students home. Get their parents to pay. Get the government of India to pay. Get the governments of the Indian states from which the students came to pay. Since it seems Mrs. Ram was collecting rents, get her to pay.

But don’t expect me, A Bajan taxpayer to pay, not when the same government turned down my kid.

48. Again your language betrays you! Idiots are they? Civil obedience for civil disobedience’s sake. Who the Johnny are YOU to determine what is important to women and how they should proceed. Women have been fighting against this patriarchy for decades and making great strides. They do not need YOU to set their agenda or develop their action plan. Your days of control are numbered. Despite the fact that dinosaurs like you seem still to exist they shall overcome. Because you have to die out eventually.

49. And now I am going to pretend that the happy day has already come.

Translated – I am now going to turn my attention to Jeff’s topic
    since I am not interested in dinosaur fossils.

50. AS I SAID LAST SUNDAY MORNING

ALL THINGS WORK TOGETHER FOR GOOD TO THEM THAT LOVE GOD ,,,ROMANS 8:28

WHAT DID THE LYING HOE BALLSY GET?