The popular local reaction to the impending Integrity in Public Life legislation has been intriguing. Given the populist perception of politicians in general and our seeming inability to rein in the lawless conduct of some notorious sectors of society, cynicism naturally abounds. A fellow columnist and learned friend, in his column last week, categorized it as an attempt to legislate morality; what some lawyers call a brutum fulmen (empty threat). At one level, he is right. Integrity cannot be created by legislative fiat but rather resides in the heart of the individual to be exercised accordingly of his or her own free will. At the same time, however, there is a clamant need for such an injunction, if only to attempt to deter those who might be inclined to act contrarily. Stealing is also immoral, yet none denies the need for condign legislation in this regard.

In last week’s essay, we examined the declaration of financial affairs by specified persons in public life. We also noted the avenue for such an individual to put his or her assets in a blind trust to be administered by an independent trustee. The blind trust is not a device with which most Barbadians will be familiar but it is of critical importance to its validity that the cestui que trust or beneficiary retains absolutely no control over the trust assets during its subsistence. Hence, as I suggested textually last week, there appears to be a drafting error in section 28 (5)(b) that reads as follows in my copy of the Bill-

…income derived from the management of the assets is to be distributed, in accordance with the agreement, to him, his spouse or his children until he ceases to be a specified person in public life…

Arguably, any such distribution and, indeed, any such agreement would be antithetical to the concept of a trust and would amount to the mere transfer of property as a stakeholder. The word “not” should therefore be inserted between “is” and “to” in the first line.

Once the declaration has been duly made to the Commission or the Governor General as the case may be, that entity or its staff will examine it and “make such inquiries as it or he considers necessary in order to verify or determine the accuracy of the financial affairs, as stated in the declarations, of persons who are required to file declarations under this Act”Clause 29 (b).

Where the Commission is satisfied that a declaration has been fully made as defined in Clause 31 (5), it will issue a certificate of compliance. Where it is not satisfied with the information given, however, it may report the matter to the appropriate Service Commission, board or other authority and the Director of Public Prosecutions.

There is a curious (I put it no higher than that) time bar for the commencement of an inquiry by the Commission in Clause 32 (5). According to this –“An inquiry shall not be commenced after 2 years from the date on which the person ceased to be in public life”.

As has already been pointed out elsewhere, this may amount to “a rogue’s charter”, whereby a specified person in public life may arrange for his or her financial affairs to be significantly altered to his or her advantage after retirement when he or she is no longer subject to regulation by the Commission. It might perhaps be more advisable here to have the specified person in public life report his or her financial affairs to the Commission after retirement for a period of five years or other sufficiently lengthy period or until death. Of course, what might give such a provision even more teeth is the enactment of civil forfeiture legislation, but that is purely a matter of legislative policy.

Where, in the opinion of the Governor General, further information is required from a member or staff of the Commission in respect of his or her declaration, the Governor General is mandated “after consultation with the Prime Minister and the Leader of the Opposition, to appoint a fit and proper person as a tribunal to require the declarant to furnish such further information or documents and to conduct any inquiry, where found necessary, to verify the declaration, document or other statement filed with the tribunal”.

As with the inquiry pertaining to the affairs of a specified person in public life, there is also a time bar in respect of such an inquiry; this time five years after the date on which the declarant ceases to be a specified person in public life –Clause 33 (3). The reason for the difference in limitation periods here is not immediately apparent.

The Commission declarant is also differently treated in respect of the results of the inquiry. If the appointed Tribunal finds that the disclosure is full, he or she shall publish a statement to that effect in the Official Gazette and in a daily newspaper with nationwide circulation in Barbados, and reimburse the declarant for all expenses reasonably incurred by him or her in connection with the inquiry.

The Bill employs the concept of naming and shaming for the failure to file a required declaration in Clause 34 and also provides for the sending of a report to that effect to the appropriate Service Commission, board or authority and to the Director of Public Prosecutions.

As is traditional, the contents of the individual declarations are to be treated as confidential and it is an offence punishable on summary conviction to a fine of $ 20 000 or to imprisonment for 3 years to contravene this proscription.

The severity of this penalty contrasts with that in Clause 36 (1)(d) for an offence that seems much more blameworthy. There any person who fails, without reasonable cause, to comply with a direction of the Commission given pursuant to section 28(2) within the time specified by the Commission, or knowingly gives any false or incomplete information in the trust deed filed with the Commission, is guilty of an offence and is liable, on summary conviction, to a fine of $15 000 or to imprisonment for one year or to both. [Added emphasis]

As one astute commenter on my columns has pointed out, this fine may be even less onerous comparatively than the much ridiculed fine of $2 500 was in 1929 under the Prevention of Corruption Act. It clearly needs to be more dissuasive.

To be continued…

354 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – On Preventing Corruption 4”

1. Do you ever want to know
    Do all dreams go on endlessly
    Or do they just run down somehow
    And gradually become the custody
    Of that melancholy jailer for the time

2. Bajan, show me any other system of governance in the world that is comparable to that of United States of America? And do you have a proper understanding of American federalism?

3. Bajan, and how many of these so call highly intelligent Bajans have won the Nobel Prize in anything? I know of two St. Lucians thus far, and yet the educational system in Barbados is of no comparison to those in the region. Lol

4. Bajan, it is important that you understand that many of the systems of governance in the world are unitary … meaning that the power arise from a central body. Whereas in the United States of America the power arise from the Federal, State, Municipal and Indian Nation brother.

5. Bajan, and finally, the shitty American system helps sustain Barbados shallow economy by the millions of US dollars people much like myself and others send to family and friends everyday in Barbados.

6. Johnnie ma boy,

More questions –

Can you not think for yourself? Do you need Rush and co. to supply you with thoughts? Did you really need that lawyer to tell you that a case could not be pursued based on Dr. Ford’s testimony? .

Can you not entertain ANY thoughts that you could be wrong about Kavanaugh? Can you entertain any thoughts that Trump or anyone in his orbit could be wrong about ANYTHING?

Damn, even some Jim Jones cult members resisted drinking the Kool Aid!!!

Ain’t NOBODY with whom I always agree. Ain’t NOBODY with whom I always disagree.

For example-

I have serious difficulty with Obama’s activities in Libya. I did not agree.

I have serious issues with late term abortion. I do not agree.

It is quite possible that Trump’s trade shenanigans may work out for America. I do not disagree.

Trump’s crazy-seeming shenanigans with the “Little Rocket Man” may eventually work out for America. I do not disagree.

And here’s one on CNN and MSNBC – It ALWAYS sets me off when they say that Trump admitted to Lester Holt that he fired Comey because of the Russian investigation. He said NO SUCH THING. I heard with my OWN ears and they cannot influence me into their interpretation. I do not agree.

God, I love being me! No twisting and turning to fit some damn box prepared for me. I think I’m going to burst into song –

Born free, as free as the wind blows………

Better yet, let me leave you lost causes and join Matt Monroe on Youtube.!

7. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

To what avail this blaring of prosecutor Mitchell’s memo as if it’s impressive news….are we so desperate on the right!

Her conclusions were known from the git go…clearly no viable case could be brought on the current available evidence….surely none of YOU could be that stupid….factually how can any case proceed without valid investigations to establish the ‘facts’ and to dispel the mere allegations.

Even her remark that Forde’s claims would not warrant further investigation is surely out of context…one ‘further investigates something where there is a lack of clarity that when defined it helps to better explain the original claim….if she completely dismisses the original then why proceed, is her thinking!

The funny and amazing thing about life is that often those who believe the validity of an original claim and persue against doubters have often made remarakable discoveries.

So let’s wait to see in a few days more if this FBI review becomes a political Nobel prize of amazing human discovery or is a big dud!

The bottom line: Was there any gathering that took place in the summer of 1982 when Christine Ballsey was 15 where she was together with Kavanaugh and Mark Judge!

If yes, who cares about a possible prosecution…then it will be all about NOT elevating another ‘alternative facts’ person to a very powerful role…very, very simple…If no, Dr Forde will be prosecuted and jailed for perjury and the US political landscape upended !

8. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Christine BLASEY….correction.

9. The swamp is still being drained. SUBVERSIVELY.

10. re factually how can any case proceed without valid investigations to establish the ‘facts’ and to dispel the mere allegations.

FACTUALLY HOW CAN ONE PROCEED WITH A CASE WHERE THE ACCUSER DOES NOT KNOW OR CAN NOT ANSWER TRUTHFULLY ANY QUESTIONS BELONGING WITH THE WORDS

WHERE
    WHY
    HOW
    WHEN
    WHO

AND THE “WITNESSES ” SHE NAME INCLUDING HER LONG TIME BEST FRIEND REALIZES THAT THE WOMAN HAS DELUSIONS AND THAT HER HIPPOS HAVE DEPARTED FROM HER CAMPUS. LOL LOL

MS MITCHELL IS AN EXPERT IN THIS FIELD AND DPD IS…………………..??????????

RE If no, Dr Forde will be prosecuted and jailed for perjury
    I HOPE SO…….ALONG WITH HER LIARS.

11. “I’m not a drinker. I can honestly say I never had a beer in my life. It’s one of my only good traits,” he said to laughter in the Rose Garden, responding to a question from CNN’s Kaitlan Collins.
    “I never had a glass of alcohol. I never had alcohol, for whatever reason,” he added. “Can you imagine if I had? What a mess I would be. I would be the world’s worst. I never drank, OK?”

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Since Alcohol seems to be at the root of the allegations against Kavanaugh, it would follow that people who do not drink could not possibly be guilty of sexual assault.

Donald Trump has never had a beer in his life … or consumed alcohol.

This is one way that we know Trump could not possibly be guilty of sexual assault and any charge levelled against him must be bogus!!

https://www.msn.com/en-us/news/politics/trump-jokes-can-you-imagine-if-i-drank/ar-BBNNPBO?ocid=spartandhp

12. BY THE WAY DPD

IF THE JUDGE TRULY LOVES THE LORD
    REGARDLESS TO IF HE IS CONFIRMED OUR NOT…….ALL THINGS WILL WORK TOGETHER FOR GOOD FOR HIM, AS CLEARLY TAUGHT IN ROMANS 8:28

13. …. so inadvertently, the left have proved conclusively that the allegations against Trump must be false!!

14. A snakebite, Bill Clinton’s favorite alcoholic drink, is one part cider and one part lager mixed in equal volumes.
    According to a 2001 article in the Harrogate Advertiser, Clinton was refused a snakebite in a bar in the U.K. because it was illegal to serve it there.

Trumps preference is for Diet Coke, even has a button on his desk where he can summon one at a moment’s notice!!

So it follows all the talk about Trump and his dallying with members of the opposite sex can’t be true.

15. Georgie Porgie

You, me……. and even the “man on the cream of Wheat” box know Trump has a penchant for over exaggerating his perceived successes. And it is for this reason why I prefer to read about him keeping a campaign promise by renegotiating NAFTA, from more reliable sources….other than FOX News.

And his association with the owner of that news network as well as hosts such as Hannity, Tucker Carlson and Jeanine Pirro openly declaring their “allegiance” to their close personal friend, Trump, questions FOX’s ability to broadcast news without bias.

Shiite, wunnuh duz call the Nation Newspaper biased.

However, while Trump and his supporters are taking victory laps for the “new NAFTA deal,” the following is a brief synopsis of the facts:

The Trump administration’s new trade deal with Canada and Mexico LEAVES MUCH OF THE OLD North American Free Trade Agreement INTACT.

There are some key differences, however, PARTICULARLY when it comes to the DAIRY and AUTO INDUSTRIES..

The updated agreement, the subject of more than a year of intense negotiations between the three countries, includes some high-profile COMPROMISES FROM BOTH Washing ton and Ottawa.

It is true Prime Minister Justin Trudeau said: “It’s a good day for Canada,”…….but if one takes into consideration that new trade deal leaves much of the old NAFTA intact……..you must analyse the circumstances under which his comment was made.

The U.S., for example, won expanded access to Canadian markets for U.S. dairy producers, long a major sticking point for the Trump administration. For its part, Canada won a key concession from U.S. negotiators that preserved a dispute resolution process.

The updated agreement also includes key provisions governing the auto industry that will encourage more U.S. car production while PROTECTING Canadian and Mexican companies from President Donald Trump’s THREATS of wider U.S. tariffs.

The sweeping agreement includes hundreds of pages, covering thousands of individual products. While the updated provisions will have an impact on the specific companies or industries covered, the UPDATED AGREEMENT is expected to have LITTLE OVERALL ECONOMIC IMPACT..

Protecting Canadian companies from Trump’s threats of wider U.S tariffs and ultimately a trade war…….as well as Canada winning an important concession from the US, allowing the country to PRESERVE (no change) its reliance on the settlement process to protect its lumber producers from anti-dumping tariffs imposed by the US……….

………..could be reasonably interpreted as a “good day for Canada,”…..and not as a result of Trump’s perceived “new deal.”

16. John,

If a Snakebite is what yo say, where in the UK is such a drink illegal? Stop Googling crap.

17. THAT IS A GOOD ONE JOHN
    LOGICAL…….EVEN IF NOT NECESSARILY SOUND
    THAT IS DPD-ESQUE!
    THIS MAN CAN SPIN LIKE A TOP!

18. I have watched CNN, ABC, MSMBC FOX etc etc etc.

My preference is FOX because it deals in facts leaving me to decide for myselt what is going on.

I don’t have a TV so at the moment don’t watch any.

I stumbled on Rush quite by accident a couple of years ago and realized he thinks the same way as me.

He has never even heard me before … I doubt he even reads BU!!

The simple fact remains… his radio program is the most listened to radio show in America …. by far.

19. ARTAX
    1- WHAT IS YOUR POINT, AND
    2- WHAT DO I CARE

I THINK THAT
    A WHAT EVER TRUMP DO IS WRONG!
    B WHAT EVER HE SAYS IS WRONG
    C IF HE FARTS PEOPLE SAY HE BELCHED

D FOX NEWS IS WRONG ALL THE TIME
    E AND NBC AND CNN ETC REPORTS THE NEWS FAIRLY OK?

F AND FLAKE IS NOT A FLAKE OR FAKE
    G AND THE AMERICANS SHOULD HAVE VOTED IN HILARY
    H AND MIA STOP BITING
    I SAINT BALLSY HAS NOT LOST THE HIPPOS FROM HER CAMPUS

HERE IS ONE THING THAT NO ONE YOU CANT SPIN……….

JESUS IS COMING AGAIN!

20. Hal Austin October 1, 2018 2:06 PM

John,

If a Snakebite is what yo say, where in the UK is such a drink illegal? Stop Googling crap.

IF JOHN GOOGLES CRAP THAT IS BAD
    BUT WHEN WE HAVE TO READ THE SHITE THAT YOU WRITE CONSISTENTLY WHAT IS THAT?

WHY DONT YOU GO DOWN ST ANDREW AND TAKE INTO HOAD’S BIODIGESTER SO THAT WE CAN MORE LIKELY BENEFIT FROM THE METHANE AND HYDROGEN SULPHIDE

21. Hal Austin
    October 1, 2018 2:06 PM

John,

https://nypost.com/2014/10/18/what-every-president-drank/

One thing I have discovered and subsequently had it confirmed by Rush Limbaugh … the left has no sense of humor!!

So I know Rush Limbaugh is more often right than he is wrong!!

22. …. and we see from the list of president’s and their favourite drinks Obama was a beer man ….. bare beers!!

So does it follow that he used to run around assaulting 15 year old girls?

23. What we can also see from the list is that Obama never graduated to Snakebite … so he never got past the 15 year olds and into Bill Clinton’s class!!

24. Donna

Here are parts 1 and 2 of Rush today.

25. WOMEN SCREAMING AT FLAKE IN ELEVATOR Were Soros-Funded Astroturfed Activist Leaders! — NOT VICTIMS
    https://www.thegatewaypundit.com/2018/09/women-screaming-at-flake-in-elevator-were-soros-funded-astroturfed-activist-leaders-not-sex-abuse-victims/

26. Following the rabbit down the hole….
    What lies ahead?
    What roll will Kavanaugh play?

Fact
    The United States has been operating under a state of declared war since September, 2001, following the 9/11 attacks.
    What transpired since?
    Fact:
    The United States has been operating under a declared national emergency, signed by President Trump, since December 20, 2017.

Executive Order 13818

27. White trolls like John-Jack love Trump because they’re white trolls

Black trolls like GP are messed up on God and love Trump up because he believes God has blessed him unlike the Niggy Obama from Kenya

28. Sigh,,, .. the mules are still in the tiny little barn, I see. Back to Youtube – Kool and the Gang, Earth Wind and Fire…. you know FUN PEOPLE.

What use have I for Rush Limbaugh and his kind?

29. Georgie Porgie
    October 1, 2018 5:05 PM

WOMEN SCREAMING AT FLAKE IN ELEVATOR Were Soros-Funded Astroturfed Activist Leaders! — NOT VICTIMS
    https://www.thegatewaypundit.com/2018/09/women-screaming-at-flake-in-elevator-were-soros-funded-astroturfed-activist-leaders-not-sex-abuse-victims/

Rush has a transcript of a conference call where it was all planned last week.

He isn’t the legal owner as yet!!

Means somebody been keeping tabs on the Democrats without their knowledge …. Project Veritas perhaps!!

Meantime, do you think Kavanaugh’s beer drinking can hold a candle to this guy?

Remember, Kavanaugh was able to be #1 in High School, College and Law School and this guy’s transcripts remain hidden!!

https://www.google.com/search?q=obama+beer+pictures&tbm=isch&source=iu&ictx=1&fir=frXNEu151VSKiM%253A%252CsnPOiYprZ5KQAM%252C_&usg=AI4_-kQzkgLPPDHdJVgpA4WeJMZsnBSo7w&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwiGp-yjqebdAhUL0FMKHUvaAw4Q9QEwAHoECAYQBA#imgrc=frXNEu151VSKiM:

30. Donna

I got the link with the whole show.

Enjoy.

It has the Dittocam so you can watch him lighting and smoking his cigar!!

31. GP

I have been mulling over your offer of the GoFundMe page a lot.

It has caused me sleepless nights!!!!!!!

I finally decided after a lot of thought to refuse your kind offer.

Here is my logic.

It is a form of money laundering.

Take for example Ballsy Ford.

The Democrat Party has money to launder.

It needs to get it to its supporters who can then make a lawful donation to the party and thus launder the money.

Most of the money will go to her lawyers and for sure one is a Soros funded operative..

I suspect a GoFundMe page would not attract much money given my stated positions … but you must tell me how it goes for DPD and any others who accept your offer.

Here is an article I found on GoFundMe, Money Laundering and the Democrat Party.

https://americandigitalnews.com/2018/09/28/has-gofundme-become-new-money-laundering-scheme/#.W7KzUvZFzIU

32. GP

There is actually another good reason I am going to decline your kind offer.

The attention it might attract may cause Hilary Clinton to put a hit out on me!!

33. JOHN
    GO FUND ME PAGES ARE GOOD BUSINESS YUH
    LOOKA DIS

DID CHRISTINE FORD HAVE ANYTHING TO GAIN? YOU BETCHA
    Steven Ahle OCTOBER 1, 2018

The Democrats have been saying that Christine Ford has nothing to gain from lying about Brett Kavanaugh, but is that right? Hardly. First of all, she is a leftist activist, so any defeat of a Trump nominee is a victory to her. Secondly, she is an employee of a company, whose only product is the RU-486 abortion pill. If Roe v Wade is overturned, her company is out of business.

That would cost her mucho dinero. And finally, during the hearings, she plugged the GoFundMe campaigns started in her name. As of Friday, those campaigns had raised nearly three-quarters of a million dollars. Therefore, she had a lot to gain if she brought a false allegation against Kavanaugh.

From The Blaze

“I’m aware that there’s been several GoFundMe sites,” Blasey Ford told Rachel Mitchell, the Arizona prosecutor who was hired by the GOP majority to ask questions at the hearing. “I haven’t had a chance to figure out how to manage those because I’ve never had one.”

She made the statement after Mitchell asked her how she would pay for her polygraph test and other costs associated with her testimony against Kavanaugh.

GoFundMe has more than a dozen fundraisers on the site that mention Blasey Ford by name. The crowdfunding website allows anyone to launch a fundraiser. The top two campaigns alone have brought in a total of nearly $700,000.

Help Christine Blasey Ford, $473,622 (donations are now closed)
    Cover Dr. Blasey’s security costs, $209,987 (donations are now closed)
    Honor Dr. Blasey as an Educator, nearly $12,000 in 22 hours, and donations are still rolling in.
    We Believe Women more than $50,000 to publish newspaper ads across the nation that support Blasey Ford. The campaign, which is still ongoing, has been up for eight days.
    So, did she have anything to gain by lying? The numbers say “Hell, yes!”

34. re John October 1, 2018 9:14 PM

GP There is actually another good reason I am going to decline your kind offer.

The attention it might attract may cause Hilary Clinton to put a hit out on me!!

no john
    donna would be running you down for de money lol lol murdah
    watch out now watch out

35. no john
    donna would be running you down for de money lol lol murdah
    watch out now watch out

You think she would protect me?

36. … or is she a he … you never know these days!!

37. … and then again there is this old reprobate democrat senator who until he died was a fellow senator with Startacus and other democrats sitting on the judiciary committee

38. …. Spartacus, not Startacus!!!!

39. Thing is with old Ted, we know the date, time and place!!!!

That old neckbrace worked wonders

40. john

listen to this “classy” black man make himself look like the ass he is SHITBAMA- THE HAS BEEN WHO DOES NOT REALIZE IT

HOW HAS THIS BLOWHARD FALLEN

Crowd Turns on Obama at Rally After He DEMANDS their Respect- Throws Huge Fit
    https://patrioticviralnews.com/articles/crowd-turns-on-obama-at-rally-after-he-demands-their-respect-throws-huge-fit/

The blue wave is coming! You’ve heard this on repeat all year. It has turned into some kind of Game of Thrones mantra. Just like in 2016, the left and their obedient media want to convince every conservative in this country that they are alone. They want the very notion of voting red to feel completely futile and pointless.

In other words, they’re terrified of you. They already watched you elect Trump. The only thing scarier to them is to continue to lose power and influence in our country.

All things leading up to November have shown that the blue wave is more like a trickling water hose. There is no excitement at all for the left. The only thing they have is fervent hatred of Trump. Granted, that’s enough to rally some votes, but it’s not enough to dominate the nation.

If Republicans simply show up to the ballots, we can see a red wave instead. Just think of what Trump could do with two more years of Congressional support.

He’s already fixed the economy. China is on its knees in the “trade war.” Iran and North Korea are both capitulating to Trump’s demands. Keeping Congress red wouldn’t just launch America to the greatest heights we’ve ever seen. It could genuinely bring the entire world into a new era of prosperity.

That is exactly what the left doesn’t want as evidenced by their media tours. Speaking of which, somebody should probably tell Obama that he is no longer the sitting President of the United States. You might think one of his real friends would care enough to deliver the message. Otherwise, the nation is likely to see a repeat performance. You can see his embarrassment in this video. Enjoy.

41. Julie Swetnick’s rape train claims against Kavanaugh crash and burn in NBC Interview
    Written by William A. Jacobson

Julie Swetnick’s rape train claims against Kavanaugh crash and burn in NBC Interview
    NBC can’t corroborate, she backtracks on Kavanaugh alleged involvement, and her key contemporaneous witnesses are dead or don’t know her.

Julie Swetnick, Michael Avenatti’s client, has the most incredible of all the accusations against Brett Kavanaugh — that he participated in organizing and running rape train parties in which girls were given spiked drinks then gang raped.

Both Kavanaugh and Mark Judge, who Swetnick also implicated, denied the accusations:

Previous attempts to corroborate any part of her story proved fruitless. Yet Avenatti has been taunting Senate Republicans that her story would be proven.

“In the course of the interview, Swetnick contradicted her previous written statement, jumbled the timeline of her decision to come forward, and expressed uncertainty about whether Kavanaugh was actually involved in her own assault. She also borrowed a few key phrases from the story told by Christine Blasey Ford, the initial Kavanaugh accuser who testified before the Senate Judiciary Committee last week….

NBC WAS CAUTIONED THAT THEY could not corroborate Swetnick’s story, and had discovered that several of her proposed witnesses were deceased. One person whom Swetnick claimed attended the house parties with her—parties at which women were routinely sexually assaulted, according to Swetnick—told NBC he didn’t know her.

“This morning, Swetnick provided four names of friends she says went to the parties with her,” said Snow. “One of them says he does not recall a Julie Swetnick. Another of the friends is deceased. We’ve reach out to the other two, but haven’t heard back.” …

But there’s good reason to doubt this part of her story. In her sworn written statement, Swetnick claimed Kavanaugh would spike girls’ drinks—and yet, in her interview with Snow, Swetnick merely claimed that she saw Kavanaugh near the punch bowl.

“I did see him giving red solo cups to quite a few girls,” said Swetnick. “I saw him around the punchbowls. I don’t know what he did.”

Swetnick also claimed in her initial statement that the boys at these parties would line up outside bedrooms, waiting their turn to rape the incapacitated women inside. But she told Snow that the boys were merely huddled near the doorways of the rooms.

“I would see boys standing outside rooms, congregated together, sort of like a gauntlet,” she said. “I would see them laughing.”

It seemed quite possible Swetnick was reading far too much into this.

According to Swetnick, she was sexually assaulted at one of these parties. She could not say with any certainty that Kavanaugh was involved. She recalled being “shoved into a room” and hearing laughter, and that Kavanaugh and his friend Mark Judge were present. These are details that resemble Ford’s story so closely it raises suspicion (of Swetnick, not of Kavanaugh).

Swetnick claimed she told her mother and a specific police officer about the assault; both are deceased. NBC is working to obtain the officer’s files from the time period. If a record exists of her speaking with this officer, it will bolster her credibility. For now, this is by far the sketchiest of the accusations against Kavanaugh.”

NBC News interviewed Swetnick, and her story collapses to such a degree that NBC cautioned viewers that her story was not corroborated and contradicted, in important details, her sworn affidavit submitted by Avenatti.

“NBC News noted there were differences in Swetnick’s initial statement and her comments to the outlet, notably her assertion that Kavanaugh spiked punch at the parties so that groups of boys could rape girls.
    Swetnick did not confirm that she saw Kavanaugh spike punch, but simply said she “saw him around the punch containers.”

“I don’t know what he did,” she told NBC.

She also appeared to backtrack on her suggestion that Kavanaugh was involved in gang rapes, saying she only saw him congregated with other boys outside of rooms. When Snow asked if she thought the boys were gathered in order to rape girls in the rooms, Swetnick replied “yes.”

“It’s just too coincidental,” she said.

She continued that she came to that realization when she was raped herself. She said her assault happened at a party at the hands of multiple boys after her drink was spiked. She said that while she did not know if Kavanaugh and Judge participated in her rape, they were at the party near her where she began to feel sick.”

One of Swetnik’s key witnesses denies knowing her:

42. dpd dpd

wuh you tink

do you tink that righteosness needs to be imputed to this woman too as for SAINT BALLSY LYING FORD?

The mainstream media is continuing to make it difficult to find them credible. NBC recently interviewed Kavanaugh’s third accuser, Julie Swetnick, despite being unable to verify her claims. To make matters worse, during the interview Swetnick contradicted the claims she made in a sworn affidavit.

According to The Daily Wire:
    NBC News’ Kate Snow noted that the network could not verify any of Swetnick’s salacious claims before she highlighted how Swetnick’s claims during the interview varied from her written declaration.

Swetnick had claimed that she “became aware of efforts by Mark Judge, Brett Kavanaugh, and others to ‘spike’ the ‘punch’ at house parties” she attended.

Snow noted that in the NBC News interview, Swetnick claimed that she saw them near the punch but did not actually see them “spike” the punch with alcohol.

NBC News also noted that Swetnick appeared to change her initial statement about Kavanaugh being involved in gang rapes. Swetnick initially claimed: “I also witnessed efforts by Mark Judge, Brett Kavanaugh and others to cause girls to become inebriated and disoriented so they could then be ‘gang raped’ in a side room or bedroom by a ‘train’ of numerous boys. I have a firm recollection of seeing boys lined up outside rooms at many of these parties waiting for their ‘turn’ with a girl inside the room. These boys included Mark Judge and Brett Kavanaugh.”

Swetnick’s claims remain unsubstantiated as more information emerges that brings her credibility in question.

43. COULD THIS BE TRUE DPD? COULD THIS BE TRUE?

Liberal Activist Admits Senator Flake Was Deliberately Targeted

By MRC Latino Staff | September 30, 2018 3:16 PM EDT

Univision’s Al Punto is not, by any measure of the imagination, the place to go when you are looking for balanced news analysis and political commentary. So, too, was the case with its most recent iteration, which opened with reaction to last week’s contentious hearings on the confirmation of Judge Brett Kavanaugh to the United States Supreme Court.

Host Jorge Ramos’ idea of a balanced panel is to find people from all parties who agree on a particular issue that falls within the network’s (or his) agenda. Such was the case with this panel, which featured Congresswoman Loretta Sanchez for the Democrats, former Treasurer of the United States Rosario Marin for the Republicans, and Ana María Archila, the left-wing activist who confronted U.S. Senator Jeff Flake (R-AZ) in a Capitol elevator and is largely credited with swaying him to condition his vote to allow the nomination of Judge Kavanaugh out of committee, contingent to a limited FBI investigation of some of the allegations of sexual assault aired over the last few weeks. Archila’s appearance on Al Punto confirms those suspicions.

The New York Daily News describes Archila as “a member of the Working Families Party and executive director of the New York-based (and Soros-funded -Ed.) Center for Popular Democracy.”

Watch as Archila lays out her rationale for specifically targeting Flake, later concedes that opposition to Kavanaugh is mostly over political ideology, and listen as Jorge Ramos seems to encourage more of these performances. The below portions aired on Univision’s Al Punto on Sunday, September 30, 2018.

JORGE RAMOS, SENIOR ANCHOR, UNIVISION: Ana Maria Archila, the confrontation you had with Senator Flake did not change his vote, but- why do you do it? Why is it important to do it?

ANA MARIA ARCHILA: I do it because I’m really thinking about my daughter and my son. I do it because in reality, the stories that are coming out in solidarity with Dr. Ford are creating a new awareness. They’re forcing the country to confront the reality that, at this time, we are still allow men to violate women. And we are allowing someone who has been charged with to have the responsibility of oversee justice for this country. I truly had my hope placed in Senator Flake. I thought that he was someone who could truly vote his conscience and not just vote for his party.

…JORGE RAMOS: The last word, Ana Maria Archila.

ANA MARIA ARCHILA: President Trump nominated Brett Kavanaugh because Brett Kavanaugh is willing to destroy the right to an abortion, to destroy the healthcare system, and to violate workers’ rights. And now that he’s been charged with sexual abuse, President Trump has decided that his political agenda is more important than having someone with integrity on the Supreme Court and that’s why we women must go out and show the country that we are no longer willing to tolerate this treatment.

Here, Archila concedes that Flake was targeted because he could be bullied into submission, er…persuaded to “vote conscience over party”.

There is a lot to unpack from this interview. It is clear from the sequencing of the interviews that Archila was the headliner. Sanchez and Marin were there to bolster, to bring their own (similar) perspectives and points of view, and mostly to chew up enough clock so as to keep Jorge Ramos from having to ask the uncomfortable questions that might emerge in a full ten-minute interview with Archila, especially after admitting that Flake was specifically targeted for what is known throughout Latin America as an “escrache”.

“Escraches” are performative confrontations, most commonly directed these days at former Chavista officials that have left Venezuela and opened businesses abroad. The purpose there is often to shame. Here in the United States, escraches are often performed by radical left-of-center organizations and directed at conservatives for the purpose of shaming as well as intimidating. A recent example is Senator Ted Cruz (R-TX), who was recently hounded in the midst of dinner with his wife at a D.C. restaurant- also over the nomination of Kavanaugh to the Supreme Court. Here, Archila clearly admits that Flake was a deliberate target of an escrache for purposes of swerving his vote in the Senate Judiciary Committee.

The rest of the interview was the usual one-sided Al Punto fare. This isn’t to cast doubt or aspersions on the panelists’ accounts of their own experiences. (Marin’s testimony was especially moving in this regard, as she recounts that her abuser “went straight to hell” without ever facing charges).

But the segment wasn’t really about believing victims of sexual abuse. For example, after playing a portion of the back-and-forth between Kavanaugh and Senator Richard Durbin (D-IL) over FBI investigations, Ramos falsely concludes, “Brett Kavanaugh doesn’t want an FBI investigation.” Furthermore, there is no discussion about the FBI investigative process, and since the panel wasn’t balanced, there was no one on the panel to denounce the Democrats’ shameful actions throughout this process.

Today’s Al Punto served no other Purpose than to encourage other left-wing “escraches” against conservatives and to convict Brett Kavanaugh in a kangaroo court.

44. DPD
    WUH U TINK?

U TINK THAT THIS IS A CREDIBLE REPORT?

U TINK THAT WE SHOULD IMPUTE RIGHTEOUSNESS TO THIS WOMAN TOO?

MITCH MCCONNELL DEVASTATES ACCUSER JULIE SWETNICK
    Steven Ahle STEVEN AHLE OCTOBER 2, 2018
    Usually, politicians aren’t very blunt. They say misspoke when they really mean lie. But Julie Swetnick is the exception to the rule. Her entire life is moving from one scam to another. And to prove my point, look who she hired, Michael Avenatti. Just like Christine Ford, her corroborating witnesses aren’t corroborating. In fact, over 60 people were asked about her and not one person knew her.

She also sued the DC mass transit for a nose injury she claims cost her $420,000 in lost modeling jobs. Problem is there was no such modeling company she listed in her suit.

From The Gateway Pundit

Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell released a statement last night against Swetnick that was blatantly honest.

Julie Swetnick: ‘She’s Not Credible At All’

‘The [Defamation] Suit Also Alleges Swetnick “Engaged In Unwelcome, Sexually Offensive Conduct” While At Webtrends And “Made False And Retaliatory Allegations That Other Co-Workers Had Engaged In Inappropriate Conduct Toward Her”’

One Defamation Suit Filed Against Her Involving Sexual Harassment Allegations In Oregon

One Restraining Order Filed Against Her By Her Ex-Boyfriend In Florida

One Sexual Harassment Lawsuit, Where She Was Represented By Debra Katz’s Law Firm

Two Tax Liens Filed Against Her, Totaling Over $100,000

Three More Court Cases In Maryland That She Was A Party To

Swetnick Was Sued For Defamation By An Oregon Company And A Woman For ‘Unwelcome, Sexually Offensive Conduct’ And For ‘Ma[king] False And Retaliatory Allegations’

“Company officials later determined, the suit said, that Swetnick had provided false information on her employment application. The suit alleged that she had misrepresented the length of time she worked at a previous employer and falsely claimed that she’d earned an undergraduate degree in biology and chemistry from Johns Hopkins University.” (“3rd Kavanaugh Accuser Has History Of Legal Disputes,” The Associated Press, 9/30/2018)

“In the suit, Webtrends alleged Swetnick claimed to have graduated from Johns Hopkins University but the company said it subsequently learned the school had no record of her attendance. Webtrends said she also ‘falsely described her work experience’ at a prior employer.” (“Julie Swetnick, A Brett Kavanaugh Accuser, Faced Misconduct Allegations At Portland Company,” The Oregonian, 9/29/2018)

“Julie Swetnick … had a restraining order filed against her years later in Miami by her former boyfriend. A Miami-Dade County court docket shows a petition for injunction against Swetnick was filed March 1, 2001, by her former boyfriend, Richard Vinneccy, who told POLITICO Wednesday the two had dated for four years before they broke up.” (“Ex-boyfriend Filed Restraining Order Against Third Kavanaugh Accuser,” Politico, 9/26/2018)

“According to Vinneccy, Swetnick threatened him after they broke up and even after he got married to his current wife and had a child. ‘Right after I broke up with her, she was threatening my family, threatening my wife and threatening to do harm to my baby at that time,’ Vinneccy said in a telephone interview with POLITICO. ‘I know a lot about her.’ ‘She’s not credible at all,’ he said. ‘Not at all.’” (“Ex-boyfriend Filed Restraining Order Against Third Kavanaugh Accuser,” Politico, 9/26/2018)

There is much more to her history, but you get the idea… Her story is so bad that the Democrats have refused to insist she be included in the FBI investigation.

MAN THIS KAVANAUGH “TRIAL” IS EVEN MORE FUN THAN MEKING MOCK SPORT IN DE RUMSHOP ah lie?

45. The thing with Ballsy Ford is she is telling a story … no passion, no anger, no emotion, no revulsion, … just not human.

This is supposed to be a hearing on Kavanaugh, his merits and demerits, not this circus.

… and the reason is simple.

The senators are politicians, the scum of the earth.

It is in their interest to agree the man is qualified for the job as quickly as possible.

These guys who are questioning Kavanaugh come from a long tradition of practicing violence against women.

Here are a couple of examples.

Senator Kennedy even killed one!!

Senator Hilary Clinton ran interference for her husband, slick Willy, who routinely raped them.

Really and truly senators need to clean up their act!!!

46. QUESTION FOR DPD AND THOSE OF HIS ILK

CAN A PUSSY GRABBING MAN DO ANYTHING RIGHT?

CAN A PUSSY GRABBING MAN KEEP HIS PROMISES?

CAN A PUSSY GRABBING MAN BRING REAL HOPE AND CHANGE?

WHICH IS BETTER A CLASSY TOKEN BLACK WHO CAN ONLY TALK, OR A REAL BUISNESS MAN THAT KNOWS HOW TOGET THINGS DONE?

Praise
    The new United States–Mexico–Canada Agreement includes key victories for American manufacturers, agriculture, businesses, and workers.

BUSINESS INSIDER: Trump’s New Trade Deal with Canada and Mexico is Winning Early Praise

“Early reviews of President Donald Trump’s new trade pact with Mexico and Canada are positive … The refreshed version of NAFTA will include increased labor protections for workers, increased standards for duty-free auto shipments, increased access to the Canadian dairy market for US farmers, and a slight tweak to the deal’s dispute-resolution system.”

US Stocks Surge as US, Canada, Mexico Reach Trade Deal

“Stocks surged Monday as Canada and the U.S. reached a trade deal that also includes Mexico, and key changes at the top of major corporations boosted investor sentiment.”

THE WASHINGTON TIMES: Trump Trade Deal with Canada, Mexico Gets American Farmers’ Stamp of Approval

“The Trump administration’s new three-way trade deal to replace NAFTA got a thumbs-up from American farmers. Americans for Farmers & Families spokesman Casey Guernsey, a seventh-generation farmer, said the three-way deal showed Mr. Trump remembered his promise ‘to stand up for rural America. … After years of declining income and months of trade uncertainty, farmers desperately needed a win, and today the Trump administration delivered it,’ he said. ‘While eager to learn the details, I hope that Congress will use this positive momentum to bring this important agreement over the finish line.’”

WASHINGTON EXAMINER: Canada Gave Ground on the Key Issue of Dairy in New Trade Agreement

“Canada gave ground to the U.S. in the North American Free Trade Agreement replacement deal agreed to Sunday by rolling back protections for its domestic dairy industry, providing a victory to American farmers on one of the key points of negotiation.”

THE WALL STREET JOURNAL: New NAFTA Shows Trump’s Trade Strategy for Balancing Labor, Business Interests

“The Teamsters have nice things to say about the new North American Free Trade Agreement. Big banks can also claim a victory. … Many labor officials say they’ve been pleasantly surprised with strong language in the agreement pushing Mexico to bolster its unions, including protecting ‘the right to strike.’ American unions have argued that the lack of such provisions in the original NAFTA meant the pact encouraged factories to relocate south of the border in search of cheaper workers.”

NEW YORK POST EDITORIAL BOARD: NAFTA 2.0: Trump Delivers on Another Big Promise

“[I]t’s hard to argue with the result: Trump has once again delivered on a campaign promise that his rivals called a fantasy. A politician who does what he says he’ll do: Imagine that.”

THE VIRGINIAN-PILOT EDITORIAL BOARD: Trade Pact Rings up Trump Victory

“Apparently those hard-line tactics worked, and the president appears well within his right to chalk this up as a victory. Though details were still being finalized for release, it appears that American farmers will secure greater access to Canadian dairy markets…”

TOM ROGAN IN WASHINGTON EXAMINER: From NAFTA to USMCA, Trump Just Got a Win for America

“Whether you’re a Democrat, Republican, or an independent, you should welcome President Trump’s announcement of the new United States-Mexico-Canada Agreement, or USMCA, on Monday. A replacement for NAFTA, the USMCA will increase U.S. access to Canadian markets and ensure greater centering of the car industry in North America.”

STEVE CORTES IN REAL CLEAR POLITICS: Make North America Great Again

“The USMCA framework showcases the practical genius of our negotiator and entrepreneur-in-chief, President Trump. Unlike the lawyers and bureaucrats who dominate most high political offices, as a global businessman Trump implicitly understands the predicament that American workers and firms face competing against a commercially abusive China.”

CHRISTIAN WHITON ON FOX NEWS: Trump Has Just Revolutionized Global Trade by Replacing NAFTA with USMCA

“Trump administration negotiators reached a major agreement with Canada on trade over the weekend. The breakthrough, which came on the heels of an earlier deal with Mexico, vindicates President Trump’s tough approach to reforming trade and will mark a fundamental turning point for American jobs and global power.”

LIZ PEEK IN THE HILL: Trump’s ‘America First’ Policy Scores a Big Win with New NAFTA Deal

“The new NAFTA, which will be called the U.S.-Mexico-Canada Agreement (USMCA), secured some advantages for the U.S. while also giving in to certain Canadian priorities. … More broadly, the new NAFTA shows the world that the Trump White House may succeed in bringing home better trade pacts.”

47. JOHN
    DO YOU THINK THAT A “BRIGHT CLASSY” BLACK MAN WOULD DO SOMETHING LIKE WHAT IS REPORTED HERE?

REPORT SHOWS WHY OBAMA SPENT $36.2 MIL TO HIDE CERTAIN RECORDS IN HIS FINAL MONTHS?
    DAPHNE MOON 2 DAYS AGO

There are things that just are not cool. One of those according to former President Barrack Obama is ignorance.

In 2016, then-President Obama said during a Rutgers University commencement address: “It’s not cool to not know what you’re talking about,” in what could be clearly viewed as a swipe at Donald Trump, who at the time was the likely Republican nominee for president.

It seems to be quite a mouthful for a man who during his 2008 campaign promised to be part of the most transparent administration ever.

The entirety of the Obama presidency was one shrouded in secrecy and innuendo and division. If you were not on Obama’s side and 100% in compliance with his agenda? You were the enemy and you would be eliminated, sometimes through very public and scandalous means.

Far from transparency, the Obama administration is most likely to go down in history as the LEAST transparent and the MOST corrupt in history.

As Written By CBS News:

The Obama administration in its final year in office spent a record $36.2 million on legal costs defending its refusal to turn over federal records under the Freedom of Information Act, according to an Associated Press analysis of new U.S. data that also showed poor performance in other categories measuring transparency in government.

And it set records for outright denial of access to files, refusing to quickly consider requests described as especially newsworthy, and forcing people to pay for records who had asked the government to waive search and copy fees.

In courtrooms, the number of lawsuits filed by news organizations under the Freedom of Information Act surged during the past four years, led by the New York Times, Center for Public Integrity and The Associated Press, according to a litigation study by the Transactional Records Access Clearinghouse at Syracuse University. The AP on Monday settled its 2015 lawsuit against the State Department for files about Hillary Clinton’s time as secretary of state, at AP’s request, and received $150,546 from the department to cover part of its legal fees.

WOW WHAT A SLIMY PIECE OF SCUM SHITBAMA IS !

48. JOHN

DOES THIS MAKE SENSE TO YOU SIR

I WOULD ADD WHY WOULD A “PROFESSOR” BE TERRIFIED TO SPEAK IN PUBLIC TO ANY GATHERING

HOW COME BIG BRAIN DPD GONE QUIET
    HE NECK BREK HE GOT CERVICAL PROBLEMS

HAS HE ALSO LOST THE HIPPOS FROM HIS CAMPUS? I CAN DO AN EMERGENCY POST MORTEM TO FIND OUT YA KNOW

The Biggest, Most Conspicuous Hole in Christine Ford’s Story Published 6 hours ago on October 2, 2018 By Isa Cox

If you ask the Democrats and the mainstream media (but I repeat myself), Dr. Christine Blasey Ford’s story is so emotional and troubling, it simply must be true.

And if you question it you’re clearly a sexist misogynist who hates women and perpetuates rape culture.

There is no in between.

Whom do you consider to be the most corrupt Democrat Politician?
    The in between, of course, in a sensible world, would be to carefully assess Ford’s testimony as to whether or not it is credible in a court of law.

Of course, the prosecutor Republicans hired to question Ford says it’s not, and prosecuting men credibly accused of sexually assaulting women is her specialty.

In the lengthy memo written by this prosecutor, Rachel Mitchell, she detailed exactly why Ford’s testimony was lacking in any substantial evidence against Brett Kavanaugh.

She discussed extensively how unreliable Ford’s memory was, not only of the incident allegedly involving Kavanaugh, but even of key details such as whether or not she gave her therapist’s notes to the Washington Post.

Matt Walsh over at the Daily Wire explains that of all the key details Ford simply cannot remember, such as where the alleged assault took place, when, and exactly who was there, one conspicious hole stands out: how she got home. Ford claims she does not remember.

Walsh isn’t buying it:

As Mitchell points out in her memo, Ford claims to not remember how she got home from the party after the alleged assault occurred. This detail is crucial because the house, she says, was near a country club and the country club was about a 20-minute drive from her home. That means someone must have picked her up and drove her home right after the incident. The testimony of such a person would be indispensable because they could describe Ford’s physical and emotional state at the time.

According to her allegation, she was a 15-year-old girl who had just been violently assaulted and, in her mind, almost killed. She fled the house fearing for her life. Then she got into someone’s car. That person would surely have noticed that Ford was in distress. The main reason why Juanita Broaddrick’s allegation against Bill Clinton is so believable and credible is that Broaddrick was found by her friends minutes after Clinton allegedly raped her. Those friends corroborated the account, confirming that they did indeed find Broaddrick “crying and in a state of shock” on the night in question.

Is it at all believable that a 15-year-old girl could pull herself together and present herself as totally fine mere moments after running out of a house to escape two drunken rapists? No, it’s not. We must logically conclude that someone witnessed Ford in a similar state of shock, or that nobody did because the incident never occurred.

While this doesn’t necessarily mean that Ford is lying, it is certainly suspicious beyond the point of reasonable doubt. As Walsh goes on to explain, it’s incredibly that Ford would remember key details like how the house was furnished and how many beers she consumed, as well as hiding in the bathroom and hearing the boys talking and laughing, but doesn’t remember calling someone for help.

And while she may have this memory lapse, if she was driven home, there is someone else who would remember picking her up and taking her home, as she would have surely been distressed. Have they also conveniently forgotten as well?

There are far too many holes in Ford’s story to add up. This can’t be stated enough.

49. DPD

YOU DEAD?
    CAN YOU BEAT THE ARGUMENT BELOW WITH YOUR USUAL BULLSHIT ARGUMENTS?

Ford Claimed She Has Two Front Doors Because Kavanaugh Assaulted Her, Records Show That’s False

NATIONAL STEVEN ERTELT OCT 2, 2018 | 6:48PM WASHINGTON, DC

During her testimony before the Senate Judiciary Committee, Christine Ford claimed she had two doors installed in her home because she feared she may be a victim of assault again after Judge Brett Kavanaugh supposedly sexually assaulted her as a teenager.

“The reason (the assault) came up in counseling is that my husband and I had completed a very extensive, very long remodel of our home and I insisted on a second front door, an idea that he and others disagreed with and could not understand,” Ford testified, admitting that the house now “does not look aesthetically pleasing from the curb.”

Ford later told pro-abortion Sen. Dianne Feinstein during her questioning that she wanted the second front door because of her anxiety, PTSD and claustrophobia resulting from the 1982 assault.

“Is that the reason for the second door — front door — is claustrophobia?” asked Sen. Dianne Feinstein, the top Democrat on the Judiciary Committee.

“Correct,” Ford replied.

Now it turns out the claim is false.

Ford never specified when the renovation took place, leaving a possible impression that it and the therapy session happened around the same time.

But documents reveal the door was installed years before as part of an addition, and has been used by renters and even a marriage counseling business.

“The door was not an escape route but an entrance route,” said an attorney familiar with the ongoing congressional investigation. “It appears the real plan for the second front door was to rent out a separate room.”

Palo Alto city records show that a building permit for an additional room and exterior door was issued to Ford and her husband on Feb. 4, 2008 — more than four years before the May 2012 therapy session where, she says, she first identified Kavanaugh as her attacker.

All the remodeling, including a new bathroom, was completed by February 2010. The only additional permits issued to Ford at her Palo Alto address are for “solar panels” on the roof, a “solar hot water system” in the garage, and an “electric vehicle charge station” for the driveway — all of which were issued after 2012.

Since the second front door was installed, moreover, students from local colleges have lived in the additional room with the private door. In fact, under congressional questioning Thursday, Ford testified she has “hosted” various other residents there, including “Google interns.”

The attorney said the tenants call into question Ford’s claims about why she installed the additional exterior door in her home.

“Renters and a business operating out of Dr. Ford’s home would explain the added door,” he said. “Clearly, there were business purposes [for it], not just ones related to her anxieties.”

The respected political web site Real Clear Politics also looked into Ford’s claims and found they do not hold up. It looks like the second door as an attempt to escape a local zoning ordinance to allow the home to be used by tenants with a second entrance as opposed to an attempt to escape sexual assault:

Now that she mentions it, the additional remodeling in effect added a self-contained unit to the house, with its own entrance, perfect for “hosting” or even possibly renting, in violation of the local zoning. Perhaps a professional office might be a perfect use, if an illegal one. And in the tight Palo Alto real estate market, there are a lot of games played for some serious income.

And that may answer another strange anomaly. Because since 1993, and through some listings even today, there was another tenant at what is now the Ford property. It is listed as this person’s residence from 1993 to July 2007, a week or so after she sold the house to the Fords.

Her name is Dr. Sylvia Randall, and she listed this address for her California licensed practice of psychotherapy, including couples psychotherapy, until her move to Oregon in 2007.

Currently she only practices in that state, where she also pursues her new career as a talented artist as well.

But many existing directories still have Dr. Randall’s address listed at what is now the Ford residence.

Which raises other questions. Why has Christine Ford never said a word about Dr. Randall? And why has she been evasive about the transcripts of her crucial 2012 therapy session, which she can’t seem to recall much about either? Did she provide them to the Washington Post, or did she just provide the therapist’s summary? Who was the psychologist?

In a phone call, I asked Dr. Randall if she had sold her house to the Fords. She asked back how I had found out. I asked if she was the couples therapist who treated the Fords. She would not answer yes or no, replying, “I am a couples therapist.”

So was the second door an escape for Christine Blasey Ford’s terrors or was documenting her terrors a ruse for sneaking a rental unit through tough local zoning ordinances? And if the second door allowed access and egress for the tenant of a second housing unit, rather than for the primary resident, how did the door’s existence ameliorate Ford’s professed claustrophobia?

This is one of many inconsistencies sex crimes prosecutor Rachel Mitchell noted when she said Ford’s testimony was totally inconsistent.