Prime Minister Mia Mottley responds in quick time to Professor Michael Howard’s Sunday Sun article – David, blogmaster
Barbados Economic Recovery Team’s responses to the questions posed by Professor Michael Howard on page 26A in the Nation’s Sunday Sun for Sunday, September 9, 2018:

Ques: What are the projected dollar cuts for current expenditure over the loan period?

Ans: The loan period is for 4 years, with the last disbursement in May 2022. Projected expenditure cuts over this period amount to $571 million.

Ques: Has fiscal revenue been overestimated, given the fact that the economy is in recession, and large job cuts will occur which will further reduce tax revenue yield?

Ans: The fiscal revenues have not been overestimated. They take into account the economic business cycle and all factors impacting it, including any possible job losses.

Ques: How many workers in the public service and the SOEs are estimated to be sent home?

Ans: The program does not take the draconian and outdated approach by targeting some number for sending home workers. The objective of reform to the SOEs and to Central Government is to make the public sector fit for the challenges of the twenty first century through modernising and improving the efficiency, quality and cost effectiveness of the public sector. This will mean adjustment and rationalisation of SOEs and some Government Departments. It will also mean retooling and empowering, retraining and enfranchising some of the public sector workers to improve effectiveness. There will be job losses in some areas but there will also be employment gains in other areas where deficiencies have long set in. The net effect is likely to be a reduction in public sector employment but the number is also likely to be far smaller than the numbers bandied around and all will be offered some alternative, be it in the modernizing and digitizing program, an extensive training program, early retirement or a job in the private sector.

Ques: Is there any estimated money value of severance payments in relation to job retrenchments?

Ans: This is still being worked out at the level of the Social Partnership.

Ques: Are there any preliminary estimates to show how many SOEs will be merged, shut down or privatised, or the savings to be derived from these actions? Will user fees be charged for certain services, and if so, which ones?

Ans: The SOEs reform process began with what can be considered the most comprehensive consultation in our modern history from the Social Partnership to the leadership to the wider public, to identify potential for efficiency gains, cost recoveries, and enfranchisement through divestment of entities and/or activities. Indeed, almost 5000 persons participated in answering 93 questions in an on-line survey. There is consensus from the consultation process that 29 entities must be transformed with a savings of about $115m by end of 2019/20. It is hoped that around one third of these reductions will be felt by the end of 2018/19 with the balance in the following fiscal year. Additionally, all Government entities will benefit from stronger timelier financial accounting and oversight.

On the issue of user fees, there are currently four entities which provide an essential public service that the private beneficiaries have a capacity to pay for and where they do so in many other countries. These entities are the Vital Statistics of the Supreme Court Registry, the Land Registry, the Corporate Affairs and Intellectual Property Office, and the Financial Services Commission. The process of moving to full cost recovery of these activities through user fees will also involve an initial and ongoing independent review of the potential for greater efficiencies, for example, through the use of new technologies and approaches, to keep these fees to international norms or lower. The Transport Board and Sanitation Services are also entities where increasing user fees are being considered as part of cost-recovery process but these two entities also present opportunities to empower and enfranchise Barbadians, e.g. helping drivers and their teams own their buses and sanitation trucks, bid for work from the Government and commit to minimum standards of public service. As such, any increase in user fees for these two entities be a small part of a larger restructuring effort within these entities.

Ques: Is there an estimated target for the new bus fare?

Ans: No, as any increase will be part of a comprehensive transformation process involving improving efficiencies and reducing cost.

Ques: What are the “conditionalities” or requirements for the IMF loan?

Ans: The conditionalities of the IMF loan are the targets set by Barbados itself under the Barbados Economic Recovery and Transformation program (BERT). These are: i) achieving a 6 percent primary balance by fiscal year 2019/20 and maintaining it for the next four year; ii) no further accumulation of arrears; iii) reducing transfers to SOEs by no less than the amount identified under the BERT program; iv) any increase in public debt must be consistent with keeping the debt-to-GDP ratio on the downward trajectory to reach 60 percent by 2033; and v) maintain social spending at a level consistent with protecting the most vulnerable in society.

Ques: What will be the nature and perceived impact of debt restructuring?

Ans: The public debt was deemed unsustainable by every possible measure and every international institution (as reflected in the numerous downgrades to the very bottom of the rank of rated countries), including the IMF. Not only the stock of debt but the servicing of the debt was also choking the life out of the economy. Indeed, the gross financing needs of Government reached 41 percent of GDP in 2017 as highlighted in the IMF 2017 Article IV Report on Barbados. As such, the Government announced a comprehensive debt restructuring, including external debt to commercial creditors and treasury bills, on June 1, 2018. Significant progress has been made in discussions with both domestic and external creditors and an exchange offer for Barbados dollar-denominated debt was issued on September 7, and the plan is to table an exchange offer external (US dollar-denominated) debt to commercial creditors shortly. Government debt held by the Central Bank of Barbados and by the NIS will also be restructured. The successful restructuring of the debt will put the debt on a sustainable path to reach 60 percent by 2033 and free up much needed fiscal space for keep infrastructural and development spending.

Ques: Was an increase in public sector salaries and pensions, as well as removal of UWI fees an appropriate economic policy, given that the stated goal of annual IMF briefings, as well as the present programme, is to reduce current expenditure?

Ans: This was absolutely an appropriate policy and one which received zero push back from the IMF. The design of economic policy must not only consider the current circumstances but also what has gone before. In doing so, it is clear that the appropriate policy is an increase in salaries and pension, given that the public workers in Barbados have not had a salary increase in over a decade and because of inflation the cost of living has increased considerably. This (the increase in salaries) then becomes the baseline on which the forwarding looking polices can be designed. Similarly, the imposition of UWI fees had created hardship for many Barbadian students, even more so in an environment of a prolonged economic recession. The removal of fees had to be dealt with immediately and be incorporated in the baseline. The same can be said of the additional expenditures to address the sewage and sanitation problem, which required immediate attention.

Ques: Is the flat tax (a modified poll tax) printed on the water bill an unfair or inequitable levy, which will impact proportionately heavier on the poor than on higher income groups??

Ans: We have protected the poorest and most vulnerable with higher pensions and welfare payments. The adjustment is skewed to the most fortunate in our society by raising the top tax rate and corporate tax rates, but we also believe that we are all in this together and everyone should make a contribution even if it is as small as $1.50 per household per day or 30 cents for everyone in the average-sized household.

Ques: Is the IMF loan of US$290 million too small for an extended Fund programme, given our very low level of reserves, and our extremely high level of debt?

Ans: No it is not too small for an Extended Fund Facility (EFF) as it represents 220 percent of quota and any amount above 100 percent of quota is considered ‘high access’. Yes, Barbados could have benefited from even higher access to build reserves buffers, given our vulnerability to external shocks and natural disasters. However, we must also be mindful that the greatest benefit of the endorsement by the IMF of our economic recovery and transformation program is the catalytic role such an endorsement plays. Our development partners, the Inter-American Development Bank and the Caribbean Development Bank have both pledged significant amounts of financing, approaching BDS$300m for Barbados once our program is approved by the IMF Executive Board, which is likely to be in a few weeks. Together we are likely to receive BDS$1bn of support to our reserve from our multilateral partners as a result of the IMF supporting BERT .

Ques: Is a previous detailed report by the IMF on the SOEs available, which would offer some guidance in our monetary and financial situation, rather than having to depend on a qualitative consumer survey?

Ans: While a report by the IMF on the SOEs is available and can be sourced from the Ministry of Economic Affairs, we opted to rely on the comprehensive survey of the Barbadian public which reflects the wishes and views of Barbadians. Not only is this consistent with the principle of us – Barbadians – developing the Barbados Economic and Transformation program, but all the research show that where the public has a say in the design of economic policy, the implementation of said policy is more likely to be successful.

Ques: Are loans from financial institutions like the Inter-American Development Bank, where we can tap funds, also not subject to conditionalities?

Ans: No and this is because many institutions and institutional investors rely on the IMF endorsement, which is taken to imply that the country’s program is based on a coherent and consistent set of policies that are highly likely to be successfully implemented and with the desired outcome. This is the catalytic role of IMF support we referred to above.

149 responses to “Barbados Government Responds to Professor Michael Howard”

1. Crook Lawyers and Ministers got us here! Can these same Crooks get us out while they cover up Massive Land Fraud and PONZI money and Land Laundering even now in September 10th 2018? BFP/CUP

2. @ David BU

The indicative and the catalytic values of the home grown recovery and transformation programme is its main contribution to the tasks at hand.

No definitive answers can be given . It is a map not the territory. One can never remove uncertainty from the equation. It is a step in the right direction . And this view is not based on inside information. The internal consistency most likely will be reviewed by the Executive Board of IMF.

3. More smoke and mirror answers that does not in any way address the external mitigating factors that can further depress small economies
    The fact being that these policies are being compressed and rolled out on an outdated economic cycle of one glove fits all
    During the boom years of the early eighties not even the IMF was prepared for a global economic meltdown
    In this modern era of technology all it would take for these small islands to be fiscally decimated is a health crisis beyond imagination
    Where in the world under the stress of economic freefall would these small islands find the financial wherewithal to survive
    What this govt is proposing while piggyback riding on the backs of the poor is a strategy to pay down debt but no strategy that is sustainable and effective enough to provide a safety net per chance the inevitable occurs

4. She aint give no definite answers. Ill wait to October for what the Phase II plans are as things are still in discussion with stakeholders.

5. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Ms. Mottley has given us important information by stating that “… conditionalities of the IMF loan are the targets set by Barbados itself under .”

The BERT document treats them as targets, but if they are in fact conditionalities this is an important distinction. For example if the Barbados economy achieves a 5.9% primary balance in fiscal 2019/20 we could round that up to 6% and pretend that we are basically OK if it’s a target, but if it’s a conditionality we can’t round up and we have breached the condition so the IMF does not have to give us the next tranche of the promised loan.

6. Mottley did not give answers to the questions Professor Howard asked
    She simply skirted around the issues as if to say wait and see
    It is obvious this govt is unprepared and relatively speaking relying mostly on the dictates of the IMF policies to pull barbados out of the juggernaut of financial collapse.

7. @ PLT at 8 :53 PM

The process is not that stringent. If targets are not reached due to unforeseen events or miscalculations, they may not be viewed as breaking a conditionality. Most things are negotiable.
    Social science is not an exact science. I do not think there is such a thing as an exact science.

8. Negotiate what ! on how many more civil servants to be fired
    Or how many social services need to be cut to meet schedule IMF payments
    The IMF has a strategy
    This govt has none or nothing upon which they can negotiate which would not bring further pain to barbadians household.

9. I gotta say PM Mottley like the energizer bunny!!
    She all over the place ..
    That last crowd (govt) was sleeping (cost overrun) all that time?

10. @ac
    Mariposa has clearly outdone ‘ac’ and ‘angela skeete’….
    “The fact being that these policies are being compressed and rolled out on an outdated economic cycle of one glove fits all”…one glove fits all is an economic cycle? or did you mean a bicycle?
    “In this modern era of technology all it would take for these small islands to be fiscally decimated is a health crisis beyond imagination”….and a health crisis hasn’t wiped out significant populations in EVERY era? WTF does modern technology have to do with fiscal decimation by a health crisis?
    You find a copy of that letter yet?

11. In less than 4,months Mia showing up the DLP clowns as the nincompoops they have been for the past 10 years led by superlative JA’s of the highest order.
    Confidence has returned to country Barbados.IMF backing Mia and the BLP government.CDB backing Mia and the BLP government.Hilton brand backing MIa and the BLP government.Paul Doyle backing Mia and the BLP government.IADB backing Mia and the BLP government.Mia confirm in excess of ONE BILLION DOLLARS will be injected into the Barbados economy in the near future.
    Thank god the bajan electorate kick the corrupt,theifing,witless,clueless,dumbass DLP party to smithereens.#30luvinwunnatail

12. Yeap Mia got to be all over the place
    Got to keep serving the koolaid to keep the masses enegrize and stay focus on the smoke and mirror plans she has in store for them
    Wuh gosh darn it
    Who would have taught that in 2018 barbadians would have stepped up a notch from corn
    beef and biscuits to koolaid
    drinkers
    Well i ll be dam

13. Ghee whizz Gabriel it is not like tge world suddenly collapsed because of a 30-0 whopping the dlp receive
    But this i know that the barbados economy finally collapse because of Mia unilateral decision to default on its debt
    Now for a measly 290million barbadians would be severly punished and told to drink more bitter medicine after Mia for ten years promised better

14. I wish Harold Hoyte was in a better state of health to chronicle this historic defeat that will be the legacy of Freundel Staurt for eons to come.Wunna cuss Mia,call her all kinds of names,accuse the woman of every crime imaginable and what the man in the street and those in the heights,gardens and terraces do.Vote wunna azz to kingdom come.And to add insult to injury,one ex Minister walking bout in Uncle Sam country wearing an ankle bracelet that recording even his trip to the loo and two former bigmouth ministers eating crow working as employees of two foreign masters.How the mighty JA’s have fallen.Effing humptydumpties.

15. Mia has been cultivating a relationship with Mitchell of Grenada et al. No doubt she will lean on her Caricom counterparts to navigate this IMF journey.

16. @Kevin

Hard ears yuh won’t hear?

17. David how low can u go. Barbados looking to depend on support from neighbours that barbadians once thought were not to their intellectual level
    This economy is Mia to own in so much that she is deserving after ten years of serving the masses a potpourri of having answers to fix and repair all that is broken
    In my humble opinion this economy could not have been better handed but to Mia
    Lol

18. What we have to agree is that under Stuart a response would not have been contemplated. We have to listen to DLP supporters sticking with the Sinckler plan that selling state assets would have been a better option compared to drawing down on low cost financing. And the triggering of additional financing from other institutions. According to Bushie, our ass is grass.

19. Good questions, Dr Howard.

20. When one opposes for opposing sake, such semi-illiterate gems are provided as an argument:

Modern technology = health crisis? 🤣🤣🤣

21. @PLT

Have you ever heard being hanged by your own petard? You exaggerate your application to the IMF in order to secure a loan, then they hold you to it and you cannot deliver. Voila!

22. Enuff .go back to yuh hiding hole
    Yuh a.rse too dumb to understand how much good as well as evil lies in the hands of those who control technology
    Btw tell you buddy GP that there is technological warfare being waged against him all over social media because his despicable and deceitful actions which attributes him to illegal activities
    Yuh get it

23. Mariposa,

“how many more civil servants to be fired”, “how many social services need to be cut to meet schedule IMF payments”

A tiny island in the ocean which solely relies on tourism cannot afford all these entitelements and many lazy laggards in the civil service.

If PM MAM had to cut down the civil service more, she would just punish those who are too arrogant for work.

It is time for you to apply the vaseline for the incoming Hindu-Overlords from Guyana. Wake up and smell the coffee.

24. They have all the right answers but the problem is the questions are all wrong.
    Questions that should be asked:

These measures address our current debt situation, which was the result of debt growing at a faster rate than GDP. What plans are there to stimulate the economy? We were heading over Niagara and BERT only gives us two oars, when we need an engine.
    The new slogan seems to be “fit for purpose”. Are there any plans to apply this to the Ministry of Education, which in its current form is unfit for the 21st century and should really be called the Ministry of Academia?

25. @ Vincent
    Social science is not an exact science. I do not think there is such a thing as an exact science.
    “Social science” is NOT really science.
    All true science is EXACT.
    ..this is essentially the definition of true science….

Inexact science is just a fiction of modern society’s imagination
    …somewhat like ‘economics’ (whatever the Hell THAT is…)

26. The root issue is behavioural. We wrap all our solutions in what is political.

27. Can some one explain in what way does borrowing to pay down debt solve debt problem
    Can any one explain to me the value in holding on to an assest that its debt liabilty must be paid at taxpayers expense and is unsustainable
    Does all and sundry understand that the Hilton has a debt profolio of over 127million outstanding which the Hilton cannot pay and for the Hilton to continue to remain open the debt would be passed on to the taxpayers
    This kind of economic borne on mentality that states it is better to keep a libality than to get rid of it surpasses my understanding

28. Mariposa,

You may not be an economist, but you are spot on. Borrowing to pay debt obligations is like using a credit card to pay your mortgage. As to the Crane development, we must be mad when a Irishman can come to Barbados, with the only money in his pocket being what he got for the sale of his home, and make a fortune. It shows the entrepreneurial failure of the Barbadian middle class and the willingness of the banks to lend to white people, even to the Irish.
    We have a government that is playing smoke and mirrors with the future of Barbados. But there are important questions about the Crane deal: the asymmetry of information, an issue for the US regulator; does this mean that the Crane will now have an advantage in town and country planning (the prime minister is the responsible minister), there is the question of consumer law (will the timeshare contract be written under Barbados or US law? There are lots of similar questions.

29. One of the key components of management is the ability to reach out to an informed support adviser with experience and clout to provide practical solutions to problems factual and perceived.Grantley Adams,Errol Barrow in particular,Tom Adams,Owen Arthur and Mia Mottley all reached out to former friends and colleagues as sources of consultation in fashioning the way forward for Barbados.
    If Owen Arthur failed at anything,it was giving in to DLP innuendo and BWU misguided reading of the true state of affairs of the percentage of local worker participation in the 4 Seasons Project at Black Rock that saw a planned temporary halt to the project that has cost and continues to cost this country billions of dollars in lost investment and loss of added value to Barbados economic advancement.

30. Mariposa, what understanding you have, when the Hilton is sold and part of Hilton debt remain to be paid off

31. Hal Austin
    What has been your contribution to the social and economic advancement of your Barbadian compatriots in all the years you have been breathing the fresh air that sustains your addled brain.

32. Actually Bush Tea, Vincent is correct no science is exact.

Science is about observation and measurement and then analysing
    Observation and measurement are subject to uncertainty and due to this nothing is exact.

What separates a scientist from an economist or social scientist is the importance placed on quantifying that uncertainty and seeking ways to reduce it and thereby improve confidence in analysis

Because they refuse to address uncertainty in their methods and analyses
    Political scientists are just historians
    Economists are no better than astrologers
    And social scientists are speculators

33. Mariposa,

“Can some one explain in what way does borrowing to pay down debt solve debt problem”

The exercise is to swap the interest and other modalities from currently 10 % on the CS-loan down to 1%. The DLP-admin paid the interest on the CS-loan using smaller, new loans in USD-currency and (secretly) assets of Canadian banks at Barbados Central Bank.

34. Hal Austin
    @ 8:06 a.m.

Go to the top of the class.

“Borrowing to pay your debt is like a person using a credit card to pay their mortgage”.

Mariposa kept saying and she is right about the small sum of 290 million dollars to deal with this serious problem.

This govt kept saying the program home grown,the IMF didn’t give any conditionalities – they accepted all that we say we will do – huh,that sound truthful to you?

What fees will Barbados have to pay the IMF while they oversee this programme.No one has been told?

What about that Company that was hired to deal with the IMF negotiations – Is that necessary now?

Are we still paying them?

What have they done so far for the money?

Have you noticed that Mia has no plan for economic growth? She is a like a person who can’t swim floundering in deep waters.Trust me – we are in deep doo doo with that PR Stuntswoman at the helm.She is lost,lost lost – far out to sea.

What are the plans to diversify the economy?

What are the plans to reduce our high usage of foreign exchange by for example reducing the food bill

These press conferences and appearances by that govt spokesman, Kevin Greenidge is laughable.

What are we getting for paying high salaries to Mascoll and Persaud?What have they contributed so far?

Is it true that Billie Miller has onset dementia and is extremely forgetful?Why is she there in the Cabinet?

Lord help us.

For those who felt putting up the govt’s answers to Prof.Michael Howard questions was a slam dunk thing,- well they only exposed themselves to greater ridicule with those answers.Steupes.

35. Where was Professor Howard during the ten years plus of DLP mismanagement? Did Professor Howard speak about the seven year LOCAL RECESSION under the DEMS? Do I detect a BIAS?

36. The company was not hired to deal with the IMF. It was to deal with the creditors for debt restructuring .

37. You had to stop the economy from it continued 10yrs of economic decline before you can put it on a path of growth

38. IMF conditionalities so far:

1.Universary education for my kids – DLP took it away

5% pay increase- Mia give with one hand and took with another – Chris gave nothing and took with both hands.

To do just these two things and still get an IMF and others support then MIA not only using smoke and mirrors on the bajan public but also on the international economists.

A magician or genius?

One thing for sure the former decimal/fraction was neither and did not have the support of any one including most of their supporters.

39. There were 2 companies hired:White Oaks and another Company.

one company was to help with the IMF negotiations and one to deal with the creditors.

What is the position with the Company to deal with the IMF negotiations.

Professor Michael Howard please continue to present unbias commentary on what is happening with the Economy.

The Bees loved you when you were criticizing the last govt for not taking an IMF loan – but their mouth turn now that you are clearly showing how much this current P.M. is out of her depth.

We are now told that she will lean on the Grenada’s P.M. keith Mitchell lol.

Its really ‘back to school season’.

Chris was only a Garrison High school boy – but poor fella he worked hard on his own – he didn’t have to bring in 5 ministers of Finance ,2 consultants and an Ambassador-at-large;

The said projects that he was trying hard to bring on stream – as only a Garrison boy – now the Queens College girl – can’t rush and embrace them fast enough – for e.g Sandals hotel and the expansion projects,Hyatt Hotel,and soon to be the sale of the Oli Company – you watch and see.

Under Chris the Garrison High School boy – the Solid Waste tax for 15 months was too much – now you have a Garbage & Sewage tax on your water bill that will go on and on and on – but no problem it is a Queens College alumnus that did that

You know what you have but you don’t know what you will get.

What sweet in goat mouth does burn he in he bam bam.

40. The madness against selling the debt laden Hilton is beyond my comprehension
    In my humble opinion the sale would have secure multiple purposes
    One to pay off the debt which is now owned by taxpayers
    Two as a safety net for barbados to. Improve and secure its creditworthiness in the financial markets
    Three release govt of any further obligations that can impact negatively on barbados economy
    Four improving our decline in reserves
    Giving the people an open market opportunity to become investors
    But what we have going forward is govt holding a basket full of ongoing obligations and debt attributed to the Hilton and placed in the hands of the taxpayers
    Not to mention the revenue collected from the Hilton if sold would be revenue with no draconian strings attached or a call for taxpayers to repay

41. After ten years of economic rape and madness, international investors have ZERO confidence in any BB investment where they get useless BBD in return. You cannot buy anthing but drugs in Black Rock with one Barrow.

Even the present gov lost confidence in the BBD. What all of you ignored is the fact that the BB-gov starts to collect taxes in USD, thus confirming that the local BBD is mere toilet paper. Why should any international investor accept payment in BBD if local taxes are partially paid in USD?

Thank you very much, Big Sinck, thank you very much DLP, for running the island into the ground.

42. What is mad is you DLP people who just spent 10 years presiding over drift and rot not understanding the effect of 10% interest rate on debt compared to 1% supported by longer maturities. You may recall Sinckler attempted to do the same thing a few years ago by floating a bond issue to address UWI and other creditors. It flopped because the market had zero confidence in taking up Barbados securities.

#hardsearswunnawonthear

43. Mariposa, Inniss,

Since the CS-loan came with 10 % interest (high profit) and the IMF-loan comes with 1 % interest (low profit) the BIG question is:

Did any decision-maker of the past gov (like Big Sinck or Eastwitch) receive any kick-back in return for the excessive costs of the CS-loan ? That is a legitimate question to ask, given the way decisions are made in countries of the so-called “Third World”.

44. T. Innis the blp yardfowls are feeling shame they will try to hide this shame by continuing to cuss Sinckler that is there only modus operandi
    There are powerless to do any thing else as the Saviour Mia on which the yardfowls had heavily depended to save the economy has opened her hand and it is EMPTY
    At least past govt had a growth plan
    Yes the Cahill project which was bamboozled by Mia
    The Hyatt projected whipped into submission by Commissiong and his band of devilish conspirators
    Well honurable mention now goes to Sandal a project if the opposition blp had their way would never seen the light of day
    Be that as it may Sandals happened and who else are singing its praises Mia Mottley
    Boy i tell yuh wonders never cease

45. The very arrogant and greedy members of the DLP claim on BU there was a “constitutional crisis” since they have no chance anymore to rape the taxpayer in Parliament.

However, why does Wikipedia (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Democratic_Labour_Party_(Barbados)) display 11 DLP-members in the Senate?

Is it true that there are 11 very arrogant and selfish DLP-moles in the senate?

Have they no shame to exploit and to insult the black masses?

Do said DLP-senators reside in Barbados at all or are they residents (and possibly citizens) of the United States?

Just asking.

46. 9% of 290M = 26M
    26 Millions being saved by the tax payers. Could buy the profit making Hilton in 4 years.

47. Tron,

It is much worse than you say – and it did not start under the incompetent Stuart/Sinckler regime. When Barbados was preparing for the cricket World Cup, I suggested that although it was a bit late, the nation should use the occasion to introduce our millennial landmark by turning that area of Kensington in to a 24-hour recreational area – from the cricket outfield, to a cricket museum, a cinema, a three star restaurant, coffee shops, and a concert venue, etc, with a public terminal to the front. In other words, it would become an entertainment centre.
    I suggested at the time that the money to finance the project (@PLT, plse read) could have been borrowed from the Japanese capital markets at below one per cent, which would have meant the moment the government signed for the loan and paid it in to its local bank account the money would have been earning more than its cost. At the time The Nation newspaper was kind enough to publish a letter from me making this case. Of course it was ignored.
    The cost of money in the global capital markets is still cheap, so if the IMF offers a loan at 1 per cent, as you say, that is about the cost of money in Europe, the UK and Japan, and slightly more expensive than in the US, where interest rates were recently raised. So, the IMF is not doing Barbados any favours.
    But the loan is to repay debt, which we defaulted on, not for investments; so in 15 years time, we will be back where we started. However, by then prime minister Mottley would be out of politics and some other person, at present unknown, would be blamed for this mess up. Barbadians are not good on history. Our collective memory is badly damaged.
    We need to invest for the future: infrastructure, education, service and manufacturing diversification. To use obsolete jargon, we must think outside the box. We do not like doing that because it is outside our comfort zone. It is better to be hysterical about arty politics. Whatever happened to the Diaspora conference?

48. Name the company that was dealing with the IMF beside government, central bank and social partners? Name it because – I cannot recall any other.

49. Hal,

Buildings like Kensington Oval, Supreme Court or Barbados Water Authority simply reveal what is wrong with Barbados.

The occupancy rate of Kensington is next to zero, the Supreme Court is as big as the Supreme Courts for countries with 50, 100 or 150 million people and BWA building would be big enough for NYC.

What a madness.

50. Tron,

But Bajans will tell you they are a first world nation. Just Ask Marion Williams.