Submitted by Neil a Holder, Political Leader, Barbados Integrity Movement (BIM) – Press Release

charleswilliams
Sir Charles Williams

I followed this matter in the print media of the Sunday Sun last week and have since heard of a banter on the radio program โ€œBrasstacksโ€ between Sir. Charles Williams and Ambassador Ryan Brathwaite regarding this issue! At this juncture I wish to state very clearly that I have been privy to three occasions prior to the elections where I have personally engaged Sir Charles on this subject on behalf of Ambassador Ryan Brathwaite with both gentlemen present.

In my opinion, Sir. Charles had exhausted every avenue to have the gifted lands approved by the Town and Country Planning Department from inception. From our initial meeting, Sir Charles profusely apologized to Ambassador. Ryan Brathwaite for the protracted delays experienced over the past 9 years citing the then Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart as being the hindrance to the handing over of the lands with the relevant approvals.

In his usual candour Sir Charles gave us a dossier of a multiplicity of correspondence to the Town and Country Planning Department and the Ministry of Agriculture to outline the arduous process and the status to date. This was followed up by an introduction to Sir Charles’ย  Physical Planners who in return forwarded every iota to both Ambassador Ryan Brathwaite and myself spanning the 9 year period.

It was upon confirmation of receipt of the documentation that Sir Charles gave me full authority to pursue the completion of this matter citing the possibility of my placing some political pressure on the government to do right by Ambassador Ryan Brathwaite. Both gentlemen were extremely frustrated for obvious reasons as Ambassador Ryan Brathwaite wanted to acquire the lands and Sir Charles wanted desperately to deed the gift offered with the relevant permissions.

When asked why Sirย  Charles did not alternately choose to offer up a parcel at Apes Hill, the initial reason for the location of the agreed and substantive parcel was that of the locale in relation to the village (Hillaby) where the Ambassador grew up. This was all cited by Sir Charles in the media of recent.

As I came to be acutely aware that Sir Charles had indeed exhausted all channels to acquire the relevant Permissions; I instructed the Ambassador not to engage the media on the matter in the presence of Sir. Charles in the hopes that we could have approached the Hon. Fruendel Stuart in order to have the file reviewed with every expectancy that it would be favourably granted the permissions sought.

To my dismay some two (2) weeks later there was an article in the electronic media where Ambassador Ryan Brathwaite allegedly spoke at length with the press regarding the issues. This was against our mutual agreement in the presence of Sir. Charles and my subsequent admonishment not to go to the public domain with what was at present a very sensitive issue. When Ambassador Ryan Brathwaite was confronted on the matter, his response was that he received a telephone call from that specific media house to query the progress to date on the approvals.

My verification with the media house concluded that Ambassador Brathwaite reached out to them to give the story even against our admonishment and his agreement not to do so in order that we could engage the Prime Minister. By this time I became aware that Ambassador Ryan Brathwaite out of total frustration was becoming devoid of reasoning.

I contacted Sir Charles to apologize for the matter having reached the media which was contrary to our last agreement and understanding. Sir Charles was quite gracious and we then agreed to proceed as planned to have an audience with Prime Minister Stuart.

Once more to my shock and dismay during a conversation with Ambassador Ryan Brathwaite it was revealed to me that he had high hopes of selling the land in order to pursue funding for the preparation process leading up to the World Games qualifiers and the 2020 Olympics.

At that juncture I grew very concerned that an athlete of this calibre was not being subsidized by the Ministry of Sports. I immediately tried to reach out to the then Minister the Hon. Stephen Lashley who refused to accept calls from both Ambassador Ryan Brathwaite and myself. I was later informed that the minister did respond to the Ambassador through a subordinate and gave assurances that he would also have the planning approvals garnered through the Hon. Fruendel Stuart, Prime Minister.

This matter has indeed been a political football that has been kicked off field for reasons only known to the Democratic Labour Party Administration which up until election time has never addressed the issuance of permissions for the subdivision.

It is my hope that this will vindicate Sir. Charles and also engage the attention of the Hon. Mia Mottley Q.C, M.P, Prime Minister where a positive outcome will be concluded.
Let us be true Patriots and reward our Citizens who Excel beyond expectation.

248 responses to “Land Dispute Between Sir Charles ‘Cow’ Williams and Ambassador Ryan Brathwaite”

1. David

I am not arguing that both Bee and Dee did not make commitments to CARICOM Treaties etc.

What I am saying is that at this point in time because of the deep financial difficulties we are facing Bdos needs to start thinking about self first – and not spend time trying to ‘win the applause of hypocritical politicians’ at Heads of Govt meetings.

Why SHOULD THE BARBADIAN TAXPAYERS BE ASKED TO DO ALL OF THE HEAVY LIFTING – when there are some low hanging fruits that can be plucked.

It is all about the survival of our little rock.

2. We will have to see if it works but there is the possibility the PM is creating the opportunity for local businesses to export by leveraging the regional trade space.

3. It’s telling me that’s the Mia video.

4. Here is the exchange between Ambassador Ryan Brathwaite and Sir Charles

https://barbadosunderground.files.wordpress.com/2018/08/dbtaug17-02.mp3

5. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

David Mr Blogmaster, I concur re ur 9:34…alternatively was it not possible to subdivide the large acreage and give permission for a portion thereof in order to facilitate the gift to an national star…if indeed the “ruse” to get blanket change of use permission was noticed as such!

I am unfamiliar with the lay of the land so maybe that concept is less practical than suggested but to your point the issue should not have dragged on for endless years…the govt should have made a decision period.

@TInniss, the last time I heard the term “boy” used so bluntly was a white CEO casually referring to one of his very senior managers also white with something like “when is that boy’s flight due back from that customer meeting”. It told me all I needed to know of his actual respect for the colleague manager.

You struck a similiar cord by repeatedly referring to an adult, superior achieving young man called Ryan Brathwaite with similar disrepectful verbiage. Amazing. I can’t imagine COW Williams called the man that…and if he did for some inexplicable reason you perpetuated the disrespect. AfreakingMAZING!

@William you opened another can of worms with your selective note of a Bajan soccer captain as a bellboy.

You ABSOLUTELY no the dynamic of Bajan sportsmen and women without the financial means or awesome job skills have ALWAYS had those difficult life issues to manage…that has been across ALL administrations.

Indeed as @JamesGreene highlighted this story should be about the pox on our governments like Mr Stuart and all before on sports management and less on the alleged ulterior motives of the COW gift.

6. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

No=know. Oh dear. At least it sounds right.๐Ÿค

7. TheophiliusGazerts Avatar
    TheophiliusGazerts

and you ‘no’ the difference ๐Ÿ™‚

8. TheophiliusGazerts Avatar
    TheophiliusGazerts

Unable to separate the wheat from the chaff.

Was this a masterful play from Sir cow that was artfully blunted by Fraudel?
    Is Sir cow a BLP supporter or BLP and that affected the outcome?
    What if Sir Mark Baloney had made a similar offer under the same circumstances
    Did party politricks play a part? Was the athlete/father/distant relative/fly in the house supporting the wrong party?
    Would we have the same outcome if it was a real Olympic gold medal (that was a joke ๐Ÿ™‚ )
    Too many questions are unanswered.

I hereby accept all credit for use of the name Fraudel Stewart.

9. A clash of tragic and embarrassing example of brass bowlery…

-COW with ulterior motives and hidden agendas gives a trojan horse
    -Fraudel with typical sloth and incompetence keeps it parked outside Illaro Court
    -Star athlete ..with typical mendicant attitude ..tries to take it home
    -The Sports authorities with their lotto monies (apparently enjoying illegal tax exemption for YEARS according to Minister Straughn) sits idly by while a star athlete scrounges for money to ‘prepare for the olympics’….
    -Now the BB BU experts break the whole mess down …in the rum shop

Only thing missing now is Dr GP cussing Bushie …because he remains stumped with the trinity myth – despite going over and over the parables….

Brass Bowl Barbados at its Best….

10. Wait, wait ….

COW? Wasnยดt that the man who uses the NIS as his personal ATM and who insults his workers on Apes Hill Plantation?

11. How was Sir Charles able to access NIS funds? Did it require Board approval perhaps?

12. LOL @ David
    Did it require Board approval perhaps?
    Bushie hates it when you make these snide remarks that are DESIGNED to get the bushman all riled up…

Which Board ?….. Islandgal’s 2X4?

Name a ‘Board’ in Barbados in the last 20 years that has not been the mere mouthpiece for the minister’s PERSONAL wishes
    …or the front for some puppet-master who controlled the minister…?
    Did you even LISTEN to Dr Robinson at any time…?
    Our Boards are just like the Senate – RUBBER STAMPS.

Some Boards even required that the puppet masters THEMSELVES be present
    …to protect their interests (when they recognised how incompetent the ministers were…)

Boards SHOULD be independent …and should be appointed based on merit and the member’s position in the society.

13. @Bushie

You are aware your good fried Justin was retained on the CBoB Board?

14. Typical

15. The is the picture that appeared on the frontpage if the Nation on the 9 October 2009 – https://www.pressreader.com/barbados/daily-nation-barbados/20091009

16. The puppet masters of Barbados need the peg to control the masses. And why? Since the peg justifies high import taxes and customs.

Imagine Barbadians could order everything via the internet from abroad and cheap, without COW and the other greedy businessmen as muggers and highwaymen. The puppet masterยดs political power and source of income gone.

Thus the peg is the ideal instrument to keep Barbados as it is, namely a big plantation for the clueless masses. No wonder it was Barrow, their most loyal servant, who introduced the peg.

17. TheophiliusGazerts Avatar
    TheophiliusGazerts

Promises made should be kept and honored.
    However, I am beginning to wonder if success at athletics is seen as winning the lotto…
    Guy whining a bit too much for me……

18. You are aware your good friend Justin was retained on the CBoB Board?(Quote)

Here is proof, as if it were needed, that there is no fundamental ideological difference between the DLP and BLP. All we have is competing managerialism.
    Dr Robinson, as chairman of the NIS, has proved either that he is out of his depth, or that he was unable under the DLP to resist ministerial interference. In any case, if he had strong professional and intellectual objections to the ministers he should have resigned. Afterall, being chairman of the NIS and a board member of the central bank are not his substantive jobs.
    As to Apes Hill and the use of the NIS as a piggy bank, the one demand they should make is a debt for equity swap. As sfar as we know, they failed to do that.
    I am not convinced Dr Robinson is up to the grade.

19. @Neil Holder “When asked why Sir Charles did not alternately choose to offer up a parcel at Apes Hill, the initial reason for the location of the agreed and substantive parcel was that of the locale in relation to the village (Hillaby) where the Ambassador grew up. This was all cited by Sir Charles in the media of recent.”

Stupssseee!!! While we may all like to live near to where we grow up, sometimes realistically it is not possinle. I grew up in a village where my parents’ bought land in the 1930’s. In the 1930’s the government introduced zoning to protect Barbados’ water–good for Bajans as a whole—but bad for our family. We have approximately 3 acres which were so zoned. We have never been able to live on it. Nine of our parents’ children, and countless grandchildren, and great grand children have had to find other places to live. These other places have cost us hundreds of thousands of dollars, perhaps a million or more,

If Williams has not received permission for the land intended for Brathwaite, then he should offer an alternate lot, anywhere else in Barbados he owns land. Or alternately publicly and in writing withdraw the offer.

20. CORRECTION: In the 1960’s, the government introduced zoning. It was I think 1962.

21. @David August 19, 2018 6:52 AM “His explanation is that he wanted to give land in the Hillary area. Why should he be dictated to what land to give?”

CORRECTION: Hillaby NOT Hillary.

Nobody is trying to dictate anything to anybody. But if a gift is being given, it should be fit for purpose. No point giving my goddaughter Susie who is off to university next week a book of ABC’s or 123’s.

I should give the gal a laptop or a smart phone, or if my pocket is real, real small, then a $100 bill (preferably USD)

Stupseee!!!

22. And no point promising Susie a gift and nine years later when she is Dr. Susie, she still can’t access the gift.

Wunna people fa real doh!!!

This is NOT a complicated problem. There is a very simple solution.

23. Once again, COW need to show a deed and history, take only ‘ Clear title land, Do not trust COW using a runner to open up the land for him to build, COW and Richard needs to be in Jail for they massive land fraud and Ponzi, I see the comments on PM DT, remember by that time Barbados was already 6 Billion$$ missing from AG Mia and PMOwen & Ponzi CLICO, lets say PM DT had a hand in the money missing we shall put 1 Billion$$ to his name and the other 8
    Billion$$ to PM Fumble and MOF group of lawyers, PM DT with CLICO he was the lawyer and got 3 M$$ being paid for a 1 Billion Dollar company, a much better ratio to Hall Gollop raping of the PM billing? Hall made more than David, or crook ass-set Richard Byer all in All both government need to bring back 15 Billion$$$ or shall be let loose the white courts on them from President Trump Executive Order December 21-2017 that by now have near 50,000 seal Indictments on them,this is Worldwide, Other lawyers is running to the caymans checking on their ill-gotten gains, let hope most don’t comb back , BFP BBLP 2018-2020 or sooner, the NOW Elections, Extridation is the new words for the BBLP

24. Was an offer made a land offer as well?

if so by whom?

Has she taken up any such offer?

If not why not?

Is Rihanna a “hot property?” Hot in more ways than one. Lolll!!!

If any business wants to use her name or her image do they have to pay her and her staff/managers a serious amount of money?

I duz only ask questions, because I iz a

Simple Simon.

25. This scenario definitely fits in to the well known saying “beware of Greeks/Jews who come bearing gifts”
    The land in question was definitely not a gift.
    Since Ryan now needs money, he should press for the value of the land.

26. Williams is a major land owner is he not? Why not give Brathwaite another piece of land, or cash equivalent to the value of the land? Sometimes we give not because we are compelled to, but we give just because we can. I don’t have land (to speak of nor money (to speak of, yes I can buy food and pay my utilities). But I have healthy blood, and over the past 26 years I have given that, 72 times in all, even though I am under no obligation to do so. I freely give of what i have just because I can. And when I give I have never said, nor will I ever say, that my blood is not for rich, old, white men, nor for poor, black, young women. I don’t seek to exclude anybody. My blood is good for black and white, Christian, Rastafarian, Muslim, Jew and non believer. For men, for women, for children, for the newborn and for the dying.

Sometimes we need to give just because we can.

“To give and not to count the cost, to fight and not to heed the wound, to labour and not to ask for any reward, save that of knowing that we do God’s will.”

I would encourage Williams to do similarly.

27. You cannot compel people to give you a gift. A promise is not a contract.

28. Cow is an old fraud who should never be allowed anywhere near taxpayer’s contracts ever again, should not be allowed anywhere near the NIS Pension Fund belonging to the elderly retirees ever again..

Cow should be forced by government to pay back every dime of the hundreds of millions of dollars he robbed the pension fund over the years and if he refuses, because he never believes he should be made to pay back black people’s money…lock his thieving ass up for fraud..

Both governments have colluded with and enabled him and his fellow thieves to rape the country and rip of the majority population because he believes he is entitled to….the Mia government has to put an end to that or suffer the consequences.

These two governments are despicable to allow this to happen to their own people, then the last government had the nerve to play this game in the Ryan land matter fir 9 whole years while allowing Cow to literally steal from the elderly, what a real nasty bunch.

29. Sir Charles has the option to give another piece of land but it does not remove the sloth by the former government to act on behalf of RYAN by having responded promptly to the request via TD. Then we have the situation of Lashley avoiding calls to provide status update?

30. Heather Cole what say you about the allegations which accuses George Payne and Dale Marshall of land fraud
    There are two old ladies on social media who have been keeping Dale and George feet to the fire while presenting documentation as proof to their dastardly actions

31. You talking about land fraud is right where the discussion should be, all the land thieves need to be arrested, but what about those lawyers from the last governmentweho boldfacedly ripped off state agencies over 1/4 million dollars in consulting fees, funded by taxpayers while these thieving lawyers sat in parliament as speaker of the house and some even took bribes from the same known land thieves, what about those.

Hopefully Marshall will put his money where his mouth is and lock up these former ministers and others as well….as soon as possible…none of them can run off island because am sure the feds are watching flights…lol…lock them up.

“Toppin, the current minister holding responsibility for BIDC in the new government revealed in parliament Tuesday that Carrington, an attorney and ex-speaker of that law-making body, had charged BIDC $353,225 for consultation on sale of a property valued at $16 million.

But Toppin said that the established rate for legal fees on a transaction of this value is $161,250, and hinted that the state-owned company was pressured into making the abnormally high payment to a then member of parliament who was part of the government of the time.

This information of an official of a government over-charging a state agency which it was elected to protect comes against the backdrop of a recent Barbados government document stating that BIDC, which was established to increase exports and employment through investment, has an outstanding debt of $19 million and accumulated arrears of $10.7 million.

The state corporation has had $$5.315 million approved in funding for the 2018-19 budget year.

News of the corruption charge against a minister in a former Barbados government and the apparent fleecing of this state entity comes weeks after attorney general of the new administration, Dale Marshall, warned of an intention to pursue and prosecute public officials suspected of corruption as far up the ladder as former government ministers.”

32. I have a copy of the fees list for Barbados attorneys somewhere about and I know that lawyers are not supposed to charge above the established rates particularly for non contentious matters….particularly sitting MPs who believe they are entitled to be bandits and rip off the state agencies funded by the taxpayers they are supposed to protect.

Marshall should have moved on this already and made a complaint to the Commissioner of Police about this particular ripoff of BIDC..while he is at it he should also start an investigation into just how much money Cow ripped off from the pension fund, how many ministers were involved and start putting pressure to have the money repaid or supoenas prepared to lock up the thieves.

..I remember Donville gushing about all this money they gave Cow….not their money, pensioners money.

Can’t gush anymore with an ankle monitor strapped to ya foot though.

33. What am I saying, what subpoenas what, sometimes I forget it is a tiny banana republic run by clowns. ..anyways, just as Marshall complained about the bribery accusation between a sitting ministes and ICBL to the commissioner…he can also complain to the police about Cow and Carrington…chop, chop.

34. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Neil Holder Leader of the Barbados Integrity Movement

This matter involving Sir Cow Williams and Ambassador Ryan Brathwaite is pure idiocy.

And de ole man will explain this idiocy using your own quote.

“…In my opinion, Sir. Charles had exhausted every avenue to have the gifted lands approved by the Town and Country Planning Department from inception…”

Even if Ambassador Ryan Brathwaite is an ass and insisted of accepting the gifted lands and Trojan Horse in Timbuktu From the canny Sir Charles, if Sir Charles was serious about gifting the young man lands that he could live on IN TRUTH AND IN FACT an honest knight and giver would have said to the donee “(idiot) if you take these lands next to your home YOU CANNOT BUILD A HOUSE BECAUSE THIS IS AGRICULTURAL LAND”

It becomes obvious that the recipient was naive and that Sir Charles was deceitful given that his ulterior motive was to coerce Town and Country Planning into a change of use scheme WHICH THEY WOUKD HAVE BEEN UNABLE TO GO BACK ON if they had followed his and your coercion.

I can understand Ambassador Brathwaites dilemma but please…to ascribe his abklity to raise funding for his continued Olympic interests is to say that he was unable to vreate a GoFund Me website and seek alternative solicitations for 9 years.

You are sucking up to COW who is a real estate developer who would have been aufait WIGH the restrictions of the gift to Ryan and should have advised him thusly.

Fumbles is a chvunt of unmatched proportions but in this single regard he made te right choice.

You are trying to emote support for what is a faulty principle of converting arable land into development areas on the whim of Lady Hoagies husband

That Mr Holder is unconscionable

You guys have yet to understand the battles that you need to engage in and the Waste foop endeavours.

I will leave my customary remarks about the structure of the article aside for the moment heheheheh

35. Old fowl…ya gone quiet…wuh happen?

Lol…I look forward to the following months.

36. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item to Holder

37. Chop! Chop! Unless Marshall and Payne come clean on those land fraud allegations
    Nobody gonna take them seriously
    The horse has already bolted who gonna tek them two seriously with a dark cloud of suspicions allegations hanging over their head
    Chop!chop

38. What I find puzzling is after waiting 9 years for the gift to materialize he now needs it desperately to sell so he can finance his training.

He is 30 years old.

WIKI has his last competition in 2014 when he came first in the 110 metre hurdles.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ryan_Brathwaite

He should think again about investing in training as he is no longer a young blood.

If he needs the money for another reason fair enough but then say so.

39. A careful listen to the exchange on VOB Brasstacks Ryan admitted that he has now found the time to follow up on many pledges made after he won the worlds. In other words, many businesses and individuals have not delivered, including government.

40. That’s what frauds do, promise the world when they have these different rip off agendas using government ministers …and never deliver when they did not succeed in their ripoff scams.

41. While the AG is on the hunt for calling in suspect fees paid to those guilty of insider trading to wit one of the public service commisssion who not only got his contract renewed up front so as to saddle the incoming government with a high falutin member of the chopsutting ,nay the brown nosing brigade of the Fatted Calf Corps but with a big huge contract of $300,000. dollars to write a paper that will take 3 years and the authoritites in the service say should have been done by the officers employed in the service.There ought to be a law!Have these barefaced crooks up before the magistrates.Do them like you do Charles and make them do the perp walk of shame and dishonour for robbing the treasury.The first order of business would be to withhold the monthly cheque of 20000.00

42. I am not hearing a peep from MoneyB on how Cow used Ryan to extort the government for change of use for his acres of land, that is a clear case of extortion, I dont know what Fruendel et al were trying to extort from Cow in return, but it is the Pensioners Fund ended up being ripped off.

43. @Hal Austin August 19, 2018 2:49 PM “You cannot compel people to give you a gift. A promise is not a contract.”

Nobody is trying to compel anybody to do anything.

Nobody is claiming that a promise is a contract.

We are however encouraging those who “have” to give to those who “have not.”

Do some people find it hard to understand that very simple concept?

44. Simple…those types of greedy subhumans do not give unless they can extort or steal something in return, giving without strings is not in their nature as thieves.

45. Nine years ago, Brathwaite was a presumably unsophisticated youth of 21.

Nine years ago, Williams was an experienced, presumably sophisticated, business man of about 70.

46. That is what made it so easy for an experienced fraud like Cow to use an inexperienced, bright eyed trusting ambitious black athlete who did not know the mindset of minority criminals…it is not like Fruendel or any of the ministers cared about Ryan like that…they still don’t.

One of the many problems on the island is that the black population does not know enough and are not confident enough to warn their children and grandchildren about minority criminals…they dont know they are supposed to …have that talk ….with their own people about these thieves.

…..it’s not like the black governments care…just remember some years ago when the private sector and government ministers and the opposition joined forces to shut the blogs down because Cow said there should be no internet in Barbados…well that was the fight we had back then…they went to the ends of the earth and back to keep black bajans as unaware dummies just good for being robbed and kept mentally enslaved, but the people still managed to break free and take down a whole government…wiped them off the political landscape….their actions against the population are returning to haunt them…and it has not even fully started yet.

47. Barbados is Orwellian doublespeak:

independent nation = eternal debt service
    free black society = economic plantation
    businessman = economic plantation owner
    scholarship = method to keep bright Barbadians on the plantation
    education = Illusion
    civil service = employer of last resort
    church = opium for the masses

48. Simple Simon
    August 19, 2018 5:54 PM

Nine years ago, Brathwaite was a presumably unsophisticated youth of 21.
    Nine years ago, Williams was an experienced, presumably sophisticated, business man of about 70.

Nine years later they are both nine years older โ€ฆ. and presumably wiser.

49. I pray that one of these days you tron will come to a Christian understanding.