Chris Rogers (l) Walter Prescod (c) Charles Herbert (r)

The news that approximately 3 million dollars worth of illegal drugs was discovered on a boat owned by Goddards Enterprises – a successful and respected international company domiciled in Barbados – continues to be the talk of the town. A few high profile names are reported to be assisting the police force read Charles Herbert the Chairman of Goddards Enterprises and Chris Rogers a non executive member who were reported to be on the boat when the interdiction was made by Barbados Customs Officers.

Information coming from the police about the progress of investigation has been slow as one would expect when prominent individuals are involved. Then add high profile lawyer Andrew Pilgrim to the mix. The blogmaster joins many expressing an interest in who will be charged and incarcerated for the crime. The tangential story is that there is an intense lobby with the charge in government to legalize marijuana for medicinal purposes.

The blogmaster ask commenters to be smart when posting comments. On behalf of the BU household we appeal to all those out there to continue to tip off the authorities so that we can arrest the scourge of drugs, guns and other illegal activity pouring into our little island. Feel free to email BU also with tips by completing the Contact List that will be forwarded confidentially to the blogmaster.

Thank you for your response. ✨

BU’s Featured image is Charles Herbert, Chairman of Goddards (l) and Chris Rogers, non executive board member (r).

778 responses to “Goddard’s Yacht Ecstasy Busted!”

1. All jokes aside..Mia better not get involved in this one for any reason..let the police do their jobs, wherever it goes…let it play out, this is different to the Adam container of marijuana and the file that disappeared so he can’t be prosecuted despite being charged, that was under the DPP deceased, more people are watching this time..

2. This proud Black Man will be following this case with interest. Are the chickens coming home to roost for these type of persons including the NUPW president?

3. NorthernObserver Avatar

Who is Gunner? DA?

4. The drugs were put aboard the vessel by persons unknown with the intention that they be found by law enforcement and all persons aboard would fall under a deep shadow of suspicion. They did not leave discovery to chance but tipped off law enforcement to ensure apprehension.

That’s my gut feeling!!

5. “..and to get payback for big business having changed allegiance.”

That’s a new one, the defunct exgovernment did it, for payback…

Those exministers were so greedy they returned their 10% pay cut, made it retroactive so they do not lose a dime, raised taxes and squeezed the taxpayers to cover their thefts…and you really see them going out of their way to lose 3 million dollars in Cannabis…really???..lol

Simple girl..they are on overdrive.

6. Isn’t passing strange that CBC silent on this.Madame minister Lucille Moe – do you know if a call went up to the Pine?

Stranger yet is Stedson Babb and VOB who can always sniff out and bring a story about when the dog pee on the ole woman foot and whether the police bringing in nuff,nuff ammunition and thing – yet not a word we aint hearing from he eh?

No breaking news Stedson and David ellis?

The truth is that the instructions about what gets printed or aired is usually given by someone higher up and closer to the ownership ladder

I want to urge contributors and readers not to get carried away with any argument of ‘that person could never do something like that’.

That sort of irrational appeal to the emotion is why white perpetrators of crime are ALMOST never given their due penalty.
    When a black magistrate or Judge look at this white man – who he/she knows all the time as Mr BoogleyBoo of XYZ Organisation,who gives to the Salvation Army,or has the power to hire or fire my daughter,and is always on the front page of the Nation being quoted as ‘an expert’ – plus he ain’t look scruffy with he hair prickle up and he pants falling off he boxy wid he dirty underwear showing – now tell me how you expect said magistrate or Judge to not disbelieve the policeman.

Charles Herbert and the others could be guilty or they could be innocent – but the truth of that will only be known if the investigating parties are given a free hand to do their jobs – and certain key witnesses and investigators are not susceptible to bribes – the value of which – may cause yuh body to tremble.

7. Commissioner Tyronne Griffith ,please ensure that there are at least 3 or 4 files on this matter – and secrete one in a place only you know about and only you can access – so that anytime one is missing – well you know what you have to do right?

8. NorthernObserver Avatar

@john
    I don’t share that feeling.
    Contraband runners are not in the habit of getting caught, it is bad for business.
    i think this a smart runner using a method thought to be safe, and it backfiring.

9. “Also noteworthy is where the boat was coming fron
    This guy Ralp Gonsalves have been critical of past govt for not opening up its borders and allowing all and sundry to move at free will…..”
    +++?++++?

Ralph Gonsalves??????

And here I was thinking the yacht was coming from Grenada.

10. The packages of weed are securely wrapped in waterproof plastic and tape. Anyone with an IQ bigger than their hat size would have put them overboard with a buoy and a tracking beacon so that they could fetch them later. Every yacht heading to port from overseas has to clear customs… if the owners of the drugs were aboard the vessel surely they would have protected their investment with the simplest of precautionary measures.

Packages could have been attached to the hull below the waterline!!

In which case anyone could have put them there and then retrieved them!!

If this was the case, why the tip off?

http://www.seanews.com.tr/divers-found-drugs-attached-to-hull/163710/

https://www.graypage.com/gp-current-incidents/drugs-attached-ships-hull-waterline/

https://www.joc.com/maritime-news/despite-increased-security-smugglers-still-attach-drug-boxes-ship-hulls_19920618.html

https://www.maritime-executive.com/article/drug-smuggling-alert-for-commercial-shipping#gs.lZXtLNo

11. Second thought – Can you imagine quantum of the financial power, the likes of which has never been locally seen before, that will be brought to bear on this matter in order to prove unequivocally that the accused had absolutely nothing to do with this incident? New Scotland Yard, FBI, DEA, you name it, the reputation of a large multi-national corporation is at stake here, the individuals are mere players in a much greater act. Who knows the names that could crop up when the investigation moves beyond these shores, and this will be necessary as there is so much mistrust of local law enforcement and judiciary oversite.

12. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@T.Inniss July 25, 2018 11:26 AM said
    “That sort of irrational appeal to the emotion is why white perpetrators of crime are ALMOST never given their due penalty.”

I agree that appeals to emotion will lead us astray. That is in part why I am not cheering and dancing about rich White people finally getting charged with drug trafficking. While I have little doubt that there are some rich White people deeply involved in drug trafficking, I am analyzing this rationally.

Rationally, you need to see that the accused had means, motive and opportunity. On the face of it they had the means and opportunity, but they also have the means and opportunity to do it in a way that was not so monumentally stupid, so that raises rational questions. There are also rational questions about motive: would you put a fortune of $X at risk in order to speculate on making a small fraction of that amount illegally.

13. And we all look forward to every minute of it….what quantum of financial power what..no one is impressed, if any evidence exists particularly fingerprints on those packages belonging to any of the detained….that means nothing.

I never even heard of Herbert until that march when he and Fruendel tangled…the Goddards are a known local name but they have no world power status..looka move do…and stop trying to impress the blog with stupidity…steupppss

Mia better don’t get involved particularly with international agencies watching.

14. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

While unfortunate, it is true that the optics of this situation are going to be coloured by black and white PUN INTENDED.

A few here noted that whites do not have domestic violence cases nor do they rape nor teif nor commit adultery nor teif client funds nor misappropriate properties nor hotels, nor do they get drunk, not take drugs nor import drugs.

Because as a fellow intoned they are less than 5 % of the population and LIKE THE OLE MAN, ALL HAVE HAD “JESUS MOMENTS” and are washed clean of all sin.

@ PLT or shoul i say “Judd for the Defence ”

Let us just suppose that this was The first run where the parties demanded to deal WIGH the “principal” for this chump change deal.

Let us further suggest dat a feller lick he mouf too much and say dat he accompanying he boss pun a big up ting.

And jes leh we toss in dat he outside woman let go de insides to a nex body and de story get out bout dis first run WHU BOUT DAT AS A POSSIBLE TING TO AUGMENT THE LIST ABOVE NUH?

But one thing is clear Mia Got this pun clampdown and her media outlets coordinating their story

We will see how the judge who they will appoint will rule or the DPP heheheh

15. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@NorthernObserver July 25, 2018 11:33 AM
    “i think this a smart runner using a method thought to be safe”

The method was monumentally stupid. There is no place aboard the Ecstasy to conceal that quantity of contraband. It had to be just stuffed in where all the sails and sailbags are stashed below deck. Any minimally competent smuggler would have put the waterproof packages overboard well offshore tethered to a buoy and beacon.

16. NorthernObserver Avatar

@plt
    Since you obviously know CH better than I, is he a ‘sailor’. The trip from Bim to the islands can be enjoyable, but the return is frequently ‘no sport at all’. I am told CR is the regular pilot, but for the setup theory John is supporting, somebody had to know he CH would be aboard?

17. Should have legalized the weed, they got people with cannabis prescriptions waiting for treatment…2 months and the Mia government is still to move on getting these people treatment..

Only one doctor on the island as Douglas Trotman said who knows of his patient’s suffering and made sure they are armed with prescriptions and this fool for a minister of health is still talking about doing research which not one of them on the island is equipped to do…while these patients suffer…and the legislation to allow their treatment sits there unused for 27 years.

The other ding dings who got kicked out of parliament…by the people…had 10 years to free up the weed and they did nothing but exploit what they could….lock up local black people only and allow those trafficking cocaine to not even be arrested..

Let’s enjoy this shitshow..lol

18. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Your assistance is being solicited thank you

19. PTL what is the smell test .Please enlighten me
    When international law enforcement seized a vessel laden with illegal drugs whoever is caught within that enviroment which includes owners ( even if there were not aboard the vessel) have to face a judge
    The problem this discussion is faced with is that those who might be closely associated to the Goddards and Herberts finding it difficult to belive that their lives can be attached to criminal elements
    However those kind of sceanarios are played out daily througout the world and unless the justice system is allowed to do the job it was designed the wheels of justice would continue to benefit the wealthy few while the poor and underclass are always being made to look like criminals and become scape goats
    It is imperative that all realised that the stakes are high and barbados national interest and social enviroment is under attack while the eyes of the world watch.

20. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Well, Well July 25, 2018 11:48 AM
    “what quantum of financial power what..no one is impressed”

There is no attempt to impress, it’s just data to be analyzed.

I too am looking forward to learning who’s fingerprints are on that nice shiny plastic tape. If Herbert’s fingerprints are there it will be evidence for my first scenario: that he suffered a bout of massive stupidity and greed. If there are fingerprints but not Herbert’s it does not clear him; we still would need to track down whoever they belong to and solve the whole crime.

21. NorthernObserver Avatar

@plt
    i am sure it will surface how and where it was located. I believe there are several other locations to conceal 30 packages of that size, possibly in more than one place. Otherwise, I am sure it would have spotted prior or during the voyage?

22. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Mariposa July 25, 2018 12:00 PM
    The smell test is simply whether it is in accordance with the evidence and common sense. It smells crooked to me. This is not because I think rich White people are not criminals… it is because rich White people insulate themselves behind layers of “middle management” in their criminal activities. So all I want is the truth.

23. NorthernObserver Avatar

@plt
    You are assuming the smuggler was aboard?

24. When international law enforcement seized a vessel laden with illegal drugs whoever is caught within that enviroment which includes owners ( even if there were not aboard the vessel) have to face a judge

“The Colombian Navy informed on Jan 28, 2017, that they found and seized 67 kilos of cocaine hidden in a cylinder, which was attached to the underwater hull of the “Crown Opal”. The cocaine was destined for Belgium. The reefer had left Santa Marta on Jan 26. Navy divers searched the hull in the Gulf of Uraba. On Jan 29, the vessel was under way in the Gulf of Uraba, heading for Moin on Jan 29 with next calls at the Dominican Republic, UK and finally, Belgium.

SHip and crew were cleared of suspicions in drug trafficking involvement.”

….. so in this case, it never got past the “suspicions” stage … so I assume, never made it to court.

25. This is a different case though.

26. That’s the long and short of it …PLT

27. All it takes to attach a “package” to the hull is someone to swim underwater, avoid detection and attach the package!!

A wooden hull … easy to take an auger and drill a few holes through the planking into the ribs and screw in hooks.

The person may have absolutely no connection to the ship or the owners or the crew.

Similarly, retrieving it can be done by anyone, with or without connections.

It is a brilliant way of avoiding suspicion and diverting it elsewhere.

So, why the tip off if there was one?

Why would Charles Herbert inform on himself?

For that matter, why would any member of the crew inform on themselves?

If there was a tip off and the “goods” were indeed attached to the hull, this would have to have been a setup!!

28. So apparently there were 2 drug seizures made in the space of 24 hours, one on the high seas and one at the port, if nation news two separate articles are to be believed……we are not getting the full info yet…there is a lot more going on here.

29. So what are the excuses for the second drug seizure..if it happened…how many people were arrested there?

30. They say that you are never too old to learn and I am learning that rich people, or people who are “island Scholars” or people who wear the old school tie, or people who have certain social and business connections are to be treated like Caesar’s wife i.e. above suspicion. I have also learned since the word “frame’ has been bandied about that someone possibly politically connected engineered the sting by planting 3m worth of drugs aboard this boat. Did the Police inflate the value of the drugs? Did someone get the decimal point wrong? Do you frame someone to the tune of 3mil when you could just as easily frame them for 30k and divert the rest to some other profitable enterprise?

Look we know this will melt away quicker than a Snow Cone in the Sahara but in the meanwhile a man is parking his behind at Dodds for the next six months for stealing two Rotis and a piece of cake.

31. John in what country was the shipped seized and drugs found are you trying to associate countries like Colombia that have known politicial ties to the drug underworld to be judge and jury when it comes to making unbaised decisions for ilegal drug activity
    Everbody knows that the drug world lives and thrive well in those countries because of the political wheel and expecting a different result would be one of high expectations

32. horace rollins Avatar

there are speculators on this thread than there are on Wall Street. and the outcome may be the same

33. We know they hide up cocaine busts and are proud to arrest no one, but will they please tell the public who pay their frigging salaries…all of them…was there a COCAINE as well as a CANNABIS bust…two different drug busts…and who had which????

34. Where are all the blp high rollers who hollered and scream for ten years that a black barbadian man stole Clico money
    Oh Boy the silence is deafening now one of their own Charles Herbert is caught at the crime scence
    All await to see how this mess would be swept under the blp rug

35. MP

Attached to the hull is a standard way of smuggling drugs all over the world.

Try googling and you will see!!!

Here is another example this time in Ireland!!

http://www.thejournal.ie/revenue-cocaine-clare-3045161-Oct2016/

36. If charges are brought against the members of the crew and subsequently dropped I suspect there will be hell to pay.

37. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ John the Quaker

Yes your ingrunt story sounds plausible.

Cause I goin bore holes in the bottom of a wooden hulled vessel to put in hooks cause I want to reenact that story of the boy at the dyke years ago.

Note that I said the boy at the dyke and not the boy or the girl WITH the dyke Causing next ting you know “ole man piece call a body a dyke” and whaplax, de dynamic duo pun me back

38. As far as the blogmaster is aware no charges have been made up to 12:30pm. Many of you are merely speculating reading posting as if factual.

39. horace rollins Avatar
    horace rollins

please let the police conduct their inquiries and stop unnuh gushing all over the place because white people involved

40. Georgie Porgie Avatar

THIS SOUND LIKE A CASE FOR COLUMBO! ah lie?

41. This sounds like a case where the police and investigators who are being paid a monthly salary by the majority population need to do their jobs for once instead of conspiring in a cover up.

42. Most here are giving opinions on the story as it was told by the media
    A story which involves names and drugs and a vessel called Ecstacy
    David go back to sleep stop uh distractions and tell the blp bridgade who monitor this blog to get F. …ing loss

43. Wasnt there a drug called Ecstacy

44. The yatch is called Ecstasy as in the illegal drug; or ecstasy as in orgasm; or ecstasy as in a deep spiritual experience?

Just trying to figure out what was going through the mind of the person who named the boat.

45. @David the blogmaster “The tangential story is that there is an intense lobby with the charge in government to legalize marijuana for medicinal purposes.”

Somebody sick David?

Or just greedy?

Is greed a sickness that can be cured by marijuana?

46. Mariposa,

I suggest you gather all the available evidence, including the names of people and their business contacts, especially if they are involved in the hotel/tourism industry, and send it to a UK tabloid. If you need contacts let me know.

47. @ pieceuhderockyeahright,

Some believe BLACK Bajans are guilty until proven innocent.

Some believe WHITE Bajans are innocent until proven guilty.

Anytime a white person is charged with a crime the Automatic White Defense Brigade is activated instantly.

Herbert and Goddards are rich enough to clear their names and buy empathy from black Bajans .

It will cost a few million but they can afford it.

48. Does anyone know if the Arthur Holder, reported to have been retained by one of the crew members on the suspect yacht, is the same Arthur who is Speaker of the House or is it someone else?

49. Georgie Porgie Avatar

re I suggest you gather all the available evidence, including the names of people and their business contacts, especially if they are involved in the hotel/tourism industry, and send it to a UK tabloid. If you need contacts let me know.

HAL
    HOW WILL THIS BENEFIT BARBADOS
    PERHAPS PIECE SHOULD SEND A CARTOON OF YOU BULLING TO A UK TABLOID OR TO ONE OF THE PAPERS FOR WHICH YOU WORKED……..YA DONKEY!

50. That’s the problem I have too…the legislation reads that medical marijuana is NOT illegal…there are people who are actually SICK and need the treatment…so why is the legislation in place not being used so those WITH PRESCRIPTIONS can get the necessary treatment until the ding dings with degrees finish playing at pretending to be expert researchers of marijuana..

The greed is not going anywhere, will still be there to practice when they are all done.