Prime Minister Mia Mottley shows off a Kensington Oval ready for T20 World Cup

The following was posted as a comment by Northern Observer to the Congratulations to Ambassador David Comissiong blog. It is a comment that resonates with the blogmaster for the commonsense perspective it shares about the huge challenge facing the country given the diminishing forex reserves and inadequate foreign inflows – David, blogmaster   

“Mia unilateral decision to default on debt”

This is a horse you need to dismount. When a doctor tells you somebody has stage 4 cancer, and their life expectancy is 4 weeks, do you expect them to live for a year? Or you display anger towards the doctor, because you felt he didn’t consult with others? You haven’t heard it from 5 doctors, and they told you some weeks before the ‘patient was doing better’. So wha happen?

The continued decline in the Barbadian Sovereign Credit rating, told all of us in the financial world that a death was imminent. Junk status, is a polite term for saying, default is not official but imminent. The lower the junk rating, the more imminent the default. If you hold debt instruments, do not expect a full and timely settlement.

While I am all for transparency, I am unsure what you wanted the GoB to ‘discuss with the people’? Skinning local bond holders (which may still happen), does not solve the Fx problem of repaying monies in Fx, when your Fx reserves are perilously low. Rather than an official default you can try negotiating with each party, it takes time and can create animosity (and legal recourse) if one debtor feels treatment has been unequal. Default places all of them into the same basket. And buys time, and lowers expectations.
Default is a result of 13 consecutive years of accumulating Debt, and when the servicing costs exceed your ability to meet them.

So what would you like the GoB to discuss? That they will sell the Hilton and BNTCL for rock bottom prices and use the funds to pay down foreign loans. That the GoB will actively seek buyers for the BWA and any other asset of value, which can be used to bolster the Fx account. For what? Foreign lenders are not lending us money, whether we meet current loan terms or not. Foreign lenders have no collateral claims.

Defaulting was not a choice. The only choice was whether it happened now or at a later date. This way we get to keep (at least for now) the few meaningful public assets we have left. I can never ‘support a default’, but for the people of Barbados this was the “best” decision.

The challenge is, you choose not to accept, the Barbados public financial condition was as bad as it is, because you felt all the less-than-positive comments were coming from people you labelled as ‘the enemy’. They were B supporters. Many were, not B as in BLP, but B as in Barbados. They saw the bandages, they heard the prescriptions, and each time the bandage got changed, the wound was worse than before.

152 responses to “Hobson’s Choice | Debt Default or …”

1. PoorPeacefulandPolite Avatar
    PoorPeacefulandPolite

What “unilateral decision”? Was there a multilateral one? Didn’t we have our Hobson’s choice in the General Election? We needed to stanch the bleeding until a blood pressure level could be restored !!

2. Bad analogy by North.Observer

The patient is a single entity he or she can make whatever decision as it relates to self
    The country is not a single entity but consist of many factions and factors who should be involved as shareholders as should at least be called upon to give an opinion
    The default of a country is a serious decision to make and can impact its populace for years to come
    The best analogy is Jamaica and its struggles trying to get out from under the arm of the IMF

3. The strategy of the former government was even promoted in advertising during the election campaign with memes explaining that the DLP government was selling the BNTCL and Hilton to prevent the need to borrow FX (who would have lent to Barbados anyway given our junk rating?) to shore up the foreign reserves.

4. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

The exgovernment was holding fire sales of taxpayer’s assets to the usual bottomfeeders and would not have gotten enough money to prevent the loan pddefault anyway,..

It’s good thing they were not the brightest and ran out of time completely or there would be no state assets left, haven been given away, no money left and there would be even bigger problems than what now obtainsl

5. I think the article lends itself to a question as to whether Head of govt should make a unilateral decision on default
    Some how the speckled fowl david seems not to undetstand the context of the article but once again tries to direct the article context towards a path to distract
    At this point and time it doesnt matter if the entities were sold
    What matters is how and why would Mia take it upon herself to a make a unilateral decision about default on barbados with out further consulting the many factions and factors that ought to be involved

6. She is the Prime Minister and head of the government with a 30-0 mandate.

Understand?

7. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Was a loan to Credit Suisse or some such lender not owing that very same month….there was no time for multilateral decision making, unilateral was the only choice…default was on the door step thanks to ex government incompetence. .

I could just see it now, had the electorate not disappeared DLP…the loan due 2 in weeks after election and Sinkler still lying to the people, while cussing Credit Suisse and Fruendolittle sitting on his lazy, slow behind doing nothing but quoting foolish shakespeare…, as he had done for 9 years.. …still a default. …with multiple downgrades attached.

8. PoorPeacefulandPolite Avatar
    PoorPeacefulandPolite

The buck stopped on her desk. We can help reconstruct by moderating some of our extravagant lifestyle, bringing home our FX earnings and rending unto Caesar more conscientiously. Avoidance has become part of our culture.

9. In Canada, CIDA(Canadian International Developement Agency) announced last week that there will be no further trading with Barbados unless payment is received in forgien currency prior to goods being transferred. CIDA is a major annual multi million agency funding numerous Barbados infrastructure projects. The question is what other countries have stopped trading with Barbados without receiving payments FIRST. Barbados is quickly falling further into the financial abyss. New government is talking a lot but little concrete action other than the IMF invite. It is still to be determined what actions IMF will demand and more importantly what actions the government will actually proceed with.

Time will tell, unfortunately time is becoming increasingly SHORT.

10. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE She is the Prime Minister and head of the government with a 30-0 mandate.

Understand?

YEAH…..WE UNDERSTAND.

WE UNDERSTAND THAT SHE DOING SHITE

WE UNDERSTAND THAT SHE IS A DICTATOR

WE UNDERSTAND THAT SHE IS DIGGING HER OWN GRAVE

WE UNDERSTAND THAT POWER GONE TO SHE HEAD

WE UNDERSTAND THAT PRIDE GOETH BEFORE A FALL

YEAH…..WE UNDERSTAND.

WE UNDERSTAND. WELL

11. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ David BU

Was declaring suspension of payment to foreign creditors really inevitable?

What were the conditions attached to the Credit Suisse Loan? Were these conditions negotiable?

What long term effect of declaring a default has on Barbados creditability?

In Economics and Finance there is NEVER an Hobsons choice.

12. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ David BU

We need to dig a bit deeper. We need to think outside the box. Is this all the taxpayers deserve after 60 years of subsidized secondary and tertiary education?

13. @Bernard

Agree with you and as you know the blogmaster will take a provocative stance to ensure all sides of the argument is given space. The use of Hobson’s Choice was chosen because the bevy of financial advisors of a local and international flavor took the decision to advise default. To echo your position, would we not like to know the inputs that informed the decision? Of course we would!

14. GP sums it all up !
    Enough said

15. @Blogmaster
    Have you heard any whispers about the recent IMF discussions?

With the government’s Army of Economic and Communications Personnel (AECP) surely we should be hearing something about the IMF’s dictates by now?

A. Dullard

16. The worst part of Mia decision are the creditors response which all but concludes that they are not happy with the way govt handled the matter
    A reaction which in clarity states they were not included
    Furthermore it is going to be all most impossible for barbados govt when at negotiation table to present an argument favourable to trust

17. I was told not so long ago that “a country cannot tax its way out of a recession”! What has changed to invalidate that statement?

18. But when the DLP borrowed that loan from Credit Suisse, with those onerous conditions, who did they consult? What about the fingerprinting of citizens? This Mariposa character fascinates me. All of a sudden consultation is important; all of a sudden privatisation is good.😒

19. Georgie Porgie Avatar

re Is this all the taxpayers deserve after 60 years of subsidized secondary and tertiary education?

WE TALK A LOT OF SHITE ABOUT THIS ALL THE TIME

BUT IT IS FOLK UP ON THE HILL
    AND SOME THAT WENT UP DE HILL TO LEARN AND THEN WENT TO PARLIAMENT THAT HAS SCREWED UP THINGS

SOME SAW THAT PEOPLE WITH SUPERIOR BRAINS AND IDEAS COULD NOT EVEN WORK IN POSITIONS TO INFLUENCE GOOD FOR THE COUNTRY

AND THEN MORONS ASK Is this all the taxpayers deserve after 60 years of subsidized secondary and tertiary education?

I HAVE SEEN SOME OF OUR BEST BRAINS JUST RUN AWAY

I HAVE A BEHIND THE SCENES RELATIVE IN THE BLP WHO NEVER CAME TO MY HOME, COME ONE EVENING DURING THE LAST BLP REIGN TO SAY “MAN LS, YOU BETTER LEAVE BOUT HERE, THERE IS NUTTIN BOUT HEY LEFF FUH YOU!”

THERE IS MUCH MORE THAT CAN BE SAID
    THERE ARE MANY MORE TALES THAT CAN BE GIVEN BUT YET WE HERE DUMMIES ASKING REPEATEDLY Is this all the taxpayers deserve after 60 years of subsidized secondary and tertiary education?

IT AINT GOT NUTTIN AT ALL TO DO WID 60 years of subsidized secondary and tertiary education

20. @GP

I would go a step further and state that the best brains are better off “running away”.

21. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE Ping Pong July 9, 2018 10:06 AM

I was told not so long ago that “a country cannot tax its way out of a recession”! What has changed to invalidate that statement?

NOTHING HAS REALLY CHANGED SIR……WITH RESPECT TO THAT AXIOM

WHAT HAS CHANGED IS THAT YOU HAVE ANOTHER DICTATOR WITH A LARGER ENTOURAGE OF DUMMIES IN TOW WHO THINK THEY CAN REFUTE THE INREFUTABLE

WHAT HAS CHANGED IS THAT YOU HAVE ANOTHER DICTATOR WITH A LARGER ENTOURAGE OF DUMMIES IN TOW WHO THINK THEY CAN CHANGE THE UNCHANGEABLE

22. On 24th July, 2014 in the Daily Nation, Mr Clyde Mascoll wrote:

“In an economy with a growth problem, fiscal policy has to be analysed as a possible source of the problem. The Government chose to tax its way out of an economic recession; the evidence is clear that it failed.

In the face of evidence that the more taxes imposed on the economy the less revenue is being collected, the Government refuses to ignore its own ignorance. It first taxed expenditure in the economy; when this failed it taxed incomes; when the latter failed it taxed assets.

The Barbados economy is smaller in 2014 than it was in 2007 mainly because it has been put in a stranglehold by an unfortunate set of fiscal policies. The two agents – households and businesses – that need the most breathing space during a recession were suffocated to keep the Government alive.”

Four years later Prime Minister M.A. Mottley in her first budgetary presentation applied a net increase of $300 million in taxes on Barbadians. I will conclude that she does not consult with Ambassador Mascoll, economic advisor to the Minister of Finance.

23. Georgie Porgie Avatar

A. Dullard July 9, 2018 10:18 AM

I would go a step further and state that the best brains are better off “running away”.

YA AINT LIE SIR!
    RUNNING AWAY IS BETTER THAN STAYING TO WATCH MEDIOCRE FOOLS AT WORK
    SOME OF US ARE UNABLE TO SUFFER FOOLS GLADLY

YESTERDAY I FELL OFF MY CHAIR WHEN I READ THAT BU HAS PUT OUT A BODY OF WORK THAT CAN BE SCRUTINIZED

IS BU THE LANCET? OR BMJ? OR NEJM? ETC ETC
    OR IS IT VOLUMES OF DAILY DRIVEL ABOUT WHICH THE ONLY CORRECT DIAGNOSIS MUST BE RESOUNDINGLY DELUSIONS OF GRANDEUR!

24. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ GP at 10 :19 PM

So that is where they are ? Away ? What a pity? What a level of commitment , responsibility and gratitude ?

25. Ping Pong
    Yuh gotta breakdown the $300M though–locals, businesses, recurrent, one-off, tourists etc etc.

26. @wily Coyote

In Canada, CIDA(Canadian International Developement Agency) announced last week that there will be no further trading with Barbados unless payment is received in forgien currency prior to goods being transferred. CIDA is a major annual multi million agency funding numerous Barbados infrastructure projects.

Where did you get your information above? CIDA is our aid agency. AID. Any projects funded by CIDA in Barbados is done as aid….. Another thing, all material is sourced in Canada, consultants are Canadian, etc. Therefore the money more or less stays here.

27. If selling of assets that are costly to govt purse is Privatization so be it
    Furthermore those two assests can not demand a fair market value since their value has depreciated considerably because of its debt profile
    Therefore the bottom line lies in whether govt should continue to subsidize them at a loss or sell them to generate revenue
    Mia spin the top and said keep tge entities and the end result of her decision shows a hastiness form out of a political vernacular and a cause for her to default on govt debt.
    A default which pushed and tied her hand into making irrational decisions and a rush to impose higher and more taxation

28. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

I am of the humble opinion that Northern Observer is a banker of many years with experience in Barbados And expertise of a deeper type in Canada as opposed to the United States.

He speaks like a man who is knowledgeable of the innards of the instruments than now attend the sovereign debt of Barbados but is professionally bound NOT TO COMMENT ON SAME but seeks to give some advice as to what is the reality facing us.

There are two points that he makes that while instructive WILL BE LOST ON THE CURRENT LOT AS WELL

1.There is a cadre of bajan WHO I’D NOT “B OR D” BUT IS BARBADIAN.

You did not listen to such people then AND SURROUNDED AS YOU ARE BY A SIMILAR SLEW OR DUFUSES YOU WILL NOT LISTEN TO US NOW.

2.The second point that he has made is that this is about generating Foreign Exchange.

Foreign creditors are not interested in holding worthless domestic collateral.

And unless you Mottley recognise that YOU WILL BE A 5 YEAR GOVERNMENT, governing a Chernobyl wasteland.

@ Mr. Bernard Codrington

You also have been speaking to a partisan audience who have NOT BEEN LISTENING.

You have been saying in so many ways that Mottley Ill advisedly effected the required “stop payment” that HAD SHE HAD YOUR EXPERTISE OR THAT OF COMPETENT PERSONS, would have been achieved without the blemish that now attends the path forward.

Here is the thing Mr Codrington

HOW DOES MADAMOISELLE PRIME MINISTER MOTTLEY reach out to people like you or Northern Observer to get non partisan advice?

How can she do this when she is bent on the WE GOT THIS CAMPAIGN?

AND tell me king sure, in your humble opinion, what is your estimate of the time she has BEFORE THE COUNTRY IMPLODES?

29. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Bernard Codrington July 9, 2018 10:39 AM

@ GP at 10 :19 PM

So that is where they are ? Away ? What a pity? What a level of commitment , responsibility and gratitude ?

WHAT A PITY INDEED!

WITH RESPECT TO GRATITUDE, I HAVE SEEN GOOD MEN COME BACK HOME AND MISTREATED BY INFERIORS

THERE IS AN IDIOT CALLED SIR TREVOR HASSELL WHO SAYS HE IS A CARDIOLOGIST WHO RAN THE RETURNING REAL AND TRAINED CARDIOLOGIST DR ATHERLEY FROM BARBADOS IN THE LATE 70’S

THERE IS A LAD FROM THE TURNING DID NOT COME BACK…SMART FELLA

SIMILARLY THE LATE SIR AC GRAHAM RAN DR THEO TALMA AWAY

I SAW SIR HENRY MEK A MEDICAL STUDENT LAD WID A PhD SEE SHITE AT QEH JUST BECAUSE HE WAS NOT WHITE AND BECAUSE HE HAD A PhD

AND I CAN GO ON

FORGET THE TALK BOUT commitment , responsibility and gratitude SIR.

SOME HAD TO RUN BACK TO A PLACE WHERE THEY WERE SAFE , EVEN THOUGH IN A FOREIGN LAND, WHERE THINGS CAN BE HARD BECAUSE OF RACE.

30. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Wily Coyote

You have to be careful how you respond here else you will reveal your familial incontrovertible sources

You would have to let them know how CIDA works and such detail given its complexity will expose your hand

So much the pity because then bajans (pun intended) would be aware of “to each other so interlinked are, that thou candy not pluck a flower without troubling a star…”

31. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with a recent item again thank you

32. @A.Dullard

The IMF team is in town info gathering. We will not hear anything until there is serious discussion with government at the end of the exercise. Clearly there will be some pain. Bear in mind the former government sat on the recommendations to rationalize the SOEs as one example. Many loans were booked at high rates because of our junk rating. Treasury Officers at the Institutional investors with government securities must be raising grey hairs.

33. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Cans’t not* not candy predictive text and ole english

34. @ BC July 9, 2018 10:39 AM

What a level of commitment , responsibility and gratitude ?
    Commitment to whom? A country that is not committed to them?
    Responsible to whom? An irresponsible government?
    Grateful to whom? An ungrateful people?

35. Ping Pong slowly but surely the lies and deceit spewed by the blp would float to the top
    That article by Mascoll is an example that when the blp was crticizing govt for taxation there mouthings was just a bunch of political hogwash to win an election
    Cause lo and behold within one week of goverence they have pushed taxation beyond the reach of the average household.

shoes are dropping

36. @ GP @ 9:03 a.m.

Well said.Its the truth,the whole truth and nothing but the truth.Hopefully for some the eyes of their understanding will be enlightened.

37. @ David July 9, 2018 11:12 AM

Many thanks for the response! And yes, “Treasury Officers at the Institutional investors with government securities must be raising grey hairs”.

In truth, BBD Govt paper has been an elevated (and deteriorating) credit risk for some time and the default would not have been a surprise to astute investors. Of course recognizing the risk is one thing; being able to mitigate it might not be so straightforward.

38. Georgie Porgie Avatar

A. Dullard July 9, 2018 11:19 AM

@ BC July 9, 2018 10:39 AM

What a level of commitment , responsibility and gratitude ?
    Commitment to whom? A country that is not committed to them?
    Responsible to whom? An irresponsible government?
    Grateful to whom? An ungrateful people?

MANY DID SHOW THEIR GRATITUDE, COMMITMENT, AND RESPOSIBILITY

I SOUGHT TO WORK FOR THE GOB
    I ACTUALLY WORKED ACTING IN SOME POSTS IN WHICH THE HOLDER WAS A NON BARBADIAN…….AND STILL IS…EVEN THOUGH HIS WIFE TOLD ME PERSONALLY THAT HE HATES IT BECAUSE OF ITS INCONVENIENCE

IF THERE IS SO MUCH THAT I CAN SAY……….ONE WONDERS WHAT MANY MANY OTHERS CAN SAY

39. I also submit that the tea leaves would reveal the digusting and more so deceitful practices that were cooked up between Commissiong and Mottley to sabotage the national interest .
    ..so disguting were these two underpinnings that it makes one puke
    However not to discount that the Hyatt would have been an asset during barbados negotiation in ways helping to create a positive debt profile and in addition creating growth
    But NO! Mia self to a right of rule took precedent and has taken us down a path where our creditworthiness is not worth what patty shot at not to mention our trust
    Now in the months ahead the spin doctors and blp yatdfowls would contiune their political chorus as goes The DLP got barbados in debt which is a lie
    However the question to be asked of the blp who gave the PM the right of passage to add more debt with a massive extension of ministers and consultants that taxpayers will have to pay

40. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Bernard, your assertion that “In Economics and Finance there is NEVER an Hobsons choice” cannot stand a test in theory or practice….I get the thrust that at a macro level a PM can finagle and tinkering with various budgetary processes fiscal and monetary to stave off the supposed inevitability of Messrs Hobson but YOU know quite well that such tinkerings in themselves are ‘forced choices’ often times more deleterious than the direct and very public decision to access the IMF or other draconian international assistance.

Small economies like ours HAVE to make those hard economic/financial choices when matters become untenable…let’s ask the Greeks about Hobson or for that matter ask the Brits…is the entire Brexit matter and most definitely the final decision for hard or soft exit not precisely the form of action made famous with the paraphrase invocation of Hobson’s “you can chose any horse you want but the one right there in the front is the one you have to ride today”.

What other practical horse in the economic stable did this government have to ride??

@Mariposa….steeupse…give it a rest, will you!

YOU of DLP misactions galore, self serving decisions in the thousands actually have the gall or bile or inanity to opine that : “The country is not a single entity but consist of many factions and factors who should be involved as shareholders as should at least be called upon to give an opinion”.

You must be effing kidding, have amazingly complex multi personalities or just simply a humbug! Steeeupse.

On govt actions/behaviours your commentaries are absolute GARBAGE…or should that be sewerage running from your mouth! BTW, why has the effluence stopped on the south coast? Was it sabotage or have the new operators simply masked the problem and it will explode again?

I would readily read a detailed review from you (after you consult with your colleagues) on why things are now as they are compared to your apparent incompetence!

…apologies for calling you (and team) a humbug and inane 🤣 oh and incompetent …so just deal with that real issue of the sewerage plz and leave off the petty brickbats. Much thnx.

41. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Wily
    CIDA ceased to exist many years ago, it was rolled into Global Affairs Canada. CIDA funded international projects. I suspect you may be referring to the EDC, Export Development Canada? It was the EDC which announced it was pulling blanket coverage on transactions related to Barbados, and placing them on a case by case basis.

42. @Bajans

Your correct CIDA is an AID organization, it however is also responsible for all COMMERECE Canada initiates, government or private with other countries and advised all private companies that starting immediately ALL TRANSACTIONS with Barbados must be prepaid in advance in forgien currency.

The concern is to protect Canadian companies not getting paid by a country in Sovergien Default, KEEP CANADA GREAT.

43. Again confirming, emphasizing, highlighting the destructiveness of the 11 plus mentalities..that ended up in the parliament and in positions of small island power at institution’s like QEH etc at taxpayer’s expense

“BUT IT IS FOLK UP ON THE HILL
    AND SOME THAT WENT UP DE HILL TO LEARN AND THEN WENT TO PARLIAMENT THAT HAS SCREWED UP THINGS

SOME SAW THAT PEOPLE WITH SUPERIOR BRAINS AND IDEAS COULD NOT EVEN WORK IN POSITIONS TO INFLUENCE GOOD FOR THE COUNTRY

SOME HAD TO RUN BACK TO A PLACE WHERE THEY WERE SAFE , EVEN THOUGH IN A FOREIGN LAND, WHERE THINGS CAN BE HARD BECAUSE OF RACE.”

44. @Nortern Observer

Your absoulutily correct, governments are always in a state of flux and the axioms keep being updated or adjusted, the fact remains no TRANSACTIONS with Barbados without prepayment or backed by hard assets.

45. Georgie Porgie Avatar

@ A. Dullard & BC

wITH RESPECT TO GRATITUDE, COMMITMENT, AND RESPONSIBILITY

IN THE LATE 90’S I HELPED OUT THE BCC WHEN A SUPERVISOR OF THE PHARMACY PROGRAM WAS UNAVAILABLE RECOVERING FROM A MAMMARY MALADY BY TEACHING THE FIRST YEAR PHARMACOLOGY COURSE

THEY GAVE ME TWO EXPENSIVE BOOKS WHICH I REALIZED THAT THE STUDENTS COULD NOT REALLY AFFORD

I WAS NOT YET INTO COMPUTERS

SO EACH WEEK I WOULD PHOTO COPY PAGES FROM THOSE TEXTS AND FROM OTHER SUITABLE SOURCES AND LITERALLY CUT AND PASTE THE “JUICE” AND THEN PHOTOCOPY THE RESULT

FOR THIS I WAS GETTING $45 BDS BEFORE TAX PER SESSION

AT THAT TIME THE COURSE WAS GOING FOR 22 YEARS………..BUT THERE WAS NO MANUAL PREPARED BY THE STAFF FOR THE COURSE

WHEN I PRESENTED MY MANUAL TO THE SUPERVISOR AT THE END OF THE YEAR……..SHE CLAIMED THAT SHE LOST IT.

THE NEXT TIME THE COURSE WAS OFFERED THEY ASKED A YOUNGER WOMAN WITH A NERVOUS BREAKDOWN TO TEACH THE COURSE BECAUSE THE MAN IN CHARGE OF THE DIVISION SOUGHT TO GAIN ENTRY INTO PORTALS COVERED BY FABRICS IN HER PANTS AND PANTIES

THIS IS DE TRUTE DE HOLE TRUTE AND NUTTINB BUT DE TRUTE

46. NorthernObserver Avatar

so now you dismount the unilateral horse, knowing full well the matter had much discussion, and jump on the ‘cutting losses’ bandwagon. It is a plausible concept, but neither BNTCL nor Hilton are money losers, they are revenue positive.(with assets of value) I didn’t mention the Transport Board nor QEH, which are revenue negative bodies you speak of, for all government run services are not designed to be revenue positive, they provide a valuable service. Selling BNTCL and Hilton has a negative effect on the GoB annual revenue, which exceeds their annual costs. Which is exactly why they were being sold, the private sector wants money makers not money losers.

47. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

David;

Seems to me the Mia honeymoon period has now ended for those former partisans who held strain for the last 47 days. I suspect we can now call on Bushtea to come back and give us the benefit of his pithy spot-on situational analyses.

PUDRYR, no respector of honeymoons, wrote the following above:

“HOW DOES MADAMOISELLE PRIME MINISTER MOTTLEY reach out to people like you (Mr Codrington) or Northern Observer to get non partisan advice? How can she do this when she is bent on the WE GOT THIS CAMPAIGN? AND tell me king sure, in your humble opinion, what is your estimate of the time she has BEFORE THE COUNTRY IMPLODES? “

The debate in another blog about the use of a non-national IT expert as a consultant to spearhead the new Government’s communication’s efforts dealt somewhat with these most important questions. Is the implicit policy strategy that appears to pervade that appointment likely to figure significantly in the answer to the first question? or is the approach implicit in Prodigal Son’s erstwhile providing information on BU on how to get in touch with the Ministers and other Top people likely to be the way that the Mia Government will react to and incorporate ideas by outsiders who only have the best advice for Barbados, based entirely on love of country rather than love of any party? Will the Government set up a non-partisan economic think tank?

In other words, will the BLP government be willing to accept good advice from non-partisan people of goodwill or will they go the way that seems to be implicit in the hiring of an individual (whose bonafides seem to suggest a multi island history of partisan propagandizing) to what appears to be a top position in its Communication’s arm?

Re. PUDRYR’s last question above, I think none of us who post here have the data to answer that question with any degree of accuracy. It depends on a plethora of factors that would only be transparent to current advisors to the Government. These would include the current Board members of the Central Bank (I see that Justin Robinson has been retained there, suggesting that his expertise is valued on both sides of the political fence, even though he was roundly criticized for some of his stances in the last Administration); Staff and consultants to the MInistry of Finance; etc.

The country should not implode, but imho, it can yet do so if the IMF conditionalities turn out to be largely unacceptable and the coalitions with the Private Sector and other bodies that Mia has sought to strengthen during this honeymoon period do not stand up to the pressures that will surround them.

I am hopeful that the country will not implode because I think that the apparently enlightened leadership of the Hon. Prime Minister will make the difference. I had an instant headache when the PM clearly announced that Barbados would default on our overseas loans within a few days of winning the elections. It was disparate pieces of information from non government actors, that were largely in the vein of Northern Observer’s above, that convinced me that she was on the right and perhaps only sensible path.

I think this debate is a good one at this time and that hopefully all opposing views from Barbadians and others with knowledge of the subject area will flow and that some incognito officials will give of their experiences to inform the discussion.

48. This is as good a description as any of the crap useless politicians do…and the mess they leave when they are gone.

“Politicians come and go but the problems they have created for people remain,” he tweeted. I can only regret that the idea of #Brexit has not left with Davis and Johnson. But…who knows?”

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/boris-johnson-resigns-foreign-secretary-brexit-theresa-may-david-davis-chequers-cabinet-summit-a8438836.html

Am sure the people are happy to see the back of the ugly parasite Johnson and would be even happier to see the end of Brasier May..

49. @AWTY

The challenge for the government is satisfying high expectation as reflected in the 30-0 result. The economy is in such a mess it will call for tiptoe precision how decisions are taken. From hero to villain will be something to guard against. What the Mottley government does not need is to be distracted with fluff issues that will not add value to the rebuild job.

50. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

David;

I think you have got it totally right. Most people seem to think that removing the last government was all that was necessary. It wasn’t. We have a long way to go yet. Your sentence “The economy is in such a mess it will call for tiptoe precision how decisions are taken.” says it all.