Greater love has no man than this, that he lay down his life for his friends [country]” (John 15:13) – Fr. Augustine Vallooran VC

The unprecedented 30-0 victory by the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) at the polls on 24 May 2018 created a Constitutional crisis UNTIL St. Michael West M.P. solved the problem by agreeing to be Leader of the Opposition.

Events to date confirm that the decimation of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) caught even the BLP leadership by surprise- tinkering with the Constitution – always a messy business – with a basket of pressing issues to confront from Day 1 is not what Prime Minister Mia Mottley has the appetite for at this time.

In the short term Atherley has made the sacrifice to cross the floor to assume the Leader of the Opposition role. His monthly salary will jump from 60K to 129K per annum but this is the smaller issue. He has averted the need for Mia to tangle with the issue of making deep amendments to the Constitution of Barbados at an early stage in her administration. Ask yourself, which member of parliament crosses the floor after one week of being elected without first declaring his grievances to his constituents and the wider public as a matter of courtesy?

Atherley’s decision to assume the Opposition role is obviously strategic. A ‘sympathetic’ leader of the Opposition in the House of Assembly opens up a pathway for Prime Minister Mia Mottley to attack governance issues, more importantly it removes the nettlesome issue of making significant amendments to the Constitution at an early period in her tenure.

The blogmaster is pleased that the citizens of Barbados have a front row seat to observe the fragility of the democracy we practice exposed. It should be a learning opportunity we grasp with both hands. A past US President Thomas Jefferson is credited with saying that “Eternal vigilance is the price of freedom”.  Now more than ever in our history if the democracy we practice is to work as envisaged by the framers of the Constitution, people and stakeholder participation will be critical. The level of apathy and disaffection by citizens is well documented on BU’s pages.

We need to participate in our government in ways we have not done up to now.  We hope Bishop Joseph will live up to the biblical meaning of his name.

325 responses to “Bishop Joseph Atherley Saves the Day!”

1. Is the bishop joining the ranks of the Barbados Prostitution Party or the Democratic “Labour” Party?

2. Are they mad?

… or just desperate?

3. TURD WORLD at its BEST.

4. A week in and there is the already potential for chaos. Changes to the constitution, not to improve the nation, but that chosen people could become senators. Why?
    Has Avi |Persaud met the residency qualification? Is he our next governor of the central bank? The sad thing about all this is that the person likely to suffer most is the prime minister’s uncle, our best cultural historian, who should be brought in to the fold to head up our cultural economy. Instead, he is likely to be marginalised.

5. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Even I, poor sinner and backslider am not worthy of the sacrifice of My Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ, rise with sanctimonious indignation and humbly suggest that that verse of John 3.16 be removed from this article.

For two reasons.

While people like me would not call a fatwah on the party who would have wrote it, it belittles those words thst are indicative of some of us’ Lord. (forgive the construct)

Secondly, for those who know the man, and whence he originated, and his past ***, such a comparison is indeed infradig to Christ and it seems to be equating this man to Jesus the Christ, King of Kings and Lord of Lords

Too far East is West…

6. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

David Mr Blogmaster,this is politics at its absolute best for the MP which in short is at its worst for the constituents.

Makes practical sense for Atherley personally but otherwise should be a disaster for the folks he ostensibly represents (all Bajans).

From your piece above I am unclear if you are being sarcastic and laughing at the Bajan electorate or just being facetious to note that “In the short term Atherley has made the sacrifice to cross the floor to assume the Leader of the Opposition role.[…] He has averted the need for Mia to tangle with the issue of making deep amendments to the Constitution of Barbados at an early stage in her administration.”

He has made a sacrifice of what and for whom? And what grave peril does the PM face in being decisive and purposeful to rectify a small glitch in the Bdos constitution?

Frankly, this appears more as political grandstanding and posturing rather than real zeal and courageous leadership.

Is this a ‘makedo’ with the PM’s blessing? How does a single man effectuate the role of political opposition to policies which until yesterday he was firmly aligned? Who are the teammates with whom he will battle (in Senate and otherwise) and will he really up for a battle?

Does Atherley have the ambition to lead an opposition into an election or is this as you suggest a mere stop-gap act to salve a fabricated constitutional crisis: there was nothing related to the role of leader of the opposition that could not have been RESOLVED and allow our governance to proceed, thus this was a false argument of a crisis.

The die has been cast…Tammany Hall style political back room maneuvers done in the full glare of social media’s intrusive and continuous probing…so what’s done in the back will come to the fore…let the Rev and all others be aware.

Incidentally how apropos you are to boldly note that “A ‘sympathetic’ leader of the Opposition in the House of Assembly opens up a pathway for Prime Minister Mia Mottley to attack (??) governance issues”….I think you mean to MAMAGUY on governance issues.

Just when we thought we had started to clean the swamp, voila a new set of swamp creatures take up residence!

” Ask yourself, which member of parliament crosses the floor after one week of being elected without first declaring his grievances to his constituents and the wider public as a matter of courtesy?”

The new-old government MPs of course.

What a nest of vipers we abide!

7. Bishop Joe cannot represent “those who do not support the Government” because they did not put him there to do that!!

They did not vote for the “conscience” of the BLP!!

This is utter rot!!

Mia should have gone to the GG and called fresh elections as she was sworn in as Prime Minister.

Anyway, the GG has to apply her discretion.

Bishop Joe should be expelled from Parliament as being a lunatic.

I am sure being a lunatic disqualifies anyone from holding a seat in Parliament.

Whoever put him up to this must have their sanity questioned and be expelled too.

Maybe that is the way to get an opposition, expel a few and hold by-elections for the vacancies created.

Naaah, all got to go!!

8. @John

You have made the point about calling another general election about 50 times on the blog, chill.

9. This is crazy.

Has the BLP just handed the Government to the DLP?

10. @Dee Word

You may apply the interpretation you want to the blog post to make a point.

11. Whatever may or may not be said of Bobby Morris, he is wise beyond comprehension.

The DLP is earning its seats in Parliament and it is doing so by not driving a stroke!!

Have we heard even a word from the DLP since elections?

Biding time!!!

12. Persaud is being labeled ‘economic advisor’. The contract of Governor Haynes was renewed by the former government.

13. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

“Damned if she do* (change the Barbados Constitution) and damned if she don’t (have Atherley create an Opposition person)”

*purposed bad English

14. Hamilton Hill Avatar

@ David…..not for one minute do I accept your interpretation. I hold fast to my belief that anytime that the title Bishop, Rev or Pastor is preceding a name recognize that the almighty they serve is not the same as yours. Theirs is the almighty dollar. One term and done.Like Dr Mascoll he too has removed himself from elective politics.

15. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Those who are opposing need to read the constitution…the GG is following it to the letter…if ya want to sue someone. ..sue the palace via london privy council.

This makes it a whole lot easier for Mia to reform the constitution. ..after starting to work on the priorities…..

Again…the constitution does not recognize POLITICAL PARTIES…ONLY CANDIDATES/WINNERS…turned ministers/MPs….when they are elected…by the people.

I see Jeff will have to repeat this 1000 times a day, because I will not.

16. Wow… We seem to want to go round and round the mulberry bush,
    Mr Atherley can do exactly as he wants until he loses in an election or is recalled (I don’t think we have that).
    It’s not rocket science, though we pretend it is.

17. Hamilton Hill Avatar

Assuming that such a young and supposedly vibrant team can walk and chew gum at the same time, now is as good a time as any to look at comprehensive constitutional change.It has to happen. If not now, very soon.

18. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

There is no DLP Party…it does not exist…yall political party animals will have to learn to adapt to that blessing….yardfowls already realize that they are no more,

19. David
    I am convinced this was the contingency plan and the reason why Atherley was not named in the Cabinet. I also believe that the BLP knew 30-0 was a possibility from their polling and why Atherley was so prominent throughout the campaign. If I am sensing correctly, the PAC will be the main focus of Bishop Atherley’s work. Remember few days ago Bishop Joe had no issues with the Cabinet. #kaymarfooledagain?

20. @enuff

Let us see how it plays out.

It is a dangerous game being played.

21. To be honest, I have been unable to follow the discussion about the constitution (amend or not).

At the end of the day, nothing will change. New laws will be trotted out but not followed
    No one will be jailed
    Knowing that after my time, it is your time will act as a limiter on what will be done.
    It’s all scratch grain

Let’s wish Mia is able to do a good job given the numerous constraints she is faced with.

22. David
    What danger? The people gave the BLP a majority in Parliament, and they are still the majority. The Bishop’s constituents will be rewarded like the other 29. Parliament can now convene and work started officially, and if we get the kind of reform needed and somebody at least made go pay back the Treasury, then all Bdos would be happy.

John
    Find another story to peddle.🤣🤣

23. A master move of the PM, worthy is the comrade, now both Government and Opposition is in her hands, such loyalty. Barbados is in the making for great exploits. The WISDOM OF GOD PREVEILS AWAYS AND FOR EVER.

24. @ David
    “It is a dangerous game being played.”

Unfortunately THIS IS NOT A GAME, even though ignorant politicians assume otherwise. Present presumed government have escalated the South Coast Sewage issues up a notch to Sovereign Conststutional caousus.

25. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

Just saw the news about Atherly assuming the role of Leader of the Opposition. I am now trying to digest it.

My preliminary impression it that it is a workable, albiet contrived, solution to the Constitutional problem but that it could give rise to a real opposition presence in the Senate if Bishop Atherly chooses 2 people from Solutions and UPP as his nominees for the Senate positions.

I think that Bishop Atherly is capable of honestly fighting real opposition concerns that will appear during this term and that Solutions and UPP will certainly be looking to put their stamp to be the real opposition in 5 years time if he does the right thing. I do not think that the DLP should be afforded any of the 2 Senatorial seats. If Bishop Atherly chooses any of them or even 2 people with faint BLP credentials the writing will be on the wall.

John; your instincts were basically right even if delivered in a flawed manner.

26. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

Just looked at John’s posts of last night. I take back my last paragraph above.
    John is still essentially wrongheaded and wrong in most of the positions with which he bludgeoned the blog..

27. ADAMS and Mc COMMIE can be become retroactive, and suitable resident proposals offered (not written in stone), they can make their contributions still and can enter politics the normal route if so desired.

“Watch ma, and I will show you what I (by the grace of GOD) will do”

28. Again…the constitution does not recognize POLITICAL PARTIES…ONLY CANDIDATES/WINNERS…turned ministers/MPs….when they are elected…by the people.

You see the fatal flaw in your logic

You are NOT dividing the people into two groups … those who voted B … and those who did not vote B.

The members of the House of Assembly were not elected by those who did not vote B.

I did not elect one of these BLP members of the house of assembly.

Not one did I choose.

I am part of the people yes, but I did not choose any of the members in the House of Assembly.

I am not represented in it.

But that is ok, once someone is there to represent the group of people who do not support the Government to which I belong like tens of thousands of other people.

27-3 worked because there was an opposition and a leader of the opposition.

29-1 could work too.

But it is not ok for not one single representative who does not support the Government not to be in the House of Assembly.

Got it?

You are not thinking clearly.

You are saying something and holding it as gospel but you do not understand and have not thought clearly about what you are saying in the sentence above.

I did that too when I quoted a verse from the Bible, correctly yes, but not with a clear understanding of why it did not belong in the discussion.

Your sentence is wrong to begin with.

What I think you mean to say is

“Again…the constitution does not recognize POLITICAL PARTIES…ONLY CANDIDATES/WINNERS…turned ministers/MPs….when they are elected…by the people WHO VOTED BEEEEEEE!!.

You are contradicting your assertion that the constitution does not recognize political parties by assuming once a candidate wins that candidate was elected by the people which is the opposite to what I think you mean ….. you have amended the constitution to fit your lack of understanding.

The constitution does not recognize parties, only those members who support the government and those members who do not.

The Do’s and the Do Nots

Not the B’s, the D’s the SD’s the UPP’s, the BIM’s, the PEP’s or whatever

Interestingly, Independents would be recognized as those who do not support the Government at the start.

Suppose there was a single Independent and that person decided to start supporting the Government …. AND DECLARED THAT FACT?

Does the whole pack of cards collapse and do elections need to be called?

Reverend Joe has to be crazy and Mia crazier talking about the conscience of the BLP.

To impose that instability on the Government of Barbados from the beginning is crazy!!

Did the conscience of the BLP register as a candidate?

29. @David

“Enuff” has an insider’s view so you can’t discredit his statement especially when one looks at the quick sequence of events. The Rev. informed the PM and simultaneously produced the letter from the GG confirming that he is leader of the Opposition.

There is still a Constitutional amendment to be made the matter of residency qualification has to be done in order for the two Senators to be confirmed but the immediacy of the non- existent LOO’s appointment of two Opposition Senators has been averted, unless of course the Gov’t wants to avert the possibility of it happening again.

Folks should stop worrying about the Rev’s defection from the BLP, he is not going to be a “Horatio at the Bridge” stopping an invading army.

Lastly, I will be unduly harsh in my suggestion for the name of his party of one, let’s call it “Put Income in my Pocket Party or PIMPP.

30. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Enuff, you have said here that you are no BLP insider so your musings are just …as obscure and irrelevant as anything I say about the workings of your party. And that is a good thing otherwise you would have accused your PM and key colleagues of attempting to perpetrate a fraud on we good (foolish) Bajans.

You mused that “I am convinced this was the contingency plan and the reason why Atherley was not named in the Cabinet. I also believe that the BLP knew 30-0 was a possibility from their polling and why Atherley was so prominent throughout the campaign.”

So according to your creative right brain synapses firing the PM planned this big foot move as soon as she realized the DLP were going to be wiped out thus rather than drop one or two members from contesting the election outright (with suitable promise for gain with other appointment) she allowed this ‘crisis’ to develop. OK!

You are showing your leader as being deceitful and lacking integrity …not a good look! LOLL

And then you further surmise that “If I am sensing correctly, the PAC will be the main focus of Bishop Atherley’s work.”

Oh lawd, straight to jail you, he and the PM should go.

You are saying that although the PAC has not functioned in the past only or primarily to a lack of govt MPs to form a quorum; and that although said committee’s purpose is to hold parliament/Cabinet accountable for spending both matters which can be perfectly achieved by a transparent and honest BLP administration, that the PM would need to effect some elaborate scheme just to get a PAC in place!

LOLL. What a awesome proposal of utter devious design.

Good thing you are not an insider bro because you just would have told the world that this government is every bit as nefarious, bold and untrustworthy as the one before..or rather much better.

Thanks for the ‘almost’ heads up….You are absolutely so right tho not intended 🙂 !

#MorethngschangemoretheMAM

31. @enuff

We will have to judge by outcome with the effluxion of time.

In a contrived situation it will be important for Mia to assure constructive outcomes from the overwhelming mandate of the 24 May 2018.

32. David
    I am convinced this was the contingency plan and the reason why Atherley was not named in the Cabinet.

You have to be joking, they have been rumbled and are desperate beating bout for a solution.

It is a knee jerk reaction, poorly thought out bordering on the lunatic.

If that is what we can expect from these members of the House of Assembly before a Senate is even born, heaven help Barbados when there is finally a Parliament.

For the 51st time, call elections.

33. In a contrived situation it will be important for Mia to assure constructive outcomes from the overwhelming mandate

Mia does not have a mandate.

She may in the future have a contrived mandate but never a mandate!!

Saner heads need to prevail.

34. If there is an opposition and a Senate can be formed and Parliament exist, then if they want, make a proposal for a constitutional change and put it to a referendum.

35. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

I would not trust any politician who heard the people singing praises to the “framers of the constitution” and invoking the names of Barrow and Adams, mainly because they were lawyers….as the fathers of this Constitution whom everyone thought were responsible for creating it, hence this slavelike devotion to 2 political parties…so much time wasted on that, though had I seen it to read earlier I would have told them they were delusional..

…..and . …who….none of these politicians, ministers senatorsv bothered to tell the people in the last 52 years. ..that none of them were responsible for drafting the constitution and they all knew/know it…and kept that information to themselves.

For years I was hearing rumors, but never any details,…I guess that could have been attributed to death bed confessions by those close enough to the situation and who did not want to carry that ugly secret to the grave with them.

Like another of my daughter said…enslaved by a lie…

I would be more concerned about this local arm of the UK privy council that operates outside the boundaries of local courts….which means their allegiance and oath, just like everyone else in parliament….are only to the UK.

…Fruendel once claimed to be a member of this secret council, which highlights why he never felt bounded to the supreme court or CCJ decisions, still has no respect fir any of the judges and vehemently resented them when the decision was not what he wanted to hear, which is not surprising since he has little to no scruples and even less integrity….and for some reason could not keep his 2 roles seperate.

Not for nothing, but the time I heard Bille goat Miller got up in UK and said that bajans were the “best slaves the british had”;/still have in my estimation, I knew something was very, very wrong with the mental state of the bajan politician…even if she was right.

36. .. assuming elections result in an opposition and that likelihood just rose exponentially.

Just dread the pendulum swinging back and getting saddled with another DLP government

But Mia will be to blame!!

She should have preempted all this as she was sworn in.

37. Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV (formerly CBC TV & Radio) Avatar
    Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV (formerly CBC TV & Radio)

The logic really escapes my as to why Bishop Atherley would do it other than him coming with an argument that he did it for the good of country and good “governance” by providing an Opposition….Also i stand to be corrected but i think our constitution does not recognize… political parties..within the bounds of Parliament… so technically he can do what he is doing and not have to break ranks with the BLP as a political party (but it will earn him less friends in the BLP). Also he has to explain why he did it just 7 days after earning his seat and ran a campaign under a BLP ticket and now seemingly betraying his constituents that voted for him
    Really what he is doing is a distraction….especially in light of yesterday’s press conference by the Right Hon Mia Mottley…highlighting the serious malfeasance of the DEMs in the dying days of the last term…..But it didn’t take a rocket scientist to detect that the DEMs were up to no good when they allow parliament to dissolve it self. The DEMS are criminals and they are now TOO shame to accept the offer from Prime Minister Mia Mottley of the two seats in the Senate. Believe you me Madam Mottley the more you uncover the the SHIIIITTTEEE the DEMS, did the more settled your conscience will be whether the DEMS accept your offer or not….The DEMS are a childish bunch of CRIMINALS.

38. Not for nothing, but the time I heard Bille goat Miller got up in UK and said that bajans were the “best slaves the british had”;/still have in my estimation, I knew something was very, very wrong with the mental state of the bajan politician…even if she was right.

The slave population amounted to 80K when emancipation took place.

In all 800K were freed in the British Empire, a small fraction of the slaves world wide.

Over inflated ego of a politician engaged in the politics of illusion!!

… or maybe Barbados is a World Heritage Site because the idea of emancipation started here … and the US too… through the Quakers.

Maybe we can get Barbados looking beautiful again and promote its true history and … benefit the Tourist Sector!!

Simple idea and I got another one too!!

39. Can I suggest that the Reverend save another institution? Since he is styled as a “Bishop” he should submit his CV to the Anglican Church I hear it is looking for a Bishop.

40. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“You are NOT dividing the people into two groups … those who voted B … and those who did not vote B.”

The people are not supposed to be divided into groups or tribes……their votes mandates only the candidates whom they individually or severally elected as their representive MPs…

Everything else is politician created, self serving, voter brainwashed bullshit which does not mirror the constitution, none of it has any relationship to reality..

It is not rocket science.

So glad ya got reeled into the SB crap…lol.

41. Reverend Joe will lose his seat in the next election!!!

He may not even run

It will be through him that “those opposed to the Government” can get into the House of Assembly.

But Mia might still end up as its leader if the Bee’s are the majority of “those opposed to the Government”!!

… that is if she has a thick enough skin to hold the lashes from not only her party, but everyone else!!

… AND … of course if she doesn’t lose her seat.

From Hero to Zero in days … that’s politics

42. Maybe the bishop serves a specific purpose. MAM et al found out that Barbados is 110 % bankrupt. At least they were honest enough to declare it in front of a TV camera. Thank you! They first HONEST press release from Barbadian gov since TEN years. Thank you! They also figured out that the Demonics try to bind the hands of the new gov.

Then they decided to nuke down the Demonics even as opposition. We do not need Big Sinck or another Demonic in the senate.

Not a single seat for the Demonics in the senate! No posting as ambassador, CEO or anything else. No free ride anymore.

43. Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV (formerly CBC TV & Radio) Avatar
    Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV (formerly CBC TV & Radio)

@ John…..The logic of new elections just 7 days later….is just asinine especially since it was a 30-0 victory and the margins of victory were very large…..30-0 could very well be the result of new elections especially now Prime Minister Mia Mottley revealed some of the SHITTTEEEE the DEMS did. It would have been easier for parliamentarians to cross the floor to form an Opposition especially under our constitution and in light of the type of victory the BLP gained.

44. The people are not supposed to be divided into groups or tribes

This is your understanding of real life?

People are comprised of individuals who think and act differently.

45. David

Love the article more for what it is not saying than what it is saying.Luv it too bad.ha,ha,ha.

46. Georgie Porgie Avatar

THE PENCHANT FOR TAKING SCRIPTURES OUT OF CONTEXT TO MAKE IT A PRETEXT CONTINUES ON BU……PURE RAMPANT BIBLICAL ILLITERACY!

THIS IS WORSE THAN JOHN CALLING FOR A RE-ELECTION

“Greater love has no man than this, that he lay down his life for his friends [country]” (John 15:13)

REALLY? IN THIS MISQUOTATION FROM THE UPPER ROOM DISCOURSE (JOHN 13 -17″) JESUS SAID NOTHING ABOUT ANYONE LAYING DOWN HIS LIFE FOR HIS COUNTRY.

IN NO TRANSLATION CAN FRIENDS BE EXCHANGED FOR COUNTRY. NONE

THE WORD IS CLEAR ABOUT ADDING TO IT

Revelation 22:18-19 ESV
    I warn everyone who hears the words of the prophecy of this book: if anyone adds to them, God will add to him the plagues described in this book, and if anyone takes away from the words of the book of this prophecy, God will take away his share in the tree of life and in the holy city, which are described in this book.

Proverbs 30:5-6
    Every word of God proves true; he is a shield to those who take refuge in him. Do not add to his words, lest he rebuke you and you be found a liar.

Deuteronomy 4:2
    You shall not add to the word that I command you, nor take from it, that you may keep the commandments of the Lord your God that I command you.

Deuteronomy 12:32
    “Everything that I command you, you shall be careful to do. You shall not add to it or take from it.

Revelation 22:18
    I warn everyone who hears the words of the prophecy of this book: if anyone adds to them, God will add to him the plagues described in this book,

Revelation 22:19
    And if anyone takes away from the words of the book of this prophecy, God will take away his share in the tree of life and in the holy city, which are described in this book.

47. 30-0 could very well be the result of new elections

Then we got to go back, but given the performance of each of the major parties, I would put my money on a coalition Government.

48. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“In all 800K were freed in the British Empire, a small fraction of the slaves world wide.”

The constitution said absolutely nothing, so far still got 30 pages to go, of freeing the mentally enslaved, no laws were legislated for that and it’s still perfectly legal…even if repugnant and morally repulsive.

49. @T.Inniss

What is the blog NOT saying?

50. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE June 1, 2018 8:10 AM

Can I suggest that the Reverend save another institution? Since he is styled as a “Bishop” he should submit his CV to the Anglican Church I hear it is looking for a Bishop.

NOTE IN THE NT, “BISHOP”, ” PASTOR/TEACHER” AND ELDER ARE THE SAME OFFICE
    ALL BISHOPS IN THE NT CHURCH SERVED IN LOCAL CHURCHES, SINCE THE NT CLEARLY TEACHES THAT THE LOCAL CHURCH IS THE UNIT FOR CHRISTIAN WARFARE

NOWHERE IN THE NT IS IT TAUGHT THAT ANY ONE MAN HAS JURISDICTION OVER A DIOCESE OR A NUMBER OF CHURCHES

NOTE ALSO THAT FOR THE EQUIPPING FOR THE WORK OF THE LOCAL CHURCH THAT EPHESIANS 4:11-12 TEACHES CLEARLY THUS…….And he gave some, apostles; and some, prophets; and some, evangelists; and some, pastors and teachers; For the perfecting of the saints, for the work of the ministry, for the edifying of the body of Christ