The following was received from an anonymous person. The BU blogmaster will let this play and follow where it leads, for the moment – David, Blogmaster

I thought I would let you and the readers on BU, know about one of the Barbados Election Programmes used by the DLP to learn about voters in Barbados. It is called “firewater” and trust me when I say that no one in the DLP wants you to know about this because it has aided them in the past, and because no one in bim can handle the truth about what goes on around election time! How do they know what they know about you during election time?

Firewater came into light during the last 2013 election. It is a programme used to show the voters list and display information about all who are registered to vote in Barbados. In its most basic form, it is a database, with entries pertaining to ALL registered voters in Barbados. Information can be accessed from the database at any time without any clearance or authorization, and because we are talking about voters, access to information about the who’s who of Barbados is granted.

When was the last time you heard about firewater in the news?

You have probably never heard about firewater before because it has never been mentioned once by any member of the DLP because they do not want the public to be aware of what they have been doing with your information! With this programme everyone in Barbados is vulnerable! Firewater can access everything about a person such as National registration number, permanent address and polling district. It has information about every single person who is registered to vote in Barbados so that means even you. I am not aware of any laws regarding the use of information in such a programme outside of the Electoral and Boundaries Commission office(s) but I thought you would like to know.

Firewater is a programme that only the DLP has access to. I am doubtful that the other parties in Barbados have this kind of tool at their disposal. Anyone who is registered to vote can be found by name search, so it is very easy to find someone who is listed as a registered voter. That means anyone 18 years or older at the time of the last election. The database can pull up any one of the 380,000 names listed. No one in the DLP wants you to know about firewater so here is a perfect example of why no freedom of information legislation has been passed.

I have attached some photos of firewater in action. As you can see the database is quite extensive. Firewater was used in the last election in 2013 so I cannot tell you if it will be used again this time around. Firewater is only one of many ‘Barbados Electoral Programmes’ used by the DLP. Most likely, there will be some improvements to these  tools in the upcoming elections as the DLP also controls the government.

I don’t know what else to tell you about firewater other than the fact that this programme exists. Again, this could be one of those issues that borders on the line of legality or it could be completely illegal for the DLP to have compiled the voters’ information in such a manner. I guess it is a question of WHO has access to the database and WHO can use it for what purpose?! I want to caution who and every Barbadian that this is a very comprehensive list with access to your friends, and family’s information. It can be used by persons anyone, and on any computer outside the Barbados Electoral and Boundaries Commission office(s).

144 responses to “DLP Accused of Using ‘Firewater’ Program to Sniff Voters List”

1. What I want to know, has the government paid any millions to SLC Cambridge Analytica to interfere in the 2018 election, if they did, how many millions have they paid and did any of those millions come from their usual election campaign finance bribers who already boasted about bribing both governments…..

cause, that will be millions lost…lol….

cause that money to SLC would have had to be paid UP FRONT

cause with election in less than 70 days SLC cannot now deliver, ya know, the international investigation and all

how deserving…

2. What is the population of Barbados? Is it 270000, 300000 or 380000?
    Having more names on the electoral register than there are citizens is a bad sign. Does the total number of votes equate with the number of citizens?

3. @Hal

I noticed the same 380,000 number also, maybe there are either more Barbarians than we thought or maybe it’s electoral padding. More questions than answers.

Attached Firewater program examples look impressive and detailed. Initial included data would appear to be general in nature, however detailed examination would be required to ascertain if anything is amiss. I would expect the electoral commission to be in possession of such a program.

The source of the article would be more telling as it could be a competitive parties attempt at a RED HERRING.

4. Is the data available in paper form for inspection at the Electoral and Boundaries Commission?

It should be because citizens/voters could scan the data by eye and probably detect abnormalities.

If enough citizens avail themselves of this facility it will be hard to hide abnormalities.

This is also referred to as “nit picking”!!!

You don’t need a computer to do it!!

5. These types of Databases of Electoral Voters are widely used by various political organizations around the world. There is generally nothing sinister about such databases and the basic information contained in the database is typically supplied by an electoral commission of the voters in question.

The main question in this case is the number of purported individuals listed as 380,000 as representing Barbados populace. It is generally considered that Barbados population is in the 280,000 to 300,000 range. A number of 380,000 could mean that their are a significant number of deceased individuals in the list as one explanation. If in fact the Electoral Commission is the source of the individuals in the database and the number is indeed 380,000 would raise some concerns.

The DLP being in possession of such a database program is not in itself damning and I’m sure that the BLP also have their own version of “Firewater”.

6. In one of the alleged photos, I see that there are 389,000 records. Though alarming, there must be some explanation for this anomaly. Also, if it is completely normal for the DLP to carry this kind of information in their arsenal, can I obtain a copy of this ‘firewater’ program and sell the data for a large lump sum?

7. The 280-380K includes all ages.

The Voters list should be far smaller than the total population.

Children can’t vote.

I seem to remember it used to be the 100K’s.

Look at the 280-380K number again.

8. Nit picking … but that’s how you solve problems!!

9. I suspect the article is flawed in this regard!!

Either that or the database is not one of voters but of the entire population, including Bajans abroad.

10. So if you look at Ishmael in St. John on the first screen you will see “Not a Registered Voter”!!

11. This article is flawed numerically.

The language is imprecise.

Sorry to nit pick!!

12. It almost reads like the author has been consuming too much firewater … as in alcohol as the American Indians referred to alcohol!!

BTW ….. what is today’s date …. April 1!!

13. If this “firewater” story is true……then it is much worse than vote buying.

However, I over-heard an interesting conversation in which the following was mentioned:

(1) People who have not voted in Barbados for several years are still on the voters’ list.

(2) Some deceased people are still on the voters’ list because of some delay in notifying the EBC that these people are no longer with us. Names were called as examples.

(3) A woman said her 8 year old son received a poling station notification.

If this information is also true (I do have any information to substantiate these claims), then we are in some serious trouble.

But it is safe to take these things with a “pinch of salt” and remember it’s “the silly season.”

I even heard a UPP campaign manager saying the BLP paid “Natlee” to run in the City………

………..it’s part of the season.

14. ***** (1) People who live abroad and have not voted in Barbados for several years are still on the voters’ list.

15. Hmmmmmm…………I’m seeing a photo of Jeptar Ince and beneath is information pertaining to George Pilgrim.

Silly season?????

16. If there is mention of 380K then we must be talking about the full population. So far the comments from the BU family squares with those of the BU household i.e. this firewater is wilting under the gaze of scrutiny.

17. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

… But David surely u jest…re “this firewater is wilting under the gaze of scrutiny.” Good gracious me, what is this supposed leaked story if not to gravely warn – as @Pieces has with his Miami cop Don Johnson protagonist about voter list manipulation!

1.ALL well-established political parties the world over will have dbase programs like this and that is not sinister; just great campaign management planning.

2.ALL crooked political parties will ALSO attempt to use lists like this to create FAKE voters…

We all know that approx. 150,000 people vote each cycle…in the vicinity of 65% of eligible voters…so with those quesstimates the total eligible voters is around 188K..

…Thus if ANY party is playing ‘let’s scrub the voters list’ with a 380K list pool and then anecdotally we also here its sending a voter registration notice to an eight year old..then I suspect we are in #2: the crooked political party fake voter territory!

Nothing wilting here…the base story of this FireWater application is a bland “duh” remark; but the overarching real story behind that is a freaking WTF.

Incidentally, the govt recently approvef land payout monies for citizens that was outstanding since EWB acquired it but paid ‘rent’; then Tom stopped those periodic payments but never paid out the owners. In short…way back. Now Stuart doling out funds…

The funny thing is that it would ☆NOT be strange if all of those folks vote DLP …. and I suspect they WILL …particularly the ones who have NOT lived or VOTED in BIM since Bree was PM.

Insidious and nefarious is the gaze of scrutiny here! Let the people beware!

18. Firewater is a Database Management Software (DBMS) so the name is legit.

Google Firewater Software Database Management.

“Firewater is an open source scaleout RDBMS based on column store technology. It allows a cluster of commodity servers or virtualized cloud nodes to be used for fast response times on SQL and OLAP queries over massive datasets.”

It’s the numbers that don’t sound right.

19. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

John, It isn’t just the numbers that don’t sound right.

Firewater would appear, from the information given in this blog, to be a relational Database Management System that is not necessarily specifically targeted to electoral data of importance to politicians. It seems to have the capabilty of linkage to other databases to extract targeted data on almost every conceivable aspect of the voters daily life once such databases could be provided by database owners for incorporation into the suite of databases linked to Firewater. I am thinking of databases such as; users / frequenters of BU; landowners in Barbados; people with police records; salaries of all government workers; contracts of all government agencies and their value; people with cars valued over $100,000; contributors to the political parties; members of political parties; felons; etc. etc.

Of course such databases should be the confidential property of reputable agencies or companies and should not be available to any specific political party per se for use in its election campaigns, but can anyone in Barbados be absolutely certain that such databases could not be acquired by powerful people in our society? In the old days it was unlikely that a Systems analyst working at Department X would allow access to that department’s databases by some external non-official agent or agency. But could the same be said nowadays?

With the exponentially increasing availability and power of personal Computers nowadays and even with the new information and how-to examples on the data mining activities of SCL and Cambridge Analytica, it is possible for even individual Programmers or Systems analysts to soon or now weaponize what might have been a harmless Freewater database that would have been developed only to provide easily accessible innocuous information from the Electoral department.

It should also be noted that Firewater is not the only database management system that could be used for nefarious purposes. There are several others and it is quite possible that such databases are being used by the Political parties here, perhaps with the exception of the very small ones. to manage the targeting of spot visits and meetings; areas in their constituency; birthdays etc of constituents; location of their meetings, etc. etc.

With the gradual improvement in sophistication in our data management systems, it is almost inevitable that the voting system in Barbados will become no less vulnerable to the incursions of home grown data mining and weaponizing “experts” than are the mega systems of the USA and Europe and the UK etc.

The heads-up given by David’s anonymous “whistleblower” is therefore of importance especially if the current Government Party has been thinking along these lines.

Could that be why Freundel Stuart and his band of non-performers have been sounding so confident that they will win an election that no rational person in Barbados considers that they can?

Freundal Stuart may well have some firewater up his sleeve to distribute when the election happens at the latest date possible.

20. The voters list has ALWAYS been public information. The lists (in paper) are available at every public library and at the offices of the Electoral and Boundaries Commission. The list at the public libraries are in paper but printed on old fashioned computer paper with the sproket holes on the side, so clearly printed form a cmputer database.

Since the lists are already public, and have always been so I have no difficulty with the DLP, BLP, PPP, Solutions etc. having access to my information since I also have access to their information. And in addition since the information is public ordinary citizens can check the lists and if there are dead people on the lists or if there are people who have long migrated. Ordinary citizens can draw these anomalies to the electoral and boundaries commission, to their MP’s and to the attention of the media.

I’ve used the lists myself, although a lawyer/politician friend of mine seemed unaware that the lists are and have always been in the public domain.

21. @Hal Austin April 1, 2018 6:01 PM “What is the population of Barbados? Is it 270000, 300000 or 380000?
    Having more names on the electoral register than there are citizens is a bad sign. ”

According to the 2010 population census:http://www.barstats.gov.bb/files/documents/PHC_2010_Census_Volume_1.pdf
    Barbados had a population of 277,821 people, but of course some of those people were minors:
    17,352 were aged 0 to 4 years, 18,835 were aged 5 to 9 years, 18,567 were aged 10 to 14. So none of these 54,567 people were enfranchised. In addition 18,870 were aged 15 to 19. Of these 18,870 it is likely that 11,322 are aged 15 to 17 and so cannot vote.

So I would estimate that Barbados’ electoral list should contain about 212,032 people. That is a resident population of 277,821, minus 65,899 minors/legal children who are not enfranchised/cannot vote.

22. @John April 1, 2018 6:46 PM “Is the data available in paper form for inspection at the Electoral and Boundaries Commission?”

Yes.

Whenever a friend, relative or neighbour dies I make it my business to check that the Electoral and Boundaries Commission have removed them from the voters list. i scan the alphabetical list which is published in the daily papers, but when I go to the library I also scan the lists which are held there.

23. So the DLP knows my name, address and date of birth. How can they use that information to persuade me to vote for them? When I dun mek up my mind that I am not voting for them this time, that I did not vote for them last time, nor the time before.

Too besides I still waiting pun my DLP Christmas hamper. Christmas gone, Erroll Barrow Day gone, Easter gone.

Where my hamper?

24. It seems one of the opposing parties is running scared of a basic Access database with readily available information. Even the name “firewater”is a bit melodramatic.

The games have begun!

Observing

25. @John April 1, 2018 7:22 PM “Either that or the database is not one of voters but of the entire population, including Bajans abroad.”

The Barbados government does NOT census Barbadians who live abroad. The government does not have the capacity/money to do so. Some Barbadians resident abroad voluntarily register with Barbados Embassies/High Commissions/Consulates abroad, but such registration is NOT compulsory.

In addition I expect that there are actually more Barbadians resident abroad that are resident at home. These people do not live here, pay little or no taxes here and should not vote here since they do not have to live with the result of their vote.

But no doubt some are dishonest enough to vote here, and no doubt some of the political class would encourage such dishonesty/foolishness.

26. @Artax April 1, 2018 7:41 PM “(3) A woman said her 8 year old son received a poling station notification.”

But does the 8 year old also in possession of an adult ID card?

And can the 8 year old present that ID and persuade the polling officials that he or she is at least 18 years old?

27. I would not wonder if Bim ends up with 3rd term where Big Sinck rages through the island, steals the hope, the children´s toys and raises the National Socialist Plantation Tax (NSPT) to 30 % in order to “save the peg”.

Even if MAM wins she will face at least 10,000 “blue” civil servants sabotaging this island in every possible way to pull down Bim and to sell out all Barbadians to Saudi Arabia and China.

28. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

Observing;

From the information provided here by John and others it seems that Firewater is not a simple basic Access database but a DBMS that is significantly more powerful than Access.

On the face of it it seems that you might be right this blog is merely symptomatic of one of the opposing parties running scared but it could just as credibly be that same opposing party throwing out on the waters the disctinct possibility that Firewater or any other powerful DBMS could be used to do some of the things that Cambridge Analytica did for Donald Trump in the USA. The example having been set it becomes a simple matter for a good team of data analysts, programmers, biometricians and social scientists to develop a database system based on Firewater that would be able to do the precise targeting of electors that could reverse the tide of an election. Thus, eg,. precise microtargeting of individuals and groups might change a number of votes to the DLP’s way or to the BLP’s way.

Indeed, I wonder if this simple information might not have been presented to the BU family, to warn an opponent that his party is aware that the DLP is weaponizing and getting ready to engage in a cyber war. Perhaps they need the maximum amount of time to get these new weapons ready and therefore the otherwise unexplainable delaying of the election.

Who knows what is true?

Except that the capacity exists in Barbados for homegrown cyber talent to mimic, even if not as professionally as Cambridge Analytica, the tools of that company in our small pond. Indeed, I would not be surprised if such tools have been used in previous elections?

29. Pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar
    Pieceuhderockyeahright

It is of note that a few of you of whom De ingrunt Word aka DpD and Observing are two, have remarked that any printed list can be converted into an electronically manipulated list.

It is also noted that the list has a seemingly inflated population above that stated in the CIA world fact book or the official census.

So it brings the ole man to one understanding that the Miami Vice JOHNSON conflation of the final voter list WILL BE RELIED ON AND THE FALSE IDs WHICH HAVE BEEN PRINTED HAVE AND WILL BE INCLUDED IN THE SO CALLED FINAL LISTS OF ELIGIBLE VOTERS.

According to a particularly talkative source who, though he is a DLP candidate, is vex and seeking to undermine Fumbles, they believe that the declaration of the falsified lists will cause civil unrest to the degree that “THERE WILL BE CIVIL ACTIONS THROUGH WHICH THEY WILL BE ABLE TO INVOKE THE EMERGENCY POWERS ACT”

De ole man would suggest that in order to cut the DLP off at the pass the BLP gets the most current list published in the newspapers in a week or two.

What this will do is twofold.

One is that it will permit the rank and file voter to become aware of this falsification issue and to see if their nam3 is there now BUT MORE IMPORTANTLY, IT WILL LET EVERY SINGLE INTERNATIONAL AGENCY AND SOVEREIGN GOVERNMENT BE ON NOTICE AS TO THE STATE OF AFFAIRS OF THE ELIGIBLE VOTER LISTS OF BARBADOS, WEEKS BEFORE THE PLANNED CONFRONTATION.

THAT WAY WHEN THE MOCKED UP FINAL LIST IS PUBLISHED IT WILL BE CLEAR AS TO THE TRICK BY JOHNSON ET AL.

PRIME MINISTER MIA MOTTLEY can easily secure funding from the private sector to fund this pre emptive action

30. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Honourable Blogmaster, grateful if you could retrieve my post from suspense thanks

31. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Ammmmmm…..should what is being shown be the extent of the DLP arsenal then they need to wheel and come again with this PissWater tool.

What is being touted as relationships do not even begin to approximate what dbfs can do, or so De grandson tells me heheheheh

The most that they, OR ANYONE IRRESPECTIVE OF THE CALIBRE OF THE SOFTWARE CAN DO is to impute a vote.

And thereafter assign resources to confirm said person’s imputed vote as favouring them or conversely allocation specific resources to sway them as their supporters.

Let de ole man be very clear.

BARRING THE TEIFFING BY FALSIFYING THE IDs OF ELIGIBLE VOTERS AND EXTENDING THEIR TENURE UNDER THE EMERGENCY POWERS ACT, DE DLP IS GOING TO BE RH VOTED OUT

32. Firewater is only the beginning. Do not forget the state of emergency triggered by the new “blue” GG.

I do not believe in any regime change until MAM is in charge of the police, the military and the secret service.

33. How to rig an election

In the digital age, democracy is becoming a delusion

Nic Cheeseman and Brian Klaas

Andrés Sepúlveda sleeps behind bombproof doors in a maximum-security prison in central Bogota, Colombia. When travelling to judicial hearings or to meet prosecutors, he is accompanied by a caravan of armed guards with serious firepower. As they move at high speed through the capital, the motorcade uses sophisticated equipment to jam mobile phones to lower the risk of a coordinated assassination attempt.

Sepúlveda is one of the world’s most notorious election-rigging specialists. Now that he has been caught and put in jail, he is helping atone for his crimes by explaining how he fixed elections — and the people he used to work with want him dead.

But Sepúlveda isn’t the only specialist in this field. The tools he was using are deployed around the world. They’re costly, sometimes scandalous, but often legal. The disruption of democracy has become a great global game, and it’s one that British companies are playing too.

https://www.spectator.co.uk/2018/03/how-to-rig-an-election/

34. We talk about Firewater while we voluntarily give all kinds of information to Facebook, WordPress and, indirectly, to these verminous organisations. In the UK the first thing HR departments do is to check on the social media of any job applicants. Other organisations do the same. And it is no use trying to use nom de plumes, they got your IPs. This along with the widespread use of mobile phones mean they know where you are 24 hours a day, what you have Googled, you have called, who called you. Security services I developed countries know almost everything about you, and they offer this service to poorer nations as part of the new imperialism.

By the way, this new design is awful. A design that does not improve clarity for readers is a nuisance..

35. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“birthdays etc of constituents”

“Indeed, I wonder if this simple information might not have been presented to the BU family, to warn an opponent that his party is aware that the DLP is weaponizing and getting ready to engage in a cyber war. Perhaps they need the maximum amount of time to get these new weapons ready and therefore the otherwise unexplainable delaying of the election.”

That is exactly what this is and am sure that the information is being sold to anyone who has the money to purchase, as politicians and ministers are famous for, selling everything. Padding voters lists with the names of deceased or non existent names to double or quadruple the population’s numbers is nothing new,

Some years ago a young relative born on the island but was not raised there, in school in Europe, received a birthday card at an address in Barbados from Dumbville’s constituency office as soon as she turned 18, I went ballistic, because the then teen had no voter information on the island having not even been raised there and Dumbville is no paragon of virtue with his porn background, so I was definitely not amused nor impressed, not one little bit and was sure he got that birthday information from the ministry of education.

Politicians should not have that much access to potential voter’s information for vote pimping purposes, or selling it to the highest bidders like the vile business people who having no scruples and are bound to use the information to target consumers…

So obviously this has been happening for quite some time, they learned well from Cambridge Analytica who everyone now knows has been operating in the Caribbean for years.

Hope they all end up in some prison too just like their teachers.

36. Simple Simon April 1, 2018 11:25 PM

“The Barbados government does NOT census Barbadians who live abroad. The government does not have the capacity/money to do so. Some Barbadians resident abroad voluntarily register with Barbados Embassies/High Commissions/Consulates abroad, but such registration is NOT compulsory.(Quote)

Do you understand the meaning of citizenship?

37. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Are-we, you are dangerously conflating opposing concepts: pshychographic data mining and cyber warfare are not the same. Not by a long shot.

What Cambridge did is frankly quite legal and legitimate and has been done by political parties since before Prince Machiavelli…Cyber warfare in most guises is simply a criminal activity attacking tech systems but in this context could be tangetially akin to @Pieces remark “that any printed list can be converted into an electronically MANIPULATED list”…emphasis on manipulation.

Cambridge was able to take psychograhics to an awesome level because of the granular info available. The only problem with their action was as @Hal said in context OUR social media stupidity: we tell everyone our business.

Simple loyal example: Magna Loyalty. Stop and think that through again for a sec. At some point every Bajan wanted a Magna card and very few ever stopped to accept that thus every freaking thing they did was captured by BS&T….Boatyard and various other clubs offered Magna discounts as I recall, so too of course the owners’ supermarkets …but then memberships at gyms, bookstores or sporting goods stores were available and on and on.

Brain freeze…significantly possible psychographic data mining in our backsides.

So yes absolutely it facilitates “precise microtargeting of individuals”. In our Bajan context can such data mining “change a number of votes to the DLP’s way or to the BLP’s way”…Well, it could…those folks for example who buy religious books and are so identified from their Magna loyalty might be targetted with anti lesbian ads…so yeah!

I continue to agree with @Pieces that “the DLP is weaponizing” in the form of fraudulent IDs of Bajan expats, deceased citizens and those too young to vote. They have been working on that for a long time so this delay to call a date cant be linked to that. That actor Johnson was freaking good at his craft..he would have won an Oscar if he was ever nominated, fah sure!

To be forewarned…they say, is to armed and ready.

BTW, In the USA as much as 25% (90 million) of the entire population – so still likely larger % of voting eligible, non citizens considered- own Amazon Prime membership…Magna on steroids! The president is scared of Amazon CEO Beezos for the wrong reasons😁!

38. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Oh by the way are there any whistle blowers out there who can advise the annual supplies expenditure of the Govt ID office downtown?

Have more ribbons and security tape been bought in recent years and too more ID inventory as compared to the actual number of NEW IDs issued?

Is any face recognition being sampled to see if visages are the same on multiple IDs….definitely a case for an ISO audit down there PRIOR to elections.

39. @Dee Word

BU has posted on a few occasions that several hundred thousands dollars were spend about two years ago on a project to convert the National ID Card to a Smart Cart. It was put on hold when money ran out, however, a couple private contractors smiled all the way to the bank.

40. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

If Fumbles Stuart AND MIAMI VICE JOHNSON are able to have their plan to permit Barbadians from the Diaspora Vote then he would have won the game.

For whereas contesting parties can register a complaint against a voter’s eligibility in the specific constituency they can

1.neither immediately gainsay that the virtual voter EXISTS nor

2.Gainsay that the stated domicile of eligible registration IS A VALID ONE

This is why they have changed the Chief Justice and now the Governor General

THE ONLY WAY THE CONTESTING PARTIES ARE GOING TO BE ABLE TO WIN THIS ELECTION IS TO SUBMIT A CONTRACT TO THE BAJAN PEOPLE THAT IS SO COMPELLING THAT BAJANS ARE GOING TO VOTE FOR THEM BECAUSE OF IT

FREEDOM OF INFORMATION,
    INTEGRITY LEGISLATION
    POWER OF RECALL
    FOUR YEAR TERMS INSTEAD OF FIVE
    THE BUSSA FREEDOM ACT AND WHISTLEBLOWER LEGISLATION TO NAME A FEW

41. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, fair enough. I am sure your friend @Pieces can extoll better than I that attempts extend even further back to go the smartcard route….but as you said someone always smiles with a wad of extra change!

This entire Nat ID, DL and surely Ppssport is a big deal and we must have complete integrity in the system and the officials managing it.

This talk of a 380K list tho linked to one political party and not the Electoral Dept itself is still very frightening.

42. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

The augmentation of the list to 380k people is the count that is attributed to the Bajans in the Diaspora being allowed to vote

43. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“Facebook scandal: Cambridge Analytica may be probed for breaking poll laws.”

Most countries where this company operated are holding investigations, they reportedly broke internet laws in Trinidad the way voter information was mined.

The beauty in all of this is …the company always demand their money in exchange for mischief UP FRONT…every election..ah wonder who is counting their loses in Barbados for the 2018 election.

44. Do we have overseas votes?

45. PieceUnder

We have to keep it simple.

Only one issue, a right to call, a right that only the people can trigger, no official or government involvement.

Once a threshold number of signatures is garnered …….that’s it! An election in 30 days automatically, local or national.

If we can get this right, then all other things will be added unto thee!

BTW we do not think this government will be able to get people ‘over and away’ a right to vote this time around.

46. Right now if the right to immediately recall a government and ministers is legislated and enforced, that is a win, win for the people. as Pacha says that will strike an immediate balance and everything will fall right into place after that..

Fruendolittle and his gang resorted to trickery to win an election instead of doing right by the people, now they can’t legislate anything with an expired parliament, they are making negative history and leaving a corrupt legacy instead, idiots.

These two outdated political parties still insist on shoving the antiquated practice of voting for long dead premiers and prime ministers down the throats of voters with their sentimental nonsense, which is just more political trickery….they refuse to move forward and into a modern day progressive society, it’s disgusting.

47. As is being said on another thread and which I suspected from one of the resident idiot blogger’s comments on here yesterday, there is a silent movement afoot “by local and international” minorities to dislodge the present ministers definitely, as they deserve …….. and most likely the opposition is also seen as a threat to those little bit of minorities who seek to control the island.

Should the opposition win the election and do not dislodge minorities permanently out of the people’s parliament and lives of the majority population, make changes and enforce laws that will permanently put these parasites in their places, they too will deserve what is being planned.

48. How will the DLP, if they are the culprit, be able to persuade Bajans overseas to vote? If you think about it, the DLP will have to pay the plane fare of thousands of Bajans eligiable to vote. Don’t see it happening.

49. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Honourable Blogmaster

“I am currently in Broad Street on a cell phone”

How can you disclaim that statement?

Unless you request proof of life, you cannot disclaim it given my IP cloaking

My point as per Voter ID validation is that any Bajan, having been issued the ID of another Bajan who is a “Diaspora dweller”, among the 100,000 eligible Diaspora dwellers, for whom MIAMI VICE JOHNSON HAS FACILITATED A FALSE ID, and a constituency of eligible voting, WILL BE ABLE TO VOTE ON ELECTION DAY

The only issue is going to be the procedures related to objections AFTER THE ELECTION IS OVER and all the legal contests thereafter.

It only takes 1,000 votes in any of 30 seats to make a difference in the outcome of these general elections and the current process permits for this fraud.

That’s 16,000 false IDs to assist a DLP reinstatement.

At $500 a vote that is $8 million dollars which, when we consider the $300 million they are purported to have teifed from the taxpayers piggy bank, IS CHICKEN FEED, isn’t it?

50. @PUDRYR

And these IDs have pictures?