Protecting our democracy…

Every where one turns in Barbados the discussion is about when will the prime minister ring the bell. Is is unethical for the prime minister to have extended the traditional 5 year term to the 90 days allowed by the Constitution for what many believe was meant by the framers to address an extraordinary event? There is a view that the prime minister has no moral authority to lead the country given his thirst to create history by any means necessary.

In another blog BU outlined that any government preparing to contest a general election is regarded as lameduck where key decisions are delayed to await the mandate of the citizenry  -see Barbados a Country in Abeyance.

In the current situation Barbadians have not only had to wrestle with the unprecedented decision of a prime minister prepared to dilute our way of democracy that has earned our little island a global reputation.  One remembers Dame Billie Miller, the late Dame Nita Barrow et al asked to participate in international fora with a focus on electoral matters.

Given the anemic performance of the economy since the global crisis of 2008 one would have anticipated that the government would have taken the moral high ground to seek a mandate from the people they were elected to serve. One gets the impression these days that the people- where the power is meant to reside-  have allowed the political class to hijack the intent of the Westminster system of democracy inherited.

While the focus is on the decision by the prime minister to extend the tenure of his government. There is the discussion waiting to be had on the campaign trail highlighted in an earlier blog -see  Voting Checklist to Assist With Placing Your X.  One can take the position that if we have waited 5 years what is a another 90 days. BU subscribes to the view that important to how our system of democracy is meant to work must be a high level of citizen advocacy. A self critique in this regard exposes a passive approach by Barbadians since the 30 November 1966.

Clearly the decision by the prime minister – perhaps advised by Hal Gollop- to invoke the 90 day period allowed by the Constitution of Barbados to extend his government serves to be another distraction at a time when the country needs to rally behind a plan that should be marshalling our scarce resources to succeed. How do we tweak our governance model to ensure our Parliament provides oversight as intended by the Constitution. The Public Accounts Committee and Committee of Privileges come to mind. The inability to respond to the perennial concerns of the Auditor General reports that reveals an unacceptable level of financial indiscipline and malfeasance. We could mention a crumbling infrastructure- the sewage problem on the South Coast, a stressed waste management system and pothole ridden road ways come to mind.

Given where Barbados finds itself Barbadians must begin to question what we will demand of our representatives when they come knocking very soon. It will not be enough to take their accustomed rhetoric. In extraordinary circumstances, extraordinary measures have to be taken. What are we as an intelligent people prepared to do this time around.

188 responses to “Waiting for the Bell to be Rung”

1. Dentistry Whisperer (M. Pharm. D) LinkedIN Avatar
    Dentistry Whisperer (M. Pharm. D) LinkedIN

Unfortunately, you did not hear the “bell”. Election day is April 26, 2018. On Friday the 27th you will celebrate Stuart’s 67 th birthday.

2. Errol Barrow called FJS a coward back in the late 1970’s

This coward became a reliable deputy under Thompson

Barbados has such a proud tradition

Sandiford was another

The elevation of the least able to leadership, as constructed

Only a coward would play such a defensive political game

A game for which there can be no winners

The DLP will loose, bigly!

The people of Barbados will continue to loose

For the next chapter will only give us a BLP as clueless as the Coward, maybe worse

3. Another example of the natives ruining a fine country when given the keys to the money…Dipper Barrow was the last good PM we had..

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/business/2018/03/15/stench-economic-decay-overwhelming-barbados/

I wonder how Well Well Wot An Igrunt Racist I Is will spin this away…

4. Our system breeds weak leaders in the situation the elected leader falls read non threatening deputies.

5. The Peter Principle at work.

6. Peter Wickham is saying the DLP has a good chance of winning the general elections.

7. The third party playing spoiler?

8. David
    The same as before.

Is the answer to your largest question

Bajans will resist any circumstance preventing them from dying in their slumber.

9. @Pacha

We are in a dark place. The inability of an ‘intelligent’ people to adjust to changing circumstances will be the death knell.

10. David

Yes, we are. It is much worse than seems.

The elites nowhere have any clue what has been created. How to get out of it.

Of course, for a small country the outlook can’t be other than very grim.

11. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar
    Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service

i cant imagine how Fruendel who has failed at everything expects to win this election without breaking the law, in their desperation to be elected to continue their destructive practices and criminal behaviors against the people for another 5 years, each and every loitering minister and their yardfowls are worth monitoring very closely. leading up to the election.

IQ45…ya just cant get over me, just propose and be done with it so i can shout no at ya.

12. The mistake some of us continue to make is that this is about one man. This is about a systematic, catastrophic even- failure of intelligent men to demonstrate integrity;be honest, just and kind.

13. @45govt March 15, 2018 at 6:09 AM #

Also look at the comments:

“No surprises here. I spent a year working in Barbados (yes, I know, someone had to do it) providing a blueprint for reorganising the government especially the tax collection organisation. I might as well have stood in the street shouting lalalalala for all the attention the government paid to the essential reorganisation design. Self serving and self enrichment over what is good for the country.”

14. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim.

David March 15, 2018 at 7:37 AM #
    The mistake some of us continue to make is that this is about one man. This is about a systematic, catastrophic even- failure of intelligent men to demonstrate integrity;be honest, just and kind.

…………………………………………………..

‘Intelligent men’??!! Contrary to the overwhelming evidence to the contrary? Surely you jest?!

The DLP failure is their inability to manage, everything else is a symptom, including the teefin’.

Our system rewards bureaucracy, despite the fact that it constipates us.

Barbados has prospered in the past DESPITE the bureaucrats, not because of them.

Every day Fumble and his Fools puts off the election it works against them. The man is an idiot, regardless of his education.

15. @ Frustrated B
    The man is an idiot BECAUSE of his education…..
    and the forces within – that drove him to build the monument.

16. https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2018/03/12/in-breach-3/

Well well

Doan PANIC !!

The Dems ain’t breaking no law !

They are following the law to the letter & the spirit !

It’s MAM who is ” alleged ” to have broken the law as shown in the story above !

5 days later she is yet to deny the allegation !

But how CAN she deny it , when :

• Pat Parris says she is aware of the matter !!

• Pat Paris says she would get MAM to call Barbados Today !

• Oral Williams , of the Royal Barbados Police Force says he would adddress the matter next week !!

• Peter Wickham on March 15, 2018 says there is a strong possibility that the Dems would be returned to office !

• Artax in his post above …..now appears jolted by Peter Wickham…..Prediction !

• They better listen to David advice above……..stop focusing on one man – King 👑 Freundel Jerome Stuart !!!

Bajans too love ❤️ their King !!!

Mia Mottley needs to respond to the voter fraud …….accusation !!!

Tick tick tock ………the clock is counting down !!

17. @Frustratedbusinessman

The comment is meant to be general to follow Paca’s earlier comment about a global failing.

18. Does anybody knows if Mia Mottley ever visited or lived in Russia 🇷🇺??

Her deliberate release to the public , of her party’s manifesto, and now claims it’s a LEAK !!

Is a tactic straight out of the play book of Vladimir Putin !!!

What if elections were called in December 2017 as she predicted..,,..she would not have got an opportunity to pull off this stunt in March 2018 !!

So in truth and in fact ……..MAM is truly happy 😊 with this 90 day – GRACE PERIOD…,…so that can demonstrate some more Putin tactics !!!

Wuhloss. !!!

19. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

David;

The Barbados Today website linked by Fractured has been flagged by Norton as being a DANGEROUS one.

Go figure!!!!

20. Yes, BU highlighted on the weekend that their website has a harvesting virus attached to one of their plugins.

21. @Fractured BLP March 15, 2018 at 8:23 AM “Peter Wickham on March 15, 2018 says there is a strong possibility that the Dems would be returned to office.”

I just heard Peter Wickham on the 8:30 VOB News and he said so such thing.

You don’t ever get tired of telling lies?

22. He is a jackass, let him continue. Time longer than twine.

23. @ Tron – yes, the comments are often the most enlightening parts – I thought this one was instructive too..

Andrew Stafford 15 Mar 2018 9:13AM
    “Why is this story in the Africa section?”

Because Bim is becoming more like Africa I suspect. With filth like Well Well Wot An Igrunt Racist I is coming to the fore, and their foul rantings seemingly being acceptable, Barbados’ most precious ingredient, the friendly attitudes of its people has been corrupted and replaced with gangsta scum and their harridans.

Paradise Lost.

24. @Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. March 15, 2018 at 8:05 AM “The man is an idiot, regardless of his education.”

The truth is we know very little about the education of ANY of our political class [B’s, D’s and others] We know that they went to university, but we do not know whether they were at the top of the classs, whether they were middling, or whether they were one mark short of failing their university programs.

I would LOVE to see the transcripts of some more of them. I’ve seen a few and to tell the truth I was NOT impressed.

Oh for the good old days when our Parliament was full of Barbados scholars and Exhibitioners.

Not any more, not any more.

25. Simple Simon & David

We all recognise that comprehension is not your forte !

Peter Wickham in the final parts of comments said ” he would the last person to say that the DLP would be a LOSER in the upcoming elections ”

Come on you 2 infantile characters

26. Are-we-there-yet March 15, 2018 at 8:34 AM #

“The Barbados Today website linked by Fractured has been flagged by Norton as being a DANGEROUS one.”

AWTY

I tried logging onto Barbados Today’s website this morning and my anti-virus alerted me it was infected with: “JS:Agent-DZP [Trj].”

I gine ask Fcuktured BLP if the “JS” in that virus means “Jerome Stuart.”

27. @Dentistry Whisperer (M. Pharm. D) LinkedIN March 15, 2018 at 5:15 AM “Election day is April 26, 2018. On Friday the 27th you will celebrate Stuart’s 67 th birthday.”

Yes April 27 is Freundel Stuart’s birthday, but outside of his immediate family and close friends, Leroy Parris included, I don’t believe that many people will be celebrating.

Why should we celebrate.

He is not our family.

He is not our friend.

28. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar

harvesting peoples IP addresses.

Scholars/Exhibitioners are too intelligent to get trapped in that nest of vipers with their outdated 18th century system….that is why they are scholars, only the poorly educated would want to remain trapped in the 18th century.

IQ45gov…slavery is over, in 10 years you filthy minorities will be afraid to do what you do today to the majority population.because mental slavery will also be a thing of the past…so chew on that you cerdo.

29. https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2018/03/12/in-breach-3/

Are we there yet ?

You meant to say that the alleged actions by MAM are DANGEROUS !!

But don’t you worry, now ::

• The Police Amendment Act is place !

• The BDF new trucks are ready !

• The DPP is appointed !

• The Governor General is installed !

• Parliament is now dissolved…….so no one can make an accusation under the cover of PARLIAMENTARY PRIVILEGE !!

• PM Stuart made the accusation about MAM at Lester Vaughn School – last Sunday night !!

The ONLY thing missing is MAM……usual blustery……comments….. Or DENIAL …….when she is being attacked !!!

Think on these things !!

Fractured BLP…… reporting from Central Police Station.

30. David

As the popular calypsonian once asked in his song :

” Answer me fast ….who civilized and who is de JACKASS ? ”

David it is clear he had you in mind……as the perfect example of what is JACKASS !!

All the years you running BU blog – you could only focus on cussing the party in power – regardless !

A piss poor example of …….balanced commentary !

JA

31. @Fractured BLP March 15, 2018 at 9:08 AM “Fractured BLP…reporting from Central Police Station.”

You in de cells. Good.

I glad de police finally ketch you.

Lolll!!!

32. Artax

Very strange that your computer 💻 ain’t linking to Barbados Today, properly !!

33. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar

Fractured yardfowl clown…exactly who do you think you are scaring though.

the uneducated Jones still loitering and fouling up the ministry of education has caused even more eyes to focus on the scam artists loitering at the parliament door ,since he thought he was being brilliant telling lies on a diplomat because of his inability to interpret basic english.

stay longer and make things worse, we look forward to the retarded clown show.

34. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

David BU

One thing is sure. The rules of the electioneering process has changed. One can either get a copy of the new rules and outfox the innovators or elect not to play by their rules . Everybody got head but all do not have brains. Even those with brains seldom think.

35. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar

take that you dirty, loitering, sell out government ministers.

see if you can get the british diplomat recalled.

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/

Telegraph Business
    Stench of economic decay is overwhelming Barbados
    JULIA BRADSHAW
    Julia Bradshaw 15 MARCH 2018 • 6:00AM
    Barbados
    The American, Canadian and British foreign offices have put up advisory health warnings for tourists going to Barbados CREDIT: MATTEO COLOMBO

Barbados stinks. It really does. A foul effluvium bubbles up from the manhole covers and rainwater drains in the streets, pours into the roads and pavements, and out on to the island’s pristine beaches 24 hours a day. Red flags along the white sands tell us it is unsafe to swim. The smell of human excrement is sometimes unbearable.

This sewage problem is blighting the entire south coast of the island I used to call home, and is a symptom of the incompetence and perceived corruption of the current administration, which Barbadians have dubbed the “do-little government”

36. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

For some time now it is clear to those of us who are observant that IP addresses are being harvested. The agents or sources? Anybody’s guess. But that is one of the downsides of modern ICT age.

37. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar

lol, hahaha

do yall selves a favor, stop loitering and leave, have some self esteem and integrity for once, google those 2 words and study them.

the whole story of ya disgraceful mismanagement of the island and….well known….{perceived corruption} with minorities is spreading far and wide.

yall are done, give it up, go back in ya dark holes from whence you came and take your minority cockroaches Bjerkham, Cow, Bizzy, Maloney, Tempro et al with ya, dont let the parliament door hit any of you in the ass.

38. ah don’t want to be accused of being racist 3 times in one day…….so

yall are done, give it up, go back in ya dark holes from whence you came and take your minority cockroaches Bjerkham, Cow, Bizzy, Maloney, Tempro, Leroy Leper Parris, Peter Vivek Harris et al with ya, dont let the parliament door hit any of you in the ass on your way out.

le temps est plus long que la ficelle…..

39. if you want to read the whole sordid story…access the Telegraph’s link

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/business/2018/03/15/stench-economic-decay-overwhelming-barbados/#

40. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim.

I didn’t think it was possible for the DLP gov’t to have any less than zero credibility but ‘new maths’ was never one of my best subjects; not necessary to understand rum shop economics.

Delaying the election has moved this gov’t’s credibility below whatever the previously-achieved lowest level of credibility is.

Not even the IMF could take these jokers seriously enough to sit through a meeting with them.

Making history indeed. The darkest days of our country’s history.

41. Julia Bradshaw knows Barbados very well. She visits every year.

42. ‘Instead of maintaining the sewage pipes, resources were poured into the construction of a smart new multi-million dollar headquarters building for the state-owned water and sewage authority.

Local newspapers and Bajans openly accuse government ministers of financial impropriety in the awarding of such construction projects for personal gain’

among many other wicked self serving things….too tired to list them this morning, but everyone knows what they are even in UK.

.. let’s see if Freundel got the nerve to show his handsome face in UK instead of calling the election…..wasting more taxpayer’s money…talking shit bout he is member of privy council and bitch of the beast in the palace.

Fractured Yardfowl….the retarded clown show is good though, free entertainment in abundance..

pura alegria..lol

43. As has been the practice of politicians, ministers and their evil yard fowls on the island for decades, they get joy out of tormenting the majority population who pay their salaries, still believing the population too helpless and unable to retaliate, well guess what, that shit too will end.

see Fractured idiot on here taunting the electorate for how many months now like the illiterate psycho he is…prompted to do so by his corrupt political masters.

how ya like that exposure now Fractured Yardfowl….what did you say???? ah can’t hear ya!!!!

44. Fractured and Famous, the Telegraph article made Facebook, look out for the comments, the loitering government is now world famous, can I get an autograph????

could not have happened if fool Fruendel had called the election a week or two ago.

45. Prime Minister Ralph Gonsalves has defended his decision to grant citizenship, more than a decade ago, to a Hungary-born man who has now been indicted in the United States as part of an alleged US$50 million fraud scheme.(Quote)

The social, political and health stench of the Caribbean.

46. Well well

The only exposure the people waiting on

Is for Mia Mottley to deal with the voter fraud charges !!

Th at is a problem for you and her !!!

Just imagine if such a charge was made against Freundel Stuart !!

Barbados would been able to hold your hypocritical arse !!

But tek that in yuh tail !!

Mia Mottley needs to speak up on this issue !

47. ya so ashamed ya don’t know what to say…yardfowls always get embarrassed..

48. I hoping and praying that King Fool makes more history at the next election. Not a single seat for the RH Dems.

49. Literary icon Esther Phillips became the first ever poet laureate of Barbados at a brief ceremony at the offices of Minister of Culture Stephen Lashley this morning.

No disrespect to Ms Phillips, but Kamau Brathwaite should be national poet laureate for life. Shame.

50. HISTORIAN Robert “Bobby” Morris is calling on the incoming administration to move swiftly to create a republic for Barbados and remove the statue of Nelson from its location near Barbadian heroes.(Quote)

What has Nelson’s statue got to do with being a Republic – or is this an excuse for the DLP to campaign on being a Republic?.

Leave a Reply to Well Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your ServiceCancel reply