Adriel Brathwaite, minister of Home Affairs
Submitted by DAVIDย  COMISSIONG, CITIZENย  OFย  BARBADOS

Tomorrow– Wednesday the 31st of January 2018 — the Senate of Barbados will be considering a Bill to amend the Police Act that was laid in the House of Assembly by the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite.

The main component of this Bill is a proposal to give the Commissioner of Police and the Attorney General the power– by themselves— to impose a two day “CURFEW” on any geographical area within our nation (or indeed across the ENTIRE island) if the Commissioner of Police considers that he “has received information or intelligence with regard to criminal activity in any area of Barbados, and it appears to him that due to the nature or extent of the criminal activity, that there are reasonable grounds to believe that in the interest of public safety, public order or for the purpose of preventing or detecting crime, it is necessary to do so”.

And once such a CURFEW is imposed, the Bill–if enacted into law — would give the Police the right to:-

1. Command all persons within the Curfew area to return to their homes or premises and remain indoors;
  2. Command all businesses in the Curfew area to close and remain closed;
  3. Command all social gatherings in the Curfew area to come to an end;
  4. Search all premises (without any requirement to have a Search Warrant) once any Police officer has reasonable suspicion that any offence (no matter how minor or trivial)ย  has been committed or is about to be committed in the said premises;
  5. Stop and search any person (without any requirement to have a Search Warrant) once any Police officer has reasonable suspicion that any offence (no matter how minor or trivial) has been committed or is about to be about to be committed;
  6. Stop and search any motor-vehicle (without any requirement to have a search Warrant) once any Police officer has reasonable suspicion that any offence (no matter how minor or trivial) has been committed or is about to be committed; and
  7. Require any person within the Curfew areaย  to remain stationary and to refrain from carrying out any activity.

Furthermore, if the Police set up a so-called “Cordon” in any part of Barbados–either generally or under a Curfew– they also have the power to oblige any person within the cordon area to answer questions put to them by the Police, and to perform any actions that the Police believe are reasonably required in order to preserve the peace or to prevent any contravention of the law.

The Bill therefore proposes to give the Police powers over the Barbadian citizen’s Constitutionally guaranteed rights to liberty, security of the person, and protection of the privacy of his home and other property, that are way in excess of the powers that the Police currently generally possess!

Under our current Constitutional arrangements, the only way that the Police can acquire the powers that this Bill proposes to give them is if “a period of public emergency” is declared under Section 25 of our Barbados Constitution.

In a similar vein to this Bill, Section 25 (2) (b) of the Constitution provides that one of the grounds on which a “period of public emergency”ย  may be declared is if “action has been taken by any person of such a nature and on so extensive a scale as to be likely to endanger the public safety….”

HOWEVER, the BIGย  DIFFERENCE between the declaration of a “period of public emergency” under Section 25 of the Constitution and the declaration of a Curfew under this Democratic Labour Party (DLP) Bill is that in the former case (under the Constitution), the special regime can only be established by way of a vote in BOTH the House of Assembly and the Senate of two thirds of the members of these two houses of Parliament, or by way of a Proclamation of the Governor General, to be followed by Orders made by the entire Cabinet of Barbados– Orders that then have to be laid before Parliament, while in the latter case (under the DLP Bill), the decision is totally left to the Attorney General and the Commissioner of Police, with no need for Parliamentary approval.

I can’t speak for the rest of my fellow Barbadians, but certainly I, as a Citizen of Barbados,ย  do not feel comfortable with such power being placed in the hands of the Attorney General and the Commissioner of Police!

As far as I am concerned, if such sweeping powers are to be given to the Police they should only be given in circumstances where the elected political representatives of the people– meeting in a session of the House of Assembly– give due consideration to the reasons being put forward for the imposition of a Curfew and the granting of draconian Police powers, and signify their approval by a majority vote.

I would also like my fellow Barbadian citizens to know that this is not the only outrageous proposal contained in this DLP Bill!

Just to give one other example:- This Bill is proposing that anyone found guilty of using “abusive or insulting language” to a Police Officer who is carrying out duties during the course of implementing a so-called “cordon”in any part of Barbados, or during the course of a Curfew, is liable

“on conviction by a court of summary jurisdiction to a fine of $10,000 or to imprisonment for a term of 3 years or to both, but if the magistrate is of the opinion that the matter is a fit subject for a prosecution by indictment, he shall commit the offender to stand trial at the High Court sitting for the trial of criminal offences.” (PLEASEย  SEEย  SECTIONย  5 OFย  THEย  BILL)

If this is not evidence of a burgeoning Police State then I don’t know what is.

It is truly scandalous that the Parliament of Barbados is on the verge of enacting into law such a draconian Bill that subverts so many of the freedoms and rights of the Barbadian people WITHย  LITTLEย  ORย  NOย  PUBLICย  DISCUSSION!

I hereby call upon and encourage the seven Independent Senators of Barbados to take upon themselves the role of “tribunes” of the Barbadian people– to be the voice and conscience of the Barbadian people in tomorrow’s Senate debate, and to insist that this Bill not be passed, and that it be put through a process of public scrutiny and discussion, and ultimately, of amendment.

154 responses to “BILL to Amend the POLICE ACT Major Step to POLICE STATE”

1. Where is the traditional media?

2. I am especially concerned because I know of Barbados Police who plant evidence on targeted individuals.

3. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

This is all a prelude to cracking heads and shooting people. Ronald Jones did not misspeak; he spoke too early thatโ€™s all. This bill was in the works all back then. If they canโ€™t win legitimately by the ballot, they will use what ever force is available to them

4. However, this is Barbados and if one calls a member of the local constabulary policeman an โ€œidiotโ€ they can be hauled before the courts and charged with an offence.
    I wrote the above 2 days ago in Caswellโ€™s Union column, now this Govโ€™t in its dying days is seeking to upgrade the sentences for using โ€œabusing or insulting languageโ€ to a Police Officer, I can only assume they want to equalize the prison population between people serving time for minor offences and those who are culpable of major crimes e.g. calling a Policeman an imbecile.

โ€œYou have sat too long for any good you have been doing lately… Depart, I say; and let us have done with you. In the name of God, go!โ€ (Oliver Cromwell)

5. David beat me to this one!!. I agree with everything that you wrote. Here is the ending to what I had written. My
    title was…Amendment to Cap 167: The Creation of a Police State in Barbados?

In the previous article, โ€˜Warfare vs Entertainment,โ€™ it was stated that this present Administration in Barbados will pursue any means necessary to retain power at the next general election and that all opposing parties should remain vigilant. One wonders if that vigilance must now be on high alert with the proposed changes to CAP 167 of the Constitution of Barbados.
    There are no exceptions or circumstances that are outlined in the amendment where the act will not come into play. On Election Day, a scenario can unfold where a planned disturbance can occur and the police put an entire community under a curfew preventing them for exercising their right to vote. The question must therefore be asked, has the present Administration in Barbados declared war on our constitutional right to vote?
    On the surface, it appears that the proposed Amendment of Cap 167 can lead to the creation of a police state in Barbados which the present Administration can use to its advantage to win the next general election. We need the Governor General who is impartial and not aligned to a political party to remain in this decision making capacity as it relates to the proposed amendment. By definition she is the Governor General of the administration, the opposition and the people. The laws of the Constitution must remain the conscience of the people of this nation. The task at hand for all Barbadians who wish to retain the integrity of this nation is to contact the Members of the Senate to inform them not to vote this amendment into law in its present form.

6. Cordons and curfews will also impact the right to assemble and the right to protest. Just thin about it.

7. “The Peopleโ€™s Democratic Congress (PDC) today declared it would do anything to keep the

Opposition Barbados Labour Party (BLP) from taking the reins of power in the next general

election, including forming a coalition with the incumbent Democratic Labour Party (DLP).”

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2018/01/30/no-to-bees/

8. Where are the citizen educated lawyers in Barbados? if ever there was a time for the country to collectively protest such ignorance the time is now, The rubber stamping senate without balls and a desire to retain social invites will pass this prone to abusive incursion of social liberties. Why is the Opposition not keeping more noise on this.

Rasss Hole dem got de passwords for social media and email accounts as well as eavesdropping on phone calls with judicial oversight. Why this now?

9. I think this is a precursor to an election as anything to control the masses must be done to keep the corrupt from losing power.

10. The back lash will be similar to what happens in Trinidad and Jamaica. #SMH for when you apply pressure you have nonchalant response from the oppressed

11. This is a great contribution. I have tried on numerous occasions to raise these issues in BU, but got no response. Not only curfews, but the repulsive plea bargaining. Some of used have seen how these oppressive policies are used to criminalise the black communities in Europe and North America, only to see them emerge I our home countries.
    The origin is from sending police officers and prosecution lawyers on so-called courses – really indoctrination sessions – in Canada, the US and Britain, where they have been brainwashed in to seeing these awful policies as progressive.
    We must hold politicians’ feet to the fire and get them to pledge now BEFORE the general election that they will repeal any such chances to the Police Act.
    There is also the criminalising of abusive language if used against a police officer in the execution of his duty. Apart from the bad drafting (will it also b an offence to swear at an off-duty officer? How about swearing at civil servants? Or ZR van drivers?) it singles out a particular occupation. With the privatisation of policing (the jokers in G4S carry guns in Barbados but in their home country, Britain, they are not allowed to), does this so-called offence extend to the private police?

12. The Police State is a logical step for a left leaning society which Barbados has become.

Government control of the individual is its foundation and leads logically to Communism, Facism and ultimately control of everything, even how you think.

… but to be truthful, there are some real bad behaved dudes knocking around Barbados that need some discipline.

13. John January 31, 2018 at 5:59 AM #

I remember a few years ago the police threw a cordon around the Pine and questioned everyone going in and out of the area. It was the most Stalinist piece of policing I have ever seen. Not a word was said by the general public.
    We have just had the appointment of a new DPP and one of her first public statements was to call for greater security for her and her staff. This delusional idea is another one of those straight out of some American/Canadian training course.
    Does this extend to police, prison officers, judges, magistrates, politicians, etc. The woman ought to learn to think.
    Barbados is a small society, everyone knows everyone else – where they live, parents, children, partners, etc. What kind of security is she calling for? Will it be fulltime, whether on or off duty? Only during high-profile cases? The idea is delusional. Have we ever had a case of a police officer being assaulted by a gang member?
    That it is taken seriously shows the depth of the lack of rational thinking among policy-makers in Barbados. Then the fiction of all fictions: that she needed extra security because of the level of crime.
    @John, as a young man I worked in the UK criminal justice system, at the time we had gangs such as the Krays and Richardsons, yet there was no need for so-called extra-security for people involved in the system.
    @John, any level of crime is too much, but plse do not let us exaggerate it.

14. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Apart from Comissiong, Pilgrim and a few others who must be bone weary…where is a well organized, effective and functioning human rights organization in Barbados?

There are international human rights bodies who give support to small human rights organizations worldwide when the need arises, organize these groups to police government ministers who are too stupid to legislate and distribute the powers invested in them safely, efficiently or fairly.

Adriel Dimwit does not know how to legislate ANYTHING to benefit the population….as a whole.

Police in Barbados already have a reputation with human rights bodies for being brutal and murderous, violating citizens rights, particularly the rights of those who have no money, are black like them and whom they do not like and those who cannot fight back.

15. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

The only people the new DPP should really fear…are the minorities deeply embedded and organized in their criminal activities on the island…and she knows who they are, most likely she smiles up in their faces at functions, when she sees them on the streets and rubs shoulders with them routinely…

Those minority criminals, being decidedly much more dangerous than your garden variety petty criminals that can be found in the ghettos, and who have no compunction about setting her up, if she is planning to actually do her job.,., can easily be gotten rid of, simply by siccing international policing agencies on them, if she really plans to do her job…cause Adriel Nitwit is too nonfunctioning and questionable himself, to do anything about them.

.no need to set up roadblocks for those minorities, if she genuinely plans to rid the island of hardcore criminals and their destructive hold on the society.

She cant say she dont know who those organized minority criminals are, her deceased boss played golf with them all the time and took their bribes.

16. Where are the citizen educated lawyers in Barbados?
    Who do you think are f&^%g up the place?

The very fact that Bajans look to their ‘lawyers’ for national leadership speaks volumes about our gullibility and brass bollic inclinations.

Less than 1% of these vermin are above board.
    Nothing that they operate has been successful-
    The Court, police force, Bar, LEC, parliament… NOTHING! –
    YET we insist on voting for them to continue to f*&%$ us.

In ANY OTHER country, people would vote for ANYONE but a lawyer to lead them
    ….but not in demon-possessed Bim.

The monument is wukking.

People only ever get exactly what they deserve, and as Bushie has been saying,
    wunna ain’t seen anything yet….

17. Interesting the government would give priority to amending the Police Act at this time and not for example the Anti Corruption Bill, FOIA.

18. David Comissiong Avatar
    David Comissiong

I emailed this Press Release to all seven independent Senators last night. I hope and trust that they will rise to the challenge of properly representing the Barbadian people in today’s Senate debate.

19. @ David
    Does a convict OFFER to build a gallows?
    Does an idiot invest in education?
    Do ugly people enter beauty contests?
    Then…
    Why would you expect the DLP to prioritise FOIA?

20. Shared it to Senator John Watsonโ€™s Facebook timeline, he is always willing to discuss his views with the general public. Appears to be a gentleman who is not โ€˜partisanโ€™.

21. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim.

Very funny Bushy, thanks for the morning giggle.

Police State as opposed to Policed State.

You would think the latter would forego the former.

22. How does the debate address the moribund Police Complaints Authority?

23. David BU

I don’t mean to change the topic but……..

…….d.id you read today’s paper re Greece’s former Minister of Finance Yanis Varoufakis is urging Barbados to think about devaluing the dollar?

Perhaps you could post your thoughts on a different thread for comments.

24. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ Artax at 9:05 AM

You gone very far east. Did I not give that advice over a year ago ? With reasons why it did not fit our purpose?

25. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar

Artax, I would have to presume that Greece’s Finance Minister has no knowledge of local conditions.

Every one of our outputs has a massive foreign input element, maybe 90%.

Any devaluation of the BDS dollar would therefore result in instant local price adjustments. Further loss of confidence for zero tangible cost reduction.

If we were exporting food or minerals devaluation might work. Can’t work with an import-based economy.

26. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. January 31, 2018 at 9:42 AM #

Devaluation will make imports more expensive and exports cheaper. If we are importing more than we export then we are living beyond our means.
    In a tourism economy, devaluation will make visiting Barbados cheaper – thus more tourists. I say decouple from the Greenback, fix to a basket of currencies and commodities and produce more.

27. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar

No argument from me theoretically Hal, especially the US de-coupling in favour of Singapore’s basket of currencies, our own basket or EC.

Adopting EC$ again would result in closure of the CB, major administrative cost savings and an end to currency printing and meddling by PIPs.

Nor does anyone doubt we need to produce more and import less. BU knows my position on subsidising agriculture with local currency in order to save foreign currency on food imports.

My point was simply this: at this point in time, well over 80% of our production is based on imports of one kind or another. That means that devaluation would not realise cost savings, just a price adjustment upwards.

28. We kept warning Bajans and the peoples of the world that we have an audacious, rapacious, fascism on the rise. A fascism driving us towards a neo-feudalism.

But nobody will listen. Highly mis-educated Bajans like Georgie Porgie will still see the embodiment of that Hitlerian regime as somebody ‘appointed’ by a wicked Christian god.

That none of these systems were ever democratic, they merely drape themselves in such a patina.

We are eternally astounded by the puerile reactions of people like David Comissiong and David of BU.

The proposed law only seeks to legalize many provisions which have been enforced, by fiat, for decades in Barbados.

For decades the police has been searching people’s cars under similar circumstances. For centuries suspects were detained in Barbados to force confessions. For centuries the RBPF has been beating up poor people in their dungeons with the acquiescence of lawyers, judges and magistrates.

Lawyers themselves have ceased the personal property of ‘clients’, routinely. Is this not central to fascism.

Have we not had elites sending their political arm, ‘government’, to parliament to transfer public property to private hands?

Is the classical definition of fascism not still the conjoining of political and economic power? Do we not have this in Barbados? And have we not had it for a long time?

What the fuck Comissiong presumes when he sees jack-booted thugs, dressed in military garb, goose-stepping to the sounds of Gabby’s ‘Jack”?

Why would any sentient being have to wait for the formality of a law to see that the culture of Bajan fascism has already been deeply entrenched.

29. @Frustrated Businessman

What is the throughput for tourism? What is our room plant number? What is the unused utilization based on room plant number and occupancy level to make devaluation a viable option? Do we know?

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. January 31, 2018 at 9:42 AM
    โ€œIf we were exporting food or minerals devaluation might work. Canโ€™t work with an import-based economy.โ€

Theoretically speaking you are quite correct.

The problem with the Barbados dollar is that it is woefully overvalued vis-ร -vis the country’s level of ‘Productivity’ โ€˜backingโ€™ its citizens standard of living based primarily on imported conspicuous consumption.

Why is the Bajan dollar carrying a higher value than its other tourism dependant destinations in the region like St. Lucia?

Since tourism is the last remaining engine of economic growth, is Barbados providing value for money in its tourism sector compared to other regional destinations to justify its 2:1 parity with the US$?

How can a country with it land its only natural resources after the sea justify the keeping of almost 20 academics with doctorates in Agriculture on the governmentโ€™s payroll in light of the awful degrading state of the local agricultural industry?

Barbados will be externally forced into a devaluation (D) position when the dwindling forex reserves tank needle hits โ€˜(E).

That time is up for the political administration to decide finally, sooner for sure rather than later, when this necessary โ€˜correctiveโ€™ adjustment must take place to bring back into realty the long established basic economic principle of โ€˜living within oneโ€™s meansโ€™ and not โ€˜Aboveโ€™ oneโ€™s means, that is, living sweet by borrowing other peopleโ€™s money(OPM) with no hope of paying back.

31. @ Miller
    ….living sweet by borrowing other peopleโ€™s money(OPM) with no hope (OR INTENT) of paying back. The ‘plan’ was to borrow from Peter and pay back Paul.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    You done know that wuh sweeten goat mout does bun he belly…. right?
    Yuh also know that when de belly bun …he does get the shittings… true?

Nothing worse that 250,000 brass bowl goats with bellies burning…
    Look down Hastings and see the result.

Skippa…
    If yuh plant river tamarind… you CANNOT reap potatoes.
    Yuh may have fun planting the river tamarind – and talking gibberish…

….but when harvest time arrives, yuh going smell shiite.

32. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar

Miller, you are missing my point. Devaluation will not result in any tangible saving because nearly 90% of our inputs are foreign. If our currency is devalued, the BB$ sticker numbers will change, the actual ForEx value will not.

Our tourism sector is fully subscribed during the High Season at current prices and prices are on the increase. Why would we want to offer a cheaper product? The selling price is not the problem, the value is. We need better service, better services, less red tape, more facilitation.

What pisses tourists off is how difficult it is to get anything done. Cost of transferring property and time taken to do it; shite maintenance services; non-existent time-keeping; etc. etc. Crime and harassment on the beach, interaction with police if there is an event, pissy airport and sea port service and the list goes on.

Taking our product to the next level does not require lowering cost. No-one wins a price war. What we need to be working on is JUSTIFYING our cost.

33. @Frustrated Businessman
    What is the throughput for tourism? What is our room plant number? What is the unused utilization based on room plant number and occupancy level to make devaluation a viable option? Do we know? (Quote)

What is this mumbo jumbo in plain English?

34. Barbados should be pushed to rejoin the East Caribbean Currency Authority.Fiscal discipline and all that follows it,would be forced upon the scions of Bay St.

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. January 31, 2018 at 11:37 AM
    โ€œOur tourism sector is fully subscribed during the High Season at current prices and prices are on the increase. Why would we want to offer a cheaper product? The selling price is not the problem, the value is. We need better service, better services, less red tape, more facilitation.โ€

Never promoted a โ€œcheaper productโ€!
    Barbados cannot cater for ‘mass’ tourism; the kind of tourist market that a cheaper product might attract.

What is at the core of the debate is offering ‘Value’ for the 2:1 buck fizz currently on offer to generate not only additional spend but also to attract more up-scale visitors looking for a piece of the social snobbery action.

And you realize it too by your above statement

What is at stake here is whether Barbados can maintain its 2:1 holy grail parity by offering โ€˜real valueโ€™ for the foreign money being exchanged for the escalating prices of locally offered goods and services or be forced to bring the value of the local dollar in line with the quality of fare (goods and services) on offer to the tourists.

Adding โ€˜Valueโ€™ to the current offering can be as obvious as cleaning up the nasty stinking smelly places and beaches which the tourists have to endure even if the locals find it as โ€˜inuring โ€˜sights.

36. The first strike was the nefarious Public Order Act of 1974. Where were all these critics back then and since then ? They were all wrapped up in the bossom of the dominant political class.

37. We never particularly liked Gladstone Holder, the now deceased writer in the local paper/s

Time has proven his conception of the origins of fascism, in the West, to be misguided

As somewhat a supporter of Margaret Thatcher and Ronald Reagan he tended to see it rising from the Left.

But he saw it nevertheless.

In spite of these warnings Bajans are, and will remain, like boiling frogs

For the boiling frog the water gets hotter imperceptibly. until the frog finds itself cooked!

38. There is only one man who speaks about some ‘new Caribbean nation’.

That day has come and gone forever.

39. Another day in the rum shop and in the daily BU drivel.

Commisiong has posted very reasonable concerns about a proposed plan for the current failing Government to hold on to power by perfidy…………….and the BU BRIMBLERS CHANGE THE TOPIC TO CONCERNS OF CURRENCY!

ALL BAJANS EVERYWHERE SHOULD BE CLOSING RANKS TO PREVENT THIS PLOY BY THE DLP. ALL!

40. If David Commisiong feels that increased police powers means Barbados is moving towards a police state then Mr.Commisiong should feel right at home in Baebados. Every one knows that he has been the biggest cheerleader of some of the world’s dictators.

41. The suggestion that this is some DLP ploy is shortsighted, at best. They maybe mad but dey aint foolish. They must know the election is lost. But the economic masters must be protected from the coming social upheavals, at any and all cost.

It ignores the nature of duopoly politics

Things like these have always happened, under both political parties, and will so continue.

Indeed, the very nature of duopoly politics makes it mandatory for both parties to drive vicious agendas even when one of them pretends to be in violent disagreement.

We will expect that to be the position of the BLP with elections around the corner.

For the DLP, its passage. though unpopular, represents service to the economic elites. The same masters of the BLP.

This law is about the application of brute force to protect rich people’s stolen property.

Speciously intelligent people should be able to read simple game theory.

42. @Pacha

In Alice in Wonderland text, this amendment is curiouser and curiouser. Bear in mind it takes weeks to gazette and proclaim these matters. Why the scheduling of this matter now?

43. Why the scheduling of this matter now?
    As Eric Fly used to say.
    It is folly to argue foolishness with a fool.

These DLP ministers are just talking whatever comes to their mind…..
    and they have no coherent minds.
    You have this way of assuming that these people are logical …
    or even intelligent….
    Come on David, your optimism will be your undoing…..

Time to call jobby by its REAL name….

44. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Pacha…it will backfire on them, there has been a paradigm shift and the likes of the slave minded Adriel Nitwit violating citizens rights in trying to protect his minority masters stolen loot, are too stupid to see it…

….the majority population is waking up to the reality, that they are the ones responsible for politicians being installed to these lofty positions as ministers in parliament where they immediately proceed to sell out the people….that the majority population is the one who install all governments on the island.

The majority population is waking up to the realization that there are not enough minorities on the island to install any government, not now and not in the future.

The coming election will be a defining moment for sell out politicians and ministers.

45. @Bush Tea

It is fine for us to link a deteriorating economy- confirmed by the Governor today- and the bull rushing of this amendment to the Police Act?

46. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

IMF is also giving a warning…they will probably say IMF is lying anyway, just give Fruendel a minute to jump out, why is Sinckler so quiet.

These not so intelligent ministers love to abuse their positions with nonsense legislation to distract the population from reality.

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2018/01/31/barbados-economy-slowing-warns-imf/

“Barbados economy slowing โ€“ warns IMF
    Added by Barbados Today on January 31, 2018.

The Barbados economy is slowing down.

This stern warning today from the International Monetary Fund (IMF), which said it remained concerned about the countryโ€™s large fiscal deficit, its high debt, and low foreign reserves.

โ€œFollowing the economic recovery in 2016, GDP growth is slowing reflecting increased pace of fiscal consolidation. Real growth reached 1.6 per cent in 2016, as a result of continued robust long-stay tourism arrival and spending. It is projected to slow to 0.9 per cent in 2017 and 0.5 per cent in 2018 due to the ongoing fiscal adjustment and policy uncertainty related to the forthcoming elections,โ€ the IMF said, while warning of a pending rise in the cost of living.

โ€œInflation is projected to rise by year end to 5.5 per cent as a result of recent tax increases but return to its historical norm in the medium term,|โ€ the IMF added.”

47. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Frustrated can confirm, but I believe this is what has Marla Dukharan, IMF and the business community concerned.

“This is evidenced by the fact that the Barbados dollar monetary base expanded five per cent year on year in November 2017, when its ratio to international reserves stood at 10:1 indicative of the pressure on the exchange rate,โ€ Dukharan cautioned.

She also pointed out that the Central Bankโ€™s financing of Government continued unabated despite numerous warnings, with the bankโ€™s holdings in Central Government moving from 55 per cent to 77 per cent as at November 2017.”

48. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Re: “ALL BAJANS EVERYWHERE SHOULD BE CLOSING RANKS TO PREVENT THIS PLOY BY THE DLP. ALL!”

Perfectly well stated.

Mr Commissiong has raised the flag up the pole and now it’s all hands to the winch to ensure the matter is kept up high for all to see and comment thereon …The fingerprint fiasco was properly halted but there can be no presumptions that this too will be as seamlessly & successfully protested.

The simple fact is that these draconian measures are not needed for the police authorities to carry out dragnets in high crime areas thus one must absolutely wonder why now.

@Hal, you trivialize your argument re DPP etc with personalizations (examples) that paint only one side. At the same time or rather over the past years re your reference about gangs/criminals vrs police authorities in the UK there were explosive events in neighboring islands against police officers.

Of course Bdos does not have that turbulent history of T&T or Jamaica but neither of that two can boast of the UK’s record either. Yes we are small and each one basically knows the other but it’s fair to say that the prevasiveness of our corruption has changed the dynamics between criminal and police.

The new DPP might have very solid reasons to want more protection…danger can come from anywhere…internal or external.

49. de pedantic Dribbler January 31, 2018 at 2:08 PM #

Not trivialised at all. This is reality. Delusional nonsense about being n danger feeds a frenzy about the rise in crime. Globally, crime is falling yet new crimes are being invented every day.
    What security is she asking for? 24-hour protection, or only when on duty? I have worked with gangs: a small (I was slim then), just over 21, and very important in the UK, black. Never had a problem.
    Barbados is not Trinidad or Jamaica, nor is it Brazil or San Salvador. There are things wrong with our criminal justice system, but lack of protection for prosecution officials is not one. How about officer Gittens, shooting one of his neighbours, gets bail and is still waiting to go before the courts? Is that justice?
    I have told the story of a senior area commander in Scotland Yard having to shout at a well-known Barbadian police office on placement telling officers on a drugs raid how they should treat suspects.
    No prosecution officer or law enforcement official has been put in danger simply because of their jobs. If they are, it is because of their behaviour. We have retired officers who were notorious when they served and not a single one has been assaulted, abused, sworn at, nor in any other way treated negatively.
    There is a simple answer if you no longer like your job: resign.

50. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

These shites can push such legislation but got all the excuses and shite talk in the world concerning anticorruption laws, freedom of information and transparency legislation. Them do not address what the auditor general put out every year but they want to place Barbadians in subjection to increase powers of the Police. And, all bajans gine do is let them do it because they frighten is shite.