Guns captured by local police

Ministers of government Adriel Brathwaite (Attorney General/Home Affairs)and Ronald Jones (Education) were in the news this week condemning rising gun violence in Barbados. The latest count is 7 gun killings this year compared to 2 for the same period last year. Brathwaite promised earlier this week strategies are in the offing to combat the worrying situation but it is no surprise he was not at liberty to allay the concerns of Barbadians by being specific.  He hinted though he plans to speak to the Commissioner of Police. Very comforting. Ronald Jones attacked the issue from the angle of gender by urging males to be more responsible and to stop holding the society to ransom. Both ministers are to be congratulated for mouthing politically correct positions but at the same time must be criticized because of the leadership role they should be playing to arrest the situation.

There is a tendency to focus on enforcement, the need to be efficient supported by the judiciary is required to maintain a stable society. The other part of the equation, just as important, is not usually discussed with the same vigour –  the need to factor causality. There must be a reason why an enlightened society in 2014 continues to produce too many dysfunctional young people comfortable  with a gun toting role in the criminal world. The reality for some is that crime is a means of a survival. We can improve detection and punish all with greater efficiency but it will not stem the problem.

Barbados is a small island – 166 square miles – and it is easy for two or three bad apples to drag the reputation of Barbados through the mud. Gun violence has been on the rise for a long time though largely ignored. Authorities wrongly placed bets on an ease in gunplay with the discontinuation of the Guinness Fetes championed by Lil Rick and Voice of Barbados at the time. Barbadians are always slow to react and now the horse has bolted from the stable… Who can forget the willingness of the authorities to allow Vybz Kartel and Movado to spend some time with our children not too long ago.   The same decision makers are in office today who we have to rely on to craft solutions. Are we optimistic about positive outcomes?

On the enforcement side of the equation we have the issue of 150 promotions in the police force mired in litigation for two years because of an inability of the Commissioner of Police to order his human resources. Should it not be obvious to our leaders in the Judiciary, Police Service Commission, Royal Barbados Police Force, Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite et al that this is a priory matter?  Another example of Rome ablaze while the directorate is asleep.

About what is causing our youth to become distracted with crime and violence the reasons are many. At the top of the pile is the rising incidence of poverty in working class hoods. This is supported by the 2010 Country Poverty Assessment Reports. Where there is poverty the lure of quick money will be a challenge,  made more attractive in a morally bankrupt environment. Remember the BU household is entitled to an opinion.

We cannot forget the revelations of the Alexandra Commission Inquiry. For many on the political horses it was a win or lose situation. For others there was the opportunity to see up close the opportunity to improve the management of our education system.

Connect the dots.

100 responses to “Arresting the Gun Play”

1. Damian | August 17, 2014 at 5:08 AM |
    Police make me get out the van B104 every morning and make me late for school. While the transport bus pass us out was just as full, this happen For most my school life, if the police don’t care about the law why should I?

The minister of education hasent even introduced any form of finantial traning or interpersonal skill development for the youth so he ent want them no better either. Fither more banning cell phones was the worst decition EVER in the history of barbados, can you remember life without one? Do you know how much better students would be if they were tought how to use the smartphone as a tool?”

Damian I admire your confidence in sharing with us and thank you.

Care about the law. Where you see wrong doing care enough to maintain good, better, best practices.

Based on your writing I see these errors as ‘spelling’ and a cell phone should be replaced with a vocabulary book and dictionary along with a library card.

‘Interpersonal skill development’ is offered at each school through Guidance Counselling sessions (subject) at least once a week.

Keep sharing with the BU family we definitely want to hear from you. Islandgal will continue to support you as well from what I read here.

Oh and leave home earlier, work is very important, and tardiness will not be tolerated especially today.Continue your studies and keep observing, comparing, analyzing. Share solutions as well.

2. Well for one the brain does not even need the letters of a word in order to understand the word onld the first and last letter needs to be in place.

I can’t spell, I don’t want to learn, I come first in most my classes all through school.

But let’s not stray from the point. The point is that as long as people with education running things we will allways get this problem.

The problem with sociaty is the algarean based education system. If you just do the math. 3/4 of a childs wakeing life is spent in school. Yet we want them learn life skills from mommy and daddy that tired from work and just want to sleep.

If we simply tought people how to talk with each other how to manage money and how not to be like island girl and think their the cats meow because they can spell.

I am sure glad people like shakespear did not listen to people like ilandgirl at the time because his dilexit ass is responcible for most the words we are useing today.

We need to encourage first not try to pull down at every chance. But I know you people are educated to not think for your self.

3. “I can’t spell, I don’t want to learn, I come first in most my classes all through school.”
    Damian…please don’t get upset when persons attempt to correct you. Reading is the gateway to knowledge and knowledge is power. You are never too old to learn. I don’t know which school you went to but if you came first in most of your classes, then your teachers were not paying attention to your writing skills. If you were like Bill Gates or say John Legend you will know that knowing how to read and write as well as sing can be very profitable. Remember KNOWLEDGE is POWER! Are you scientifically minded? Have you ever seen the metamorphosis of a butterfly? It is not to late to open your mind.

4. @ David
    “On Thursday October 14, 2010 Suleman Esuf was granted bail of 1 million dollars with two sureties of $500,000.00 in the Bridgetown Traffic Court. We recall Esuf was charged with having a traffickable quantity of cannabis stated as 2778.38 pounds … Continue reading → ”

Just amazing that coming on to 4 years later we have not heard any more of this case. Police / prosecutor “lost” the file?

5. Correction “it is not too late to open your mind”. Even I make mistakes and I am not ashamed or vexed if corrected.

6. Nostradamus…..that is not even the only case the Esuf dude has, he also has one for wounding prior to the drug trafficking arrest and no one has heard about that one either. 4-5 years after the fact.

Maybe the DPP can check and see what is going on, he is always ready to lock up local blacks who are not connected and make sure they get no bail.

7. By the way, has anyone on BU ever checked out AC’s writing skills and she/he/it/they are old cows who should know better…….lol.

8. @Nostradamus
    Just amazing that coming on to 4 years later we have not heard any more of this case. Police / prosecutor “lost” the file?
    …………………………………………………………………………………………..
    The file has not been lost, neither has the sense of humour of those persons who have laughed their way to the bank.

9. Do you know how much better students would be if they were tought how to use the smartphone as a tool?
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………
    We have smart phones, and now Smart Meters. One of these days we are going to end up being governed by a piece of equipment which is smarter than all of us. Certainly the BWA’s , new meters are smarter ,if not richer, than any of its employees.

10. “metamorphosis of a butterfly” is that the best you can do?

This is what I talking about, you asume that because I don’t spell the same way as you that I am stupid.

I am sure we could find something that you can do better than me, but I am also sure we will have to search for that a long long time.

Up to now you island girl ent make a single sugestion as to how to lower gun volience in barbados.

I ent waiting on it either.

11. Damian KNOWLEDGE is POWER pointing a gun is power for a fool! There are many fools out there in this world.

Damian you were blaming the police for getting you to school late because they were stopping the mini buses. You further stated that you don’t want to learn to read and write properly, so I was just addressing that.

No one called you stupid, some of us just gave you some advice on how to improve your skills. So tell me how would you help take guns off the streets?

12. Single suggestion to get guns off the street

(GET GUNS OFF THE STREET ) A Slogan –on TV; RADIO; Newspapers; flyers etcetera .

STOP and Search
    CURFEW –in St. michael/ch ch /st philip/st james Only persons with area passes allowed movement
    Document movement of all persons in Barbados.
    We need to know where everybody in Barbados is and what they are doing
    CURFEW–specific ages /gender.

No congregating between 9 pm and 5 am in the above mentioned parishes. Gotosleepearly -early to bed early to rise.

More patrols at sea.
    More patrols on roads leading from beaches
    Block off some Roads at nights
    Install cameras on these said roads
    Strip all containers in Bridgetown Port-Day/Night -24 hour -give more people work -3 shifts.
    All sailing vessels report to central location on arrival departure. Police the docking areas that should be controlled”: Oistins/Conset Bay/Cheapside /Sixmens, etc

The above can be concetrated in the problematic areas of Barbados where most of the Gun Play takes place. The Town vagabonds can be easily targetted. Many of the St. Michael districts are Gun Towns

13. Teach forgiveness, mercy, pardon, compassion.

When we emphasize the importance of education and teach everyone to love self and love to enjoy the good things of life we will get guns off the street.

SHARE our talents, bread and butter, TEACH to fish and not only give to the poor.

It is good to study to improve self – a faith to find a job based on knowledge, skills and ability rather than political affiliation will further help us to keep the guns off the streets.

NOW to get the guns off the streets – all evangelists and social workers are to be on the road alongside of the Jehovah’s witnesses sharing the good news of the gospel of Jesus.

Remembering that when we cry peace, peace there will be sudden destruction. Therefore, encourage each other in love and let us study to show ourselves approved.

We do not say our neighbour’s son has a gun. We live with partners who are cheating right before our eyes and say we did not know and believe the words from the partner’s mouth. So, we believe that our children will choose to do good and some go along without a conversation with the child.

Learn what your children are stuffed with learn their thoughts through conversation.

And pray, pray, pray, fast, fast, fast and praise, praise, praise the Lord Jesus.

14. Jan Jan

I will support curfew for offenders only and not innocent men, women and children.

Jan Jan said: ‘The above can be concetrated in the problematic areas of Barbados where most of the Gun Play takes place. The Town vagabonds can be easily targetted. Many of the St. Michael districts are Gun Towns’

Is this a calculated guess? or did you actually get this from the Royal Barbados Police Force?

I am seeking facts only.

15. @Jan Jan
    What you have suggested is in effect a declaration of Martial Law. Even at the worst times in Northern Ireland ,such drastic measures were not taken. And if a curfew was imposed it was for a very limited time only.

16. AG says “One of the things we are going to do is get [officials from the] Customs Department to come and sit down with us because guns are coming in through our ports of entry. We have to be more vigilant, even at the Post Office,” he stated.”

More importantly you need to find the illegal guns that already are in Barbados.

17. Brief | August 18, 2014 at 7:16 PM |
    Jan Jan said: ‘The above can be concetrated in the problematic areas of Barbados where most of the Gun Play takes place. The Town vagabonds can be easily targetted. Many of the St. Michael districts are Gun Towns’

Is this a calculated guess? or did you actually get this from the Royal Barbados Police Force?
    ………………………………………………………………………………………….
    You’ll have to wait five years to get this info from the police. But if like Jan Jan you read the local newspapers daily,and listen to the nightly news its not hard to come up with a SWAG ( Scientific Wild -Assed Guess,) that is near accurate. Barbados is only a 4×2 island.

18. In today Nation we see a man with a gun on his hip like in the wild west . that man thief his employees money lol

19. THIS LAW SHOULD BE LOOKED AT IN BARBADOS AS APPROACHING PEOPLE AND TOURIST IS SOMETHING SOME
    AS YOU CAN SEE BY THIS LAW IS VERY CORRECT IN ITS JUSTIFICATION OF A PERSONS PERSONAL SPACE RIGHTS!
    Stand Your Ground

Stand your ground laws are essentially a revocation of the duty to retreat. Stand your ground laws generally state that, under certain circumstances, individuals can use force to defend themselves without first attempting to retreat from the danger. The purpose behind these laws is to remove any confusion about when individuals can defend themselves and to eliminate prosecutions of people who legitimately used self-defense even though they had not attempted to retreat from the threat.

In many states with stand your ground laws, a claim of self-defense under a stand your ground law offers immunity from prosecution rather than an affirmative defense. This means that, rather than presenting a self-defense argument at an assault trial, for example, an individual could claim self-defense under the state’s stand your ground law and avoid trial altogether.

States with Stand Your Ground laws differ on whether the law applies to instances involving lethal force, with some states retaining the duty to retreat when lethal force is involved and others removing the duty to retreat under all circumstances.
    – See more at: http://criminal.findlaw.com/criminal-law-basics/stand-your-ground-laws.html#sthash.eAdTeaPr.dpuf

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Personal_space

20. Barbados Today added 3 new photos.

Yesterday at 2:19am · Edited ·

Some of the contraband police seized at the final event of the Summer Jam Sundays series at the Party Stand on Harbour Road, St Michael in the early hours of this morning. ‪#‎BarbadosToday‬

Barbados Today's photo.

21. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ David [BU]

I saw the pictures David [BU]

What I have not seen is that x people, names of so and so through so and so from these respective addresses have been charged with the possession of said weapons and this amount of drugs in our news papers.

Every one of them should have their pictures plastered over the newspaper.

A third thing is that each one of the newspaper’s should create a facebook page, much like they have a page for advertising old cars for sale, to show the faces of each of the offenders, their names, addresses, ages and keep them up for a while until the case is heard.

We the people tired of CRDs what we want is some community service for each one of the offenders, A PHVCKING WEEK of community service with a rake and a broom, a shovel and some Jumbo sized garbage bags at someplace that is well trafficked, IN AN ORANGE COVERALL MARKED “PROPERTY OF DODDS”

SHAME AND BLAME. IT WORKS. Nobody wants to be marked as the class clown for 2 weeks!!

You know we in Bulbados are playing the fool with this problem.

Dimwiths like Adriel Bratwit Nitwit and DPP Leacycock ent got the intellectual fuel to light a fire in dem yard furthermore turn this issue around

22. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

TO David [BU]

You are a collective of well trained ICT experts.

I would suggest that you engage a team to create a secure website where

1.THE public, people like me can come and put a notice about my neighbour’s son who has an illegal gun dat i see

2.The site would have a google map placholder where I can put a link to show where he either live and/or does hang out.

3.It would not record who is is dat posting, nor would it tek no pollidaddy statistics

4.De ingrunt Royal Barbados Police Force would have access tuh de site and would use dem investigation skills, translated Baygon in plastic bag over a body head, tuh follow up de allegations. Dat way, a body like me who ent like Denis Lowe or a next DLP or BLP Minister would not be abull, sorry that should read able to target he son, daughter or in-betweener wid a false tag. (Dis Bulbados tingly gots me seeing variations uh de word in eve’y ting)

I ent fuh de curfew YET IslandGirl but I agree dat we has got to get aggressive and meet dis problem wid all de technology at we disposal

23. We should ask ourselves why do people want to look like soldiers. Is is because all of us admire soldiers, and guns, and the power that comes out of the barrel of a gun?

So that if a fella can’t be a real soldier, then he dresses up in camoflage, picks up a gun and is seen by his peers as a powerful soldier.

Even if he is only a mock soldier

24. And why are we self-medicating, with cigarettes, with alcohol, with marijuana, with only lord knows what else.

What are we hiding from? Ourselves?

What is the quality of our relationships with our children?

Especially what is the quality of our relationships with our little boys?

Are we scruffy to our little boys? Do we treat our little boys badly? Do we neglect our little boys? Have we abandoned our own little sons?

If we cannot or will not love our own little sons?

Then how can we expect others to love them?

And how can we expect them to love us?

How can we expect them to grow up to be scholars and gentlemen?

We have sown the wind and we are reaping the whirlwind.

The parents have eaten sour fruit and the children’s teeth are set on edge.

25. Just amazing. Punishment does not deter a human from taking another humans life. “If someone is prepared to kill another human and believe that is the only course of action to get them what they want” -be it – money, respect, revenge then a long jail sentence is not a deterrent.
    We need to establish what is the driving force behind the upsurge in gun crime and deal with it in Barbados. – A simple amnesty – a place where people could deposit a firearm at a police station –
    to get them of the streets.
    Seems to me its mostly young kids committing these crimes, they have not developed the maturity to fully comprehend the consequences of their actions so saying you’ll be banged up for twenty years for carrying a weapon will not deter them. IT SEEMS A TYPICAL COMMENT OF A BAJAN NOW TO SAY “” I WILL GO AND GET A GUN OR I HAVE A GUN AT HOME -ALONG WITH THE CURSING NOW “”
    Why, do they really think they need to have one to feel safe.
    Men and women need purpose and belief, take that away from them legally and they will find it somewhere else. Going to prison is just an extension of their lifestyle. In some “gangs ” its a right of passage. Set up groups for these kids, invest in them and give them something to be part of other than the neighbour gang to believe in.
    Its all about investing in them, caring for the kids in your community, giving them a feeling of self worth. Black, white, Asian whatever everyone needs those fundamental foundations. I do hope the kids in Barbados find something other than this way of life. Its a sad to see these boys killing each other, for what it appears as nothing.

26. What is happening down there? A man accused of a second murder smiling for the cameras like he won some coveted award and why is this man not in some Gov’t issued bracelets? That must be some “Party” with all the guns on display, were the prospective gunslingers carted off to Dodds (the story doesn’t say).

I don’t buy what the “Operator” says he is interested in making money but smart move to blame the gangster “molls” for the illegal weapons.

27. @Sargeant

There are no big issues here in Barbados. All is well.

28. Where guns are concerned in Barbados it will get worse, as soon a man become a CEO , Manager, he want, and gets a licensed gun , to do what ? I saw Grant on the nation newspaper with what look like a gun on his hip, the said Grant under his management of SamLords hotel rob the employees of NIS,PAYE and other money, Leroy of Clico a big thief, walk around with a gun , why do a MP walk around with a gun? to beg for a vote , a Black man sheep is attack by wild dogs, he is in the newspaper
    begging people to keep the dogs at home , a white man cows are attack he is in the newspaper saying how many dogs he kill with a gun ,

29. @watchman

Isn’t the gun problem to do with illegals?

30. hummmmm ,,all them guns and paraphernalia i smell a rat,,,,,,,,,,heads need to be crack,,,,

31. Life Changer +
    I WILL GO AND GET A GUN OR I HAVE A GUN AT HOME -ALONG WITH THE CURSING NOW “”
    Why, do they really think they need to have one to feel safe.
    ………………………………………………………………………………..
    Actually I am hearing kids who are midway into (or should be) primary school using these very words. It is surprising how many kids are now being kept away from school, and this does not auger well for the society ,when these kids become feral and let lose on the same society.
    Then again to them,as seen in the Nation recently, its all a big joke to laugh at.

32. @Watchman Grant under his management of SamLords hotel rob the employees of NIS,PAYE and other money, Leroy of Clico a big thief, walk around with a gun , why do a MP walk around with a gun? to beg for a vote , a Black man sheep is attack by wild dogs, he is in the newspaper
    …………………………………………………………………………………………
    I think that you have answered your own question. Some of these bastards have unfaired so many people that they have to look over their shoulders at every step of the way.
    Bajans are a cool lot, otherwise gun or not, some of these blatant crooks like Danrade of Trade Confirmers,who have wrecked the lives of many, yet , themselves, still living in luxury, would be burnt out and residing in Coral Ridge or Westbury , a long time ago.

33. uh see what i mean,,so much hostilty,,,,,,,,,people talking about burning property,,,,guess i was on to something the above video speaks of such a mentality ,,,,,enjoy….or maybe just think,,,,….

34. @ ac
    This is what pertains when you constantly push a dog in a corner, and then kick him in the arse, and expecting him all the time to tuck his tail between his legs. Sooner or later that dog will bare his teeth.

35. colonel …ok, bosey,,,,but remember dog luck ain;t cat luck,,,,

36. @Sargeant

The world has become a crazy place. To give an Uzi to a 9 year old child to shoot accompanied or not. Amazing.

On 28 August 2014 02:55, Barbados Underground wrote:

37. @ David
    I am only pointing out the bad and crazy thinking of the people , why do licensed gun holders get a backup , we hear about police putting guns on people their shoot, where that gun come from and go to , how many policeman on leaving the force got guns , what the needs of the gun ? to sell to rent to the illegal,

38. @watchman

Understand you point but the original question remains, most of the illegal guns are imported as part of the drug trade. We need to up the ante on interdiction efforts.

39. @David
    The men and boys that are using the guns don’t import the guns
    We should do background checks on license holders and the BIG MEN with the Millions $ that do the importing and the people that knows but shut their eyes for a few $$ , blood money , bloody country

40. @watchman

Understtod.

41. David | August 28, 2014 at 12:54 AM |
    @Sargeant

The world has become a crazy place. To give an Uzi to a 9 year old child to shoot accompanied or not. Amazing.
    ……………………………………………………………………..
    When you read the story , it appears as if the family were from out of state on vacation, and on impulse decided to give their young daughter some gun “training”. Those of us who have been in the Armed Services, including the police service, know full well that you do not just “juck” a gun in anyone’s hand and tell them to let rip. We had to spend countless number of hours/days /weeks getting to know the complete mechanics of that firearm. Engaging in “mock’ target practice, and being able to competently strip and reassembled that weapon blind- folded. Then ,and only then, were we allowed to take part in live target shooting under the strictest of conditions.
    Even more precautions are taken when using such short muzzled automatic weapons. Unlike a relatively longer rifle, when facing the target, moving that short weapon, a few degrees right or left may have that muzzle pointing directly at the instructing staff beside or behind you. When a train soldier holds a weapon,he may not look as pretty as the movie stars and other wannabe soldiers, but one thing that you can be sure of ,is that the weapon a securely tucked into his body. Even if its kicks back like a kentucky mule, he has it under control.
    Personally I do not think that a frail little 9-year old girl ,or boy ,has the strength to properly hold an UZI , a Sten ,or other short muzzled automatic weapons,when on the automatic mode.

42. @Colonel Buggy

Along with long hours understanding the weapon there is also the long time spent understanding the safety issues how to manage the gun and the space around you..

43. is it worth it

44. Anybody who puts a loaded Uzi into the hands of a child..a slight child at that, weighing perhaps no more that 80 pounds… deserves to die.

The idiot died.

So what?

One less fool left in the world.

According to Darwin’s Law only the fittest survive…that idiot was unfit to live.

45. @Simple Simon
    And idiots come in all shapes and sizes. In spite of all the safety precautions strictly laid down by the military, you still get some idiot, who believe that he is able to short cut those regs.
    Just after my Basic Training, a new intake was undergoing live firing on the ranges. An Officer ,a Captain, was in charge of raising and lowering the targets, a sash window type arrangement, down on the Butts. A very safe area,never mind the bullets whistling above your head. Most of the raw recruits at the firing end had completed there stint of shooting, but there was one lad who was a bit slow. All the shooting had now temporarily ceased, while the Sgt Instructor was talking this lad though. The Officer on the but, became impatient ,s wondering what was going on, since he did not receive any instructions that the shooting had been completed.
    Ignoring all the safety measures that were put in place, ie Field Telephone, red flags still flying, and not using the safety corridor at the side of the range, the officer proceeded to look down the shooting range , by hoisting himself above the parapet and in front of the paper target. It was at this very moment when the raw recruit, continued his target practice. And the Sgt’s instructions paid off . That officer was hit with a 7.62 mm bullet right between the eyes.

46. That officer was hit with a 7.62 mm bullet right between the eyes.

So what was the outcome?
    did the officer die?

did he survive? In good health? disabled?

47. Died Instantly,poor chap.

48. Just heard a man on VOB with David Ellis talking about Dr Wayne Welch’s case and comparing it with the Commissioner’s case and Ellis told him that it was before the court and he can’t discuss it.
    I took up last Sundays Advocate only to see Guyson Mayers article and the headline of the Article was “Convert or die” although inside the article speaks to “Convert to Islam or die”
    Then I started thinking about this article and this area came to mind

(On the enforcement side of the equation we have the issue of 150 promotions in the police force mired in litigation for two years because of an inability of the Commissioner of Police to order his human resources. Should it not be obvious to our leaders in the Judiciary, Police Service Commission, Royal Barbados Police Force, Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite et al that this is a priory matter? Another example of Rome ablaze while the directorate is asleep.)

Is he saying to the officers Convert or die because I’m hearing that one of the officers with the promotion case in court withdrew his matter and wrote a letter to Mayers apologizing for his actions.

I’m also hearing that the present Commissioner sent up a number of acting appointment to the Service Commission with the names of some of the persons involved in the court case and Mayers refused them. IF this is so boy do we have problems EGO problems.
    I’m also hearing that the man who apologized is acting in a rank higher than his all because he bent down to master Mayers.

There are enough vacancies to solve the matter….. But

This Government let the Dottin and Hinds issue mash up the Police Force and it is not allowing the Force to heal after they removed them.
    I agree with one thing that I’ve heard and that is Mayers should have never been the Commission’s Chairman. I don’t even feel that any ex police should be on that board.