Submitted by Mohammed Iqbal Degia  posted to Extra Newsfeed

Car park at 1:30 pm

The sight of snow in Charleston yesterday had me thinking. I reminisced about my first experience of snow and all the other times and places I encountered it. Inevitably, as someone with a deep interest in environmental issues, I pondered about the connection of this local event to the broader issue of climate change. On Thursday evening, I went to post some photos on Facebook I had taken of the snow by our apartment complex. I was going to write a sentence or two about the photos but alas I have a wandering mind and instead I ended up penning this piece about the reflections I had on seeing the snow!

The first time I saw snow was in 1996 when I left Barbados and went to London to study at the age of 18. I was still asleep that morning and two of the guys from the hostel I was staying at came into my room and woke me up. I was not exactly happy to be startled and got up confused. They were excited and told me to look out the window and when I did, it was as if I had woken up in a different place. Outside was covered in snow. I ran out the room, slipped on my shoes without lacing them up and dashed through the door. I jumped around in the snow, held it in my hand and threw it around for about thirty seconds before the cold hit me. I had sprinted out in my lounge pants and a t-shirt! I went back inside and dressed warmly and then came out again in the snow for a little longer.

It snowed again rarely in my three years in London. I think it must have fell about three times and even then it was a light sprinkling that melted away within less than a day. Over the years I have had various snow encounters in places ranging from New York, Toronto and Wales to Durham and York in England, from vicious storms and stunning landscapes to the dirt-filled, ugly mess that pretty snow soon transforms to in cities. However, Wednesday was something quite unexpected. It snowed in Charleston, SC, a most abnormal occurrence! This is a place where winter only flirts with. I get away with wearing a spring jacket for large parts of winter and by March I venture outside in flip flops. The last time a snow storm hit Charleston was December 1989 and I think sometime around 2009/2010 there was also some minor snow. Yesterday’s snow seems to be record breaking. When I heard on Tuesday that there may be snow on Wednesday, I dismissed it. “Ah, there won’t be any snow here man, the most that will happen is some sleet” was the thought playing out in my head in Bajan dialect!

Palms at 2:30 pm

I had a conference call just before midday on Wednesday and was sitting at the dining table doing the call and talking incidentally about environmental issues. As I sat there on the call, the rain that had been falling for a few hours turned to sleet and then became snow. Soon outside was blanketed by it. I had clearly underestimated the weather! Thankfully, a lot of places had already closed so my wife was home. Today the snow is slowly melting but expectedly for a city not used to snow, there is some chaos. Many businesses and offices remain closed and the city of Charleston declared a state of emergency late this afternoon. We shall see what the weekend brings us. Hopefully warmer weather that melts the snow rapidly!

I took these photos at three different times of the day around 1:30 PM, 2:30 PM and 5:30 PM to capture the transition. They are, admittedly, a feeble attempt to capture the beauty of the snow. I have very little practice driving in the snow and would not dare drive my current car, unequipped for icy roads and snow, during this weather. The only drawback is that this deprives me taking some beautiful shots of Charleston under snow!

Car park at 5:30 pm

Beyond the pictures though, are some serious considerations- the reality of changing weather patterns caused by anthropogenic climate change and the effects of this change on coastal areas like Charleston and South Carolina Low Country. The cold weather happening at the moment is not evidence against climate change as some claim perversely. Weather and climate are not the same. According to NOAA and NASA, weather is the conditions of the atmosphere that we experience in the short term while climate is the long-term pattern of varying weather conditions. Although it may be unusually cold right now in Charleston, the average global temperatures are much warmer than before, a fact borne out by international scientific consensus.

Climate change has already had devastating consequences across the world and especially in places that are more vulnerable than others such as the Caribbean where I am from. It poses a grave threat to Charleston just as it does to the Caribbean and other US cities like Miami, New York and Atlantic City. In Charleston, the conversation about climate change has only started and it has been limited to rising sea levels and adaptation to flooding. Climate change’s causal link to flooding is minimised with the latter treated as an urgent standalone issue that must be adapted to. Topics such as coral reef destruction, fisheries depletion, health threats, biodiversity decline, increased drought, strain on water resources and extreme weather patterns, all very relevant to Charleston, are not on the agenda except for that of a small group of concerned people. Moreover, the discussions about adaptation to flooding and the financing of adaptation measures are led by certain interests whose properties are under threat. Those most impacted by the climate challenge- the African-American community- are excluded.

One uncommon snow storm is unlikely to stir the climate conversation in Charleston. I have yet to see any mention of the words climate change in news reports or on social media. It can be argued that in a traditionally conservative state the fact that there is significant attention being paid now to flooding is something to be positive about. While this is true, there is a long way to go. This satisfaction must be channelled into taking the conversation towards much more uncomfortable territory. Territory that not only encompasses subjects like mitigation efforts to address the cause of climate change but also places those who suffer disproportionately from climate change at the forefront.

132 responses to “Musings of a Barbadian Transplant on the Unusual Sight of Snow in Charleston”

1. David, thanks for the link.
    My point is to stop the BS and reduce the pollution directly and measurably—-how on Earth is that wrong or political? as per Dribs.

Why should the US pay $100bn to their competitors? When do we expect that China, EE and India would return the complement and pay back the US as good lil humans?

China will brek fuh demselves and CRUSH all a we when they gain full control!

What and when are the main Polluters going to pay ie China, EE and India.

What are they going to do to reduce the pollution they create?

2. @Hants

It is chilly in your neck of the woods eh?

3. re Their bible writen by people who saw the world as flat.
    Pachamama could you please kindly tell me where the Bible says that the world is flat. Just give me two such texts.

4. GP,
    I am considering changing my moniker to Unreasonable One. hahaha

5. @Money Brain

The challenge will always be that these issues are wrapped in the political. What underlies political decisions your ask? Follow the money.

6. HANTS
    Some people write a whole lotta shite to indicate that they can talk as much shite as any BU BRIMBLER . BARE MOCK SPORT IN THE RUM SHOP MAN. ALL I NEED NOW IS SOME PUDDING AND SOUSE

7. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

MoneyB…ya acting like if US is not also one of the lead emitters on the earth and on a smaller scale Canada, have you ever seen the number of smokestacks in the US…being biased will not change the truth.

8. Here’s a man I never get tired of listening to when he speaks of science

http://www.takepart.com/video/2014/06/01/watch-neil-degrasse-tyson-debunk-climate-change-denier-claims-two-minutes

9. @ David,

Chilly ? Yes. Only minus 20c…..outside but plus 25c inside.

10. Dribs,
    I believe in INCENTIVISM.

The standard Right and Left, Capitalist and Socialist all have major flaws. Lefties want to cast dispersions on anyone who does not follow their lead, although there is plenty proof that societies employing Socialist policies are wasting money that could be better utilised in actually improving lives for many.
    Traditionally Capitalist societies like the US and HK have failed to help people with Education, Healthcare etc. Canada has HC but it could be better organised more efficient / effective if not for political vote buying by politicians who refuse to make sensible changes because of potential negative impressions by wasteful voters who think money grows on trees.

You are Lefty but based on what proof that the actions that you agree with actually work.

11. The Universe,Life,Existence are all mysteries.Can any of you barbados scholars accurately name one of your ancestors born in the 8 th century.
    Fracking on the other hand is creating earthquake conditions in Texas today.Man, particularly the albino man will never understand why the first people of Africa,Australia and the Americas prefer to live in tune with Mother Nature, up to this day.

12. Hants, U forgetting to mention windchill it is easily below —25C.

13. Here’s a little more of Neil deGrasse Tyson

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea January 6, 2018 at 9:40 AM
    “THE END IS NEAR….. as for all living systems, death is inevitable.
    When that time approaches,
    – everywhere hurts…
    – everything is extreme – winters, summers, floods, hurricanes, earthquakes – just like old folks
    …especially if someone abused their youth.
    So to some extent, it is influenced by human actions.
    Just as individuals who live healthy, sensible, moderate lives can expect to enjoy a generally healthier old age, so too would the earth-system have enjoyed a healthier ‘old age’ if we had been more circumspect in our exploitation of its natural systems.”

You do tell a rattling good yarn with the title “THE END IS NEAR”.

There is only One force capable of bring this planet to an end and that is the Star which created it in the first instance.

What will happen is that Pachamama, when she is ready, will shake you set of miserable self-destructive parasites off Her back just as She has done with many other species including your primate ancestors.

This planet has been hit by all kinds of forces, some million of times more powerfully destructive than today’s puny man’s total nuclear arsenal, but still survives.

From asteroids to comets have had their impact but Mother Earth and Father Sun are still here and being fruitful and multiplying.

The child-like biblical tale of Lot and his daughters ought to be taken at more than a simplistic superficial interpretation of potential challenges faced by puny mankind.

Today’s humans (monkey man) are no more than a bunch of uncouth classless visitors to Her home abusing the privileges of comfort and overstaying their time until the rise of the machine man becomes a pervasive reality.

That’s the only way the WORD (knowledge or science) can travel to the place from where it came.

George Carlin ‘is’ one of my favourite ‘serious’ comedians of deep political and spiritual thought (May Perpetual Light Shine on Him).
    Have a listen to him!
    He comes highly recommended by our own BU Pachamama.

15. WW, did I say that the US is not a polluter? US creates most of the pollution over Canada! The point is reduce the bloody Pollutants emitted but dont play games with CC and GW etc. Take action based on measurable reductions. What bias? Direct problem identification and solutions.

16. Saw a windchill of -124F forecast for Mt Washington yesterday.Actual was -90F

17. Sarge,
    Neilis clever, notice how he starts off very broad and narrows to pollution.

18. Current temp in Barbados at 3.30pm AST….1930GMT…..22c

19. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar
    Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service

Fracking on the other hand is creating earthquake conditions in Texas today.Man, particularly the albino man will never understand why the first people of Africa,Australia and the Americas prefer to live in tune with Mother Nature, up to this day.

they have always been arrogant and disdainful of earth and her people and believe the can go up against Mother Nature and win using their same centuries old greed, arrogance and disrespect, but she will cull them by the hundreds of million making the Jamaica, Port Royal earthquake centuries ago look like a breeze.

Mount St. Helen in Washington is rumbling and grumbling, when it rains, it will pour..

20. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar

Jamaica’s ‘wickedest city’ Port Royal banks on heritage

The glory days of Port Royal ended on 7 June 1692, when a massive earthquake and tsunami, described by the local clergy as God’s punishment, sank much of the city into the sea, killing 2,000 people.

Much of the city is preserved just a few metres under water, along with several hundred sunken ships in the harbour.

21. @Gabriel

Good comment.

22. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service January 6, 2018 at 4:07 PM

WW@C&P, have you ever had the good fortune of entering the “Giddy House” to experience that weird feeling?

It seems as if gravity just takes over your body and sense of balance to show you how insignificant a creature we humans are.

But we have been genetically endowed (DNA manipulation) with the gift of ART by the gods to make us more than mere primates so we might understand and consequently change our physical world.

The legend of Prometheus bring Fire to man has more to it as a tale of Wisdom than the Hebrew story of the snake bringing knowledge to Adam through Eve.

23. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@MB you call in “incentivism” and David Mr Blogmaster defines it as “… these issues are wrapped in the political”. And he concludes that we need to “Follow the money”. In blunt, crass blog speak it is the proverbial cluster phuck: everyone doing the other!

How else can one parse your assertion that the major polluters like China, India should be the ones paying the largesse and not the first world powers as mind numbingly remarkable when one knows – as YOU do also – the history of world development which saw those first world folks pillage and over-pollute as they super sized their economies with awesome industrial development circa early 19 Cen.

Of course China and India and others in EE are now super sizing on energy usage and sans controls they are polluting significantly…but let’s realistically deal with the facts of development of HOW we got here and who needs to step up and lead !

I don’t argue to evolve some leftist agenda…that’s stupid. I examine on the merits and seek a rational basis to get to the best conclusion…it’s never about ideology…

24. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar

these have to see hell on earth for centuries of unpaid evil…there must be an accounting, Karma will expect her pound of flesh…their hell has not yet begun.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/australasia/australia-heatwave-weather-hot-road-melting-highway-emergency-services-warning-latest-a8145366.html

` The “catastrophic” hot weather caused a 10km stretch of the Hume Highway, near the Victoria state capital Melbourne, to become soft and sticky, causing havoc for motorists trying to enter the city.

Victoria, South Australia and Tasmania have now declared a total fire ban after blazes on the outskirts of Melbourne raged out of control, destroying buildings and threatening lives…..`

25. Some more of Neil DeGrasse Tyson

26. Barbados is doing its part for the environment..instead of pumping sewage into the ocean it is keeping it on land

27. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar

It seems as if gravity just takes over your body and sense of balance to show you how insignificant a creature we humans are

No Miller….but knowledge is being dispersed these days to who is already awake, ya cant receive knowledge if ya fast asleep.

lack of respect for the privilege to breathe oxygen, greed for more and more of what never belonged to them and which none of them ever put here will manifest into a display to remind them all how insignificant they and their paper world is and can so easily be reduced to rubble, melting roads and ashes.

28. RE lawson January 6, 2018 at 4:48 PM #
    Barbados is doing its part for the environment..instead of pumping sewage into the ocean it is keeping it on land
    THATS SO VERY AWFUL!
    NOW OUR POLLUTION WILL CAUSE GLOBAL WARMING AND CLIMATE CHANGE!
    MURDAH!

29. @Sargeant

You are a Tyson fan? Can a brain discover new information about nature without being boxed/constrained by what is evidence based? Is this what he is saying?

30. Dribs,
    I said I am an Incentivist which has nothing to do with anything David said and was purely in reponse to your Righty / Lefty contention.

Humans only understand Carrot and Stick ie Incentive and Disincentive.

The 19th C is long gone and even 20th C has passed–none of the people of that time are extant now so that is all irrelevant.

Today we are all expected to reduce pollution. Why should Western nations encourage their competitors? Surely U dont desire a much lower standard of living when China / India rule the World. This is part of an economic War today, a war we must not lose if we want to maintain a higher standard of living. Naturally, U are free to enjoy living close to the bottom of the pile, I prefer being near the top and will invest in ChInDia etc as or when Westerners with your mindset sellout. I deal with today NOT with how we got here from 1700s.

If you dont reduce pollution dont expect to trade with us. China should not have been permitted into to the WTO without agrreing to Labour standards, pollution, Patent Protection and much more.

31. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ dpD at 4 :43 PM

Wuhloss. I agree with your positions. Incentivism is a political tool. It is a polite term for a bribe.John in an earlier intervention pointed out that the “satanic mills” were prevalent in Britain in the19th century. The same was true in USA. And is it not a political promise of Trump to relocate manufacturing to USA mainland?

The second issue is that of viewing climatic changes as if they are not part of a cycle in Earth’s history. There are many things in this world that are unknowable.

32. @David
    All the new information about nature is science based, sometimes we reject the evidence for political or religious reasons. No responsible scientist would risk his reputation by submitting some claim without proof. They may postulate theories based on their research but they have to be tested before they are universally accepted.

33. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

To my mind Global warming and now Global freezing suggest to me that there is little or no substance to the theory that man’s activities is the prime cause of the apparent capricious nature of Earth’s climate.

34. @ Bernard
    Don’t confuse yourself with non-financial matters such as this.

Global warming is a term used to refer to the net average global temperature as calculated by a standard agreed formula.
    No (intelligent) person questions the FACT that this average temperature has been increasing almost annually.

Extreme freezing on the other hand, is not mutually exclusive. It just points to the FACT that while global average temperatures are RISING, peaks of cold extremes are ALSO being observed.

Put 1 and 1 together and you should come up with 11.

It CLEARLY points to unusually WIDE SWINGS in temperature extremes.
    This spells clear signs of a control system going OUT OF BALANCE….. like a cyclist in the process of losing his balance during a “speed wobble”.

The best analogy for you and Money Brain would be the stock market… going to record highs, while seeing intermittent extreme crashes such as 2008.
    No doubt you know what is coming… (this year…?)

35. Bushy,
    Annual increases in Temp?
    Where is the data on that?
    The last 30-40 years would would suffice, Thanks.

36. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ Sargeant at 5 :51 PM

I think I understand what you meant to say. But a your intervention as written it could be misleading.
    All new information on Nature do not pass the test for science. Some of them are speculative and their experiments not replicable.
    Not all scientists are responsible. Being a scientist does not make one ethical/moral or infallible.
    There has been theories that were universally accepted which were subsequently found to be untrue.
    Science is a work in progress. When it ceases to be this, then it is not science.

37. @Hants
    With the wind chill it is -40c up here and I am comfortable with 72F inside. Anything above that is uncomfortable and drying, to skin, hair, even eyes. You need to add insulation to your attic and get better performing windows if you need 25C which is around 77F. I would sweat at that temperature. You have been in Canada a long time……you should be acclimatized by now.

38. @ Money B
    ++++++++++++++++++++++
    All over boss…
    e.g.

https://www.climate.gov/news-features/understanding-climate/climate-change-global-temperature

39. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

Bush Tea at 6:35 PM

Money B has dealt with the substance of your argument.

No, I do not know what is coming later this year because an average of the previous outcomes would be speculative. There are too many outliers and outliars in the game. Ha Ha Ha LOL!!!!

40. @ Bernard
    Money B has no clue.
    Poor fella still thinks that his lotta money will somehow protect him…..
    By the time this cold spell is done with him, he will be pulling grass from his underwear. LOL

…and
    Don’t worry your head about what is coming this year.
    Enjoy yourself to the max.
    That is probably the best option anyway….at this stage.

41. @ Money B
    The last 30-40 years would would suffice, Thanks.
    Hope that 140 years of scientific research did not overwhelm you….

42. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

Bush Tea

I am taking your advice as usual. Thanks.

43. Dr. Simple "Riff-Raff" Simon fake Phd.and all Avatar
    Dr. Simple “Riff-Raff” Simon fake Phd.and all

@ Mohammed Iqbal Degia “dirt-filled, ugly mess that pretty snow soon transforms to in cities.”

This was my first experience of snow, on the way from the airport in spring, I saw the ugly dirt filled mess and couldn’t believe it.

However later there were other beautiful snow days, fluffy snow, snow like coconut jelly, shimmering crystalline snow, and sometimes an ice storm which left Christmas car icicles hanging from the trees and the eaves.

44. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@MoneyB, your views are pellucid. You have power and will certainly not cede it without a major fight. Why would you.

I personally nor for my family -extended- do not desire a lower standard of living. I am fully aware tho that even as I strive to enhance my lot in life built on the backs of those who toiled slavishly to grow this wondrous economy which you and your ancestors so masterfully controlled and protected that others want theirs too…

And frankly they also have no desire for the lower standards of life either.

Amazing that you perceive that YOU are somehow entitled to your position on top of the pile and that I forsee the coming change as desiring to be on the bottom of the pile and selling out. Truly an amazing perspective ….of color bias, or class bias or just freaking snobbish arrogance!

Incidentally, I have no issue with pollution reduction in China and India, in fact God above knows that millions of Mumbians or those in Shanghai or Beijin desperately want that reduction also, but it is rich – pun n all- for you to pompesette that you in the westefn world can pollute for years and years to make your riches and woe are these Johnny-come-lately to dis your demands that they get their act together pronto.

Spoken like de true massa with word from on high!

Ah well, I must be that bottom pic’in, low life lefty sell out.

And @Bernard C glad to see that at least one other person interpreted the incentivism euphemism similarly.

45. Dr. Simple "Riff-Raff" Simon fake Phd.and all Avatar

@Well Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your Service January 6, 2018 at 9:44 AM “Greenland, etc, areas where no one lives, ”

What?

60,000 Innu people live in Greenland, and have lived there for thousands of years, and will likly continue living there for thousands of years more.

I wouldn’t call that “no one’

46. Dr. Simple "Riff-Raff" Simon fake Phd.and all Avatar

@Money Brain, January 6, 2018 at 1:46 PM “Dribs–try explaining how mankind created or melted the Ice caps 12,000 or so years ago. ”

Then like now, mankind melted the ice caps by talking a lot of hot air.

47. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

Thanks Mohammed.

Beautiful essay, good pictures. I am wondering though will the palm trees recover from this cold/snow spell?

48. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Dr. Simple…they will snap back in the spring, the wonders of Mother Nature.

And…there are areas which is basically much of inland Greenland where no one lives just like there are areas of Canada where no one lives…too damn cold, too close to the coldest areas of the subarctic …not even the native Inuit of either regions are brave enough to try.

You will find no one in certain parts of the Yukon Tundra.

“The territory has the smallest population of any province or territory in Canada, with 35,874 people. Whitehorse is the territorial capital and Yukon’s only city. … Most of Yukon has a subarctic climate, characterized by long cold winters and brief warm summers. The Arctic Ocean coast has a tundra climate

“Yukon, formerly Yukon Territory, territory of northwestern Canada, an area of rugged mountains and high plateaus. It is bounded by the Northwest Territories to the east, by British Columbia to the south, and by the U.S. state of Alaska to the west, and it extends northward above the Arctic Circle to the Beaufort Sea.”

49. Dribs,
    U intentionally attempt to misunderstand and reposition what I write but that wont work with me.

Why must U always attempt to bring in a RACIAL angle when I was referring to the West versus the East? The West includes U and yours. The hard headed here refuse to accept that the majority of British people were historically under significant pressure from the upper classes there. Part of my family rebelled at Monmouth and were Barbadosed, hardly likely to be actual oppressors. My advice is to solicit allies and not try to create enemies.

I never stated that I was entitled to anything Dribs, but I certainly dont intend to sellout like many politicians and very powerful Business people have. Fantastic that just maybe the Clintons and their “foundation” may be fully investigated, hopefully with absolute thoroughness and professionalism. I like living in a relatively rich part of the world and just because China, EE and India have decided that Communism and very bureaucratic Socialism does NOT and can NOT work, why should I encourage their growth when it is obvious that they are such a gargantuan part of humanity that they could crush the rest of us? Poor “leadership” in NtmAm and Europe is conducting much to assist their own demise. Do U want to live with 30%+ unemployment ie Depression for many years? I have no desire to switch places with the East. If roles were reversed do U really believe that China would treat the West as kindly? NOT on your life!

Why do I have to continuously make the point that when China is in total control we will all be in danger. China is currently embroiled in territorial disputes with India, Malaysia, The Phillipines, Indonesia, Vietnam et al. They have more than 1.2 BN people and a couple hundred more “overseas” (richer than average too) that are still ethnic Chinese who may well be persuaded to assist when necessary.