Caswell Franklyn, Head of Unity Workers Union

The New Year is almost upon us and very shortly this country will be transformed into a veritable electioneering circus, some might say with an assortment of clowns, to select a new government.

The Democratic Labour Party (DLP) emerged victorious in the last two contests. However, this time around, political pundits and wishful thinkers have already called the next elections for the Barbados Labour Party (BLP), which seems to have lulled that party into a sense of complacency. The BLP appears to be saying to itself that the current administration is so absolutely bad that the electorate could not possibly re-elect them. That attitude might very well see them in opposition, with reduced numbers after the next polls.

However, I must point out to the BLP and any other third parties with similar views that dismal performance has not proven to be a bar to the DLPโ€™s success. Their legendary incompetence did not emerge overnight. During the illness and subsequent death of Prime Minister, David Thompson, his party fell to pieces and took the country right along with it. With his passing, it appeared that the DLP did not only lose its leader; it lost its ability to effectively govern. Despite that, it had a winning formula and was returned as the Government in 2013.

The reality in Barbados is that any party that seriously intends to form the Government must capture the imagination of the civil service. The DLP recognised that readily and in their last two manifestos, it made some grandiose and unrealistic pledges to civil servants, who fell for them hook, line and sinker.

Under the heading of โ€œAchievementsโ€ in the 2013 manifesto, it boasted that it kept all public servants employed, despite the hard economic times. Then during the campaign, while pledging not to send home one-single government worker, its platform speakers kept insisting that workers would lose their jobs, if the BLP formed the Government.

History has now recorded that almost immediately after its re-election, Government implemented plans to reduce the public service by 6,000 workers. And to this day, this administration would only admit to dismissing 3,000 workers, by semantically saying that the other 3,000 workers were not dismissed; they were temporary officers and that their contracts came to an end.

Thereafter, the remaining public workers have silently endured the brunt of the DLPโ€™s mismanagement. Under normal circumstances, public workers would have benefitted from three salary revisions in seven years. Instead, they suffered through a seven-year long wage freeze.

Now, as if to add insult to injury, government proposed to give workers at the bottom of the scale a one-off payment of $464.85, which equates to $66.41 per year, $5.53 per month or 18 cents per day over that seven-year period. I am truly touched by such generosity.

Another aspect of this Governmentโ€™s mismanagement that I find extremely troubling is their penchant for unilaterally changing the terms and conditions of public workers , when it suits them, to effect savings, without regard to those affected. In one such instance, the High Court has recently given a decision against Government, in favour of workers that were forced into early retirement by the Barbados Industrial Development Corporation.

Also, without regard to the welfare of workers the authorities have been refusing to grant a termโ€™s vacation leave to teachers who qualify. It has long been established that long-serving teachers need some time away from the classroom to avoid burnout. According to the General Orders, teachers are entitled to a termโ€™s vacation leave after 15 yearsโ€™ service. Thereafter, they qualify for another termโ€™s leave after serving not less than 21 terms. Government is now only granting the first leave and the one immediately before retirement.

If I were a teacher, who was approaching an age where I could retire early on pension and my application was denied, I would hand in my papers to retire. The leave would now be granted in accordance with the new policy and I would then write to rescind my retirement, since it is normal practice for persons to do so any time before the Governor-General approves the retirement.

I am merely imploring public workers to forget this nonsense about party and vote to secure their own future.

146 responses to “The Caswell Franklyn Column – Civil Servants Vote to Your Interests in 2018”

1. Caswell

This article represents why Barbados is the way it is.

Why you are, after all is said and done, the quintessential Bajan and representative of the malaise which will continue to be the bane of Barbados’s existence, ’till cultural death comes.

Your narrow-mindedness attaches far too much importance to what Barrow called ‘an army of occupation’.

You have invited us to be minded that such an army of less than 15000 people, less the 6,000 you claim retrenched, could decide an election. If that were true no national government would have ever lost power for indeed employees are more than likely to be captives, at least electorally, of their masters.

Surely, you cannot be inviting thinking people to accept these notions in isolation.

Then you would want to have us believe that this here DLP is so culturally disconnected that there is a separate logic by which it could exist and win elections in spite of an escalating ma-administration in the political culture. A mal-administration cumulative of all that has come before.

Since political ‘independence’ both parts of the duopoly were in power for about an equal length of time.

Your article seems to be no more than a propaganda piece for the BLP. And like a ‘dyed in the wool’ partisan you seek to rally BLP political forces to ensure the result all BLP loyalists would require.

The criticisms made about the DLP appears to come from a man whose historical clock can only go back 2008.

It fails to even pretend to see the future. Tell us how your incoming BLP government would be qualitatively different to this ‘temporarily’ discredited DLP.

We say temporarily because at some time in the future another partisan will be so writing to pave the way for the DLP.

For your BLP was discredited by 2008, like it was before several times before. But within a duopoly it is people like you who serve to breathe life into dead political parties by washing them in the blood of the lamb, time and time again.

We say let them both die ………………………………. and stay dead!

No political resurrection for either. Should there not be everlasting fire for both since they’ve had their days of judgement.

It is this born again bullshite, from another virulently misguided part of the culture, which when transported to politics makes such magical political thinking possible in the first place.

Caswell, it is people like you who continue to make certain the need for a guillotine. Such a device must now be properly directed at people like you on the fringe, as well.

2. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Reblogged this on Caswell Franklyn’s Weblog.

3. very interesting and educative

4. Caswell

Give up the ghost !

Mia Mottley is tainted . She has too much baggage!

George Payne hates her and has filed Court documents calling her a CROOK.

With six (6) months to go …….George Payne will have to explain to Barbadians why he has this view of Mia Mottley.

Edmund Hinkson says George Payne is a CROOK and has tied an Affadavit in the High Court to that effect …….in the upcoming six (6) Hinkson would have to explain to Barbadians – why in a UNITED BLP he can have such repulsive views about the CHAIRMAN of the BLP.

Bajans await it all with bated breath.

5. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

Caswell Franklyn is a Political COWARD ! If Caswell Franklyn ever tries to criticize Mia Mottley harshly he will lose column so this political BLP yard boy is now relegated to using his Sunday column to beg public officers who vote DLP to forget party loyalty.
    This is no coincidence. Caswell Franklyn is singing for his supper. He is “independent” as Patrick King.

6. Michael Carrington is also TAINTED. And LIKEWISE, he has too much baggage.

John Griffiths hates him and filed Court documents calling him a CROOK (for with-holding his [Griffiths] funds for several years, while refusing to acknowledge requests to settle and fraudulently converting such funds to his [Carrington] own use. The Court ordered the shameless, crooked, thieving Speaker of the House to repay the funds with โ€œpenalties & interest).

Ajax Construction Inc. also says Michael Carrington is a CROOK and has filed a lawsuit in the Supreme Court to that effectโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ. challenging the level of fees charged by Carrington for legal work done with respect to the purchase and resale of a portion of land at Warrens, St Michael and that he wrongfully withheld some $45,000 from the company, and has asked the court to reward it certain sums of money, costs and other relief.

With (6) months to goโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ. Michael Carrington will have to explain to his constituents why his clients and by extension all Barbadians, have the view that he is a DISHONEST, CROOKED, THIEVING lawyer, who, as a Queenโ€™s Counsel,โ€ has brought shame to the position of Speaker.

In the upcoming six (6) months Carrington will have to explain to Barbadians โ€“ why in a UNITED DLP Barbadians can have such repulsive views about the SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY.

Bajans await it all with bated breath.

Hahahahahahaโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ. according to Georgie Porgieโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ.. โ€œbare sport in de rum shop.โ€

7. 3,000 or 6,000 workers. I do NOT care. More must go. We must bite the heart out of the public sector, the appointed civil servants. We need a proscription list with at least 5,000 appointed civil servants for firing IN ADDITION to many workers.

We must unleash the forces of the free market. That is only possible when said officers join the army of the unemployed to seek new jobs in the private sector. What we will get is the wished result, namely lower wages and higher productivity – what Barbados needs so much.

8. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

The Nation newspaper is the BLP e;lection headquarters: the articles, the photos used etc.
    The role of the daily columnists in The Nation is not to educate or inform or even to pretend to be independent. It is to ensure that at least in every Nation newspaper 7 days a week there is at least one anti government article. This strategy is key to the BLP public relations and SPIN operation along with the social media attacks eg: House in Rolling Hills, St. George.
    The role of the Nation newspaper in Barbados Today is to drive a constant anti government narrative. Only a clown wouldn’t admit that. It is plain for all to see.

9. Pachamama, your response is right on cue. Couldn’t agree with you more. Imagine, incompetent, under performing, ineffective, entitled civil servants determining the election…..but then again its tbose types that got Trump elected.

10. It seems as though the DLP and its yard-fowls are not as confident as they have been sayingโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ.. that they will win the 2018 general elections.

Why????

We have now seen the re-emergence of the idiot yard-fowl —โ€œNationBLPnewspaperโ€ spewing HER usual political diatribe shiite, in an attempt to convince Barbadians they should vote for the DLP.

What the shiite hound needs focus in is how the owner of the Barbados Advocate Newspaper, Anthony Bryan, has been able to create history, by receiving the THREE (3) HIGHEST national honours, when he NOT DONE ANYTHING to ASSIST in the DEVELOPMENT of Barbadosโ€ฆโ€ฆ.. but his only claim to fame is PUBLISHING pro DLP news items in the Advocate.

“Bare sport in the rum shop………”

11. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

Whenever the evidence is produced to show how the BLP is really prostituting the Nation newspaper to do its bidding, partisans only retort is “Look at the Advocate or look at CBC”.
    They cannot refute the overwhelming evidence that the largest newspaper in the country has sold its soul to a political party to the extent that which stories make the front page are determined by political considerations.
    The editors had to make a decision on if to put the high hotel occupancy story on the front page or the coverage of Charles Herbert interview which was reported in an earlier article. After a political intervention it was decided that the headline on the Sunday BLP Nation would be “NEW GOVERNMENT NEEDED” which did not give the real context of the comments.
    Hotels on a high would never have been approved by the BLP CONTROLLED Nation leadership.

12. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

THE BLP NATION STRATEGY revealed :
    Use the BLP approved columnists to do the opposition’s bidding and drive negative political opiion:

It amounts to FREE unpaid BLP advertising so :
    MONDAY – Harry Russell attacks
    TUESDAY – Tennyson Joseph attacks
    WEDNESDAY – Frances Chandler attacks
    THURSDAY – Clyde Mascoll attacks
    FRIDAY – Editor Carol Martindale attacks
    SATURDAY – Ef I wuz attacks
    SUNDAY (HIGH CIRCULATION) Multiple Attacks : Albert Barndford, Pat “dolittle journalist”Hoyos, Peter Wickham and off course Caswell Franklyn has to toe the line.

Recent additions have been Lisa Cummins who recently spoke at the BLP annual conference and so must be given her chance. I laughed when I read this strategically placed comment in Lisa Cummins’ article in today’s BLP Nation:
    “Is leadership going to be decided on the basis of personal lifestyle choices or have we …….not seen a cabinet reshuffle to protect the public interest?”
    lol – Mia Mottley could not have said it better.

You want to get in the Nation newspaper , make a name for yourself cussing the DLP.

The Nation newspaper is really the BLP public relations company. Open your eyes Barbados.

13. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Pachamama

While reading your comment all I could think of was the image of water rolling off a duckโ€™s back.

14. @NationBLPnewspaper

You have to admit this is an unpopular government.

You also have to admit that this forum has been most scathing in its criticism of the local media.

15. The civil servants in Barbados have only our best interest at heart: namely our money. They need it like Dracula needs blood.

Why is there no businessman becoming GG of Barbados? Why only apparatchiks and bureaucratic bigwigs, sucking the taxpayerยดs money like other people cocaine?

Is there any moral left in the civil service?

16. This is a generalization, you have government therefore government employees will be required. The issue is about making the public service efficient. Private sector will have to do same. We should avoid clouding the issue:

17. Caswell

The imagery of water running off a duck’s back, you may think denotes strength, a firm position, a rightness.

But for us it speaks to the entrenched, ineradicable, unshakeable, inexorable, unalterable nature of the system and the people therein, thus the guillotine as a necessary precondition for social transformation.

In this, there are no real or measurable differences between you and those who are in power right now or those who will be in power after the election.

It has become very clear that the likes of you represent no solution. In fact, you are central to the problem of duopoly politics in Barbados.

This pretense about criticality cannot coexist with what will be presented as the lesser of two evils, as temporary as that has always been, and will be again this time around.

18. @ Caswell
    According to International Labour Organization figures from 2015, the Barbados public sector accounted for 22.3% of employment. What is your estimate of total public sector employment including SOEs as percentage of the total labour market?

19. NationBLPnewspaper December 31, 2017 at 8:02 AM #

โ€œWhenever the evidence is produced to show how the BLP is really prostituting the Nation newspaper to do its bidding, partisans only retort is โ€œLook at the Advocate or look at CBC.โ€โ€ฆโ€
    +++++++++++++++++++

DLP yard-fowls never cease to amaze me. Is the DLP yard-fowl NationBLPnewspaper trying to tell this forum that her comments criticizing the BLP should not be considered as coming from a โ€œPARTISANโ€ as well?

Iโ€™m sure you are aware this inept DLP administration is EXTREMELY UNPOPULAR among many Barbadians, even THOSE that expressed a desire to see the UPP or Solutions Barbados โ€œelected to office.โ€

You need to STOP the CHILDISH โ€œbelly achingโ€ and ACCEPT and come to terms with the fact that, similarly to how you BELIEVE it is YOUR RIGHT to CRITICIZE the Nation Newspaper and their columnists for what you perceive as political biasโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ.

โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ.ANY citizen of Barbados has a FUNDAMENTAL RIGHT to EXPRESS his/her DISSATISFACTION with ANY political, whether that party is the BLP, DLP, UPP, SB, PDC, BIM or even a party held at Kensington Oval.

That HUMAN RIGHT is PROTECTED by:

(1) ARTICLE 10: Universal Declaration of Human Rights: which protects any individualโ€™s right to hold their opinions and express them freely without government interference. This includes the right to express your views aloud (for example through public protest and demonstrations) or through: PUBLISHED ARTICLES, books or leaflets television or radio broadcasting works of art, and the internet and SOCIAL MEDIA.

(2) ARTICLE 19: the Universal Declaration of Human Rights: EVERYONE has the RIGHT to FREEDOM of OPINION and EXPRESSION; this right includes FREEDOM to hold OPINIONS without INTERFERENCE and to seek, receive and impart information and ideas THROUGH ANY MEDIA and regardless of frontiers.

Whether or not the Nation prints articles in which the columnists are critical of any government is NOT the issue. Essentially, if that media outlet PROVIDES a MEDIUM for persons to โ€œexerciseโ€ their fundamental rights, SO BE IT.

Similarly to FOX News, the Advocate prefers to publish news items that favour the DLPโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ.
    โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆand the state owned CBC, while also presenting news that favour the DLP, also SUPPRESSES any ATTEMPTS by citizens DESIROUS of EXPRESSING their dissatisfaction with this inept DLP administration.โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ. as DEMONSTRATED by the hosts of that stationโ€™s call-in-program, namely Maureen Holder & John Lovellโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ as well as the inordinate number of pro DLP callers.

Then you have the DLP indebted CBC in the amount of $109,609 for broadcasting that partyโ€™s political rhetoricโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ.. but in turn says itโ€™s against CBCโ€™s policy to broadcast political messages of the other political parties.

And this DLP political bias at CBC is facilitated at the EXPENSE of those same taxpaying citizens who you deem to be politically biased towards to BLP.

My friend, if you praise the behaviour of CBC & the Advocateโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ and then admonish the Nation in the same breathโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆsurely you are a hypocritical, dishonest, politically biased deceitful yard-fowl.

However, any political party and its supporters, for purposes of political aggrandizement and other political reasons, that deliberately restrict any citizenโ€™s RIGHT to EXPRESS his/her DISSATISFACTION with that political party, essentially VIOLATE that citizenโ€™s human rightsโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ..

โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ. and you NEED to ACCEPT that this behaviour is WRONG.

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP December 31, 2017 at 7:12 AM #
    โ€œGeorge Payne hates her and has filed Court documents calling her a CROOK.
    With six (6) months to go โ€ฆโ€ฆ.George Payne will have to explain to Barbadians why he has this view of Mia Mottley.โ€

Fractured, you are thinking just like your Numeracy-challenged minister of finance. You are mixing up months with weeks.

Isn’t it more realistic to say โ€˜with six (6) Weeks to go’ instead ofโ€ six (6) monthsโ€?

Are you aware that the current session of Parliament reconvenes on the 16th January and must come to an end by March 6th, 2018, sine die until after general elections?

So can we conclude your deceitful lying incompetent administration will be doing the almost impossible by debating the Appropriation Bill for the financial year 2018-2019 in February 2018? Or do intend to rule by decree and not according to the laws of the land?

Can we also expect you guys to have the sewage fiasco fixed before the current life of Parliament comes to an end to put sewer rats like you out of business?

Here is a prediction from the doom and gloom prophets:
    Expect within (your projected) 6 months the utility poles on the South Coast to fall and the collapsed road network become impassable.

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ NationBLPnewspaper December 31, 2017 at 8:02 AM
    โ€œThe editors had to make a decision on if to put the high hotel occupancy story on the front page or the coverage of Charles Herbert interview which was reported in an earlier article. After a political intervention it was decided that the headline on the Sunday BLP Nation would be โ€œNEW GOVERNMENT NEEDEDโ€ which did not give the real context of the comments.
    Hotels on a high would never have been approved by the BLP CONTROLLED Nation leadership.โ€

We agree with you, NationBLPnewspaper.

Instead of โ€œNEW GOVERNMENT NEEDEDโ€ as its headline the Nation should have carried the South Coast Sewage fiasco instead with a photo of the tourists from the overflowing hotels wading through the shit overflowing on the streets of Worthing and Rockley.

Donโ€™t worry about the Nation newspaper since there will soon be no foreign exchange to pay for the imported newsprint.

Instead just a few town criers shouting: โ€˜Choleraโ€™! โ€˜Outbreak of Cholera in Barbadosโ€™!

The current outbreak of respiratory complaints is just the thin edge in the contagion wedge of viral diseases awaiting an innocent population.

Itโ€™s a pity that political sewer rats like yourself are immune.

22. NorthernObserver Avatar

@PLT…”What is your estimate of total public sector employment including SOEs as percentage of the total labour market?”
    60%

23. But isn’t hotel occupancy high every year around this time? stupse!

24. Has the number of beds increase from 6,000 and about?

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David December 31, 2017 at 3:38 PM

It seems as if there is some โ€˜fixedโ€™ inverse relationship between visitor arrivals and their financial contribution to the local economy.

How come the foreign reserves keep falling with only an amount available to cover 3 to 4 weeks of standard imports when the SDR’s are taken into account?

We hope and trust the newly appointed Guv of the CB does not allow himself to be the scapegoat for this mortally wounded administration by trying to pull wool over the naรฏve peopleโ€™s eyes and feed bullshit to the masses in painting a rosy but false impression of the state of the countryโ€™s foreign reserves.

Should he follow the path of his predecessor by playing Little Bo-Peep with the true state of the foreign reserves he will be in for a rather rude and serious awakening.

We shall not forget the $300 million that went missing after the February 2013 elections.

We shall also be monitoring how he treats to the leper Leroy Greenverbsโ€™s laundered millions stashed away in the electronic vault at Church Village clearly in breach of the Bankโ€™s legal and operational mandate.

26. @Miller

The point has been well made that performance of the tourism sector must be measured based on $spend. Clearly a significant amount foreign receipts from bookings never make it onshore. Remember the question Adrian asked Butch at the BCCI luncheon.

27. @ Miller
    Boss, pray tell us what the nonsense called ‘visitor arrivals’ has to do with anything of import in Barbados ….when most of these ‘visitors’ would have paid for their holidays via hard currency IN THEIR COUNTRY OF ORIGIN and then arrived here with minimum need to spend any additional cash?
    Where will the forex come here from….?

These politicians are so comprehensively foolish that it actually seems to ELUDE them that the hotels, the banks, the Trickidadian businessmen, the Canadian utility owners ….. ARE ALL JUST EXPLOITING this shiite country by diverting as much hard currency as they possibly can…?

What will it take?
    …for some of the foreigners to confess? … or perhaps write a book about how doltish Bajans are…?

Steupsss… even YOU have Bushie worried boss…. with your shiite talk about …
    “It seems as if there is some โ€˜fixedโ€™ inverse relationship between visitor arrivals and their financial contribution to the local economy” ….

….Bushie thought you were some kinda intelligent Anunnaki…..
    …but you like you is a shiite-naki yuh….

28. Damn!!!
    Trust David to put it nicely….
    ๐Ÿ™‚

29. Artax

Your two posts were spot on as usual.

Ignore the two yardfowls, they are ashamed of the hell hole they have turned this once proud country into……..nothing is going well. Prior to 2008, these same yardfowls had no problem with the Nation as Harold Hoyte backed the lazy dead king while telling OSA that he does not sing in his choir……

So expect the constant outbursts as they realise the days of feeding at the trough are drawing to a close. The mere thought of that is driving them mad………they will attack anyone and anything.

That this government stood by and allowed the south coast to become a huge health hazzard with shitty water running in the streets defines them to a T………..piss poor…….. incompetent……arrogant………deceitful…..lying……dishonest!

30. @millertheanunnaki December 31, 2017 at 4:07 PM #

Typical capital flight in 2013, after our investors figured out that the island is sliding into the abyss. Will happen again, if Big Sinck moves on.

My question is: Were any Cuba clauses activated in the offshore sectore in 2013? Or should we call them DLP clauses? OK, the offshore constructions are somehow shielded, but who knows …

31. The foreign reserves must be so low now that there cannot be a flight of capital.

32. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ Bush Tea at 4 : 30 PM

Miller has made the same point that you did.He spoiled it a little bit by fixing the inverse relationship. LOL

33. On reflection you are right Bernard, but Miller likes to ‘skirt’ around the issues with his flowery language and mystical insinuations….
    Bushie just like to cuss his donkey at any and every opportunity… even tenuous ones such as this…. LOL

34. @Prodigal Son December 31, 2017 at 5:12 PM #

LOL. However, if you drop a dead cat, even the dead cat will jump and sham some live. I would not wonder if the cabinet ministers, judges and high bureaucrats source their foreign currency to purchase their lavish goods just now from private accounts in F/X. Of course, without the ownerยดs knowledge. Will be fun after next election for these owners to figure out that all their money is gone to DLP Canada and DLP UK.

35. Dr. Simple "Riff-Raff" Simon fake Phd.and all Avatar
    Dr. Simple “Riff-Raff” Simon fake Phd.and all

@NationBLPnewspaper December 31, 2017 at 7:49 AM “The Nation newspaper is the BLP election headquarters… It is to ensure that at least in every Nation newspaper 7 days a week there is at least one anti government article. This strategy is key to the BLP public relations and SPIN operation a…ks eg: House in Rolling Hills, St. George. The role of the Nation newspaper in Barbados Today is to drive a constant anti government narrative. ”

Maybe the Nation is only following the people’s nrrative. Maybe the people have become anti-DLP government.

36. Dr. Simple "Riff-Raff" Simon fake Phd.and all Avatar

@”Fractured BLP December 31, 2017 at 7:12 AM”

Do you think that it is possible that many of the male political class in Barbados are old time misogynists?

37. @ Pacha

“We say let them both die โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ. and stay dead! ”

That is one of the major solution to our problems. Well said !!

38. HAPPY NEW YEAR TO THE BU BIG WIGS WHO THINK THEY KNOW IT ALL

David December 31, 2017 at 8:39 AM #

You have to admit this is an unpopular government.

,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Words which i heard eight years ago , Yet the blp lose,

With Mia being Leader the Blp cannot win.

The one thing that would kill Mia chances is Her bold face approach of wanting to privatize govt entities that secures civil service jobs
    Although she has marched as a foot soldier to fight for civil servant interest , The civil servants knows all the politricks that says self interest that lies deep within her soul

39. ac

You mean privatisation of government entities such as BNTCL? Your hypocrisy is frightening.

40. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The news broke this morning that Cedric Murrell has been awarded the OBE for his services to the Trade Union Movement. More correctly, he should have been awarded for his services to the Democratic Labour Party for ensuring that the NUPW operated in the best interest of the DLP.

I started working with Cedric Murrell on the National Council of NUPW from 1982 and I am unaware of anything that he has done in the interest of workers that would merit any national honour whatsoever. His actions were always designed to benefit Cedric Murrell in the first instance, and thereafter the DLP.

41. really ! Enuff the connection pales in comparison to govt entitles like the transport where civil servant employment numbers are in greater amount.
    Do not be fooled Blp yardfowls that Mia silence on not giving a solution to the economy does not send a message of having nothing to offer,
    Sooner rather than later she would have to address a formula and the truth is that she would not be able to distance her older comments from the old model of Privatisation as well as taking the harshest route of going to the IMF
    She will be place in a position to speak and the Truth will come out.
    Btw the LEC issue is still alive and well and that too she cannot run or hide from

42. Good morning Caswell Happy New Year

You seem to be carrying an axe for any group or individual you have work for , It must be an awesome burden having to carry so may axes 365 days a year

43. As I mentioned in a previous post…………. the DLP and its yard-fowls are not confident of winning the 2018 elections as they have been suggesting.

Now, this idiot yard-fowl began 2018 similarly to how she ended 2017โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ. with a lot of rhetorical political shiite.

The JA seems not to realize that, while Barbadians were fed of the DLP in 2013 (hence, the 16-14 result in favour of the DEMS), only an idiotโ€ฆโ€ฆ. sorryโ€ฆโ€ฆyard-fowl (but then againโ€ฆ.. yard-fowl = idiot)โ€ฆ. would want to compare pre 2013 with the existing environment post 2013, especially under circumstances where the economic and political environments have undergone significant changes and the DLP has performed much worse than their first term.

Then the electorate would obviously scrutinize the performance of ministers of government. For example:

The bombastic Sinckler has proven time and time again that he is an abysmal failure as finance minister. None of his economic policies has been able to achieve the desired objectives. He has been doing the same shiite, expecting different shiite resultsโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ a madman.

How about the enigmatic Dr. David Estwick? This man publicly criticized his finance ministerโ€™s economic policies saying they are responsible for Barbadosโ€™ dire economic situation. Against the background of the DEMSโ€™s new mantra re โ€œbring solutions,โ€ Estwick had to beg for an audience with the PM and Cabinet to present his alternative solutionsโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ. which were โ€œIMMEDIATELY and UNANIMOUSLYโ€ rejected by his colleagues. Yet, although Estwick is critical of his administration, he goes to parliament and votes โ€œyea.โ€

Estwick publicly explained the reasons why he called former PM Owen Arthur a โ€œmadmanโ€ for considering selling BNOCL. However, his currently PM Stuart has all but sold BNOCLโ€™s subsidiary, BNTCLโ€ฆโ€ฆ.. and Estwick now opts to remain silentโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ. he has gone from being an โ€œaggressiveโ€ Pit-Bull to a shy โ€œChihuahua.โ€โ€ฆโ€ฆ.. another madman.

The biggest lunatic is the idiot parading as the PM, Freundel Stuart, who does very little, but seems to believe arrogance, insulting people and quoting from Chaucer, Shakespeare, Plato and Galileo epitomizes โ€œprime ministership.โ€

These issues will be major considerations with the electorate.

44. Dr. Simple "Riff-Raff" Simon fake Phd.and all Avatar

@Caswell Franklyn January 1, 2018 at 9:19 AM “I am unaware of anything that he has done in the interest of workers that would merit any national honour whatsoever. His actions were always designed to benefit Cedric Murrell in the first instance, and thereafter the DLP.”

Ouch!!!

45. Artax Blah blah Idiot Have a happy New Year but you would be sorely disappointed when the BLP sits on the back bench for another four years
    Our PM was elected by the people While the Idiot MIa was rejected
    BTW this idiot is sitting in the winners circle while YOU the a..sshole is swiping up the crumbs for the blp

Mia cannot win sh..it she was openly rejected twice once by her party and also the people of barbados .,, Thrice would be the charm

46. JA………… it seems you can’t come to terms with the fact I don’t care about Mia Mottley of the BLP……… and far less about you and the DLP.

My main reason is to highlight your yard-fowl idiocy, which I have been consistently successful in achieving………and as such, I have been “sitting in the winner’s circle, while YOU the a..sshole is swiping up the crumbs for the DLP.”

I hope when the DLP loses the next general election, you won’t be so “sorely disappointed” to be driven to commit suicide.

47. ac

A government owned monopoly is a government owned monopoly. The privatisation of BNTCL is worse than that of the Transport Board.

48. Artax my idiocy has serves it purpose while your intelligence keeps you whining and talking crap about what an idiot ac is
    The next few months elections would be called and you would see who is the biggest idiot

49. I could see the newspaper reports if the DLP loses the 2018 general elections.

POLICE ARE ON THE SCENE OF A SUSPECTED SUICIDE

Police are conducting investigations into the circumstances surrounding the unnatural death of Angel Cox-Skeete, which occurred sometime around 2:30 am this morning at of DLP Headquarters, George Street, St Michael.

Preliminary investigations revealed that Cox-Skeete, a known DLP yard-fowl, was at the DLPโ€™s headquarters watching the 2018 election results and became visibly upset, depressed and was profusely crying when the reports showed the DLP was on its way to an overwhelming defeat at the polls.

Sometime around 2:30 am, supporters of the DLP entered a room in which Cox-Skeete was last seen entering and discovered her hanging from a crossbar in the room.

Public Relations Officer with the Force told the News that the incident occurred around 2:30 am:

“A woman, who was later identified as Angela Cox-Skeete, aka โ€œac,โ€ and believed to be in her late 40sโ€ฆ. early 50s, was discovered this morning, at approximatelyt 2:30am, at the DLPโ€™s George Street headquartersโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ hanging from a crossbar in a room she was last seen entering.โ€

He added that police will provide further details in a press release later.

Hahahahahahaha
    Wuh loss…………. muh belly………un gine ded wid de laff………

According to Georgie Porgie…………..”Bare sport in de rum shop.”

50. Enuff , in politics the bottom line is what hurts the most when peoples interest is directly affected
    You need to look closer at these two entities and asked on what economic level would the workers be affected
    furthermore also asked why are the unions vitriol silence on the pending sale