“I wish to suggest that my topic, “The Future of Work: Technology and Humanity”, is one for urgent scrutiny by the leaders of Barbados in every sector, and both the army of occupation currently at the top of Broad Street, in Bay Street and Warrens, and to be frank, in the context of the touch word today “innovative”, they are hardly that.

Questions therefore arise as to, can we somehow pivot amidst the challenges of a changing world — in the so-called Fourth Revolution, the technological age — to reposition Barbados, to reap benefits and set the stage for our people to have a better life?”

Dr. Ronnie Yearwood

Click to read the lecture.

57 responses to “The Future of Work: Technology and Humanity by Ronnie Yearwood”

1. Questions therefore arise as to, can we somehow pivot amidst the challenges of a changing world — in the so-called Fourth Revolution, the technological age — to reposition Barbados, to reap benefits and set the stage for our people to have a better life?

Pivot you say Dr. Yearwood? Doesn’t it take years to realise the benefit of what you suggest? The world is already where we need to be.

2. Thirdly, democracy is under threat with some arguing and perhaps rightly so that social media is part of the problem as it can de-inform the quality of debate surrounding decision making as disgruntled voters easily take to social media to complain and march without real engagement of the issues or actually voting when the time arises. So much for the End of History that Francis Fukuyama predicated in his thesis in 1989 that the end of the Cold War was to usher in the final form of democratic free market governments everywhere in the world.

A worthy comment from p.6

3. In the Barbados Human Resource Development Strategy 2011-2016, it was estimated that 12% of the labour worked as clerks, 18% as service/shop workers, 6% as plant and machine operators, 8% as technicians and sub-professionals. That means on a cursory reading that 44% of the jobs in Barbados would therefore be vulnerable from automation.

From page 7.

Of course it is also about the impact of artificial intelligence technology on ALL jobs. The whole workplace will be affected by the technological revolution taking place.

4. There is a great irony in Barbados when it comes to technology and its usage and production. Cell phones and internet usage are widespread. According to the World Bank, 80% of the population uses the internet and there are more than 300,000 mobile phone subscriptions. However, none of this appears to be translating to any serious advancements in the production of tech services, beyond being merely passive consumers.

BOOM!

5. When we examine that the biggest reform of education, EduTech, to introduce technology into Barbadian schools appears to have started stalled as there was no successive building on the premise beyond having computers in schools. An approach that also seems to have been repeated in public sector reform if the data from the Global Competitive Index is anything to go on.

Ok then.

6. Further there has been no rationalisation of the provision of education for children, young people and workers. So we currently have and I list; a Ministry of Education and Human Resource Development, a Ministry of Labour, the Barbados Accreditation Council, The Training Administration Division, the TVET Council, the Barbados Vocational Training Board, the Samuel Jackman Prescod Polytechnic, the Erdiston Teachers Training College, the Barbados Community College, the
    Barbados Statistical Services and the National Council for Science and Technology all in some way responsible for education and the human resource development of Barbados.
    Yet in all of that there are no tech schools, no formalized coding courses in all schools from primary to secondary, no tech parks with the appropriate infrastructure and fiscal measures to encourage the growth of information technology in a serious way to create jobs and linkages with other industries such as the creative services.

We have discussed the above many time in this forum.

7. From p.16 Ronnie addresses what Barbados must do. Of course leadership is key.

Firstly, we have to create like India and Iceland, a learning society. Jay Randle writes that, “Such a society is one in which the people of a country have learned how to produce high value products, using technologically sophisticated methods of production.”

This is critical as a learning society is not dictated by natural factor endowments, in our case, sea, sand and sun to drive tourism, but the creation of exports that would be associated with high levels of learning.

8. David

Did he factor in the rise of the Chinese hegemony and what its effect will be on the Caribbean and Bim……I may have missed it.

9. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.

“Barbados Statistical Services and the National Council for Science and Technology all in some way responsible for education and the human resource development of Barbados.
    Yet in all of that there are no tech schools, no formalized coding courses in all schools from primary to secondary, no tech parks with the appropriate infrastructure and fiscal measures to encourage the growth of information technology in a serious way to create jobs and linkages with other industries such as the creative services.”

Ronald Jones had the perfect opportunity to push this in 2010…..create endless opportunities through these wide array of tech programming skills, through one exhibition scholar who saw where tech was headed and forged ahead ..

….. Jones could have implemented an array of tech abilities from primary level when it was pointed out to him…..but being the backward know nothing minister of miseducation he is…he blew it, now the island is left way behind….

10. Page 8 correctly states that “there will be new jobs created by automation itself”. However, my experience tells me that those new jobs may go abroad, e.g. to a cheaper computer programmer in India. And the number of new jobs created by automation will be fewer than the original number of jobs. For example, four jobs will be lost – if six checkout workers in a supermarket are replaced – by six self-checkout tills. Because the supermarket will employ one checkout worker to manage the six self-checkout tills. And a computer programmer to write and update the code for those tills.

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David BU:

“Of course it is also about the impact of artificial intelligence technology on ALL jobs. The whole workplace will be affected by the technological revolution taking place.”

How do we juxtapose the above ‘thesis’ against the proposed policy of the current crop of politicians that Barbados “needs to” increase its young population to work for its fast growing graying population expecting to live for many years off pension incomes?

Why would there be a need for more young hands to the plough that is fast becoming a product of automation and ‘pulled’ by robotic creatures with AI?

Why create ‘additional’ mouths to feed and hands to be guided ‘who’ will soon be deemed manual surplus to automated requirements only to go on the blocks of idleness or end up in line awaiting to participate in Logan’s Run of the idyllic future?

We can foresee a time in the ‘short’ future when “AI” creatures would be replacing most of the human elements involved in the traditional professions like accounting, medicine and the long overdue field of Law.

12. @Miller

All best in class businesses and dare we suggest governments, plan for the future? It is called strategic planning.

13. Robots could replace 48,000 Deutsche Bank employees who are too ‘error-prone and inefficient’, says CEO

It’s one of the biggest banks in the world, but it seems that tens of thousands of jobs at Deutsche Bank are at risk of being taken – by robots.

John Cryan, CEO of Deutsche Bank says that current workers are too ‘error-prone’ and ‘inefficient.’

Over the next three years, the firm plans to implement more ‘machine learning and mechanisation’ in the hopes of keeping up with its rivals.
    Scroll down for video 

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-5065119/Robots-soon-replace-employees-Deutsche-Bank.html#ixzz4y3IJGEhY

14. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

David @ 11:57 AM

Are you sure that “strategic planning” is not old technology that is inadequate to the huge task that you and Dr. Yearwood is recommending for Barbados?

Can one really plan for innovation and new discoveries beyond what we are doing now?

My understanding of technology is that it evolves to meet economic and societal needs at the opportune time.
    The most government can do is to provide the infrastructure(s) for its evolution. I think that we are doing this job adequately through our education and training institutions.

Technology brings with it the destruction of current jobs BUT with a delay creates new unplanned jobs. Worse yet it may create unpaid and destructive idle time.

15. Barbados must start from scratch, the school based curricula must change. There has never been an overhaul in the delivery of education or its contents. We cannot aspire to achivements in tehnology like India based on our components at present. The requirements for change must be put in place.

16. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

First of all technology opens doors and removes borders, most programmers I know work across borders…they are not limited to one country or one company….or even payment in one currency.

IT skills are in demand, no matter where you are or who you are.

The island cannot break out of its stagnant morass with such limited thinking.

17. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

If they dont change that shitty miseducation curricula….the future generations of graduates, unless they leave the island for advanced training and exposure to new technologies….will go nowhere.

18. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Heather at 2:48 PM

We are doing just as good as India and in many cases better. Education and its contents are reviewed regularly and tweaked where necessary.
    And no. We do not need to start from scratch . That is not progress. That is foolishness.
    In Barbados we do aspire and we do achieve. Please do some independent observation and research. Not every new pronouncement is truth.
    You provide evidence of failure of the education system and the downside of information technology when you believe reported garbage without thinking it through.

19. @Bernard

Really?

Do you know the jobs Barbados is educating for today are already obselete?

20. David

The present capitalist world is also on the road to obsolescence,hence my tossing in the Chinese hegemony future…..to which no one is willing to comment….I wonder why?

21. Whether capitalist or some other system, it does not change the fact that we must educate our workforce to compete in the global market. We must educate our workforce to grow GPP.

22. @Vincent, on what fundamental basis do you make that assertion @ 6:52 viz ‘”The present capitalist world is also on the road to obsolescence,hence my tossing in the Chinese hegemony future…..”.

If you are simply making one of those intellectual waffle statements then ok, but as a serious point of practical life the statement has no gravitas.

What exactly is capatilism being replaced by? An oligarchy is capitalism under a Russian Czar as is Putin powerful efforts and under Pres Xi the paramout leader of the Chinese central committee its given the old fashioned term socialism.

How does socialism work where one company (Alibaba) is dominating world trade with more zest than Amazon. As one example a recent news headline blared than the China based web trader had produced $17 billion of sales in ONE day during their now very popular annual Singles day promotion…. or how does that work with the rapid growth of the millionaire class in China!

And how does Mr Putin’s effort to dominate markets with Gazprom and the other large state owned entitities from which the colossal wealth has allowed his Russians cronies to make purchases of major sports teams in UK, US and other locales and of course invest in other major ventures.

Clarify, please what is taking place other than out sized capitalist consumption driven by the wealth and ideas of world wide like minded capitalist entrepreneurs.

23. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

David at 7: 52 PM
    David at 4:29 PM

You are wrong in both submissions.

One does not educate for jobs. This is one of the metaphors which is too often literally misunderstood’. We educate so that we can learn how to cope with the decisions of life. Education is for developing the skills of learning i.e cognitive skills . It is the platform on which we develop working skills etc.

We have been educating our citizens for a global market since Barbados ” discovery “in 1625. The earth was always a globe. There was always international trade. Recently transport and communication systems have accelerated these processes at an exponential rate. Technology was always in existence. Education makes technology possible and easily transferable.

If a country’s education system is efficient and effective retraining for new jobs is a very easy task.

24. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@ dpD at 10:08 PM

I agree with your comments . The previous socialist/communist countries are aggressively more capitalist than the West ever was. We used to call it State Capitalism but with the rapid growth of millionaires we are at a loss.

25. @Bernard

You should reread what was written. Barbados has been slipping on the global competitive index which can be easily mapped to a flaw in how we are educating our people to be able to compete in the world. No need to split hairs.

26. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“We have been educating our citizens for a global market since Barbados ” discovery “in 1625. The earth was always a globe.”

And have failed miserably, only the select few with extraordinary abilities most of whom escaoed the stagnation and were adequately trained outside of Barbados have excelled in that department……

…..the majority of others were left to languish in a generational quagmire of the miseducated…and dumbed down.

27. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Bernard for some sinister reason is being distinctly and maliciously dishonest…which is fine, because he has finally revealed himself….

…..what education in 1625 what, no one discovered Barbados…people were already on the island….and if you want to call enslavement, theft of labor, rapes and wholesale brutality education…, it just serves to highlight your own miseducation…..and dishonest intent.

I believe a very basic form of english based education did not start on the island until much later…..for the enslaved majority.

……the beginning of the direct form of miseducation would have started for the majority population in the 1930s, since they had to make it up as they went along and that miseducation prevails on the island, despite extension to the curriculum from basic math and english. ….to this day…..so your entire curriculum is becoming obsolete and needs to be upgraded devoid of the brainwash element. ….with the true history of the African descended population taking center stage and making up the large part of direct education….real education.

Not the bullshit english version filled with decades lies and deception.

The miseducation system needs a complete overhaul, apart from the farce it has become……WHY…..you have the most stupid, conniving, miseducated politicians and government ministers parading around with university degrees being lead around and controlled by the most mediocre, uneducated, corrupt, criminal minded group of minorities on the island..

……hello….your leaders are not real leaders, they are compromised automatons doing the will of others with no loyalty to the majority population who elected them….and it has been going on from one generation to the next for the last 2 generations.

…..that is as big a redflag as ya will ever get that the miseducation needs to be adressed and the whole system overhauled.

And we have not even gotten to the part yet where the majority on the island are unable to recognize and process information related to their own best interest or accurately interpret the actions of those who have kept them, their present and future generations stagnated and disenfranchised….that is a whole other series of crimes being committed against the majority population because of the decades of ingrained miseducation.

28. @Bernard

Have a look at this video to bring yourself up to speed.

http://www.imf.org/external/POS_Meetings/SeminarDetails.aspx?SeminarId=263

29. dpD&Bernard

@Vincent, on what fundamental basis do you make that assertion @ 6:52 viz ‘”The present capitalist world is also on the road to obsolescence,hence my tossing in the Chinese hegemony future…..”.

Bernard@10.27
    The previous socialist/communist countries are aggressively more capitalist than the West ever was.
    ………………………….

We are saying the same thing……in essence the capitalist system as we know it has been hijacked by the former communist powers into a virulent form of capitalism.

Question are we prepared for it…..how will our system be transformed to deal with it??

30. @ David
    Bernard has a point. It is an important philosophical point.

While the kind of education that we have in place – will be a major influence on the kind of job that we are able to do successfully, the PURPOSE of education is MUCH bigger that ‘preparing for future jobs’.

Bernard thinks that “Education is for developing the skills of learning i.e cognitive skills . It is the platform on which we develop working skills etc.”, but Bushie would go even further and suggest that education is the societal process of developing its future generations towards utopia …or life perfection. The concept of ‘continuous improvement’ then becomes a critical measure of educational success.

At our stage in Barbados, educational priorities should focus on the building of national SELF-IMAGE that defines Barbadians as persons of innate VALUE. To do so, education needs to involve a search for answers to such questions as … Why are we here? What does successful living entail? When we are ready to die, what will be our measure?

Persons of value are able to see themselves as kings and queens …. not only as servants and common class bottom feeders.

Persons of value think in terms of acquiring assets to be passed on to their children – not selling off every shiite in order to eat soup, and waste money on shiite trinkets…

Persons of value could NEVER be described as brass bowls …. more like ‘golden vessels’ … or even ‘crystal vases’…

The ACTUAL academic learning imparted in the process of true education is REALLY neither here nor there…. just look at how so many Bajans, educated just like the brass bowls at home, go overseas where NATIONAL self-esteem is the norm, and where they are in an environment that promotes self-VALUE ….. and excel in the various work places.

…or look at how foreign cultures come here with their ingrained superiority complexes, go to the SAME shiite schools as our local brass bowls, and come out ready and willing to take on the whole world – while those like Vincent, and even the multi-talented Caswell, are content to be poor and humble as shiite… BUT not stinking Bushie… 🙂

There are only TWO other things on this earth more important to success that TRUE education….

31. A few weeks ago the minister of employment raised the issue of the future of work, which went largely ignored. Not even the money-grabbing trade unions thought it important enough to discuss. What has changed since then?

32. @Bush Tea

There is the 30,000ft philosophical view and then here is how does a country ensure that the education system is fit for purpos i.e. marshall national resources to support a reasonable standard of living Some esoteric amorphous thinking will not cut it.

33. It is NOT esoteric amorphous thinking David.
    Surely you can see that the problem lies – not so much with the CONTENT of the curriculum, as with the philosophy of education.

Look at how well STRANGERS do in the same shiite system – strangers who hang on to their beliefs and values of self worth (actually superiority over the brass bowl blacks)…

Look how well our graduates do when they go off to university and DO NOT RETURN, but inculcate the new CULTURES of their adopted domiciles.
    Obviously the problem is not so much the lotta shiite academics being taught, but the VALUES being imparted.

This is why our previous educational approach was BETTER that the shiite ‘eddykashun’ we now have – because back then, education was VALUE-DRIVEN by church-minded persons…. imperfect as it was then.
    What was actually taught was about a GOD; ….about spiritual RULES of living; …. about interpersonal responsibilities….

Dumb-ass jokers then hijacked the system and brought 100% focus to academic pursuits – crowding everything else out of the time-tables – and, to compound matters, putting sexuality into the mix at EXACTLY the stage where teenagers have practically uncontrollable urges….. via co-ed.

This was the absolutely BEST means of DESTROYING education in Barbados.
    Now we are seeing the results – three generations of totally lost brass bowls….and no end in sight.

It is NOT esoteric at all….

34. Bushie

The educational system threw out the baby with the bath water…..they should have replaced the religious nonsense with civics 101 and enforced critical thinking at the same time.

35. This topic is above your pay grade Vincent …with all due respect.
    The system failed you….

36. Bushie

You are proof of what was wrong with parts of the old system……your slavish adherence to mythology….QED.

37. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@ David at 6:35 AM

Reread/ listen again /watch the video two more times. Do you really think that at my level of development I will” bring myself up to speed” by that paste?
    What issues raised in that video have not been raised on this blog, radio call in in programmes, conventions and white papers in Barbados? You are suffering from” over and away “syndrome . Please work on it.

38. Sorry Bernard, after observing the ministry of education being presided over by a JA fr the last 8 years forgive us if we don’t have the same confidence as you that we have the correct roadmap.

39. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Vincent Haynes at 9: 47 AM

You may not be aware of it, but you are building a new mythology . The problem with it is that it is the old mythology with” wuk up” rituals.

40. @ Vincent
    Bushie …..You are proof of what was wrong with parts of the old system……your slavish adherence to mythology….QED.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Let us apply a type of Gauss-Seidel iterative thinking to your postulation Vincent….. and say that you are indeed correct, and that Bushie is “proof of what is wrong with the old system’…

Then surely, Bushie MUST be a poor-as-shiite, non-entity, and a brass bowl Bajan…. probably deeply in hock to a couple banks and credit unions, … while driving some old shiite Japanese car – (or catching the ZR like Simple Simon) – and rueing the day that he was born ‘black and poor’….

Do you agree that such would be the expected consequence of being on the WRONG side of mother Nature’s CORRECT system?

Well … explain how all of the above is shiite….
    and how Bushie is rich as RH (Right Honourable);
    Has never failed an exam yet …. in ANY subject;
    Has a house worth more than the one that Stinkliar claims not to own, ….
    …and driving a big-donkey ride that mek Froon buy a new Benz – even though he KNOW it is for Mia?
    …..and how the damn Banks OWE Bushie $$$$$…?????

The answer is DEAD simple….
    Bushie gotta RICH-as-donkey God-father (emphasis on the GOD)… and these likkle shiite things do not mean SQUAT ….to someone whose family connections own EVERY SHIITE that exists…

But how about you Boss….?
    Where does YOUR being on the ‘RIGHT’ side get you….?
    …especially your brilliant knowledge that information about BBE is ‘religious nonsense’?

Surely your cup runneth over……??? 🙂
    Surely goodness and mercy follows you all the days of your life….??? 🙂
    Steupsss…
    ….this is all above your pay grade Vincie….

41. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@ Bush Tea & Bernard
    I agree that it is a prime job for education to develop value systems which serve the society at large. However the Judeo Christian Mumbo Jumbo has long since passed its best before date. But David is also correct… these values are to make the education system fit for purpose; that purpose is to serve the collective interests of the broader society.

42. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@ Bush Tea

I can only surmise that your invocation of the Gauss–Seidel method is meant in jest or ironically. There is nothing iterative about the proof that you attempted. In fact the inference that your enviable life outcomes are the result of your merit is laughable and easy to disprove. The eminent Mr Sinckler has apparently also achieved a big house and car… is this proof that he too walks in the paths of righteousness?’

43. @Bernard, I share your sentiments above re education as a foundation for developing life skills and too the context of the video.

Interestingly, Ambassador Lagarde in the discussion highligted the nexus between your n Bushie’s well formed position and the thrust from the blogmaster on the govt role. She cited a survey which gave basically equal weight to the opinions of the public to the question of what is the role of govt policy makers, the private sector & the citizen in developing skills for future work: each was given a poll rating within 33% – 37% .

So in that vein surely govt can be criticized over recent years with their policy direction. They have not bourne the weight of their mandate well.

Why go back to the old policy of making more secondary schools 6th form eligible unless there is a clear plan to develop specialised silos of expertise within the various two year programs; why at the same time disband a specilised environment like Alma Parris which catered to those at the opposite end of education spectrum and place these needy children in general population…just two examples of seeming misdirection and flawed thinking.

And it can also be asked why has more successful private sector leaders not harmonised with key schools to develop special programs to tap those with greatest potential. Today a super talent that can achieve top grades in sciences or whatever should be part of a school team learning coding, building some robot or battery operated go-kart and so on.

In that regard too the blogmaspster’s argument has merit.

We have the solid structure for education….yet, we have simply managed it poorly, followed flawed policies and not directed our kids to focus on modern trends as they grow their basics.

We are the poorer for that.

44. Thophilius Gazerts 120 Avatar
    Thophilius Gazerts 120

“We have been educating our citizens for a global market since Barbados ” discovery “in 1625”.

Wuhloss! Mi belly
    Murdah! Yuh Killing muh!

All we need now is Mr Quaker chiming in..

45. Thophilius Gazerts 120 Avatar
    Thophilius Gazerts 120

Complete History of the Barbados Education System
    British duplicated what they had everywhere they went. What was good for queen and country was good for the colonies, regardless of their size. Then independence came and we mostly kept what we had.

Complete History of Barbados Post-Independence
    We got screwed.

Complete History….

——————-It’s not that complicated————–

46. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Thophilius Gazerts 120 November 11, 2017 at 12:49 PM #
    ““We have been educating our citizens for a global market since Barbados ” discovery “in 1625””

Funny isn’t he, that ‘BC’ (Best Comedian) guy? Even funnier than sir John the humanitarian slave-owning Quaker.

Yes indeed, educating them since 1625 to be good loyal slaves and servants where ever they might go or be taken as property (chattel).

What BC should be explaining to us is if (as he contends) the education system is so fit for purpose in Barbados why is the country so full of litter and unsightly garbage unless the objective for the last 50 years of free education was to produce an army of litter bugs and environmentalist terrorist.

Maybe he should be arguing that the teaching of the simple Christian lesson in basic hygiene (Cleanliness is next to Godliness) would have been much more effective than spending over 40% of its annual GDP on a school of budding environmental terrorist.

47. @ PLT
    Like Vincent you are looking to operate above your registered pay grade….

No surprise that you miss the subtle nuance of seeking FIRST the kingdom of Heaven, …and AS A RESULT, all things being ADDED to the mix….

…as opposed to your albino-centric focus on the materialistic SIGNS of ‘achievement’ …while completely missing the spiritual (and ONLY valuable) measure of success.

In like manner, the CORRECT way to seek after genuine peace is not by being an unrepentant pacifist….. but by an unrelenting, and uncompromising FIGHT for JUSTICE and righteousness.

Stinkliar ‘wealth’ is but an illusion. One that will fade and leave him broke and hopeless… and if he is not careful, …disgraced like Parris, Thompson, Warner and many others…

Bushie’s ‘wealth’ has NOTHING to do with the illusions that constitute such meaningless trinkets of materialism – as are associated with this shiite world….. but are associated with the REAL objectives of the project called ‘life on planet Earth…’

Safely tucked away in spiritual currency….

48. Bushie

Hahahaha…..when shaving cream was giving away you must have had a 10 wheeler load of it…..keep on with the shaving talk…..including linking me with PLT or Sir Cav…..lol

49. “Barbados education” ? Is this an oxymoron?