Steven Weare, murdered in Barbados

People get ready, there’s a train a comin’
You don’t need no baggage, you just get on board
All you need is faith, to hear the diesels hummin’
Don’t need no ticket, you just thank the Lord! – Curtis Mayfield

I now have a firm belief that the Commissioner of Police is a praying man. I can even picture him on bended knee, night after night talking to God. We all Know that God answers prayers in the strangest way his wonders to perform. For the strangest of things has happened to cause one to marvel especially when we thought that nothing would happen.

Sometime ago in the midst of criminal problems facing the island, the Commissioner of Police lamented that his hands were tied. One could have taken his statement to mean that political interference was preventing him from undertaking his constitutionally bound duties of solving crime, apprehending criminals, fighting corruption and raging a battle against illegal fire arms and drugs.

One can now recall that since the national conversation again turned to illegal firearms, murder and violence that some politicians have been noticeably quiet. Even the Prime Minister of Barbados did not address or bring to the table any solutions that would impact or negate the action of those who were importing drugs and firearms into the country.

Then all of a sudden, an Englishman was murdered and it was not just a crime. It was a crime that exposed several crimes. The murder of the Englishman opened Pandora’s Box not only in Barbados but internationally as it is alleged that all involved are now connected to a ring of drugs, fire arms, car theft, bribery and money laundering. The sex, lies and video tapes are yet to be discovered. What is unfolding seems reminiscent of a script of some movie on an exotic island but alas it is not; it is unfolding right in Bim.

The Commissioner is now the most powerful man in Barbados. Along with the burden of Pandora’s Box came the relief of a Scotland Yard investigation. This crime can be the leverage that he uses to his advantage to untie his hands. It is he who is responsible for gathering evidence. It is he who will decide if the guilty will be brought before the Court of Law and be prosecuted. Most of all, it is he who will have to decide that his words and actions are not egregiously misaligned. One will therefore find out if he has the balls to untie his hands or sweep this muck under the carpet. One hopes that he will remember to show no mercy to the merciless and unscrupulous persons who are bent on destroying Barbados for personal gain.

We all know the facts that have been reported in the newspaper. Five men have been arrested for the murder of an Englishman who was residing in Barbados. It is alleged that the Englishman was importing stolen vehicles for resale onto the Barbadian Market. It is also alleged that he was involved in the guns and drug trade as well as money laundering. Furthermore, there are allegations that recently, 7 vehicles were imported by the Englishman for 2 members of the ruling Administration. It is alleged that no duties were paid on vehicles imported by the deceased thereby defrauding the government of import duties.

Then there is the politics of this all. How does and will this impact politics in Barbados? With eight months to go one would have believed that DLP would have held onto power until elections were constitutionally due. Now I have my doubts. All is in crisis. An Englishman was murdered and his death has turned Barbados upside down. Will this all lead to a constitutional crisis? What if anything does the Constitution say about such actions if the allegations bear fruit? Will the Prime Minister open his mouth to utter a word about corruption at the heart of his government or is he too consumed making allegations of elitism against the Leader of the Opposition to have discovered what has been happening under his watch? One cannot help but wonder what would happen if we had an extradition treaty with the UK. Could the conspirators be somehow extradited? When will the Cabinet implode? When will the election be called?

Now the Commissioner of Police does not hold appointment but this fate can be sealed by the politicians just as occurred to the previous holder of his position. But this Commissioner now has Scotland Yard at his disposal. He does not have a crystal ball to see the future in terms of predicting what will happen but for now he now has the ability to shape it. To shape his future with respect to having his hands free of political interference to perform his duties. The guilty will seek cover. While they could have prevailed in home grown inquiry where the outcome would be swept under the carpet, not so with a Scotland Yard investigation.

While I do not know the extent or the context of the investigation, one can only envisage that the opening of this Pandora’s box may well be like the tip of an iceberg. How could the nation have elected persons who have placed a yoke of economic strangulation on the necks of their children and willfully fed then a steady diet of drugs, guns and violence? At the end of it all, the Commissioner must report to the people of Barbados regarding his investigation and bring the guilty to justice. When all is said and done, I firmly believe that the Commissioner said “thank the Lord” so let us get ourselves ready for the general elections.

303 responses to “A Heather Cole Column – People Get Ready”

1. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger

yeah…i know they got horrible track records for murders and those demon doctors want finishing off themselves…. with their evil actions splashed across the globe to embarrass their families.

2. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Simple…he dont need one, being a threat to the corrupt timetable of those now under scrutiny….is enough history.

3. ” PM Stuart to participate in overseas events

PRIME MINISTER Freundel Stuart left the island today, Friday, September 22, to participate in events in Canada and Jamaica.

Stuart will attend and speak at several functions, including the 10th Annual Errol Barrow Memorial Dinner; and the Ottawa Welcomes the World event, where he will meet with members of the diaspora during a walk through. He will also visit the High Commission of Barbados at Ottawa ”

Canadian bacon…poutine…. maple syrup….life is good.

4. Annel.

That is not a real, real Bajan name is it?

It is not like Alleyne, or Brathwaite or Clarke.

That is a foreigner name?

5. John September 22, 2017 at 1:53 PM #
    Sounds remarkably familiar to what happened here with CLICO!!

Happened here with Clico??? Here? Clico’s issues originated out of T&T. Cash cow sucked dry.

6. I think that all of the alleged attention that the island is getting is not only a blessing for the COP. It is a blessing for all Barbados.

Clean house time.

By the way, what about the second Englishman who found himself hung, alleged suicide, a just a week after the first???

Somebody seems to be trying to shut tings down, but instead is throwing fuel to the fire.

But really, what can a man know, that would make someone do such?

What can a man know?????? Must be some heavy stuff.

7. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.

More like Fruendel is making himself scarce as usual while shit hits fan, he wants none on him.

Simple..it’s a name unique to the Balkans, eastern, south eastern europe, odd to find it in the Caribbean, the name.

8. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Crusoe..something really bad went down, it deserves to be exposed to the world…somebody, and I can name a few in the business community as well, fancies themselves world class assassins and gangsters of the Al Capone variety and it went too far…

……. the Acting Commish should know he has to keep this man alive or he will be the one blamed if anything happens to him before he can talk, it’s that simple.

9. Insider Exposing the Local Underworld Avatar
    Insider Exposing the Local Underworld

@ Simple Simon
    @ Bajans

It seems some Bajans are backward individuals if your comments on my English is to be believed.

It doesn’t say much for both the local and global Education system.

I passed the 11+ top of my primary school and then went on to one of Barbados so called elite high schools.

Later sat and left with a CXC grade 1 in both English Lang and Literature.

At University wrote a Thesis for graduate degree and later a dissertation all successfully yet you are in a position to judge my English and not the substance of any contribution I make.

I didn’t know you two were the absolute authorities on who can write good English or not, this is a blog not an essay which is being graded.

I guess unless the Newspaper prints an item on how corrupt the Barbados Police Force is that is when you believe that no one has to intentionally bribe a local policeman it is an acute part of the local culture.

Some years ago I was offered unsolicited a taser gun for $1500 from a Police officer locally and reduced to $1200 when I refused.

@ Watchman

You can keep fishing I don’t know the alleged businessman/importer name you mentioned and he certainly is not me so wheel and come again.

10. MEMBERS OF THE Drug Squad have charged a Canadian visitor in connection with the seizure of 13 kilogrammes of cannabis, with an estimated street value of BDS$104 000.

11. For those not familiar with the man bigger than Annel who died of a heart attack,it is common knowledge that he suffered the effects of rheumatic fever as a youngster and had a heart condition.He had an appointment the same month with a Harley Street specialist.

12. Gabriel
    All that you said above is true……………but at the time I worked with two excellent Cardiac trained nurses who went to see the body and they were not impressed that the colour of his face evinced that he died from a basic cardiac defect.

13. @Insider
    Your English is not as good as you think. The expression is “reel and come again”, not wheel. The expression refers to people who are fishing, literally or figuratively. Well, you say you have CXC English, good for you but that is no comparison to Oxbridge which I have.

14. Crusoe September 22, 2017 at 8:01 PM #
    John September 22, 2017 at 1:53 PM #
    Sounds remarkably familiar to what happened here with CLICO!!
    Happened here with Clico??? Here? Clico’s issues originated out of T&T. Cash cow sucked dry.

I seem to remember something about the supervisor of insurance.

Clico was/is an insurance company, TCB was/is a bank.

What’s the link? … looks like Duprey

“According to the Caribbean History Archives, Cyril Duprey was President of both TBLA and The Penny Bank in the early 1960s, at the same time as he was leader of CLICO. That triple achievement contrasts with contemporary concerns over the destructive nature of CLF’s ‘excessive related-party transactions’.”

https://afraraymond.net/2017/08/30/cl-financial-bailout-the-caribbean-connection/

CLICO operated in Barbados

https://www.stabroeknews.com/2012/news/stories/03/02/spotlight-on-barbados-insurance-supervisor-over-clico-losses/

You could say that the link was from 1960.

15. There are two generations of Dupreys involved.

16. It goes way back!!

17. John,

Yes, you are quite right. And yes, technically it was Clico here. But, as you have referenced, when one looks deeper, the satellite here was just that, a means for getting cash.

As for the names you mention, I would not go within a mile of that name in business, seeing as how those companies were handled.

These things happen and yet these sort of people are still revered!

As Bushie would say, we can only be pure brassbowls. Us and the people in T&T who allow it to continue unabated.

18. On Clico , further, what analysis has been done to examine what excess cash has come out of Clico, to the parent company, above and beyond amounts needed to support local investments and insurance contracts?

And after that, what efforts have been made to sue the parent company for recovery?

Those two points would surely highlight more issues.

19. Chickens coming home to Roost Avatar
    Chickens coming home to Roost

@ Bajans

You are a jackass.

Who gives a fu*k whether you have a qualification from Oxbridge or not you White asslicker.

Doesn’t give you the authority.

No one on this or any other blog should be concern with how they write once it can easily be read and understood.

You are indeed a true Bajan johnny.

Get off the people’s blog if you have nothing positive to contribute.

20. Chickens coming home to Roost Avatar
    Chickens coming home to Roost

@ bajans on

I prefer not to deal with Individuals who show their ignorance but I will do so this one time to expose yours, wheel and come again you can find from below link

http://jamaicanpatwah.com/term/Wheel-and-come-again/2106#.WcY37CMpAwg

21. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Surprised Bajans never heard the slag…wheel and come again…. with so many Jamaicans in UK, any white brit could tell ya they use it all the time…lol

22. Theophilus Gazerts Avatar
    Theophilus Gazerts

I’ve also seen one of the resident yardfowls repeatedly using the expression.
    Today is the first time I’ve seen ‘reel’.

To quote another of BU family –let google be your friend

23. @ Insider

What happening with your business after the 2013 election .

24. Reel and come again?Never heard of it.Always heard …..wheel…..right here in buhbaydus and it makes sense.

25. Me too Gabriel.

So I googled the two expressions.

You know what, I could only find one with a definition

… and I will leave you to guess which one it was.

26. This place is always good for a laugh

27. As Bushie would say, we can only be pure brassbowls. Us and the people in T&T who allow it to continue unabated

The problem is the ideology that directs CLICO is the same ideology that directs Barbados and other Caribbean Nations.

… the self same half ass, lamefoot racist ideology.

So Governments and CLICO are joined at the hip.

It is really communism but the cowards could never come right out and like Guyana embrace communism because they needed the subsidies from the Mother Country to survive.

What is yours is mine and what is mine is mine … that’s how they think …. even though that is not supposed to be the communist ideology!!

They are just thieves, pure and simple.

I am guessing that in 1962 when the Penny Bank franchise collapsed in Barbados, that Barbados was strong enough to resist the infiltration.

Since then, our resistance has been undermined.

28. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

The laugh is always on you..John…when you google wheel abd come again….the first lines give a definition..it is Jamaican patois….in case ya did not notice, get over yaself.

Definitions of “Wheel and come again”

Wheel and come again
    Thumbs Up 2Thumbs Down 0

Definition
    Try once more, come with a better story, or I remain unconvinced. This is generally used as an expression of disbelief.

Example Sentences
    Patois: Wheel and come again, kaaz wah yuh a seh nuh mek nuh sense
    English: Come with a better story because what you are saying doesn’t make any sense

And they both actually mean the same thing, although the former is more widely used worldwide, the latter is little known….ya so deceitful one must always double check what you post.

“To be in a confused state as if from being twirled around. Come again is a synonym of reel. Sometimes you can use “Come again” instead a verb “Reel”.

29. John September 23, 2017 at 9:58 AM #

I somewhat agree. But liken it more to a Plantation. Everything in it is for a few, not for all. Sure the tenants can eat and drink, but that is it.

Bajans have to get permission or a license for everything practically but the outhouse visit.

And the new massa decides if and when they can do whatever.

Look at this, just one little example. A driver needs to buy a license for ZM, something like $25,000. And I believe that such licenses are limited. Same for ZR’s.

Really now. I buy a van and pay road license I should be able to transport who and when I like, as long as insurance covers it.

Who has a right to deny me a living and why should I pay for a right to earn a living?

Real joke.

Lock down, is this plantation. One big plantation.

30. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Bushman…do you think those affairs you talked about the people getting in order, will be done in time, I know like me you know more…lol

31. Even if one does not agree with Heather you cant help but admire how she is able to get her view out on social media. Four days now and her blog is bouncing around social media -WhatApp, Twitter,FB etc.It just shows how with a little effort Barbadians with concerns can leverage the education they have been exposed to enlignten and push folk to change.

32. dAVID WHAT IS NEEDED IS TO FOLLOW UP practically

WE HAVE EVOLVED AS A NATION OF MICE
    YOU ARE SUPPOSED TO BE NICE AND WELL BEHAVED
    ONLY THE FAVORED ARE SUPPOSED TO EXCEL OR HAVE GOD IDEAS
    SUCH FOLK ARE BANISHED, HATED AUSTRACISED
    HERE IS AN EXAMPLE

in 1991 i told the senior medical officer in the polyclinic where i worked.. why not let us train our post men {who at the time visited every home in Barbados or at least close to every home on a daily basis] to report possible illnesses in our elderly folk in our catchment areas.

in 2001 i learned that though he laughed me to scorn to my face, he took my idea higher to the minister of health

today we have a set of postmen who are established who do very little work in th villages to days gone bye

was it not last year that we read in the local papers of an eldrly who had been dead for a whole year before she was discovered?

33. GP

It would have been a good idea for the times i.e. maximizing limited resources IF the unions would have agreed. And at the same time signing off on being a caring people. Ironically with the rise of electronic media the postman is fast becoming a redundant occupation.

34. How can a senior member of the RBPF be under arrest and the news doesn’t merit a mention on the CBC evening news?

35. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Take time Barney.

36. @Insider
    Your English is not as good as you think. The expression is “reel and come again”, not wheel. The expression refers to people who are fishing, literally or figuratively. Well, you say you have CXC English, good for you but that is no comparison to Oxbridge which I have.

@ Bajans, What does Oxbridge know of expressions of Jamaican origin?

“Wheel and come again”

Definition
    Try once more, come with a better story, or I remain unconvinced. This is generally used as an expression of disbelief.

Example Sentences
    Patois: Wheel and come again, kaaz wah yuh a seh nuh mek nuh sense
    English: Come with a better story because what you are saying doesn’t make any sense

37. I somewhat agree. But liken it more to a Plantation. Everything in it is for a few, not for all. Sure the tenants can eat and drink, but that is it.

Here is the difference, production.

If you look at the list of slaves on any plantation in the Returns from 1817 to 1832 you will see a whole range of ages.

The oldest I found in 1817 was 114 years old.

The plantation fed, clothed, housed and provided medical care from cradle to grave.

Sort of like a state within a state.

A social security system if you like.

The plantations of yore could only do this because they produced food and sugar to sell..

How productive is the mega plantation of today?

38. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Miller…what we were discussing last night has grown unbelievably long legs…much longer than we thought.

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. September 23, 2017 at 7:38 PM

What are you on about, WW&COB?

Has the inside job of bribe-taking and corruption among the very senior guards guarding the law-breakers taken a turn for the worse and the WC already filled with shit over-spilling into the DLP and BLP living rooms and about to hit the fan in the HoA?

40. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Miller…hit the fan it has…resoundingly…lol

we have not seen yardfowls in days, big, big sign…..

….they seem stunned, speechless..they cant pretend anymore, all pretense is gone, stripped way.

they are not even bothering to come out and cuss out us, it`s really that bad….

you have no idea how badly am waiting for that one Carson Yardfowl to appear.

41. David September 23, 2017 at 4:11 PM

It would have been a good idea for the times i.e. maximizing limited resources IF the unions would have agreed. but it was never even considered

IF IT HAD BEEN DONE IN 91 WHILE DOING THEIR DELIVERIES THEN THESE PERSONS COULD HAVE BEEN TRAINED TO DO SIMPLE THINGS

Maybe you and all your siblings live abroad. Your moma does not admit to you that she is going down.
    WITHOUT UNDUE EFFORT THE POST MAN COULD SEE THAT YOUR MOMA HAS NOT BEEN SITTING ON THE PORCH AS SHE USUALLY DOES yesterday and today also

HE COULD CALL AND ENGAGE HER IN CONVERSATION CALL THE AMBULANCE OR GET SOCIAL WORKERS TO LOOK IN AND CALL YOU. WHATEVER IS NEEDED

And at the same time signing off on being a caring people. Ironically with the rise of electronic media the postman is fast becoming a redundant occupation.

SINCE THEN THEY HAVE BECOME REDUNDANT BUT THERE SOCIAL SERVICE exprtise WOULD BE COMING TO THE FORE BY NOW

THE POSTMEN WOULD HAVE A BETTER SENSE OF THEIR WORTH AND OUR ELDERLY WOULD HAVE AN EXTRA CARE GIVER OF SORTS
    a WIN WIN SITUATION
    I WAS WELL AHEAD OF THE GAME IN MY THINKING IT SEEMS

42. @John September 23, 2017 at 1:07 AM “There are two generations of Dupreys involved.”

So, the fruit did not fall far from the tree.

43. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Duprey inherited the company from his uncle who built it, if memory serves me, who was nowhere near as greedy as he is…

44. @Georgie Porgie September 23, 2017 at 4:06 PM “was it not last year that we read in the local papers of an eldrly who had been dead for a whole year before she was discovered?”

Yes but, there is always a but. Had she not isolated herself from family, friends and neighbours? Sure the postman idea was a good one and I am sorry to hear that your good idea was stolen, but nowadays people do so much business online that a lot more of us will die unnoticed. The pension will go directly to the bank, and the utility comes will take their automatic share, and we will die unnoticed.

What we all need to do is to speak to our neighbours, get out of our cars, walk up the gap and say “morning” to your neighbours.

Better is a neighbor who is near than a brother far away. PROVERBS 27:10

45. @Sargeant September 23, 2017 at 5:58 PM “How can a senior member of the RBPF be under arrest and the news doesn’t merit a mention on the CBC evening news?”

Because nobody in under arrest.

But various media houses did mention that a person or persons unknown are being questioned.

46. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Jeff Cumberbatch September 23, 2017 at 7:00 PM
    “Patois: Wheel and come again, kaaz wah yuh a seh nuh mek nuh sense
    English: Come with a better story because what you are saying doesn’t make any sense”

Aren’t we just dealing with a question of linguistic adaptation involving the homophonic corruption or ‘bastardization’ of the English word ‘Wield” (like in wield your linguistic gun or machete to prove that ‘the pen is mightier than the sword) to suit a West Indian interpretation and rejection of a real ‘cock and bull story’?

Probably the same way Bajans might say “God blind muh ( for Cor (or Gor) blimey), yuh only talking bare shite fuh trute!”

47. @John September 23, 2017 at 7:05 PM “The plantation fed, clothed, housed and provided medical care from cradle to grave. A social security system if you like. The plantations of yore could only do this because they produced food and sugar to sell.”

Cuh dear John. You int get it yet.

If the plantation was taking labour and paying no wages, and if the slaves were the ones forking, and hoeing, and weeding, AND reproducing the labour pool, and if they had to do this for hundreds of years then the food and shelter had to come from somewhere…and that somewhere was the very blood, sweat, labour and children of the enslaved people.

You keep trying to make it seem as though the plantations were some sort of benevolent places.

There were not.

My own mother born in the first quarter of the 20th century complained about working hours and hours of unpaid overtime. The plantations would hold parties and expect the cooks and maids to work until after midnight and would expect them back on the job by 6 to prepare the master’s tea…while the mistress was still drawn up in her bed.

i told you already to stop telling lies.

And if you want to pay me my mother’s unpaid overtime send me your name and address and i will send you an invoice…because she exploited as she was could not.

48. And since we are talking about exploitation and unpaid wages, how come the people at Mangrove Plantation (St. Peter) kept my grandmother weeding cane ground until the year she turned 80 and would not give her the paper she needed to claim her pension even though the pensionable age was 72, and when my father had to take a day off work from his sugar factory job to represent his mother of course he lost a day’s wages, even when he had small children at home to feed.

I int dead yet John.

49. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

John and his nastiness trying to return black people to the days of servitude, he might yet find himself with a hoe in his hand and his ass in a field being whipped to work sooner than he thinks……if not him, his children and and grandchildren going forward.will feel the weight.

50. Simple Simon

John is not telling lies…..plantations even to my day with Pelau owners did the same thing……what Bimmers have to understand is the unfortunate class divide as opposed to skin tone……and we looked after our workers.