7/08/2017 – 11:08PM 12 people reported to be shot and at least one dead others critical
8/08/2017 – 12:01AM QEH reports 20 people treated for gun shot injuries
8/08/2017 – confirmation ย a 6 year old grazed by a bullet

7/08/2017 – 11:08PM 12 people reported to be shot and at least one dead others critical
8/08/2017 – 12:01AM QEH reports 20 people treated for gun shot injuries
8/08/2017 – confirmation ย a 6 year old grazed by a bullet
The QEH issued the following:
Emergency Press Release’ in light of a number of incidents during Grand Kadooment 2017.
The QEH received an emergency response call a 7:15 pm. The QEH incident command was activated at 7:50 P.M. At present 15 persons have been transported to the Hospitalโs Accident and Emergency Department suffering from gunshot wounds, stab wounds and one person who was involved in a motor vehicle accident.
Persons transported to QEH require the attention of general surgery, orthopedic specialists, and ear, nose and throat (ENT) specialists. In addition there has been one additional gunshot victim who is currently being managed on the scene and two persons who witnessed the incident and are suffering from panic attacks.
In the meanwhile the A&ED reports that there are 10 patients waiting to be seen and we are asking the public to access the A&ED only in the case of life threatening conditions.
It gives BU no pleasure to state that we are not surprised by events that occurred on Spring Garden tonight and the reported gunfire now taking place in the New Orleans and environs. This is the new Barbados. Where there is no leadership in the political, social and economic sphere this is what will result. Brace, more to come.
Government must move asap to take away these illegal guns from these criminals or not Bim can say goodbye to Tourism and then many will starve. Bring in the Military asap via emergency powers.
I am getting really sick and tired to hear politicians making every instance of crime a political issue. Pray tell me BIM what you expect the Attorney General to do? Should he strap on his side arms, mount his trusty steed and go after the perpetrators?
These incidents are not Adriel Brathwaite’s fault, and as far as I know, he played no active role in these matters. So please explain why he should resign over this.
@Caswell
There is enough blame to go around.
There are so many other reasons why Adriel, Freundel and that lot should demit office post haste but I want BIM to explain why the AG should resign over this. If BIM has nothing to offer – shut up!
A leader should lead not sleep for 8 years. Barbados needs a leader that will get to work and put things in place to stop this lawlessness. Barbados is now full of corruption and both the D and B is at fault so will we be dumb enough to put any of them back in power?
Caswell the easy part of the answer is that guns used were obviously illegal. There are too many illegal weapons on the streets. This falls under the purview of the AG. BU joins with BIM and ask AG to resign as well if not over rising gun crime in Barbados the inability to record statements to ensure justice is dispensed by our judiciary.
Let us not forget there were a couple stabbings at Foreday Morning as well. It was not given a lot of airplay but even that level of violence in Barbados should trigger alarms. It shows the lack of control we have, the police and NCF issuing assurance about security is a joke.
@ David the solutions to “rising gun crime” will involve very high levels of police brutality .
I expect the AG will “do something ” now that their is real fear in Barbados.
Hants this will take all civic minded Bajans to arrest the problem. We have allowed our little country to descend in the gutter.
The Police with the Defence force as back up will have to execute some raids in the “hot spots”.
In Toronto they uses Police, Swat and sometimes police from neighboring jurisdictions.
The AG can resign later. Right now he needs to give the instruction to the COP.
@ David “this will take all civic minded Bajans to arrest the problem. ”
Yes David. We all have to support any effort to deal with this gangs and guns problem.
Absolute factin madness!
“20 people are being treated for gunshot wounds at the Accident and Emergency Department (A&ED) of the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) following three shooting incidents at the Spring Garden Highway around 7:15 p.m.”
https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/08/08/update-qeh-emergency-press-release/
Well well well! Corrupt government, an unchecked group of foreigners and minority groups who exercise various forms of criminality and who have the ear of our elected government and a small group of “trigger happy and naive Negros” who are prepared to play the fool with their toys of destruction received from the first two groups that i have mentioned.
The government of Barbados needs to wake up. No need for resignations but for rules, laws and regulations against crime be stepped up and enforced. Have guns removed through amnesty or whichever is necessary. It’s time for immediate action. It is also time for the church increase in prayer for our nation whom I grew up hearing the statement “BARBADOS BELONGS TO GOD” . I am Barbadian but don’t live there and I am grieved by this situation.
“Hants this will take all civic minded Bajans to arrest the problem. We have allowed our little country to descend in the gutter.”
Just as you have allowed your blog to descend into the gutter by not barring mad dog racists like Well Well What A Moron I am.
Would it do any harm to discuss the grave issue of crime facing the country and leave the silly arguments at the door?
The BU household takes this opportunity to urge ALL our leaders to speak out, enter the communities, lead the narrative on how to win back our young minds. We cannot surrender this task to only politicians.
“Would it do any harm to discuss the grave issue of crime facing the country and leave the silly arguments at the door?”
No. The starting point should be that corrupt cretin who mismanaged the RBPF for far too long – Darwin Dottin. I cannot imagine that the force hasn’t suffered irreparable damage under his ‘stewardship’.
Funny how arguments are ‘silly’ when they touch a nerve. You know all too well what you have been hosting on here.
Again…police should be breaking down the doors of the wealthy people on the island who import guns and drugs by the container loads using the port, private yachts, the private airport etc, lock up the big lowlife traffickers and all the little lowlifes who buy guns from them and shoot other people for fun.
Government ministers, the AG and police need to stop playing favorites with those they know are major gunrunners and traffickers on the island.
I seem to be stuck in 45fraudster’s mind and ya can’t get me out…cud dear..ya too weak that is why.
We been calling for the police and other authorities to go after those THEY KNOW fund drug trafficking and gun violence in the depressed areas, the biggest importers on the island for over 40 years.
Their children and grandchildren are now the ones feeding the depressed areas with steady supplies of guns and drugs, the newest business people, in the last 20 years who are also suppliers and trafficjers are creating these dangerous situations among the pooerest and most ignorant in the society. …go after them also.
These are the criminals who were protected by the late DPP…these are the criminals who have always been protected by police, government ministers, the courts and those who should know better but are greedy, weak and corrupt….and refuse to do their taxpayer funded jobs.
When the Commissioner Of Police was saying that the guns were coming in through our ports of entry, the Customs people and the NUPW wanted to skin him alive.

This is a Barbados newspaper headline NOT Jamaica or Trinidad! ONE DAY COMING SOON.
NUPW outraged by Acting Commissioner’s statements
THE NATIONAL UNION of Public Workers (NUPW) says it is โoutraged at statements made by the Acting Commissioner of Policeย in respect of illegal guns entering Barbadosโ.
In a media release today, the NUPW said it โconsiders the Commissionerโs statements to be inflammatory and without basis; and believe they will only serve to tarnish the reputations and integrity of all ย Customs ย Officersโ.
During a media conference yesterday, Acting Commissioner Tyrone Griffith said illegal guns were entering Barbados through the ports of entry. He said officials were either assisting in the importation of guns or were not detecting them at the borders.
The Nation newspaper
I will say it again…because pretty words dont seem to help….they are just ignored by all.
….the police need to go after the store front owners in the indian/muslim community who are fronts for drug dealing and gun trafficking….and the police have known this for decades.
…the police need to go after those in the tiny white community that have been importing and trsfficking guns and drugs for decades.
…the police need to sweep up all the little drug dealing, guntoting demons in the depressed areas that ministers use to help them buy votes around election time.
the police need to go after the insurance executives who are major drug dealers and gun traffickers on the island……and they have known this for years, they were given all the information they needed.
the police know who everyone of these people are……..they know and protect them anyway.
…these are the real culprits poisoning the island because they know they have control over the police and the courts….
Start destroying the heads of these little criminal enterprises. and organizations…..that is the job of the police.
The unions need to step the hell back on this, because they should have given permission for cameras to be installed at the ports….all ports…to monitor the activities of everyone…particularly the customs officers whom everyone knows most of them have been clearing barrels and containers of guns and drugs at the ports since the 70s.
This level of street crime is always and WILL always be linked to the pervasive and permitted corruption at the higher levels of society…it is insane to look at yesterday’s activities as some orphan acts isolated from Bdos out of control situation.
In that regard the BIM AG call is ineffectual….the entire government has perpetuated the proliferation of bullet after bullet, and scandal after scandal…but then…
Will any Bajan come forward anonymously or otherwise to identify the wrongdoers…whether using illegal guns or legal rules corruptly!
And @Hants, WHY must there be police brutality to fight these guns n crime issues?
Aggressive, detailed police investigation followed by raids, searches n arrests absolutely do NOT have to physical abuse those targetted….they will surely feel harassed and even victimized because of their circumstances but that is unavoidable.
โฆthe police need to sweep up all the little drug dealing, guntoting demons in the depressed areas that GOVERNMENT ministers AND POLITICIANS use to help them buy votes around election time.
Eye on Customs
THE 13-YEAR-OLD dispute over the placement of surveillance cameras in Customs areas at the air and sea ports could be about to rear its head again.
And with Acting Commissioner of Police Tyrone Griffith sticking to his guns that many of the weapons are entering the country through legitimate ports, a veteran trade unionist believes the officers might have backed themselves into a corner, leaving Government with no alternative but to set up the cameras without their approval.
However, while president of the National Union of Public Workers (NUPW), Akanni McDowall, said his knowledge of the issue was hazy since it predated his leadership and declined comment until he could do research, his more combative equal at the Unity Workersโ Union, Caswell Franklyn, was adamant he did not want to see cameras anywhere near Customs officers.
The Nation newspaper
It would seem as though , from reading press reports, that one “”………Unity Workersโ Union, Caswell Franklyn, was adamant he did not want to see cameras anywhere near Customs officers.”””. The setting up of cameras which would have gone a long way in preventing the guns from entering Barbados through our ports of entry. Every time the Govt. tried to do anything to improve security in this country, there were always those who sought to make sure that the measures would not work or could not be implemented.
Their results have proven to be deadly.
We need to get back to community policing and police sponsored youth clubs.
…..as for the immediate situation the swat team can start with the known gangs and relieve them of their weaponry.
…..technology has to be brought into service at all levels,from cameras in the ports of entry to the statement rooms of the police stations.
Again….the police already know who imports these guns, they just need the balls and permission to break down the doors of the many houses these criminals own in the so called big areas they live in….
….they need a DPP who does not take bribes to protect these well known criminals who believe they are to big in that little society to go to prison for all the crimes they have been committing on the island for decades.
Was anyone arrested for the drugs found in a race car at the port…….WHY NOT.
45fraudster….why dont you start ya own blog and stop trying to tell the blogmaster who he should host on his….
You and Chadster would do just fine together with ya fraud blog…..ya can even host the orange slug.
Seems I am ya target today, I dont make a very good target, but when I target someone, they never like it or they don’t ever forget it.
And not it begins, everybody knowledgeable and having the solutions about the onslaught of gun crime. For example, some are rubbishing BIMs release. We all have to play our part and can join the verbal debate without rubbishing the suggestions of others. It will take a herculean effort from all citizens to win back the country.
An example of the problem facing the country is represented on this blog everyday, the divisiveness and aggression even between anonymous posters. The idiocy of it all.
Vincent…….the police need to start among the major importers of guns and drugs in the indian and white communities…cut it off at its source…
…….they ALWAYS raid the depressed areas…how much good have you seen that doing over the years…it’s getting worse.
The police need to lock up the main traffickers and dealers who have the endless resources to import in the white and indian communities.
What about / where are the 700 plus legal guns ( stated in the AG report with license that were not renewed) and are now illegal, who are the owners ?
mexico, columbia……. barbados
Watchman a valid concern and exposes our lack of management. However the challenge for the country is to attack the issue at the root. A robust detection and enforcement culture underguirded by a strong economic and social ethos/climate.
That has been the problem all along, guns and drugs enter the island and right away, the depressed areas are targeted by police, because that is always the final destination for distribution.
…but that is most often not where the plan was formulated or the money accumulated to import 11 million dollars worth of marijuana or 5 million dollars worth of cocaine…….or 2 million dollars wirth of arms and ammunition.
….. if the depressed area drug dealer had that type of capital……even if they still use the areas, they would not live in the depressed areas.
Unmanned
Top cop wants tighter border controls
Added by Emmanuel Joseph on June 7, 2016.
Saved under Crime, Local News
The countryโs top law enforcement official is again pointing an accusing finger at Customs officials for allowing illegal guns to enter the country without detection.
Acting Commissioner of Police Tyrone Griffith told Barbados TODAY in an interview this morning that illegal weapons continued to make their way onto the streets of Barbados via legal ports of entry.
And Griffith expressed frustration that the Royal Barbados Police Force (RBPF) did not enjoy the full cooperation of border security officials, including the Customs & Excise Department, as it sought to crack down on illegal firearms entering the island.
โWe are still aware that weapons, firearms, are entering through our borders and that is not a secret. And so, we have to continue and strive for better cooperation and collaboration at our borders,โ the top cop said.
During a news conference at the RBPF headquarters on Roebuck Street, Bridgetown last August, Griffith spoke of an โuntenable situationโ where persons charged with protecting the islandโs borders might have been assisting with the smuggling of illegal guns into the country, either wittingly or unwittingly.
The C.O.P. begging for help from our Custom officers, but to no avail. Hence the results we are now seeing.
Here are a few pointers.
This is not about politics
The writer of this article is about making this a visibility thing for before these incidents occurred on Kadooment Day he was nowhere to be seen.
A warning to the wise. Do not cross swords with me. You will lose. The party knows who he is and do not send your minions either cause I don’t do minions. I does ten out DE head honcho. One shot. One kill. Figuratively speaking of course. Lolol
In the extra month there are going to be about 7 or more revenge shootings and hopefully killings among the elements that are the Genesis of these actions
We need to get past these sensationalist statements to deal with solutions.
So DE Ole Man. Going me display into a Crime 101 course
We have a few issues of focus here.
Killings and shootings and cutlass incidents. We cannot outlaw the importation of collinses and cutlasses. Nor can we limit their sale. So for the time being addressing how we going stop that death by collins attack is going to have to wait.
DE guns now is another thing.
as part of the species of ingrunt men DE Ole man can tell wunderkind how we going got an urge to show we gun to somebody other than weself. This is a male ting it is the reason we menzes does always be grabbing we crotch and doggie cause we does be trying to impress people Dat we got one.
Summation of that prolix? We own self going expose where the gun is. One way or the other. You can hide and buy land. UT you can other bid a wuk um.
Issue number two.
After you have “foundd” where the weapons using the partially stated means above (DE ole man entry going expose DE entire ting heah) the next thing is to collect them.
Ammmm…..dat is a likkle mo’ difficult but unlike the simplistic message dat Holder talking but with people in de comminity calling some dishonest policemens and Crimestoppers so dem get shoot in detail same communities, Dere got to be a much safer was for the exchange of information to occur.
Finally.
With regards to the 10 revenge killings in the next 30 days ( DE ole man did say 7 but let we round it off at 10) one can be preemptive in those killings IF WUNNA WANT but DE ole man tin it is best to let dem kill off one annuder and hope nobody chile is around to become a casualty of the incidents
Behold the dawn of Barbados’ self imposed curfews while a totally lost Attorney General Nitwit sleeps , a former Attorney General Smiley Teets Marshall talks shyte, two other Attorneys General Fumes and Mugabe hide from the fire and this leaders who wants brownie points come pun BU to talk pup
Steupseee
@Carson Cadogan
There is absolutely nothing preventing the government implementing cameras at the borders. Forward your concerns to the Attorney General who has responsibility for home affairs. Regrettably the solution to the problem is not so simple.
“””……… is to attack the issue at the root””
In order to attack the issue at the root, the Govt. will have to take stern measures against the NUPW and the Unity Trade unions who are encouraging the Customs in turning a blind eye to the importation of illegal Guns into this country and causing Bajans to loose their lives as a result.
“”….There is absolutely nothing preventing the government implementing cameras “”
Your good buddy , Caswell Franklyn, is quoted in the Nation newspaper as saying, “”…..Unity Workersโ Union, Caswell Franklyn, was adamant he did not want to see cameras anywhere near Customs officers”.
What the Govt. needs to is to declare a State of Emergency. And deal with everybody once and for all.
Caswelll may want to rethink his position…he would not know the level of involvement of customs officers clearing drugs and guns through the ports since the 70s and his hair would grow from the facts and truths many a trafficker in and out of Barbados could tell him…..it would literally blow his mind.
….but all modern ports have resorted to cameras to combat this very problem….customs officers who take bribes to clear guns, drugs, exotic animals who are on endangered lists and containers of money through ports of entry and exit…….are monitored consistently. …
……that is the safest way for traffickers to operate……through bribing customs officers….,.if ya take away their safety net, it stems the flow of drugs and guns, they then have to go out of their way and spend more money to be more creative in trafficking.
Watchman,
The police know who those former legal gun owners are. They should be knocking on their doors, seizing the guns and, if they cannot be found, arresting the former legal owners.
The reality is that the shooting by the boys on the block is small fry. The big containers that come in to the country loaded with tat, with guns and drugs welded in to the body are the real dealers.
The flawed policy of allowing the containers to be taken to the importers homes, accompanied by custom officers, is high risk. All containers should be held in the port, with the contents being allowed to be removed.
Then search the containers properly for contraband.
By the way, we still have not been told if officer Gittens’ gun was legally held by him as a private citizen, illegally held, or was a service gun he took home. The commissioner or attorney general should tell us. Along with a date for his trial.
Remember the retired clergyman who was jailed by some idiot of a magistrate for possession of a few bullets? As a society we are fighting the wrong enemies.
And so it begins! 20 shootings in one day. Anyone care to make a prediction about the upcoming election and the level of violence one can expect. This gun problem is not one that can be solved in the same manner that problems are usually solved around here – leave it alone long enough and it may go away. We have not been able to solve the problem with ZR’s, working traffic lights, lighting on the highway, an efficient system at the Licensing Authority, the court system. Give me three weeks or until the next situation arises and we’ll forget this episode also. Today’s headlines will fade into oblivion as so many others have because it appears that the will to tackle real problems facing this island has been shot to death.
Carson…..never thought I would agree with ya, but this is now critical mass.
……the police need to lock up police who also protect gunrunners and drug traffickers. ….fir bribe money, and not let’s firget the pokice who manage their own blocks of drug dealers and gun sellers..
..the RSS also need to lock up its members who give lkearance, telling drug runners and traffickers when it’s safest to enter the island…
Ya think people dont know all of this..,…think again…
I am the very worse person yall want with that knowledge.
If you do not have anything constructive to add to the discussion why not go and drink a cup a tea and wash the yamppie from the corners of your eyes? Because Caswell writes an article to outline a position on the matter it means the government is impotent to act? Hasn’t Caswell written to ask for Sincklerโs campaign spend to be investigated? Have they done so? People like you is part of the problem.
….the police need to lock up police who also protect gunrunners and drug traffickers. โฆ.for bribe money….
…… and not letโs forget the police who also manage and control their own blocks of drug dealers and gun dealers……..lock them up…ACTING COMMISSIONER…
Where are those lie detectors I been hearing so much about..