Grenville Phillips II, leader of Solutions Barbados

CADRES recently conducted a poll in order to identify votersโ€™ political party preferences.ย  Most voters polled reportedly preferred either the BLP or the DLP.ย  After analysing the poll, I understood how voters could be easily manipulated.

When asking questions, there is normally a context around which each question is framed, that can result in different answers.ย  For example, there is a difference in asking โ€œShould we ban Gromoxone?โ€, โ€œGromoxone is an effective herbicide that keeps gardens tidy, should we ban Gromoxone?โ€ and โ€œGromoxone is the poison of choice for suicidal persons, should we ban Gromoxone?โ€ย  The results will tend to vary depending on how the question is framed.

In the first question, responders are not given a frame of reference.ย  In the second, the frame is positive โ€“ โ€œkeeps gardens tidyโ€.ย  In the third, the frame is negative โ€“ โ€œpoison of choice for suicidal personsโ€.ย  The frame in which the question is placed can allow us to accurately predict the majority response to the last two questions.ย  However, the majority response to the first unframed question can also be determined based on the national frame at the time.

For example.ย  If in one week, there were 5 publically reported suicides by drinking Gromoxone, just before persons were polled, then the question would have already been framed by the tragic events.ย  The emotional response would likely be that many would support some type of restriction.ย  However, a different response can be expected if there were no suicides by drinking Gromoxone in the past 15 years, and if the media were not participating in a campaign against Gromoxone.ย  Therefore, what is trending in the media can result in misleading poll results.

CADRESโ€™ poll questions were already framed by the news media reports of current events, and by public commentators who have access to the media.ย  News media have a higher responsibility to be fair during times of national decisions.ย  One side of a national discussion should not be deprived of โ€˜oxygenโ€™, while allowing the other side unfettered access to the media.ย  The public should be exposed to both sides of a debate.

The national frame around any question of the economy is that the ruling DLP administration is responsible for the current economic hardship, and they are incapable of managing our national economy.ย  The recent poll results appear to confirm this public sentiment.ย  However, what if the public were given the whole truth?

If the public is not told about the reckless and unsustainable borrowing during the BLP administration, then they will reasonably tend to blame the DLP, who must repay these debts, for their current circumstances.ย  However, if the public was told the truth, that both the BLP and the DLP administrations have brought us to the point of economic ruin, and that both partiesโ€™ policies are designed to generally keep most Barbadians house-poor and living pay-cheque to pay-cheque, then perhaps they would be willing to look at the policies of a third party.

If the public is told to dismiss all third parties because they are just parties of 1 or 5 persons, then they would likely dismiss them.ย  However, if they were told the truth that Solutions Barbados is the only third party with 25 candidates and intends to run 30 competent candidates, then perhaps they would dismiss the clever but inaccurately defined frame, and actually consider Solutions Barbados.

If the public is told that Solutions Barbados has no plan to address Barbadosโ€™ failing economy, then they would likely dismiss them.ย  However, if they were ever told the truth that Solutions Barbados is the only party to have published a non-austerity economic plan over 2 years ago, for rigorous public scrutiny, then they would have an accurate frame, and not the fake frame that others are actively promoting.ย  The plan is on SolutionsBarbados.com.

What if the austerity, harsh medicine, long hardship, bitter pills, and no-easy-fixes that the BLP and DLP are promising were actually explained to voters?ย  What if the BLP and DLP actually told the voters โ€œIf you vote for us, then your salary will be reduced, you will lose your job, you will lose your house if you are not earning foreign currency, and you will also lose everything that you are purchasing on credit.ย  You will suck salt, and your children will suck whatever is left after the salt that you have voted to suck is gone.โ€

In Guyana, the IMF made them double their income tax rates and devalue their currency by 70%.ย  Guyana was left with a ruined economy, dilapidated infrastructure, shortage of critical supplies, reduced social services, mass emigration of professionals, and 75% of the population in poverty.

Who would be so lunatic to vote for that bitter pill?ย  The CADRES poll demonstrated that Barbadian voters would enthusiastically vote for the economic ruin of their households, communities and country if the question was not accurately framed.

For completion, I should identify another possible explanation.ย  We are so accustomed to not believing what our elected politicians promise, that we simply do not believe them when they promise us that their policies will drive us and our children into poverty.

Grenville Phillips II is the founder of Solutions Barbados and can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

126 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – Telling The People The Truth”

1. Grenville,
    You mean well but you do not have the required political skills. Please put your energy into a cause other than partisan politics.

2. Whose truth

3. @Solutions Mr Phillips this essay is an exercise in chutzpah or Bajan speak…big balls!

Coming into this political fray you knew all of what you related above and took steps to get your message heard above the media din….you wrote columns, set a social media presence, established yourself as a commentator on the radio and other practical tactics.

It is absolutely a knock on YOUR inability to realistically cut through the media noise that you now accuse that same media of not paying attention to the Solutions message.

Have you CONSIDERED that after two years of the rigorous review of your proposals that several have been found unworkable and impractical thus causing the main media to lose interest in your party as a serious alternative???

If you can analyse so clearly the media problem then you should be able to bypass them completely and generate buzz and excitement via other avenues….

It is extremely difficult to understand how a party that proposes a solution as a penalty of a fine 10X times the value of a petty cellphone theft can be taken seriously on criminal justice reform.

Clearly you are asking all to accept you and your team on INTEGRITY and an ability to act judiciously…NOT on the functionality of your proposals.

Then you have to get that message out…INTEGRITY N JUDICIOUS behaviour on proposals vetted by the professionals in the civil service …the media will not do it for you!

4. Bajan Free Party/CUP/.Violet Beckles Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI Avatar
    Bajan Free Party/CUP/.Violet Beckles Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI

We told you the truth and you ran. So talk about some thing else, We have the truth, Names, when , where why and who.We can not solve crime by not calling who did what and when ,
    Vote Bajan Free Party/CUP, PONZI and Fraud must stop,

5. Grenville,

There is no such thing as “the public”.

There are different categories of voters, and you need a marketing guy or a political sociologist to define these various voting segments for you so that you can craft messages that will appeal to some, most, or all of them.

Ever heard of a guy called Obama?. Look up the names of his marketing team. Read the books they wrote about the campaigns they mounted on behalf of this guy. Then create your own team.

6. I agree with you Old Baje…………..

He just does not understand that Chris Sinckler does not have a clue about managing public finances and should have never been in the position in the first place.

Had Sinckler known anything about managing an economy, whatever problems existed as Grenville is always saying, CS would not have over borrowed and over spent to the tune of billions thus causing an unsustainable unmanageable deficit.

Maybe since Grenville is always blaming the BLP (as if it was not kicked out of office in 2008) for everything that is wrong in the economy today, he can explain to us what steps the DLP took to correct the missteps………..

As far as Grenville is concerned (and I understand his party members are still at the mercy of the dlp to get contracts) the BLP is still in control. He may care to tell us of the results of the Fiscal Medium Term strategy, the number of revisions of the said policy, whether the economy was actually restructured and who was it that borrowed more in 9 years than the BLP did in 14, where and how the money was spent and who is to repay the billions borrowed?

The DLP has so imperilled this economy that there were 19 downgrades and Barbados cannot borrow a cent now on the international market only at a high interest rate.

Grenville, stick to engineering, please!

7. @ Grenville,

By contesting the next elections, Solutions Barbados would be doing Barbadians a great service even if none of your candidates are elected.

You have done your political duty to Barbados by offering an alternative to the BLP and the DLP.

8. And………what after that, Hants?

Is a trophy for participating is all Solutions is about?

9. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Hants August 5, 2017 at 2:30 PM #

Totally agree with your above.

Desiderata

Go placidly amid the noise and haste,
    and remember what peace there may be in silence.
    As far as possible, without surrender,
    be on good terms with all persons.

Speak your truth quietly and clearly;
    and listen to others,
    even to the dull and ignorant;
    they too have their story.

10. @Hants

Your comment is 50% correct. It is not enough for SB to show themselves as an alternative by ‘running’. The message cum strategy must lend itself to winning.

11. @ Prodigal Son,

Solutions Barbados is a change from the two political parties.

The BLP and DLP win elections by “convincing” voters using comedic political brass meetings, entertaining in rum shops with the requisite corned beef, biscuits and rum, walking to peoples houses and giving them “help”.

None ah wunna ent gine sue me nor BU so use your exceptional intellect and “read between the lines”

12. Prodigal
    I lost interest in what Grenville might be capable of introducing to the debate when he repeatedly suggested that the BLP did nothing to move the economy forward in its 14 years in office.What a ridiculous statement.

13. Grenville maybe reacting to Wickham’s onair comment a couple weeks ago that he does not intend to waste time discussing ‘third parties’. Not that although the PEP is not contesting the upcoming general election it is the only ‘third party’ to register in the recent CADRES poll.

14. @ David I hope Grenville and Solutions Barbados will restructure their “campaign” when

elections are called.

There is still time because Stuart is not going to call elections until after Christmas.

15. SD should join up with the other ‘3rd parties’ and form a consolidated front as a true option to the B’s & D’s ….. and thereby hope to win a seat, or two,…. else they are all going to sacrifice their deposits.

16. Vincent Haynes Avatar

SB is not resonating with the average voter and I use my rumshop hoping to justify that statement.

I enjoy going to rumshops when I am in Bim as that is where you will hear the man of the street talking to his buddies and all you do is listen…….no mention of SB whatsoever.

17. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@ Vincent

Does the man in the street or the rumshop pay any attention to social media? Probably not, but it is where SB is expending much of its publicity efforts.

18. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Peter

On point….I had my pudding&Souse in a rumshop,Holders hill, area as per usual and the only difference to the ones of yore was that they had SKY playing cricket in Jamaica vs Bim and the guys were talking about the foreday morning that their children went to,the cricket,rising costs and the sea.

19. @de pedantic Dribbler August 5, 2017 at 12:36 PM #

I agree with most of what you said in the above post, but I am of the opinion Solutions Barbados lost most of its credibility when its leader, Grenville, appeared on VOB’s post budget analysis program and admitted he didn’t listen to or read the budgetary proposals. No one is saying Grenville could not have been otherwise occupied and had a reasonable excuse not to have heard the presentation of the budgetary proposals, but one would have expected a serious political party to have had another member stand in for him during that VOB program.

The truth is, over two years ago Grenville’s group looked at the Barbados economy, came up with a fix and that is the plan Solutions Barbados will bring to the table whether the economy stagnates, worsens or improves, no matter what critical comments are made or what advice is given about the plan PERIOD.

20. Hi Prodigal:

Clearly you have not been reading my articles. The DLP is currently mismanaging the economy. However, it is in accordance with their philosophy which does not work with the unsustainable debt that we currently carry. Therefore, the DLPโ€™s main problem is that they simply will not listen to good advice.

What is equally true is that the BLP gave the DLP an economy that was unsustainable. The BLP was warned about their reckless spending, but they ignored all good advice because it went against their developmental philosophy which was no longer relevant.

The DLP are demonstrating that they will persist with their irrelevant philosophy regardless of the damage caused. The BLP have claimed that they will persist with their irrelevant philosophy, which got us into this unsustainable debt in the first place. Therefore, electing either of these parties will do Barbados significant harm.

Best regards,
    Grenville

21. Peter:

You do yourself and readers a disservice when writing things of which you are not informed.

Best regards,
    Grenville

22. There are many truths.

As a dearly departed scholar once said, a thing is not necessarily true or false, it maybe both true and false.

23. It is becoming easier to pick out yardfowls on this site. If only the voting population was intelligent we could see SB in parliament.

FPTP will ensure a two party state.

@Grenville The electorate in Barbados is not intelligent enough to allow your team a chance. You will have to focus on either the more mature electorate communities like those in St. Philip and Christ Church or a weak seat like St.Joseph. St. Michael too poor and underpriviledged and will fall for vote buying again. Rural parishes are from maturity.

If you get 1 or 2 seats you have a chance next election.

24. Yardfowls V snobs

25. Barbados is in a serious position, the economy is in tatters.

We cannot just say give a group a chance just because disillusioned dems say so.

The DLP has led us to this point and these disillusioned dems still have their deep loyalty to the Barrow legacy. Rather than call out Freundel and his ministers, these disillusioned dems would prefer to go to another bunch of inexperienced persons who have no idea about governing to further sink the ship called Barbados.

Now is not the time to continue governing by trial and error………..look where that has brought
    Barbados to!

26. SB
    There you go again,writing foolishness which not gain you any support.Your have to be sitting on your head.

27. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

The electorate has already framed its questions in order to elicit the answers It wants . Have the political parties solicited these questions and are attempting to provide the expected answers? Questions are seldom devoid of frames….if ever.

28. @ Vincent

I agree with your comments re: โ€œSB is not resonating with the average voter.โ€

Grenville Phillips II presented his political partyโ€™s proposals for public perusal, discussion and feedback. Unfortunately, Mr. Phillips does not react favourably to constructive criticism, which he seems to interpret as a personal attack. If an individual asks a probing question or critically analyses those proposals, he becomes angry, responds sarcastically and states that he will no longer engage them in โ€œdiscussion.โ€

This is a sign of immaturity and insecurityโ€ฆโ€ฆ..โ€ฆ attributes that are not befitting of an aspiring politician.

Additionally, some people seem to believe because many Barbadians are disenchanted with the traditional political parties, means they will automatically accept and support a โ€œthird party,โ€ even though its policies are questionable or not properly thought out and articulated.

For example, examine โ€œgf_paromanโ€™sโ€ statement re: โ€œ@Grenville The electorate in Barbados is not intelligent enough to allow your team a chance.โ€

Who gave this individual the authority to determine whether people are intelligent or not, based specifically on their not wanting to readily accept Solutions Barbados? Or to assume St. Michael constituents โ€œwill fall for vote buying againโ€ because they are poor? Perhaps he/she may want to present the results of his survey to substantiate that shiite.

29. @Artax

gf_paroman is clearly a supporter of the elitist SB………does not St Michael have a lot of very affluent neighbourhoods as well?

In 2008, the people of Barbados fell for a sweet talking Thompson who led an untried group of indivduals and look where that got us. SB did not even realised that they have to have at least one lawyerto be the AG after bragging……….”you will see that we have not attracted not one lawyer”……….

I would never forget in 2008, David Ellis saying on Brasstacks that he would not criticise the new government in its first year, you have to give them time to cut their teeth. Looking back, had we been more critical of them as they cut their teeth, Barbados may be in a better place today.

30. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Solutions Party

There is a diverse group of people making up the voting public in Barbados. They are:
    – your general yard fowls and paling cocks,
    – idiots with guns,
    – idiots that are easily bought
    – educated idiots who are in cahoots with the political system for personal gain
    – educated but with a lot of common sense people who are abstaining from for reasons personal to them
    – the many young people who are indifferent to the political system for reasons provided by the politico
    – many undecided first time voters
    – And, finally, the right thinkers.

The last group of people do not need to be persuaded that there is a need for an alternative party because the evidence has been provided by the way the two long serving ones have been governing Barbados financial affairs. All the comments that are in opposition to your views and the SB policies are looking at the dynamics that make up those various aspects of the Barbadian diaspora from these different degrees of different and in-different traits. The prediction that you will fail is base on what they think they know and believe to be correct about the voting public being divided between two political factions. What they need to understand is that you have several groups of persons making up a percentage of the voting population who are convinced that there is no difference between B or D, hence their desire to see change.

The turn off at this stage for the springing forth of so many alternative parties is that they are all being interpreted as gold diggers and opportunist. in other words, only looking to get their hands in the treasury, with no firm foundation to show what they policies will be.

On here, I wrote that Donald Trump will win the Presidency. I am not going to say that you are going to win the elections in 2018 because the atmosphere in Barbados is pumped with uncertainty. What I will say is that you are going to be a serious contender, especially when you start your community outreach programmes, and if your party remains consistent and not fade with the passage of time. Good luck to you and ignore the naysayers.

31. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Prodigal Son

I am not too sure that GF Paroman is as much “A supporter of Solutions Barbados” as they are being pragmatic.

He or she has done two things anmely they have done a rapid analysis of the places where Grenville could credibly run and given an analysis of the psyche of the cuntstituents in those respective target areas.

They have gone one step further and said that he can realistically expect 1 to 2 seats IF HE REORIENTS HIS MESSAGE!

Grenville is from utopiaville, he cannot identify with the common man in the street but, having said that, if someone were to recraft and refashion the SB image, he may get a seat at most.

De Ole man shall give you a take on how the Third Party Movement should proceed.

Guerilla warfare or more pertinently “killing the straglers on”

Now before any of you so called political pundits start pun de ole man let me define the strategy in terms of FACT and not the FALLACIOUS FLUPP that attends many of these pronouncements here on BU.

Let me cite MUGABE here to underscore my example.

Sandra Husbands has lost every single election she has contested but, she will win this one against Pornville, PURELY BY DEFAULT.

If you were to examine Sandra in detail all of your would arrive at the same determination that she is and has been an incompetent in every single job that she has taken, most notably at the Small Business Association where she, Lynette and Crab (I did not say Babb) have run that entity into the ground.

Now Mugabe knows that the Husband who is the husband hehehehehehe is incompetent BUT she understands the movement that will move Pornville.

But here is the thing that will let wunna comprehend why Mugabe will kill these “stragglers on and fellows who stray too far from the camp to relieve themselves.”

David Gill the man purported to have a love affa(r with ESAFields and Maria Agard.

Mottley dumped them both because AS AN ARMY ON THE ADVANCE, she could not afford to have “stragglers on”

Fact, not fiction.

So here is the THird Party strategy which de ole man knows dat Grenville nor Neil nor de udder Lynette nor Adamson e taxesman CANNOT understand furthermore execute.

Focus as GF…Paroman said clearly on the stragglers on, the politically inept, the waste foops of the House of Parliament people like Cynthia, and Trevor, and Toppin, and these easy targets whose performance/track records are sooooo poor that the blindest man on a trotting horse could not miss them.

Pick them off – there are 8 such seats that are ripe for termination.

32. @Pieces n @Artax….. the GF blogger post re intelligent voters caused me to blink rapidly and question my eyesight…what a remark.

If voters were so intelligent how in the name of commonsense would the nation have elected some previous representatives?

Frankly, SB should rely on emotive disillusionment… period…asking INTELLIGENT people to rationalize charging a poor man with no assets a $7000 fine for the theft of a $700 phone as a valid n workable solution to resolving a first step in the psychology of criminali justice DEFIES that said intelligence!

@SSS, well stated.

And again @Pieces, yes Phillips comes from utiopiaville but so too a certain current President.

What we all – supposedly intelligent people, I imagine – realize is that Phillips also frames his ‘golden spoon’ upbringing in terms that speak to identifying with regular folks: he too speaks of being industrious as a boy – in his case raising stocks – and by inference always having to work hard for what he gained from his father.

The spoon was there but how can we begrudge him that if he had to work his butt off – and too his wayward youthful attention – to get ahead in life….

This is a life theme so eternally powerful that it can always win the day.

Phillips is as shrewd as they come….remove some of his absolute folly policies which do not more than grab attention and he could be formifible…

Maybe Phillips can win his seat and those weak spots you identified…will take a massive behind scenes effort so it’s really up to how rigorous he will be (and not like his two year review rigour)!

33. See how easy it is to ruffle the feathers of yardfowls. Their narrative is easy: continuously tell the electorate that the DLP is responsible for ALL the economic issues and those issues started in 2008. Madness.

Just because I’m not waging my tail for the BLP..smh

My memory ain’t short no matter how ‘taxed’ it is now.

@Artax re electorate intelligence: That was an observation based on how they reply to questionnaires/media reporters over the last decade. St. Michael constituencies exist to be used. The politicians deliberately keep them in poverty so that they can be manipulated.

How are SB elitist? Is being your own boss elitist? Is employing 5 or more people elitist?

Solutions Barbados is the only party tackling the economic issues at the core. Don’t bow down to austerity. That is the house-poor mentality that the political elite are peddling.

I don’t want to come across as a SB supporter because I disagree with parts of their crime strategy but responding to the obvious yardfowls who choose to comment with distractions straight from the playbook of politics will make me appear as one.

34. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

I beg to differ very seriously about the Solutions Barbados Crew bing “the only party tackling the economic problems at the core”

In fact I would ask you GF Paroman what does that mean?

Does it mean that SB is listing what the problems are?

Cause the last time i checked SO WAS THE AUDITOR GENERAL and he is not asking for anyone’s vote!!

http://i.imgur.com/toKsti4.jpg

Messages to the people must resonate with the people with that likkle tag line that starts to grow on people where SB becomes synonymous with HOPE not UTOPIAVILLE

Look try as they may THE DLP is synonymous with FAILURES! All of them particularly BULLDOG & PORNVILLE and that is why all of them are going to lose their seats.

MUGABE is synonymous with female genital mutilation, she cannot live that down but here is the thing nuh, she will be seen as The Default PM.

Solutions Barbados and the rest of these pretend Third Parties have to “up their game” or, in the face of the rampant vote buying, they will lose their respective deposits.

So….

(1.) THEIR MESSAGE MUST CHANGE

(2.) THEY HAVE TO CREATE THE IMAGE OF CARING

(3.) THEY HAVE TO CONVEY “REAL WORLD” STRATEGIES AND NOT MADMEN IDEAS & ISO 1800 ideas from the Quaker Oats box.

The whole package and its delivery mechanisms must change

THe ONLY WAY any 3rd Party can win a sit, furthermore a government, is to show the BAJANS POPULACE replete with its idjuts, what they can do RIGHT NOW, @ TODAY WITHOUT THE COFFERS OF GOVERNMENT.

If they can do that, AND IF THEY WERE TO BE CORRECTLY ADVISED THEY CAN, all of the political aspirations of Mugabe would be dashed to smithereens.

Because even though the DLP has shown that they are the worst government that this country has even had, Bajans are saying that MUGABE NEVER DO A TING IN SHE WHO TIME DAT SHOW SHE IS COMPETENT.

Plussing dem doan like de Mottley attitude of privilege and pretence.

It is de man in de street dat going win dis election not all uh yuh stodgy intelligent peeple dem.

35. pieceuhderockyeahright August 6, 2017 at 4:21 AM #

โ€œHe or she has done two things namely they have done a rapid analysis of the places where Grenville could credibly run and given an analysis of the psyche of the cuntstituents in those respective target areas.โ€

@ PUDRYR

Your above comments are as flawed as the comments made by โ€œgf-paroman.โ€

I cannot understand why you are attempting to defend the โ€œrapid analysis,โ€ which was done mainly on โ€œguess workโ€ to conclude/assume (without statistical evidence), that because a voter is poor or lives in Deacons Farm, Pine, New Orleans, Chapman Lane, Goodland, Black Rock or Grazettes Housing Area, he/she โ€œwill fall for vote buying.โ€

โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ.. Or without presenting statistical data relative to the population and particular groups living within the St. Michael constituencies (demographics), a representative group taken from the population (sample) or summary average that describes the entire population (parameter) as as basis to make an intelligent assessment,

As it relates to gfโ€™s comment re: โ€œYou will have to focus on either the more mature electorate communities like those in St. Philip and Christ Churchโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ,โ€ by mentioning โ€œSt. Michael too poor and underprivileged,โ€ Iโ€™m assuming โ€œmature electorate communities,โ€ refers to โ€œbourgeoisieโ€ communities where, in his/her opinion, voters are less likely to โ€œfall for vote buying.โ€

Suppose SB takes this advice and decides to contest Christ Church West Central or Christ Church East Central constituencies. Is โ€œgf-paromanโ€ suggesting the candidates should concentrate of soliciting votes from โ€œmature electorate communitiesโ€ such as Sheraton Park, Amity Lodge, Vauxhall Gardens, Bannatyne or Kingsland and neglect the โ€œtrouble spotโ€ areas such Sargeantโ€™s Village, Vauxhall, Montrose, Silver Hill, Gall Hill and Edey Village?

36. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Piece

Plussing dem doan like de Mottley attitude of privilege and pretence.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Chuckle………interesting comment…….must say that the average man in the street enjoys her down to earth manner and her ability to be found in a rumshop as well as the Polo club conversing intelligently with one and all.

Sorry ole son nice try…..buh dah one ain gine fly….wheel an cum again.

37. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Artaxerxes your political skin in the game is showing lololol

GF Paroman states that “…The electorate in Barbados is not intelligent enough to allow your team a chance…”

De ole man concurs with that statement NOT BECAUSE of some elitist adoption of this perspective but because de man has said the absolute truth re a deficiency of intlelect that is more pervasive in Deacons and Marlhole and Prescod Bottom and all the other economically less affluent areas you have mentined.

Let us not get inot any discourse bout literacy and numeracy.

De fact is that we are a politically imature populace and what wins elections is purely the emotive AND THE VOTE BUYING.

He continues to state “…You will have to focus on either the more mature electorate communities like those in St. Philip and Christ Church or a weak seat like St.Joseph…”

This is sound political strategy. All de man saying is that you, like water, have to find it/your own “level” if YOU GOING PERSIST IN THAT HIGH FALLUTING BS BOUT ISO 1978

And this is the statement which (UNDERSTANDABLY) rankled your cage.

He says and de ole man quotes “…St. Michael too poor and underpriviledged and will fall for vote buying again…”

De disposition of the illiterate towards vote buying or those in economic potta DOES NOT NEED ANY STATISTICAL ANALYSIS to support this fact AS YOU WILL SOON FIND OUT!

If you do not have a war cabinet that will mobilize the voters, like how Stinkliar is purported to have done with the 5000 IPADS in he St Michael ting, you is not got a chance!!

You unnerstand that reality or you feeling inebriated pun de ting??? heheheheheh

And he finished by saying “Rural parishes are [FAR] from maturity….” he missed out the word far but what was said is spot on.

You gots to divorce certain things from the facts.

DE DLP going get beat, REAL EFFING BAD, that is a FACT and no amount of 10% NSRL going augment that war chest fuh wunna fellers.

“You have been weighed in the balance and found wanting…”

38. This segment is not significant to make a difference. For any political party to gain traction it must appeal to the masses.

โ€“ And, finally, the right thinkers.

39. @Vincent

Do not be naive, Wasn’t Mia popular when the gang of 5 booted her?

40. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Chuckle……and what happened……thanks for making my point.

41. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Vincent

De ting bout dis is that you talking cause you got a mouf.

Ask Mugabe bout de pre George A Smith days and a pavillion at ***

Steupseee…wunna people does dring too much of de effing kolaid.

Because you see Mottley sitting under de tree wid de fellers in Bush Hall DOES NOT MEAN ACCEPTANCE OR ABSOLUTION OF THE PERCEPTION dat we po’ people got bout dem.

One ting bout po’ people is dat we got an acute sense of the genuineness of wunna pretenders and Mugabe can pretend all dem want but in the eyes of de po’ man, she is not like the Uruguayian President Jose Mujica.

You cannot “pretend” empathy Vincent

You cannot pretend to know what hunger is Vincent.

You cannot pretend to know what a woman feels like when she has to fvck a drug dealer or de reverend or de ugly politician wid HIV and he PS jes to put food pun de table for her children.

Wunna is polemicize this matter cause dat is all wunna effing know Vincent.

You nor Mugabe never been ppor nor have you been there and lived that

This is Grenville’s problem too effing far away from reality to understand the diurnal challenges of the boys pun de bock who see selling drugs as their ONLY WAY OUT.

Cause at one side of the coin dere are effers like WeJnesing and Joseph Atherley, and a littany of disconnected PSes like Edison Alleyne and at the other side of the coin are the Peter Boos and Basil Springers and all the nut jobs who have no idea how to engage the raw talent of the po’ man

And dere is notheing that i can write here Vincent that will change what you are “for east is east and west is west and never shall the twian her meet…”

42. I am one of those individuals who has been advocating for the establishment of a serious, viable โ€œthird party.โ€

Unfortunately, so far I noticed the members of these newly formed political parties comprise of disgruntled former members of the traditional BLP & DLP who have been REPEATEDLY REJECTED by the electorate and subsequently rejected by their respective parties or โ€œwanna beโ€ politicians whose main โ€œclaim to fameโ€ is hating Mia Mottley.

In his August 6, 2017 at 4:21 AM post, PUDRYR mentioned โ€œthe politically inept, the waste foops of the House of Parliament people like Cynthia, and Trevor, and Toppin,โ€ yet he seems to be suggesting we should embrace THREE time loser DAVID GILL and political humbug Wendell Callender of the โ€œthird partyโ€ Citizen Action Partnership (CAP).

I do not know CAPโ€™s political philosophy and have not seen its socio economic policies.

Mark Adamson of the PDC, who is known to BU by his contributions OPPOSING taxation, has evidently formed a coalition with Callender. It would be interesting to hear Adamsonโ€™s reaction and views if CAPโ€™s economic proposals articulate taxation policies.

How can I consider these โ€œthird partiesโ€ whose members do not possess a common ideology; i.e. system of ideas and ideals that forms the basis of economic or political theory and policy?

However, what I admire about Solutions Barbados is Grenville Phillips II has been able to attract and recruit NEW political candidates.

43. @Vincent

An one should deduce from your one liner that a repeat is not possible? While it is unlikely one has to keep an open mind in politics. What is the saying again- ‘There’s many a slip ‘twixt the cup and the lip.’

44. Why not consider third parties if as suggested by blp yardfowls govt is inept what so wrong with third parties. at least their is willingness on their part to make suggestions unlike the blp and its leadership Mia who have used a political narative by way of marches and chaos and onesided polling as alternative remedy to our nation economic woes

45. yardfowls or loyal supporters?

46. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Artaxerxes

The Third Party Movement that i am supporting is, in this current hodge podge of candidates, not Solutions Barbados not Barbados Integrity Movement nor CAP nor NBKA .

I am not speaking to these individuals who seem bent on each loosing their deposits at the expense of barbados.

By now, thes 6 months before the election is due, they should have been able to (a) determine which seats are the “ripe” seats (b) which of their candidates collectively have the best chances to secure the seat and (c) should the need arise, coalesce around a single nucleus of the Third Party Movement to dislodge the duopoly.

Right now what “solutions” have any one of these parties brought to the table that shows that they can deliver?

19 years or more in the HoA and Mugabe slated to be the next PM, what can she show for her almost quarter of a century in the House?

What can Grenville the “I only want business men in my elitist party” man show?

I ent know nuffin bout the rest other than the fact that Holder was a fellow who championed this SOL monopoly thing that seemed to have “resulted” in the FTC pausing the BNTCL sale.

But let us be serious here.

What have any of them done that is notable? and worthy of your “x”?

What are any of them doing? that is worth of consideration for your “x”?

And it is by these visible works that de po’ man that Vincent like talking bout (the one he says “needs to be educated” (chuckle or is that heheheheheheh?)) is going to know if it makes sense to vote for these rabble OR NOT.

The Covenants of Hope and the glossy manifestos dont mean diddly squat to me nor you cause all of them does promise these things and nothing happens.

As their final Acts in their Death Rattle de ole man hopes that the DLP will implement FOI and the integrity legislation.

Let them die with a grin on their faces while they enshackle these incoming varmints and rustlers-in-waiting

47. I don’t remember singling out any parish by voter intelligence. Please read my original post more carefully.

@Artax Did you actually read the article posted and then look at the Cadres poll?

This article is pure genius. It shows how people can be manipulated. But this high level analysis is far from the minds of the electorate. They just want the pain to stop and are going after who they see as the givers of pain.

But who the electorate ‘see’ is not what is really to be seen.

48. The resident yard-fowl (loyal supporter) posted an excellent contribution without even actually realizing or understanding the point she made.

The fact of the matter is the Barbados Labour Party was punished for its arrogance in the 2008 general elections and the Democratic Labour Party, Stuart, Sinckler, Jones, Lowe, Kellman, Michael Lashley, Stephen Lashley, Blackett, Jester Ince, โ€œteefingโ€ Michael Carrington et al have proven over the past 9 ยฝ years they are inept โ€œshiite buckets.โ€

As such, people, including those AC deemed to be โ€œBLP yard-fowls,โ€ are in actuality being harsh on the โ€œthird partiesโ€ so they could improve their standards and be seriously considered viable enough to rid Barbados of the BLP and DLP.

49. But your response does not answer my question one if which relates to remedy for the economy which as of present time the leadership of the blp has avoided.
    When you answer that question then i would take anything you say concerning the politics of barbados and the solutions offered by third parties seriously
    You have this clear and opposing view to oppose alternatives outside those who are not blp supporters andwhen the issue of blp remedies are brought into the discussion like the loyal paling cock you look the other way.
    Wonder why?

50. Gentlemen @Artax n @Pieces, the rather inept way that @GF phrased his remarks about intelligence n poor constituents does no more than highlight the stark realities of politics.

You allude to that Pieces but it seems you come at it from the high end voter side whereas Artax approaches from the other side.

But please explain to me what difference is it (other than quantum of riches ) when a Maloney or DPP type vote for a person to ensure that theie table is filled with food compared to that of the folks in the Deacons or Haynesville or Spooners Hill who do the same so their table has some food.

If I vote for a party because I know I can get a pick to the High Court or that my wife or relative will get a top job or contract is that intelligence or wanton basic greed propelled by the few Grantley ‘vote buying’ direct hands on process.

One is a long play whereas the other is a short sale… and the latter buyer does all in his/her power to make that short play as long as possible….. both are filled with intelligence and crass meism.

Fah real people….when GF talks about Intel and money he is using codes words – deliberately or naively – to signal a definitive and always on political truism.