Grenville Phillips II, leader of Solutions Barbados

CADRES recently conducted a poll in order to identify voters’ political party preferences.  Most voters polled reportedly preferred either the BLP or the DLP.  After analysing the poll, I understood how voters could be easily manipulated.

When asking questions, there is normally a context around which each question is framed, that can result in different answers.  For example, there is a difference in asking “Should we ban Gromoxone?”, “Gromoxone is an effective herbicide that keeps gardens tidy, should we ban Gromoxone?” and “Gromoxone is the poison of choice for suicidal persons, should we ban Gromoxone?”  The results will tend to vary depending on how the question is framed.

In the first question, responders are not given a frame of reference.  In the second, the frame is positive – “keeps gardens tidy”.  In the third, the frame is negative – “poison of choice for suicidal persons”.  The frame in which the question is placed can allow us to accurately predict the majority response to the last two questions.  However, the majority response to the first unframed question can also be determined based on the national frame at the time.

For example.  If in one week, there were 5 publically reported suicides by drinking Gromoxone, just before persons were polled, then the question would have already been framed by the tragic events.  The emotional response would likely be that many would support some type of restriction.  However, a different response can be expected if there were no suicides by drinking Gromoxone in the past 15 years, and if the media were not participating in a campaign against Gromoxone.  Therefore, what is trending in the media can result in misleading poll results.

CADRES’ poll questions were already framed by the news media reports of current events, and by public commentators who have access to the media.  News media have a higher responsibility to be fair during times of national decisions.  One side of a national discussion should not be deprived of ‘oxygen’, while allowing the other side unfettered access to the media.  The public should be exposed to both sides of a debate.

The national frame around any question of the economy is that the ruling DLP administration is responsible for the current economic hardship, and they are incapable of managing our national economy.  The recent poll results appear to confirm this public sentiment.  However, what if the public were given the whole truth?

If the public is not told about the reckless and unsustainable borrowing during the BLP administration, then they will reasonably tend to blame the DLP, who must repay these debts, for their current circumstances.  However, if the public was told the truth, that both the BLP and the DLP administrations have brought us to the point of economic ruin, and that both parties’ policies are designed to generally keep most Barbadians house-poor and living pay-cheque to pay-cheque, then perhaps they would be willing to look at the policies of a third party.

If the public is told to dismiss all third parties because they are just parties of 1 or 5 persons, then they would likely dismiss them.  However, if they were told the truth that Solutions Barbados is the only third party with 25 candidates and intends to run 30 competent candidates, then perhaps they would dismiss the clever but inaccurately defined frame, and actually consider Solutions Barbados.

If the public is told that Solutions Barbados has no plan to address Barbados’ failing economy, then they would likely dismiss them.  However, if they were ever told the truth that Solutions Barbados is the only party to have published a non-austerity economic plan over 2 years ago, for rigorous public scrutiny, then they would have an accurate frame, and not the fake frame that others are actively promoting.  The plan is on SolutionsBarbados.com.

What if the austerity, harsh medicine, long hardship, bitter pills, and no-easy-fixes that the BLP and DLP are promising were actually explained to voters?  What if the BLP and DLP actually told the voters “If you vote for us, then your salary will be reduced, you will lose your job, you will lose your house if you are not earning foreign currency, and you will also lose everything that you are purchasing on credit.  You will suck salt, and your children will suck whatever is left after the salt that you have voted to suck is gone.”

In Guyana, the IMF made them double their income tax rates and devalue their currency by 70%.  Guyana was left with a ruined economy, dilapidated infrastructure, shortage of critical supplies, reduced social services, mass emigration of professionals, and 75% of the population in poverty.

Who would be so lunatic to vote for that bitter pill?  The CADRES poll demonstrated that Barbadian voters would enthusiastically vote for the economic ruin of their households, communities and country if the question was not accurately framed.

For completion, I should identify another possible explanation.  We are so accustomed to not believing what our elected politicians promise, that we simply do not believe them when they promise us that their policies will drive us and our children into poverty.

Grenville Phillips II is the founder of Solutions Barbados and can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

126 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – Telling The People The Truth”

1. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Oh dear Angela,

Why you does doan keep you mouf shut?

You ent remember whu your ramblings cause to happen the last time you spoke?

heheheheh

2. David August 6, 2017 at 8:58 AM #

Who is disagreeing……you are picking an argument where no base exists.

3. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ De Word,

yes i guess that you are right insofar that both of them are “sellint their wares” for where a But Jerk a man will want a sat aroung the table at say the Central Bank de person with lesser resources than Jerk a Man can only ply his vote and such is not of any use until 5 years transpirres again.

De point the ole man was underscoring is that there are nuff more “up de ting” sheeple than there are so-called Intelligencia who are not so hand to mouf and it is to these that Mugabe will and Grenvill II should seek to propose “solutions” that resonate with these de have nots.

It is the “rabble who will make or break a government.

THe 3/5 law that was complexioned and some say “was enshrined in the Constitution of the United States” did not so much take its genesis from the white man seeking to dehumanize us niggers at that time of the formulation of the USofA as it was complexioned by the votes that people constituted at that time.

Remember that the Southern stated had more niggers in their population than the noth and such, if the law of proportional representation was permitted to rule, would have mant that the south would have overuled the North in the ensuing votes.

Quite recently one had even seen here on BU a proposal which would revert to a similar practice where people could only voe given their landowning status a fact still relied on bu the Immigration and Naturalization Services of the United States of America until this day.

Heshe who sways the “rabble” will carry the day in bajan elections in 2018 BARRING FUMBLES’ INVOCATION OF THE EMERGENCY POWERS ACT heheheheeheh

4. pieceuhderockyeahright August 6, 2017 at 8:50 AM #

Chuckle….both o’ we got nuff mouth an both o’ we ena de departure lounge…..dis werl belongs tuh de youts dem……site….

You and I know you are talking rubbish…..the rich and the poor are the two stratas of all societies that get on well…….you ever see the ones from the higher heights and terraces in the rumshops…..nope,they are all at the Polo club or the Yacht club……you will however see the rich barefoot in the rumshops with the boys and go to there clubs whenever.

5. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Appeal to the masses
    Provide evidence of their policies
    Not present an elitist front
    Not be extreme in their views
    Be open minded to criticism as oppose to the close door approach
    Allow for one or two grass roots

If this is all done by Solutions Party would it stop all the in house shite talk about them? I am sure some of you will still find some fault, some reason or another piece of nitpicking to say why you are not supporting a third party. You refuse to give the benefit of the doubt to Solutions Party, when many of you on here ask for the rising of a third party. in spite all the evidence that the DEMs and BEEs has provided in the form of lies, pilfering, and deal setting, you still would not support a Solutions Party as a means of providing these two crooked parties with a reality check. Everyone knows that to appeal to the masses you have to pay for their goods and services, if you want their favour and a bit of loyalty. How else do you appeal to the masses when the masses are a varied group of persons constituting a whole lot of knuckle heads, crooks, vagabonds, white collar criminals, and people who want money. The masses want something, and it is the climate created by the bribery system of the Democrats, and the Barbados Labour Parties that makes Solutions Party appear irrelevant.

6. Even if what you scribe is correct it does not change the fact that for SB or any third party to be successful it must find a way to appeal to the majority of the electorate.

7. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Find a way! David, there is only one way to appeal and that is via Sir Grantleys, gift items or paying off bills and dept. The truth does not appeal to much to many Barbadians because many of them will not take the time to read the message of solutions or even go on their web site and read a few pages of their policies. Since you are making this an item of the house why don’t you make some suggestions on how solutions can get that appeal.

8. Have we not written voluminously on BU’S pages about governance matters? The reason why members of the population can be duped by the political class is the lack of transparency i.e. lack of integrity legislation and enforcement of our existing laws. A good example is the current debate where the CCJ has rubbished the practice of convicting accused persons based on oral confessions. How many citizens have been char:ged for accepting bribe money? How many politicians have been charged for overspending at election time? Etc etc etc

9. It is admirable that Solutions Barbados (SB) is actually trying to have a full lineup of candidates to run and has done more to that effect than any other grouping. I wish them success at that.

However, the facts are they need to do what needs to be done to have a chance. They need to get in to the conversation by the means that are there and used by all already not just social media where the majority of Bajans in rum shops and the streets don’t mix.

Finally, and their biggest problem, is they need to have a serious solution. I have been following them for the past year and listening to what Grenville has to say and simply put – His Solutions Barbados plan is to simplistic in today complex world. He seems to just pretend that we don’t have the international lending problems / obligations out there over our head.

I am sorry, but every big idea he has are to simple. What about our bigger picture problems that planting a fruit tree in every backyard won’t settle.

Grenville and team are clueless to that!

10. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

My Sweet Piece wrote:

What can Grenville the “I only want business men in my elitist party” man show?

I ent know nuffin bout the rest other than the fact that Holder was a fellow who championed this SOL monopoly thing that seemed to have “resulted” in the FTC pausing the BNTCL sale.

But let us be serious here.

What have any of them done that is notable? and worthy of your “x”?

What are any of them doing? that is worth of consideration for your “x”?

You could never be serious about what you wrote. Provide me with evidence outside of Grantley Adams and Errol Barrow, what significant contribution so moving, that was done, that warrants the x of those whom we criticise highly on here. Do we have anything to show from the newbies, besides the Pinelands Creative Workshop Rodney Grant, that we can say that they deserve our X? You know something, I really would like to know what shite juice you drinking lately that your comments are so awkward and fill at times with crass. What is wrong with you lately my sweetness? You are on and on about Solutions and their selection process, a couple of their policies and their approach to certain matters. I can support you concerning your criticism of Mottley and the incumbent because they have proven over the years where they real loyalty lies. But I cannot support your views when in your eyes and in the eyes of many, That Solutions is wrong when they have not tested, tried and proven to determine which way they modus operandi will skew? Why did we start the poster protest? How many people besides you, me and Colonel Buggy made posters? We started the poster protest because we wanted change. What is wrong in seeing a change in a third party such as solutions. At the moment, they are presenting their ideas and alternative resolutions, yet it is not good enough. It can only get good when it is tested when it is tried, and when it has been proven to be a real solution or a whole load of junk. This is the time to support Solutions Party and appeal to Grenville to keep an open mind about the various criticisms he will receive. Because, if he does not open himself to all forms and all types, he might find himself in a high minded position similar to the idiot Prime Minister currently insulting the intelligence of Barbadians, whom he thinks cannot see that he is an old educated, arrogant and condescending nitwit.

11. What about the UPP……https://www.facebook.com/groups/372865419723663/?multi_permalinks=495827304094140&ref=notif&notif_t=like&notif_id=1502029405404852

I will agree that they are keeping very quiet in the media and need to follow their own advice of…UP DE TING….. there,but they are way ahead as far as community activism is concerned.

As David has alluded to before we still have a long way to go to elections and many things can happen along the way.

12. The resident DLP yard-fowl seems unable to understand politics, which is not surprising, because yard-fowls do not have the ability to think critically, only to support their party irrespective of its shortcomings.

It is very ironic that the DLP yard-fowls ACCEPTED and SUPPORTED David Thompson who, despite when he was Opposition Leader and during the 2008 election campaign, was ADAMANT he was NOT presenting alternative solutions because the then BLP administration was “elected to govern,” but was able to convince Barbadians to vote for the DLP.

But for purposes of political expediency, they are NOW being CRITICAL of Mottley for undertaking a similar strategy.

But, in all fairness, when Owen Arthur was Opposition Leader he presented several alternative solutions, which were RIDICULED by the DLP. Arthur’s suggestion of privatizing certain statutory corporations, for example, was also dismissed by the DEMS and its supporters. DLP politicians played on the electorate’s emotions by focusing on specific quasi government entities, implying for example, that privatizing the Transport Board and Sanitation Services Authority would result in an increase in bus fares and introduction of garbage collection fees.

However, although DEMS have not privatized the SSA as yet, the INTRODUCTION of the solid waste tax and tipping fee are essentially GARBAGE COLLECTION FEES, which were SUPPORTED by the resident yard-fowl.

Additionally, to be fair, the BLP, through its economists, such as Dr. Mascoll, Ryan Straughan and Marsha Caddle, have been analyzing the current economic environment and constantly articulating alternative economic policies, whether we may want to agree with them or not. Dr. Mascoll has called “Brass Tacks” on several occasions to give detailed explanations of the Central Bank reports and it was during one of these sessions that “Jester” Ince repeatedly referred to the “fiscal deficit” as the “physical deficit.”

“Jester” is the Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Finance. Similarly to how Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Tourism Irene Sandiford-Garner often acts as Minister when Richard Sealy is on leave or travels on government business, I cannot remember any occasion when Jester acted as MoF.

Perhaps the DEMS have taken his ANTECEDENTS and Owen Arthur’s description of him into consideration re: “Lord man! You can now better begin to understand why this country is in such great peril; that somebody at the centre of Government can be so profoundly IGNORANT about financial affairs, but be in the Ministry of Finance” and “It really means that any SALARY being PAID to Mr. Jepter Ince is a COST OVERRUN.”

Also, although we may not accept its contents, the BLP’s “Covenant of Hope,” also list their “solutions.”

And once again to be fair, whereas the BLP could always find personnel to represent the party at public forum such as “Brass Tacks” or public discussions, the DLP has CONSTANTLY REFUSED to PARTICIPATE in public discussions or send spokespersons to REPRESENT or DEFEND the party and its policies, PREFERRING to DISRESPECT the public by speaking ONLY to the PARTY FAITHFUL at annual conferences, Friday lunch time lectures and constituency branch meetings. A DLP spokes person was missing from VOB’s discussion of the recent Budget presentation.

Therefore, and under these circumstances, to suggest the BLP has NOT presented “solutions” is not only ERRONEOUS, but POLITICAL RHETORIC was well.

Surely you must agree that the DLP’s policies, such as the Medium Term Fiscal and Medium Term Development Strategies have failed to meet the required objectives, resulting in 19 consecutive credit rating downgrades. And your own Dr. David Estwick and Dr. Frank Alleyne often reminds the DLP of these “FACTS.”

The DLP track record of ACCEPTING “solutions” has been abysmal, since they continue to REJECT “suggestions from independent economists such as Marla Dukharan (with Sincler using parliamentary privilege to verbally abuse the lady), the former CBB Governor Dr. Worrell, UWI academics and even Dr. David Estwick.

if you are insisting the BLP has been refusing to “bring solutions,” then you should agree the DLP has also been guilty of not “bringing solutions” as well…… the credit rating downgrades and failed economic policies are enough proof to substantiate this fact,

………. thereby providing an “answer (to your) question one if which relates to remedy for the economy which as of present time the leadership of the DLP has (been unable to provide adequate solutions).”

It is for these reasons why I would continue stating there are not any FUNDAMENTAL DIFFERENCES between the BLP & DLP.

13. @Peter B8ford
    “Finally, and their biggest problem, is they need to have a serious solution. I have been following them for the past year and listening to what Grenville has to say and simply put – His Solutions Barbados plan is to simplistic in today complex world. He seems to just pretend that we don’t have the international lending problems / obligations out there over our head.”

What is a ‘serious’ solution? Is it austerity? Why must we choose debt as a solution? Don’t fall for the house-poor narrative.

I would suggest that you actually READ the stuff SB has posted rather than recount it.

Our ‘taxed’ minds can play tricks on us.

@SSS
    SB only needs enough seats to change the poor-rackey parliament we have. They don’t need to stoop to the levels of the B/D LP to ‘appeal to the masses’.

@DPD
    Firstly my comments on intelligence deal specifically with what drive the electorate to vote.
    Secondly my comments on maturity deal with the concept of ‘safe’ seats.

I’m well aware that in every square km exist dummies and geniuses. Some have more or less but all votes are equal at the ballot…sadly.

14. Yeah yeah the same old distractions and crticisms when press to place Mia Mottley at the forefront of dialogue that would benefit barbados economy

15. gf_paroman August 6, 2017 at 12:55 PM #

“What is a ‘serious’ solution? Is it austerity? Why must we choose debt as a solution? Don’t fall for the house-poor narrative.”

Come on, gf-paroman……. Who mentioned “austerity” as being a “serious solution?”

Are you trying to convince us, for example, that taxing profits would encourage business owners to manipulate the system by including various miscellaneous expenditure in operating expenses to offset net profits and facilitate the payment of less taxes than required…………..

…………… and SB’s suggestion of taxing PROJECTED revenue is not SIMPLISTIC, especially under circumstances where projected revenue could be likewise manipulated?

Or to fine a homeless “prickle paro” or minimum wage earner $7,000 for stealing a $700 mobile phone is not simplistic, and against the background that capital punishment such as hanging does not deter people from killing?

16. “Same old distractions and criticisms”…….. shiite…..

Whether you and the DLP want to ACCEPT it or not…………….

………………..the FACT REMAINS that Arthur, Mottley and the BLP’s economic spokespersons have been PRESENTING ALTERNATIVE SOLUTIONS and the BLP’s Covenant of Hope are PERFECT EXAMPLES……………

……………….which also serves to “place Mia Mottley at the forefront of dialogue that would benefit (the) Barbados economy.

And despite all the POLITICAL RHETORIC, you CANNOT DISPUTE these FACTS.

The onus is on you and the DLP to PROVE otherwise………… rhetorical political “sound bites” won’t work.

17. Solutions, stop referring to yourself as a “third party”.Its numerically incorrect and sounds intrusive like a reprobate outside woman or man to the BLP DLP marriage.Consider yourself part of a movement for change.Dont be consumed into defeating the current status quo by psychologically isolating yourself.You’ll end up looking like the egotisical BLP DLP ites.You are part of movement.Draw your strength from that.

18. Vincent Haynes Avatar

We’re at the tipping point where we either find ways to stimulate the economy or we go into total economic collapse. At this stage, I join with the economists and other experts and say forget the politics and the face saving and go to the IMF. It is embarrassing that after 50 years of Independence, we now need an external body to bail us out and oversee our economy because we have appointed people who have managed it badly and, worse yet, had no repercussions. This cannot continue.

http://barbadostoday.us11.list-manage.com/track/click?u=d13288d6e435e8111d9c39065&id=7f2419052f&e=d16b80b1d3

19. Good afternoon bush Tea less you forget that barbados is the middle of an election cycle almost eight years to be exact the present govt has already presented alternative solutions and that is a fact
    Whether one agrees on the benefits of govt alternatives can be debated and resolved at the voting booth
    However what is indisputable and a fact is that the opposition who has bandied about and levelled all kinds of criticism and who is now part of the running to hold the reigns of govt has not offered the populace realistic alternatives but has so seek to hid behind Unions and other yardfowl mouthpieces as a way forward towards engagement
    However if you choose to belive that a Covenant of Hope holds the keys or is the key which offers alternative solutions then i have some swamp land to sell you.
    Mia last attempt to sell barbados silver was met with a resounding No however from her silence i gather she learned a lesson of not wanting to repeat.
    But by the same token Mia is making a huge mistake in believing that barbadians are not astute enough to read the tea leaves of politics and have gone way beyond in accepting a silent answer is the next best thing as that of offering a solution to barbados economy

20. Going to the IMF is just a part of the solution.

We need to have the machinery/governance in place so that we do not find ourselves in the same dire straits at some time in the future.

We need to have people in power being held accountable; we need more transparency in doing government business, at a minimum we need to know that deals that were made behind closed doors being brought to light when the final signature is on the paper. Forty years of concessions should not mean forty years of secrecy.

We need integrity legislation. We need to have those who would assume the mantles of power outline their positions and possible actions for the first five years.

Candidates must convince us that they do not see elections a lottery ticket or a sharing of the fatted calf; a way to starve the multitude and making multimillionaires of others as they try to get a few dollars themselves

Yes, we need a multi-prong approach to solve our problems if we do not want history to repeat itself.

21. Seems as if the UWI-educated technocrats have only policy pablum to offer.

However, Barbados is not in distress, and there is no need to go to the high-priced consultants of the IMF for “help”. Since independence, the Government has accumulated a huge portfolio of assets, and some of these should be sold.

Next, prune the civil service. Especially get rid of high-cost fat cats who travel the world constantly on the taxpayers’ dime. We can afford lavish perks for government ministers but not for senior public sector workers.

Did anybody say Jean Holder?

22. It is obvious that even with MiaMottley silence she endorses the same principles an ideas like of those which the Private sector Head the anti patriot Charles Herbert had recommended like massive public servant lay offs
    Her present marching side by side with the private sector spoke volumes and gave a birds eye view into the mind of this megalomaniac who still belives that a grandfather clause suffice and gives her a right of entitlement
    Seeing Mia presence among the private sector and the public sector brought to mind a question of discernment one which asked How many masters Mia can you serve and the answer which came to mind only one
    Now as the election cycle makes it leaps and bounds it would be interesting to see which of these two groups will be served the most by Mia political grandstanding.
    But it would not be farfetched to understand that it is highly impossible for her to serve both.
    However from my vantage point Charles Herbert would win the tossed up coin.
    Well as for the Unions they only will have self to blame for not being driven by a singular voice and allowed to be driven by political devils dressed as archangels in disguise

23. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

GF Paroman

Easier said than done but not impossible. It all depends on what Solutions will do in their campaign to capture the imaginations of the voting public. Like I said, you have a diverse group made up of all sorts.

24. “Next, prune the civil service. Especially get rid of high-cost fat cats who travel the world constantly on the taxpayers’ dime. We can afford lavish perks for government ministers but not for senior public sector workers.”
    or
    “Going to the IMF”
    does not address the problems facing us. These are just bad-aid solutions.

25. “CADRES’ poll questions were already framed by the news media reports of current events, and by public commentators who have access to the media.”

One of the husband-wife teams running for Solutions Barbados in the next election OWN a whole radio station!! Pass me with the the bs.

26. Angela Skeete is swiping blind, trying make the DLP’s failures Mia Mottley’s fault.
    The point is, as Artax correctly stated, the BLP presented alternative solutions, which the DLP failed to embrace.
    Any bet the yard fowl did not read the Covenant of Hope, but after asking for solutions, she is critical of the document.
    You have proven time and time again you are an idiot.
    The state of the economy must be blamed on the DLP.
    Refusing to accept the BLP’s proposals and continually implementing failed policies is an exercise in futility.

27. gf paro man

You stated “why must we choose debt as a solution” – I suggest you need to read more and try to understand where Barbados really is already. The choice about debt was made a long time ago.

We are in a debt situation already!!! If you can’t even understand that then you would believe in Solutions Barbados SIMPLE solutions.

But the fact (whether we like it or not) is that we as a country have a big problem of a lot of debt owed to a lot of people / institutions / banks / funds (all representing peoples money from small investors to big ones and countries – some of it even on Barbadians backs in money from pension funds etc around the world and locally) and have to pay it back – we can’t hide from that one. Why else do you think the present govt has to tax us so much – they have to make the payments or then we will end up in a real mess.

It’s a very big world and very complex that we live in and Grenville’s simple solutions don’t even speak as to how he is going to make those payments that we have no choice but to make in the future.

It will be interesting to see how al the parties answer that question in the next election – and then what they do after the election.

28. Fool this is an election cycle and all questions going forward should be asked of all parties .The repeated narrative by the blp yardfowls of criticisms and blame does not hold water to win an election when the blp has nothing better to offer and a determination voters in the long run would decide. However what is relevant are the solutions these parties are offering.outside the blp yardies and supporters not many have paid attention to a long winded document called a Covenant of Hope suffice it to say that after its official launching it has been shelved with little or no fan fare having no real meaning or dignificance as to forming solutions
    Mottley solution of privatisation was rejected
    How much of any solutions has she stated since is laughable a mostly regugitated the blp supporters who attend blp meetings.. but for those who does not then what?
    The fact being that Mia has embedded herself between two entities to drive a divisive narrative in order for her to win an election when reality states that barbados economy needs solutions with she has less been open to stating but more affluent and ready to criticze differing alternatives by govt.
    A Covenant of Hope means nothing unless the country becomes informed and engaged as to what it means but so far only blp supporters can and have supported

29. The Covenant of Hope is largely a collection of vague political platitudes hardly anyone can disagree with.

It is not a political platform with concrete, specific policy proposals that have cost estimates attached.

How stupid is the electorate?

30. @Chad99999

What other ways do you recommend a poltical party convey to the public it’s plan if it were to be elected? Didn’t your man Trump promise to repeal the ACA? What is your point again?

31. Chad99
    That’s the point!!! You start with a broad set of principles/goals, then you create policies that adhere to thise principles. If executed robustly, the Covenant of Hope can be a game changer because of the opportunity to create cohesive policies that are both vertically and horizontally integrated across government as a whole.

32. @Chad45, the electorate is as stupid or intelligent as the 15 year old A level student who can talk the subject matter like an expert but still has the temerity to assert …and I paraphrase you here… that Trump was not a deceitful professional politician.

Anyone who classifies themselves as intelligent but yet perceives that Trump has not been steeped in politics all his life simply because he has never held elected office clearly is acting as a member of the stupid electorate class.

Intelligence as you so proudly display therefore has not one damn thing to do with book learning n multiple degrees!

An actual intelligent person…and I am sure we can find many in Deacons Rd or such….would know that this deceitful businessman who surely played politics for years with his many donations to the politicians is absolutely no different than they are.

But you can look down on the stupid electorate because you picked Trump based on your intellect. What a lark!

33. Dribbler

Donald Trump broke many taboos in American politics. He took on the Hispanic lobby, the feminist brigades, the Wall Street Establishment, the Tech industry of Silicon Valley, and the progressive Jews in Hollywood and the broadcast media.

He denounced all of them publicly and repeatedly to their faces. Almost unheard of in American politics to take on more than one of these groups at a time.

I didn’t say he was a man of integrity. I said he doesnt hide from the truth on TV every day.

Get over your Trump hatred.

34. David

I am surprised at your comment! Do you really understand American politics?

When an American presidential candidate makes a campaign promise, it can mean one of three different things:

If he says, “I’m going to fire the Chairman of the Fed”, that is a straightforward promise that he will either keep or break, because the White House can eventually decide on the appointment of a new Fed Chair when the term of the current Chair expires.

If he says, “No new taxes” that is not a straightforward promise because tax legislation must be initiated in the Ways and Means Committee of the US House of Representatives. He is really saying, ” I will not propose new taxes in suggested legislation I present to the Congress and I will veto any tax increases the Congress passes.”

If he says, “I will put a stop to abortions” that is a matter decided by the courts, so what he is really saying is, “I will use the presidency to put the abortion issue back on the political agenda and contest its status as settled law. Furthermore, I will try to appoint more anti-abortion judges to the federal bench”.

American voters understand all this. When Trump said he was going to repeal ObamaCare, he was really greenlighting Congress to come up with new health care legislation because he would not veto it, like Obama would have.

That is all.

35. Chad99999

Ok, thanks for the lesson.

36. Sorry Chad it has nothing to do with a Trump hatred…that is a wasted emotion as it consumes the hater infinitely more than his object. I do not hate the man.

Trump like DT or Fruendel is an absolute hypocrite who lies prodigiously.

If you did say that Trump does not hide from the truth then you would as deceitful as your hero.

Because he says outrageous things which are bluntly accurate in their specificity but just as bluntly false in general; or say things which are unpalatably true but which the regular politician would not say DOES NOT make him a man who speaks TRUTH to the people.

This man said Mexico would pay for the wall…a lie when first said and a proven lie since the leak of his convo.

The man said Scout leaders called him to say his was a great speech…a lie. What type of person goes before a scout gathering and spews the ridiculous rhetoric he did….I have been out of scouting for a long now time now but none of the basic credo I recall embraces anything this man did.

Were I leader at that Jamboree I would have been in trouble….because I would have told my troop of young folk next morning that you do NOT boo one former president at the urging of another…you RESPECT the office….

The scout credo and promise is to obey God….and COUNTRY ….and the Scout law…that in the eyes of anyone other than your hero means to respect the office of the presidency (all of them).

Good heaven’s man what does this have to with ‘hating’ an insidious, narcissistic politician.

The man is wealthy, vigorous and smart…hip, hip hooray… he is also vile, disgusting and a pathological liar…. you find that appealing….no problem.

Just as how hate says more about the hater than the one hated…so too bro, does love and affection.

37. This from the resident yardfowl

“Why not consider third parties if as suggested by blp yardfowls govt is inept what so wrong with third parties. at least their is willingness on their part to make suggestions unlike the blp and its leadership Mia who have used a political narative by way of marches and chaos and onesided polling as alternative remedy to our nation economic woes”

………………………………………………………..

Have you no shame?

Did you not get the memo from Donville to the Opposition leader in 2008 in the House of Assembly and Sinckler, the manipulator chimed in to back him like a tag team………….

“we aint want to hear anything from wunnah, wunnah had wunnah time, now is we time, we gine do things we way, any ideas wunnah got, keep to wunnah self”.

And Sir Sandi worries……..”how did we get back here?”

38. The Covenant of hope is likened unto a man who tries to sell a big proposes a big foot horse as a cow.
    It only means something of worth to the blp yardies . what giid is having a document whose views are only regugitated by its supporters
    Mia knows that the convent will give her little or no leadwat to winning the election reason why she has been in the forefront of every march since 2008 another .
    Soon her efforts to use Unions and public servants as a tool to win elections would be exposed as she tries to manipulate the sector knowing full well that her biggest chances of achieving a war chest of financing would be headed by Charles Herbert who has openly recommended the massive lay off of public workers .Her hypocriscy of pretending to be friends of all is on point to what OSA finds mindboggling and distrubing about her

39. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@David said “Ok, thanks for the lesson.”

I trust you were being sarcastic in your response to Chad99999’s drivel where he tried to obscure Trump’s stupidity and incompetence.

I mean really… “When Trump said he was going to repeal ObamaCare, he was really greenlighting Congress to come up with new health care legislation because he would not veto it, like Obama would have.”

Actually when Trump said he was going to repeal ObamaCare he went on to stipulate that the replacement would cover more people and cost less money. He knows that this is all lies… he isn’t quite that stupid. He is stupid and incompetent enough, however, to misjudge the Republican controlled Congress and embarrass himself on multiple occasions.

40. “Peter

BU could have prolong the exchange with Chad99999 by adding that Trump reported interest in stopping subsidies to insurance companies suggests he meant what he promised on the campaign trail.

https://www.cnbc.com/2017/05/19/trump-reportedly-wants-to-kill-critical-obamacare-subsidies-despite-warnings-health-insurance-premiums-would-spike.html

41. And similarly, the DLP’s 2008 Youth Manifesto (A Pledge to the Young People of Barbados) and the 2008 and 2013 election manifestos are “likened unto a man who tries to sell a big foot horse as a cow. They only mean something of worth to the DLP yardies. What good is having (these) documents whose views are only regurgitated by its supporters.”

I will prove that the above statement is correct, criticisms of the BLP’s “Covenant of Hope” could be similarly made of the DLP’s 2008 Youth Manifesto and that both documents spew the relevant party’s political rhetoric.

Recall in 2008 the Democratic Labour Party used a dub fete in Haynesville, St. James to launch their Youth Manifesto.

I’m sure Barbadians remember the young political aspirant, Khaleel Kothdiwala, speaking at BLP’s “March of Disgust,” in March this year.

On page 2 of the youth manifesto, under the caption “Getting Young People Involved,” the DEMS mentioned the following:

“We believe that the ACTIVE INVOLVEMENT of YOUNG PERSONS in the POLITICAL PROCESS is the MOST EFFECTIVE WAY of SECURING THEIR FUTURE.”

Yet, Khaleel’s presence on the BLP’s platform PROVOKED the ire of Steve Blackett, which he described as being “EQUIVALENT, as far as I’m concerned, to SEXUAL abuse or PHYSICAL abuse” and made persistent threats to report the youngster’s parents to the Child Care Board. And of course we can recall Mara Thompson’s “childless” slurs.

On one hand, the DLP is supporting the involvement of young people in politics, but if they become involved in politics from the BLP’s perspective, it is tantamount to “sexual or physical abuse.”

Hypocrisy of the DLP!!!!!

“This Manifesto is therefore a CONTRACT between this great Party and the YOUNG PEOPLE of Barbados. It is the means whereby we intend reclaiming and empowering you to craft our fate.” [page 2]

Interestingly, on page 6 of the said document: “The Democratic Labour Party recommits to high quality education for Barbados, FREE FOR ALL, from pre-school to TERTIARY LEVEL.”

The DLP BREACHED this “CONTRACT” because UWI students are now required to pay UWI tuition fees.

During the past 9 ½ years, the Democratic Labour Party has NOT kept any of the promises made to the young people of Barbados, (as outline in the youth manifesto) relative to:

1) Promoting a better family life (page 4)
    2) Better opportunities in education and training (page 6)
    3) Securing decent employment for young people (page 10)
    4) Achieving and enjoying better health (page 12)
    5) Sports for all (page 12)
    6) Making culture work for us (page 14)

The members of the DLP have demonstrated that the 2008 Youth Manifesto was nothing but an empty, vote-grabbing gesture.

42. PLT

Your coarse, obnoxious and disrespectful comments about me are as surprising as they are shameful.

Let’s hope you were having a bad day.

God bless The Donald. Make America great again.

43. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Chad9999

The disrespect was intended for Clown Donald himself. I’m having a great day because Trump is having consecutively disastrous ones.

You know perfectly well that Trump has no agenda beyond destroying Obama’s legacy for racist reasons and delivering huge tax cuts to his billionaire buddies… everything else is just political theatre for the stupid peons who vote for him. He will deprive millions of his voters of any health care by sabotaging ObamaCare, but he doesn’t give a shit… they were stupid enough to believe him when he promised to create a replacement would cover more people and cost less money.

44. I cannot understand how any sane, intelligent individual could be fond of Donald Trump………. A man who has proven time and time again that he is pathological liar.

Trump has a problem with trans-genders joining the US military, but surrounds himself with racists as members of his administration.

By his actions, Trump has also demonstrated he hates Obama……….. hate that could only be developed in the mind of a racist. And his repealing of Obama’s policies is enough proof to conclude he that, because Obama is an African American, he wants him to be remembered as the worst president in the USA’s history.

45. @ PLT (re Trump)
    …..He knows that this is all lies… he isn’t quite that stupid.
    You err.
    He IS worse than stupid…..

Why is it so hard to see the common thread running through events and ‘leaders’ of this world?
    Trump is Karma’s curse on America …and on everyone living there or tied to their coat tails. He is MUCH worse than ‘stupid’….

‘Stupid’ is like Carl Moore or Alvin…… Petty, ill-informed, and slow witted….
    Trump is better described as “possessed”.

Compare him to Froon…. and the other clowns in our parliament.
    Look at Putin… or look closely at almost ANY other of this world’s leaders…

Our world has been conquered by ‘the enemy’. We are all under serious siege …and under enemy occupation. We just do not get it – because brass bowls have this way of dismissing REALITY…

Everything of any REAL consequence is spiritual.

Our physical experience …called ‘life on earth’, is a temporary aberration – designed to achieve a single critical SPIRITUAL objective…. and it is nearing the end of its purpose…..

While great spiritual battles for REAL relevance are being fought and lost, …brass bowls are focused on the trappings of temporary nonsense …. the literal urine of reality.

Trump is merely a tool. He is being used by the same forces that are using Froon and Stinkliar to operate so illogically in Barbados.

Here is a riddle for you…..PLT
    Why, of ALL places on earth, would that controlling ‘force’ have selected Froon & Co to build his monument in Barbados? …with his pitchfork emerging from the earth…?
    Could he be challenging a big-ass whacker yuh think…?

Unlike wunna uninitiated pawns here on BU, these “controlling forces” are frighten as shiite for ‘whackers’…..

46. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.

….trump will cull millions of Americans…mostly trumptards, in an attempt to diminish Obama’s legacy…but unsuccessfully. ..that means trumptards will die for nothing, I say good riddance to the whole useless lot of them.

Hopefully Chadster will be among the culled, but I suspect he is still pretending to be in the US….cause even what those squatters call legal immigration is being sidelined by the orange retard…..

…,……the coming months will be entertainment galore in the US…..so stock up on popcorn. …nough..lol

47. It is alarming reading on BU, with some of the comments that I have read.
    One would think that with the new political propaganda machine in place, intellectuals from all walks of life would be willing to pool resources for the betterment of the country.
    The facts are there and quite visible.
    Censorship of the media.
    A lack of transparency
    A lack of accountability
    Stagnation of youth development, both primary and secondary.
    Mismanagement
    The inability to create new schemes in Agriculture. Etc.

48. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Hmmm…..has anyone stated a viable policy as yet to deal with the myriad of things affecting Bim?

49. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ my dearest Suzanne

The reason I would have started the Stoopid Cartoons campaign is a matter of BU record for all and sundry to see.

AC opened her mout and laid down a challenge and de ole man took her up and showed her that “a carefully delivered message packed in a “flier” that is 8 x 11 inches CAN and HAS DONS the DLP serious damage locally, regionally and internationally”

15 Seconds!

That is the average time that the majority of internet inserts and other advertising campaigns have to deliver ones message.

And it is that we informally enjoined in a “sensitization campaign” which (i) brought attention to (ii) laughed at (iii) emoted derision and sought variously to focus people on what was/is happening in Barbados

In 15 seconds!

What we collectively did as 3 parsons on this Blog can be independently verified by (i) the Honourable Blogmaster (ii) subsequent ip pixel trackers like the one *** used (iii) the ongoing dissemination of said stoopid cartoons and (iv) THE SOON TO BE VISIBLE BLP CAMPAIGN during the UPCOMING ELECTIONS where they will be using cartoons and animations and a few other things that I wont mention here but which Bell is assisting them with heheheheheh.

(“what is done in the darkness shall be known in the light” a message to my man who always talking bout GOD while being in the employ of the nameless one. Of course you ent tell them that it is my idea but such has always been your style of engagement – to teif the thoughts of others and claim them to be your own, SELAH)

But back to you dearest and Solutions Barbados.

I have “particular skills” heheheheheh and I will speak of one passingly heheheheh

The Report & Recommendations of the Boundaries and Electoral Commission to the Rt. HOn Prime Minister Owen Arthurdated 2002 (

It says to but would it not have been better to have said “by” heheheheh, whu after all you see who were appointed members of said Commission for 200 until 2005?)

But de ole man slipping again dearest.

Most people here on BU come here and talk cause dem likes to see whu dem write afterwards but i does talk cause I does see LA1, AA1, EA1, I does see the constituencies and its registered voters, the number of voters who voted, (percentage male/female heheheheheh) who voted for who etc.

Now I know that you going say that this is not pertinent to what you said earlier but I want you to understand the “science behind politics” and how unlike the rabble, de ole man KNOWS INTIMATELY what Solutions Barbados and all the rest of this Third Movement HAS TO DO.

you understand me honey?

Before the fellers like Steven and my friends at de Elections place dat CANNOT PUBLISH DEM NAME OR GIVE THE REGISTERED OWNERS OF THE DOMAIN was around, I AM!

So do not get confused here.

I will repeat this so that you understand.

I did a flier in similar vein for this Solutions Barbados precisely because I am in support of a Third Movement Initiative.

The fact my dear is that, barring Mugabe NONE OF THESE PARTIES comprehend the mechanisms of ascertaining, ascribing and affirming voter support (and even then, if you are not in the voter boxes with them when they place their “x” even that aint worth diddly squat.

I had started doing a second level of “intervention” for the Third Movement in general and, since this is the Grenville Philips column, i had hoped that he would benefit from it, in particular.

You DO NOT UNDERSTAND ME, few IF ANY DO, but I am not a light switch that is activated as needed by some dweller in the house, I come to my own decisions, and having arrived there, i dont just turn off, but I am cautions to shed light in houses WHERE THERE IS NO ONE AT HOME

50. @Vincent

What we need to observe is leadership being demonstrated by the players. We will not know if proposals put forward out of office will make good policy until people are in the chair. We have to look at Mia, Grenville, Lynette Eastmond, Holder et al and observe how they interact with the public, their colleagues, by example etc.