Prime Minister Mia Mottley shows off a Kensington Oval ready for T20 World Cup

The findings contained in the 2016 Auditor General Report 2016 confirms that there has been no improvement in how government manages its financial affairs under a DLP government. The vast majority of state agencies still do n0t have updated financials available for the Auditor General Office to do its work INCLUDING THE NATIONAL INSURANCE SCHEME.

Of interest to BU is the fact matters regarding theft at the Barbados Water Authority (BWA) was handed to the Director of Public Prosecutions since 2013 and remains outstanding – see page 127 of 177.

Issue 2
5.13 Goods ordered from a firm totalling Bds. $462,786.26 were paid for but not delivered. No due diligence was conducted on this firm which is based in the USA.

Authority’s Response, 2016:
This matter was passed on to the Director of Public Prosecution through the parent Ministry of Agriculture and witness statements were taken from relevant BWA managers in August 2013 by the Royal Barbados Police Force. However, nothing more has been heard from the Police on any further actions taken. So the matter is still outstanding.

120 responses to “The Auditor General Report 2016 | Business as Usual”

1. Another gem from our government in action………a government that for this year accumulated a deficit of $762,596,105 million.

……………………………………………..

Issue 1
    Approval was granted for BWA personnel to participate in a Utilities Best
    Practice United Kingdom Study Tour from July 10,17, 2010. A company was paid a total of $31,500 for coordinating and facilitating the Tour. Tickets valued at $10,708.03 were also purchased from a travel agency.

At the time of the review there was no evidence provided to show that the
    tour took place or that these funds were ever recovered. Authority’s Response, 2016:
    One individual has still not refunded the allowances paid to him despite being asked to do so and the company which facilitated the tour has not refunded the fees of $31,500.00 because the Authority has not been able to contact them since their phone contact information went out of service.
    ……………………………………………

This blatant disregard for taxpayers money must stop and it has nothing to do with BLP or DLP.

The Auditor General needs to have the power to refer these kind of cases to the Police. Until accounting officers has held accountable for the vouchers they sign, this type of thing will go on forever.

There must be good governance!

2. Another gem from the BWA…………………..

Issue 2

Goods ordered from a firm totalling Bds. $462,786.26 were paid for but not
    delivered. No due diligence was conducted on this firm which is based in
    the USA.

This matter was passed on to the Director of Public Prosecution through
    the parent Ministry of Agriculture and witness statements were taken from
    relevant BWA managers in August 2013 by the Royal Barbados Police
    Force. However, nothing more has been heard from the Police on any
    further actions taken. So the matter is still outstanding.
    ………………………………………………………..

So we still do not know in this age of the internet who or where is this company? The minister of finance has asked Barbadians to pay a 2% charge on foreign transactions to dampen the need for foreign spending yet they can find over 230 thousand US dollars to pay to a phantom company?

Well, well, well!

3. @Prodigal Son August 2, 2017 at 8:08 PM “This blatant disregard for taxpayers money must stop and it has nothing to do with BLP or DLP.”

True.

For the first time in my near three score and ten i am hearing people saying openly that they won’t pay taxes, and telling me that if I continue to pay I am foolish.

It is that bad.

4. @Prodigal Son August 2, 2017 at 8:08 PM “At the time of the review there was no evidence provided to show that the tour took place or that these funds were ever recovered. Authority’s Response, 2016: One individual has still not refunded the allowances paid to him despite being asked to do so and the company which facilitated the tour has not refunded the fees of $31,500.00 because the Authority has not been able to contact them since their phone contact information went out of service.”

Why pay a company to arrange a study tour? Arranging such tours is essentially clerical/administrative work. Are you telling me that the BWA does not already have an army of clerical administrative staff, any one of whom should be able to arrange the tour.

And another thing, government could require staffers to pay for their own airline tickets, hotels, and food and reimburse staff only after the travel has taken place. This would reduce the greed for government sponsored travel.

5. @ Gabriel,

Yes I agree with you……………the accounting officers have to be held accountable.

Final gem as I am tired reading this junk…………..unbelievable……….we have real morons in this country, no wonder the country is in such a mess. Dont accounting officers check the paper work? This one is unbelievable……………………………

Issue 3

On quotation 1027916 dated June 11, 2010 a company quoted for the
    supply of goods at a cost of BDS$61,200. However, the payment was
    made for US$61,200.

In a previous response the BWA indicated that it had written and emailed
    the supplier requesting a refund of the overpayment. Secondly, the BWA
    was pursuing legal action against the supplier on this matter and others.

This matter was also passed on to the Director of Public Prosecution
    through the parent Ministry of Agriculture and witness statements
    were taken from relevant BWA managers in August 2013 by the Royal
    Barbados Police Force. However, nothing more has been heard from the
    Police on any further actions taken. So the matter is still outstanding.

6. @Prodigal Son August 2, 2017 at 8:17 PM “So we still do not know in this age of the internet who or where is this company?”

Surely the BWA must have an actual name for the principal (s) of this company, and we all know don’t we that all adults in Barbados’ are on the electoral roll, and that the electoral information including name, address and ID number is in the public domain, in the public libraries.

So why can’t BWA contact the person. It is really not hard to find people in Barbados.

7. Prodigal
    It’s very depressing to read of these many examples of failure to account for taxpayers monies.There must be methods in place to make offending officers pay for disregarding rules and regulations.Unless that is done,it will continue.

8. When I see and hear the things that are done by the untouchables I take comfort by remembering PM Thompson asking the people to prayed for him.

9. The REAL joke is that these scams unveiled by the Auditor General are but the tip of the iceberg.
    The REAL biggies will only become evident down the road …when we are fully sucking salt.

Take the Water Works people again…. that building contract with baloney is a treasure trove of brass bowlery. The AG can only highlight cases where PROCEDURE is breeched – not where COMMON SENSE is dispensed with….

Then there is that business of the new ‘electronic water meters’ – BARE shiite yuh….
    Bushie still waiting to see them deal with the matter of dead batteries in them over the coming years…. apart from the questionable technology claimed to be used….

Those water meters smell like a colossal stinking scam …to bushie’s discriminating nose….

Skippa…
    We are SOOOOO screwed….

10. I take comfort in knowing that barbadians are not fools and would not be led to slaughter by wolves in sheeps clothing. Wolves who belive that a march of twenty or thirty or even forty thousand would have brought down the govt
    Wolves who are now afraid of being exposed on august 11th by public eyeballing their dirty misdeeds
    Wolves who where hell bent on using blacks to two a line against their own interest
    Wolves which on august11th would find out whose beat of the drum theywill have march and be forever grateful

11. Appears to me that those past and present governments were/are scum-bags. They are no better than those holding up the ATM, who should be dealt the same way as a bank robber when caught.

If the voting public refuses to ditch those two parties, there will be no change in how things are done. The Auditor general can save time by photo copying his next report with the ‘year’ as is the only change.

12. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

There is no accountability. Therefore, you cannot believe anything stated by the Sinckler or Stuart. In fact, you cannot believe anything coming from Mottley either since the AG reports are the same written script under the then BLP. This is the reason why the country cries for a Mottley government, those who understand what these two unaccountable parties have been doing need to cry, shout and scream for greater power to the Auditor General and anti corruption legislation to protect Barbados little struggling economy.

13. Correction Bush Tea, Innotech.

14. What is so hypocritical about this is that we have the Chief Justice, Prime Minister, Bar Association players and the usual others all singing the praises of Leacock at his funeral. We are sorry he died but wrong is wrong.

Why did he not respond to the BWA file reported to be in his possession since 2013?

Who is acting for DPP with the passing of Leacock?

15. Where there is corruption those who charged with the responsibilty must call it out!

Australia’s Commonwealth Bank accused of massive money-laundering breaches

The Australian government on Thursday accused the country’s biggest mortgage lender, Commonwealth Bank of Australia, of widespread…

16. WHEN ONE READ THE AUDIT REPORT FROM 2009 TILL 16 WELL WELL….this is teething on ah cataclysmic scale, some departments, NIS, T/B ETC ETC HAVE GONE FOR YEARS WITH OUT FINANCIAL STATEMENTS’,? TRULY THIS IS MAYHEM/BEDLAM IN THIS COUNTRY, CAUSE BY THE INEPT, INCOMPETENT, WORTHLESS GOVERNMENT OF THE DAY. NO WONDER BARBADOS IS IN THE SEWER, BY THE SEWER RATS…….I HOPE AN EXAMPLE(S) WILL BE MADE BY SOME JAIL TIME.

17. WHO WROTE THIS!,WHO REALLY ARE THE WOLVES? WHO HAVE MORE DIRTY MISDEEDS THAN THE WOLVES RUNNING THIS COUNTRY? THE WOLVES HAVE PLUNDERED THE MASSES TAX$$$$$$ AND GAVE IT TO THE SHEEP BY WAY OF LUCRATIVE CONTRACTS. VERY SHADY AT THAT. THE WOLVES HAVE DONE NOTHING FOR THIS COUNTRY..10 YEARS OF NO GROWTH, 23+ DOWNGRADES, 1.5 BILL. GONE, 22 BILL GONE, BAD INVESTMENTS, NIS/ TREASURY RAPE, ET.ETC. THE PACK OF WOLVES ARE VERY WILD…..DAY DOES RUN TILL NIGHT CATCH UP WID IT

18. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

De Ole man sorta slow and I gong tell wunna why.

if de grandson buys something pun de Internet he will use a payment mechanism like PayPal or Amazon so if a vendor does. Other deliver the Greed pouch, on his success .is sion of supporting documentation, de grandson gets back every cent

With revocable letters of. credit and bills of sight and other modalities, even if we were to say that government practices won’t accommodate online credit card payments and PayPal mechanisms it is confusing to my old mind how one cannot recoup funds for non delivered merchandise

Unless it is that the director of the agency or minister has in sister that these provisios ARE NOT EMPLOYED.

It is purported that various she’ll. Companies were established in the Guernsey Islands to send huge chunks of money to companies whose directors and silent beneficiaries are none other that the balance functionaries themselves.

I entered know bout deserve tings you got to ask Head Boy Boyle bout dat.

What I do know is that a wise in ominous party would be wise to craft a statement that and policy that they will prosecute all such functionaries when the come to power AND WILL GIVE 10% OF THEORY PRO EADS RECOVERED TO ALL WHISTLE BLOWERS WHOSE REPORTS AND EVIDENCE LEADS TO THEORY DAS OVER OF THAT THEFT

19. Didn’t Minister Sinckler state in parliament a couple months ago that it is the management accounts that is important which he and key players get to review. So don’t panic, all is well.

20. David
    Under the Nlp or when the Nlp comes in the same people protected from prosecution will be so protected

21. David
    Under the Nlp or when the Nlp comes in the same people protected from prosecution will be so protected

22. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

No need to be sorry Leacock died unless ya killed him…people are born to die.

Leacock was a criminal while he was alive and they all knew it, he misused abused and terrorized people who were unable to fight back because of the absolute power given to the holder of the office of the DPP…for 20 years unchecked….he did it because there was no one to stop him.

Powers given to Leacock by a very badly written Constitution which should be immediately amended, powers which no DPP going forward should ever hold again..that power has to be reduced significantly.

Both governments are responsible for creating the monster that was DPP Leacock….no matter how hypocritical they now are in singing his praises….they all know what he did and they have to live with it, now that he has been removed permanently.

23. @Pacha

Looks that way, the loyalty of the political class is to the owners of capital.

24. An interesting comment from the AG that strikes at the heart of financial discipline in the public sector.

Whole of Government Reporting

The summary financial statements compiled by the Treasury does not comprise all entities owned and controlled by Government, rather they encompass all Ministries and Departments and exclude statutory boards
    and Government owned companies which report the results of their operations separately. It should however be noted that under IPSAS there should be a consolidation of the accounts of Ministries and Departments and all entities controlled by Government who are in receipt of budget
    support.

The implications of the failure to follow this procedure are that the total aggregate financial position of Government,including outstanding liabilities and assets, would not have been presented.

25. Any such reporting will not be acceptable. All government departments and statutory bodies should be compelled to submit annual reports, including profit and loss, for which the minister and relevant permanent secretary or CEO will be held jointly responsible. Too many public servants hide t heir incompetence behind ministers.

26. @Sunshine Sunny Shine August 2, 2017 at 11:57 PM “This is the reason why the country cries for a Mottley government…”

We are NOT crying for a Mottley government. We don’t believe that a Mottley government will be any second coming of Christ. We are just tired of this DLP government. In fact we very much fear that under a BLP/Mottley government we will get more of the same.

Errol Barrow called us a nation of thieves.

He was right.

White thieves the original thieves, thieved land, labour, people, languages, freedom, religion etc.

Black thieves since 1966 following in the footsteps of the white thieves.

indian/muslim/jewish/middle eastern/south asian thieves, the new comers, all eager to get a piece of the action.

That is who WE are.

27. @Watchman August 2, 2017 at 9:14 PM “Thompson asking the people to prayed for him.”

I did not pray for Thompson, why should I?

When he talked about families first, and slaughtering and sharing the fatted calf I knew that he was not talking about me nor my family. My family is still asking where is the beef?

We were not invited to the family party at which the beef was shared, so why pray?

I am the sort of person if you don’t invite me to your wedding feast, don’t expect me to be a hypocrite and come to your funeral. Don’t expect prayers either.

I may be simple, but I ain’t foolish.

28. @ Hal
    Too many public servants hide t heir incompetence behind ministers.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Correct.

This is however so, because too many public servants are appointed SOLELY to rubber stamp the incompetent impulses of ministers….and not to execute professional duties.

Believe it or not…. this is the almost universal situation in the Barbados Public Service…. and it is accepted lock, stock and barrel …by all the players involved (except Caswell)

How can a puppet be expected to suddenly take control of the puppeteer?
    We are in a dark place….

29. @David August 3, 2017 at 2:18 AM ” all singing the praises of Leacock at his funeral. We are sorry he died…”

Stupssseee!!!

Why do we have to be sorry that he died?

We did not kill him.

Death comes to us all sooner or later.

We are born.

We will die.

Naked we come into this world and it is a certainty that we will take nothing out.

Get used to it.

30. @ Simple
    I did not pray for Thompson, why should I?
    You should pray for anyone who ask….
    Do just do like the original bushman ….and pray that their trespasses be forgiven in the SAME way that they forgave the trespasses of others against them…
    In other words, …that their ass gets exactly what it deserves…

As you can guess, Bushie prayed…
    …and Bushie here waiting for certain other people to ask for his prayers too…..

31. Governments are won in Barbados by default, i.e. For the reason you posted.

32. Don’t be simple Simple, expressing condolences does not mean we can delay the inevitable.

33. “singing the praises” of the dead shows compassion for the family especially the children .

34. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

All the praise in the world cannot help ya when ya dead.

Who desire can pray for the surviving family…but me, I am suspicious if anyone, except for the pray warriors in hospitals….praying for me period.

You might think they praying for one thing, but they are in reality praying for something else, ask Bushman…lol

Death is not that serious.

35. Hants the “children” are scarcely children. When my parents, my siblings and I were “children” of that age we were hard back working working men and women.

And we did all right.

My father’s father was murdered when my father was 6, by 11 my father went out to work and continued working until he was 90>

Nowadays we coddle “children” for far too long.

That is a part of the problem.

36. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

And in case some smart ask want to ask how I know that…

No one who has died as ever returned to complain now have they?

It is a natural process, it’s the living with their fickle hypocritical selves love to turn death into something it’s not.

37. Bushie is tempted to side with Simple here…

This business of telling lies about the ‘goodness’ of shiitehounds who die before their time sends the WRONG message to the overall society.
    It provides comfort to those OTHER scumbags sitting in the congregation doing shiite…. and belittles the good reputation of REAL patriots.

What family members compassion what?!?
    No one knows better of the scams and deceit of these crooks than their family members….who enjoyed all the crooked spoils…
    These families are EXACTLY the persons that SHOULD have influenced them to do the RIGHT things… AND… that should be ashamed …and MADE to feel ASHAME of the brassbowlery involved.

Steupsss…
    Wuh if all the big-ups in society coming to the funeral of a big-ass thief and sing his praises, ..how is it different when a REAL NATIONAL HERO is buried after a life of service … and the SAME people get up and say the SAME shiite…?

Just DO NOT ask Bushie to say a shiite on any such occasion wunna hear…?!!

A pox on all their DISHONEST donkeys.

38. Simple Simon @8:24 am
    I fully agree. We are mostly grabbers. People like Corey Lane and a few others are rare flowers in the desert that have to be nurtured.
    Even Barrow and Tom with all their faults put Barbados first. How can we find such leaders again and have them rise to the top?

39. @Bush Tea

Your point and the one Simple Simon made do not collide.

40. @ David
    Your point and the one Simple Simon made do not collide.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    True… but they are on the same highway…

….cause Bushie is a top notch driver…
    Think Bushie does only ride pon de ZRs? …. like Simple…?

41. @ Bush Tea “This business of telling lies about the ‘goodness’ of shiitehounds”

There is nothing wrong with omitting faults and failures when “eulogizing”.

My family should not be punished for my wutlessness.

42. Bushie @9.14am
    Spot on my man,spot on.Most understand that those tributes,misplaced by some fools who believe themselves,were also cremated.

43. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Leacock left a gigantic mess in his wake….

….. at the judiciary, the whole court system, the destruction of people’s lives….

….the only people who will miss him are the most corrupt in the society, the real criminals, the business people, the insurance executives, lawyers like himself who misuse their law degrees to abuse the court system and the people…..

….all the ones singing his praises should be forced to clean up the mess he left behind.

44. But people should not embellish eulogies……….that is why I told my family…no eulogy at my funeral and I try my best to live a clean life.

I went to a funeral recently and as the man was being eulogised, I saw two people next to me nudging each other.

45. @ Hants
    My family should not be punished for my wutlessness…
    Whose family do you think should be punished for your wutlessness then…?
    Stinking Bushie’s…?

Boss, who help you lick-out the bribe money?
    Who cover for you when you was lying and cheating…?
    Who yuh leave the ‘hot money’ behind to spend out…?

The HEAD people to be punished is your family…who endorsed the shiite that you did…

Why do you think the good book admonishes us to ‘honour our father and mother in righteousness … so that your days may be long in the land…?”

We should also honour our children and family with righteous lives …so that our LEGACY may be a blessing unto them when we pass…..

Tek care Bushie don’t talk at your funeral…. every shiite will be revealed ..
    …the truth and nothing but the truth …
    ..and let us see if it will set you free… 🙂

46. @ Bushie wrote “Tek care Bushie don’t talk at your funeral”.

I look foward to listening to you talking at my funeral. lol

47. Bushie
    Why you think the hebrews spoke of the sins of the fathers falling upon the children for up to 4 generations..people that get hurt don’t forget easily,even if they forgive,and they will talk about the experience(s) until the cows come home and it’s only as time tends to heal wounds that the deed(s)might fade from memory 80 or so years down the road of history.

48. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Gabriel August 2, 2017 at 7:53 PM
    “Prodigal @4.07p
    It’s not Lashley to answer.It is the Permanent Secretary who is the Authorised Officer.That was the mistake Mia made when she summoned the 3 ministers to respond to infelicities in their respective ministries.The ministers rightly refused to attend.Mia should know better as she grilled a former PS Bascombe for processing unapproved funds to the MoH.It is rumored he went into early retirement,but the act remained unpunished and based on your data every ministry seem to be ignoring approved budgets and spending wild.”

Well said, Gabriel.

One can only conclude that such a deliberate misstep by the LoO was an incestuously political manoeuvre to shield fellow members of the corrupt clans making up the political class.

From the outset it was crystal clear that such a summons to answer charges of financial ‘improprieties’ had no legitimacy or legal standing with respect to ministers of the Crown. Only accounting officers and their agents can be made answerable to such investigations and charges.

The legally sound and effective way to genuinely expose those politically-clothed bandits was to do it through the public drilling of those accounting officers who, under politically-fuelled fire, would have vulnerably exposed their embarrassingly laughable managerial incompetence and ‘un-professionalism’ or force them to spill their yellow guts as to the level of direct and dishonest political interference by their confession of merely carrying out instructions from the ministerial centre of the high command.

By burying such investigatory opportunities in a grave of politically puerile sabre rattling over a clear-cut law the PAC has lost its moral authority to fulfil its mandate as the supreme watchdog of the public purse thereby undermining the ‘independent’ role of the Auditor General.

When the crown is finally placed on the female head of the clan currently awaiting ascension to the political throne we can expect to see the complete interment if not the completely convenient cover-up of those ‘alleged’ acts and tax evasion deeds of the likes of the go(o)dly doctor Lowedown, the mulatto boy Baloney and Greenverbs the bosom pal and intimate buddy of the now ‘standing’ primate into Paris(s) class of politicians.

49. @ Gabriel
    Why you think the hebrews spoke of the sins of the fathers falling upon the children for up to 4 generations…..

Because the Hebrews understood that one’s children are really natural extensions of one’s very self. For wise people then, NOTHING can be more important than leaving a positive LEGACY that brings blessings to one’s offspring. …Not only material blessings, but also in cultural, spiritual areas and in self-respect.

Conversely, the sins of parents often result in pain and suffering for multiple generations of offspring… until someone wise enough to see the value of sackcloth and ashes (genuine repentance for their forefather’s sins), comes along and makes it right with Lady Karma.

…of course this all applies to normal, everyday brassbowlery…..

Sins of the order of the 400-year-old enslavement and inhuman rape, murder and torture of millions of Bushie’s ancestors via the Atlantic Slave Trade will need to be placed in a special category with respect to its impact on the descendants of those monsters…. especially with jokers like John and his boy Trump…even now trying to justify the satanic evil that was represented by that wicked episode.

50. It really looks as if everybody thinks that we the taxpayers are suckers! Where are the accounting officers? Are they qualified in accounts or even bookkeeping?
    …………………………………………………………

A supplier was paid twice for work related to Electrical Renovations at the
    Country Road Branch of the School Meals Department resulting in an
    overpayment of $65,671.92. At the time of the audit the monies had not
    been recovered.