Listen to the AUDIO from an anonymous source of the threat local authority has responded by “upping” to Orange Alert.

106 responses to “Crime and Violence | Anonymous Video Forces Orange Alert”

1. Who remembers when Maurice King publicly stated there were no gangs? Who remembers when the late David Thompson pushed a platform message of crime and violence and was roundly laughed at by the country? Now we have celebration in the hood, latest Deacons, of gun salutes to welcome home brethren released from prison. Note this is not new in the country, only becoming more frequent and expanding in noise.

Hardears wunna wont hear. One day coming soon.

2. Understand that the ‘real’ Anonymous does not take kindly to using their face irresponsibly. Maybe these fellows will get away with it, being from a small part of a small island.

3. image

Extracted from a local newspaper.

4. Let us be clear however. Some thugs can surely cause damage, sadly, most to innocents.

However, at the end of the day, they all end up where they ask to. If they think that they can run the Police, more fool them.

There is always a backup. Police, then Task Force, then BDF and finally US Forces.

Don’t think too many bajans would mind seeing US Soldiers patrolling Bridgetown.

Many would be quite happy, or very happy.

So, those thugs better know that you better be able to end what you start.

But may be they do not. In which case, they will not be around for long.

And please, let us not hear ‘but he was a good boy’ from the grandmudda … nonsense.

A good boy does not shoot at people, let alone Police.

If I were Police I know what I would be doing now.

And wunna could suck salt.

5. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

The only people taking that seriously is government.., reading the damn dialect and listening to DMX simultaneously gave me a headache, I thought a bajan voice was on there…steupps..

I listened to DMX for decades in NYC….the two, DMX and bajan dialect do not go together.

A got a grandson love to go down to Bim and talk dialect, sounds like the crap he talks for laughs and giggles…. he was about 14 when he first got introduced to dialect.

6. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Tell me again what is so chilling about DMX of US with his decades old practice of singing what he feels…in the US…

….and bajan dialect written by someone with the intellect of a 14 year old….steuppsss

7. @ David,

About 10 years ago I witnessed a “Swat team” op in Barbados.

5 or 6 vehicles 2 to 4 cops in each passed me near Lime Grove and I caught up to them in the Garden.

What is happening today is the result of a problem that should have been addressed years ago.

8. Crusoe,
    The US has the highest number of incarcerations in the civilised word – even more than the Chinese and Russians. What has local, state, federal and national guard crime fighters done to halt this drift towards a permanent state of crime?
    What does it tell you about America that one in three young black men born today is likely to end up in the criminal justice system?
    Barbados has got more lawyers per capita than New York. Where are they now we are having a discussion that is up their street?

9. Even if the video was done by a child, the firing of weapons in Deacons road was real.

Anyone living in Barbados knows how serious this guns and gangs problem is.

The economy of Barbados could be devastated by an escalation of violent crime.

10. It is all traceable to the post independence politicians and the politics of division they preached.

Their message was one of hate.

“For they have sown the wind, and they shall reap the whirlwind: it hath no stalk: the bud shall yield no meal: if so be it yield, the strangers shall swallow it up.”

So true … Barbados is more or less owned/controlled by foreigners!!

11. Hants July 29, 2017 at 1:36 PM #
    Even if the video was done by a child, the firing of weapons in Deacons road was real

Exactly. But if there was a raid tomorrow, to seize weapons, all one would hear is ‘cuh dear, but dem ent had to run in de place in de night and kick down de people doors, nuh..’ and de grandmuddas stating ‘but dem is good boys, dey only get in bad company…’.

Stupse.

12. @Hants

You are correct. It is about threading recent events like you mentioned -the hail of bullets unleashed in Deacons, the shooting of a woman at the RBC Cave Hill location, the beating of a young man by some scallywags at Sheraton last week etc etc etc.

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hants July 29, 2017 at 1:27 PM #
    “What is happening today is the result of a problem that should have been addressed years ago.”

Too much of criminal activity is directly associated or results from the illegal marijuana trade.

Where there is an illegal activity in which money can be made there will be people and guns to protect that underground business.

Until the profit in this widespread business activity is significantly reduced there will be always serious criminal involvement at all levels of society which currently benefit financially from the trade in a simple god-made plant called mary-jane.

There is no money through tax dollars for the government as in the case of the licensed sale of alcohol or cigarettes so there will be no rush to decriminalization to prevent lawyers and others including the guardians of the ports and law enforcers from earning from this illegal but lucrative income earning and easy revenue stream.

14. this has been coming since cnn opened shop in barbados, first time I saw this gangsta mentality and bling when they made it fashionable, get a grip on it or all inclusives are in your future, do you think the cubans would let this go on if it affected forex

15. @ millertheanunnaki ,

I support the legalisation of marijuana but the problem today is guns and gangs.

Barbados is only 166 sq. miles so finding the guns should not be difficult for the Police.

16. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Hants….who goes down in those same ghettos every election and use those same guntoting youth and the drug dealers they work for to help them buy votes. ?…that is the question.

The problems in the depressed areas run much deeper than that.

Besides…it would not take much for some mischevious people to ride down in those ghettos and pay each youngster 200 dollars to shoot up the place.

Since that brouhaha this week…everyone has an agenda.

And that video with no one or any bajan voice in sight, anyone could have put together that garbage, everyone got an agenda.

And when talking about the US and generational black incarceration,…..I cant count how many times there have been documentaries showcasing that incarceration of blacks and hispanics is an industry, it makes money for the system….it replaced slavery…I cant count how many times, yet hardheaded people come with the same stale arguments each time.

17. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

I dont hear anyone calling for those yachts entering ports Charles and Ferdinand to be searched everytime they enter the island, or for those private planes that land often at the private airport, with their own customs and immigration, be searched, everytime they enter.

That is what should be happening.

18. David

We were never convinced that the general attitudes of Bajans towards prisoners was correct.

In sum those attitudes make life after prison ……….. more prison

Prison in Barbados, like most of the USA, represents the modern slave system. A system most Bajans suport.

19. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

And that is the whole damn problem right there.

20. In Barbados there is little focus on rehabilitation in prison or outside. Just look at the closure of the Alma Parris School Pacha.

You are correct, an incarcerated person in Barbados is doomed read life remains in the toilet.

21. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

There is a quota to fill prisons with blacks and hispanics in the US, whether innocent or guilty, it is the new slave system, what makes it easier for the system, there are many mentally weak people, particularly males, who find it hard to adjust to the system…those are easy to round up and imprison.

I suspect the late DPP had his own quota system for filling the lone prison on the island, who was going to stop him, he was a power unto himself….violating the rights of males by remanding them upwards to 10 years without evidence.

In just 9 months just watch and see the difference when election is near…no more police raids and talk about gun violence and murders until after election.

22. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Yes the release of guns in Deacons was real……this video is questionable too many things in it are not of Bimmer gangsta quality.

Restless youth are a product of a visionless leadership……an old saying in Bim…..the devil finds work for idle hands….

So many things can be undertaken in this country if its leadership was not pre-occupied with self.

We have.

…..aqua/agriculture and solar to get on track.

……the re-development of the Scotland District,starting with the grossly neglected Belleplaine.

…..roads to fix.

….buildings in towns to re-purpose.

….education at all levels…..to suit new industry.

…..we have lots of work to do…..can we get up of our brains and do it.

23. @Vincent

Some truth in your comment. A country in a perpetual state of division. Trumplike!

24. @ David…. and Vincent, yes we have lots of work to do to correct societal problems but the

current problem of gangs and guns calls for immediate action.

Don’t want Barbados to become like Toronto.

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hants July 29, 2017 at 2:08 PM #
    “I support the legalisation of marijuana but the problem today is guns and gangs.
    Barbados is only 166 sq. miles so finding the guns should not be difficult for the Police.”

That is precisely the point that is being championed.

The proliferation of guns is a direct result of the illegal drug trade.

Do you really believe the finding of illegal guns is that easy when the same facilitators of the gun trade are top bureaucratic officials who are prepared to sell out their own country for a few thousands dollars in order to afford an SUV or a 5-bedroom house in the Heights or Terraces?

What about the unofficial’ protection ‘offered by the same ruling politicians to drug gang leaders like Bounty K and Stinkliar’s kingpin of the Red Sea posse similar to that given to the white collar scammers like Leroy Greenverbs for being the intimate buddy of the political boss man with more than $5 million (fraudulently acquired and laundered) stashed away in the vault at the C B?

Turn your back on similar illegal activities such as vote buying and illegal behaviour by ZR vehicles and the motor cyclist showcasing and you are opening the door to widespread social indiscipline and blatant lawbreaking, even in the hallowed halls of a poor-rakey Parliament.

26. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Hants

Immediate action tends to come with a heavy hand that only serves to polarise the youth more.

Once that is the tactic,we have to accept the loss of a generation with some collateral damage in order to save the next one.

27. toronto 50-65 murders a year (mostly gangs) population 5.5mill.barbados 270k population july29 already 20 murders. this is a problem. youth dont like being disrespected,even if they dont show respect when they should. all people need some hope and direction barbados has lots of smart people they need to take the lead

28. Miller
    Ref your 3.24p post,no reasonable member should fault your observations.Lets hope,given his big influence in the Red Sea area the Hon Member for St Michael NW will assist the Police in ferreting out the misguided and their tools of trade.It is my understanding that there is no block culture in Martinique or Guadeloupe that that type of activity results in compulsory lock up and compulsory skill training.

29. The violence by our young black men is causing us great worry and concern. We are all saddened by the death of innocent people. I share the grief of their loved ones. What is of concern to me is the way the perpetrators of other crimes seem to be getting away with theirs.:_

(a) those who were ripped off by CLICO and the criminals walking free. (I am one of the
    victims)

(b) those who have been robbed by unscrupulous lawyers who are yet to appear before the
    courts. )

The violence by these young is abhorrent, but I am sure even though they may not be smart enough to have a university degree, they KNOW that certain people in this country can commit crime and get away with it. So I hope the powers that be reflect on the way they have dealt with (a) and (b).

30. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

Why are we surprised that violence is on the rise in Barbados. I would say that at least ten percent of our tourists have a cocaine habit. Our tourism industry is far too important for our government to curb the flow of drugs onto the island.

WWW&C do you seriously believe that this government will undermine our tourist industry by raising the level of surveillance at Port Charles and Port Ferdinand. Tourists are cash cows; our country needs them.

Whether we’re talking about cocaine or hemp there is money out there to be made. Barbados is a soft touch of an island with a virgin domestic market and a low-level of security. Factor in that we are sandwiched in between one continent that manufactures cocaine and another continent that consumes the said drug; that a number of our politicians, members of the business community and some of our security personnel have probably become compromised by the drug dealers – then you can see where we are heading.

Sadly, i see no way out of this downward cycle. We are a small island with little prospects of developing our economy. The sale of illicit drugs may be the only viable option available to us. The question remains are we as a society prepared to accept the accompanying violence and insecurity of such a pernicious industry?

31. Spare a thought for what is going on in our sister Caribbean State Antigua where another Caribbean buccaneer type investor is alleged to be using his clout to bring the government there to heel with the grant of further concessions.Sandals at Dickinson Bay employs 700 persons and out of the blue took a decision to close the property for maintenance for 5 months beginning September 2017.The following articles tell the tale and given our 40 year tax concessions to the same Sandals and the current impasse the unions and the private sector are having with the NSRL tax which seem to be part of the tools the government is using to garner revenues lost by the Sandals concessions,Antigua’s dilemma is of interest to Barbados.Staurt and Duprey both big operators and both throwing their weight around in a fashion unbecoming good corporate citizens.These Caribbean States can do without these present day buccaneers.Some would say Pirates of the Caribbean is more than a movie.

https://antiguaobserver.com/pm-alleges-sandals-and-other-hotels-creaming-off-the-top/comment-3441737261

https://antiguaobserver.com/union-estimates-sandals-closure-will-cost-ab-millions/

https://antiguaobserver.com/analyst-calls-for-integrity-commission-to-look-into-gifts/

32. Anne July 29, 2017 at 9:07 PM #
    …(b) those who have been robbed by unscrupulous lawyers who are yet to appear before the
    courts. )

Sadly, despite abhorring the violence, I find that I cannot disagree with your point. I wonder how many have been ripped off by estate work etc. That seems to be a main area that needs urgent attention and more rules to ensure accountability and transparency on what has taken place. You hear about people living abroad who are waiting years to hear if a family member estate has been settled.

How can that be?

33. @ Anne who wrote ” You hear about people living abroad who are waiting years to hear if a family member estate has been settled.”

I am one of those waiting years but I am more concerned for my family and friends in

Barbados who may get shot or murdered just like the lady who was killed at the ATM.

34. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

“WWW&C do you seriously believe that this government will undermine our tourist industry by raising the level of surveillance at Port Charles and Port Ferdinand. Tourists are cash cows; our country needs them.”

Both governments are cowards, they would allow the flow of guns and drugs to keep tourists happy, tourism alive and believe that’s the best they can do, wasted taxpayer’s dollars on university education,…no moral compass and they do not think they are capable or have the skills and abilities to do better..

Slaves in parliament managing a stagnant slave society, cant move forward but regressing at an alarming rate,.

35. It all goes back to the politicians and their methods of division and message of hate.

36. John your simple comment sums it up.

37. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Vincent Haynes

I love what you said.

38. What else do we expect in a society where many of the younger citizens seem to be angry with themselves, other people and at the world?

Being courteous, caring or helpful are simple traditional values that seem to be no longer practiced by Barbadians in general.

A few days ago, for certain reasons, I caught a Transport Board bus and sat in one of those “elevated” seats at the rear. Standing passengers decided they would not go any further into the bus and bundled at the front door, leaving lots of room at the rear.

A pregnant lady caught the bus and “not a boy” sitting in the seats designated for the elderly, disabled, people with infants in arms and pregnant women, did not get up to allow her to sit. After about 5 minutes of some vocal passengers cursing people and begging them to be kind, the driver turned off the engine, thereby indicating he was not prepared to continue the journey until someone gave the lady a seat. We remained “idle” for almost ten minutes before someone decided to give her their seat.

………. Fifteen minutes wasted……..

Went in Chefette Lower Broad Street to purchase ice cream. The cashier was polite, but the similar could be descriptive of the servers. They seemed to be angry with themselves and more so, customers. A lady asked one for a cup of water, while telling her the rotis were a bit too salty.

Rather than responding to the criticism by saying, for example, “Sorry madam, I’ll inform management,” even if she did not have any intensions of doing so…………… she responded loudly, “I doan mek dum!!!” The expression of anger manifested itself in her face.

Went into Savings Plus Supermarket, Habour Road to buy a few items…… greeted the cashier with “good afternoon” …… she refused to respond. She took my money, threw the change in my hand, put the items in a bag, threw them at the back of the checkout counter and angrily repeated her actions to the next customer.

And it is not surprising to me that Savings Plus’ staff turnover rate, similarly to many other establishments, is very high.

Despite parents living above their means to give their children $500 “Northface” bags (primary school children, too); $2,000 Samsung S* mobiles; expensive clothes; tablets, X-boxes, etc…………. the young people seem to be very angry.

We are utilizing the skills of Yolande Forde and Cheryl Willoughby to compile “impressive” crime statistics, while the root causes of this anger, which eventually graduates into committing heinous crimes, remains unaddressed.

39. Artax July 30, 2017 at 4:21 AM #

Really well said.

40. Artax: “What else do we expect in a society where many of the younger citizens seem to be angry with themselves, other people and at the world?”

Most of the people in this forum are elderly, many of them pensioners. How do you explain that anger, bitterness, envy, viciousness, incivility, foul-mouthed comments?

41. Well said Artax

“The expression of anger manifested itself in her face.”
    She probably is suffering from the same malady as the PM and his ministers…

42. @ Artax

it is undeniable that as bad as things are in Barbados right now, most Barbadians live in material conditions that are the envy of most people in the world. Yet you suggest that many of our youth are angry. I do not dispute your observation but wish to understand the reason for this anger.

On this gentle Sunday morning, I present the following video presentation. It may be romantic even naive but I hope it might provide something useful to think about and more importantly to act on.

https://youtu.be/4GX6a2WEA1Q

43. and please don’t think I am putting Mujica on a pedestal as some kind of perfect man. I just think he is very fallible man saying something worth thinking about.

44. @ Ping Pong

Thanks.
    A simple man who understands the danger of the albino-centric philosophy and the value of a COMMUNITY centric orientation.

He is wrong about having to learn from your own mistakes…. but was referring to his own personal experiences. A REALLY wise man can learn from the experiences of others …and of history.

A leader among leaders.

45. Hal Austin July 30, 2017 at 7:38 AM #

“Most of the people in this forum are elderly, many of them pensioners. How do you explain that anger, bitterness, envy, viciousness, incivility, foul-mouthed comments?”

@ Hal Austin

Yes, behavioral patterns vary among individual contributors to BU.

However, on occasion you behave similarly and, more often than not, you treat other contributors with arrogant contempt.

Being upset, they would obviously respond accordingly.

Perhaps you may want to give us the reasons for YOUR behaviour.

At the end of the day, all contributors to this forum……… whether they be young, elderly or pensioners, should endeavour to set positive examples for the youngsters to “emulate.”

46. Artax
    Bushie knew Hal from school…
    His attitude and behaviour has not matured….
    It is just what it is.

…besides, Bushie is not ‘angry, bitter or vicious’….
    Cuh shiite man!!! the stinking bushman has a WHACKER….
    what does Hal want? …his nose wiped?

If he cant stand the heat he should move his donkey out of the kitchen
    …or at least keep his head down below the whacker cutting level…..

BBBBB!!

47. Artax: “What else do we expect in a society where many of the younger citizens seem to be angry with themselves, other people and at the world?”
    Most of the people in this forum are elderly, many of them pensioners. How do you explain that anger, bitterness, envy, viciousness, incivility, foul-mouthed comments?

The brainwashing started in the Independence era.

The behavior of many on this forum fits right in with the timing.

They are the right age.

I reckon most of the peoples here are about my age or older, a few younger.

A lot are bitter, envious and full of hate.

I remember the constant message of division from the 60’s and have repeatedly described it here and on BFP.

Many of that generation passed on their bitterness and hatred to their children.

People of my generation broke the chain that ensured the old cherished Barbadian values passed on to the next generation.

You could say it was the 60’s that caused the worldwide change but really and truly it is individuals and their message of hatred that promoted the change.

Now they are gone and their issue are with us!!

… but the youngsters are not all bad, just in a hurry to get God knows where!!

Few people nowadays sit and think … and read!!

48. well is this anger being pointed at the RBPF any worse than the anger Herbert had indicated towards the country , One or more of the same coming from self serving people who wants to dictate the country course
    One man makes threats for social unrest and another group or entity makes threats to destroy the military force of barbados
    Put two and two together all happening in the same week
    Boys on the Block cannot provide the kind of weapons that can go up against the military Force of this island bearing in mind that when one force is attack all levels of the country military might becomes engaged
    Really boys on the block . No Fools look a little further and harder

49. To the credit of the Nation newspaper its editor has listed 15 shooting incidents that occurred between May 1 to July 30 to emphasize the gravity of the level of criminality we are battling in Barbados. Some will keep their heads firmly in the sand- especially the yardfowls- but there is a reality that is playing out we cannot avoid. Gun crime is on the increase. There is a Barbados that we are unaccustomed and we seem powerless to stem it, all stakeholders.

50. https://barbadosfreepress.wordpress.com/2008/06/22/cover-up-royal-barbados-police-force-ignores-violent-threats-to-businessman/

John
    June 24, 2008 at 2:31 pm
    Anonymous
    Here is an extract from a debate in the House of Assembly (1975) related to ITAL:
    “Can you countenance anybody asking A.S. Bryden – he held office in the vestry – or who was so mad as to write in the newspaper asking him to declare his assets?
    THEY have lost political power now and THEY are asking every BLACK man who is holding office, so long as he can change a car three times a year, walk about looking clean and carrying a cheque book to declare his assets” said (Patsy) Springer.”
    Here was a sitting member of Parliament, (DLP) using race to justify why there should be no Integrity Legislation, a rather topical area of conversation of today!!
    Wonder if this is the hold up now!! … same party wouldn’t you know!!
    (Extracted from an article by Sanka Price entitled “All Talk on Integrity Law” – Heated House Debates over 35 years)
    … and then there is the “white shadows” speech, used in the 1981(?) election process by the Honorable “Don” Blackman who switched sides at will, …. and the “redressing past imbalances” reasoning in the award of the Highway 2A Contract that ended our country Barbados in the Privy Council and cost it a million dollars, ….. at least.
    He put The Honorable Clyde Mascoll to shame when it came to switching sides.
    Guess that’s what you do when you earn the right to carry the title “The Honorable” before your name.
    We can guage which of these two was the more “Honorable”.
    … and wasn’t it Sir COW who took our country, or was it the GOB, to the PC?!!
    All hail Sir COW!!

John
    June 24, 2008 at 3:00 pm
    Anonymous
    If you want the actual date of the House of Assembly debate it was 2nd December 1975.
    You can go and check Hansard and see the rest.
    Maybe you will find I have completely misinterpreted the use of Race to avoid Integrity Legislation ……. or maybe you will be able to explain to us why for the past 37 years our Politicians have been avoiding it.
    If Race was the reason given in 1975 for not having ITAL, what is the new reason the House of Assembly has come up with …. or is the same old one?

BFP says,
    When then Tourism Minister Noel Lynch was asked about his “instant millionaire” status by David Ellis, he gave his famous “little black boy” speech and used race as a shield to explain why he didn’t have to answer questions about his new-found wealth.
    The issue is still alive and kicking!

John
    June 24, 2008 at 3:27 pm
    … its more about corruption than race. Race is just used to offset the uninitiated.