John Hunte

Which country that you know of, would host CARIFESTA, and would organize a major international Dance exposition as the central event of the Festival, but would refuse to include a single one of their local or national dance groups in the said Dance exposition?

Well, if you guessed that the country is none other than Barbados you would have guessed right!

Would you believe, that Dr. John Hunte — the “artistic coordinator” of CARIFESTA –is seemingly proud to be able to announce that the “Signal Dance event” of CARIFESTA  X111  will be a major international dance show at the Garfield Sobers Gymnasium on the 24th of August, and that the event will feature dance groups from Trinidad and Tobago, Martinique, Guadeloupe, Jamaica, and Haiti, but none from  Barbados!

According to Hunte, this ultra prestigious show is designed “to use modern concepts of Caribbean identity to unfold visions of ourselves and our common legacy”, but the only Barbadians that he deems  fit to include in the show are two female ballet dancers who reside and practice their craft in the European countries of Germany and Hungary.

Now, I have nothing against these two overseas based daughters of the soil– both of whom I know and admire– but somebody needs to tell Hunte , Minister of Culture Stephen Lashley, and the rest of the CARIFESTA Secretariat that this is just not good enough.

If the Minister and his Secretariat are truly interested in exploring “modern concepts of Caribbean identity” and “visions of ourselves”, then how can they fail to include at least one of the best Barbadian dance groups that, year after year — at the annual National Independence Festival of Creative Arts (NIFCA) — creatively explore the boundaries of what it means to be Barbadian and Caribbean?

How can they– for example — fail to include such a quintessential and consistently excellent Barbadian and Caribbean dance group like Dancin Africa?

Is Minister Lashley and John Hunte really telling us that a group like Dancin Africa is not fit to grace the major dance stage at CARIFESTA — even though the Festival is being held in Barbados, and is being financed by the Barbadian taxpayers?

I have personally witnessed dance shows all over the Caribbean — from Cuba and Haiti in the North to Guyana and Suriname in the South– and I can affirm that some of the most compelling and impactful dance performances that I have ever witnessed have been delivered right here in Barbados at our annual NIFCA dance finals.

Indeed, the Dancin Africa troupe possesses a brilliant twenty-five year NIFCA gold award winning repertoire that is based upon at least two dozen  profoundly insightful and moving dances crafted by such outstanding Barbadian choreographic talents as Gene Carson, Kelvin Carvalho, Tyrone Trotman, Oral Welshman, and Aisha Comissiong.

Is Dr. Hunte and Minister Lashley really telling us that none of these Barbadian master works are to be showcased to the rest of the world on the biggest and most prestigious CARIFESTA stage?

What a travesty! What a pathetic expression of a national inferiority complex ! What a shame that something like this can still be happening after 50 years of Independence!

112 responses to “A Carifesta Dance of Shame!”

1. Barbadians should boycott the Festival en masse

2. Are Barbadians so culturally aware that a missing Bajan dance troupe from the opening Carifesta dance would resonate?

3. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger

How does not having a local dance troupe representing the HOST island make sense to this Hunte dude..what is he thinking.

a boycott is definitely in order.

4. What a load of Jackassery. There is NO respect given to cultural practitioners … none. When a foreign artist was brought in to design and have built the statue of National Hero the Rt Ex Errol Barrow not a word was said by the DLP Opposition.

Hopefully this time around the BLP Opposition will say something. The fact that dancers have to ply their trade in Europe speaks volumes about the state of affairs for the Cultural Industries at home ..

5. With Lil Hitler responsible, how can this be a surprising turn of events…?
    This DLP government has become so disgusting and distasteful, that it would not be surprising to Bushie, find out that he personally selected the programme…..

It speaks VOLUMES of us Bajans …that we deserve leaders like those in this government. ….and that we can actually have persons of the ilk of Carson Cadogan and angela skeete – who so openly support them and their dastardly actions.

A pox on all our donkeys.

6. David

is disgracing himself here. there are no objective standards in art, so when push comes to shove, I would hope that most sensible people would accept the aesthetic judgment of an experienced dance critic (Dr. Hunte) over that of a rabble-rousing lawyer/political-activist.

Besides, I have never seen dancers perform in Barbados without embarrassing themselves.

7. So let us lobby the Minister and ask that a Bajan dance group is on the stage on the 24th of August,

8. Ya gotta love Chad
    He was good for a laugh and at the same time displayed the warped thinking that created this situation.

We may also be seeing the difference between book sense and common sense. We have some educated folks making silly decisions.

The straw that will break the camel back is when there are no Bajan groups in NIFCA 🙂

9. @Chad99999 July 11, 2017 at 9:50 PM “Besides, I have never seen dancers perform in Barbados without embarrassing themselves.”

And how many dance performances have you witnessed in Barbados?

And how exactly did you know that the dancers were embarrassed? Did they come down from the stage and tell you this?

Or are you just lying?

Again.

10. @Chad99999 July 11, 2017 at 9:50 PM “Since Aisha Comissiong is David’s daughter I am sure that David has witnessed many more national and international dance performances than you have. And why would you think that “a rabble-rousing lawyer/political-activist” cannot also be a man of great aesthetic judgment?

Maybe because you can barely walk and chew gum you judge people by your own standards?

11. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right - INRI Avatar
    Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right – INRI

ammmmmmmm….

ammmmmmmmm….

ammmmmmmmm…

Let de ole man speak here with some riddles causing those who understand riddles will understand this thing

There are three groups and not one group as David would wish to highlight

Dancing Africa, Pinelands and Trevor Prescod ting, de ole man cant remember it name but i have alot of trembling botsies (Walter Blackman’s imagery NOT MINE)

now, what is the common denominator with these groups? rather who is the common denominator with these groups?

We done know trevor peoples dem is not going to be allowed to dance cause he is a BLP man but what bout Pinelands which is purportedly a DLP group now that Grant going run wid de DLP and to loose he deposit running against Santia.

Who is the common denominator?

Who is common to the Dancing Africa Toni Thorne and her Mum the Lady and quintessential leader and invigorator Jennifer?

Once wunna is able to get to the bottom of that riddle wunna will understand why all this ire is directed to de bajans dem.

Den wunna has to find out whu monies is being used to underwrite de visitors and what nominal money is being denied de bajans dem causing Lil Caesar may have been advised dat “de bajans ent need no $$ to participate”

“Leh Rodney pay some uh de $2 million dat David Thompson gi he when he get in power in 2008…”

“or leh Toni Fadder, Ralph pull he pocked and finance the DA ting dennnnn…”

“or leh Mia gi she main man Trevor some uh de millions she got stash way dennnn….”

But not one cent from my ministry and I stamp dat memorandum wid my swastika or whatever dem caesar fellers was did use.

So swear I Lil Hitler

12. Simple Simon

I hope you are just bright enough to realize you can embarrass yourself without knowing it.

13. Good or bad ……

A BAJAN DANCE GROUP MUST BE ON STAGE AUGUST 24TH.

WTF happened to pride in black Bajans ?

14. It is difficult to culturally develop a space where the spiritual void breeds many faults profits and alternative truths. Depending on where one has been to secondary school the devotion to one’s Alma Mater determines what social economic strata one is placed and regulates who you are and what you do. Ready cooked soups and kleptocracy is the general political “MO” and intellectual dynasty wars play out in the critical decision made for the masses. In addition, fear is driven by fraternal obligations, tribalism in religious circles. Superstition and tabloid scholarship are on the daily menu, while nepotism has gone dead wrong and everyone young and old know it all and insists on always being right…

15. @ Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right,

ammmmmmmm….

My African dancing and singing in de diaspora blog.

16. Chad99999 July 11, 2017 at 10:58 PM “Simple Simon I hope you are just bright enough to realize you can embarrass yourself without knowing it.”

No chad99999 I am not bright enough to realize this.

And neither are you.

And neither is anybody else.

17. Trying to visualized if Carifesta was being staged in Jamaica, Cuba or Trinidad if a similar decision would have been even discussed.

18. TheGazer July 11, 2017 at 10:34 PM #

“The straw that will break the camel back is when there are no Bajan groups in NIFCA.”

@ The Gazer

David’s question re: “Are Barbadians so culturally aware that a missing Bajan dance troupe from the opening CARIFESTA dance would resonate?” is valid.

Barbadians will support CARIFESTA while saying “the performers from the other islands are our WEST INDIAN BROTHERS & SISTERS.”

Barbadians will support CARIFESTA similarly to how they supported Jamaican athletes during the Rio 2016 Olympics, “because all uh we from the Caribbean.”

……… but in “true Bajan form,” we will conveniently remind Commisiong he is from St. Vincent.

And especially if some “big gun” dancers come out and endorse the move……. “um is all over bar the shouting.”

………. or how thousands of Barbadians will go to Kensington to support the CPL and “Barbados Tridents” team, captained by Trinidadian Kieron Pollard, although, so far, he has been an abysmal failure. And they will remind us that the CPL is franchise cricket, so we should support it.

When a few “Bajans did jumping up and hollering fuh murder” at Pollard being appointed as the Barbados Tridents’ captain, two “big gun cricketers,” Sir Garfield Sobers and Desmond Haynes, endorsed the appointment.
    Haynes said: “We are happy to have someone like Pollard as our captain because he is a winner and you can see the results that he has brought to the Mumbai Indians……..”
    And Sir Garry also said he did not see what the “fuss” was about. “If Pollard is playing for Barbados and he is the captain, I don’t see anything wrong with it………”

………. or how thousands of Barbadians attend “Vintage Reggae” shows featuring the same Jamaican “vintage reggae artiste” Al Tricks does bring ‘bout here every year.

………. or how the BFA can’t get 200 Barbadians to attend football matches or support local teams, but 20,000 Bajans would go to Bubba’s, Lucky Horseshoe and the other sports bars to watch English football and support Manchester United, Chelsea and Liverpool.

The reality of the situation is that Commisiong is wasting time on this issue…………… Barbadians are sure to find all types of excuses to support CARIFESTA irrespective of Barbadian entertainers performing or not.

19. This could be considered an issue of patriotism.

But I guarantee that the yard fowls will conveniently “spin” the issue to give different meanings to their political rhetorical phrases: “putting country first,” “patriotism,” “enemies of the state” in their attempts to support Stephen Lashley.

20. On this subject , what is the latest with the implementation of the Cultural Industries Bill? Has the fund been established, is the Film Commission/Board up and running etc etc etc?

21. The state of the physical plant that houses the Israel Lovell Foundation is an embarrassment to the industry.

22. Boy sitting back here in this white man land I have gotten the time to examine the thinking of the Bajan people, and it isn’t an understatement to concluded that Bajan people are some of the weirdest creatures on the Caribbean archipelago. And God bless de Bajan man who finds himself lock down with a bajan woman because boy, I know he catching hell on dah little rock.

23. Where is our sense of nationalism? How long are we going to allow our schools of national reputation put a wedge between us? When will the Bajan man and woman take the time to truly understand each other? When are we going to abandon our esoteric associations and embrace each other as the Jamaicans and St. Lucians do nationalistically? When will Bajans abandon the mindset the we are some luminous crystal in the Caribbean because of our standard of living, as though we were without outdoor pumping some four decades ago?

24. LOL @ Chad
    There are none so blind as those who will not see.

What could be more self-embarrassing than to be so comfortable living in the camp of the decedents of those who, for 400 consecutive years, raped, ravaged and exploited your ancestors, and to have so fully assimilated their albino-centric ways ….that you are actually able to be a better advocate of their bigotry than even the best of them…?

Congratulations to you and Hal.

The very definition of natural grace, dance, movement and strength is’Black’.
    This is exemplified in sport, in music, and in all those areas where your camp has been unable to apply its apartheid approach in order to redress their clear disadvantages.

It is obviously so because the ORIGINAL and COMPLETE human being was and is, without any scientific doubt, ‘BLACK’ as shiite.

We do have, however, a long tradition of traitors and house niggers ..who could be depended on to eloquently convince other Blacks that they were inferior, and thus needed to emulate others.

25. @ Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right – INRI July 11, 2017 at 10:53 PM

Your insight in astounding. You just broke off that nail with a direct strike to the head.
    This is the level of DLP thinking that has brought us to the bottom…..
    Unfortunately, it is not confined to the DLP dunces – they just do it so crudely….

26. I agree with BT totally…it is like an island of the people with no whites in the cabinet

27. Barbados as the host of this event should be represented in all aspects of the cultural show. If someone can point out another island where the decision of non- inclusion of native artists would even be proposed I will eat my hat (which I don’t possess) as Lee Harford used to say

28. On the day the Minister became aware that the dance event would be held in Barbados he

should have requested that a local dance group be included.

A BAJAN DANCE GROUP MUST BE ON STAGE AUGUST 24TH.

29. Sergeant
    Is it a fact that Lee Hartford was not a bajan but Guyanese?

30. @Gabriel

I don’t know if he was born in BG or not we just assumed that he was a born (not naturalized Bajan). If you direct that question to a certain individual with offices on Bay St. you may get an answer, after all his “Chambers” are named in honour of Lee.

31. @Lawson
    In your long and distinguished career as a First Responder did you ever see any brothers in the clubhouse? (Please don’t talk about any trips to the land of the Tangerine Man.)

32. @Bush Tea July 12, 2017 at 7:19 AM “Congratulations to you and Hal.”

I join you in congratulating those two.

33. I hope that somebody can help de li’l pint pot man to get it right.

34. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

Dont know why despite the brutal history, victimization and white racist terrorism, Caribbean blacks remain destructive to their own culture.

bit.ly/2tIkH9K

Meet Dr. Olivia Hooker..last survivor of the racist, terrorist attack against the very prosperous Black Greenwood community in Oklahoma in the 1920s.

And yet black people seem to never, ever learn.

35. Sargeant …many… one of my good friends was the champion in the firefighter games. He was asked to be in a commercial for hiring of minorities ,he declined because he said I got this job because I was the best man… not the best black man that is why we are friends integrity.
    All that aside barbados produces great entertainers and to not have someone local is insane. These events are an opportunity for the island to show itself off, why would any country hold the Olympics if that is not the case they seldom if ever make money it is to showcase the hosting country . Barbados should be at the forefront he who pays the piper calls the tune

36. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger

Lawson….you have been elevated to being my white boyfriend this morning, so dont spoil it later…lol

37. @Dumpy July 12, 2017 at 5:01 AM “Bajan people are some of the weirdest creatures on the Caribbean archipelago. And God bless de Bajan man who finds himself lock down with a bajan woman because boy, I know he catching hell on dah little rock.”

Be off.

38. David

If we ain’t good enough to have one of our talented Dance Company in the international Dance exposition, then why de hell are we hosting Carifesta in Barbados.

At the moment we are having serious financial problems with certain bands opting out of Kadooment, yet within a month, we are fooling ourselves by hosting Carifesta at this critical stage. Sorry to say, I can see red.

We keep having talk shops about Caribbean Integration, yet only Trinidad (3 times), Guyana, Barbados and Suriname (twice) and Jamaica, Cuba, St. Kitts and the struggling Haiti hosting it once.

What about Antigua, Dominica, Grenada, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and Montserrat who fail to waste money hosting this festival. These are the true parasites.

39. @Tell me Why

It might be a simple explanation of rotation i.e. it is now the turn of Barbados to host and we are too proud to decline given our economic state. It could be that it dovetails nicely with our plan to germinate the Cultural Industries Bill. What we know is that we have not had adequate communication flow to bring Barbadians along.

40. BARBADOS HAS TALENTED DANCERS.

41. @Tell me Why July 12, 2017 at 2:35 PM “Montserrat …”

Cuh dear man. Don’t be unreasonable. Montserrat now has a population of about 5,000, mostly old, old people. How can they host a festival with 5,000 participants?

Be reasonable man.

42. A BAJAN DANCE GROUP MUST BE ON STAGE AUGUST 24TH.

43. Anyone remember what happened the last time we hosted Carifesta…?
    Lotta shiite yuh!!!

Was it not saved by the army at the very last moment…?

This man Lil Hitler /Caesar or whatever his name …seems to think that jumping in front of a microphone and talking shiite is the end-all of leadership….

Judging from the gains he has achieved in sport, culture and youth ….and by the “great” progress made in his annual Summer Camps (and indeed in everything else that he runs..) Bushie would be completely UN-surprised if this Carifesta turns out to be a flop too….

Steupsss…
    He should be in the Youth parliament like shiite…
    He has the right height…
    …and there, one only needs to talk a lotta shiite.
    look and see if Bushie ain’t right…

44. Simple Simon

Sir, I could only speak to what I have lived, and though it may not have been your personal experience, I can honestly articulate without much equovication that Barbadians are among the most insidious and enigmatic creations I’ve lived around/amongst, and have yet figure out.
    Nevertheless, I might and quite possibly should have spoken with the utmost veneration regarding my fellow Barbadians (lol) because let’s face it, not one is devoid of faults and failings; the rain falls alike upon the just as well as the unjust.
    But everytime I entertain such a notion, my conscience betrays me, when I pensively contemplate the classism, the intellectual arrogance, the social discontent emanating from the upper echelon towards the lower one, the esoteric-associations, the valuation of schools of national reputation, and the xenophobia expressed against Caribbean nationals that is manifested from within social tapestry of the culture.
    And finally, if I may venture to speak for more than myself Sir: ” How often have we been told that Barbadians are amongst the most arrogant people in the Caribbean.?” Well it would appear as though our current economic predicament has dealt a blow to our national psyche, and many in the small island are finding difficult to come to terms with this daunting realization. And my is hope that the vicissitudes nature of our current predicament serves as a time of reflection, introspection and contemplation, because we are on our way towards the back-burner Sir.

45. David Comissiong Avatar
    David Comissiong

MORE BAJAN DANCE TALENT on Youtube , choreographed by AISHA COMISSIONG

46. David Comissiong Avatar
    David Comissiong

A CLASSIC BAJAN DANCE by DANCIN AFRICA (Choreographed by AISHA COMISSIONG)

ANIMAL FARM (Circa 2014)

47. Fractured BLP Avatar

Mia Mottley being called to account for her ‘ LEC ‘ qualification

Now turn out to be an EMT ….Emergency Medical Technician……lifting up ‘ broken ‘ foot Mary Redman

Wuhloss !!!!

What comedy

48. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

@ Dumpy,

I have never read such a damning critique of my fellow Bajans. The majority of them are too arrogant and lack the emotional intelligence to reflect on their nation decline. Besides, the Carnival season is fast approaching and we know that those fools who reside on that island care only for those things that give them immediate self-gratification. There will be insufficient time in their diaries to allow for “…reflection, introspection and contemplation…”

The honourable Comissiong is a fool to be wasting his time on that dreadful rock!