Submitted by David Comissiong, Citizen Advocate
Mark Maloney – Vision Development Inc

Over the past week or so an entity named “Hyatt Centric Development Team” has been sending out invitations inviting selected persons to a “public interactive discussion on the project” at the “site of the Hyatt Centric Resort, Carlisle Bay, Bay Street, Bridgetown” on Saturday June 10th, 2017.”

This development constitutes a callous “slap in the face” of all Barbadians and a monumental insult to our intelligence!

Indeed,these people are so contemptuous of us that they are bold-facedly holding a public town hall meeting (or as they term it— a public interactive discussion) NOT during the period  of the processing of the application; NOT prior to the Minister making a decision on the application, but some four (4) months AFTER the Minister has made his decision to grant permission to construct the controversial hotel!

This meaningless town hall meeting is therefore simply a window dressing and public relations exercise on the part of the developer ! It has no substance or utility!

The whole purpose of a public town hall meeting is to give the Citizens and residents an input or say in the decision-making process BEFORE any decision is made by the authorities.

Indeed, when a public town hall meeting is held as part of the processing of an application for a construction project it is stipulated that a record MUST be made of the meeting, and that the record must be forwarded to the Town and Country Planning authorities for their consideration PRIOR to the making of a decision on the application.

I wish to reiterate that the application of Mr Mark Maloney’s company for permission to construct a 15 storey hotel on the beach at Carlisle Bay required that the proposed project be subjected to an Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA)  BEFORE any decision could be properly made on the application. And the staging of a serious and meaningful public town hall meeting would have been an integral requirement of the EIA process!

Here, for the record , is what our Town and Country Planning Department’s “Handbook and Guide To Town Planning” says about this matter:-

PUBLIC  CONSULTATION

Any application to the Chief Town Planner which requires the preparation of an environmental impact assessment SHALL be the subject of a PUBLIC  MEETING. The EIA report shall be made available to the public for a period of not less than twenty-eight (28) days to allow for perusal and scrutiny. The EIA report SHALL be made available within the community, district or main public library and the Town and Country Development Planning Office.

No later than fourteen(14) days after the public meeting the applicant is REQUIRED  TO  SUBMIT  THE  REPORT  OF  THE  PROCEEDINGS  TO  THE  CHIEF  TOWN  PLANNER.

ADVERTISING

The public meeting shall be advertised on local media and at least one daily newspaper announcing the availability of the EIA report at the commencement of the twenty-eight day period. The advertisement should occupy at least one quarter page in the newspaper and should be bold and noticeable.

Furthermore, Section 12.2 of our country’s Physical Development Plan stipulates that “where Environmental Impact Assessments are required they shall be completed to the satisfaction of the Chief Town Planner  PRIOR to approval being given“.

In light of the foregoing, the proverbial “Six Million Dollar Question” is :- “Why wasn’t this particular project subjected to an Environmental Impact Assessment, inclusive of a substantive and meaningful public town hall meeting in which we— the people of Barbados– could have asked serious questions, demanded answers, and recorded any concerns or objections that we might have about the project ???

Somebody will have to answer this question , whether that answer is provided in the public domain or in the confines of a Court room.

232 responses to “They Making (HYATT) Mock Sport at WE!”

1. Let us be charitable and say Hyatt is good for Barbados, what other Industries will

be created or improved to reverse the downward spiral of the Barbados economy.

2. Carson, I will ignore your rant (because “you are igno-rant). I will also ignore your further rants. End of conversation.

3. angela Skeete Avatar

Fera Play blah blah blah u intellectual dimwit. Your intellect only surpass that of Ninja man.

4. Thought Ninja man had u beat

5. angela Skeete Avatar

Funny how Mia always chastizing PM about leading from the front . Yet it hasnot dawned on her that the same principal applies to her

6. @Fear Play

I am so glad that you finally learnt your lesson. Do not feed the swine…….just let the two of them rant and rave among themselves.

Deal with issues, the dems are desperate and it is expressed blatantly in their behaviour here on BU. They show no respect to anyone not even to David at whose pleasure they are allowed to spout their vile rhetoric.

Keep focussed my friend………..

The dems are so out of touch that they had the audacity to roll out a new $350,000 car right after imposing over $500 million dollars in new taxes on an already over taxed country. The angry outburst from Barbadians has them rattled…..hence the yard fowls’ constant ranting and cussing.

Ignore them.

7. I noticed in today’s Sun that the mechanics at Simpson Motors are ccalling out the PM on his BS.

After all, his arrogant rant makes them look bad as if they do not know what they are doing.

Just look at how ignorant the people we have leading us are……………you have an expensive Mercedes………a car that should be top of the line in engineering and features………it is giving you trouble after 3/4 years and you go and replace the same troublesome car with the same exact type of car.

To quote Bush Tea…………..what Brass Bowls!

8. David,
    I just want to say two things. It is obvious, based on the comments being made by mqqnay contributors, and also from personal observations, that people do not realize what is involved in things like EIA and what are the requirements for Town Planning permission, as well as the number of government departments involved in examining such proposals and the granting of approval, at the end of the process. First of all I have been to town Planning office on more than one occasion and looked the EIAs for more than one proposal; I have looked at the proposal for the project that was to take place at North Point. I went on the last day advertised for examination of the proposal. Although It had been advertised, in the press for over two weeks, when I went there, only one person had examined it; persons who had examined the proposal had to sign in a book apart from mine, there was one other person. Similarly with the proposals for the Sugar Point Proposal, when I went to Barbados Port Inc, there was no other person who had examined the proposal. To Enuf, this EIA was a very large document; complete with technical details, photographs etc etc. This would be extremely difficult to download, and in any case these things are not disseminated over the internet. When the Erskine SAndiford Conference centre was to be constructed, Models were available for the public to peruse, etc, it was spoken about on the GIS program on TV, and yet people were commenting negatively on it without understanding its purpose. This will always happen when people are negative without even understanding what they are being negative about. The only way one can comment is by examining the facts. People seem to forget the buildings that were there after the Harbour Police station was closed. They may have forgotten that at that time there was discussion of using the site to place a hotel there. Of course, again, that was before the beautiful beach there now, was built by nature, with help fro the Coastal Zone Management Unit who had studied beach erosion, and had employed scientific methods to build the beach.

Enuff.
    The LEC is the certificate; post LLB, which you have to obtain to enable you to practice before the Bar. It requires another period of study, either in Jamaica or Trinidad, and it is only after successfully completing this period and passing the examinations that you can practise before the Bar; appearing before the supreme court etc. Without it you can teach law, or give legal advice etc. but you can’t appear in court and defend clients. All lawyers throughout the Caribbean must have this certificate before they are given permission to appear in court. I suspect that Mia may have been given an exemption based on one thing or another; possibly connections?

9. PS,
    What BS!! Even Rolls Royces break down, even though the Rolls Royce company will be reluctant to admit it. Mercedes breakdown, I have passed them stuck on the side of the road. Have you ever checked on the cost of parts for Mercs?

10. angela Skeete Avatar

Gazer exact sentiment to u dear …

11. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

PLT’s post was informative and interesting from a a number of views such as:-

the poor turn out….the average Bimmer leaves that for the DCs to deal with whilst they enjoy their saturday P&S.

Their lack of preparedness as far as sewage,parking and UNESCO is concerned suggests PLT is correct.

Their was absolutely no need for DC to attend as he will get all his answers in court.

Unfortunate that no one was able to get an answer as to where the funding is coming from.

No statement on energy source,solar or otherwise or how many desal plants are being installed.

Finally the lack of many political party member to be present either to support or oppose the building of something which is against the grain….
    in excess of the agreed number of storeys,
    building on a window to the sea,
    the destruction of heritage buildings on a UNESCO site,
    use of imported sand and other material …an fx drain,
    further tying Bim to brand name hotels when major destinations are moving toward community tourism

Today shows up the cavalier attitude of the developers, shows up the hopelessness of the masses and the ignorance of the political class in the truest term as to their role in matters like these.

12. Alvin Cummins
    Large files? PDF, split into sections and upload.
    So if “everyone” needs one why neither Grantley, Barrow, Tom, King, Tull, Billie, Cheltenham nor George Payne has/had one? 🤣

13. Vincent
    With permision already granted, today’s event was nothing more than a charade as aptly stated by PLT. I agree wholeheartedly with the no-shows.

14. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Vincent
    I asked about desal plant and got a response about low flow toilets ;-/

15. @Alvin Cummins
    The LEC is the certificate; post LLB, which you have to obtain to enable you to practice before the Bar. It requires another period of study, either in Jamaica or Trinidad, and it is only after successfully completing this period and passing the examinations that you can practise before the Bar
    ++++++
    What about the Bahamas? Isn’t it one of the territories where one can study for the LEC?

16. Alvin,

The LEC is just another racket run by lawyers. You do not need a LEC to be a conveyancer; nor a will writer; nor to appear in employment tribunals; most legal work is done outside the courts, in offices; nor to be an arbitrator..
    The LEC is important if you are a criminal lawyer or appearing in top business cases. In the UK you can be a magistrate without having a law degree, or any degree. You just need to be a JP.

17. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Sargeant June 10, 2017 at 5:33 PM

The answer is yes.

18. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Alvin Cummins June 10, 2017 at 3:56 PM

” I suspect that Mia may have been given an exemption”

You are getting warm.

19. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Alvin

Keep going.

20. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Welcome Prodigal

I thought that you had gone to the great beyond, but now I see that you are still with us.

21. Peter

I am not surprised as waffle answers was the order of the day.

22. angela Skeete Avatar

In Barbados the law states a practicing lawyer must be fully accredited and having a LEC is evidence that the lawyer is certified .the whole issue rest on a serious connection of a cover up of favouritism towards Mottley

23. @PLT
    The Hyatt Centric Carlisle Bay public information event this Saturday morning at the site was a pathetic charade. The caterers, Maloney staff and Hyatt representatives vastly outnumbered the handful of the public in attendance
    ++++++++++
    A charade to you but a roaring success to the sponsors, this subject has dominated the airways and has been a prominent feature on this blog, if Bajans can’t devote a couple of hours on a Saturday morning to voice their concerns pro or con it speaks volumes.

24. Alvin Cummins June 10, 2017 at 3:56 PM #
    “To Enuf, this EIA was a very large document; complete with technical details, photographs etc etc. This would be extremely difficult to download, and in any case these things are not disseminated over the internet. ”

1) They would actually be very easy to download. What universe do you live is? Respectfully, you do seem to be of advanced age and not too familiar with simple technology.

2) They should be ” disseminated over the internet.” for the widest possible consultation.

25. @Carson C. Cadogan June 10, 2017 at 12:22 PM “Denis Lowe and said he’s not a certified Doctor. Dr Lowe subsequent to that produced his qualifications and certifications to show he is a Qualified and legally practising Doctor.”

I challenged you before and I challenge you again. Look here:

https://ope.ed.gov/accreditation/

and tell me if you see the “university” from which Denis got his doctorate. It ain’t here, because that university is not a regionally accredited U.S. university. It is a diploma mill:

A diploma mill (also known as a degree mill) is a company or organization that claims to be a higher education institution but which offers illegitimate academic degrees and diplomas for a fee. These degrees may claim to give credit for relevant life experience, but should not be confused with legitimate prior learning assessment programs. They may also claim to evaluate work history or require submission of a thesis or dissertation for evaluation to give an appearance of authenticity.[3] Diploma mills are frequently supported by accreditation mills, set up for the purpose of providing an appearance of authenticity. The term may also be used pejoratively to describe an accredited institution with low academic admission standards and a low job placement rate. An individual may or may not be aware that the degree they have obtained is not wholly legitimate. In either case, legal issues can arise if the qualification is used in résumés. Wikipedia

Trump University was also a diploma mill, and was eventually shut down. Just because the President of the United States says that it is a university does not make it a university

26. David Comissiong Avatar
    David Comissiong

Fractured BLP June 10, 2017 at 5:26 AM #
    Wow …..
    Approaching 5:00 a.m on June 10, 2017 and hundreds of Barbadians and visitors alike are beginning to assemble on the proposed site for the Hyatt hotel.
    Seeing this buzz of activity – many in the crowd are beginning to ask – what are the protestations of the Jackass Commisiong really about ???
    BARBADOS deserves better …… than the mouthings & antics of these …….relics of the Communist era !!!!

0peterlawrencethompson June 10, 2017 at 9:00 AM #
    9:00 down here on Bay Street and the paid staff outnumber the public attendees by three to one

peterlawrencethompson June 10, 2017 at 9:07 AM #
    There are about 20 staff here including Maloney, about 4 who seem to be media, and about 7 who appear to be interested members of the public

DAVID : You should really ban dishonest clowns like “Fractured BLP” from the blog.

DAVID COMISSIONG

27. David Comissiong Avatar
    David Comissiong

The Barbadian people were right to ignore this “event”. This was nothing but a pathetic and meaningless public relations exercise that was being held four months after the Minister responsible for Town and Country Planning had already made his inherently flawed decision.

A meaningful Town Hall Meeting is held as part of the process of processing the Application for permission to carry out the construction project. It must be held PRIOR to any decision being made on the Application.

Furthermore, a report on the Town Hall Meeting and the inputs made by members of the public must be forwarded to the Town and Country Planning authorities so that they could be taken into consideration.

This was therefore NOT a meaningful exercise, and the Barbadian people were right not to attend the pappy-show !

DAVID COMISSIONG

28. @DC

It is the Internet a magnet that attracts the good, bad and indifferent.

29. David

Everyone seems to be overlooking the life span of an EIA. If an EIA was approved back in 2007, you have many questions to ask in 2017.
    Firstly, how many floors were approved in 2007? – Was it less than 15 stories?
    What was the square footage of the first EIA? – Is the building area more or less?
    Would we see a park and ride scenario since this area cannot accommodate staff parking, guest parking, suppliers parking, pass thru traffic and a host of inconveniences.
    How about sewage disposal. How many tanks can this area accommodate. Will it be below or above ground level. Where will waste water from laundry, kitchen, baths and run-off from the building go.
    Flooding usually takes place in this area, with a long stretch of building towards the ocean side, where will this water travel. Will we see water backing up in the Nelson Street Area? Will the road to Bridgetown becomes impassable?
    Will this luxury hotel take up part of the beach area.
    Will the height of this hotel increase high wind velocity like the area between the financial building and and the stores on the eastern side?
    Have the EIA factored in these 2017 nagging problems or will green light continue on the 2007 approval?
    Did some one see darkness at the end of the tunnel that all of a sudden we are hearing Hilton being sold, probably, this new hotel might carry away Hilton’s guests? Just asking?

Yes, people wedon’t have a problem with a hotel in the city, but it is our fundamental rights to ascertain that this EIA is updated so that we will not have a catastrophe on our hands.

Let the discussion begin.

30. angela Skeete Avatar

Bajans did not show up is a sign that there have no meaningful outrage against the Hyatt project. The long and short of the story was well played out with an absence of those which one would have suspect to be a majority against the building of the Hyatt given the long and tiring months of objective loud noises on Bu
    In effect what was heard on the proposed Hyatt site was the voices of the silent majority who gave a resounding Yea to the project which sends a message to Comissiong that his meddlesome and mischievous actions against the project flies in the face of what is in the best interest of Barbados and its people and his mouthing are ineffective in forming public sway.
    Two thumbs up to barbadians public for standing up for their country interest and not to be coerce into following the instructions of this Communist fool

31. The Hyatt will look great….. from a Cruise ship. A mini version of Miami Beach.

32. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@ David Comissiong

I agree wholeheartedly that Bajans were right to stay away from the Hyatt Centric propaganda. My own purpose in being there was to objectively observe the event so that I would be able to tell if the news media, or Maloney publicists or liars like Fractured BLP were distorting what occurred there.

33. https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/06/10/no-special-favours-for-hyatt-maloney/

“In addition, the businessman revealed that painstaking efforts were made to ensure that the concerns of surrounding residents pertaining to access to the beach as well as possible strain on the Bridgetown Sewage Treatment System were all addressed.”

34. Now that bajan society has ignored Comissiong public nuisances about having their voices heard on the proposed Hyatt project maybe Commissiong can take the next flight out to Venezuela and help repair the damage which has been inflicted on the poor people of venezuela by his friend and leader of Venezuela Nicolás Maduro

35. peterlawrencethompson June 10, 2017 at 9:53 PM #

@ David Comissiong

I agree wholeheartedly that Bajans were right to stay away from the Hyatt Centric propaganda. My own purpose in being there was to objectively observe the event so that I would be able to tell if the news media, or Maloney publicists or liars like Fractured BLP were distorting what occurred there.

Thank you peterlawrencethompson for attending and reporting. The meeting was reported on by Barbados Today but no mention of the poor turnout, or was it a boycott, of the horse and pony show.
    https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/06/10/no-special-favours-for-hyatt-maloney/

36. If only Commissiong was as adamant and as furious over the fact that his friend and professional college Mia was a practicing lawyer without having the full certification of a state required LEC ,
    Commissiong seems only to have one interest that of sticking his nose up govt rear end looking for trouble but ignore the glaring obvious actions of Mia who has parade for years in public view as a certified lawyer which she is not
    Just maybe for one day instead of Comissiong posing as public police with on sided and selfish goals in mind he might pose as public police with many goals in mind

37. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

Ass’s…here is the bottomline and I will ask Jeff a questiom, I dont expect you to understand cause ya are the dimmest of the yardfowls.

If Mia and the other lawyers with UK accreditation had their Temple Inn creditials GRANDFATHERED from 1987 to 1984 by the powers that be in Barbados at that time, the date they would have been allowed the privilege of practicing law without a local degree, I imagine not only the then attorney general, but also several legislators of those times would have as one unit, made the decision to extend to Mia and other lawyers from Temple Inn, that courtesy….they made the laws and rules at the time….they could do it.

I would also imagine that the same legislators who changed the requirements that an LEC was mandatory are the same legislators made the decision to exempt Mia and the other attorneys.

Ya just fell flat on ya faces yardfowls.

Ya got better things to do, like help DBLP get rid of their 2 indian blackmailers…chop, chop.

This is Mia degree last straw is quickly developing into a nonissue yardfowls, ya must be disappointed.

38. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Maloney is a well known liar, nothing he says ever amounts to anything near resembling the truth. …those lies work very well on politicians and government ministers well though, that’s the reason they have all become the victims of blackmailers and they don’t know what to do about it, despite having all the power to do something about it…..because of their reluctance to use those powers to rid the people on the island and themselves of these minority parasites like Maloney, their 2 indian blackmaikers et al, they are all between a rock and me.

39. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

“……and tell me if you see the “university” from which Denis got his doctorate. It ain’t here, because that university is not a regionally accredited U.S. university. It is a diploma mill:

A diploma mill (also known as a degree mill) is a company or organization that claims to be a higher education institution but which offers illegitimate academic degrees and diplomas for a fee.”

Always been like that, always will be like that, or you can just turn up at univerities like Dalhousie University fpr graduation and be issued a degree depending on who you are ….. sorry Grenville, I would imagine that ya studied real hard, trying to be perfect. .

“What BS!! Even Rolls Royces break down, even though the Rolls Royce company will be reluctant to admit it. Mercedes breakdown, I have passed them stuck on the side of the road. Have you ever checked on the cost of parts for Mercs?”

Alvin…that’s the very reason why taxpayer’s money should never be wasted on purchasing these mercedes ever again,…ever…again…..mercedes were not engineered for Fruendel’s potholed cart roads….but donkey carts and 4 wheel drive all terrain vehicles were, they even come fully loaded….with durability.

40. The fact that the developer saw the need to stage the event yesterday shows there was always room to do it up front read before Stuart approved the project.

41. angela Skeete Avatar

Bajans kmow a rat when they see one and Commisiong is a stinking rat who helped sold out the Venezuelan people to Communist poop propaganda and is hoping to do the same in Barbados with his twisted version of democracy using democractic laws to fight capatalist intervention in small island nations a fight which he sees as a payback for all which he perceives as evil done by america intervention and wrongs done to Cuba and now Venezuela.
    Bajans are not stupid and would not be drawn into a physcological battle of political propaganda which puts there country interest against an individual self interest
    The battle lines have been drawn Commissiong has shown his hand and the people have read it well and understands and resist his mischievous efforts
    So Comissiong to you i say keep singing your song this time around your tune is being heard on deaf years.

42. Based on the turnout of angela and Carson of late, it is clear that the DLP idiots are pissing themselves over the Hyatt issue, the Froon’s new ride, the ‘shot in the foot’ budget and other DLP idiotic moves.

Duh mek Bushie LAUGH!!!

LOL..
    When the DLP is squeezed, shiite comes out through their paid outlets…..

43. Armando Rodriguez Avatar
    Armando Rodriguez

The Hyatt Centric team did not want to do an EIA so chances are a few promises were made and magic, the TCPO and the Minister responsible didn’t see the need for one. One was not required and one was not provided.

The simple fact is that Hyatt Centric project team was not and still is not willling finance the millions and millions of dollars needed to mitigate all the risks this project has.

44. @Bush Te

Not even the DLP is that ignorant to unlease such idiocy in the social media space.

45. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Poor yardfowls…another fail..lol

46. LOL @ David
    Not even the DLP is that ignorant to unlease such idiocy in the social media space.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Bushie used to think so too…

…until they decided to buy an old abandoned hotel for millions of dollars
    ..pay millions to demolish it
    ..borrow $500M from the Chinese to rebuild it
    ..and then HAND IT OVER to a red skinned foreigner whose claim to fame is that he managed to piss on Paradise for over twenty years..

Now Bushie would not put it pass them to impose a shiite tax in order to raise money to give to Bizzy for collecting refuse to recycle…which a BLACK Bajan was PAYING the public for…

…. or to impose a ‘fine’ on those who sought to LEGALLY dispose of their garbage at the official dump (forcing them to dump it in gullies FREE OF COST..)

….or to tax overseas donations to the Salvation Army ..while he CANNOT touch the damn lottery – even after passing the law to tax them….

‘Ignorant’ does not justify these jackasses….
    More like BBBBBBBBB!!!
    …a big bunch bunch of brawling, black, Bajan brass bowl, buh-khunts…

47. angela Skeete Avatar

Comissiong is no fool he has straddled the fences of both political parties.He fully knows and understands their weakness and their strength .Maloney he sees as a weakness against the govt and cunningly uses Maloney as a lightning rod to push his selfserving agenda forward Commissiong has only one objective in mind an objective which would take Barbados and Barbadians right in to a conversion of socialist agendas like venezuela even though the evidence of failure shown by Venezuela and Cuba is their for all to see, but for him and his overblown and extended ego he must continue the fight using barbados and Barbadians as a staging ground to present his message to the evil capitalist of this world if in doubt read his last article on BU titled David kills Goliath which is an outwardly speak of ongoing hatred towards capitalism and democracy
    This pappy show which Comissiong has put on for the past year is an obvious disguise use to manipulate unsuspecting barbadians who are supposedly intelligent but however too small minded to understand or know when the devil has put his two cent worth in the details

48. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Ass’s…what are you ranting on about now….yall will still get kicked out ov the people’s parliament, ya are now unwelcomed guests overstaying ya welcome and leaving a stench, a couple stenches actually, but who is counting, there are so many…. there is no hope, this time next year ya will be an opposition yardfowl.