Members of the BU household love sports. As we type this blog we are congregated in front of the TV watching the Grenada Invitational. Those who cannot access ESPN 2 here is the link to the online stream.

The image above shows an emotional coach of the St. Michael School athletic program being comforted by principal of the school Dr. Yvette Mayers after being regaled as the 2017 Barbados Secondary Schools Athletics Champion.  Check the beaming facial expressions of the athletes in the background. Does anyone doubt the positive effect participation and success in sport can have on the youth of a country?

While Grenada  just next door opened the Kirani Stadium today and is currently hosting 126 athletes from 26 countries. Our Minister of Sports Stephen Lashley is begging each Barbadians for $10.00 to refurbish the National Stadium. There is little need to prolix on this issue to state how we feel about the state of sports in Barbados.

The millions collected by the lottery every year -what do we have to show for it besides the bevy of officials who get to travel the world and stay at four and five star hotels including Minister Lashley? The ramshackle space that is the National Stadium is a sad reflection on where Barbados now finds itself.

The dilapidated National Stadium

Fedup!

194 responses to “Stephen Lashley, Gimme $10.00”

1. I asked the same question years ago .where does the money from the Lottery go ?

2. This headline guarantees a laugh.Love it.Not one blind cent from me Stephen ‘Lil Hitler’ Lashley,not one blaine cent.

3. If we had any real journalists we would be able to get a breakdown of how the millions in annual funding that is channelled into ‘sport’ are spent.
    How can that be a secret?
    Why is it not public information?
    Is lottery money REALLY given to sport?
    How much is spent on travel? ….hotels? …per diems? …
    How much on athletes? facilities?

4. Bushie can’t find a shiite online….
    We may need Due Diligence to crack this case….

5. A good place to start is to ask if audited financials are prepared, by which accounting house, submitted to which governing body etc. Surely there is someone out there who has knowledge of the books and can conclude that athletes have been getting a raw deal.

6. Bush Tea April 8, 2017 at 9:12 PM #

“If we had any REAL JOURNALISTS we would be able to get a breakdown of how the millions in annual funding that is channelled into ‘sport’ are spent…”

@ Bushie

Come on, Bushie!!! Surely you should not have forgotten about Barbados’ “esteemed journalist extraordinaire,” Mr. Carl Moore.

7. CUP.Violet Beckles Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI Avatar
    CUP.Violet Beckles Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI

You all are again and always will be dealing with Crooks, Liars and Sucmbags, The money ,? Ask for the VAT that was to go to UDC at !5% for more than 20 years and we can not see a cent to eqaul the in housing collected, You all have jokes, , Same crook all the time no matter where you look BLP 14 years of crime and the DLP going on 10 years of the same bull, Vote them all OUT.

8. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

Bhamas Invitational, Caymanas Invitational, Jamaica invitational, Racer’s Club invitational, Martinique Invitational, Puerto Rico invitational and now Grenada. What about Bim? The trinis use to have the Hampton games, but I heard it is no more.

9. The Minister of Sport mussee mekking sport.

Not a cent.

not fa sh!te.

10. I hear that some Minister’s mummy dead and left him $5 million. Why Stevie don’t ask him for summa dat?

11. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

Both political parties have robbed 2 generations of bajan youth their opportunitues to excel in sports, they have one dude sitting his fat ass as head of the olympic committee for over 40 years from the 1960s…doing nothing, the dude Stoute…

It’s been years the government was told the stadium is derelict, they found money to waste on everything including shit celebrations, now Lashley got a nerve to be begging for money after the ministers all returned their 10% salary cut and made life harder for the majority. ..not a dime.

Thieves…go beg those ya gave away taxpayer’s and pensioner’s money to, what a nasty bunch.

12. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Car “Coward” Moore would be too afraid he would get no more pats on the head from ministers if he defended these wronged young people by exposing the two political parties fpr this decades old travesty…..he was never a real journalist but only the newspaoer water boy carrying for decades, whatever the 2 governments told him to carry..

13. Isn’t the stadium owned by the Lions Club?

14. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Michael Lashley

Go and ask the turf club for the money your shitty administration wrote off. While you at it, see if you can get Bizzy Williams and Mark Maloney to finance the National Stadium rebuilding initiative for free, since the amount of free money in so call contracts you have given to these two campaign financers as payback, should now see it as their patriotic duty to look after this project, which is mere fraction of the amount free money you have given to them. Bunch of ignorant misguided so in sos

15. For many Bajans it is not about giving $10.00. It is more about how successive governments have been unable to adequately maintain public buildings/contructions. So that if we were to build a 20 to 50 million dollar stadium we can immediately start the countdown to when it will fall apart. Why would we have allowed our national stadium to fall apart during a period the world has seen an explosion of professional sport. Added to which sporting disciplines are natural avenues for the youth population to positively express itself.

16. Like Cooperatives, sport is an avenue for significant community-centric development. In Barbados, however, we again see this national resource being used as a series of slush funds by select groups -under the guise of ‘sports and culture’ to dispense hundreds of thousands of dollars annually to their friends (and of course, to themselves), in the form of ‘grants’, travel funds, cars, ‘per diems expenses’ (which mean free money for you and your family), and bribes to those whose votes they need to keep them in perpetual office to enjoy the sweets.

Meanwhile, there is a precipitous fall in the quality of our sports facilities; athletes are begging and selling t-shirts in order to represent Barbados; there is no national structure for local sport; Cricket and football are not even near the levels they were at back in the 70’s; and the little school athletes are forced to run around in a slum-like ‘national stadium’.

If the lottery is indeed giving millions to sport and culture every year, then how can lack of money be the problem …where Lashley needs to beg for $10?

In any society of NON-brass bowls, there would be an inquiry into where the money is actually being spent (and if it is REALLY being provided) – since it is OBVIOUSLY not going into facilities, athletes or development.

17. Why would an aspiring young athlete waste their time in a two-bit country with a sham of a stadium when they could come to the UK and hopefully represent the country should they be sufficiently talented.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/athletics/39511744

18. Vincent Haynes Avatar

The National Stadium was facilitated by monies raised by The Bridgetown Jaycees in whose honour a stand is named.

The Minister should look for an NGO and let govt support it with an undertaking in “Crowdfunding”…..a proper budgeted exercise outside of the paws of govt would see this NGO offering the plan for funding to the diaspora as well as sourcing from the friends of Bim world wide.

Why do we in this 2×3 island make life so difficult….learn from the past…….we Jaycees did it 40 odd years ago……whats wrong with the new generation???

19. @Vincent

You do not know the answer?

A politician in Barbados must build his resume for a reason.

20. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Me, politician, all of us before country……yes I know the answer.

21. I would give $10.

22. Gabriel

I agree with you………not one cent of mine.

These morons we have as a government has given to Mark Maloney over 500 million dollars in contracts over the past 9 years. Instead of taking whatever comes back in whatever form to whomever or where ever, some of this should have used to rebuild the stadium. After all Maloney is supposed to be a concrete slab king.

This government came to office unprepared to govern……….only to blame the past government.

They never realised that governance is a continuing thing. In their incompetence they have not realised that the blame game has to stop and that they were supposed to build on what they found in 2008. Instead the only thing they understood is how to get rich quickly.

If we are serious about developing the talents of our young people while we wonder about the Jamaicans…….in the scheme of things should not the national stadium be a priority over the Gymnasium?

Just asking!

23. angela Skeete Avatar

Prodigal you are one sick mudder. You have so much hatred for Maloney that you would put the talent of barbadian atheltes on the sacrificial political altar.
    Repeat you are one sick mudder

24. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Not a goddam dime for these useless ministers, not a dime. Ya don’t give away ya ass to greedy, selfish minorities and then dont have ribs to shit through….it serves them right, they already disenfranchised 2 generations of young athletes who could have exceled if not for stupid, visionless government ministers…. not one dime.

25. angela Skeete Avatar

You WWW need to shut yuh stink mout. What de f do you care you sit all day at the computer talking nuff shit abd that is about all you have to offer.
    Yet wunna always talking about giving the youth a chance

26. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

As’s………yall still aint getting a dime, yall are thieves and sell outs…ya slave minded reprobates.

27. LOL @ WW&C April 8, 2017 at 11:49 PM
    Why are you cussing Steve Stoute? …Is he still around?

An online search reveals hardly a single word from this man since way back in 2012 or so – except for some reports last year that he had ‘stepped down from office’….
    Surely he would have given some speech, some interview… or taken some actions related to this issue of funding the Stadium …and at least handed over his $10.00 to Lil Hitler…

Poor Lashley…
    They always seem to make him say these ridiculous things about getting a “new stadium” / Gym/ Empire building/ Policy on youth/ Policy on sport…. while the long-term administrators who has been around for 40 years, NEVER seem available for comment.

28. @ Bushie,

Yuh better dig up de trident.

4 car crashes and 2 people shot i dead.

29. angela Skeete Avatar

Www nobody a bigger thief and scalliwag than you. You are a offspring of naked departure that use BU to spread lies and idle gossip about people. Yuh sh..t stinks just or more so than the people you talk about you and that old hag of naked departure are one of the same.Except you hid and do yuh duhty deeds on Bu

30. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

The Bushman..theor blught and curse is alive and well…then there is that damned buried pitchfork.

I have never met educated people quite that stupid, they threw themselves off a cliff aided by those who they helped enrich, but are still trying to hold on to those who robbed the country….and Lashley got the nerve to want the population who got robbed, who the ministers made sure were robbed, to pay for a new stadium. ..ya cant make this up….something is wrong with that mental brain freeze.

31. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

What did I just tell ya Bushman……stupid ACs, was it not Fruendel all hugged up with the Naked Departure blog mistress, did you see me anywhere in that photo or have you ever seen me anywhere with her, unlike you, instead of hiding and pimping around Naked Departure, I actually post on it, just like any other blog…are you retarded…does yall stupidity knows no bounds…yall really need to dig up that cursed pitchfork….as a matter of fact, the way things are going for yall…….dont.

The Bushman..their blight and curse is alive and well…then there is that damned buried pitchfork.

32. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

And yall aint getting a dime for no new stadium ACs…….find the money yall stole and gave away by the hundreds of millions….money that could have built several staduims.

33. Instead of giving Maloney 23 million to build the poorly built Grotto blocks which clearly were not needed as this is years now they have been built and as I understand only four are rented………. that money could have more than built a new stadium…………there would have been even some money left over for the dlp coffers…

34. When I tell you that Barbados is burdened with a dont care arrogant government…………I kid you not.

They do not have a clue how to manage an economy. They have no sense of how to prioritise spending the taxpayers monies.

They have suddenly awoken and now realised that there is a pressing need for a new stadium having been in office since 2008. It is now 2017 and the clown we have for a sports minister brilliant idea is to ask Barbadians for $10.

Just a few days ago Richard Sealy announced that the government will spend 17 million to retrofit space at LESC for the PM and some departments. He said nothing of the move being temporary……….well we know so well the dems are liars.

Next day ISG and Kellman came out spinning that Richard Sealy said it was temporary only when they heard Barbadians speaking out on Brasstacks that there must be an ulterior motive behind this move. Why the sudden rush in an election year? This decision should be left to the next administration.

When the dead king built those two buildings in Warrens out of NIS monies which by the way…….they are not repaying, he said that it was his intention to move government headquarters up there. Therefore those offices must have been purpose built. Why not move up there?

So they want to tell Barbadians that the government could find 17 million which was not included in the recent estimates but cannot find money to rebuild a new stadium for the nation’s children?

This is a government that has lost its way ……..and the people are the victims.

35. @ Hants
    Yuh better dig up de trident.
    4 car crashes and 2 people shot i dead
    Not stinking Bushie bozie…
    Bushie warned DEM not to plant it in the first place…

Now it will be hell if they leave it….
    and Hell to pay if they dig um up….

The truth is that is was only BBE’s grace that kept us relatively safe in the past. The place was ALWAYS packed with useless, incompetent brass…still suffering the trauma of 400 years of slavery.

Now that we have overwhelmingly rejected BBE and gone for the greedy, selfish albino-centric ways of unrighteousness, and actually installed the monument to the new boss…. BBE has gracefully stepped back… in respect of our conscious choices.

The promise however remains, that …..”if my people, who belong to me, humble themselves, pray, seek to please me, and repudiate their sinful practices, then I will respond from heaven, forgive their sin, and heal their land.” 2 Chron. 7:14

Sack cloth and ashes Hantsie….
    …the ONLY true solution.

36. Last November when we celebrated 50 years of independence , we should have included a special celebration for some of the stands at the National Stadium, which originally were the stands erected at the Garrison for the flag raising ceremony there. Given the Government’s lack of maintenance of any kind, I am surprised that this section of stands , which were probably hastily put together , and subsequently exposed to the full elements of the Atlantic Ocean , have not collapsed long ago.
    Lashley’s ministry may be most able to contribute millions of dollars to the rebuilding of the National Stadium, if he takes the step of moving his offices out of the palatial Sky Mall, which incidentally was adapted and given an expensive face lift, probably costing as much as it would take to overhaul the National Stadium, before Lashley became Bizzy’s cash COW Tenant. There are an abundance of Government buildings which Lashley’s Ministry can occupy or share office space, including LESC, at least for the next 10 months of so.
    After offering out the begging bowl for the National Stadium, whats next? Combermere School, Public Library, Government Head Quarters, Lights on the ABC Highway, John Boyce’s General Hospital or Andrews Super Sugar Factory.

37. Hants April 9, 2017 at 8:05 PM #

4 car crashes and 2 people shot i dead.
    …………………………………………………………….
    Fake news???? I am sure that I heard a leading politician on CBC news tonight, among other things praising the Constituency Councils for making Barbados a safe place for all to walk.
    BTW. A 2-year old was knocked down yesterday in a collision with a vehicle ,after allegedly. running across a busy Christ Church street.
    Everything in this country has gone a – cock.

38. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

http://i.imgur.com/rq88FSb.jpg

Bushman…dont waste ya breath, these greedy pigs are the only people the coward, greedy, weak slave minded government ministers and their like minded yardfowls intend to humble to, prostrate themselves in front of and steal hundreds of millions of taxpayer’s dollars and pensioner’s money their own people’s money to give to…they are a lost cause and the divine knows better than to waste any precious time on them, or interfere, before they find a way to also sell out the divine….they are blighted and cursed with their slave minds, thedemons driving them will only get worse, not better, they are better left on their own to implode.

39. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Not a dime for Lashley…little pretensive cretin.

40. Colonel Buggy has a way of making these things so clear….

The fact that this minister could bypass so many AVAILABLY government buildings that we ALREADY pay for….and actually pay Bizzy huge rents for that Skye Mall office is instructive.

It is also reflective of the sports leaders – who never seem short of funds for international travel at first class rates ….. to meaningless conferences…. with ‘skye’ high per diems … that do NOTHING for local sport.
    ….but who then always have elaborate explanations as to why we CANNOT afford to fund athletes; …to provide facilities; …..to organise local events; …. or to fund sports scholarships.

Bushie always wondered why so many ex-athletes seemed to be hostile towards them…. even those that gained international success.

Imaging this government – faced with almost TWENTY downgrades, ….and their current focus is to find TWENTY MILLION DOLLARS …to UPGRADE their office space by moving from Bay Street to LESC.

NOBODY can convince Bushie that these people are not being led by Satan himself,
    or as the old people used to say, “dem MUST have the devil in their donkeys…”

41. Vincent Haynes Avatar

WW&C

Read the monday Nation pg 17 and let me hear a comment from you on it.

42. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Vincent……is it online, can you post it, I have never been able to access nationnews online by page number.

43. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/95545/equipped-govt

This post is provocative Vincent, I am not sure if this is the one you mean, but it makes me wonder why there is a garbage pickup problem in Barbados at all, with Dennis incompetent Lowe unable to manage his ministry, particularly garbage, particularly sewage and it seems there are more than enough garbage haulers with the most efficient heavy duty equipment to keep the island clean, one wonders, what is the problem.

44. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

What makes me even more curious, is seeing that greedy, avaricious Bizzy likes to jump in front to hog up every opportunity on the island, particularly when blacks people are trying to get any available opportunities, in his bid to stop them and have them all work for him with his slavemaster mentality…..and seeing as the 2 corrupt governments refuse to rein in Bizzy, his ilk and their greed….why dont Chandler ask Bizzy to subcontract the government work he likes to hog for himself…to Chandler.

45. Vincent Haynes Avatar

WW&C

Yup…..thats the one…..looks like all of the same skin tone are not in the trough.

Good comment re the garbage situation and what about the sewage on the south coast,that equipment could have handled it.

Is it that we have a moral person who is not into brown paper bags????

46. @ Vincent
    Steupsss….
    You is just ‘gallows bait’…

Both you and Chandler know what needs to be done…
    What the hell do you think will happen if he gets work just so…. while others have to make the ‘necessary arrangements’?

The damn place mash up!!!

…besides, you know that “Polly’s’ mouth ain’t got no cover – he would talk…. like Bizzy…

Can you imagine someone texting Murray about a ‘cut’…. ??!!!
    Murda !!!

47. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Bush Tea April 10, 2017 at 9:27 AM #

Chuckle…….

48. Being over taxed, under paid and now we are being asked to contribute $10.00 to re-build a stadium. Yet one ministry was able to pull-off two multi-million dollars multi-storied headquarters. The five storied building in the Pine could have housed BWA, Agriculture, Environment with space for other Governmental operations. The millions being pumped into the Sanitation Building could have been transferred to the Ministry of Sports to correct the various maintenance problems including the Stadium.

49. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Vincent…Chandler is patiently waiting his turn for a contract, ah guess his knows how 2 generations of blacks feel when opportunities were deliberately denied them in favor of the likes of Bizzy, we wont want him turning into another Bizzy or Cow when he sees the possiblities and bring in his partners…and he obviously dont want to work under greedy Bizzy….or be a bribemaster or extort million dollar contracts from corrupt government ministers, after being extorted for election campaign financing…,….and according to Bushman…he would let the whole island know anyway………lol

50. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

A nugget of wisdom …….. explains fully the fools of parliament.

“History teaches us methods of coping. We learn from experience. Why do we teach our children things? We don’t want them to make the same mistakes we did. In teaching history, we transfer from one generation to the next methods of solving problems. When we don’t pass history on, you don’t pass on problem solving methods and techniques to the next generation. That generation, without a sense of history, is unable to solve problems, because it has not received methods to do so. It’s important to understand that the history we’ve been taught is not a history that brings with it problem-solving skills and other things needed to solve the problems that we face as African people.”-Dr Amos Wilson