The Cabinet of Barbados

Peter Wickham described Barbados Underground recently as the Eric Fly of this time. Living up to the characterization- although a more euphemistic description in the view of the BU household is that we are a fiercely patriotic Bajan family -two recent events should give Barbadians reason to pause.

The Hyatt Hotel project to be developed by a local company under the title Vision Development with principal Mark Maloney, AND, the BNTLC sale to SOL have been forced to freeze rollout because the court has issued injunctions. David Comissiong in his capacity as a concerned citizen advocate was successful in the case of the Hyatt Hotel project and RUBIS Barbados the other.

Why are the two events important?

Barbados continues to be affected by a protracted weak economic performance triggered by the global economic crisis of 2008. We are a country dependant on revenues from tourism,  international business and foreign direct investment. Economic analysts agree if Barbados is to support the standard of living we have become accustomed and addicted- one largely built on consumption behaviour -it is important for the three sectors to be performing together. Although the government promotes the ‘success’ of the tourism sector, unfortunately it does not have the earning capacity to satisfy our level of expenditure.   This is important because Barbados is a significant net importer of goods and services and saddled with the current economic model means we must EARN and BORROW foreign exchange to ballance the chequebook.

In the 2017-2018 Estimates Debate foreign inflows announced by the minister of finance Chris Sinckler to be generated from the Hyatt and BNTCL projects were expected to top up government’s dwindling foreign reserves.  Sinckler’s position echoed that of the Prime Minister’s delivered at the BCCI luncheon in January of this year:

These “delayed inflows” that were on the way included funds from China for the start of the construction of the new Sam Lord’s Castle, and the expected sale of the BNTCL to Simpson Oil Ltd. for US$100m. Mr. Stuart said that within a week of the luncheon he expected to be able to give the green light to the proposed Hyatt Hotel project in Bridgetown, and then offered a list of upcoming hotel projects which would bring more foreign investment into the country – Broad Street Journal

Now that David Comissiong and RUBIS Barbados have been granted a temporary injunction by the Courts of Barbados one has to ask how will this affect government’s plan to generate economic activity and to earn foreign exchange.  It is important for Barbados to break free from the anaemic economic performance of the past eight years if only to dissuade the analysts from S&P and Moody’s from assigning a credit rating of D. Contrary to the view of government talking heads, further credit rating downgrades will continue to chase away foreign investors. BU is acutely aware however that we are in the silly season. The timely rollout of the Hyatt project and sale of BNTCL will have a negative impact on government’s economic plan. BU speculates if the decision to seek injunctive relief by RUBIS was triggered by a green light notification from the FTC.

In a situation where two significant projects will suffer delays a normal response from a responsible government would have been to issue a statement informing the citizenry of plan B. Not surprising  however has been the silence from the Stuart administration since the development. After all this is a government that has distinguished itself by giving lie to Abraham Lincoln’s view of how a democratic government should function by being a government of the people, by the people, for the people.

We enjoy the silence.

167 responses to “Hyatt and BNTCL Conundrum”

1. Tron,

Ireland is not back on track. It is a basket still. Stop getting important economic information from Barbados Today

2. Gabriel,

“confronted by the same challenges as his peers”. The Americans use the word “challenge” for all kind of disabilities.

“highest intellectual, social and political goals”. His BMW X5 number MP68? In any other country, Sinckler would be a greenkeeper or something like that.

“worst financial crisis the world has seen in nearly a hundred years”. Wrong. Correct: Worst crisis since the first English settlers came to Barbados.

“have succeeded in stabilizing the Barbados economy”. Wrong. He drives Barbados into the abyss.

“avoid devaluation”. Wrong. We have internal devaluation. No wage hike since many years, highest prices for food and cars in the region.

“continued the process of restructuring of the Barbados economy”. Put “Barbados government debts, including CS loan facility, instead of “Barbados economy”.

3. @Hal

Calm down, the source of the information is from the former Guv.

4. David,
    I have no problem with Ireland. But do you expect the governor to say otherwise? Ireland is sweeping up all the debris caused by Brexit, along with its low corporation tax. Barbadians must learn to think for themselves.

5. @Hal

We do not produce.

The economic fundamentals are built on the pillars of tourism, international business and FDI. All more vulnerable to exogenous shocks especially in a global environment where there is flight of capital from South to North where the threat of tax havens/shelters are now treat,ed with hostility by OECDs.

6. David,

What is the point you are making?

7. @Hal

In a nutshell our service economy cannot support our lifestyle in the current configuration of geopolitics. When you consider our high debt burden what wiggle room do we have to develop?

8. David,
    You have hit it on the head. Living beyond our means. You mentioned FDI, tourism and international business.
    We only get about 600000 tourists a year, most of those from Britain and holidaying on their credit cards; international business has only created about 4000 jobs; and most FDI is in buying property, people such as the alleged fraudster Keenan R. Hauke.
    Our problem, David, is our conservative mindset; groupthink; we are in a cognitive trap. That is a bigger problem than we realise.
    Some of us have a romantic attraction to Barbados, and in my case the people of the Ivy, but I can live out the rest of my days without ever visiting Barbados again.
    To be brutally frank, it is not just disagreement with the ruling DLP over policy, the reality is that the Cabinet is a group of economic buffoons.

9. Have look at Consolidated Finance financials in today’s Nation newspaper. Cash and balances with Central Bank increased from 25 million to 42 million 2016 over 2015. However, Investment Securities, presumably in government paper, decreased from 23 million to 13 million 2016 over 2015. There you have it, draw your conclusions.

10. David,

That is an extract from the central bank report. I rest my case. If the Nation is economically illiterate, what about the Advocate and Barbados Today. We need journalists to scrutinise these reports.
    Training, David. Training.

11. @ Hal Austin (the whole damn morning so far…)
    Boss, you are on a roll…… “shotting”, as the fellas would say.
    At one point Bushie had to go and check the safe to see if you had, somehow, stolen the whacker yuh!!!

To be brutally frank, it is not just disagreement with the ruling DLP over policy, the reality is that the Cabinet is a group of economic buffoons.
    We are living beyond our means
    Barbadians must learn to think for themselves.
    …..
    WAIT!!!!
    Hold that last quote….
    Brass bowls CANNOT think….
    First they would need to be transformed.
    ….only one correction needed…. 🙂

12. CUP Violet Beckles Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZ Avatar
    CUP Violet Beckles Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZ

Gabriel March 31, 2017 at 1:02 PM #

http://www.dlpbarbados.org/site/candidate/mr-christopher-sinckler/ @@@

A bold face crook liars and pure scumbag,

13. Nobody ever says that Americans are living beyond their means.

We know the Bajan and they can hardly be so described.

Yes, they were mislead by OSA and others. But for 10 years there was hardly any opportunities so to do.

Yes, there was wastage, mal-administration etc

But, it is misguided to call people who have been struggling to make ends meet for a decades, as living beyond means. Austerity after austerity.

Such a descriptive epithet is at best anachronistic

For an ability to live beyond one’s means after 10 years of depression/recession is an impossibility.

Any largesse would have long found its way out of the country.

This uncharitable characterization is a staid attempt to blame the poor by the merciless.

What has happened to Barbados and Bajans is that the structures of economics have markedly change.

Bajans live no more beyonf their means than the people of Greece and most of the world

Those trite notions, blaming the poor, come from brain spaces firmly located in the old economy model.

Instead of the infantile process, when are the structures of the new economy model are to be reveal, making the future better than the past.

Are there any takers!

That conclusion can only be the formation of a vacuous mind.

14. CUP Violet Beckles Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZ Avatar
    CUP Violet Beckles Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZ

Hants March 31, 2017 at 9:39 AM #

“The Barbados economy could be thrown into a tailspin and be hit with two more downgrades by June, if the court case between Rubis West Indies Limited and Sol energy group is not settled urgently.”

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/03/30/stephen-sol-deal-critical/@@@@

Hants@@ they cant not stop the down grades they are coming no matter what, Two,they on the outsiders want to rebuild Barbados in their cements image,On the rebuilt the right way like a stockmarket dropping or falling and rebuilt as the fools in Bim sell off all things to save the PONZI,The PONZI needs money , the problem is the inside PONZI working for the people are still asleep , for they are now printing for inside election 155 million and not 50 million, Three, Now the Outside PONZI needs out side CASH , not investment, But they are using and showing Investment for the people can see that, But the People can not see the PONZI,So there are TWO PONZI going on at the same time,

Court or no court the deal will only last for election time and by the 2 to 3 years Barbados will have to sell off the women to get USD on the Hill to pay off the government debt pass on to the PUBLIC.

15. Pacha,

Barbadian problems mirror Greek problems.

Indeed, austerity makes no sense alone. Higher taxes do not increase productivity. As long as Barbados suffers low productivity, lack of investment with foreign currency and generally the distrust of the international community, there won´t be any improvement of the situation. Rather, austerity, combined with the conservation of the bloated public sector and all other outdated institutions like senate and the many state agencies, will drive the economy into the abyss.

However, since nobody will change the course of this country during the next months, the economic environment will deteriorate further. On the Greek scale of tragedy, we are now in the year 2012. Look at the following austerity measures implemented in Greece. Then you know what comes next in Barbados. If you think that the VAT cannot be increased, you are wrong. The politicians will do it as long as they can increase their own salaries at the expense of the population.

16. @ David March 31, 2017 at 7:48 AM #

@Artax

………………”If what Leslie Hayne is quoted in the media is correct i.e. two different criteria for submission of offers occurred then”…

……………………………………………..

This is how this government operates so that their preferrd person can get the contract. This same thing happened to an associate of mine who made a bid for a contract. This person is not political at all……. He found out later in a conversation with an insider that the person who was awarded the contract that the specs on which he bid were quite different to the person who got the contract.

Need I say that the winner is a hardcore dem!

17. David

Say what you like…….Eric Fly was one of the best when it came to political theatre. When ever I wanted a good laugh, I went to one of his meetings…………talk about jokes! He uttered many a truth in his comedic meetings!

18. Tron

We generally agree

Ordinary Bajans were told to get into more personal debt and build houses with extra rooms for world cup cricket visitors

They were led to believe that large oil and gas resources lay offshore and a bumper harvest awaited.

They saw mindless elites driving bigger and bigger vehicles and living in larger and larger houses.

Harold Hoyte, for example, a old effing man , at 70, was building a mansion. Maybe a mausoleum will follow.

They saw a feckless government building stadia in the country, for one tournament.

Instead of blaming poor people who just tried to follow those calling themselves leaders other reasons should be found.

If all that OSA and his regime. And FJS and his regime did was successful they would have taken the credit.

Since they were both failures they, the so-called leaders, should also take the blame, and be adequately punished.

Don’t blame the sheeple, behead the shepherd!

19. @Pacha

Who will behead the shepherd, the sheeple?

20. Prodigal
    You understand that in a small island state trust is a sine qua non.If trust is compromised on a regular scale,our people must change the rules drastically with severe penalties like heavy fines,forfeitures,imprisonment,disbarment from holding political office etc.This corruption is sickening to the core.We need more than a whacker now.Gird thyself! These DLP fellows almost as bad as Trump the mafiao type guy who doing everything wrong.The Federal government paying for all his weekend jaunts which are always at one of his properties.The Feds trying to keep up with the golf buddies and suspect he closing deals on the golf course.

21. @ Pacha
    Boss, when we say that Bajans are living beyond our means, we speak of the country as a whole… not of the dispossessed brasses whose ambition in life is to attend Reggae on the Hill in a new dress.

If Bajans empower JA’s who build useless stadia, burn down prisons and then accept higher bids from novice, crooked VECO, …spent like madmen on CAHILL and Four Seasons, Give away the shop to Sandals….. and insists of buying German automobiles to move around in a small flat island …..then they are CONDONING, SUPPORTING and ENCOURAGING the country’s “living beyond its productive means”.

We have been living off the proceeds of loans and prostitution, in the form of tourism – where foreign owned brothels entice johns (tourists) to come and have their fantasies fulfilled.
    What the hell have Bajans been producing? … not even sugar, cause all Vincent do is talk shiite – while Trinis and Guyanese have been brought in to run the local industry (into the ground like they did theirs)

Don’t blame what people what!!??
    Whose fault do you think it is …. Stinking Bushie’s?
    The damn Americans can afford to do it – they have the military, the albino-centric drive, and the commitment, to kill anyone, and everyone who complains about their printing money….

So just because you see your neighbour Bushie living large ….you going and beg and borrow to keep up…?
    You know who Bushie’s (adoptive) father is…???

yuh would be a real brass bowl to mind the bushman… 🙂

22. CUP Violet Beckles Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZ Avatar

Frustrated Businessman aka ‘Nation of Laws’ my ass. March 31, 2017 at 10:40 AM #
    can’t invest in BS&T, Banks, CLICO, Sagicor, Barbados Farms and all the traditional safe investments that have been sold to foreigners@@

All of these companies have a lot of things in common, Land fraud and a PONZI system , No one trust them
    we hold the Plantation deed for all these companies, So who will invest,Mark is the frontman for the DLP as COW was the front man for the BLP,,I the BLP wins you will se COW in full swing again,

23. Pacha,

The same in Greece. The politicians told the ordinary citizens that the introduction of the EUR would be fantastic. Now they are trapped. You know who went to jail? The boss of the Greek bureau of statistics who revealed that the Greek public budget was a sham. What a shame.

It needs a very powerful rule of law like in the US to held politicians and public officers accountable. Look at Trump: The federal courts limit his populist approach. Even his own man for the Supreme Court stood up against him.

24. @Bush Tea March 31, 2017 at 6:11 PM

Big automobiles: Why has Barbados not switched to electric cars? The distances are short enough, we have no winter and enough sun to power the cars. And electric cars are low-maintenance. You know why? Since somebody would not profit anymore from selling oil in Barbados for many, many millions …

25. The current setup forces subscribers to sell to the grid at FTC approved rates that is not ROI sensible.

26. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

Tron…….ufair pratices rule the island, it would never enter these fools for ministers tiny, petty minds, that they have been for 50 years disadvantaging and disenfranchising a whole population to keep a few car dealerships and gas statons that don’t even pay liveable wages viable so they can earn millions, you are not dealing with intelligent ministers, just like the lawyers, they are mediocre.

You can judge them by how they are sitting waiting for EU yo tell them they do not want anymore sugar, instead of creatig new income generating sectors….they are waiting for someone to either free or enslave them.

27. @ David & Tron
    The current setup forces subscribers to sell to the grid at FTC approved rates that is not ROI sensible.
    Good call…!!
    The “current setup” is a good way to term it….

Do you now appreciate that our politicians are under the control of the bribe-masters?
    Under the ‘current setup’, even no-brainers like electric cars are under the control of these monsters who have purchased the loyalty of our leaders with their bribes.

Few businesses have taken off, and shown more potential in Barbados than has the solar energy business. (…and the refuse recycling one – but that is another story)…

The power company initially ‘poo-pooed’ the concept as”too expensive”, …then as “too disruptive” to their system ….then as needing complex and expensive regulations -managed by THEM.
    When local businesses continued to thrive DESPITE BL&P’s nastiness, (supported by the Fear Trading poppets) ….Emera themselves stepped in with their OWN massive plant – which suddenly was economically great, technically easy, and which now fitted into their grid with ease.

Meanwhile, the local business has been stifled, local solar owners are effectively providing BL&P with dirt cheap energy to sell back to the same brass bowls at a profit (for Canadians), and the same (or even worse) monopolistic conditions have been maintained – thanks to the Government (under advisement from the notorious Quisling), the Fear Trading jokers, and the albino centric BL&P /Emera.

Same identical shiite with electric cars…. which are resisted by dealers in favour of the old, nasty, traditional ICE technologies….while a cartel owned by the usual suspects seem to control the local market to their own advantage.

All this for a couple shiite dollars in bribes for low-life politicians….. and all tolerated and winked at by stupid-assed, brass bowl Bajans….

…and Pacha is arguing that such brass bowls are not living beyond their means…?
    Wuh Bushie’s damn pets seem to be more intelligent – and they don’t own any bling.

28. BREAKING NEWS

+++ the Queen visits Barbados next year +++ S&P upgrades Barbados to Tripe-A +++ Moody´s apalogizes +++ UAE buys exploration rights for 10 billion USD +++ Frundel resigns next Monday +++ sanitation trucks on time +++ water problems solved +++ Barbadians working harder than ever, new record 100h per week by a civil servant +++ Minimal wage 1000 USD per week +++ no backlog at Supreme Court anymore +++ all duty on imports banned +++ VAT lowered to 5 % +++ the brightest people stay on the island +++ DLP wins third term, MAM emigrates +++ earth is flat +++

Happy 1st April 2017.

29. Harry Potter known as waiting Avatar
    Harry Potter known as waiting

Old-timers warn if a man or a country has certain friends the man or country don’t need enemies. What does David Commisiong, Bizzy and Cow, Leslie Haynes ( how he avoid being a lawyer in the news), Mark Smart Williams, Al Tricks Gilkes and BU yard fowls have in common.

30. @Hal

We discussed yesterday the structure of the Barbados economy to services and its vulnerability to external positions affecting tourism, international business and FDI. Read the following article from your favourite newspaper.

31. David,

The island is a mess. The Irish-Canadians are the main people who use Barbados as an offshore place to put money.
    David |I will give simple illustration of how every institution in Barbados is involved in this dishonesty.
    If a non-Barbadian is bringing money in to the country the first thing his/her attorney tells them is to register the money with the central bank. As you know, the main purpose of this I to allow you to remove the money if things do not work out.
    However, if an expatriate Barbadian wants to bring money in to the country, to buy property, for example, they walk in to a bank and give personal details, including occupation, employer, home address, and often make a deposit from an overseas bank cheque.
    So, from the beginning the bank knows that this is an overseas client; after all they send the statements to that address.
    However, if that person tries to withdraw that money in pounds or US dollars there is a maximum (it was Bds$1000) imposed on the account and the idiots try to stamp you passport.
    So, it is the Barbadian who suffers.
    On the other hand, another way that foreigners move money out of Barbados is by selling assets at a fake low price, which they declare to the ta authorities, then the agreed outstanding amount is settled overseas. It is the same trick used in Zimbabwe.
    Remind me, who is that Irish-Canadian operating in St Philip.

32. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/03/31/leacock-calls-for-end-to-trial-by-jury/

What took this joke so long to realize that there is a problem and what is Chief Justice Gibson doing about it, has he even noticed…and still Leacock is not addressing the real causes, mediocre lawyers maliciously squander court dates to either frustrate the cases and claimants in the cases of personal injury or to continue fleecing their clients for years, stealing from their clients….that is the main problem and cause of the clogged system…this is a problem the chief justice and judges can fix immediately by stopping lawyers from doing this, it’s wicked and destructive to the court system..

Judges are switched around before they can complete cases they become familiar with, this is counterproductive and creates more backlogs, a simple case that can be finished in an hour should not be in the high court for 8 years or the judge switched in the middle of the trial particularly when the lawyers have wilfully squandered all the court dates to keep the cases from finishing, what is Chief Justice Gibson doing about this, he knows what the problems are, why are they not being fixed…..why is everything so inefficient….when a court date or trial date is set, lawyers should never be able to lie to the judge to change them for frivolous reasons, judges should have better control of these mediocre lawyers.

“Leacock calls for end to trial by jury
    Added by Marie-Claire Williams on March 31, 2017.
    Saved under Court, Local News
    Pin It
    Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) Charles Leacock, QC, today called for an end to trial by jury as he made yet another appeal for an overhaul of the justice system, which is virtually crumbling under the weight of a backlog of thousands of cases.

Leacock told participants at a Regional Security System (RSS) course on prosecuting drug offences that there are over 10,000 cases awaiting trial in the Magistrates Courts here and another 800 in the High Court, with 200 being added every year.”

33. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Tron…the article I posted above, Leslie Haynes is one of the malicious, mediocre attorneys who clog up the supreme court with personal injury cases, leaving hundreds of cases in limbo deliberatelyvand for decades…the judges, his friends, enable him with this vile wickedness, the judges do not have better control of their courtrooms and the lawyers because of these friendships, making the situation even worse, he did it as attorney for CLICO, unknowing to his clients, while taking cases against the insurance company, am sure he did not miss the opportunity to be unethical as the current attorney for CGI Insurance either , now leaving dozens of cases stagnant in the supreme court because he knows how to play the judges by lying to them and squander all available court dates and trial dates making it impossible to get court dates to complete cases…..the chief justice is npt addressing the real problems that are causing the backlog as Amused told us for a very long time.,, rest his soul.

Leslie Hayne’s greed and maliciousness is a very big part of the problem in the supreme court as are his fellow mediocre attorneys.

34. Why is the RSS involved in a seminar on drug offences. I know the Americans like to see everything as a security issue, and this is what they are forcing on the RSS, but in Barbados we must withdraw from this creeping, power-crazy organisation. The RSS is a threat to our democracy.
    In any case we do not want the Guyana-born DPP thinking about his job and chewing gum. He may trip up himself.
    By the way, how did he get this job?

35. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Good question Hal, how did he get that job, which corrupt, inept government put him there, I believe it has been said it was the Owen Arthur government probably Mia Mottley as then attorney general unleashed that jackass Leacock on Barbados to further screw up the justice system.

I remember hearing with my ears, this lawyer Trotman, cant recall his first name, but his wife is currently ill and trying to get dimwit Adriel Brathwaite to approve medical marijuana, that dude, I distinctly heard him talking about this case file that has been langushing in the supreme court since 1987 and here is the reason, according to him, every mediocre attorney who has had that file has moved up in the legal world in Bim, well as far as ya can move in such a tiny place anyway, now he has that file, so they are all maliciously taking turns without the knowledge of their client, to keep the case in the supreme court, as a goodluck talisman….that is beyond evil….this is 2017, from 1987, do the math.

My first question was, are any of the judges familar with the case still alive….another attorney chimed in, ya mean are any of the witnesses still alive, my next question to Trotman, do you intend to finish your client’s case or just pass it on to another mediocre attorney…for good luck..

So no surprise that there was an unethical David Thompson and Leslie Haynes at Clico damaging the supreme court….the chief justice was apparently brought in from NYC, not to fix it, but to keep it nonfunctional, inefficient and incompetent…to enrich the unethical.

36. Well we,

You made an interesting point until you hit on Clico again. Did you lose money with Clico?

37. The miller asked “Why can’t Rubis participate in the ownership of the finished petroleum products storage facility?” While I support your position that a Sol monopoly would be detrimental to the consumers’ interest, allowing Rubis 49% or 50% does not solve the problem as the two owners would quickly collaborate to fix prices, the way the commercial banks now do. And we know the Government’s dismal performance in regulating that disgrace.

The better solution would be to allow Rubis to construct their own storage facility (as they have suggested) and create direct competition between the two. In addition some much needed jobs would be created. Mind you, collaboration would still be a possibility.

What really jumps out is the revelation that in the original bidding process, Rubis was offered an increased throughput fee of 4%, whereas Sol was offered 32%. Talk about an uneven playing field! How lowe can the Government go? I dare the FTC to approve the sale to Sol.

38. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Hal….no, I know better than to put my money in thiefing insurance companies…….so, are you related to Leroy Parris, who stole CLICO policyholders money….

…….how come you can see tiefing Peter Harris and his mediocre lawyers and ya can’t see tiefing Leroy Parris who had the same unethical lawyer Leslie Haynes, as did Parris and CLICO.

39. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Not forgetting the other unethical CLICO lawyer David Thompson, deceased, who did the same wicked, unethical things as Leslie Haynes….victimize their own unknowing clients and compromised the supreme court.

40. @David April 1, 2017 at 2:42 AM #

Barbados might be a tax haven for the socialist agenda of some NGOs, but the Barbadian population has to pay a very high price for that: increasing VAT, high income tax and duties like in a communist country. From the internal perspective, Barbados is high tax.

41. And who is the minister responsible for energy?Who Did Owen re-name the Quisling?Who betrayed Owen big time on the Veco affair?Owen trusted this scoundrel,not knowing that he was a big time DLP in situ pimp,carrying all the cabinet secrets to the equally dizhonest red man who swore by the Union Jack(he being born an Englishman in Clapham Common in 1961,and singing God Save the Queen in place of Dees Feels and Hills)raised his hand and swore he would not lie,cheat or steal but made all three traits his modus operandi.Who is this Minister now responsible for energy?None other than the Quisling….Inkwell,what do you expect accounts for the difference between 4% and 32%.You think it’s only Denis that ask for his cut?

42. Well well,

Once I am not related to or a friend of Mr Parris. I met him once years ago for a brief introduction in London.
    And again, I do not know who Peter Harris is, but if it makes your case go on and say it. Every time you want to mention Clico take a deep breath.
    The problem with Clico was not Mr Parris, but the regulator. Our financial public servants are grossly incompetent. That is the real problem, but we do not want to admit it. If you think I am wrong just have a look at the NIS/COW Williams affair.

43. @ Hal
    The problem with Clico was not Mr Parris, but the regulator.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    …and you were going so well until April 1st.

So the ‘problem’ is not the muggers, killers and rapists, … it is the police…?
    Steupsss.

The damn problem with CLICO was (is) Greenverbs “thieving” Parris.
    The problem with Barbados is that we have too many shiite people with keys…
    …. like the Supervisor of insurance
    …. like Owen who gave him the keys
    …. ike Froon and Stinkliar – agents of satan
    …. like Mia the shiite AG /DPM / LOTO / biter who has NO history of anything positive
    …. like the lotta brass bowls who got robbed and just suffering in silence like sheep
    …. like the policy owners association who the Government has fooled now over 100 times
    …. like you who could not keep up that high standard of contributions for two consecutive days

STEUPSSSSS!!!
    Every damn day in Barbados is April 1st…

44. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Hal…again, obviously you know nothing about what happened at CLICO and refuse to take the tine to find out or listen to those of us on BU who do know…

AGAIN…

ITWAS NOT THE INSURANCE REGULATOR WHO CAUSED THE CLICO COLLAPSE.

The insurance regulator did her job and was victimized by both governments for doing her job.

It was LEROY PARRIS, David Thompson and both corrupt governments responsible for the collapse of CLICO, if you do not know SHUTUP Hal….enough with your ignorance and useless bias against an innocent insurance regulatir, it makes it worse that you claim to have no connection to thiefing Parris.

You should be blaming the current regulators for the very existence of CGI Insurance and other companies for the fraud they currently perpetrate on their policyholders and genuinely injured claimants, make yaself useful.

Bushman….can you believe Hal and his stupidity.

45. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Hal……is there any particular reason why you continue to wickedly blame the collapse of CLICO on an innocent insurance regulator, despite being repeatedly told by everyone who should know that it’s just not true, what are your motives here….what do you have to gain by overlooking the truth in place of a lie.

46. The problem with CLICO is the Trickidadian manipulator in chief and the brassbowls doing

his bidding in Barbados.

47. @Hants

Hal is partly correct. There was a catastrophic failure in regulatory compliance because the failure of CLICO is a reality across the region. It exposed a weakness in managing companies with a regional footprint.

What the failure also has tossed up is the bad apples to be found in any system that is not tightly regulated.the 3.3 million cheque is an example.

48. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

WW&C and Bushie are correct and Hal is wrong to blame a person,the system as set up by the political class is responsible for what occured with CLICO.

49. Could we also see the rebirth of his Bajan buddies?

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20170114/news/rebirth-of-duprey