Today I intended to write about the functioning, or rather, the non-functioning of the system that was set up by the Employment Rights Act to settle disputes, particularly claims for unfair dismissal. I wanted to point out that it is at best amateurish and that it is failing miserably to meet expectations. But I felt a tug that forced me to weigh in on the furore caused by the reported attempt by the Minister of Finance to remove the Governor of the Central Bank from office.

In the fullness of time, the courts will settle the legal aspects of the matter and I will patiently await that eventuality. However, at this point, I am more concerned about the potential loss of any residual investor confidence that might still be remaining after the series of seventeen downgrades of this country’s credit rating.

As a Barbadian, no matter your political persuasion, no one should be happy to see this embarrassing saga being played out in the public domain. Not so long ago, it was being said internationally that Barbados was punching above its weight. Now I seems that this country is reeling from some head blows inflicted as a result of the poor performance of the Government over the last nine years, and now this? Can Barbados take anymore?

In 2008 the Democratic Labour Party took on the burden of the government of this country as neophytes for the most part. Unfortunately, after nine years in office, they have steadfastly maintained that neophyte quality as though their nine years in office has taught them nothing. They have presided over the affairs of this country with a reverse Midas touch that seem to destroy everything in their wake. Now it seems that they have set their deadly aim on the Central Bank as the next institution targeted for destruction.

So far, the Minister of Finance has quite rightly not made a public statement on the matter. Instead, some of his colleagues have intervened with unhelpful remarks that only goes to confirm that Cabinet is in total disarray.

The Barbados Today of Friday, February 17, 2017 reported that Minister of Housing, Denis Kellman, while addressing a gathering of party faithful earlier that same day, suggested that the decision to fire the Governor of the Central Bank was for the “greater good”. He went on to suggest that while Worrell may have been successful so far in blocking all attempts to remove him, the Freundel Stuart Administration was not backing down. That report suggest that Minister Kellman is privy to the inner workings of the Ministry of Finance on this issue.

On the other hand, Prime Minister Freundel Stuart, in his all too familiar nonchalant approach to the affairs of state, was reported to have said something markedly different in the Daily Nation of February 21, 2017. He was quoted as saying:

“I am not in any position to comment on whether the Government’s confidence in the Governor of the Central Bank underwent any change, because I preside over the Cabinet of Barbados and at no time has the issue of the Governor’s relationship with the Government come up for consideration”.

He went on to state that he has not made himself privy to all that has been happening, and I accept that as the Prime Minister is an honourable man. But I think that I must ask: since the Prime Minister did not make himself privy to the happenings, Did someone make him privy? If the answer is “no”, it would certainly seem that the Prime Minister is definitely not in control of his Cabinet and worse yet, Kellman is more informed than he is. Perish the thought, say it isn’t so!

131 responses to “The Caswell Franklyn Column – Prime Minister Come Clean on the Sacking of Governor Worrell”

1. Indeed, Central Bank and currency (devaluation) are the next targets. What already failed:

Cahill (Barbados as superpower of energy)
    placing treasury bonds in foreign markets after double-digit downgrades next to C/D
    UAE loan in exchange for gas fields offshore (IMF hello!)
    new hospital (read Pinocchioยดs manifesto)
    already existing hospital (let grandma make her will and then bring her into QEH …)
    infrastructure (you need a tank to drive around Barbados)
    so many new hotel projects (cannot remember all these names of international brands)
    tertiary education (fees like US, but income of families like Botswana)
    going republic
    lower food prices (read again Pinocchioยดs manifesto)
    more tourists (Barbados became a hub for cruisers, not for overnights)
    anything forgotten?

To sum up: So far everything except the highest taxes and duties in the region has failed.

The only, the only thing which did not hit Barbados yet was a major hurricane.

2. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Tron

YPerhaps, you did not realise it but a devastating hurricane struck Barbados early in 2008 – DLP Hurricane and it wrought devastation ever since.

3. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

The Prime Minister’s words sound similar to the words he used in the Cahill matter. No body should be surprise if this pretender did not consent to Worrell’s removal as well.

4. @ Tron
    An apology from you is in order.

They DID complete the monument dedicated to the fellow who carries a pitchfork …and it sits in the middle of the Garrison.
    You must understand the effort it would have taken to divert funds from pumping sewerage to building this vital infrastructure.

Give Froon his due….

5. Bush Tea, have you been up close to the monument, or should I say monstrosity? They could not even get the colour of the Barbados flag correct.

6. Did he make himself privy . ….did some one make him privy…..sounds like something out of a privy….worrell will get a big severence …the govt claims he was bad we are good were doing our job …time to call an election

7. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

“โ€ฆtime to call an election”.

@ lawson – This treated in my column today. To whom is this advice addressed? Do you expect it to be heeded? Or are you just exercising your freedom to blog?

@ Caswell, the question begs asking, was Kellman really privy to the administration’s intentions? Or was he merely mouthing something in the hope that he was right? Remember that the result would have been the same once the decision was taken to dismiss the Governor…he would be entitled to the sums agreed for the remainder of his contract subject to his obligation to mitigate his losses. Backing down was not then an option for the Government!

8. Jeff with no real dog in the fight it is easy for me to be flippant, but this is like putting your hand in a barrel of eels and try and figure out if you have head or ass. These guys are all in the death spiral together. If there is any chance of them winning the next election they needed a fall guy., and an election must be called as they are perceived by some as rooting out the cause of the nations problems. Lets see if Worrell takes his money and quietly exits, or starts spilling where all the skeletons are buried then you will know if there was real internal turmoil.

9. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

“These guys are all in the death spiral together. If there is any chance of them winning the next election they needed a fall guy……”

And we all saw how yuuge and bigly that “fall guy” scheme back fired for the government, no one believes them, everyone knows Fruendel is nose deep in that poop. …we await Worrell’s press release…lol

10. @Jeff

What are you saying here. The convention of collective responsibility of cabinet should support the assumption by the public that a minister of the crown’s public utterance is well anchored? Although truth be told Estwick has given a lie to such a position. What the hell is the public suppose to think?

11. Agreed, David, although it was for the AG, the PM or the MOF to speak to the public on this matter for the collective, not Mr Kellman, who could have declined comment.

12. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

Apparently, Fruendel even timed the mess he created perfectly, he was in Guyana at the start of the Worrell brouhaha. …. in NYC claiming he had no knowledge about any of it, while the mischief he created with Worrell was in full swing…..Fruendel made himself so busy that if it was the same weekend, he even ended up hugged up tight, tight, tight with the Naked Departure blog mistress and another female….Fruendel was busy..lol

13. @ Angela
    Bush Tea, have you been up close to the monument,
    Dear…. Bushie keeping far as shiite from that thing….
    and with a name like yours, you should too…

The colour may be wrong as a matter of Bajan protocol
    But it may be ‘right’ for purpose hear…..

14. Jeff

I understand the concept of the plaintiff mitigating his loss but in the instant case I don’t know what Worrell could do to mitigate his losses.

He was a central bank governor and I don’t know if there are many central banks out there looking to recruit a 72 year old governor. Quite frankly, I don’t think that there are many employers out there looking to hire someone in his position. His damages could very well end up as the full salary and the value of his allowances for the next 32 month, i.e. Salary- $20,000 per month, value of the Mercedes, entertainment allowance and the value of the tax free residence.

15. @ Caswell
    His damages could very well end up as the full salary and the value of his allowances for the next 32 month, i.e. Salary- $20,000 per month, value of the Mercedes, entertainment allowance and the value of the tax free residence.
    …and he could ‘very well’ be paid with the same monopoly money he has been printing for five years now – with a value on par with others in the region who have been this path before…

It is amazing how we think that we are somehow owed a particular standard of living ..when all the evidence around us point to other peoples (some more industrious than we are) living completely different realities….

The Governor is an idiot – just like Alvin.
    He was used by this inept administration to do unprofessional shiite for years … and now that his comeuppance has arrived, he is looking for ‘justice’….?

Steupsss….. man either go home quietly in shame, or spill the beans and expose the whole scam like Samson – and push down the Central Bank pillars…

Hopefully he will get his ‘due’ right after Barrack and others who have LAWFUL claims against the government get theirs…

16. @Bush Tea

Agree with you. The Governor needs to do the greater good and at the same time make peace with his soul.

17. Buh Tea,
    He will get his salary, but not the perks

18. @ Caswell
    So what if he uses all his money if he feels he was wronged ?
    I assure you that Dr. Worrell at his age can still make more money on one consultancy assignment than the average person makes in a year. It is amazing that many who criticise Dr. Worrell know nothing about his international prominence as an economist . He can probably make more money as a consultant or going on the international lecture circuit than as GOCB.
    Dr. Worrell by modern standards is still a relatively young man. And Caswell I am certain that when you attain that age you would also be in line to make a living from your profession as well. Take it easy, man.

19. They should pay him in govt bonds lol ..but to be fair barbados has been going down for a while with brexit, ….the US opening of cuba …. RiRi singing with her clothes on…. some of the luster has gone off the old jewel of the carribean and the draw for tourists just isnt what it was. Maybe there isnt a lot to work with in the way of increasing the gdp. But Worrells analogy of barbados and a saver postman seemed very odd, and seemed like he was suggesting we should take whats left in the treasury go up to the US and by powerball tickets.

20. Bu(s)h Tea,
    He will get his salary, but not the perks…”

@ Hal, No. Caswell is correct.

“The value of lost employment benefits is also an element of your damages from a wrongful termination. Because the cost and value of benefits can be difficult to quantify in dollar terms, you might need an expert to evaluate exactly how much you’ve lost for trial. This element includes medical and dental insurance, pension or 401k plans, stock options, and profit sharing, among other benefits”.

21. @William

Interesting how you measure success and reputation of the governor read economic value. The discussion in Barbados is whether the Governor compromised his profession and by extension his socalled reputation based on his performance post 2014 when his contract was renewed. This is all that should matter to Barbadians as we agitate to hold public officers read paid with tax dollars accoun

22. At minimum greater than two million.

23. why are barbadians in general so obsessed and consumed with other people riches instead of using that energy on getting rich themselves ,
    What in the hell is stopping these naysayers . The governor is an intelligent man well schooled in his expertise , The fact that he and present gov part ways does not stop him from moving forward in lucrative way to achieved financial success necessary
    All of this political posturing is just another attempt by the BLP operatives to milk the dismissal of Worell for as long as they can with an intent of achieving political mileage that most likely would not happen given that the Blp executed a similar objective by firing the Govenor of the Central Bank when they held office

24. @ David
    How would the GOCB have “compromised his profession”. The Central Bank prints money , when the GOCB determined it was no longer wise to continue doing so, he advised that it be stopped. The GOCB is not responsible for government’s fiscal policy. There is no evidence that the GOCB did anything that needs his soul to be put at peace. We seem to want the GOCB to hold a press conference and spill beans so that we can lambast him until the cows come home. For your information, he would not do that because that will certainly endanger him professionally. Do you really expect a GOCB to hold a press conference to essentially cuss a government or MOF?
    Dr. Worrell’s professional standing is in very good shape, I assure you.

25. @ David

Dr. Worrell does not have no”so-called” reputation is it a very solid and respected reputation my brother. Just read what his peers are saying not only in Barbados but throughout the world. He is by far one of our most outstanding economist and is highly credited with helping to solve our economic crisis back in the 90’s. Very unbecoming you would refer to such man as having a “so-called” reputation.

26. @William

Are you serious? The FORMER Governor has been printing money for the last seven years. He even involved himself in a tiff with Legarde when questioned about it. The numbers are there to show it was unwise. Where the economists agree is the printing money or QE is required to support government financing -continuous printing is an exercise in idiocy.

By the way, you are correct that in theory there is separation in the roles of fiscal and monetary,however, in the Barbados context fiscal indiscipline will influence monetary policies.

27. @William

Do you understand that a reputation is earned up to the minute?

Do you understand that the BU household has no obligation to be guided by what others think or believe?

28. @ David
    Neither is anyone obliged to accept the BU
    Household positions. Furthermore there is
    no BU household position on anything.
    Because it is BU position that does not
    extend to all of us. Correct me if I am wrong
    but I am of the opinion that BU accepts
    all opinions. I thought when we say household
    we meant all contributors. Please explain
    exactly what you mean by BU household.
    I consider myself a member and I don’t
    recall agreeing to any negative assessment
    of Dr. Worrell’s professionalism.

29. William

The Cabinet did not agree to Worrell’s dismissal either, if you take the word of the PM.

30. @William

When challenged you always move the goal post. You posited that Worrell has a solid reputation because its timbre is rooted in what players in the international fora hold. We countered with our opinion. You can continue to hold your opinion to your bosom. Until there is overwhelming evidence to refute decisions taken by Worrell while Governor to print money against all advice, to commission a survey to arrive at an unemployment number when the BSS is the statutory agency responsible for that activity. Banning press conferences in a system where the role of the media is important to a working democracy and so on wwill hold ours.

No need for the prolix.

31. @ William Skinner,

I always understood the “BU household” to be David and his biological family.

32. @ David who wrote “Banning press conferences in a system where the role of the media is important to a working democracy and so on will hold ours.”

Talking about Trump ? lol

33. Jeff/Caswell,

I bow to your greater knowledge of local practice. In the UK, he would be entitled to his salary, but not perks. Perks are re- imbursements ie his car is for travel on official business; his home is for unofficial entertainment; etc.
    @ Jeff
    You quote, but there is no source.
    I am ignorant of the Barbados definition of the Westminster/Whitehall model. Another example is that most managers will get a bonus based on clear metrics. But how can a sacked manager get a bonus when he is out of work.
    In the UK benefits will not be part of any settlement. For example, I am entitled to an electronic copy of the FT for life, but that is generosity, not an entitlement.
    I will like to see that tested before the CCJ.

34. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ William Skinner

The Honourable Blogmaster is on record as defining household and family as such relates to the entity and internal management of the BU and the entire family of contributors

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ William Skinner February 26, 2017 at 10:52 AM
    โ€œDr. Worrell by modern standards is still a relatively young man. And Caswell I am certain that when you attain that age you would also be in line to make a living from your profession as well. Take it easy, man.โ€

It’s a pity you, in your golden old age of wisdom, could speak with such a twisted brazen forked-tongue of genuine hypocrisy and with politically myopic vision cannot see the forcibly fired BIDC sexagenarians in the same light as your septuagenarian buddy now dismissed and disgraced and sent to Coventry in tattered professional robes which no international financial institution would want to clean even with a barge pole.

Go tell that to another sexagenarian Madame Lagarde.

Itโ€™s a your crying shame to describe the performance of yourโ€˜statistics manipulatorโ€™ genuine friend in any stellar light without including in his archaic rรฉsumรฉ the many downgrades and failed attempts to secure loans on the international money markets marked by an obvious absence of aboveboard investors falling head over heels for the previous sovereign โ€˜loveโ€™ bonds of a country, now in the financial junk yard, which previously punched competently above its 2×3 fiscal and financial managerial weight.

36. He hasnt been able to right this ship, but just like a coach in hockey if his team cant put the puck in the net he is gone. But that may not be what is going on here the govt need someone to fall on the sword for survival…..It has to be someone high profile enough with little time left to be at the trough so that early retirement with benefits would be palatable . If he opens the crypt there was real in fighting if he goes mute its all smoke and mirrors

37. BU,

There is no evidence that Worrell printed money because HE wanted to. There is every reason to believe he did so because he was pressured in to it. He should have walked out.
    To my mind there is no local person fit enough to be governor of a modern central bank. Bring in an expert from outside the Caribbean. Either that or we are rotating mediocrity.

38. The BU household- familial.

The BU family-contributors like commenters, contributors et al.

39. @Hal

The fact the former Governor defended the decision and never resigned means to onlookers that he was onboard.

40. William

You wrote:

“When challenged you always move the goal post. You posited that Worrell has a solid reputation because its timbre is rooted in what players in the international fora hold”.

I was not talking about Worrell’s reputation. I have no respect for someone who puts out erroneous information and when confronted with clear credible documentary evidence to the contrary, he refuses.

That was my first encounter with Worrell when he addressed the CCCU convention in the early nineties. He sounded good and was well received. I did not try to embarrass him by getting up at that forum and disclose the information in my possession. Instead, I went to him and presented him with all the evidence to refute the crap that he spewed at that meeting. He looked at it and said to me that he was not aware but nonetheless, he delivered of himself the same crap about credit unions at a different forum some time later.

Thereafter, I had no use for him since I believe that it is people like him who mislead policy makers with their poor research. You know Sinckler does not understand the difference between 0.7 and 0.07 and you expect that he came up with his initiatives on his own. He relied heavily on Worrell and that is why the country is in such a mess.

41. @Caswell

The quote you included in your comment was BU’s reply to William.

42. @ David,
    Apparently you alone can be long winded. I have always said that the banning of the press was wrong.
    I alluded that Worrell is respected by both local and international colleagues. Not just international. Never once did i imply it was only “rooted” in international “fora”.
    Just the facts. Goal post ain’t move. I never see an exchange of opinion as a challenge. Now you bringing in BSS and unemployment figures. Once Tom Adams gave unemployment figures and then introduced us to the “voluntarily idle”. Use and abuse of statistics is common place.
    Your (BU Household) position that Worrell’s reputation is now damaged is what I objected to. Your dismissal of the gentleman as having a “so- called” reputation was also met my disagreement.
    No challenge , my friend, just a difference of opinion.

43. In all honesty, the former governor is, and always was, a colossal joke.
    Owen Arthur got that one exactly right.

This is why he eventually ended his press conferences – because it was so clear that he was a bluffer.

Shiite man William … did you not see that video on BU when he was justifying the philosophy of exchange rates in front of some international economists …and the damn people were even more incredulous than was Bushie…?
    Mek Bushie LAUGH…!!!

Steupsss….
    You could really take stop trying to defend the indefensible. Bushie awaits his new career as a lecturer or speaker anywhere else but UWI…. where he may be appropriate.

44. @William

You are comparing the independence a Governor of the central bank should bring to the public to a politician read Tom Adams? Worrell in most rumshop to offices in Barbados is the butt of jokes from the inebriated to the lucid.

45. @ Caswell

Please do not accuse me of writing things that I did not. Thanks. LOL

46. Sorry William. My apologies, I stand corrected. But I do not correct the substance of the comment.

You see, I am prepared to correct my error. I was writing my apology when your comment came in since I was already corrected by David.

47. @Caswell Franklyn February 26, 2017 at 11:57 AM #

“William The Cabinet did not agree to Worrellโ€™s dismissal either, if you take the word of the PM.”

Therefore either Sinkler should be asked to resign or the entire cabinet should resign.

48. Hal we gave you Carney we cant just keep sending our guys around the world.

49. William,

It is fictitious that the press has a special role in our democracy. It is the only truth that Trump tells. Journalists make up a lot of news. Every time I read ‘a source’ I smile. I know. I spent over 40 years mainly in Fleet Street. I call it CNN journalism – or calling a press officer ‘a source’. Hate to think I have anything in common with Trump.
    Journalists, and would-be journalists, like to claim a special place in the democratic structure. It is fiction. Journalism has no truth-testing mechanisms. Which is one reason why opinion is so much cheaper than news (including investigative reporting).
    We are here talking about contested voices and competing narratives, which is why news reporting in Barbados Today is so awful. But that is another story.
    I can speak about the internal dynamic of the printed press. If you do not know, stay out of the debate.
    It is the reason why I was a reluctant invitee to give evidence to Leveson. We misinterpret freedom of speech as freedom of the press.
    I told the Levenson Inquiry team that they were on the wrong track. Time has proved me right. Journalism is not just rehashing BGIS press releases or reading Goggle then mouthing off. It is a bit more than that.

50. William

We are now seeing eye to eye. But I will go further and suggest that the Board of the Central Bank should have gone lone before either of them.