Prime Minister Mia Mottley shows off a Kensington Oval ready for T20 World Cup

debtbytypeThere is a tide in the affairs of men.
Which, taken at the flood, leads on to fortune;
Omitted, all the voyage of their life
Is bound in shallows and in miseries.
On such a full sea are we now afloat…

Julius Caesar, Act-IV, Scene-III

This Blogmaster found himself this week casting his eyes to the sky. The motivation for doing so was not because there was an overpowering inclination to lift up my eyes unto the hills, from which comes my help – Psalm 121:1. Although the discomfiting news the Barbadian public has had to suffer in the week would not fault the Barbadian from seeking solace in the divine.

The reason for looking skyward was to observe the wires on the poles which line our dense road network. At every turn one can detect different types of wires strung between the poles satisfying some purpose we presume. There was the high tension electric wire, telecommunications wires from FLOW and Digicel. One suspects if we were inclined to search it out wires that supported Barbados Rediffusion before it became obsolete would have been discovered as well.

The other nugget of news which gave BU reason to ponder was the continuing discussion about if the Fair Trading Commission (FTC) will rubber stamp the transaction to sell the BNTCL to SOL. No disrespect to the FTC Commissioners but we say rubber stamp because the government has already counted the USD100 million in the forex inflows required as a lifeline by the government to escape of the clutches of an IMF loan program.

Barbados is classified as a small island developing state. Barbados use to wear the label as a small country fighting above its weight class. Barbados was regarded in the 80s and early 90s as the model small Black led country. Is it unreasonable to question why our leaders would not have rolled out a plan to eliminate overhead wires by 2030?  The reasons for doing so are obvious. The same observation can be made for properly trenching the roads to more efficiently accommodate the services like water and gas and the others. More importantly, why a population which has been the beneficiary of billions invested in education would be reluctant to demand the highest standards from our leadership? Perhaps the more pertinent question is why would we cede the awesome responsibility of leadership to those who are not worthy. It is a reflection on us the people and not the leaders we like to vilify.

Imagine a simple observation of the mass of overhead wires that afflict our eyeline on a daily basis would provoke such an avalanche of thought by the BU Blogmaster. This is one example how we should measure our achievement as a people in the post Independence period.

To reinforce the point where we needed to be as a country in 2017 based on our high per capita investment in education in the last 50 years: last month the Irish parliament voted 90 to 53 to pass the Fossil Fuel Divestment Bill. The objective is to enable Ireland to divest its sovereign wealth fund, Ireland Strategic Investment Fund (ISIF), worth €8.5 billion, from coal, gas and oil and would see a ban on any further fossil fuels investment going forward. The question we need to answer honestly is whether government is attempting to divest itself of the BNTCL because of a commitment to the renewable sector or is it a money grab. It is interesting to note the myopic analysis offered by the Barbados Chamber of Commerce (BCCI) to support the sale paints a vivid picture of where we are as a country.

In 2008 the government of which Prime Minister Freundel Stuart was a member commissioned a Special Working Group on the Economy to identify measures to lead Barbados out of the economic crisis it continues to find itself. The document titled Barbados Short and Medium Term Action Plan is available to the public. Go to page 23 of the  28 page document linked in the line above and be the judge of whether we are a people who deserve the government we elect.

You be the judge!

117 responses to “Barbados, OUR Country”

1. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/02/25/call-it-a-day-mr-pm/

This is what should be happening on the island everyday, people should be speaking out, holding press conferences, putting pressure on Fruendel, this is not the time to sit and wait to see what your servants, the ministers are going to do, what they will do next, they have already done it all to the country and people…while only serving self. He should have added that Mia and her gang can be just as self-serving and power drunk.

“Call it a day, Mr PM!
    Added by Neville Clarke on February 25, 2017.
    Saved under Local News
    An outspoken local businessman says he is totally fed up with Prime Minister Freundel Stuart’s leadership style.

Robert Pitcher, owner of Fun ‘N’ Sun Publishing Inc, is therefore appealing to Stuart to urgently announce the date for general elections and to immediately quit active politics without offering himself as a candidate in the upcoming poll.

Pitcher, who wants Stuart to go home and enjoy his pension, made this call yesterday during a press conference at his Rendezvous, Christ Church office at which he took particular issue with the Prime Minister’s handling of the recent dispute at the Central Bank.

“You know that it is strange that even with the ongoing dispute between the Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler and the Governor of the Central Bank Dr DeLisle Worrell, the Prime Minister is not uttering one word,” Pitcher said, adding that it was “a disgrace” to pick up a newspaper or go online to see the two top officials “at war” amid the country’s economic turmoil.

The businessman also vented his frustration with politicians in general, saying they must see themselves as the paid servants of the people and desist from the practice of using their positions of power to look after their interests.

“Future politicians must understand that when they are elected by the people, they must serve the people and the country first and anything else can follow,” he added.”

2. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/02/25/no-tears-for-worrell/

Worrell must be kicking himself that he wasted time with a court case instead of holding a tell all press conference….which would effectively devastate Fruendel and his clowns…and definitely see the back of them all as a cabinet.

But it is not too late, he can still bring them to their knees..,, just tell the people, the electorate what they did and told him to do to bring down the coubtry.

3. We could have added another paragraph- we should have – to develop the point that our problems will not be solved by analyzing our problems from purely a political perspective. What about the NGOs and the role leadership must play by adopting a holistic approach.

4. A good paper that discuses how the holistic approach could work taking into consideration the economic, social and cultural.

http://scholar.lib.vt.edu/ejournals/SPT/v2_n2pdf/cuello.pdf

5. @David

Your chart tells the story of Barbados ETHICS and lack of RELIABLE Information.

The Chart is dated July 2014 and we are nearing July 2017, three years in the future. This is typical in Barbados, reliable information is well out of date and it’s integrity is always in question. If your chart could show the present date info Jan/Feb 2017 it would show a significantly deteriorated economic position. Making decisions on poor politically massaged information is as good as not making the decision.

Printing is no doubt underway with the new CBB Interim Governor, civil servants will get paid with future worthless $, Country meanwhile sinks further into the abyss.

I have give up thinking that Bajans are ever going to wake up and smell the roses, their happy with political lies and UN-recoverable debt.

Your analogy is a good one, country is jumble of dis-arrayed wires leading nowhere.

6. Extracted this from the document:

—Sustainable development requires the recognition of inter-generational
    equality, which implies the assumption, as an ethical imperative of respect not
    only for the right of present generations to a healthy environment, but also the
    right of future generations to inherit from present generations a healthy and
    ecologically balanced environment (Raskin, 1993). This signifies that productive
    systems should not damage the environment’s integrity and regenerative capacity

It rings true for Barbados doesn’t it?

7. David

Any guess who is responsible for the professional pro-SOL public relation campaign currently being waged in Barbados?

8. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

As I said yesterday, governments in Barbados cannot continue to govern without transparency, without freedom of information acts, trying to stop freedom of speech, no ethics a total lack of integrity and not expect to be failures….it’s 2017….these basic human rights should have been in place and would have been in place 30 years ago….if the island had had any intelligent black leaders.

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/02/25/temporary-nurses-cry-out-for-late-wages/

This has been happening for years in Barbados. ..why is it still happening, these nurses have to eat, pay their bills and support their families just like John Boyce and all the government ministers.

“Temporary nurses cry out for late wages
    Added by Katrina King on February 25, 2017.
    Saved under Health Care, Local News
    Temporary nurses believe they are being treated like second class health workers by being forced to wait up to three months for their wages while senior officials are being paid on time.

So frustrated are they that one felt compelled to complain to Barbados TODAY about the situation.

According to the nurse of 15 years, temporary health caregivers from the St Philip Hospital, the Geriatric Hospital and the George Cummins Hospital had not been paid since the end of last year, with no explanation.

And even more frustratingly, both the Ministry of Health and the Personnel Department are playing a game of musical chairs with the nurses, she said.

“When you ask about your salary, they say it is an administrative problem . . . . It has been two months right now. The last time I got paid was in December.

“I went to the Ministry of Health, they say it is not their part, it is Personnel Administration part. When I check Personnel Administration, the people out there telling me that is the Ministry of Health,” the nurse said.

“They sent out a memo that temporary nurses and subs [substitute nurses] won’t be paid for January because of administrative reasons . . . but appointed people are paid on time.”

9. @Own Area

A guess would be government operatives. There is a lot riding on the FTC Commission giving the thumbs up.

As the document posted above and commonsense dictate -there must be equality to how we grow a sustainability society. We can’t have the media concentrated in One Media, the petroleum distribution concentrated with SOL, the data network concentrated with C&W, the retail and distribution of food distributed by T&T entities, the financial sector choked by Canada and Trinidad and so and so and so on. At some point there will be fissures in our society manifested in crime, lack of confidence as a people, entrepreneurial dumbness, takers and not doers …

10. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Both governments have killed the entrepreneurial spirits in the majority population, to protect the minorities and their ill gotten growing wealth at the expense of the majority……..both governments and minorities driven by greed and their own corrupt, bribtaking schemes.

They have effectively killed broad based participation by the population in the growth of the successful economy.

11. You have hit the nail on the head…do not blame the political class…..we the people have allowed this class to be created from out of our bosom and as such they reflect all of our attributes which come primarily from an antiquated educational system from primary to tertiary level and our self delusion of how great our leaders are.

Unless we self educate and demand from our leaders what we want we will go nowhere……how do do we get them to listen to us…..simple….let all of us resolve to do nothing 1 day a week untill they listen.

12. When 95000+ of the electorate did not exercise their franchise it speaks volumes of the state of the political landscape of Barbados.When the view is expressed that a black goat is the same as a white monkey,it’s time to rise to the challenge of taking back your country from idiots and opportunists.Time for the Battle Hymn.

13. @ David wrote ” the financial sector choked by Canada”

http://www.cbc.ca/news/business/royal-bank-earnings-1.3997403

“CIBC kicked off earnings season for Canada’s major banks with strong results across its key divisions, and hiked its quarterly dividend. ”

Barbados is just a “nuisance” to Canadian banks.

14. Would it not have made sense -in the interest of the country- to bring SOL and RUBIS to the table and suggest to them they will be afforded a stake in BNTCL IF IF Rubis delivers on a promise to clean up the mess left by Mobile AND SOL the same as far as SHELL and the farmers at Gibbons is concerned. If BU had any say these would have been nonnegotiable conditions.

15. Endless lotta long talk.

Why is BLP MIA leading the protest march ?

Why are the other political parties not marching and campaigning ?

Why are the BU maguffees not presenting themselves to the people of Barbados instead of intellectually self pleasuring on BU.

Why are the brightest and the best NOT presenting themselves for election but complain when the likes of dennis kellman stepping up ?

16. @Hants

How do you know that BU maguffees not stepping up?

17. As my grand mother used to say, “He who tries to ride 2 asses bound to fall on his own”

18. @ David
    Beggars cannot be choosers.
    Our leaders are at best Parros, and more likely, much worse…

The most amazing thing (and what confirms the spiritual CURSE we are under) is their seeming complete lack of any SHAME at their piss poor performances.
    How these people can actually present themselves in public is, frankly, amazing…

The ONLY way that ordinary human beings can sink to such low levels of self-image is when overtaken by a spiritual curse that is beyond their ability to manage…..

19. They shoulda NEVER built that shiite on the Garrison…..

20. @ David,

Interesting commentary in the Nation.

“THE HOYOS FILE: Getting the truck out of the ditch”

21. @ David,

Is there a secret BU maguffee political party getting ready to win the next election ?

22. David

Chuckle……the govt needs fx urgently and SOL has stepped up to the plate.

Bim needs a younger generation to lead them like MAM not the old fogeys here on BU who are quite rightly getting their jollys out of midnight quarter backing.

Our time has come and gone so lets drink a rum and eat some pudding&souse on this bright saturday morning as old Onion Bags may he RIP used to say.

23. “They shoulda NEVER built that shiite on the Garrison…..”

@Bushie, Of course you realize that according to this thesis, our asses, as you frequently put it, would have been grass ever since 1966 when we first unveiled our nation’s flag with the exact symbol!

24. Bush Tea February 25, 2017 at 9:47 AM #

Skippah…..why dont go and dig up de fork nuh??/

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

“The question we need to answer honestly is whether government is attempting to divest itself of the BNTCL because of a commitment to the renewable sector or is it a money grab. It is interesting to note the myopic analysis offered by the Barbados Chamber of Commerce (BCCI) to support the sale paints a vivid picture of where we are as a country.”

All that “analysis” by the BCCI has done is to strengthen the case for Rubis to participate in the ownership of the terminal equivalent to their market share of the retail sale of ground fuels estimated to be around 30%.

The BCCI in collusion with KPMG must really feel Bajans are fools to accept their assurance there will be no increase in the existing throughput fees and by extension the base price ex-terminal.

Which private sector business -in its right profit-motive mind with shareholders to satisfy- would invest in a sector where the rate of return (capital charge included in the throughput fees) is significantly less than the cost of capital especially in a sunset industry and renewable energy competitors snapping at its heels thereby shortening the time horizon for investment recovery and profit return?

Under any private-sector ownership scenario the existing throughput rates must increase to make the deal appealing to the profit hunters.

Any increase in the throughput rates must by definition be recovered at the ‘consumer’ pump or in the acquisition cost of fuel in the electricity bill (including that to the BWA) which might not be a bad thing to incentivize the alternative energy sector and make it more attractively cost efficient to high-energy intensive business enterprises including government institutions like the hospital and schools.

26. @Vincent

Old Onion Bag is alive and kicking.

On the age thing speak on your behalf.

27. David

Glad to hear and wish him an enjoyable rum and P&S day.

…..know when to hold them and know when to fold them…….applies to age as well…..I was told many moons ago that I would find all the ones who considered themselves indispensable in Westbury.

28. @ Jeff
    In 1966 the modern Barbados was just born…

Children are forgiven mistakes that are imposed on them by misguided parents.
    When they mature and grow up, it is expected that they would use common sense and correct those mistakes inherited at birth….

How many national flags do you see with such shiite on them…?
    Not only did we not remove the nonsense from our flag…
    What we did was to reinforce the shiite …with a big able monstrosity, right in the middle of the damn Garrison….

Skippa, Bushie tries not to even PASS there nowadays….
    Wunna don’t try and dig um up…
    Wait and see the consequences….

29. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David February 25, 2017 at 10:11 AM
    “Old Onion Bag is alive and kicking.”

The “OOB” is greatly missed from BU.

The “Gibberts” must haul in his broken blogging fishing line mend it and throw it in the BU sea now full of fishy events taking place right before his shut eyes.

Gibberts boy, where ever you are, send us a sign that what you foretold long ago is not on our gloomy economic doorstep of pure devaluation doom. The monopoly money printing press has cranked back up but only until the IMF factory inspector comes a calling to throw a large spanner inscribed with a large “D” in the MoF’s dirty-handed works.

Vincent Haynes, a ‘junior’ contemporary of yours, must be able to vouch for your existence either above or below.

30. Miller

Starting Monday with the MoF address to the country and ending with the delivery of the estimates before 31March will make for interesting times.

Will the fired GoCB tell the public how fruitfull was his conversation with the IMF?

31. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

The “modern” Barbados is middle aged niw…50 years old…nothing stays modern, it grows old and dies, in this case, because archaic minds still believes it’s modern…… to keep it mpdern, it needs regular amendments and limited overhauls….that is what modern societies do to stay modern.

32. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

The other political parties are waiting to see which way the wind blows instead of organizing, they do not know that is exactly what they should not be doing, they should be organizing to apply pressure to Fruendel…probably not wanting to hurt their cabinet friends feelings…., just waiting while the blog does all the work and heavy lifting for them. …then to jump out with equally empty promises to the electorate.

33. @ David
    Spending “billions” in education does not mean that the education system was progressively serving the purposes of national development.

34. @William

Agree with you that for the last two decades there is a case to be made that there was not effective use of resources. For example we hav missed the Digital window. Given our telecommunications infrastructure this is criminal.

35. @William

Another area we missed the boat was to convert the competitive edge we had in solar although it is not too late.

Utilize the expertise we had in sugarcane with hybrids for example to migrate to high end byproducts. Especially given the importance of rum and byproducts as export items.

36. We find ourselves in an unattractive position where the majority of our investments are to be found in the tourism bucket. Our successive leadership are to be held responsible for taking the lazy path. They say where there is no vision…

37. @William

Finally, we failed to convert an advantage we boasted about for years by not making our public service more efficient read systems, share databases, etc.

38. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

The business sector BSPA is pretending that they have not known fpr at least 6 years that the government had failing economic policies…they kept enjoying what they could and now have this gandiose idea that they can come in through the back door and act as saviors of the Barbados economy….when many of them are themselves so shady in character.

Why not do it the proper way, create a political party and convince bajans they are worth being elected….there are still no checks abd balances in place for them if they do no no proper justice system in place to lock any of them up if they commit crimes….so what do they have to lose.

“But there is nothing in our Constitution to stop us from voting in a Government that brings our economy to its knees. And short of a successful no-confidence motion in Parliament, nothing can or should be done about it. To do otherwise means you are no longer a democracy.

Are we willing to pay that price? I certainly am not. If the business community feels that more must be done, then just say what, and provide facts and figures which from its members’ actual dealings to show where the Government may be failing.

The tone of the BSPA statement has a quality of paternal intervention to it, as if to say, we should be given the chance to come in and get this truck out of the ditch. But it’s the voters who must decide, for better or worse, who will be given the keys to the vehicle for the next five years. You cannot put the unelected to make the final decisions for your democratic country. The one thing cancels out the other.”

See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/93698/hoyos-file-getting-truck-ditch#sthash.rrqa66iG.dpuf

39. @Bush Tea February 25, 2017 at 9:47 AM #

I visited the monument at the Garrison twice during my last visit and I am reserving judgment until the cost is revealed. My original concerns were the monument blocking the view of race fans in some locations and no provisions seem to have been made to collect revenue from visitors to the attraction. However, after the South Coast sewage problem cropped up I couldn’t believe government gave priority to construction of the monument when it knew the sewage system needed urgent attention.
    I am not qualified to comment on your views regarding the monument being a tribute to the devil and a curse on the island – lol.

40. Violet C Beckles CUP Avatar
    Violet C Beckles CUP

Hants February 25, 2017 at 9:37 AM #

Endless lotta long talk.

Why is BLP MIA leading the protest march ?

Why are the other political parties not marching and campaigning ?

Why are the BU maguffees not presenting themselves to the people of Barbados instead of intellectually self pleasuring on BU.

Why are the brightest and the best NOT presenting themselves for election but complain when the likes of dennis kellman stepping up ?

1 Mia need to cover up what she knows was going on , as said before both the dlp/blp have a Treaty not to expose the level of fraud,and to keep all things between them both, As you can see there is not mention of the CUP in any news,

2.Parties are not Marching because they had nothing to do with the Massive Fraud, and the people need to be educated first to how we get to this point in Barbados history,

3.its to early
    4.The brightest are the crook who watch, helped, got paid to shut up so they can’t talk now,The problem the so-called smart one took advantage of the people along with the DBLPMinister/lawyers.

5 Kellman is a crook, same blood line as the rest of the crooks,

They can not step forward until they can answer the Questions All Questions, Only the CUP
    can answer most questions, Why you think there is a NEWS Block , We did the Work we know who , when , where and why, The Not so Royal Barbados Police also knows,as well as the AG, PM and even the CJ, So its one big cover up until election, with more food,money, toys for votes up coming soon,

None of the Parties who want to run can afford to spend money like the other dlp/blp as you can see they can now print all the money they want to buy vote, We have to run with facts, truth,evidence findings of their crimes,
    Keep an eye on Hyatt, need Clear title deed, land owners Permission,
    Town and Country changed the rules that only the people who submit can see the papers filed with them , All is very far from public view.

41. Theophilus Gazerts Avatar
    Theophilus Gazerts

Wow! We are going backwards in time. Up ahead, the new plantocracy and then a new slavery. All that education and we driving the bus in reverse gear.

42. LOL @ Bajan in NY
    I am not qualified to comment on your views regarding the monument being a tribute to the devil and a curse on the island – lol.
    You can trust Bushie on that one partner….
    When has the Bushman been wrong so far…?

…the bushman occasionally picks up ‘family talk’
    …from the adopted kin… 🙂

43. In education we need to examine the system in order to cultivate a new citizen. Unfortunately in this crisis, education may find itself on the back burner because of various cuts in expenditure. Quite frankly, education has been placed on the back burner since free education was introduced in 1961/62.
    I am convinced that a major root cause of our problem is to be found in the education system which ruthlessly destroys our young citizens at the age of eleven plus. This system breeds unemployment because approximately 2500 children, leave secondary school every year with few jobs to pursue and nowhere to go.
    Since 1986/87, I recommended to the Task Force on Employment, that the Eleven Plus Examination be abolished, and that the transfer to the secondary schools be automatic (continuous assessment) taking into account the academic, technical and other levels of the students.
    At present there are timetables in the primary schools that have not been significantly changed for the past forty years or more. We expect a child born in 1966 to be exposed to the same methods as his father who was born in 1940 or his grandfather who was born in 1920!
    I guess it would take a foreign expert to explain to the McGuffeys at Jemmotts Lane, that a great deal of economic and social progress is being retarded by an out-dated approach to the system of education.
    I have made the point to the technocrats in the National Democratic Party, that our (NDP’s) policy of full employment in five years will be seriously undermined by the education system. I do not believe they understood the point I was making.
    You simply cannot have full employment if the education system breeds unemployment. It is equivalent to trying to eradicate larvae, from your back yard, by leaving coconut shells to catch water.
    (From a presentation I made to the Goodwill Youth Group, St. Joseph,10th., November 1991)

44. Theophilus Gazerts Avatar
    Theophilus Gazerts

1991 and even more relevant today.

45. It is fun to blame the current lot in the DLP, but in ALL honesty, our predicament is well deserved… and is the result of all our COLLECTIVE actions … and inactions.

WHOSOEVER takes up the mantle of leadership in a country CLAIMED by the EVIL one – will suffer the identical fate of the current DLP lot.

Have a good look at them…The look of their faces testify against them. They parade their sin like Sodom. They don’t hide it. Woe to their soul! For they have brought disaster upon themselves. (Isa 3:9)

Did Barbados Today create that telling picture of Stinkliar …. or did Isaiah know something that we did not…? …and Froon’s mugshot in the Nation paints and equally chilling image.

Barbados is in need of deep SPIRITUAL cleansing…. and to dig up that shiite monument at the Garrison…
    After this, even the DLP could make a good run at leading a recovery…
    However, if we (collectively) persists on our wicked, albino-centric pathway, the whole island will become a global monument to evil as whoever we appoint comes under the spell of the god that we have whole heartedly adopted.

46. @ David you keep writing ” we missed the boat “and I absolutely agree……..but will we try

to catch it or drown.

47. @ William
    You are 100% right about the education system
    What we have is a catch 22 situation, where this flawed education system perpetuates itself.
    The Teachers cannot see beyond their noses…
    Creativity is a badword….

If even a bright star of the system, like Jeff, is instinctively put off by just the thought of an unconventional political system based on cooperatives…. What then would you expect from Jones – at the opposite end of the intelligence spectrum…?

The whole genesis of Barbados has been to create ‘sheeple’ who toe the line, do as they are told; never rock the boat; and keep massa happy….. while fighting each other for albino-acceptance.

After a lifetime of trying to fight this arrangement, Bushie has concluded that only BBE can change this reality….

In the meantime (and between times) it will be de whacker in everyone’s donkeys…

48. EDUTEC was suppose to be a nation changing project. Many year after what can we say besides many favoured contractors smiled all the way to the bank? What is the outcome of the EDUTEC evaluation and who have we held accountable.

49. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

“Since 1986/87, I recommended to the Task Force on Employment, that the Eleven Plus Examination be abolished, and that the transfer to the secondary schools be automatic (continuous assessment) taking into account the academic, technical and other levels of the students.”

This is actually the sannest route, but too many backward people on the islajdd starting with the leaders, believe in status and classism….which high school ya attended….so 2 generations of people later…..50 years…..the education system, having never been overhauled or upgraded, is regressing and useless.

50. David

One of our biggest problems, is our failure to use our limited land resource (physical development) as a strategic tool for social and economic development. The article in yesterday’s Nation “Yes to Hyatt” is instructive. Note that the residents support the hotel, but believe that they should have first dibs on jobs. If we were smart, residents would not be guessing; one of the conditions for permission should have been the provision of a fixed percentage of jobs and training opportunities during construction and operation for residents of Bridgetown. Instead we have talk show moderators and the Nation trying to make us believe that 50+ conditions justify the absence of an EIA, and makes the project credible. A simple google search would have shown the reporter that dust control, hours/days of construction and the other conditions highlighted are all standard requirements. How many of those conditions, however, are strategic and focused on addressing our social and economic development in a more granular manner? A new hotel and the creation of jobs alone cannot be the only objective, as this alone will not achieve the regeneration of Bridgetown. The hotel must be fully integrated into the life of the community to be meaningful, because the regeneration of a city is heavily dependent on its residents and the quality of life they enjoy. Yuh think the CTP/PM asked the Hyatt developers to provide and maintain public changing facilities as a condition of planning permission?