debtbytypeThere is a tide in the affairs of men.
Which, taken at the flood, leads on to fortune;
Omitted, all the voyage of their life
Is bound in shallows and in miseries.
On such a full sea are we now afloat…

Julius Caesar, Act-IV, Scene-III

This Blogmaster found himself this week casting his eyes to the sky. The motivation for doing so was not because there was an overpowering inclination to lift up my eyes unto the hills, from which comes my help – Psalm 121:1. Although the discomfiting news the Barbadian public has had to suffer in the week would not fault the Barbadian from seeking solace in the divine.

The reason for looking skyward was to observe the wires on the poles which line our dense road network. At every turn one can detect different types of wires strung between the poles satisfying some purpose we presume. There was the high tension electric wire, telecommunications wires from FLOW and Digicel. One suspects if we were inclined to search it out wires that supported Barbados Rediffusion before it became obsolete would have been discovered as well.

The other nugget of news which gave BU reason to ponder was the continuing discussion about if the Fair Trading Commission (FTC) will rubber stamp the transaction to sell the BNTCL to SOL. No disrespect to the FTC Commissioners but we say rubber stamp because the government has already counted the USD100 million in the forex inflows required as a lifeline by the government to escape of the clutches of an IMF loan program.

Barbados is classified as a small island developing state. Barbados use to wear the label as a small country fighting above its weight class. Barbados was regarded in the 80s and early 90s as the model small Black led country. Is it unreasonable to question why our leaders would not have rolled out a plan to eliminate overhead wires by 2030?  The reasons for doing so are obvious. The same observation can be made for properly trenching the roads to more efficiently accommodate the services like water and gas and the others. More importantly, why a population which has been the beneficiary of billions invested in education would be reluctant to demand the highest standards from our leadership? Perhaps the more pertinent question is why would we cede the awesome responsibility of leadership to those who are not worthy. It is a reflection on us the people and not the leaders we like to vilify.

Imagine a simple observation of the mass of overhead wires that afflict our eyeline on a daily basis would provoke such an avalanche of thought by the BU Blogmaster. This is one example how we should measure our achievement as a people in the post Independence period.

To reinforce the point where we needed to be as a country in 2017 based on our high per capita investment in education in the last 50 years: last month the Irish parliament voted 90 to 53 to pass the Fossil Fuel Divestment Bill. The objective is to enable Ireland to divest its sovereign wealth fund, Ireland Strategic Investment Fund (ISIF), worth €8.5 billion, from coal, gas and oil and would see a ban on any further fossil fuels investment going forward. The question we need to answer honestly is whether government is attempting to divest itself of the BNTCL because of a commitment to the renewable sector or is it a money grab. It is interesting to note the myopic analysis offered by the Barbados Chamber of Commerce (BCCI) to support the sale paints a vivid picture of where we are as a country.

In 2008 the government of which Prime Minister Freundel Stuart was a member commissioned a Special Working Group on the Economy to identify measures to lead Barbados out of the economic crisis it continues to find itself. The document titled Barbados Short and Medium Term Action Plan is available to the public. Go to page 23 of the  28 page document linked in the line above and be the judge of whether we are a people who deserve the government we elect.

You be the judge!

117 responses to “Barbados, OUR Country”

1. @ William
    “Since 1986/87, I recommended to the Task Force on Employment, that the Eleven Plus Examination be abolished,
    Even BEFORE 1986, Bushie was recommending that the Eleven Plus Examination be EXTENDED so that for EACH and every year, students could rotate towards different schools that reflect their ongoing talents if the results so indicated.
    We would then have 11+, 12+, 13+ and 14+ exams….

Schools would also specialise is various skill sets and specialities – and on an ONGOING basis, our young talents could be channelled to the school resource that best fits its focus.

You know full well that just ‘abolishing the exam’ will only lead to a chaotic, status-based allocation of students based on the perceived status of the schools and the influence of their parents.

All changes should be meritocracy focused.

2. @ Enuff
    Bushie wants some credit for these long(ish) posts of yours …that are PACKED with wisdom (as long as you stay away from CSME).

Much respect boss….

3. @ Bust Tea
    Actually, I along with others in the Barbados Union of Teachers (BUT), under the leadership of Comrade John Cumberbatch, were calling for the Eleven Plus to be abolished, since the 70’s. The BLP and DLP. spent more time discrediting teachers and Comrade Cumberbatch, than engaging in a positive discussion. They said that we wanted to stop “poor black children from going to Harrison and Queens College”. The debate was sabotaged and the public sided with the BLPDLP. I have noted, that in recent times, as the system continues to come under the microscope, that public sentiment seems to be moving toward the exam’s abolition.
    One of the ploys that the establishment uses very effectively is to muddle up the waters and turn serious discussion into comedy. One notes that in the current discourse about improper governance , even those, who are considered to be “highly” educated, cannot see beyond the BLP and DLP. They are also guilty of muddling up the waters.
    Public discourse has been skillfully hijacked by the operatives of the BLPDLP. It is obvious even on BU, that many submissions are based on party affiliation rather than the national good.
    The BLPDLP has never had to explain what exactly happened to EDUTECH.

4. Bushie

The eleven plus should be abolished and replaced with a system suited towards our needs with a heavy dose of thinking and common sense involved…it would be usefull to look at the formats of the educational system of the Nederlands,Deutschland and Finland.

5. A BLP educationminister had a plan to zone schools in Barbados so that children would go

to the school nearest to where they lived.

It is workable today .

6. Andrew Hart

3 hrs

Regarding the BNTCL sale, has anyone heard what rate of return is being guaranteed to the Buyer of the asset (so far I have only heard that it will be a "utility rate of return") ? Has anyone heard what the existing throughput fee is ? Has anyone heard what the throughput fee will become in order to guarantee the Buyer the promised rate of return ?

LikeShow More Reactions

Comment

3 3

Comments

Jeremy Stephen

Jeremy Stephen All speculative. But we will solve all of that very soon.

Like · Reply · 1 · 3 hrs

Doug Newsam

Doug Newsam How we can we hear any of that when all we hear is the sound of silence?

(Sorry Simon & Garfunkel – I had to do that …..)

Like · Reply · 1 hr

Colin Daniel

Colin Daniel From what I recall the utility rate of return was around 14%. What matters just as much as rate of return is the base on which that return is measured

Like · Reply · 2 · 1 hr

Andrew Hart

Andrew Hart The base is the $100m that the Buyer is paying for the asset. 14% guaranteed return in today’s investment climate is huge, considering the interest rate at the commercial banks is less than 1%.

Like · Reply · 1 hr

Jeremy Stephen

Jeremy Stephen Andrew Hart Oil is as safe as having a bank account?

Like · Reply · 1 hr

Andrew Hart

Andrew Hart Jeremy Stephen Not sue what you are asking. The owners of this terminal have 0 ownership of oil. They are renting space for the storage of oil. They have absolutely no risk whatsoever. other than that of being paid by the owners of the oil.

Like · Reply · 1 hr

Jeremy Stephen

Jeremy Stephen No I am asking you to be very clear on if there’s any risk on the money invested. Clearly it isn’t because of the guaranteed minimal rate of 14%. So i was being cheeky. Basically I was egging you on to explain further the connection to bank accounts.

Like · Reply · 1 hr

Andrew Hart

Andrew Hart I see no risk for the Buyers of this terminal. They have a guaranteed return. Furthermore, if their only customer does not pay the throughput fee, they can simply hold the oil until they do. There are no options for the customer, as this deal includes a 15 year guarantee that no other competing terminal is built.

Like · Reply · 1 · 58 mins

Colin Daniel

Colin Daniel The better for the Government was to sell BNOC and keep BNTCL and have the annuity certain an lose the risk associated with oil exploration and production

Like · Reply · 32 mins

David King

Write a reply…

Peter Jan Boos

Peter Jan Boos Now this is the sort of secure income generating investment that should be help in a portfolio of NIS assets.It is a monopoly of a vital energy need.

Like · Reply · 3 · 58 mins

Doug Newsam

Doug Newsam But that may not fit the modus operandi.

Like · Reply · 12 mins · Edited

7. The chart might be old but the future way is evident: into the abyss. Barbados repeated the same categorical errors like all other failing countries in the region (eg Jamaica, Venezuela), namely unbalanced economy (tourism), dysfunctional judiciary, bloated parliament and administration, excessive import taxes, low work ethic, no individual responsibility and last not least overpopulation.

8. Jeremy Stephen,

Oil is as safe as a bank account. is this real, of you are having a laugh?

9. @Hal

Jeremy explained his remark. It was tongue in cheek.

10. Andrew Hart is no idiot.

11. Peter Boos,
    The economy needs a radlcal overhaul. Sinckler messed up the nation’s prosperity.

12. @Hal

Those comments were extracted from a Facebook page.

13. @Bush Tea February 25, 2017 at 9:45 AM “The ONLY way that ordinary human beings can sink to such low levels of self-image is when overtaken by a spiritual curse that is beyond their ability to manage.”

@Bush Tea February 25, 2017 at 9:47 AM “They shoulda NEVER built that shiite on the Garrison.”

Even the devil deserves his due, so let me the devil’s advocate.

Why don’t you stop blaming the devil for what he hasn’t done?

If we Bajans are wicked it is because we find it profitable to be wicked.

Stop blaming the devil.

14. I crashing de party thusly I do beg an excuse. De fella posed a question re oil being as safe as a bank acc but what is laughable about that.

if’in the owner of de oil running an oil business wid gas stations and all dat den in fact de oil is SAFER than money at de bank.

Wha just de udder day they say that oil gine remain around $50/barrel or maybe even fall back again if the Sauds get upset dat de OPEC cutback ain’t wukking.

Whether de price go up or go down it would seem that dis deal gine be good for de SOL investors dem. As but of course dey controlling a sizable chunk of their own destiny.

15. The country needs a radical make over. Only if it does not effect those who are asking for it. Notice the ones who are the loudest and most vocal are quick to direct the radical make overs for the least vulnerable e.g school meals bus fare all or any thing that would be a make over for the poor those calling for change never make mention of themselves like having to pay full service for education and hospital care. Only on that page would one find them in total agreement with the less vulnerable
    But on other charges their is the parting of ways

16. “National, Good” translation hard work , Any takers i do not think so.

17. @ac

“The country needs a radical make over.” Indeed. We must deconstruct the deep state. Cut down the rotten flesh of the civil service to the bone. We will see if some better flesh will grow again.

We do not need 18 cabinet ministers.
    We do not need 51 parlamentarians.
    We do not need so many judges.
    We do not need so many civil servants.
    We do not need so many embassies and missions abroad.
    We do not need so many statutory corporations.

p.s. How was Frundel´s trip to the IMF?

18. @ac

“… like having to pay full service for education and hospital care.” Tell me, ac, WHY do we pay taxes at all if there is no governmental contribution to education and health anymore?

EITHER Barbados fires a sufficient number of civil servants and transforms into a lean state with low taxes OR Barbados remains a rotten welfare state with high taxes. You cannot seriously offer Barbadians a system with socialist, excessive taxes AND no welfare. Or do you think Sinckler´s imagination of the Scandinavian welfare state works like this?

Tertium non datur!

19. See whst i mean the same ole diatribe not my problem…steupsee..guh long do hypocrite

20. I must say that i find it difficult to sympathise with a relatively small island located in a sun-kissed part of the world. An island with a relatively flat terrain guarded by the Caribbean sea and the Atlantic. An island that has a small, literate and a homogeneous Negro population.

I find it remarkable that many of the great problems that afflict our world such as the lack of access to clean water, sanitation, famine, terrorism, religious bigotry and war remain absent within our country.

Yet, despite our enormous comparative advantages in relation to other countries we have somehow managed to stall our development and regressed. To whom do we point the finger to apportion blame?

We deserve no sympathy.

21. @Exclaimer

Yes, Barbados is flat, but has a splendid history. What we need is a story for tourists. A story about Lord Nelson, Stede Bonnet and Saint Bussa. We also need better value for tourists. 30 years ago Barbados was quite a cheap holiday, today it is one of the most expensive destinations.

To put it simple: There is no added value for tourists since many years, but the pricing shifted from middle range to the very top range.

22. @ the Honourable Blogmaster

Well Well and Consequences’ post of 1.18 p.m. got me to wondering if Pat Hoyos reads Barbados UnderGround? heheheheheheh

Maybe, just maybe, with all the talk that he heard being being bantered round and about by “..a group of a dozen or so top business people with proven track records and good reputations should be brought together by someone and allowed, essentially, to run the Government…”

maybe that group might start to put teeth to said verbal? movement and might want to fund a few thousand T-Shirts instead of just talking pretty like me and nuff udder bajans

http://imgur.com/a/tO5vr

23. We need a Trump for Bim.

Read all about the good he has achieved in getting people to exercise,to become literate,to attend political functions,etc,etc

I can’t believe I’m saying this, but it looks like Trump is actually making America great again. Just look at the progress made since the election:
    1. Unprecedented levels of ongoing civic engagement.
    2. Millions of Americans now know who their state and federal representatives are without having to google.
    3. Millions of Americans are exercising more. They’re holding signs and marching every week.
    4. Alec Baldwin is great again. Everyone’s forgotten he’s kind of a jerk.
    5. The Postal Service is enjoying the influx cash due to stamps purchased by millions of people for letter and postcard campaigns.
    6. Likewise, the pharmaceutical industry is enjoying record growth in sales of anti-depressants.
    7. Millions of Americans now know how to call their elected officials and know exactly what to say to be effective.
    8. Footage of town hall meetings is now entertaining.
    9. Tens of millions of people are now correctly spelling words like emoluments, narcissist, fascist, misogynist, holocaust and cognitive dissonance.
    10. Everyone knows more about the rise of Hitler than they did last year.
    11. Everyone knows more about legislation, branches of power and how checks and balances work.
    12. Marginalized groups are experiencing a surge in white allies.
    13. White people in record numbers have just learned that racism is not dead. (See #6)
    14. White people in record numbers also finally understand that Obamacare IS the Affordable Care Act.
    15. Stephen Colbert’s “Late Night” finally gained the elusive #1 spot in late night talk shows, and Seth Meyers is finding his footing as today’s Jon Stewart.
    16. “Mike Pence” has donated millions of dollars to Planned Parenthood since Nov. 9th.
    17. Trump has succeeded where thousands of history teachers failed – now everybody knows who Frederick Douglass was.
    18. Melissa FREAKING McCarthy.
    19. Travel ban protesters put $24 million into ACLU coffers in just 48 hours, enabling them to hire 200 more attorneys. Lawyers are now heroes.
    20. As people seek veracity in their news sources, respected news outlets are happily reporting a substantial increase in subscriptions, a boon to a struggling industry vital to our democracy.
    21. Live streaming court cases and congressional sessions are now as popular as the Kardashians.
    22. Massive cleanup of facebook friend lists.
    23. People are reading classic literature again. Sales of George Orwell’s “1984” increased by 10,000% after the inauguration. (Yes, that is true. 10,000%. 9th grade Lit teachers all over the country are now rock stars.)
    24. More than ever before, Americans are aware that education is important. Like, super important.
    25. Now, more than any time in history, everyone believes that anyone can be President. Seriously, anyone.

24. @Vincent

Really?

Trump is a symptom of a dysfunctional system.

Have you resigned to the idea that Trump represents leadership?

25. Things in Barbados rollout with predictability. This is agrofest weekend and lo and behold we have to suffer ministers Estwick and Sealy on the afternoon talk show discussing the link between tourism and agriculture.

We like it so!

26. David

Every dark cloud has a silver lining……Trumps ascendancy has forced the Americans to wake up and start thinking again and they have been awakened to a scary reality.

Estwick did not participate and Sealy made a brief comment at the beginning.

What was interesting were the contrasting views on the same way forward for Ag, between McClean and Paul members of the same party…….McClean is blaming “whites” and govt, whilst Paul is blaming the lack of money for the state of Ag. as no one is lending to farmers.

In essence we have a useless govt because they could stop listening to the “whites” and the MoF by a stroke of the pen could open an avenue for funding.

27. @Vincent Haynes February 26, 2017 at 8:00 AM “We need a Trump for Bim.”

Lolll!!!

28. “Vincent

If these are the people we have leading our policy making in agriculture it explains so much. If we cannot jump start with Paul, Benn who absconded to Canada, the McCleans et al then the god dead as far as the future state of agriculture

29. Here is CIBC First Caribbean overview report of the economies of the Caribbean. Note the benchmark scores for Barbados Bonds on pages 10, 11 …

https://barbadosunderground.files.wordpress.com/2017/02/cibc-caribbean-market-overview.pdf

30. David

You are correct as agriculture had its best shot for survival under this administration with all those goodly gentlemen knowing what should be done when in opposition but then could only find excuses when in govt.

The facts are that successive govts have allowed the merchant class to hold the ascendancy by acts of omission or commission against the manufacturing and Ag. sectors thus allowing the majority of the private sector to be merchant led, the same private sector that this govt now wants to help from….merchants are their to make money for themselves and investors and if Bim collapses they will still be here.

31. James Paul appears to be preoccupied with being too defensive of the sector.

Why did minister Estwick not participate on the talk show program this morning? Was a reason given?

32. A real circus! Paul and McClean should be asking the PM and his party how they could approve a solar farm on 70 acres of public land to be operated by a foreign company, with local expertise available and the roofs of so many government buildings free of solar panels. Not forgetting that organic farming in greenhouses on that 70 acres would fit right into linking tourism and agriculture.

33. @ enuff
    Seriously now Boss…. you are not playing fair…

Shiite man!!! Bushie agrees with you yet AGAIN….
    ….Is this some kind of reverse psychology move to rattle the bushman…?

Keep this up and a formal complaint will be going to David(BU) related to pre-emptive plagiarism on your part….

Consider yourself duly warned.
    Gregory Nicholls is on Bushie’s go-to lists yuh!!!

34. …on the other hand, McClean and Paul dropped some warm lashes in Wickham’s donkey…. Although Bushie has to say that he took them in stride…
    Ha ha ha
    shiiRt!!! 🙂

35. Wunna know very well that back benchers unfortunately don’t have much influence on government policy making.

And this is true whether the BLP or the DLP is in office.

I commend James Paul for his good work with the farmers. You can fault the DLP but you can’t fault the Barbados Agricultural Society (the farmers) nor James Paul.

36. @Bush Tea

Your bias aside as far as PW is concerned his position is valid. He remains to be persuaded if a valid position is put on the table by the technocrats. In other words he has an open mind.

37. Nonsense!

In the present configuration of a narrow margin held by government backbenchers should be able to exert heavy influence on the frontbench. If not use the opportunity of sitting in parliament to speak out.

38. I love Peter (you too James, so don’t feel no way) but I prefer to hear Peter on politics, not so much on agriculture, but he did have some good provocative questions, and James had well informed answers. I enjoyed the discussion. I think that Peter has moved a little bit in the right direction, that is pro-agriculture, and he took his lashes like a man. You can’t fault him there.

39. Simple

I need you in simple point form to list all the good things the BAS has done over the last 8 years.

Totally agree with Davids ….nonsense….above

40. @Simple Simon

How else should a man take lashes except like a man?

41. David sometimes big men (and women) cry and whine and ask for their mommies like they are little children, when the lashes start to share.

Lolll!!!

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Vincent Haynes February 26, 2017 at 2:26 PM
    “You are correct as agriculture had its best shot for survival under this administration with all those goodly gentlemen knowing what should be done when in opposition but then could only find excuses when in govt.”

Those politically tainted agricultural experts sitting in academic armchairs rocked by their own dlp government behave as if they are still in opposition after these nine years of holding office.

Who or what are they going to blame for the outrageously escalating food import bill and the debilitating and costly spread of NCDs during their tenure in ‘power” to deal with these known forex leaking solvable problems?

Everybody of a trained expert knows what “needs to be done” but is totally comatose as to its execution.

Is it true that the Ministry of Agriculture has more play-play experts with the title ‘PhD’ behind their doctoral name than there are real doctors at the QEH?

There is only one thing which would bring Bajans to Christian Agricultural understanding and that is the challenge of starvation brought to them by the dark angel of Devaluation when the forex fairy godmother flies through the conspicuous consumption window and the devil will certainly take the hindmost in a trip back in time to those once arable but now overgrown with cow-itch agricultural fields to grow potatoes and yams full of healthy carbohydrates.

We are what we eat.

Eat too much processed imported food and your body becomes another larder in the hospital for lazy constipated bastards.

43. @Vincent Haynes February 26, 2017 at 3:23 PM “Simple I need you in simple point form to list all the good things the BAS has done over the last 8 years.”

Unlike you Vincent I am not a BLP partisan, neither am I a DLP partisan, so I don’t deal in 8 or 10 year cycles.

So let us look over the last 50 years of the BAS’ liife, and when I say the BAS I am not referring specifically to James Paul. I am referring to the administation of the Society and I am referring to the farmers.

You remember Vincent when the only milk available for most people in Barbados was canned evaporated or condensed milk? Do you remember when mothers fed their babies watered down condensed milk, and 20% of our babies died of marassmus/protein calorie malnutrition?

I remember when my own toddler brother was so malnourished, that his uncle the carpenter built a coffin for him.

I remember.

I am glad that Barbados’ farmers are producing enough milk that any mother can buy litre of good milk from the corner shop, so that they can wean their babies on to good stuff.

I am glad that Barbados’ farmers produce [nearly] enough cooking eggs, so that eggs are readily available at every supermarket, corner and village shop

And as for proper pork. Enough I salute the pork producers.

I salute those men who go out to the sea in ships to ensure that even poor people can eat cheap good quality protein (not sure if they are members of the Ag Society though)

I salute the sheep and goat farmers, a special shout out to Pork Hoad, no, no, make that Goat Hoad.

I salute those who are producing ground provisions, fruit and vegetables.

I commend the BAS.

I commend the farmers.

I commend the farm labourers.

Can they do better? Sure.

Can you do better? Sure.

Can I do better. Sure?

44. Maybe you Vincent don’t have a sibling who almost died of hunger in this country.

But I have.

45. Simple

Sorry to disillusion you but the only party I have ever joined was the now defunct NDP over the years I have voted for both parties including the DT govt,which I have lived to regret….but we digress.

I said the above to show you it was not meant to coincide with the change of governance but with Benn and Paul at the helm of the body for those years and at the same time having the ear of the govt.

I would like you tell me in point form what was achieved by them who prior to that knew what was to be done and I speak from personal knowledge as having spent 40 odd years associated with it.

46. What experience does Doug ‘’’strike up the band’ Hoyte have of managing a financially troubled company? Can he read a balance sheet even?

#jesustakethewheel

#wherethereisnovision

CBC $115m in debt

47. @ David,

“Hoyte is an Emmy Award winning journalist and was a former news anchor on CBC TV. He is also a former director of communications at the Almond Resorts and director of news at an American media house.”

48. @Hants

You just sealed it!

49. @ David,

I had shares in Almond which turned to toilet paper. lol

50. @ David
    Can he read a balance sheet even
    Very likely….
    If it is put up on a tele prompter …he should be able to… 🙂
    …and provided this happens BEFORE he fires a few grogs… from the looks of it…

BTW
    Surely there is a mistake there…
    What the hell would 250 people be employed at CBC to do…?
    This must be an error….
    NO WAY they can have more than 50 people …max!!!