David Comissiong, Citizen of Barbados
Submitted by David Comissiong, President, Clement Payne Movement

It is clear to me that the Freundel Stuart Administration is looking for a scapegoat for its 8 year long and continuing abysmal economic performance, and has decided that Dr. Delisle Worrell is to be that scapegoat.

Let us be very clear about this— in the real world of politics neither a Board of Management nor a Minister of Finance fires a Governor of a Central Bank! Rather, any decision of this magnitude would have to be taken by the Prime Minister and his Cabinet of Ministers.

Thus, we should perceive the decision to fire Central Bank Governor Dr. Delisle Worrell as the decision of the Freundel Stuart Administration as a whole rather than as a decision of Minister Chris Sinckler.

This decision only makes sense if it is recognized for what it is— a desperate attempt to conveniently dump all of the blame for Government’s shameful economic failure on the shoulders of a “disgraced” Worrell in the run up to a General Election.

As all Barbadians are aware, Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler and Central Bank Governor Dr. Delisle Worrell have been hand-in-glove partners during the entirety of Dr. Worrell’s tenure as Governor of the Central Bank! So, if there is a reason– on objective grounds– to fire Worrell then that reason must extend to Minister Chris Sinckler as well!

You simply cannot separate the performance and record of Dr. Worrell from the performance and record of Chris Sinckler. So if Worrell must go, clearly Chris Sinckler must go as well. (But that is only if one is making an objective non-partisan analysis of the situation.)

The fact that no decision was taken by Mr Stuart to fire Chris Sinckler suggests that the decision to fire Worrell was a purely “political” decision aimed at providing a convenient scapegoat for the DLP’s failed economic policies.

Barbadians should not permit themselves to fall for this threadbare Machiavellian political trick!

The current DLP Administration has thoroughly disgraced and exhausted itself. It has demonstrated beyond the shadow of a doubt that it has no answer whatsoever to the myriad of problems facing our country. It is long past time for Barbados to be released from this dysfunctional Governmental Administration. What Barbados needs is not a new Central Bank Governor! Rather, we need a new Government!

116 responses to “Barbados Needs a New Government Not a New Central Bank Governor”

1. Expect the financial system of Barbados to collapse within the next 6 months.

Maybe Trump, China or UK will buy the island.

2. The old folks always said…………if you start wrong, you must end wrong.

When Winston Cox was fired as governor, there had to be a reason why Dr Worrell was overlooked and the position given to Dr Marion Williams.

The dems felt at the time Dr Worrell should have been given the job. Look what they did……as soon as they got in, Dr Williams retired and was rewarded with a luxurious posting overseas to make way for Dr Worrell to be installed as governor……………the dems got their willing accomplice to help them destroy this country.

At first I had a little sympathy for Dr Worrell but as the days went on, I said hell no………..he deserves what’s happening. He is the trained economist, he knew what he was doing would eventually mashed up the country and pray tell me how would a man like the Stinkliar know about printing money if Dr Worrell had not told him about doing this form of financing……..a man who knew nothing about economics and who to this day cannot decipher 0.07 and 0.007………..

No no……….it was Dr Worrell who introduced this method of printing money to Stinkliar and it had to be the same Worrell who told Stinkliar of declaring a dividend on the HCF so that their blue eye financier could be paid for the poorly built houses at the Grotto.

3. What was the governor’s input to the discussion to raise the debt limit?

Here is what we know for sure -the uncertainty will do nothing to boost confidence in the market. Foreign investors will pull back for the moment. There is just too much uncertainty.

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Worrell is old enough to see he is putting the country through trauma….watching him and karma.

I could believe deceitful Fruendel, Dumbville and all the other incompetents in the background pulling the strings to blame Worrell for everything….but as Governor Yardfowl…betraying the people to remain in the company of the snakes in parliament…….Worrell more than deserves it.

Tron…are you ok, trump would buy it and deport everyone of you, besides, he is a bridge kid, they think islands are beneath them

5. David
    I got news for you.They pulled back since Jan ’08.The only ‘outvestors’ are Butch and the China Bank Sam Lords in Waiting and they command their terms.Numbers are up says Richie & Billy.Spend is down says DeLisle.Butch Barbados revenue not reaching Barbados.A BU contributor estimate the cost of Butch to the Treasury is 500 million Bdos dollars.

6. David Comissiong is half right.

Certainly, a new government, of the most likely kind, will NEVER solve these problems.

We are not to be even persuaded that there is such a pretense.

That most likely new government will NEVER, except for during a short honeymoon period which will be merely psychological, deliver Barbados from this deep morass.

It is indeed deeply regrettable that Mr. Comissiong could not present the country with a more genuine answer. And be the leader of the main phalanx.

That he can only, implicitly, commend his cousin smacks of nepotism. The pervasive political immaturity of our country.

So at one extreme, Comissiong can do no better than present our country with a lost hope. A government that should have been – in the making.

While at the other the nature of local inbreeding delivers us at genetic convergence.

Certainly, we should not in 2017, have to babysit the FJS mal-administration for these years just waiting for a change to dump them.

Moreover, in ditching this DLP it cannot be progress to go back to the vomit expelled just 8 years ago’

If we were from Mars we would be convinced that Bajans are politically mad.

7. Violet C Beckles CUP Avatar
    Violet C Beckles CUP

Barbadians should not permit themselves to fall for this threadbare Machiavellian political trick!@@@ Agree
    But it does not mean that Mia and the BLP is any better,I know for a fact, Next this was the hand off of something the BLP started and got going in 1995 with ex AG David Simmons.then later CJ and then EX CJ . PM David knew he was a crook,
    Next Owen and MIa came with 1997 VAT , the start of the Massive Land Fraud, That 15% Vat that no one can not see a cent nor penny of the money, That was to go to the UDC.

The DLP took over this Massive laundering of funds with Mrs.Williams at the CB, Her name need to be called and a Full Audit needs also to done on her time when CLICO was flying high with land fraud herself,
    Let us not get happy with this post for once again, many tricks coming fast at election time, the phone calls I receive yesterday and emails tells me people are not going for the same she-it this time,

Mia’s family on BU looking to support her, Mia is still guilty of killing a family in Brittons Hill cave in, where We hold Plantation Clear title. Now! who gave her Permission to build over a cave?
    Approve Plans by Owen nor Mark Cummins? Mia still need permission from the land owner/s

This Election time will be about telling the truth,
    No music, no yelling People need to bring paper and pen and take notes as people will be bypassing the local corruption FAKE NEWS BY RADIO, TV, NEW PAPERS,

don’t forget a CoUP is coming, Bet on it, CUP

DBLP have a treaty of crime and corruption, look they wont even let the TV, NEWS,RADIO SAY THE WORD CUP, C U P = CUP THEIR LIPS MUST BURN , EVERY CUP OF COFFEE THEY DRINK ITS RIGHT IN THEIR FACES,

8. Gabriel

Added to the complete free reign of Sandals, this government is paying Delta Airlines $7million dollars to bring people here primarily guests for Sandals. So the taxpayers are not only being succoured by the free 40 years of giveaways but we are paying an airline $7million US at that………… to bring in their guests.

Tell me that this government is not made up of idiots of the highest degree.

Do you know why the numbers are up and the spend not commmensurate with the numbers? They count the people who come off the ships and go straight up to the airport to board Thomas Cook planes……..that is how they boast of such high numbers.

We are doomed with Freundel’s and his fools as Frustrated keeps telling us.

9. So, pray tell me…NO BLP, NO DLP, NO SB, NO BIM.. well, ….CUP do you have a team?

10. @ Pachamama

Well said but do you or anybody else who has followed the machinations of the broad collective political class expect anything different? When all is said and done , the desire to either have a BLP government or a DLP government remains paramount. And that is our major problem. We can cuss Worrell, Cox , Williams and every other technocrat but as long as the BLPDLP apologists are amongst us, there will be no change.
    The people want to rid themselves of the BLPDLP but unfortunately those with the vision only see hope in the BLPDLP.
    I hold no brief for Freundel Stuart but they did not see him coming even he did not see himself coming. All the pretty talk and praise about Owen Arthur is pure hypocrisy. It is only after Henry Forde made it clear that the office of Prime Minister was really not attractive to him that they needed Arhur’s skills. Arthur never fitted the social cultures but he became very disillusioned and bitter because he learnt that being PM of Bim did not automatically make him acceptable to the real elitists. That is why he is at loggerheads now with Mottley.
    These people are not easy they( BLPDLP) have the skills of a Lance Gibbs in full flight with the evening shadows lengthening and they intend to rule Bimshire for ever………..

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

That’s the main problem in Barbados….what “elitists”…who are these elitists….compare so called elitists in Barbados with those in the real world and they could not even make it through the back door of these people’s dog kennels…

…..too many people think too highly of themselves and others on the island….when no one else does. …the island is inhabited by people….I have never seen or met an elitist in Barbados. …I have seen and met many wannabes, it’s discussed and laughed at in NY all the time.

12. @ Pachamama

You have quite wisely stated something that de ole man, as ignorant as i am will repeat “…Moreover, in ditching this DLP it cannot be progress to go back to the vomit expelled just 8 years ago…”

And therein lies the crux of this matter…

“…Cannon to right of them,
    Cannon to left of them,
    Cannon in front of them
    Volley’d and thunder’d;
    Storm’d at with shot and shell,
    Boldly they rode and well,
    Into the jaws of Death,
    Into the mouth of hell
    Rode the six hundred…”

And in this corner in the blue we have the incompetent DLP a rag tag boxing bag of 9 years and in that corner in the Red we have a boxing bag of 14 PLUS THESE 9 YEARS which has done nothing for the 9 years this lot has been in other than DRESS UP IN WHITE and march all bout barbados while talking in deep tones in a voice that is 3 tones deeper than de ole man can muster when I hoarse.

I said hoarse not hoares….or is that whores? cause effing i call dem whores dem liable to bring charges agains de ole man as dem tell me dat Chris and Worrell planning to bring libel charges against Ms. Heater Cole fuh disparaging remarks dat she say bout both of dem

Heheheheh. de ole man know well whu mekking disparaging remarks heah can do and de ole man everlasting grateful to de Honourable Blogmaster of times afore.

We need to have choices.

We need men like Leighton Trotman AND Jeff Cumberbatch to be coopted by a NON VOMIT PARTY and to show that these are the types of men who we want and not de same ole same ole of Mugabe, Lynette Eastman, Agard, Sandra Husbands etc.

As man, I want one uh wunna to tell me what any of the BLP horde in Opposition has said or done of significance during the last 9 effing years??

13. Agreed. New Government, best option.

14. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@ William Skinner at 7: 58PM

Who are these “real elitists” in Barbados ? And how do you distinguish them from the ”false elitists”? This nomenclature is even more ridiculous than the “Political Class”. Bush Tea I need to borrow the weed whacker. Lord have mercy!!!

!

15. @ Pieceuhderock,

I doubt you can find another 28 men like Leighton Trotman AND Jeff Cumberbatch in Barbados.

16. New government. Then what ?

17. Whuloss!!!!

It going rain!!!

It going got bad weather!!!

Looka me crosses doah nuh…

Looka who lef he corner of de woods and come out to say a ting!!!!

Pachamama !!!!!!

Whey you is????

YOu see dis???

Five words!!!

And while he did not say “and by new government I do not mean Mugabe’s mules, he has come out of his corner.

Look let me get serious for a while though.

We bajans live on this 11 x 16 mile island and we have seen the see-saw of these tow governments for a lonnnnnnngggggg time.

It ent really matter if you is a chinese or a paki, or a buckra or a niggra or a Sand Nigga.

Every one of us knows that UNDER BOTH OF THEM we have been suffering.

Suppose my man Jeff Cumberbatch was to run?

as a third party candidate?

the thing is that we have seen how the man operates here ad a few of us know how he oerates elsewhere and for all of our variated colour scheme WE BAJANS WNAT A LEVEL PLAYING FIELD.

Mr Brathwaite might do his little quick steps to the Pied Pipers Tune but, like each one of us we would want to have a country which is for every single one of us.

Even COW and dem does get tired being hated just for being a business man and getting the lions share and after a while even though they might be fixed in their ways, dem children like the Debbies and the 3 generation kids ent really bout all that sort of colour shyte.

Dem ent about Hunkie Corner and ting and they want to change all this hand me down ingrunce of this old guard.

@ Enuff

Any party that is going to effect a contractual agreement with the people of barbados which will (a) effect the power of recall of its non performing members (through a contract that Mr Jeff Cumberbatch vets) (b) effect FOI (as per outlined by Mr Leighton Trotman and (c) disclose what their assets are prior to campaigning (and have them validated by men with balls like the two aforementioned) and (d) facilitate whistleblower legislation and all the things that the DBLP have alternatively not implemented got de ole man support

18. Piece

You losing it skippa!! Through one side of your mout you blame the size of the island for the proliferation of annonymice then through the opposite calling for whistleblower?

19. @ Hants

I disagree.

Leighton and Jeff in their years here know men and women who can fill those shoes.

There are men who you can leave next to your wallet Hants who will not teif its contents.

There are indian men, there are lebanese, they are chinese, there are niggers and there are buckras who fill these shoes well and do not falter.

There are such men with character who want to serve and can serve but WE THE PEOPLE HAVE TO GIVE THEM THE OPPORTUNITY TO DO PRECISELY THAT.

If barbados falls under the DLP or is further compromised by the incoming despoti government of the BLP all of us suffer.

And lest the BLP-ite supporters think that i am anti Mia, I want to disavow you of that thought.

I am for Barbados and Mia Mottley has done nothing FOR BARBADOS CERTAINLY NOT DURING THE LAST 9 YEAR in opposition and prior to that I want wunna to tll me what has she done.

So I am all behind “wiping the slate clean” and offering up names of men and women who while they have never served before are driven by principles and character.

When they come to the people’s participatory methodology and Gateway and say

(a) I am at the ministry of such and such
    (b) i am asking Permanent Secretary SO and So for these records that Leighton Trotman highlighted for the last 25 years
    (c) PS edison the KHVUNT wil not give me the files
    (d) I have no choice but to fire his scvunt, what do you peeple who have appointed me want?

With the facts that said minister has provided we the peeple, white, indian, lebanese, black going say, CLEAN IT UP, WE TIRED OF THIS SHYTE!!

Bajand Want Change and Positive Change.

We tired of Fumbles and Mugabe and that old guards foolishness that the BLP chanting even now

20. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Political parties are formed around a philosophy or an ideology not around personalities. That is the fundamental problem with our political development. We tend to build parties around personalities. When the charismatic leaders move off the scene the party disintegrates, unless a similar leader is groomed for the job. Even then he must have a vision which allows the party to grow and evolve to meet the changing social and economic realities.
    Each new leader gets an opportunity to stamp his vision on the party. Some are successful others not too successful. Grantley Adams, Errol Barrow , Tom Adams ,Owen Arthur were able to do this. Parties must have a guiding philosophy. It is not enough to want to be PM you must have leadership qualities that capture the imagination and trust of the electorate.

21. Good points Bernard.Good points.Meanwhile William tripping.
    Mark Twain put it in perspective…”Patriotism is supporting your country ALL THE TIME and your government when it deserves it”

22. @Gabriel

So what as gone so terribly wrong with Barbados?

23. William like he still vex bout the 1991 election.

24. David

Incompetence and a compliant electorate. Name 10 social commentary songs over the past 9 years that criticised the government?

25. @enuff

We all agree docility is in play but it is a symptom. What are the causes?

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hants February 17, 2017 at 9:08 PM

Hants, any number can play right now other than the one that is creating economic mayhem and making political ‘laughing-sport’ at the people.

Right now Barbadians are the butt of jokes across the region and probably even as far as in your neck of the cold woods.

How has Barbados gotten to this stage?

First with the many downgrades leading to a veritable junk yard for its sovereign bonds and now a complete circus of political buffoonery.

The country is in free fall all around with the captain of State twiddling thumbs and playing for time hoping like a Nero fool that the political fire would out by itself and all will be back to its new fumbling normal in 2 weeks time.

Watch and see what will be played out in the coming days as far as the political leadership of Barbados is concerned.

Would there be any attempt to save the ship of State (right now sailing on a turbulently cruel sea of no confidence in the country’s viability as a going concern) from total economic and political collapse by removing the lying incompetent bursar who can’t tell the difference between a decimal and a percentage even when using his ‘fractious’ brain?

Or would you see a ‘negroid’ Nero fiddling in the Ilaro(nian) court of clowns ‘jestering’ in naked splendour and shouting from the quixotic gazebo adorned with flowery magniloquence: ‘Don’t panic, this is just a temporary inconvenience just like the potholes one of which I have for a brain’?

How a people who once prided themselves as the ‘elite’ of the Caribbean and ‘numero uno’ in the so-called developing world could have fallen from a pinnacle of social and economic achievement to the dregs of economic stagnation while finding themselves at the centre stage of serious political satire and tragic comedy tarnishing the country’s international reputation of markedly sound reliable political management.

Maybe Bushie is right after all. The burying of that 50 year old broken trident on the Garrison has really activated a curse of evil on the people turning them into 100% brass-bowls with a 24 karat hallmark of value to any devil’s buyer of economic scrap metal with a grease gun in his hand.

“A leader is one who knows the way, goes the way, and shows the way”. ~ John C. Maxwell

27. Anonymouseitis, selfishness and a visceral fear of being viewed as “political”.

28. @ Honourable Blogmaster

The causes are numerous and the list is exhaustive.

But you know what? I am inclined to consider this to be no different than the Wright Brothers or some other pioneer in any field of endeavour and, given the precedence, say like Nike, let us just “Do It”

And by just do it many might say do what? but i will answer, much like the renown independence of 1966, we have to craft a new independence that breaks that old mould and embark with a new party.

Anything else is going to be more of the same

SERIOUSLY,

We have been doing owen ting for 14 years and Fumbles ting for 9.

Mottley brings nothing different because she and her crew are all “Owen ting” and with 25 years under that structure we going brek way altogether.

Much like a rocket going into orbit or going to the moon must break gravity’s grip, this is what every Bajan has to do.

DEMAND MORE OF OUR POLITICIANS!!

MIA running on this Covenant of Hope foolishness we ARE GOING TO DEMAND MORE of them when they come to us, IN A CONTRACT that cannot be broken.

When you buy a suite of furniture from Furniture Ltd or Courts by Hire Purchase you agree to pay x dollars on y date.

If you forfeit such you are in breach and whaplax.

So dat is where we “DOCILE” Bajans going start, at a Furniture Limited COntract that has worded for them all these years so it going wuk for we too.

Get Bizzy or COW lawyers to vet it since they seem to be good and getting ironclad agreements that no government can break, but de ole man point is that we need to put something in place that MAKES IT CLEAR THAT WE ARE NOT DOCILE NO EFFING MORE.

MAKE THEM PUT UP OR GET TO EF OUT OUR LIFES & OUR COMMUNITIES AND OUR HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY.

29. @PUDRYR

We yearn for the end result as you have described. Without a revolution of some form we will struggle to break the full nelson we are locked.

What will fuel a revolution…?

30. Pieceuhderock, Bushie and Miller….why don’t the three of you form a political party and

contest the next elections?

Barbados desperately needs leadership.Wanna talk de talk….now walk the walk.

31. George Brathwaite

We could wait for you to defend the BLP when once the people of Barbados, by default, engage your party to perform the impossible.

Maybe a grand charge of taking on the job under false pretenses could be written up. There is certainly intent to deceive or mislead by those who will pretends answers are available.

But we are less inclined to waste too much time with legal niceties. Instead, we remain certain that a guillotine could be well employ by the necks of thirty.

32. @ Hants
    …it is too late.

33. Example one!

The USA under Trump and his inexperienced and very flawed minions. Wunnah see where dat is now going?

Example two!

Barbados and a whitewash of all flawed former DLP and BLP candidates and replacing them with inexperienced people with unknown real agendas. Wunnah see where dat will go?

Barbados is on the brink. A Canadian birdie has drawn a picture of the pure and sublime Freundal moving to Canada shortly after things get real bad here.

Only a mix of people with Experience, Idealism, Patriotism, Common sense, boundless energy, etc. is likely to bring some measure of gradual success in rebuilding Barbados! Let everyone run in the next and imminent elections but BU and others can educate the people to choose only those who have the necessary attributes and eliminate the ones who have been the architects of our current dire state.

Don’t vote for any party. Vote for individuals. When the individual winners are voted in let them select the various officers among themselves.

This could be our version of the the populism that is now sweeping the North.

34. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/02/18/act-now-8/

Dont know how many different way this government has to be told that their incompetence and novice like government style will further destroy the economy…..they keep doing nothing thing but play juvenile party politics, for over 10 years all the external agencies have warned both governments, yet here they are. If the present government is too incompetent to turn the economy around in 10….who would be foolish enough to think they could in another 5…maybe only yardfowls….June is right there and they refused to act anytime within the last 9 years with any intelligence,.

The ministers are obviously stuck between extreme austerity and trying to fool the electorate to be reeldcted and are playing for time. ..a whole year, but the economy does not have a year before it crashes completely, putting everyone at risk…that’s where they miscalculated.

Both government and Worrell are having a rendezvous with karma.

“Act now!

CDB issues another dire warning on the economy

Added by Marlon Madden on February 18, 2017.
    Saved under Business, Local News
    The Caribbean Development Bank (CDB) has a chilling message for the Freundel Stuart administration: delay further action to breathe life into the ailing economy and face possible disaster.

With Government’s austerity programme yet to produce the desired results, CDB President Dr Warren Smith is warning there is “no painless way” to rein in the fiscal deficit and ballooning debt.

“There is no question that there are some very tough decisions that need to be made in this country. I think the situation has reached the point where it appears to me there is no painless way out of this problem and I think there is an important lesson to be learnt there,” Smith told journalists on the sidelines of the CDB’s annual news conference at its Wildey, St Michael headquarters this morning.

“In economic matters, delay is never a good strategy because the problems that we now find ourselves in, the challenge that we now are faced with, has been made more difficult as a consequence of the accumulation of the problem, so that is an important lesson to learn. But I think it is also important to appreciate that we need action now. The Government of Barbados knows what to do.”

35. @Bernard February 17, at 9:28 PM “Political parties are formed around a philosophy or an ideology not around personalities. That is the fundamental problem with our political development. We tend to build parties around personalities.”

Have you not stated a truism: A self-evident truth that is a wonderful rhetorical hedge but does not get to the core of the solution?

Can you identify a country or political system over these many years where that was not basically in play!

Every political system NEEDS a good but moreso strong leader – and even a charismatic, personality driven one – to move the agenda forward. Sometimes we are blessed with good ones (morally and technically) but they are not strong enough. Jimmy Carter and Erskine Sandiford come readily to mind.

And then we have the larger than life strong and reasonably competent characters like the AdamsX2, Barrow, Arthur, Reagan, Thatcher, Gorbachev to name a few, and those who are truly technical wizards and as morally corrupt as a $3 is bogus; ex. W. Jefferson Clinton.

The party does not disintegrate. How so? Was it not there to embrace and shepherd that leader ?

Of necessity it has to reform around new personalities as it takes time for the previous leader’s cabal to move off the scene (if they ever do properly) and to your point to groom another ‘powerful’ leader to move the agenda forward.

There is also a fundamental truism that unless there is a dynastic family or other form of ‘nepotism like passing the baton’ at play that it is maybe difficult for another successful and powerful leader to be so easily groomed when the older leader leaves the scene.

Thus there is ample validation why the party loses to its opponents. They, who had a wonderful opportunity to reform and allow its own leader to grow and develop unfettered.

Unfortunately for Bdos, MAM really does not fit the bill ideally as the good, moral leader around whom her party should coalesce. But she is powerful and technically strong. So look out!

36. I dont understand it, many black countries are run well,haiti, the congo, angola etc just to name a few , this austerity program must, i say must stay in place otherwise there will be nothing worth taking on exit.

37. SELLOUT BARBADOS.

“BNTCL Holdings Limited (a subsidiary of Sol St Lucia Ltd) and the Barbados National Oil Company Limited (BNOCL)

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/93673/ftc-awaits-merger-reaction#sthash.905OPgaR.dpuf

38. Bim´s downfall in numbers:

18 government ministries
    approx. 70 state bodies
    51 parlamentarians

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hants February 18, 2017 at 8:02 AM
    “SELLOUT BARBADOS.”

Poor J C, our academic luminary legal BU friend, has found himself slam dunk right in the middle of a piddle of a political puddle.

We just hope he is watching how political masters deal with their politically appointed sycophant slaves when these same bureaucrats refuse to do the biddings of their masters’ purely for short-term partisan electoral survival but at the blatant expense of their own country’s ‘longer-term’ interest.

We just hope he doesn’t wait to be pushed like the shabbily dismissed doctor of fudged numbers.

We will certainly admire if he walks away in dignity with his ‘professional’ reputation intact and full of ‘magnanimous’ praise from his BU family.

40. The three that write post on BU, do so, to remain socially relevant, for personal reasons, like a Chairman, Board Member, or some other gain /grain a learnt yardfowl can pick up. not a fellow try to help with changing the wrongs in Barbados

41. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

That’s why ALL the political pimps and yardfowls will eventually be visited by Worrell’s karma.

42. The key to change is to convince the 40 percenters to come out and vote for change in the next election.We have an incompetent government compliments the 40 percenters.Send for Rawdon to join the fray.Bet those 40percenters would run to the polling stations!

43. de pedantic Dribbler February 18, 2017 at 6:55 AM #

Not on all fours……

And then we have the larger than life strong and reasonably competent characters like the AdamsX2, Barrow, Arthur, Reagan, Thatcher, Gorbachev to name a few, and those who are truly technical wizards and as morally corrupt as a $3 is bogus; ex. W. Jefferson Clinton

………………………..competent??……..this is part of 2013 IMF Report:

‘The government’s fiscal problems go back several years. While the fiscal balance has been in deficit since the early 2000s, the structural budget balance started to deteriorate in the mid-2000s as spending and investment was ramped up for various capital projects, including preparations for the Cricket World Cup in 2007, just prior to the onset of the global financial crisis……..
    ……………………………………………………………………….

Unfortunately for Bdos, MAM really does not fit the bill ideally as the good, moral leader around whom her party should coalesce. But she is powerful and technically strong. So look out

…………………….were the “competent characters” above in the Bim scenario good,moral leaders?

Could you explain your meaning in the use of the words…good…..moral….

44. The current state of affairs in Barbados seen in the statement by the MoF some time ago when he tossed out that the next general election will be won based on morality. Imagine the minister of finace who has presided over a tanking economy for the last eight years AND 17 downgrades would take the electorate for fools by seeking to obfuscate. We will have to see who the electorate goes for Twiddlee D or B. Not sure what traction other candidates will garner.

Unbelievable!

45. @Vincent at 10:10 AM — -“were the “competent characters” above in the Bim scenario good,moral leaders? Could you explain your meaning in the use of the words…good…..moral”

Realistically, your determination of ‘good and moral’ will be as appropriate as any I offer.

There is one thing (not original of course) that I will say about our Bajan politicians – as for all of them – that I believe we can agree completely: ‘all political careers end in failure’.

I can make the bold statement that MAM is not morally strong based on the rumors of her personal shenanigans, her public displays of pique and so on. And because she is current and it is reasonable to make a stand on such a matter. The same can definitely be said about her peers, also. Poor moral fiber.

Good, simply means that all things being equal the politician forges ahead for the well-being of the nation without too many blundering mistakes that on balance out-weigh his/her good intent.

That seems to be a reasonable, yes for most of our historical hotshots like Barrow, the Adams and frankly in many regards Arthur and even Sandiford (as debatable as the latter two may be).

And finally lets be practical re your IMF quote. It seems very difficult to appreciate how these islands could have underwritten the WC without that splurge in infrastructure spending. I will not restart a debate of the benefits of all those stadia, particularly considering the almost complete demise of WI cricket over these many years.

As I am sure you know, the economics of large stadia is a charged topic and many larger cities than we have have encountered grave problems in financing and proving the economic viability of construction, so the question can b: should they have been built in the first place/was a different financing model possible. But all that’s done and dusted.

Note carefully the part of the quote which said “just prior to the onset of the global financial crisis”. Even without that, future cash flow and viability were constrained … with that we were probably doomed.

But we are tiny economies and it’s impossible to manage the ‘unknown unknowns’ when the ‘known unknowns’ are already grievously problematic.

46. de pedantic Dribbler February 18, 2017 at 10:38 AM #

I can make the bold statement that MAM is not morally strong based on the rumors of her personal shenanigans, her public displays of pique and so on. And because she is current and it is reasonable to make a stand on such a matter.

…………Its a sad day in Bim when a person can be found guilty of lacking morals by virtue of rumors and innuendo…………….an even sadder day when a woman is held to higher standard than a man of her peers if one is to pass judgement based on rumors.
    ……………………………………………..

Good, simply means that all things being equal the politician forges ahead for the well-being of the nation without too many blundering mistakes that on balance out-weigh his/her good intent.

……………………………….hmmm,how does the above apply to MAM?

47. Look people!!
    The basic problem is that wunna do not even recognise what ‘GOOD’ means.
    As a result of the brass bowlery engendered by our albino-centric focus on money and material things, we think that ‘good’ means having money to spend.

Well it is no wonder then, that when our so-called ‘great’ leaders led us off into prostitution, begging and borrowing, …everyone sang their praises….
    Money was flowing…

Is this any different for a young beautiful maiden who starts out in that same business?
    Are not the first years filled with money, glitz and gay abandon?
    Don’t others who are influenced by the brass bowlery envy her…?
    …and we all know how this story ALWAYS ends…

So what is all the surprise and lamentation now? we have made up our bed, and now is time to lay down…
    We have sown the wind……

Stop talking shiite and prepare for the whirlwind.

48. One man’s opinion
    I have the belief that being heterosexual does not give one any moral superiority over others who are otherwise inclined.

Let’s select leaders based on their vision and activities in the boardroom and not the bedroom.