Flooding in Clarke's Road
Clarke’s Road

clarkes-road-pMinister of Drainage Denis Lowe needs to go. There has been no improvement in the task to alleviate flooding in Barbados since his appointment. In fact, it has gotten worse. Surely it is time for commonsense to prevail and for the Prime Minister to give the opportunity to another person to bring a fresh approach to the job? Unfortunately we know that he will continue to have the backing of Prime Minister Stuart because he is a loyal foot soldier AND there is an election to be won.

For those whose lifes and properties continue to be threatened by heavy rainfall – what are we to do? Yes, we should be able to celebrate Independence Day (whatever that means) and discuss the attendant issues of the day.

By the way, are the weather radars working?

God bless BIM on Independence day.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

284 responses to “Minister Denis Lowe Resignation MUST be on the Table -Flooding @Clarkes Road. St. James – GOD Bless BIM on Independence Day”

1. Hants

I see the watercourse on the 1951 map, but it is a bit further North than where Clarkes Road was built.

I realise that many prospective house owners hire a draughtsman to make their plans and submit to Town Planning and avoid hiring an engineer.

Saves costs but drainage may not have been considered or not considered well in the plans.

That could have happened in the plot of land linking watercourse 2 and 3 together.

2. @ John

In 1979 the water emerge from a hole in the cliff above Clarke’s Road,the water flowed in a naturally cut ravine 5+ feet deep by about 4-5 wide at some stages, it descended deeper and exits at the south of the Cliff restaurant, in a deep ravine into the sea, no flooding in the area until the foreign land owner needed to get heavy equipment to the site, byway of the road from Appleby, over an open plot, removed the ridges of the watercourse on both sides and refused to replaced the ridge on the open plot, then proceeded to building back the ridge on her side to the boundary line in the center of what was the watercourse, Mr.Blackman complained to T&CP, MTW, and Drainage Unit and was ignore, the land owner at the back also removed the ridges up to the cliff, so the water spread out as it emerges

3. South of the Cliff and north of Sandy Cove,where the Coconut Creek was located is a deep ravine through which storm water found its way to the sea.The bridge over the ravine is old and built of brick probably a century or more ago.Further along the highway 1 coming out of Appleby plantation lands along Fitts Village as John pointed out, is another deep ravine and which is nowhere to be seen today but it’s still there on the seaside on the property called Crystal Cove.

4. The easy way

First, approach your neighbor civilly and see how the problem can be resolved.

If you have done it already, just try it again.

Involve the relevant authorities as you have done already, just do it again.

Tuesday must have shocked them into the realization that they need to do their jobs.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

The hard way

If that doesn’t work then you need to do something more if the problem is causing you loss.

If you suffer loss as a result of the actions of your neighbor, quantify it and seek redress.

If those actions go beyond what was permitted by the Town Planner, involve the Town Planner.

The record of how the drainage worked is there in the 1951 map series I have.

I am not a Civil Engineer but I can see how the drainage would most likely have worked before the land was developed from that map.

Go to Lands and Surveys, ground floor of the Al Barak building in Warrens, and get the official Government 1:5000 map of the area.

That will show what the Government’s record is of how it says the drainage works.

Confirm with a Registered Civil Engineer that his/her reading of the map agrees with how you say the drainage should work.

Get the Town Planning Department to confirm or deny that it issued permission for the landowner to change the drainage.

Call the Government to account!!

The 1:5000 maps I have from Lands and Surveys were done from an aerial survey in 1982.

If you need the 1951 aerial photos I believe you can see them at the Barbados Museum.

If you really need them and can’t get them here you can get them from a Government Source in the UK because they were all done by the UK Government.

It is probably easier to go your route, show the Town Planning Department, MTW and Drainage Unit.

Any reasonably competent person can look at the land and understand how it is to drain.

Your problem is that you are being ignored and may have to take it up a notch.

Don’t be afraid.

The people you spoke with are your servants!!

Go to their supervisors and keep elevating the problem until you get satisfaction because it sure looks like it is a problem.

By now the politicians have figured out that Barbados has two water problems … too much and too little …. and more importantly they have figured out that their necks are on the line and Bajans are fed up!!

5. @ Gabriel

The scary thing about this situation is how the person responsible for the prevention of flooding, Mr. Frank Thornhill of MTW allowed the callous actions of two land owners to completely destroy a natural watercourse by redirecting and restricting the flow of water with a botch road in and across the watercourse to cause flooding

6. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Watchman

My apologies. I did not understand that it was the Hudson Blackman situation. I really did not know where or what was Clarkes Gap. However, the mere fact that George Hudson is not there and that there is increasing evidence that the decision to put a road on a natural water course should increase the protest more now that he is not there and whoever is there, understand the seriousness of what was done before. That is why I decided that post posters with other people’s messages concerning why the need to have legislation to make serving MPs accountable and prosecutable. A lot of shite that they have done can no longer go unpunishable.

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/90983/rain-stirs-sewage

This is what happens when ministers neglect their jobs.

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/12/02/major-stink/

People will not be able to bathe on the beachesm cholera.

These disgustingly nasty government ministers gotta go before they cause an epidemic to wipe out the population.

9. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

They got shit that could cause cholera leaking in the roads and dont think that is a priority or an environmental health hazard, after the million dollar jump up and wukking up, the sewage is still flooding the roads and beaches to sicken whomever comes in contact with it, it’s been ongoing for weeks, people should not bathe in the sea as the poop will circulate around the tiny island drifting to every beach and contaminating the water.

Potential tourists only have to hear the word cholera….and every booking will be cancelled for years to come.

10. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Well Well & Consequences December 2, 2016 at 5:06 AM
    Potential tourists only have to hear the word choleraโ€ฆ.and every booking will be cancelled for years to come.

You got that one right, alright!

It is not the BLP, the unions or even the prophets of doom and gloom on BU that will cause the collapse of the local economy or the fall of the current political administration. Far from!

It will be the inevitable outcome of the game of Russian roulette being played by this administration with the health of the citizens and the standard of public sanitation in general.

People from all over the world visit Barbados bringing all sorts of dormant but potentially dangerous bacteria and other organisms in their guts with cholera being a sleeping giant just waiting to be awaken by a cocktail of poor hygiene and compromised potable water system.

The authorities have been warned over and over again about the dangerously high level of risks they are taking with deteriorating state of public sanitation especially in a so-called high-end tourism destination.

The miller himself has been hauled over the coals for crying โ€œwolf, wolfโ€.
    But unlike the boy in the Aesop fable of wisdom the miller is more like a Jeremiah or Daniel.

Even the esteemed clairvoyant Bush Tea has seen the Light and instead of criticizing the lowly miller has decided to jump on the high bandwagon of concern and not to continue like a blow fly to take the Low(e) road of contamination that would only lead to a place called Shitville formerly called Bim the now tarnished gem of the blue Caribbean.

11. I checked my scan of the aerial photo.

You want to see Photo # 0055 at the Museum Library.

The 1:5000 map from Lands and Surveys will also do the trick.

Pretty sure the scans were given to the Chief Surveyor at Lands and Surveys when they were done.

The originals belonged to an Engineering Firm called Law and Connell.

Colin Hudson also had an original series.

It is evident what the drainage was when the arial photo was taken at 6000 feet in December 1950.

12. If we are incapable of building decent roads then what chance of us fixing this problem of raw sewage washing up on our beaches. As I said to Gabriel last week. I can only watch from afar as your wretched island implodes and shake my head in disbelief. It’s going to be very interesting to see how events unfold on your island pre your forthcoming general election. Good luck.

13. @exclaimer

What are you agonizing about, the sewerage will take care of itself, now is the time to celebrate.

14. @Miller etc.
    But unlike the boy in the Aesop fable of wisdom the miller is more like a Jeremiah or Daniel.
    +++++++++
    Or a scaremonger?

Not to downplay the effects of leaking sewage on the population but to imply that cholera is attendant is over the top. I have kin who live in Montreal and that City was repairing some sewage pipes last summer and over the course of a few days unloaded tons of raw sewage into the St. Lawrence river. The St. Lawrence is a major transportation and commercial hub and hundreds of ships ply that corridor daily and thousands of people also work and play on the St. Lawrence. While environmentalists were horrified at the prospect of dumping sewage in the river none of them brought up the spectre of cholera, as you may know Montreal is a major city with millions of residents and visitors in the millions each year from around the Globe. The chance of one of those people bringing cholera and infecting the population is greater than someone visiting Barbados.

Our down and out sister (Haiti) while struggling far greater economically was not even on the cholera radar until the UN brought in โ€œpeace keepersโ€ from Nepal (need I mention that just as Miami is host to many Cubans, Montreal is the Canadian hub for Haitians). When you hint that some visitor could bring in cholera and affect the residents arenโ€™t the chances greater in Montreal where Haitians come and go daily to and from Port au Prince?

Just bringing a bit of perspective to your assertion.

15. @Sargeant

If there is a sewerage leak flowing into a popular beach does it not make sense to think ‘over the top’?

16. I don’t think cholera is an issue but I am not a doctor!!

But here is one doctor who did actually raise the specter of cholera earlier last month although not in relation to sewage.

“Concerns about cholera were raised by the Barbados Association of Medical Practitioners (BAMP) earlier this month. BAMP president Dr Abdon DaSilva told Barbados TODAY at the time that the water outages may force affected residents to source water from ponds without treating it properly before use. He advised authorities to educate the public on how to purify water and how to store it safely.”

https://stluciatimes.com/2016/11/01/barbados-cholera-concerns-dismissed

Barbados Today:-Minister of Health John Boyce has scoffed at the โ€œsilly referenceโ€ to a risk of possible outbreaks of cholera and other water-borne diseases in parishes, including St Joseph, St Andrew, St Peter, St Lucy and St Thomas, that had been facing severe water outages.

โ€œI hear the silly reference to cholera โ€“โ€“ and I pray to God that cholera does not visit this country. I want to disassociate myself completely with that thinking,โ€ Boyce declared as he tackled the issue before Democratic Labour Party supporters attending the South Alive joint political meeting at Deighton Griffith Secondary School yesterday evening.

17. …. besides, the sewage leak is on the coast nowhere near our drinking water sources.

There is also chlorination of our drinking water and the zoning system is in force although sometimes I wonder about developments I see near to water supply sources and how they got there in the first place!!

Sewage has been going into the sea for decades and there has never been an instance I can recall that cholera was raised as an issue.

It happens all over the world.

There is even an organization formed in opposition to the practice.

https://www.sas.org.uk/

18. I looked at the topographical land shape to find where the outflow from Redman Gully would end up and I reckon it is Freshwater Bay.

I would need to look at a 1:5000 scale map with better resolution for contour lines before I would stick my neck out.

There is still a large catchment area in the Prior Park, Husbands area that will send its runoff to Clarke’s Road.

19. @David

Has the leak been contained? Did I downplay the seriousness of the matter? We should be concerned but not to the extent of playing โ€œchicken littleโ€™ about the subject.

FYI her are some of the things that a wary visitor should be aware of when they visit Barbados:

Zika
    Chikungunya
    Dengue fever
    Hepatitis A

And for the sexual adventurous HIV/AIDS and Hepatitis B which reminds me I saw the Royalty (Bajan & British) getting tested for HIV yesterday what are the chances that some public official would announce that A or B had tested positive if that was the case?

BTW are babies screened at birth for sickle cell? (I really donโ€™t know)

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Sargeant December 2, 2016 at 10:28 AM

Would you invite guests to your home if your toilet bowls are overflowing with faeces? Toronto can do without tourism especially in the winter. Very few tourists bathe in the rivers in Toronto. Can Barbados afford such luxury?

Despite what you are counter-asserting I am prepared to bet you dare not visit Barbados and risk walking through the local shit floating on the streets on the South Coast; cholera threats or no threats of cholera from Haitian or UN troops. Not even from Prince Harry and RI RI.

Come on Sarge have a bit of class- even to be a captain or major- and put your precious money (and health) where your mouth is as it is running like a sick nigger backside.

The Bajan farmers are looking for an outlet for their overabundant of papayas? Are you interested in helping Bim in this enterprise to earn much needed forex instead of the long shite talk to justify sewage on the streets of a tourism destination promoted as Paradise on Earth?

21. VoB 12.30 news now states that raw sewerage is now bubbling up in the road at Hastings main road.

The Foreign press and dignitaries have gone home and the celebrations are over…….dog dead.

22. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ John December 2, 2016 at 10:43 AM
    โ€œBarbados Today:-Minister of Health John Boyce has scoffed at the โ€œsilly referenceโ€ to a risk of possible outbreaks of cholera and other water-borne diseases in parishes, including St Joseph, St Andrew, St Peter, St Lucy and St Thomas, that had been facing severe water outages.โ€

Similar assurances were given by this same administration regarding the laying off of public sector workers and the implementation of any programme of privatization.
    Is the QEH or the general public health system any better under the same minister as it was 5 years ago?

John, you are a scholar well versed in the history of the role of water in the promotion of good public sanitation going back to the 1850’s
    You of all people should know that human faeces and urine (the most dangerous and deadly of the mammals) are not any ‘friends’ with water but mortal enemies in collusion in a battle to decimate the human population as part of Mother Nature’s culling of its excess parasites.

Mess with Mother Nature and your ass is grass; faeces or no faeces!

23. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Yall are welcome to go swimming in the beaches and swallow mouthfuls of shit, ya might have caste iron stomachs, who knows, who cares, but i warned all family members and friends who visit Barbados to stay off the beaches, particularly the ones like me with sensitive skins.

Lol….Miller, let them do as they like, as long as my family and close frinds are not at risk when visiting, they can all swim in shit, we can go to other destinations that care about maintaining the environment.

25. With due respect to all, please read the letter in this posting from Drainage to Mr. Blackman and comment accordingly.The people of Clarkes Rd St. James was flooded because the CTO of MTW Mr. Frank Thornhill refused to address the matter of allowing a foreign land owner to removed about 35 Ft length of the watercourse ridge of a open plot opposite hers and refused to replace it, but proceed by building a 90+Ft length botch road in said watercourse with the assistant of said Mr. Frank Thornhill the CTO of MTW

26. Take a look at this dissertation from a Kenyan final year student.
    realestates.uonbi.ac.ke/sites/default/files/cae/artsdesign/realestates/Final%20project.pdf

No country can survive without having a successful cadre of scientific, technical, and skilled artisans. We have retarded our development by refusing to restructure our education system. We must adopt a system that will bring prosperity to all of our citizen.

The role of training our young people to become professionals in the field of law or accountancy represents poor value for our nation. This professional class only aids a narrow group of individuals within our society; whereas those with vocational skills would certainly enhance our infrastructure.

Tourism is suppose to be our number one industry; yet we have no concept of the meaning of environmental issues. We seem to believe that we can keep developing this industry. Yet, nobody in our government seems to question what effect this having on our local environment. There laisser-faire attitude is beyond stupid.

The breakdown in our infrastructure is made possible by an ignorant government who have little understanding or knowledge of the environment and a citizenship who have never received a decent education in the sciences, engineering and technical domain.This is why very little functions well in Barbados.

We are lost in our near complete ignorance as a people. But don’t worry folks we have the highest level of literacy rates within our region. Something that we can all be proud of.

Ps.

John’s contribution is insightful. Whilst Colonel’s Buggy practical and technical knowledge is always welcome. Unfortunately these guys are old timers and represent the past. All we have to look forward to are these new breed of professionals such as the editor of Caribbean Trade law and development. Does anybody know how such individuals will enhance our nation?

27. @ David,
    I’ve just posted a comment. It has not gone through?

28. If I get a chance this weekend I will go and see what this rain has done.

I hear Kendal Pond up to the road!!

… but it is the Scotland District I want to see

29. Hants

The politicians will be falling over themselves trying to help their constituents with road repairs.

The folks in Clarke’s Road never had such a golden opportunity.

Esther Byer Suckoo out looking to see how she could help her constituents in South District …. same thing it sounds like, the new tenantry roads get wash way!!

Monday morning go and sit outside the MP for the Clarke’s Road area!!!

30. Found it in Spam bucket Exclaimer.

31. Corruption get up on morning and go to work at the Ministry of MTW, sometimes it dress in a suit like a Minister, a well dress PS, top Officials or in uniform. Corruption have levels of pay from top where a suit can demand a percentage of the outsourcing contracts,a well dress can also be demanding,a uniform can go off site with a tractor, truck and do a job, for a piece of change, even a watchman can turned salesman and sell a bobcat, a suit can moonlight as marketing manager for rock hard cement, then create the need for rock hard cement,

32. @ John

Mr. Blackman and I have not seen the now BLP MP for St. James Central in Clarkes Road since 2005, not even at the last election in 2013 what I can say is we had conversations with his secretary who advised us to send e-mails, we leave messages, and not a response from the MP, Mr. Blackman and I have reach the stage where we have no respect for any Politician and have no intention of asking a politician to fulfill his promise

33. The letter seems to be saying the Minister and Chief Technical Officer are liable to a fine of $200.00 or a term of imprisonment of 6 months!!

34. ….. and here is another offence committed by a former minister and or the Chief Technical Officer of the MTW for which they should be held liable!!

Anyone approaching the turn off to Dash Valley from Sky Mall knows the road becomes a river when there is any significant rainfall.

That’s because when the GOB put a playing field by the turn off to Dash Valley they filled in the natural water course in front of the Gas Station on the Dash Valley side of the Highway.

That would have disposed of all the runoff.

As you come through the cutting towards the Gas Station, you will see the watercourse behind the North face of the cutting through the entrances to houses.

That watercourse would naturally have removed the water from the Highway and taken it into the St. George Valley, thence to Belle via the Gully by Howells Cross Road and out to sea via Constitution River.

The playing field is real pretty, but when it rains it sure is a problem!!

The water instead runs down the Highway like a river to Bussa, doesn’t even go round the roundabout in the correct direction, … another offence perpetrated by the Minister and CTO …. flows past the BL&P Station at Haggatt Hall and finally gets into the Gully that flows by Howells Cross Road.

I have no doubt the illegal diversion of the drainage by the Minister and Chief Technical Officer will be pretty difficult to remedy as there will no doubt have been construction in the natural path.

…. so …. as a result of the illegal acts by the Minister and CTO, the taxpayer will be forced to pay to repair the periodic damage to the Highway caused by the flooding.

… same principle as Clarke’s Road and no doubt dozens of other sites around Barbados!!!

Monkey handling gun.

35. The Minister of Environment and Drainage should mandate his managers to provide plans for flood alleviation and control in Barbados.

They can start by using Google Earth Pro. Its free.

They could collect videos of Barbados flooding from news media and Youtube.

John has suggest how they could use maps from the Lands and Surveys.

With all this data they could solve some of the “flood problems”.

36. Let google be your friend.

” flood control software “

37. @ Hants
    Have you joined the AC crew now…?
    How will ‘providing plans for flood alleviation and control in Barbados’ solve anything?

Do you know how many plans …. for how many issues…..by how many consultants…..over how many years …. that how many governments ….have paid how many dollars ….to stack in how many cabinets and drawers ….in how many offices????

That is ALL that we have been able to do successfully over the past 30 years. It makes the various ‘consultants’ and other parasites such as lawyers who write and read the contracts for $3/4M …rich as shiite, while the actual project stalls.

Why don’t you keep your Canadian ideas to yourself nuh…? ๐Ÿ™‚

All we need is a DOER …. somebody who actually can GET THINGS DONE…… to be appointed to positions of authority…. and, as a backup, …..a guillotine to be used on any idiot who knowingly accepts responsibility for directing national resources, and then does shiite…

Problem solved.

38. Worthing Beach closed

Government this morning announced the closure of the popular Worthing Beach in Christ Church with immediate effect.

In a brief statement issued by the Barbados Government Information Service it said as a result of poor water quality, it was advising the publicย that the beach would be closed until further notice.

The move comes against the backdrop of reports of raw sewage flowing into the sea.
    Businesses which operate on the south coast have also complained of sewage flowing into the streets, with mereย days to go before the start of the 2016 winter tourist season.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/12/03/worthing-beach-closed/

39. @ Green Monkey
    Wunna ain’t see nothing yet….
    With that shiite monument now entrenched at Garrison, prepare wunna selves for a lot more shiite…. both literally and figuratively…

Wunna should know who REALLY running things now….

40. How I think it should work is the CTO should be a Registered Engineer responsible like all Registered engineers for Public Safety!!

If he/she is, the law is there to catch the infraction.

If he/she can show the Minister gave instructions to him/her to flout the law, then the Minister is culpable.

…. but then the question should arise why the fcuk didn’t you resign resign?!!!

What sort of an engineer are you?

The recent decision in the High Court in the Six Men’s Matter must give pause for some hope.

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/11/26/judge-issues-stern-warning-to-chief-town-planner/

The matter started way back in 1999 when Mount Six Mens Company brought an action against the Chief Town Planner, The Chief Surveyor and the Attorney General.

HCA 274 of 1999.

The paper says it started in 2008 but I suspect this may have been a second action brought out of frustration.

Now, 17 years later there is a decision.

They literally waited for Lennie St. Hill to die!!

Lennie told me one weighty issue to be decided was whether Six Mens Tenantry was a Tenantry under the Plantations Tenantry Act as this excluded Tenantries bounded on any side by the sea!!

You don’t have to be a Civil Engineer or Sworn Surveyor or Chief Town Planner or Attorney General … or even a Judge … to be able to figure that one out.

I did not follow it closely but here is a man who took the authorities to court and followed the letter of the law steadfastly.

The problem is the law does not work.

Lawlessness prevails!!!

When we look back on the life of Lennie St. Hill we will appreciate what it is that he was trying to tell us all the time … but we would not listen!!

I see Bjorn Bjerkham has been honoured !!

41. The General Manager of BWA Dr. Mwansa is pointing a finger at culprits, and accusing then of removing manholes of the sewage system and creating some of the problems, how can that be done? I am compel, to inform Dr. Mwansa about his in house culprits at BWA who not only create, but intensified a created problem of flooding at Clarkes Road,St. James, BWA officers sanction the callous action of the subcontractor of laying MAIN PIPES IN THE WATERCOURSE AND RAISE IT 3Ft HIGHER, the contractor, Mr. Arthur, after the job was done, envision the damage it would cause, he told Mr. Blackman, all he can do is ask BWA to retract the pipes or build a retaining wall, to protect the house. the problem remain and is the subject of this post. I was informed that of the 3 culprits involved in the project , one Dale Miller is not at BWA, but is waiting to know if his new home will be DODDS, one Mr.Blades who openly work for BWA and Arthurs Construction the same time on that project ,is no longer at BWA, one Mr. Charles Marville, is still at BWA, he is one the most corrupted officers in the civil service, he is the booster for the lying from BWA to the public, check in house Dr. Mwansa for the culprits in Supervision, who look away and allowed the subcontractor to do a bad job, for a piece of change, you think the only person was Mr. Blades, that gone, look again and keep looking.

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

โ€œIn a brief statement issued by the Barbados Government Information Service it said as a result of poor water quality, it was advising the public that the beach would be closed until further notice.โ€

As if the shit has enough sense to remain stationary in the water off Worthing.

This floating load of crap is going to drift and affect other beaches whenever the tide and current changes.

The entire sewage pipe work seems to be compromised and it is just a matter of time before the entire system collapses.

Unless this matter is treated as an emergency and a national crisis by the authorities and political directorate the last chamber in the revolving game of Russian roulette with public sanitation would be discharged with devastating effect.

43. Casting my mind back to when these sewage plants were first being installed in Bridgetown and at Graeme Hall, I can remember people warning that the plants were going to be trouble as they would stink up the place bad enough if they were not run properly or if the treatment process was allowed to break down. At the time did we not hear the usual assurances about how the sewage treatment plants operated with proven technology and had been in use all over the world for a number of years, with the politicians of the day offering further assurances that these plants would be run by fully trained and qualified experts who would ensure that tight control was maintained over the entire treatment process. The poop would go in the sewer pipes smelling like well… poop, but it would come out the other end with no contaminents to despoil the environment or nose-wrinkling smells to offend people’s olfactory senses. What could possibly go wrong?

And yet this latests batch of politicians recently felt insulted and get vex as hell when the citizenry questioned their ability to oversee the installation and smooth operation (without some ensuing environmental disaster) of a bleeding edge, massively expensive, first of its kind (on such a large scale), technologically complex, garbage gassification/waste to energy plant.

44. @Miller etc.
    One manโ€™s glut is another manโ€™s opportunity to source local establishments that could purchase his โ€œoversupplyโ€. What constitutes a glut of paw-paws? A few cartons of paw-paws are not evidence of a glut but he should be marketing his fruit to local hotels and restaurants that will promote the local fruit in their various fruit concoctions.

Last time I checked paw-paws had virtually disappeared from the local landscape because of the presence of some virus so a revival is good news, but Miller can you provide a consistent supply at a reasonable price? Next time you will want me to market bananas because someone in St. John has some on his/her hands and I would have to say no thanks since you canโ€™t compete with Costa Rica.

45. Has anyone ever driven behind a Sanitation Service Authority (SSA) garbage truck and one owned by a private waste hauler?

One smells stink, the other hardly an odour.

The point is, the government struggles with maintenance.

46. Are the storm drains and the sewage drains connected? If they are then the large volume of water suddenly introduced into the drains could compromise the whole system. Unless the GM of BWA has proof that someone is vandalizing the works he should STFU a deluge of water can remove manhole covers unless they are bolted down and even then the force may be too much, all he has to do is look at the streets and see the damage done by flowing water.

47. Clarke’s Road is just another symptom of the lawlessness that has overtaken Barbados since Independence!!

Barbados could claim to have reached First world Status because it is actually closing beaches for water quality!

Actually a very very responsible act.

I stopped going in the sea on the West Coast since the 1980’s when I started to figure out how it all worked.

The South Coast followed shortly thereafter ….. which left only Cattlewash …. but I frighten for the sea down there so that was out too!!

Can’t remember the last time I went in the sea in Barbados!!