Barbados Underground supports the Rastafari family in its fight against the establishment -Barbados Child Care Board to win custody of their children. The following is a report by Simba Simba – Barbados Underground
Is this family being 'persecuted' because they are Rastafarians?
Is this family being ‘persecuted’ because they are Rastafarians?

The African Heritage Foundation (AHF) accompanied the Lashley family to their court hearing regarding the custody of their two children today (27/10/2016). The Barbados Child Care Board has brought a custody case against this family in an attempt to take custody of their two children and make them wards of the state. The foundation of their case is that the Ministry of Education has brought a case against the family for failing to send their children to school and not following proper procedure which would allow them to home school.

On Monday the 24th October the AHF represented by myself and Ms Leah Clarke along with Attorney at Law Mr Ajamu Boardi met with officials of the Ministry of Education to discuss the best way forward in the above mentioned case. It was stated by all parties present that we were all acting in the best interest of the children. We were told what the Ministry of Education required for the allowing of home schooling. It was highlighted that although a letter was sent in by the Lashley family to the Ministry of Education stating their intention to continue home schooling it was not accepted by the ministry as that. It was also stated that a curriculum and a work timetable had to be submitted along with names and qualification of intended educators. The AHF agreed to their request and further clarified the position of the parents in the methodology of how they would like their children schooled and the role they as the parents would play. It was agreed by all present that the religious perspectives and rights of the family be strictly observed as we proceeded in this delicate matter of religion vs education and institution. A question was asked by the AHF about assessments for the children. The Ministry of Education stated that no assessments of the children were carried out on their part. We the AHF then informed them that our organization had arranged to have assessments done and then summaries of the assessments for the two children were handed over to the representatives of the Ministry of Education. It must be noted that the assessments done were carried out by a professional in that field who also works on the behalf of the said ministry from time to time.

Within two days a revised letter of application to home school, with curriculum, work time table and intended educators with their qualifications was submitted to the Ministry of Education by the AHF on behalf of the Lashley family with their consent. Today the 27th October 27, 2016 the AHF submitted an affidavit that states our continued support of this family in the area of the education of their children.

With all this being done it would seem that the judge is moving in the direction of throwing the case out and has even questioned the jurisdiction of his court in hearing such a matter. He is of the opinion that the best place for the children at present is with their parents. However the Child Care Board seems relentless in their efforts to make the children wards of the state. According to what has been stated before it would seem that all other parties have the best interest of the children at heart and are working together to attain the best solution in this matter. It is only the Child Care Board that seems to be in it for the win and not acting in the best interest of the children. In the light of all the cooperation and extended assistance being given one would think the wellbeing of the children educationally would no longer be an issue. That is not the case. Even with all the discourse in the society about home schooling being held at various levels of our society and the overwhelming support for it as a viable means of instruction for children, the Child Care Board presses on as if the idea of home schooling was absurd.

I am left now with the feeling that this case was never about the wellbeing of the children but some sort of attack on this family to make an example of them. A warning perhaps, to other Rastafari families who have issues with the education system and would like to educate their children at home, to desist with this thought, seems to be the motive of the Child Care Board. Seeing it has been put out there by several political entities that home schooling is prevalent in Barbados and that the Child Care Board is not dragging parents that home school left and right before the court is an indicator that the real motive is not to fight home schooling but to fight a certain section of the community that would like to have this option open to them. Everyone and their grandparents agree that the Child Care Board has been found wanting in their duties of protecting children in Barbados. Cases of the abuse of children that have been reported to the Child Care Board that have been dealt with in less than satisfactory ways, that have led to the death of children are well documented in the minds eye of the Barbados society. Maybe this strong handed approach by the Child Care Board is a statement to Barbados saying “hey look we actually are working to keep our children protected from various forms of abuse.” Seeing that they are now out to save unabused children and remove them from the safe and loving environment of their parent’s shows that maybe the Child Care Board is not very clear on what abuse really is when it pertains to children.

Tomorrow morning the judge will give his decision on the matter. Will these two Rastafari children become wards of the state or will they be left in the custody of their parents? No matter the outcome, something needs to be done with the Child Care Board by those with the power to act. I hope that the Rastafari community can mobilize petitions for the government and UNICEF to look into this case. The Child Care Board needs shaking up. Lend a hand and help shake it.

Simba

144 responses to “Child Care Board Insists Rastafari Children be Made WARDS of the State”

1. Hal Austin

I rised the issue regarding need to protect the privacy of the minor on Barbados Today, when a 16 year old kid dropped to his death at a gas station where he worked, and I was ridicule for do so, so leave the backward people in their own ignorance and stupidity.

2. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David October 28, 2016 at 10:55 re ….” To be transparent about a decision we have made, the moniker GP was flagged that all comments be moderated.”

It is your blog, sweat and tears but I make bold to ask: why would you moderate anyone who is evoking the very mantra upon which you built this wondrous blog, that thing called ‘free speech’?????

You often have mentioned here how much money our educational system has wasted as a screed I presume on the less than excellent ‘returns’ from the very many brilliant Bajans who passed through that system.

And your blogger Dr GP represents that ‘in the most high’. A God-given brilliant mind which he honed to fine precision along his life path to achieve high scholarship yet he comes here on a blog with other smart folks but basica to mock and denigrate. He uses that scholarship in the most crass and callous manner possible and calls himself a Christian.

Has he not displayed the same character flaws of our Speaker of the House; the same brilliance and belligerence of any of our esteemed PMs. The same cringe worthy thin-skin of many others here.

So wha you gin moderate the man fah Mr Blogmaster?To ban people like him is to ban life itself, David.

I may loathe the man’s personality but I defend his right to show us exactly what manner of a man he truly is…

We are all big boys and girls here..even the girls like Sunny kick butt indecorously. Anyone who can’t tek de lashes can run home to mummy or daddy…BTW, where is Artax. Don’t tell me dat we run that other brilliant fellow.

Don’t moderate this one, fah real. Let de man spread his own brand of hateful-love!

@chad99999 October 28, 2016 at 10:10 AM… Your screed is a good one. Well said.

However, I gather than you are ‘Republican’ in thought so doesn’t your well crafted post (in general) clash with their/your ethos that life inside the womb is a complete sentient person with the same rights as anyone already outside the womb?

Yes its a difficult road to hoe re children’s rights but that is forced on us because adults ‘sexualize’ and badly abuse children mentally and physically forcing the courts to establish seeming draconian and non-intuitive practices to save us (and them) from society.

It is much too facile to assert “A child does not have the cognitive capacity or life experience of an adult, and should not have a “right” to decide how it will be educated”

That’s obviously correct but the conventions and rulings go way beyond such a simple construct and YOU KNOW that!

You have barely began the “story” far less bringing it to an end!

3. What is there to understand by the CCB actions .actions that are guided by state laws. What most do not seem to understand that this is new unchartered waters which are being tested by both sides with a given that the courts might give sufficient lead way in helping govt pursue other avenues with a more lenient approach undoing or upgrading those laws putting in place supporative actions that are sufficienly accommodating to modern day society standards and demands

4. David wrote ” the moniker GP was flagged that all comments be moderated.”

You are doing GP a favour.

He can devote more of his time to doing meaningful things.

Freedom of speech has its boundaries on BU as it does in society.

5. David

I agree totally with dpD…..even the crass and callous of manner should have a say…..not sure he is a christian though dpD.

6. Mr. C

I have a problem with adults attributed blame solely to the young people though I believe in the concept of personal responsibility as it relates to the youth. Nevertheless, we have childern that are raised in homes where their see their parents fighting like cats and dogs, then on Sunday morning turn up in church acting as though they’re holier than thou. Don’t you honestly believe that this kind of conduct on the part of the parents affects the kids, and impact the way in which these young people act and react towards adults as well as they parents?

7. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

I used to think that GP was full of it.

But if you disregard his post on Christianity (I do), he is perhaps the most radical person on BU. He seems to resent the continuous ole talk in the rum shop and urges us towards action.

GP has to recognise that the rum shop is Barbados version of action.

Letr all speak.

8. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

Now I remember why I left Barbados and will retire in Florida. Too much BS. One man needs qualifications a next needs only family relations. One man can do nothing wrong, a next man can do nothing right. One man knows nobody, one man knows somebody..

Hey. play with your shit, I am going to play elsewhere.

9. Anonymouse – TheGazer October 28, 2016 at 1:58 PM #

WHY????

The Blogmaster in the past has changed his mind…….so far 3 of us have rquested his reinstatement and no doubt others will no need to leave in a huff.

10. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Vincent at 2:10 please bro. The udder day Artax get pissed off and petulantly has not come back in that persona since. The udder, udder day Pacha called the blogmaster a fabricator and went off to stew for sometime. A nex udder day I too got a bit peeved with the blogmaster’s slant on a particular matter and he in turn called my ripostes pretty pedantic.

At one time or other most bloggers here have barked and bellowed at another blogger. So what’s the big deal.

The world has no time for petulance and self serving BS. We posts, we get assailed or we get liked. Who the hell cares at the end of the day. This is where we relax and pontificate. All adults, Vincent.

Frankly if David wants to moderate GP then so be it. In my view he brings his entire nine years of this excellent blog into disrepute but surely the blog will survive.

Dr GP gets under people’s skin for several reasons. But personally I believe that viscerally no person can understand why an academic standout who touts Christian mantra as he does can be so absolutely crass and unmannerly.

So I can also fully understand the blogmaster saying ‘ blouse n skirt, WTF am I allowing this bajan boy who had brouthupsy and ting to behave like this tho’.

Apparently he got tired of justifying the free speech retort!!

11. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

@DPD
    In matters concerning GP, anybody else except you..
    Nothing personal..

12. Dompey,

Part of the problem, a big part, is lack of proper journalism training. It is part of their myth of freedom of speech.

13. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

BTW; would even support Zoe (yawn).. who puts me to sleep

14. This appears to be religious persecution. While I can understand why the authorites may oppose the informal eduation of the children, the Child Care Board has no grounds to remove the children from their homes.
    They are not being physically or mentally abused. They are dead children that the Child Care Board failed. The children that are thriving are not in need of their help.
    Regardless of whatever decision is made tomorrow a precedent in being set so the Rastafarians better become prepared to mobilize themselves if the judgement is not in their favour.

15. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

I have not addressed the issue at hand and have focused my comments on the support of GP.

Being away from the island allows me to see things only through the filter or lenses of others.

If the children are ‘performing/ at their grade level then leave them alone; if below their grade level then the government has to intervene.

16. The way round this is to publicly name the officials from the CCB, where they work and live, if they have children, which schools they go to. Only then will they think twice before carrying out these savage, authoritarian policies.
    Ironically, the officially are getting the confidentiality that the children do not. Good old Barbados at its hypocritical best.

17. @Dee Word

The issue here is not freedom of speech, it is a commenter who made a conscious decision to spam and flame BU (commenters) and this in the judgment of the BU household started to detract from the quality of the blog. We have exercised our best judgement and we are prepared to live with the consequences. The BU household invest hours of our life in maintaining the blog often times at great risk to life and limb. Some of you operate like it is a joke. Be grateful we have a space to discuss our issues outside of the traditional media or get the hell outta dodge.

18. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

It amazes me at the brain power on that little island and yet we get every shit wrong..
    social media
    government business
    Perhaps we are f-ing0-up above our weight..

19. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

f-ing^=fighting

20. Case dismissed
    Added by Fernella Wedderburn on October 28, 2016.
    Saved under Local News, Uncategorized

The case brought by the Ministry of Education against two Rastafarian parents has been dismissed.

Ijui Jah and his partner Isartes Ibre were initially found guilty of breaching Section 41 Clause (b) of the Education Act, Chapter 41 on the grounds that there is absolutely no record of the children — a boy and a girl both under the age of twelve — ever attending formal classes.

img-20161028-wa0003

The matter was thrown out by District ‘A’ Magistrate Douglas Frederick today after the prosecutor tried to amend the charge. Frederick argued that such action would have been prejudicial.

img-20161028-wa0006

However, the parents still have one more legal hurdle to overcome.

The court is yet to decide whether it will hear an application made by the Child Care Board for the children to be made wards of the court.

That matter comes up for hearing on December 13.

21. Thanks Vincent.

The CCB must do the honorable thing and withdraw the matter.

22. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

Love ya, but gotta disagree wid ya.
    I doubt if anyone disagreed with/dislike GP more than I did.
    But one day it hit me like a speeding bullet.
    The man was arrogant, the man was vain and the man was right.
    Let GP speak,
    Whiu like him,like him and who don’t like him can ignore him
    Censoring him limits the voice of BU

23. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

whiu=who
    no rumshop. in the us wid my own bottle of mount gay..
    might not support Gp when all is gone 🙂
    love you guys; even the acs

24. Thanks for your view. It is not about censoring him, it is that by his comments over many weeks he sought to make no valuable contribution to the forum, in fact to do he opposite. We have to exercise the best judgement in all things.

So be it, let us agree to disagree.

If some of you know the sacrifice to make this possible and then have to deal with BS.

#ahlie!

25. David

You must admit though GP can be arrogant and offensive at times, I thought his contribution on religious matters was of some value to the blog.

26. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

The state can not even take care of its self , so how can they take care of someone heirs?

27. David

Here is my finally take of this issue: it is rather surprising to me now that GP has leveled his critique at BU that he has all of a sudden became the unreachable itch that never goes away, but when that same critique was directed at AC, myself, and others who didn’t particularly agreed with the majority opinion here on BU, his contributed was seem as integral to the BU blog. Given the man a second change because without his ccontribution, one can argue that the dynamics of blog is going to change because PG was one of the original blogger on BU along with myself Bush Tea and a few here.

28. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

That must be the best thing the court has done for the year, besides freezing Leroy Parris’ assets, the court still has a lot of good work to do and stamp out the nonsense, how dare the child care board.

GP will be back, he is one of us.

29. I used to enjoy Dr. GP posts, especially his contribution to the medical knowledge of the BU family. However, of late, I have been disappointed and embarrassed by the language this highly educated man has been spewing. No one else, not even the acs, has consistently denigrated and insulted other bloggers without adding value to the discussion.

I think David has made the right decision.

30. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

Finding myself in the same boat as Dompey, I wish to abandon ship
    🙂

31. I am here scratching my head trying to understand how David’s moderation of some posts, equals banning.

32. @ BAJANS
    BEING MODERATED ON BU MEANS THAT
    1 MY WIFE LEFT ME
    2 I LOST MY ALVATION
    3 MY NAME HAS BEEN REMOVED FROM THE BOOK OF LIFE FOR LIFE
    4 I AM NOW CONSTIPATED

33. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

Give me an unfiltered GP, Buhie, PUDRYR …..
    Censor the hell out of ac, AC, Dompey ( non contributors) and Zoe (sleep inducing 🙂 )

34. BU without GP would be like Laurel without Hardy.

35. Anonymous

Ecclesiastes9 -10 -18

the poor man’s wisdom is despised, and his words not heard. I may not be able to conjugate my verbs, and articulate with the coherency as well as lucidity as you do my friend, but one thing is certain about me, and that is,I do not speak on issues of which I haven’t any knowledge on.

36. To GP. Speaking from Hell where you have obviously put me; based your categorization, We will both live forever. No problem, for there will be no pain. Anyhow
    @ David,
    What are the responsibilities, if any, of the people in this case? Parents, Teachers, CCB, Government, Teachers, Legislators, the Courts? Which overlap? Should government have any responsibility or should their supposed jurisdiction be revisited, taking into consideration the changing mores and realities of life in the 21st century?

37. @GP,
    Senokot, or Dulcolax with stool softener, Good for constipation. …No charge for that.

38. ALVIN
    I THINK YOU MISSED THE POINT LOL

I WAS UNABLE TO DEFEND YOU TODAY WHEN SOME MORON HERE, NOT KNOWING THAT YOU WERE TRAINED IN MICROBIOLOGY, WOULD KNOW THAT V .CHLERA IS A WATER BOURNE DISEASE

39. anonymous

In your intellectual arrogance, you have forgotten what the professor tell his students before he begins the College semester, and that is, there is no such thing as asking a foolish question, because all questions are valid and geared towards learning. With that being said: you are never to devalue the efforts and contribution of your country man, even if you think that his or her contribution isn’t worth your time and effort, because though we may not agree on everything here on BU, the one thing that united us is our common desire to see our nation reach its full potention.

40. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

@dOMPEY

41. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

@DOMPEY
    Mousey loves ytou baby

42. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Some days are good days and some days are not so good.

Some days I can see things sooooo clearly and other days I cannot.

Some days Dr. GP gives me a sense of direction to my internal azimuth lost in a magnetic field that cannot see true north and other days I watch as he does the very same thing that i do.

But in a different way.

Let the ole man explain.

I prosecute the “DLP Not one effing seat” campaign relentlessly, AND AT TIMES WITH NO RESTRAINT NOR REGARD FOR ITS OBJECTS.

It would seem to many that I am “focused and determined” but to the targets of the campaign AND THEIR FAMILIES AND FRIENDS, I should be censored and “moderated” euphemism for prosecuted and locked up

Yet, even with the same breath, the same fingers, there I am, on another blog, seeking insight from the other site as to purpose, belief and spiritual food.

Food that he, and others gladly give.

But, and here is the “similarity” of sorts, he is as passionate as I am about what is going on in Barbados, and what he sees as an apathy, and a futility.

Dr. GP CANNOT SUFFER FOOLS GLADLY and what he does in his seeming “goads” is to say “every day wunna coming on here and saying the same thing, without change, and nothing is happening”

De ole man uses his Stoopid Posters GP uses his seemingly deprecatory remarks.

And in the midst of it all is the Honourable Blogmaster.

Balancing all of our idiosyncrasies WHILE SEEKING TO UPLIFT the standard of the blog.

That shit is really hard AND NONE OF US EFFERS REALLY APPRECIATE THAT DO WE?

It really is all about us, the blogger!! what we write, how we feel, how many IMGUR counts are being reflected on our Stoopid Posters, if our comments go to a trash can, if our medical expertise is accepted, if someone tells us that we got bult at Station A, if someone tell us that the Minister Ester Byer Suckoo is an effing liar.

We get all antsy and offended while we in de man house!!

Next ting we going be telling him is to change de colours of the blog to aquamarine causing “we doan like yellow and lime”

Gentlemen all.

What David King has been able to do is to develop a blog that is an effing national blog where everybody who wants to know about serious subjects come to browse every effing day!!

People does come here to read did blog like an effing newspaper!! See dere I go again with my gutter language.

There will come a time when I too will be sanctioned because my submissions WILL NOT BE CONGRUENT WITH THE PLACE THAT BU SERVES and that is natural.

I have grown to respect the knowledge that resides in Dr. GP’s head and flows off his fingers without reliance on the Holy Bible.

during the past few weeks what he and Pachamama and Vincent and Bush Tea have done for me and my selfish self is given me some serious food for thought OR IS THAT THAUGHT which I hope will bring benefit to de ole man’s spirit.

When we are typing here it is extremely easy to make a mistake, I meks dem all de time.

Sometimes some of you remark about the mistake but at other times you let the insipid insignificant matter pass and deal with the substantive matter as it should be.

I love my brother Dr. GP for his wisdom and resoluteness but we need to understand that the blog and its Blogmaster feeds a fire of consumption that has a different metric.

My happy lala ‘s selfish interest in the IMGUR count is to show dem effers dat every single Stoopid Flier gets no less than 100 views and that outreach is to be feared heheheheheheheh

43. @DR. GP.

At least you still have your God and your Jesus Christ. So you are happy.

44. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Anonymouse – TheGazer October 28, 2016 at 2:31 PM re “@DPD…In matters concerning GP, anybody else except you…Nothing personal..”

First up, even if I knew you I would not take this discourse personal. I state my views with integrity, reason and a logical focus and move on.

Thus I am confounded by your “anybody else except you” remark. That suggests to me that there is a too great bias from YOU . I can state clearly that I dislike Dr GP’s personality here on BU. noting more nothing less.

I do know the man and even if I did it would be a wasted emotion to dislike someone who has not done me anything….just cuss words showing how uncouth he is….cha.

Yet I will continually rail against his unmannerly, crass manner every time he flames too egregiously ..so again your remark re anyone but me is beyond my comprehension!

45. @Piece,

I went looking for my stoopid poster and there was none for today. Don’t tell me that you are slacking off. Those posters are my daily tipple. Now I will have to haul out the Cockspur Gold.

46. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

@DPD
    Was not meant to put you down in anyway.
    I am aware of friction between you and GP.
    If your post mentions GP, I scroll.
    If his mention pedantic fool, I scroll
    Both of you are bright guys, buts its the water and oil thing

47. RE bajans October 28, 2016 at 7:10 PM #
    @DR. GP.

At least you still have your God and your Jesus Christ. So you are happy.
    YOU BETTER BELIEVE IT

FORTUNATELY NONE HERE WILL BE MY JUDGE AT THE BEMA OR JUDGEMENT SEAT OF CHRIST
    IF YOU READ THE FIRST 6-8 VERSES OF ZECHARIAH 3 YOU WILL SEE SOME OF THEM HERE ACTING IN THEIR ROLE OF SATAN THE ACCUSER
    NOTICE WHAT THE JUDGE SAYS THERE
    I HAVE NO APOLOGY TO MAKE FOR WHO I AM HERE ON BU OR FOR ANYTHING THAT I HAVE SAID OR WRITTEN
    I DIDNT COME HERE FOR DUMMIES TO QUESTION AND MOCK MY SCHOLARSHIP
    I AM VERY ACCURATE WHEN I COME HERE
    VERY ACCURATE

48. anonymous

What exactly is your definition of being bright consist of? If it is being able to memorized what one has been taught and regurgiate it, that is not being bright in my book. Being bright in my book is liken to Einstein making his paradigmatic shift from Newton Classical Physics to his Quantum Mechanics. What have you bright guys here on BU done to help shape the course of human history? Has any or all of you bright guys here on BU attended those prestigious Ivory League Schools in the US? Has any or all you guys here on BU won the Nobel Prize?