Dr. Clyde Mascoll

BU read Dr. Clyde Mascoll’s weekly column with great interest. The fact that it has not garnered any serious critique on the talk shows and on social media says a lot about our level of discernment.  An advantage over the traditional media is that we (social media) tell it like it is.

Last week the BLP member of parliament for St.James North Edmund Hinkson made the attention grabbing request for Minister Denis Lowe to repay the state the financial loss suffered as a result of his error in judgement concerning the NCC workers matter. To add to Hinkson’s call the BU household calls on the commercial banks of Barbados to redistribute the profit to customers collected as a result of the Governor of the Central Bank Delisle Worrell removal of the minimum savings rate commercials banks had to pay their customers.

Read Mascoll’s column to understand how one of the biggest scams in our post Independence history is being perpetrated on Barbadians. Now go and buy some savings bonds!

WHAT MATTERS MOST: The interest rate gap

CLYDE MASCOLL,

Added 20 October 2016

whatmattersmost-new

THE LATE PROFESSOR Roland Craigwell once told me that “a man who has time to read is a dangerous man”. It was his way of emphasising the need to read almost everything in an area of study if you want to present your case.

Those words never stopped resonating with me. He reinforced the need to never go public with anything on the economy, unless I have verified the evidence. In this vein, I read all that I can on issues in the Barbados economy. This requires reading material from the distant past.

There are two issues that engaged me over the last weekend: (1) the increasing gap between loan rates and deposit rates, and (2) the ongoing printing of money that some still want to deny.

In its most recent economic press release, it was noted that the financing needs of the Government had widened the gap between the United States and Barbadian treasury bill rates.

The Central Bank attempted to narrow the gap by intervening in the treasury bill auction after the commercial banks were allowed to set the minimum deposit rate. The concern now is “since April 2015, commercial banks have lowered their deposit rates more substantially than their loan rates”.

First of all, why was the Central Bank trying to narrow the gap between the two rates? There is no good economic reason why the local treasury bill rate should mimic that of the United States.

Why should the widening interest rate spread surprise anyone? This caused me to read material from the past. Worrell (1997) identified powerful reasons why the Central Bank should lead on changes in interest rates. He suggested that “it is the most fully informed, being the repository of a wealth of data, producing the most comprehensive assessment of the economy and maintaining constant economic oversight”.

In analysing interest rate spreads in the past, he noted in periods of Central Bank regulation, they widened. He concluded that the Central Bank “was never able to persuade the banks to agree on narrower spreads and was wisely never willing to risk evasion by defying the banks’ wishes”. So what has changed to expect the banks to act differently now?

On the second issue, Worrell (1997) wrote that “the Central Bank of Barbados was concerned from its inception with the need to avoid money creation [printing of money] through lending to Government”. He also stated “there is no problem of excessive money if banks are happy to leave excess cash with the Central Bank at no interest rate, as they have for extended periods in countries that have stable exchange rates”.

There is evidence that the banks have been leaving excess cash with the Central Bank, which it is using to help finance Government spending. For example, Government needed $273 million in domestic financing between April and June. It received $92 million from the National Insurance Scheme and the private sector not including commercial banks. In fact, the banks reduced their lending to Government by $120 million over the quarter.

As a result, the Central Bank had to provide $301 million in financing to the Government. It did so by using the commercial banks’ additional deposits with the Central Bank of $198 million for the same period April to June. This means that the Central Bank had to print money to the tune of $103 million.

Why did the commercial banks reduce their lending to Government but still put additional deposits at the Central Bank? In the face of excess cash, there is still a problem with financing Government spending from domestic sources.

Why is the Central Bank holding $775 million in treasury bills and $592 million in debentures? The Central Bank is using the commercial banks’ deposits and the printing of money to purchase Government securities. Worrell (1997) also found that “in circumstances where banks were not actively seeking to employ excess cash, the Central Bank has never been able to effect a sale of bills by offering a more attractive return on them”.

In the current circumstances, the Central Bank has become too big a player in the treasury bill market and therefore the banks are prepared to take advantage of the low deposit rates. This is done by widening the spread, while the loan rates are slightly more attractive.

The Central Bank has tried to use monetary policy to accommodate fiscal madness. There is scope for monetary policy to support fiscal adjustment that is well thought out. It cannot correct fiscal adjustment that is inappropriate and insufficient.

• Dr Clyde Mascoll is an economist and Opposition Barbados Labour Party adviser on the economy. Email: clyde_mascoll@hotmail.com

102 responses to “Dr. Mascoll Exposes the Central Bank”

1. This writer does not profess to be an economist, but the knowledge that our Central Bank has been printing money illegally, and also considering that Bjorn Bjerkham is one of the directors of the same Bank and Chris Sinckler MoF is taking money out of the NIS which will never be repaid leaves one to wonder how Mascoll can possibly get the economy fixed after the next election.

Permit me an aside. The garbage trucks that were sitting in the Bridgetown Port for a while. Who exactly facilitated the name change as the real owners and is Bizzy actually the real owner or Maloney, but more importantly is any of the afore mentioned named the real owners?

2. NorthernObserver Avatar

This makes some sense to me.
    When the proceeds of Banks shares arrived, I spoke to the Bank Manager (BM) about the funds. I was informed the Bank would accept the funds but could not offer me any interest. Yes, that is 0%.

This may also explain, why in spite of some poor loan experiences, the banks are not being pressured to loan. Excess liquidity gets deposited with CBB, which decreases the funds they need to create. Or I assume commercial banks could buy Treasuries or other investments, but are likely maxxed out based on preset limits.

I have no proof the author is correct, but as the saying goes “where there is smoke, there is generally fire”.

3. Not only has Chris Sinckler (Mof) been removing money from the NIS, but the printing of money by the Central Bank of Barbados, has brought Barbados to the precipice of hyperinflation, and devaluation. The move by the IMF to devalue the Barbadian dollar, will occur sometime within the first quarter of 2017. Although Clyde Mascoll is right in his proclamations, he too has been at fault for the slippery financial slope that Barbados now finds itself on. Mascoll along with Owen S Arthur, are to be blamed for the divestment of the manufacturing industry in Barbados. I find Mr. Mascoll’s assertions interesting from his position of an “Economic Umpire,” when it was he who was a full participant in Barbados’ early economic woes, as a Minister of State in the administration of then Prime Minister Owen S Arthur. Unlike Sinckler, Arthur and Mascoll are blessed with numeracy, and the ability for analysis. That being said, both Arthur and Mascoll failed abysmally to place their collective fingers on the economic pulse of Barbados, and therefore were early contributors to Barbados’ economic woes. Hind sight is 20/20, and the economic hitmen have entered Barbados for the next several decades.

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/10/21/on-board-6/

Dumbville speaks.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/10/21/bring-back-our-national-bank-abed/

The credit unions can do this and leave the government out of it, so that the minority drug dealing 5% parasites dont get the government protected opportunity they are now seeking to launder their drug and other criminal gains in the people’s national bank.

5. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

All of them are crooks, crooks reporting on each other does not make one look better than the other, the seed of fraud was planted long ago and now we see what was planted, All they have is long talk base on theirs lies, Crooks , Liars and Scumbags they are, Welcome to the gravy train, The links with the DBLP ministers and lawyers are well based in the History of the lands of Barbados , All can be seen , All other things is the coverup by using the Bank,using of funds, taking of funds, taking of land, pushing jobs, using the printed media, CBC and on line news to mix up the people in the mess of PONZI and more Fraud, None of them speak with one voice and lack of so called CALLING THE NAMES OF THE CROOKS,,Media only call names if one is arrested and CHARGED, The DPP and the Police coverup and delays in court by use of money and title, Crime is being done by the leaders each day but none are charged, We need an AG from another country that will work at his or her post to clean up all these Bitches, More fraud to come , more down grades all the way to F.

6. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

PEOPLE ARE PICKING THEM ALL APART , BUT THE PEOPLE DONT KNOW WHAT THEY ARE PICKING APART. JUST WAIT AND SEE

7. Seems to us that the bankers in Barbados are trying to extend the same environment that has prevailed in the North Atlantic countries, China and elsewhere after 2008.

Zero interest rates regimes. Meaning that savers are to get nothing and that they, the GOB, can borrow from the CB for zero or near-zero. A transfer of interest debt to the population.

In addition, the GOB also wants to get into or extend the same quantitative easing (QE) obtained in those regions and do so at zero, or near-zero interest rates as well. ‘Printing money’

For the economy this is as bad as could be imagined. For the people it is equivalent to a ‘bail-in’ or a taxation. The GOB gets to paper over decline in the short term, avoid higher than near-zero interest on current borrowings and rollovers and further impoverish the population.

These actions may also drive deflation, on one hand, while fueling the increased extraction of relatively high rent from the population through interest not much different than normally. Similar to a statistical devaluation.

Maybe the GOB has abandoned the pretense of trying to maintain or restore its international credit rating. Nobody in government seems to be exercised these days after another rating downgrade. If that were policy all actors should be so informed.

The irony is that monetary policy has failed elsewhere to help those economies. We can expect, after the US election, for the Fed to suggest fiscal policy in an about turn.

The current monetary regimes are only being extended to preserve a patina of health until Clinton is ‘elected’.

We anticipate the Fed will raise interest rates by as much as 1% thereafter in a radical turnaround, sometime in December.

8. ” Government is being forced to sacrifice developmental projects in order to save the island’s international business reputation, a senior administration spokesman has revealed.

Acting Minister of International Business Senator Jepter Ince said Monday night the international business and financial services sector was being threatened by “indiscriminate blacklisting” by international agencies, leaving Government with little option but to defend the country’s reputation.”

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/10/19/blacklisting-hurting-development/

9. The second-ranking man in the Royal Barbados Force visited my state here on vacation about a month ago, and this is a man I knew from the time I was a teenager or a little younger I suppose, and he enlightened me on the level of corruption in every area of the Barbadian society, but it came as no surprise to me because I was properly informed by some of the very individuals who are involved in corruption in Barbados on the lower level.

The construction busines in Barbados is very corrupted and it targets Barbadians who are at or approaching retirement age and are embarking on building a home to respite tranquilly on the island to spend the remainding of their years at home.

Now I was told by a source in the construction business in Barbados that when a Bajan abroad is building a home, and he or she has no real representative to look after the construction of the home on the island, the constructor would defraud the Bajan abroad by telling him or her for example: he needs 500 bricks when in actuality, he only needs 200 and he would take those extra 300 to another project and pocket the money, after he sells them the person who he is building the house for.

This kind of behaviour is unacceptable and must not be toleranted if we as a people intend to move to the next level in our development. Barbadians used to be a decent honest people and this example was set by our political leaders, but now it does appear as though Barbados has gone to hell in a handbasket.

10. Look people, …trying to make sense of a pack of JA’s leading a nation of brass bowls will always be an exercise in frustration.
    Anyone with ANY intelligence, who saw that video of the Governor of the Central Bank talking about the basis of currency exchange rates must know that the man is either a total JA …or long gone senile. After that, Bushie stopped trying to make sense of Central Bank policies.

The long and short of it, is that our ass is grass….

11. @ Bushie

But he was once a bright man.

We seem to think that the circumstances in economy, financialization, have him as at sea as most, poor fella!

Maybe that’s way he seems senile. LOL

12. The problem remains that Mascoll and the younger, sharper minds are no better at the central problem, in economy, we face.

13. [Barbados Underground] Comment: “Dr. Mascoll Exposes the Central Bank” InboxBin B Barbados Underground

14. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

After Pachamama and Bush Tea have made their contributions to this discourse ,there is no need for this trained economist to gild the lilly.

15. Plagiarising is terrible. Some people read websites and reports, absorb incorrectly what is being said, then ramble on about low interest rates and quantitative easing.
    I wish they will explain to me the interaction of low interest rates, so-called printing money and quantitative easing as is practised and how they merge to form economic policy.
    I was once approached about teaching at Middlesex University and refused to carry the discussion any further on the grounds that I find teaching young people very difficult.
    The same can be said about entering politics.

16. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@Hal Austin8:53 AM

Teaching at no level is easy. How are the young people to learn if the cognoscenti do not put in the effort and make the sacrifices? I am happy when I see them reading. We also have to teach them to read critically. Just because the article or book is written and published does not make it gospel. So the reader should not send his common sense on vacation. Even at my age I read my books with an HB pencil in my right hand.

17. Hal Austin

Teaching is difficult if one is incentivized by the salary or prestige of the pedagogic profession, but I have met a individuals who love the idea of educating the young people and would give of their time and effort after classes, to help those in need achieve they goals.

18. RE I was once approached about teaching at Middlesex University

LORD GOD ALMIGHTY
    THE STANDARDS AT MIDDLESEX UNIVERSITY MUST BE VERY LOW

19. THIS BLOG SHOULD BE ENTITLED

GOVERNOR OF CENTRAL BANK FOUND GUILTY ……..lol murdah

20. We read or review a fairly wide number of sources. Some electronic others not.

We are particularly attracted to those thinkers who have something different to say. We already know the mean.

However, the overriding determination is a ruthless maintenance of our own mind. We have been criticized variously for not being respectful enough to anybody and that is quite true. Not even people we generally agree with.

This writer has never found it necessary to have a posse thinking like we do.

Could that be the mind of a plagiarist?

To charge plagiarism the minimum threshold must certainly be the production of evidence. We have no difficulty in citing sources as seen in our most recent article.

But the charge of plagiarism is particularly disturbing because, for us, it is tantamount to murder. Where is the body? Is there no credence to habeus corpus.

We expect others on BU would attest that we have been making the same kinds of political-economic arguments for a long time.

You certainly can’t make the plagiarism charge if the provable discourses turns up time and time again by us.

The problem with people like Hal Austin is that none of the people in authority, the people he most respects, have any answers to these same intractable issues which we have always cited.

And his masters know well that they have no answers. This is why HAL AUSTIN is not lost, knows not where to turn to justify his useless existence.

All this time HAL AUSTIN was writing nonsense on BU, for years, and misleading the family based on neo–liberal economic policies that were as useless as he has always been.

Now that it is clear, even to our detractors, that western economies have reached a dead end he no longer has anything insightful to say in his long soliloquies.

As a result gutter snipping, chimney sweeping, are the orders of this day. But the central problem remains as HAL AUSTIN is left in wonder, love and fear.

HAL AUSTIN is in no position to make any demands of us.

If David is fair, and he has always chided us for cussing HAL AUSTIN, he should now demand a withdrawal of this grand charge made without any proof.

21. Lawd have its mercy.Send for the grammar police dem.JA’s braying and fah ting all over BU.

22. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Nation of Laws' my ass. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman aka ‘Nation of Laws’ my ass.

Dompey October 21, 2016 at 7:35 AM #
    The second-ranking man in the Royal Barbados Force visited my state here on vacation about a month ago, and this is a man I knew from the time I was a teenager or a little younger I suppose, and he enlightened me on the level of corruption in every area of the Barbadian society,

On the front page of the Nation again is BWA’s new water tanker trucks. They are DAFs which were imported, not from a long-standing truck dealer with supporting agency, parts department, workshop, trained technicians and warranty system, but by the same construction company that built the teefinest building in the history of Bajan teefin, the BWA headquarters.

Yet your friend, the COP, the DPP, the PM, the cabinet et al can’t find any evidence of corruption in this country.

I know for a fact that cabinet teefin’ was reported to the PM who commented that it was ‘a sign of desperate times’ and did nothing more about it, because he is the most useless, inept, lazy bureaucrat this country has ever suffered on a cabinet.

When a corrupt minister on Tom’s cabinet was reported to Tom the resulting furore caused that minister to cross the floor.

So where do we start? How do we bring back some semblance of honour to the political class?

23. Pachamama October 21, 2016 at 9:37 AM #

Pacha
    yuh doan have to hit the man with the porcine facies so hard
    we dun know he spew porcine faeces on BU….and he serious about it
    he is dompey-esque and ac-esque

24. > > [Barbados Underground] Comment: “Dr. Mascoll Exposes the Central Bank” > Bin > B > Barbados Underground >

25. GP please take ac out of your dithering mind. Cause i am not the one espou fsing ancient christain theories that are unfounded or cannot be scientfically proven. Exhibit A heaven or hell and the dead returning to its natural body after years of decomposition

26. Pachamama,

I am pleased to apologise for calling you a plagiarist. However, your ignorance may be explained by your appalling economic semi-literacy and embarrassing arrogance. What saves you is that you hide behind a mask which means that you cannot explain your folly. Maybe you are just a copier.
    Plse explain the interconnection between low interest rates, so-called printing money and the macro-economic policy of quantitative easing and their impact on monetary policy. What is the policy intention of low interest rates? What is the printing of money used for in developed economies? How does this differ from quantitative easing as practised in the US, UK, EU and Japan?
    Plse explain it in elementary terms without being foulmouthed..

27. Georgie Porgie

I was beginning to like you because you kept your mouth shut for a while, but it was too good to be true because I knew that it was impossible for a leopard to change its spots. But take this advice from me though: the more you keep your mouth shut the better your loved around the BU household.

28. By the way, Canada’s negotiations with the EU over a new trade deal has just collapsed after seven years.
    All those who think the UK is going to have it easy after Brexit are living in cloud cuckoo land.
    Brexit is the biggest suicide note in history.

29. DOMPEY I LIKE GIRLS
    I DONT WANT YOU TO LIKE ME
    NONE OF THE SO CALLED BU HOUSEHOLD CAN EMPLOY ME
    CAN YOU NOT SEE THAT I DONT PARTICULARLY GIVE A RAT’S RECTUM ABOUT WHAT BU THINKS ABOUT ME?

MY CONVERSATION IS NOT ON BUI DONT LOOK TO BU FOR ANYTHING— EXCEPT FOR A SOURCE OF RUM SHOP FUN AND MOCKING WHEN I AM BORED

30. With low interest rate and relatively high fees Barbadians are already > experiencing negative interest rates. > > What will happen with our defined pension plans and other funds invested > in Barbados? >

31. The comments on this topic reflect the utter hopelessness of the many readers of this post.

In a situation where a known economist has charged the govt with wrong doing no one from the govt has defended their position nor has any citizen or group come forward to do anything about it……….we like it so.

32. @Vincent

When has this government and by extension the Governor of the Central Bank sought to rebut any position by citizens of Barbados?

33. David

I agree that it is the norm for them……the bigger question is why are the sheeple accepting it so meekly?

34. Georgie Porgie

So because I like my male best friend that mean that I wish to sleep with him? There is an adage here in the States which says: ” I don’t have to like the boss, but I ought to respect his position.” So PG, if I like the boss who is male does it mean that I wish to sleep with him? Boss, you sound like aa bare Johnny.

35. Mascoll is discredited so often anything he puts out is meaningless alike the cess pool content from Frustrated Businessman aka greedy Bizzy Williams.

Posters must realize bu is a site which only attracts opponents of the government and their stooges. When real elections take place Wickham, Marscoll, water mouth Hinckson, foreigner boy Joseph et al are meaningless. Their influence is zero unless you’re a bu addict.

The people of this country known for quiet but independent thought will not be swayed by the named idiots and their ass lickers. A timely economic break or two in the next fourteen months and the literate but underestimated voters will return the Dems.

You can place your bets. Traitor Mascoll will not be forgotten for his treachery. Opposition forces unless they magically come with a sea change in economic policy which guarantees growth will suffer defeat at the ballot . The Mascoll troupe of clowns will once again be exposed and punished with laughter.

36. @ Georgie Porgie,
    Once again, I am forced to ask why you use the rum shop culture as your measurement of a
    of absurdity. I assure you that in many cases
    the level of discourse on rum shops , is far superior to what you may think. And just by the
    way, there are many folks in rum shops who can quote a Latin phrase or two.

37. AGAIN QUID DIXI SCRIPSIQUE, DIXI SCRIPSIQUE,

38. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Hal Austin
    you ask simple questions for which there is no simple answer.
    The definition of QE has changed almost annually since 2000. It refers to extreme, and some might argue unconventional monetary policy.
    The ‘printing of money’, refers to what was formerly called expansionary policy or increasing the money supply.
    Exactly the role of interest rates, or the cost of money, has almost as many opinions as there are economists.

I believe, the underlying change is Reserve/Central/Monetary Authorities have become more political with time. This is because as governments have become more indebted and the competition for tax revenue intensifies, the cost of money becomes vital to them.

For those who doubted, low interest rates (cheap money) has not produced the economic activity predicted. Profits, the reason business and people invest, are not solely (or even largely) determined by the cost of money.

What the world needs is not another trade deal, rather it needs a collective agreement on the collection of revenue. Today we have one sovereign collection agency skinning the other?

39. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@ David,

You are quite right. Most depositors at commercial banks are experiencing negative real interest rates when one factors in some of the punitive charges that are being levied.Some customers with small accounts could see them disappear through the charges attached to small savings accounts. These days the banks are charging for keeping deposits. Negative real interest rates is also a factor of high rising prices. Interest rates on savings were intended to compensate for the erosion of the value of savings by inflation.

Wrt. the Defined Pension Schemes.

I hope Pension Fund trustees are investing in the long term GOB Debentures and Treasury notes at 7 % p.a. There are not many investment assets yielding higher returns. Government paper in the trading partners’ markets are lower. This accounted for the low investment revenues at the CBB.

40. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@Northern Observer at 3:10pm

Central Banks were always political. They were set up historically to finance the wars of the sovereigns- mostly to pay for wars. The Bank of England, The Federal reserve Bank etc. Just as how politicians now fear to tax and therefore resort to borrowing, the Sovereign back in 1694 decide to borrow from the then private bank of England . Eventually the B of E was nationalized

The printing of money is nothing new ,although ill-advised..

41. @ Bernard

Right, unless you plan to remove that ‘printed’ money from supply at some point certain.

42. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

In all fairness to Central Bankers the financial system has been changing at an increasing rate. It is very difficult for Governors to keep ahead of the learning curve. This is a very important point made earlier by Pachamama and he is also right when he pointed out that those who manage the Developing countries Economic and Financial systems are just as incompetent. Hence we in Barbados must be careful how we take on board their evaluations and recommendations.

43. When discussing the state of the Barbados economy it might be a good idea to keep in mind the bigger global picture. After all, Barbados is only a minnow swimming in an economic sea ruled by killer whales and great white sharks.

Alistair Crooke: End of Growth Sparks Wide Discontent

Raul Ilargi Meijer, the long-standing economics commentator, has written both succinctly – and provocatively: “It’s over! The entire model our societies have been based on for at least as long as we ourselves have lived, is over! That’s why there’s Trump.

“There is no growth. There hasn’t been any real growth for years. All there is left are empty hollow sunshiny S&P stock market numbers propped up with ultra-cheap debt and buybacks, and employment figures that hide untold millions hiding from the labor force. And most of all there’s debt, public as well as private, that has served to keep an illusion of growth alive and now increasingly no longer can.

“These false growth numbers have one purpose only: for the public to keep the incumbent powers that be in their plush seats. But they could always ever only pull the curtain of Oz over people’s eyes for so long, and it’s no longer so long.

“That’s what the ascent of Trump means, and Brexit, Le Pen, and all the others. It’s over. What has driven us for all our lives has lost both its direction and its energy.”

https://www.theautomatic earth.com/2016/10/alastair-crooke-end-of-growth-sparks-wide-discontent/

44. @abajanhowe Sunday night on The People’s Business, Bizzy Williams said he did not own the green garbage trucks. I can only assume that they belong to Mark Maloney the government’s one stop shop.

45. Practicing QE in Barbados creates a whole different dynamic compared to a developed country. We import, we don’t produce enough for export, we have a burgeoning public service wage bill -successive governments have used the public service to stabilize employment, a high debt to GDP, a high cost to supply social services and the F word, foreign exchange etc.

46. Heather on checking further, those trucks just might not be owned by neither of them. I am hoping very hard that I am wrong on this.

47. The issue of the garbage trucks was discussed many times on BU and the info is that they were imported by a Brathwaite.

48. Would that be the Trans-tech Brathwaite?