Dr. Clyde Mascoll

BU read Dr. Clyde Mascoll’s weekly column with great interest. The fact that it has not garnered any serious critique on the talk shows and on social media says a lot about our level of discernment.  An advantage over the traditional media is that we (social media) tell it like it is.

Last week the BLP member of parliament for St.James North Edmund Hinkson made the attention grabbing request for Minister Denis Lowe to repay the state the financial loss suffered as a result of his error in judgement concerning the NCC workers matter. To add to Hinkson’s call the BU household calls on the commercial banks of Barbados to redistribute the profit to customers collected as a result of the Governor of the Central Bank Delisle Worrell removal of the minimum savings rate commercials banks had to pay their customers.

Read Mascoll’s column to understand how one of the biggest scams in our post Independence history is being perpetrated on Barbadians. Now go and buy some savings bonds!

WHAT MATTERS MOST: The interest rate gap

CLYDE MASCOLL,

Added 20 October 2016

whatmattersmost-new

THE LATE PROFESSOR Roland Craigwell once told me that “a man who has time to read is a dangerous man”. It was his way of emphasising the need to read almost everything in an area of study if you want to present your case.

Those words never stopped resonating with me. He reinforced the need to never go public with anything on the economy, unless I have verified the evidence. In this vein, I read all that I can on issues in the Barbados economy. This requires reading material from the distant past.

There are two issues that engaged me over the last weekend: (1) the increasing gap between loan rates and deposit rates, and (2) the ongoing printing of money that some still want to deny.

In its most recent economic press release, it was noted that the financing needs of the Government had widened the gap between the United States and Barbadian treasury bill rates.

The Central Bank attempted to narrow the gap by intervening in the treasury bill auction after the commercial banks were allowed to set the minimum deposit rate. The concern now is “since April 2015, commercial banks have lowered their deposit rates more substantially than their loan rates”.

First of all, why was the Central Bank trying to narrow the gap between the two rates? There is no good economic reason why the local treasury bill rate should mimic that of the United States.

Why should the widening interest rate spread surprise anyone? This caused me to read material from the past. Worrell (1997) identified powerful reasons why the Central Bank should lead on changes in interest rates. He suggested that “it is the most fully informed, being the repository of a wealth of data, producing the most comprehensive assessment of the economy and maintaining constant economic oversight”.

In analysing interest rate spreads in the past, he noted in periods of Central Bank regulation, they widened. He concluded that the Central Bank “was never able to persuade the banks to agree on narrower spreads and was wisely never willing to risk evasion by defying the banks’ wishes”. So what has changed to expect the banks to act differently now?

On the second issue, Worrell (1997) wrote that “the Central Bank of Barbados was concerned from its inception with the need to avoid money creation [printing of money] through lending to Government”. He also stated “there is no problem of excessive money if banks are happy to leave excess cash with the Central Bank at no interest rate, as they have for extended periods in countries that have stable exchange rates”.

There is evidence that the banks have been leaving excess cash with the Central Bank, which it is using to help finance Government spending. For example, Government needed $273 million in domestic financing between April and June. It received $92 million from the National Insurance Scheme and the private sector not including commercial banks. In fact, the banks reduced their lending to Government by $120 million over the quarter.

As a result, the Central Bank had to provide $301 million in financing to the Government. It did so by using the commercial banks’ additional deposits with the Central Bank of $198 million for the same period April to June. This means that the Central Bank had to print money to the tune of $103 million.

Why did the commercial banks reduce their lending to Government but still put additional deposits at the Central Bank? In the face of excess cash, there is still a problem with financing Government spending from domestic sources.

Why is the Central Bank holding $775 million in treasury bills and $592 million in debentures? The Central Bank is using the commercial banks’ deposits and the printing of money to purchase Government securities. Worrell (1997) also found that “in circumstances where banks were not actively seeking to employ excess cash, the Central Bank has never been able to effect a sale of bills by offering a more attractive return on them”.

In the current circumstances, the Central Bank has become too big a player in the treasury bill market and therefore the banks are prepared to take advantage of the low deposit rates. This is done by widening the spread, while the loan rates are slightly more attractive.

The Central Bank has tried to use monetary policy to accommodate fiscal madness. There is scope for monetary policy to support fiscal adjustment that is well thought out. It cannot correct fiscal adjustment that is inappropriate and insufficient.

• Dr Clyde Mascoll is an economist and Opposition Barbados Labour Party adviser on the economy. Email: clyde_mascoll@hotmail.com

102 responses to “Dr. Mascoll Exposes the Central Bank”

1. @passing thru October 21, 2016 at 1:46 PM “Posters must realize bu is a site which only attracts opponents of the government and their stooges.”

i am NOT an opponent of the government.

I am NOT a stooge.

I am NOT a friend of the government either.

Lolll!!!

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David October 21, 2016 at 7:55 PM #
    “Practicing QE in Barbados creates a whole different dynamic compared to a developed country. We import, we don’t produce enough for export, we have a burgeoning public service wage bill -successive governments have used the public service to stabilize employment, a high debt to GDP, a high cost to supply social services and the F word, foreign exchange etc.”

Well put David! Not even Bernard Codrington could argue differently.

How can a country without a viable manufacturing base or has no commodities-export trading profile to earn forex and without its own strong and tradeable currency ever use QE as a significant monetary cum fiscal tool except for a very short-term financing strategy (which Pachamama quite smartly pointed out)?

The printing of money without a concomitantly quantitative increase in foreign exchange earnings to finance the largely import-based conspicuous consumption economy can only spell one thing for Barbados in the long-run.

The same way the ‘P’ for Privatization word was once avoided like the plague but has finally returned to the house of pox call the Bajan economy so too is the ‘D” word echoing through the ghostly corridors financial realities.

Devaluation is the fastest and surest way to force Bajans to live within the country’s means; that is significantly increase its capacity to export services and niche market goods or ‘die’ as a sustainable economy.

The days of borrowing people’s money to pay for living high off the conspicuous consumption hog are now gone.

3. Would that be Adriel Brathwaite?

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David October 21, 2016 at 7:58 PM #
    “The issue of the garbage trucks was discussed many times on BU and the info is that they were imported by a Brathwaite.”

Isn’t it so pellucid that the GoB is broke and indeed in a fiscal straightjacket. The talk of ‘six months of helping out with the sad state of public sanitation by the private sector’ is just a load of crap found only in the NO.1 & 2 business to be swallowed only by gullible jackasses.

Not even the BU self-acclaimed business guru, AC, in any iteration, would swallow such a load of bullshit from an incontinently-performing administration.

When the government is unable to obtain finance from the banking sector, awash with liquidity, to buy garbage collecting trucks you know for sure things are really up the fiscal spout and the ‘back-door’ road that leads to full privatization is paved with secrecy and riddled with potholes of kickbacks. Some of which will fall off the back of a lorry marked ‘Dangerous Chemicals on Board: For Use Only in the Cesspool at George St.’ and heading in the direction of elections financing in 2017 or thereabout.

5. Do you recall when BU carried Hartley Henry’s column every week and BU was labeled a DLP mouthpiece?

Barbados Free Press wrote a few blogs about it.

You are nothing more than a yard fowl. You do not have to read BU you know. This advice applies to a few others.

6. Dr .Mascoll a Dlp turncoat trying to revive his image. Not gonna happen . There is plenty happening in the BLP house where he can turn his attention and try to salvage before the roof blows completly off.

7. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Bernard Codrington. October 21, 2016 at 4:28 PM re “In all fairness to Central Bankers the financial system has been changing at an increasing rate. It is very difficult for Governors to keep ahead of the learning curve…those who manage the Developing countries Economic and Financial systems are just as incompetent…”—- REALLY! This on its face is a perfect advertisement for BushTea’s oft repeated screed that a university education, in the main, can be a waste of paper!

How can people like Chair Yellen, Pres. Draghi and Director Christine Legarde who are all laser like economically attuned and with their army of Ivy-league, Oxbridge and Grandes écoles trained smart-ass specialists be allowed the exit route that the financial systems are changing at a rate to fast for them to keep up.

With respect, but that is just lovely columnist’s speak.

When the ship’s captain who knows the waterways like a fish runs the ship close to a beaching as she navigates the dangerous shoals while getting up to the minute reports from the executive officer on the ship’s bridge on terrain is she incompetent, being a high-risk taker or simply managing the treacherous territory as best as possible.

There is no ‘incompetence’ as there is blustery arrogance leading to negligent disregard.

@GreenMonkey October 21, 2016 at 6:29 PM …It seems that Americans expected to maintain a rollicking growth rate continuously ad infinitum. Bajans too apparently.

China and India despite grave other issues are experiencing growth rates above 6% of GDP year over year in the last ten years. Over the same period the US has never gone above 4% and dipped well into negative growth.

So yes technically there has been no growth comparably speaking to these other large emerging markets.

But, currently the US market is supposedly at ‘full employment’ in economic speak (with fudgy numbers) and the economy has generated over 10 million ‘jobs’ since the 2008 major downturn. It recently came off a 43 week streak of positive jobs growth. But yet the debt is still large, health care is again a shambles and consumption is once more heating up. Life issues are always relative.

No one is pulling any curtain over anyone’s eyes. The US and Europe are mature markets which are doing ‘well’ in the current circumstances and it is impractical to expect a return to outsize GDP growth projections in the short term.

I am certainly no trained economist but the evidence all around points to what some call a ‘new normal’ of growth and development. So of course “the entire model … we ourselves have lived, is over”. But that is basically called ‘evolution’ and ‘maturity of markets’.

With all that said it is extremely difficult to understand how Trumpian isolationist type policies with high tariffs will improve the US or indirectly the Bajan growth possibilities.

8. re I am certainly no trained economist DAMN RIGHT THERE!
    re but the evidence all around points to what some call a ‘new normal’ of growth and development REAL REAL ECONOMISTS WHO HAVE READ MORE THAN LIPSEY THINK OTHERWISE. HAVE YOU READ ANYTHING BESIDE LIPSEY RECENTLY MORON?l

SINCE YOU ARE NOT A TRAINED ECONOMIST AND ONLY A MORON WHO WANTS TO BE A WANNABE HOW CAN YOU CONCLUDE With all that said it is extremely difficult to understand how Trumpian isolationist type policies with high tariffs will improve the US or indirectly the Bajan growth possibilities.

BUT THANKS FOR MY MORNING RAUCUS LAFF OF THE USUAL BULL SHIT AND DAILY DRIVEL IN THE BU RUM SHOP

9. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@Georgie Porgie@ 8;2 A.M

Wuh loss G,P this down grade disease is contagious!First Pastor Baird down grade the Block and you down grade the Rum Shop too? Soon from now Barbados will not have any culture. Next thing you know De dependant Dribbler will want to downgrade “wuk up”. And that will be a national disaster.

10. Mr Codrington Sir
    I have not downgraded the Bajan rumshop as it is known. I do not drink rum and never frequented rum shops.
    But the BU rum shop is a great source of mirth.
    It seemed to have started well, but has passed by the way side.
    I have just become the allowed and accepted “provocateur”

11. Mr Codrington Sir
    The silly baird woman should know that she should go to the block and rap with the boys and give them the seed of the Word, and at the same time listen to their story even if she can offer them physical help

12. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Doc as usual thanks for reading me so devotedly…You remembered my Lipsey remark. How charming. I am very hopefully therefore that when I initiate my blog of layman’s finance, society and economics that you will be a valued subscriber!

David do excuse my shameless advertising on your blog. You will get related commissions of course.

BTW Doc the term ‘new normal’ is actually coined (well I heard it first from him) from a guy called Mohamed El-Erian. He is a big maguffy economist from Oxford and who up to a few years ago co-managed a billion$$ bond and investment fund. He is one of these ‘best thing since slice bread fellows’ who definitely read much more than Lipsey and wrote much too (unlike me. LOLL).

Oh and catch the latest online headline today (or was it yesterday) which blared to the effect: Economists say a Trump presidency will tank the economy.

I think they say : he who laughs last, laughs best at the trolling doctor!!! LOLL.

13. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

ddDribbler 9:25 AM

Did not M El-Erian work at the IMF / IBRD too.? Correlation is not causation. But what is that telling you?

14. no i dont read you devotedly I have a damn good memory fool!
    will your laymens finance have the consistency of toilet paper sir?

do you think I care if a trump presidency will tank the economy fool
    THE ECONOMY WILL FAIL TRUMP OR NO TRUMP

TRUMP IS NOT MY PRESIDENT
    I WANT THE USA TO FALL

I WANT TO LOOK DOWN AND SEE THE TEN TOES OF DANIEL COME TO THE FORE
    I WANT TO LOOK DOWN AND SEE THE STONE CUT OUT WITHOUT HANDS CRUSH THE TEN TOES

I AM FAR AHEAD OF YOU MORON!

15. It is better to trust in the LORD than to put confidence in princes. Ps 118:9
    Put not your trust in princes, nor in the son of man, in whom there is no help. Psalm 146:3

16. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

That he did @Bernard as do many top folk in yours and other related professional fields. They go into the ‘government’ arena first, hone their skills, learn the loopholes and build contacts.

Then they join the private sector and are better able to ace the system.

Having worked on the governance side does not a make anyone any more or less pro a particular practice or process, surely.

As they move on the motivating factor often becomes the value and weight of the remuneration package/position.

And generally the narrative although technically always accurate becomes very shewed to fit that motivation. Not so!!!

17. @millertheanunnaki October 22, 2016 at 12:36 AM #.

Does anyone in the know can say who is this Brathwaite that is ‘fronting’ for the real owner of the said trucks beside Maloney and Bizzy?

18. Not Adriel “Heather”. He is not that bright.

19. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Georgie Porgie October 22, 2016 at 9:20 AM #
    “The silly baird woman should know that she should go to the block and rap with the boys and give them the seed of the Word, and at the same time listen to their story even if she can offer them physical help..”

Oh Lord, GP!

All along we thought you were a true follower of the Pauline version of the Christian faith.

After recently singing on BU the same Paul praises to high heavens we thought your well-informed exegesis and ‘expert’ appreciation of Saint Paul’s teachings would have made you quote the following from the same Son of Man:

1 Corinthians 14:33-35 states: “As in all the churches of the holy one, women should keep silent in the churches, for they are not allowed to speak, but should be subordinate even as the law says. If they want to learn anything, they should ask their husbands at home. For it is improper for a woman to speak in the church.”

There you have it, in ‘pure’ black and white.

That doctor Booby preacher woman called Baird, according to your man Paul, needs to take her place and STFU, right GP?

20. AGREED! SHE NEEDS TO KEEP QUIET IN THE CHURCH BUT THERE IS NO TEXT THAT SAYS SHE should NOT go to the block and rap with the boys and give them the seed of the Word.

21. Frustrated Businessman

Can we get a full criminal investigation into the allegations that Ionics Freshwater Limited, the owner and operator of the Spring Garden Desalination Plant has charged (and been paid by BWA) millions and millions of dollars for PROFIT on the electricity component of the price tariff for the water supplied by that plant? WHAT WE KNOW IS THAT THE WATER SUPPLY AGREEMENT (AND THE AMENDMENTS) DOES NOT ALLOW THOSE BANDITS TO CHARGE AND BE PAID FOR PROFIT ON ELECTRICITY.
    After Bizzy Williams shakes you hand do be sure to count your rings.

22. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@ dp D at 9: 35 am

Yes dp D . And they do it without missing a beat.

23. There is no comedy greater than those
    Who think they are brilliant and well educated sinking to cesspool levels in order to get
    their points across.
    What is even more comical is the simple
    fact that they tend to agree that many of the
    positions they now hold are essentially
    useless.
    What is even more laughable, is that they
    Usually end up either defending or castigating the very system they claim is no longer.
    Relevant.
    It shows that their thinking is exactly where t
    Our former masters want us to be.
    It shows clearly that intellectual shackles
    remain a major obstacle to our desire to
    determine our own destiny.
    Once again, the prophet Bob Marley stands
    Supreme. The desire for some to prove
    They are “first class” intellects while
    Trying to prove that others are “second
    Class” remains . Just like massa wants it!

24. Glimpses of Stuart’s world view
    By Barbados Today on Oct 22, 2016 11:00 am

Prime Minister Freundel StuartThe author, James Sire, posits that one’s worldview is told by one’s words and actions, is deeply embedded in one’s subconscious and, unless one reflects long and hard, one may be unaware of what it is. Indeed, Sire goes on to argue that our worldview is a habitual or characteristic mental attitude that determines how […]
    Read in browser »

http://barbadostoday.us11.list-manage1.com/track/click?u=d13288d6e435e8111d9c39065&id=e051b060ba&e=d16b80b1d3

25. David,
    One economic failure of this government is its printing of money to pay civil servants’ salaries. QE is one of those policies that can b defined by who is doing the defining, like Humpty Dumpty.
    When first introduced by the Japanese, to curb their over-saving, the government gave cash to households expecting them to go out and spend, in a Keynesian manner; instead they saved the money.
    In Britain, something that I wrote very strongly against, the Bank of England used the money to buy gilts off insurance companies and banks, expecting them to then offer more funds to businesses and home buyers. Instead they built up their liquidity.
    I said, and was typically ignored, that the money should have gone towards a mortgage-lending mutual bank.
    For Barbados, I suggested that government should print money – not borrow from the Chinese – to rebuild the inner city, Nelson Street and its environs, complete with architecturally designed apartments, shops offices and recreational spaces, offering the present residents first refusals, then the young middle class professionals (all those coming out of university and still living with their parents and grand parents), and small craftspeople.
    I also suggested they should move the awful and grossly loss-making Transport Board out to St John (Four X Road), and rebuild that prime land with modern apartments, a leisure club, tennis, basketball and netball courts and include Weymouth as part of the plan. Four X Roads will become a new town with tax incentives to businesses to move there.
    One benefit will be to ease traffic heading in to town every morning.
    Funding will come, not from QE, but from off-plan sales of the apartments, through mortgages available from the mutual mortgage bank.
    In other words, the cost of this infrastructural development will be spread over generations and will benefit the whole nation.
    If Messrs Sinckler and Stuart want more of these ideas I will offer them for free, as part of my contribution to our independence anniversary.

26. William Skinner

Here is the ironic thing about our educational system: the Minister of Financial and Economic Affairs the Hon. Christopher Sinckler, took the Common Entry Examination and ended up at the Garrison, and many of his classmates took the same examination and ended up at schools of national reputation like Harrison College, Lodge and Combermere etc. And after Mr. Sinkler completed his secondary and tertiary education, he ended up at the UWI lecturing to the same classmates who attended: Harrison College, Lodge and Combermere etc. Piece, how did this happened?

27. Piece

Thumbs up for the Barbadian educational system. Boy when someone attends a secondary rated school and ends up lecturing to students who attended secondary schools of national reputation it speaks volums of our educational system .👌👌👌👌👌👌👌👌👌

28. The Wild Coot column in today’s nation
    should be a very informative piece as to how
    the Barbados economy was undermined by
    Barbados Shipping and Trading.

29. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@David (BU):

Do you have access to the load of bullshit the Guv of the CB has delivered as a report on the Qtr. 3 economic performance?

What is the country’s foreign reserves position?

30. @Miller

Will post the PDF shortly. You need to respect the Guv’s review!

On Tue, Oct 25, 2016 at 9:09 PM, Barbados Underground wrote:

31. Here is an excerpt from another news media that has relevance to BU readers.

“BANKS are Broke, Central Banks are Criminal Organizations and the Taxpayers are being taken for a ride of their lifetime (and your children’s and their children’s lifetime)!

However, the system is so all-encompassing that nothing printed and/or otherwise told would make much of a difference — unless people rise up en masse. Ain’t going to happen! Remember, money replaced the chains.

Everytime a Central Bank prints money, it is doing something that YOU would be arrested for (counterfeiting), and for a long time…but they get to be the top GANGSTERS. I am sure you remember your Central Bank in Barbados RECENTLY printing over $114,000,000 (so they say). You’ll never see that money. And if it’s PRINTED it has to be accounted for and repaid — and guess who is there to wipe up the mess — YOU, the taxpayers.
    As you can see, every now and again, the news media this extract was taken from moves away from the salacious blogs to post things that are exceedingly important. All things are important and all IN-FORM-ATION should be used as tools to pull thoughts together cohesively.
    It’s time to stop being afraid. That’s what I say!”

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David October 25, 2016 at 6:05 PM #

Respect my donkey! Why should the statements made by a liar be accepted as the Truth?

Academic, intellectual and professional respect has to be earned not demanded.

Until he provides a proper account of the missing $300 million in foreign reserves nothing should be taken as valid from that source.

What would you call the continuing printing of money where there is no corresponding economic production or output?

Isn’t it a case of saddling innocent future generations with financial burdens they will not be benefiting from?

Can you explain how the spending by visitors in the local economy can increase ‘significantly’ but the foreign reserves are regressing? What massive capital works programmes are in train to account for this on-going decline?

33. In today’s Nation Online, three important Barbadian economists have commented on the theory of foreign reserves. They are former diplomat Charlie Skeete, Prof Avinash Persaud and Prof Winston Moore.
    One thing they all share is a rigid orthodoxy of the type which ran from about 1914 to the early 1960s. Nowhere is there any mention of central bank hedging, or the role of corporate treasuries in cash management.
    There is no explicit mention of purchasing power parity or indeed of acknowledgement of foreign exchange theory.
    In economic history, as in science, there are often Kuhnian revolutions.
    I still say that if we were to play the currencies futures markets there will be no need to warehouse Bds$600m, when that money could be usefully used to fund small businesses and infrastructural developments.
    Let the debate continue.

34. @ Hal Austin

Are you suggesting government should “gamble” with tax revenue by investing in financial derivatives?

Are you prepared to share with BU, how many governments invested in futures, the measure of success and what were the ROI?

Would you care to explain how government should go about and what measures they should implement to facilitate such investments?

rather than just putting the suggestion “out there,” please explain the process to me, since I’m “layman.”

35. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Artax
    this is not as unusual as you might think.
    This from the Cdn Pension Plan Investment Board
    “Public equity holdings
    CPPIB invests in publicly-traded equity and fixed income securities, and in listed and over-the-counter derivatives that are based upon the price of these assets, commodities, currencies and interest rates.
    http://www.cppib.com/en/what-we-do/our-investments/

You will also note they have a highly skilled team.

36. @ NothernObserver

I never mentioned anything was “unusual,” I only asked that evidence be presented to substantiate Austin’s suggestions. What is wrong with that?

According to the information you provided, the CPPIB is “a professional investment management organization that invests the assets of the Canada Pension Plan not currently needed to pay pension, disability and survivor benefits. It does not state the Canadian government is using tax revenue to invest in financial derivatives, as is being suggested by Austin.

It’s okay to describe economic policy as being archaic, but when you make suggestions, you should be willing to explain viability.

37. Thanks, Northernobserver.
    I am not sure what Artax is seeking. I have made the point that when a new paradigm emerges it is disruptive. It took 2000 years before Euclidean geometry was overturned; orthodox foreign reserve theory ruled from about 1914 to 1960; currency derivatives came on board in the 1980s.
    All financial products involve risks, currency derivatives are no riskier than holding foreign reserves in US institutions. Until Sept 2008, Lehman Bros was one of the soundest financial operations in the world.
    Foreign reserves need a third party underwriter like most other financial products.
    To deal in derivatives we will need local experts or we could buy in talent.
    Of interest to me is that the three experts I mentioned remain fixed to an orthodoxy that has been out of fashion in modern balance of payments theory.
    In the Nation Online, Charlie Skeete calls for cooperation with the IMF, but he did not say if that was the Washington Consensus IMF, or the post-Olivier Blanchard IMF, in which austerity was rejected.
    Prof Moore gives a lesson in foreign reserves, including the surprising claim that the 12-week period for which the reserves are meant was more or less picked from the sky. But I thought economics was meant to be a science.
    In fact, it was meant to support the economy in case of a shock, what Walter would call a once in a two hundred year event.
    To get around this, I suggested de-pegging from the Greenback, fixing to a basket of currencies and commodities, and playing the futures market. That would free-up cash for important investments.
    I have made the point that our last shock was Sept 22, 1955, and we survived that quite well, as the governor of the central bank knows. St Giles was used to house people whose hoes had blown down and we were sent to St Barnabas. I loved it.
    And Prof Persaud made the point that our reputation is such in the international markets that no fixed income fund manager would buy Barbadian bonds.
    I have also made that point on a number of occasions.
    I have pointed out that it was a scam asking retail investors to invests in so-called Savings Bond. Why should small investors lend money to the government?
    I made the point that government was likely to default.
    Three top economists: one from Washington, one from London and one from Cave Hill, all with the same prevailing orthodoxy.
    That, I suggest Artax, is the greater debate, not juvenile ones of testing my knowledge.

38. The use of derivatives as a risk management tool is standard for large pools of assets which are exposed to currency risk. The use of derivatives is not necessarily a gamble if the underlying contingent claims are well understood. In fact derivatives are highly effective and sometimes even crucial as a device in the management of all kinds of market risks.
    The use of currency overlay forwards, for example is routine and not as esoteric some are intimating. Whether these sort of sophisticated approaches are needed or even wanted in Bim is another story.

39. Thanks, Dullard. We do not have the expertise, but they can be trained.

40. NorthernObserver Avatar

@HA
    “We do not have the expertise, but they can be trained.”. I would be very cautious on this approach. You still need liquid reserves to facilitate trade. And the amount we are discussing is relatively small. I would think one is better off hiring the CPPIB, or its equivalent in London or NewYork who are not only well experienced, but are similarly risk averse, versus the investment banks. or other derivative trading houses.
    Possibly a longer term approach is training, but even the big firms in the Caribbean which operate in multiple countries with multiple currencies, sub contract this function.

41. @ Hal Austin

It seems as though you become agitated when anyone challenges your suggestions e.g.: “That, I suggest Artax, is the greater debate, not juvenile ones of testing my knowledge.” So far, “your knowledge” does not give a definitive description of how the investments should be made, but mere generalized statements on the issue.

Mentioning “that our last shock was Sept 22, 1955, and we survived that quite well,” is not a very good example, because the economic situation/circumstances were different if compared with this era. Additionally, you must also take into consideration that Barbados was under England’s sovereignty and it was their duty to “take care” of the island at that time.

I am not in any way “knocking” your suggestion, I however believe you should discuss it further. I also believe that, if government decides to invest in derivatives, there may be a need to create a statutory/quasi government organization or use the Financial Services Commission as an oversight board, which would:

1) Establish specific policies and procedures necessary to minimize a government’s exposure to potential loss in connection with its financial management.

2) Explore legalities, i.e. if laws are on the statute books or procurement statutes specifically to facilitate such investments, have the constitutional authority to execute investments and provisions limiting authority to incur any debt that may result from the transactions.

3) Implement accounting and internal control procedures. For example, establish criteria for the use of the derivatives; consult with the rating agencies; monitoring the pricing process; periodic training; reporting the use of derivatives in accordance with GAAP; internal/external audits to determine if the program is functioning in accordance with established objectives.

These are just a few examples.

42. @ Artaxerxes

I am not defending Hal Austin here.

One I hold no brief for Mr. Austin, and two, he can defend himself (though the ole man is aware that he is a Bajan living in the UK for all these years and we dun know about their state of mind)

But I would suggest this to you for your rumination.

De ole man been pun BU talking bout SmartBoards and E-Learning environments from de time Adam was a lad and jes a few days ago de ole man notice dat Aaron and Christina Truss and some Spanish people donate a classroom to Harsun College for $85,000 smackeroos.

Now I know that you gine ask if i get a cent but no please but you is a man dat know dat dere is nufin dat de ole man suggest in BIM dat i gine get paid for heheheheheheheh.

Hal if de ole man memory serve he correct is a Piece Uh Financial Consultant, unlike me who Walter PPK call a Piece Uh badword (heheheheheheh) so de ole man wud put it to you that he is alluding to these derivatives and the specific types while keeping his secrets to himself.

You dun know that he is living in the UK with its more silent and deadly version of “Lets Make America Great Again!!!” read keep out the foreigners and, no matter how long Hal and he udder mad west injuns live deah, you and I dun know that Brexit means that dem going start kicking our we niggers from cross deah too.

It is only de ole man who does come heah and expose me hand to everybody but Hal ent stan in Englant fuh all dat time to be a certifiable madman so he holding his cards close to his chest.

43. Piece of the rock

You are putting up a straw man. I am no financial consultant. I am a simple retired journalist, born in the Ivy and still have a great affection for the place and its people. Nothing more.
    As to being mad, I must be for spending so much time discussing a failing state.

44. Well Bushie is no financial analyst either, …but the Bushman knows shiite when he smells it.

All these ‘economists people’ (whatever the hell those are) are walking around talking shiite about a VERY SIMPLE problem.

The Jackasses we have in government are spending more money than they are taking in.
    No matter how much more they take in…they keep spending more.

The people of Barbados are unwilling to face this fact because 95% of the ingrunt brass bowls are ALSO doing the same thing in their personal lives…. living on credit and credit cards.

We have been doing the shiite for DECADES now, and have accumulated significant debt …even though we have sold off all the assets that we came and found.

The ‘FOREX’ or ‘savings’ that we claim to have …are just shiite mirages….. mostly BORROWED money, at high interest rates deposited in an account to ‘front’ as ‘savings’.

When asked the options available to us, …, these ‘economists’ hedge around, mumbling all kinds of nonsense about ‘printing money’, lowering the deficit, and sending home people.

ALL A LOTTA SHIITE.

WE HAVE TO START PAYING OFF OUR DAMN DEBTS…..and then learning to live on whatever is left.
    Far from ‘reducing the deficit (the amount spent every damn year that we do not have), we should FIRST make interest and a principal payment….. THEN decide how we will live on what’s left…… ENFORCE A SURPLUS.

Far from ‘printing money’ (which really means writing BOUNCED CHEQUES), we should cut back on wastage and stamp down on INEFFICIENCY….while emphasising productivity.

Instead of talking shiite, we should institute a universal, permanent, wages and salaries cut across the whole island, by 20% up to $100k, 30% between $100k &$200K, and 40% for those with salaries above$200K …….with immediate effect…..and who don’t like it can join Money B in Canada…

Most importantly, for ALL future considerations, productivity-merit-considerations shall govern all promotions (and even retention of positions) and pay increases.

‘Economics’ Bushie’s black donkey…
    ….these are the common sense steps that ANY sane housewife would take when faced with this well known nonsense….

45. Here is the latest on the productivity trap: a new paper by three economists (Daniel Hamermesh, Kayie Genadek and Michael Burda) has concluded that black people are lazy, that is why is output per capita is lower than whites and Asians.
    No comment from me.

46. @ Hal
    the study is probably correct … if ‘lazy’ means not being greedy and selfish enough to commit your whole being to accumulating shiite material stuff. Bushie thinks that it is much worse…. brass bowlery.

Black people do not do well at albino-centricity.
    Black people were meant to grow in a community-centric philosophy, as exemplified by the sou-sou, village council, and the extended family network.

Brass bowlery is trying to qualify for the olympics in baseball …because you see others playing that sport on TV, …when you are unbeatable in road tennis.

47. 8 Wealthiest and Most Influential People From Jamaica – Atlanta Black Star
    1-dot
    Atlanta Black Star · Leighton Dexter Vernon · 31 December 2014
    http://atlantablackstar.com/2014/12/31/8-wealthiest-and-most-influential-people-from-jamaica/
    ………………………………….

Why did you not take the cue from Hal,when something is so obviously alt-facts you let it pass.

The above represents only one island of Pelaus and I can bring more.

But not you…….you need to vindicate your nonsense theories at all costs even agreeing with economists who have no scientific base,you will grab at everything you misogynist.

48. @Northern
    Just a little aside about CPPIB

I caught an interview on Metro morning (CBC) with the chap leading that organization and it was very impressive, he seems to be a true professional. I read a profile and he started out as a medical doctor after graduating from Cambridge and switched careers after practicing for a year.

BTW he is a Goldman Sachs alumnus.

49. I saw a little bit of the Governor’s performance on DLPTV last night. He said the BRA is taking less money monthly than the government is spending thus causing the problems with the current account deficit.

So how was the government in position to restore the 10% to themselves and back dated it to April 2016? Would this restoration not have the same effect on the current account deficit?

What idiots! They have to go!