Submitted by Dr.George Brathwaite

โ€œThe rules of morality are not the conclusion of our reason.โ€ – David Hume.

Reverend Lucille Baird

The history of Christianity in Barbados is just as long as it is dotted with prejudices and injustices (even beyond unashamed support for slavery). It so happens that contemporary Barbados is being pressured and systematically assessed by groups of persons – self-referencing Christians – believing that they alone have a monopoly on ideas and that theirs is the right and only way the country ought to be governed. More directly, it is coming across in Barbados that these Christian religious actors (both from the traditional mainstream and the later evangelical conflations), more so than any other religious group or corresponding institution believe that their intimate association with the Holy Bible gives them a superior place in exercising moral authority.

It is not unusual to hear some religious zealots speak with pious authority regarding the choices being made by individuals in society. Many persons to this day are convinced that choice alongside love are the two greatest gifts given to humankind. It is precisely why once colonised people like us here in Barbados, relish our freedoms to choose. Barbadians are highly unlikely to submit to any level of control being promulgated by religious leaders and other elites which suggest that the state must implement arbitrary and robust practices in a quest to curb deviance and forms of dislocation between law and order.

It becomes very disturbing therefore, when Reverend Dr. Lucille Baird can take herself as being serious in relation to offering solutions on ways to mitigate the crime situation in Barbados. The Barbados Advocate reports that in a demonstration of vitriolic unease against the social reality of a โ€˜block cultureโ€™ in Barbados, Baird made a declaration that is fundamentally flawed even in the context of Christian thinking. Baird proclaims that: โ€œWe have to wash these blocks. We canโ€™t be reactive; we have to [be] proactive. If two people are sitting together, break it up โ€ฆ if three people are together, break it up. Before it becomes a big colossal giant that we canโ€™t kill. It becomes a place of growing crime and criminal behaviour.โ€ย  I wonder what ever happened to love thy neighbour as thyself, and teach a child the way it should go.

In just over a month, Barbados would be celebrating its 50th anniversary of attaining Independence from Britain. It is therefore reprehensible that at this time, we are being served up a holier than thou meal wanting Barbadians subscribe to a diet of authoritarianism and the severe denial of constitutional rights. The citizen cherishes his or her freedoms inclusive of those legal safeguards allowing for association and to live peacefully without harassment from the state.

Now this writer is acutely aware that the state is a social construction and is intended to legitimately ameliorate the affairs of human kind. Given our democratic practices in Barbados, and the potency of our Constitution and body of laws, legitimacy is arguably best perceived as being the authentic measure of governmentโ€™s efficacy and life. This legitimacy must therefore rest on the consent of the governed. In the annals of political science, there is a view that the โ€˜State is not just a set of physical structures, institutions, laws, territory and the citizens who give their allegiance to it, but a mode of thought and being in which life and activity is controlled and channelled into centralised systems of authorityโ€™. If we can accept this claim, it reasons that no single group in contemporary Barbados ought to have monopoly claim to what happens in terms of governance.

We all abhor the prevalence of crime, and many right thinking Barbadians are extremely concerned about drugs and gun violence. Barbadians want to see the appropriate policies put in place, and generally, Barbadians have been calling for better economic circumstances to drive their individual and collective development both at the personal and national levels. We all want our children to grow into good people, but ideas of this โ€˜goodโ€™ vary considerably. For some Barbadians, good children are obedient, respectful and patriotic; and for others, good children are free-thinking, independent and egalitarian preferring to assemble and โ€˜limeโ€™ on the blocks.

Nevertheless, the persons that are 18 years and older, and registered to vote in Barbados are not all Christians. The electorate is essentially comprised of persons fitting different characteristics which would of necessity place them in majority or minority groupings. Even with such a natural segmentation, it is imperative that all persons must be fairly and justly treated in the scheme of things. Perhaps unwittingly, Baird appealed for the encroachment upon peopleโ€™s rights, and for the state to act ultra vires. One does not know for certain since opportunists and impressionists also have legitimate rights to share their opinions in public. However, they do not have the right to impose any measures or determine the values that members of the society must conform.

Maybe todayโ€™s Christian leaders have preference for preaching down from the pulpit rather than gathering at the street corners and the so-called blocks where sinners are said to be present. This observation was alluded to by Baird when she regretted that: โ€œSome are watering down the gospel for membership โ€ฆ Promiscuity and immorality are rampant. As a church we must repent for not speaking up against the ills of society. Weโ€™re keeping quiet when we should be speaking. The Church must know its role. The Church must pray earnestly because prayer works. Preach earnestly that Jesus is still Lord and saviour of Barbados and preserve the Christian and traditional values of the nation.โ€

It is a reasonable assumption that instead of calling for the banning of blocks, Baird would better serve her country by joining other civic leaders calling for the addressing of serious issues which are springing up and abounding in our school system. The school is a major and early institution of socialisation and far precedes the block and its culture. In fact, schools are both controlled environments and moral institutions, designed to promote social norms. The principals/teachers in the nationโ€™s schools are moral agents. In effect, principals and teachers on a daily basis must make decisions that favour one moral value over another. Moreover, schools in theory are dedicated to the well-being of children, and the result is that students become influenced by the teachersโ€™ conduct.

Thus, it is to that environment that Baird ought to place her energies. Baird can avoid the stern judgement call that lacks moral fibre, for instance, when she suggested that: โ€œWe endorse the bashment and wukup spirit and open the door to the other spirits. We have to close the door on bashment and wukup and say not with our country, not with our youth, and take back our country, our streets and our communities.โ€ Clearly, the religious figure fails to accept that the development of culture is dynamic and that norms change over time and under a host of conditions. In fact, it is argued that โ€œnorms matter in a constitutive, interest-shaping wayโ€ which are influenced by social, economic, and political realities confronting members of the given polity or society.

Indeed, it is acceptable that Rev. Baird recognises the interrelationships of economics and the sociology of social organisation and living, although she remains contradictorily dismissive: โ€œWe are importing most of our food and they [mostly young people] are on the blocks sitting down all day long? They can work! Plant potatoes, cassava, yam and eddoes. And not the other thing.โ€ Agriculture ought not to be projected as a panacea for eliminating the social ills happening in Barbadian society. A pertinent question is how far will Rev Baird go in leading the way to plant crops and till the fields? The fact is, rather than bringing enmity or chaos to the block, Rev Baird may be better positioned and challenged to go into schools and plant her seeds of right and hope for a better world. The block ought not to attract the top-down and prejudicially laced insistence to โ€˜do as I say but not as I doโ€™.

(Dr. George C. Brathwaite is a part-time lecturer in Political Science at the UWI-Cave Hill Campus, a researcher and political consultant, and up until recently, he was editor of Caribbean Times (Antigua). Email: brathwaitegc@gmail.com )

127 responses to “The George Brathwaite Column – Focus on Schools NOT Blocks”

1. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

The last place we need narrow minded Christians like Reverend Baird is in the education system. They will do great harm there trying to replicate their narrow colonial mythology in yet another generation of sheep.

2. The block culture is just the symptomssymptom of the problem.

3. @ Peter Lawrence Thompson

Since you do not see the need for the likes of Reverent Baird in our education system, let me ask you this question now that we are on the issue of religious morality: without God the Bible, the church, the temple and the mosque, what would keep you from stealing, murdering and raping? And don’t give me that crap about empathy for our fellow human being because man is inherently evil.

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The church is and always be a blighted institution. ..drawing in the most corrupt minded followers and keeping them for generations as a source of collection.

The largest and most wealthy corporation in the world is the church, with the unique distinction of being the most hypocritical and criminal.

5. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

It is being said that Baird tried to recruit the boys on the block….apparently they believed nothing she said and could not be roped in….she should have with kindness and human loyalty come up with a better alternative than challenging and threatening the blocks, if she was sincere and really wanted to see positive changes…

the still churches use the same 500 year old modus to rope in folowers and expect the same 500 year old responses and results that worked for them before….,,, in a now more enlighted and less dumb generation.

6. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

……the churches still use……

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

What they need to focus on is upgrading the curriculum. …more black history, African history in the schools….from primary school……..they will eventually pay a very heavy price for not doing so….very heavy penalty….as it stands, it’s only lip service.

8. Well Well

I distinctively recall as a student of St. Leonard’s Boys Secondary being taught West Indian, European and African history, but your call for more African and Black history at the primary school level -when kids are suppose to be concerntrating on reading, writing and arithmetic, seems rather implausible.

9. Well Well

Look how the after effects of our enslavement has screw up our entire worldview as people? We as a Black people of the western hemisphere, can’t seem do anything without interpreting what we are doing through the content of our enslavement. When are we going to move beyond this mindset? Listen! We may not have our true identity as a people, but at least we have the Christian faith, and Jesus to fill the void.

10. SPARE THE ROD AND FAIL THE CHILD

When I was growing up
    Although maybe I hadn’t enough love
    I think I grew up straight
    Studied and prayed to the one above
    And I turned out ok, mate

When I was growing up
    There was a real community spirit
    You could be thrashed by your elders
    If you swear or misbehave you get it
    And you respect all your teachers

And as l was grew up
    After hours I did not stray
    I had to be at home at a certain time
    And my parents had the say
    For my upbringing, prose and rhyme

As a student I had home-work
    And it was done every night
    Not for the teacher or class
    But because it was alright
    And all my exams I did pass

At home if I did wrong
    I was punished, not brutally
    All because of the cause
    But I knew my place respectfully
    I had to obey all the laws

At school it was the same
    The rod or cane was always there
    To keep you in line for what you did
    The rod was not spared but feared
    And everything worked out splendid

Today kids are spared of the rod
    There are so many regulations and rules
    And what we have, drugs, condoms, guns
    Violence and sex amidst all schedules
    An atmosphere I donโ€™t want for my sons

I became a better citizen
    l respect other people’s property
    I know the integral pride of worth
    Developed morals, ethics and decency
    For hard work, and I donโ€™t feel hurt.

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“Dompey. October 11, 2016 at 10:36 AM #
    Well Well

I distinctively recall as a student of St. Leonardโ€™s Boys Secondary being taught West Indian, European and African history, but your call for more African and Black history at the primary school level -when kids are suppose to be concerntrating on reading, writing and arithmetic, seems rather implausible.”

And look how well that has turned out….Baird can gie ya the amount of boys and girls on the block, with their heads full of reading, writing and arithmetic. …and no outlet…no futher knowledge…something like you Dompey.

I am talking about teaching the true history of Africa and black people…not HIS STORY as has been taught in the schools for 50 years.

Dompey. October 11, 2016 at 10:50 AM #
    Well Well

“Look how the after effects of our enslavement has screw up our entire worldview as people? We as a Black people of the western hemisphere, canโ€™t seem do anything without interpreting what we are doing through the content of our enslavement.”

You are the screwed up one Dompey….speak for thyself.

How do you think Europeans in US, UK, Canada…EUROPE…. interpret and determine their present and future, it’s based on their enslavement in the past…google it and do not ask me any stupid questions you weak, foolish man.

Same with the jews…they use the Holocaust as their measuring stick.

12. David October 11, 2016 at 7:50 AM #

The Block like the rumshop and church are all part of the culture of Bim and should not be sneered at.

The block culture as you call it changes from generation to generation,I recall in my era street light dominoe sessions with discussions on school/village/island/regional/world happenings and the weekend skirt activities.

The block is a thermometer for ones community and as such one can judge a country by the level of activities to be found by its youth

……..prior to independence a number of community institutions were put in place to keep our youth occupied such church youth,police boys&girls clubs,4-H clubs,scouts,sports,etc

…….all of these 50 years hence have fallen by the wayside with its present day operators saying the young are not interested.

….the youth cannot be blamed if one does not remain current with the aspirations of our young in a changing world and formulate activities to suit.

……lastly governments should always facilitate these institutions with new ideas.

13. Well Well

Apparently, I have gotten on your last nerve because I have never seen you resort to personal attacks because of a an apposing view. And to question my masculine core when you do not even know me from Bush Tea, doesn’t reflect a person who is in complete emotional control Well Well.

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Dompey….I have very little nerves, dont take it personally, it’s more lack of patience, so please google the information on white slavery and get up to date with your African history…

……..call me emotionally unbalanced if ya like, if it makes you feel better….I got nice, smooth, but thick skin.

15. Well Well

I understand your hatred/dislike for some white folk because I live here in the States and you’re in Canada, but I am not unhearing of how your opinion is be dismissed, and you’re made to feel less than human. But I have learned to separate my hatred all white folk because of the ignorance of a few.

16. @Vincent

Indeed.

It is unfortunate that Rev Baird given her influence in the community that includes the ‘block’ would present such a myopic view.

17. Well Well

There you go again attempting to insult my intelligence regarding white indenture which I have studied extensively, East Asian and Chinese indenture which I have studied extensively, West Indies, African, African American, Afro-Brazilian, and slavery throughout South America. I have read Dr. Eric Williams two books: From Columbus to Castro,Capitalism and Slavery; Nelson Mandela book long walk to slavery; The black revolts which chronicles all the revolts in the United States;The BlackfFighting Men which dealts with the black men in America who fought in the WarIof Independence to the Vietnam War;The Great Migration which talks about the migration of African-Americans from World War I to 1970 to the north; Claudette Williams book called Charcoal and Cinnamon which talks about slavery in Spanish America and much more Well Well.

18. Well Well

Sorry Nelson Mandela’s book Long Walk to Freedom.

19. Chuckle…….now this one is interesting……WW&C vs Dompey……in one corner hater of all things looking white and in the other corner the objector…….wuhloss

20. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Dompey said “man is inherently evil.”

Speak for yourself, the though of being evil has never attracted me. On the contrary, all the joy that I have found in life has been through helping others. It’s not altruism, it’s just more fun.

21. David October 11, 2016 at 12:08 PM #

The church as an istitution has long losts way and hence its ability to provide leadership to our youth.

When we compare the purported teachings of the one they follow I cannot see any similarity.

22. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Dompey…there you go with the I did this and I did that again….

delve into those cultures who have been enslaved…some still are and compare their current success rate in business etc…, to those of Barbados. ..I say Bim so as not to complicate matters……

and tell me why you think the success rate on the island is less than in other cultures…..that also suffered enslavement….I notice you cannot even type the word….the achievement rates are so much lower..

23. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“in one corner hater of all things looking white and in the other corner the objectorโ€ฆโ€ฆ.wuhloss”

Vincent…I am so glad that you finally accept that haters of all things good, living and dead….looks white…lol

That must be a relief.

And dont tell me anything about comprehension, you walked into that….I am just playing it cause it looks good on you.

“But I have learned to separate my hatred all white folk because of the ignorance of a few.”

Dompey…speak for thyself….I have never written a blog saying I hate white people, are you crazy, I beat up on them equally as I do blacks….how come no one ever tells me I hate blacks….

…….it’s just that ya small frightened mind cannot deal with the realities of this big bad world….and if whites were still seeing a profit from slavery and did not have so much pressure applied to them 200 years ago, you would still be in shackles…..I have no such problem, my mind is free..

25. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Dompey….are you crazy….you understand my dislike for whites….if my husband saw your post he would fall down laughing….lok

26. Peterlawrencethompson

Help others gives you a sense of empowerment and it makes you feel good about yourself as a human being right? But good acts doesn’t make a good man, but a good man does good acts. One’ moral nature is more radical than one’s more actions Peter, so that is why it is important to question one’s motives rather than their actions.

27. Well Well

So what if your husband is white? That doesn’t change the equation in any meaningful way because some of the big racist both black and white are those folks who claim that their have black friends and vice a versa. And I noticed that a lot white guys who are involve with black women some manage to convince that they’re not like the rest of black folk.

28. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Whatever Domoey…whatever makes you feel good today and does not confuse you too much.

29. Well Well

I still have the utmost respect for you, but I would caution you to be circumspect with respect to the manner in which you characterize a man’s masculine core based on a verbal exchange. A man’s ego is all he has and to attempt in anyway to deflate it can lead to the fight or flight syndrome.

30. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Dompey….who cares, if you want to act like a sissy and cry at everything, that’s your problem.

I got 2 sons and 4 grandsons, they know better than to come around me crying for crap, they would get smacked…they know that they have to manup….my son’s sisters, my daughters, were brutal to them, you must be an only child.

31. Wuhloss…..Massacree here on BU…..WW&C sucker punching an fouling de boy…..he had a good first left…..buh dah was it.

32. @ Dompey. October 11, 2016 at 1:04 PM

What the hell!!
    That is profound Domps… Well said.

Shiite fella, Bushie don;t know where you went since Naked Departure put those lashes in your tail… but it WUKKING yuh…. you starting to make some sense ‘in-between’ (another word for Jeff to write home about ๐Ÿ™‚ )

Peter may not even know that he likes to ‘help’ others because it feeds his superiority complex…. it is a HC thing…

33. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@ Dompey & Bush Tea

You can psychoanalyse me if you like. The point is that good actions and good outcomes do not depend on one mythology or another.

34. Well Well

Jesus wept and he was without sin far less more a mere mortal like me. So continue to teach your sons and grandchildren that there is weakness in express the emotion of tears Well Well.

35. Well Well

I have seen a battle hardened soldier cried in the theater of operation, and in my estimation there is no stronger man.

36. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Peter…ya cannot display weakness in this brutal world of beasts, savages and snakes…ya can however have your private moments….

…..cultures are known to feed on the weaknesses of other cultures…..feeding on weaknesses of other people to enrich yourself or for whatever gain is the easiest thing in the world to achieve…, as history keeps teaching us when we keep making the same mistakes and expect different results.

Weaknesses are easy to exploit as we are seeing in Barbados, the government has been literally paying out taxpayer’s money for the government’s weaknesses for over 30 years…..

……knowing how they hate change on the island….I doubt they will ever learn…had no intentions of allowing my offspring to be part of the weak brigade.

37. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Oh please…who is talking about crying, I am talking7ng about being weak…I love to see men cry, it shows character….so will you cry for me today Dompey…lol

38. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Dompey…I was not talking in the literal sense when I said cry…ok, change cry to whine.

39. There was a time in Barbados when police had the authority to disperse of people who were loitering
    Maybe it is time those laws are revisted in the interst of public safety

40. Well Well
    I prefer to whine rather suppress my emotions and then explore and hurt someone, but others prefer to say little and walk with a big stick, but that isn’t me I am afraid to say.

41. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Dompey…it takes all kinds to make up the world.

Here is what hapoens to weak people with weak leaders.

CThe attitude of these big multinational oil companies was, โ€œwe shall keep the Haitian deposits and other such layers of deposits in reserve for the 21st century when the Middle Eastern jackpot are all depleted.โ€

In fact, it was apparently known as far back as 1908 that Haiti has substantial reserves of oil. But those poor people have been kept in abject poverty all this time when they could have been benefiting from all of this oil.
    Haitiโ€™s massive gold deposit and other natural resources

Not only we have oil, Haiti also possesses a great deal of gold as well.

A United Nations study in the 70s indicated Haiti could be littered with gold and copper deposits. However, planned political violence and recurring coup dโ€™รฉtat have kept the oil in Haiti from being exploited and the gold from being mined.

So how much gold does Haiti have? Well, the former president of Dominican Petroleum Refinery recently said that Haiti has vast untapped reserves of gold and iridium (a little known and rare mineral that is vital for the construction of spacecraft) and that these resources should be used to pay off the Haitian foreign debts. I donโ€™t think he is alone in this assessment.
    Scientific evidence of Haitiโ€™s Gold deposit

Back in 2007, a geologist with 27 years of experience hunting for gold was asked what he thought the chances of discovering huge amounts of gold in Haiti were.

Here is how he respondedโ€ฆ. โ€œI donโ€™t think thereโ€™s a question of whether thereโ€™s a good deposit here. Itโ€™s a question of whether we can develop it here in Haiti.โ€

In fact, analysts are predicting โ€œa stampede into Haitiโ€ if the existence of large gold deposits there can be confirmed.

So the so-called โ€œpoorest nation in the western hemisphereโ€ turns out to be just brimming with oil and gold. Do you think that those resources will be used to rebuild Haiti and to give Haitian a truly bright future?

Donโ€™t count on it because Haitiโ€™s natural resources are considered โ€œstrategic reservesโ€ of the United States.

You see, for decades Haiti has been viewed by many as being essentially โ€œownedโ€ by the United States. The U.S. government has done little to actually help the nation of Haiti get on the right path, but they maintain a huge presence there. In fact, the U.S. fifth largest embassy is in Haiti.”

42. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

See what happens to weak people with weak leaders Dompey….how many times have you or the likes of the ACs turned up ya noses at the Haitian people….soon ya will hear about the agreements between the US, France, Canada, UK….to divvy up all that wealth that does not belong to any of them….leaving the people in their perpetual poverty, because of weak leaders.

43. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

More blame game. Simplistic solutions to a complex but not complicated issue. Are all blocks the home of crime and violence and drug trade? Are blocks no longer places of socialization and extra curricular education?
    Where should working class young persons meet? We are conspiring to drive them off the open beaches. We have built houses with small sitting rooms instead of large drawing rooms which we had in the chattel houses of my youth.
    I have said in this blog more than once and I will repeat: We need to ask the youth what they think ,and how they feel. We are too quick to diagnose and too quick to prescribe without understanding the vision of the youth. My sense is that they are trying to cope with this rapidly changing world and our prescriptions based on past history are totally irrelevant.

44. Bernard Codrington. October 11, 2016 at 4:50 PM #

On point.

45. Well Well

What in your estimation is a weak leader within the Caribbean political context? And political dissension does not equates to strong leadership in my judgment. Strong leadership is predicated upon the military might, natural resources, the wealth a leader has at his disposal, and the influence he wheels amongst his peers.Now quite possibly an united Caribbean could quite possibly exert minimum influence on the international scene, but how can an area no more than 2,000 square miles- with a combined population of some 40 million people-which is incapable of defending itself against an external foe exercise any real influence on the international scene Well Well?

46. Agree with you Bernard. Have we had responses from minister of youth, church, youth groups to Baird?

47. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@ PLT,

Your doing good has to have a frame of reference.It is based on some belief system. Ideas do not spring out of nothingness. We all have myths some more explicit than others. What is an Atheist ? Someone who sets up a parody of the God of the theist and knocks it down. What is an Agnostic? Someone who is opposed to something which the other person claims he knows. In other words, you can only have an antithesis if you have a thesis.

48. The blocks or streets or avenues or lanes where children hang out in the yesteryears were not inundated with drugs and marijuana and crime
    What is relevant is public safety , Some of the blocks are no longer a place for “socialization” but where illegality is done in broad daylight , it would be nice if blocks were a reflection and a continuation of peace and safety like the yesteryears but they are not ..no sense in burying heads in the sand and acting as if the blocks of today are not in dire need of change

49. Bernard Corington

The pastor ought, must and should cease from preaching the antiquated narrative of believe, and arrive at the narative of knowing.We no long believe that God exist because there is enough evidence to substantiate His existence.

50. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@! David 5.07 PM
    The Anglican Church’s answer is to rehash some semi- military youth organizations that we had in th1960’s and 1970’s. The ministry for youth also has a semi-military program somewhat like the school cadets/or American boot camp.
    After all this free secondary and tertiary education I would have thought the route would be changing / modifying behaviours and values through the electronic media, theater,music and cinema..