Submitted by Heather Cole

Two thousand years ago the greatest revolutionary that ever lived walked on the earth. His name was Jesus Christ. He lived in a religious community of Jews where traditions of the law were manifest in every aspect of everyday life. At the start of his revolution, the people of Palestine must have thought he was mad because he did not preach the laws of the Moses. To the dismay of the Pharisees and Sadducees, he began to preach a strange doctrine that โ€˜the Kingdom of God was at handโ€™ and that he was โ€˜the way, the truth and the life.โ€™

It was after his first miracle of turning water into wine that multitudes of people began to follow him. Jesus, his mother Mary and some of his disciples attended a wedding in Cana of Galilee. The most embarrassing situation occurred as there was not enough wine for everyone. One can imagine the embarrassment of the bride, the groom, their parents and the host of the wedding as well as imagine that whenever people saw the newly-weds together in the future, that this would be the first thing that would come to mind. Mary intervened on behalf of the wedding host and told Jesus about the problem. Jesus then miraculously changed six barrels of water into wine.

It was to prevent embarrassment that Jesus changed water into wine. Throughout his ministry not only did he do good deeds; he provided the needs of the people. He was just the start of the revolution and it took 3 years for his physical part in the revolution to be accomplished. The revolution did not die when he was crucified. Like a phoenix from the ashes of his death, it arose with his resurrection and grew and 2000 years later, the church that was built on the foundation of the Christ is still growing and providing the needs of the people.

What does this have to do with Barbados? It appears that the revolution that was started by Christ has come to a grinding halt in Barbados. The church has been silent throughout the last 8 years of social, economic and political disaster in Barbados. Isnโ€™t it the role of the church to carry on Christโ€™s the revolution where he responded to the needs of the people? One wonders if the church still considers itself part of Christโ€™s revolution or if it is solely concerned with some of the traditions of men.

The most embarrassing situation to have occurred in Barbados in the 21st Century is on display in the parish of St. Joseph where people cannot get a drop of water from their taps. There was no hurricane, no tornado, no eruption of a volcano or a tidal wave to herald this onslaught. Yet for months the people of St. Joseph cannot get water to bathe, to brush their teeth, to cook, to wash their clothes; things that people in the other parishes are taking for granted. It is the height of human misery and the church has been silent. It has not said a word or brought water to quench thirst so one can hardly expect to see water being turned to wine.

We all know how valuable water is for life and the quality of life. Perhaps the church in Barbados does not understand what Jesus meant when he told the woman who he met at the well in Samaria that he was the โ€˜water of life.โ€™

“Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again, but whoever drinks the water I give him will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.” – John 4:13-14 (NIV translation). How can the Church profess to have the water of life yet remain silent when physical water is lacking to fulfil the basic needs in the lives of the people?

The people in St Joseph are not in need of wine, only water. The length and breadth of Barbados including the Church should be embarrassed that this situation is occurring in 2016 and press the government not for a temporary solution but a solution that is sustainable. 2000 years ago in Palestine, Jesus gave his life for a cause of supplying the physical and spiritual needs of mankind. To the church in Barbados, what will it take for you to take up this cross which now has a cause of providing water for the people of St Joseph? One is not asking the Church to give up the lives of any of its members but only to help provide water and raise its voice to preserve life and the quality of life to all residents of St. Joseph.

145 responses to “Turning Water into Wine – The Anti – Embarrassment Miracle”

1. The northern parishes have always been neglected by the political parties in Barbados.
    When I was a teenager and that was a long time ago, the northern parishes never had proper roads, water or electricity. Even today there is not a bank in St. John, St. Andrew, St. Lucy or St. Joseph. The bottom line is that these parishes are not taken seriously by both of the political parties nor the private sector. It hurts me to see that these folks have to go through this kind of thing day after day. How do the officials at the Barbados Water Authority sleep at night. I would hope that they have stopped sending water bills. This situation is disgusting to say the least.

2. I’M AH ST JOSEPH MAN, LOOK THESE LYING BASTARDS I BELIEVE IS HOLD BACK THE WATER FROM US, BUT AH LIAR SHOULD GOT AH GOOD MEMORY. U GOT WATER WASHING WAY ST PHILLIP WHICH SHOULD BE HEADING TO BOWMANSTON PUMPING STATION, TRANSFER THAT WATER TO GOLDEN RIDGE ON TO CASTLE GRANT TO THE HOUSE HOLDERS…BUT U KNOW WHAT, THEY DON’T CARE ABOUT THE SCOTLAND DISTRICTS. @ ANNE WE ARE AH PEOPLE THAT WILL STAND FIRM, THROUGH FAITH IN JESUS CHRIST, LET THEM ALONE, THE BLIND THAT LEAD THE BLIND WILL FALL. OK BARBADOS WANNA SAY IN AH DROUGHT, I NOT HEAR DE TOURIST SHIPS CRYING OUT, I NOR THE UPSCALE DEVELOPMENTS, NOR THE HOTELS CRYING OUT, DESPITE AH LOT OF THEM OWE GOV’MENT, NOR THE STINKING GOV’MENT OF THE DAY CRYING, SO IT SEEMS TO ME DE DROUGHT IS ONLY IN 3 PARISHES…..THE CLOCK IS TICKING AWAY ‘MENTMY RETARDED GOV

3. Hey! Water Authority people…yes you…from the top to the bottom of the scale – all yuh real beat up yes? So water spewing all over the ground right next to what was Trimart dere in Rendezvous, Christ Church for free, perhaps you might let those in St. Joseph know so dem could tekk a bus and get a likkle bath eeh?

On de other criminal han’ all ya still insisting dah I gots 800+ dollars for all ya, when truth be known I gone way pun a holiday to ress me soul from all dis hey confusion dis government causing, only to find dat rats musse’ having a water festival in my yard all by dem selves after two months of me still paying $50 from over and away against a water bill dat was normally bout $30 – caw no one else been inside dey except de lanlady to prove to de real rats sitting in dah multi-million dollar office off de highway (bet all ya got nuff water running wild in dey!) dat dere was not a leak in sight, not inside nor outside – water turn off on de inside anyhow caw I did do dat myself befo I even leff de island.

But all you extremely intelligent filled with common sense peoples still on de program dat I does have a leak…now it ent even come into yu brain dat leak doan jess stop so, so effing I away like I is for one year, how come de bill ent saying 10 months of $800+ meaning my bill all now so would be $8,000+ – it looking to me like dem rats musse turn off de pipes once de water festival done and gone bout dem business, hear?

Get your bloody act together. Bunch of disgraceful people up dey in dat concrete building dat we de people build in de fuss place, an yes dat include de people from St. Joseph too.

Included in dis plea is the whole of dis disgraceful government who ent care one iota bout dem voters, not one. From de Prime down. Why should dem care, all o dem prancing bout with Independence celebrations, even London got dem celebrating wid de Queen and big dinners at Savoy Hotel – cyan onderstan why all ya choose such a ‘cheap’ place in de fuss place, surely de Queen would want all ya dining and wining at Buckingham, after all during de war, was it not Barbados dat send dem English Prime de message dat dem should go forward in battle caw Barbados was behind dem? A fack dah saved de world, you en know. Looka hey, leh me lied down befo my heart stop wid laughter, hear? If it was not so sad, so very sad. All of it.

4. BTW, Jesus, contrary to popular misunderstanding, at the wedding feast at Cana, did not turn water into Alcoholic wine, but, rather into pure sweet unfermented grape juice, which is termed ‘gleukos’ Gk.

Wine is a generic term, like groceries, hardware, etc; there is fermented wine, and unfermented wine, in the Bible we find both kinds referenced, only a detailed exegetical word study, will bring out the truth re which one by context is meant.

5. @Zoe were you there? I doubt it was non alcoholic..smile…

6. Steupsss @ Zoe
    You was there…?
    It was probably a wicked alcoholic brew…
    Jesus was a bushman who limed with fishermen and hoes – like the woman at the well….
    Think he was one of wunna sappy, girlie, softie jokers…?

Wunna church people would force any bushman to hit two ‘grogs’….

7. Personally I think Jesus best come back caw dem people in waterless parishes could probably do with a lot of alcoholic wine right now – the problem is He will have to lug water from one side of the country over to de nexx – buh wait no – Jesus was supposed to get all things beautiful done right? so leh He just turn seawater into water, and once de people dem bathe and clean dem teeth, even wash off dem grubby clothes, turn dat water into wine for de celebration of life with this precious commodity once again. In fack, make it easier on Barbados Jesus, come down hey and save you Bajan people dat wukkin at BWA and de Minista in charge too caw dem really know not what dem do and de Lord Himself, you Fadda, cyan seem to deal wid dem too good up to now yuh and eff de people dem geh vex enuff even He will not be able to contain de ruckous. So now de question is, when can we expeck your visit Sah?

8. re At the start of his revolution, the people of Palestine must have thought he was mad because he did not preach the laws of the Moses.

HE NOT ONLY PREACHED THEM HE LIVED AND FULFILLED THEM
    HE DID NOT BREAK ONE SINGLE LAW
    The scriptures says that he DID NO SIN nor was guile found in hi mouth.
    We are told in Hebrew that he was tempted in every point as we are but yet without sin

To the dismay of the Pharisees and Sadducees, he began to preach a strange doctrine that โ€˜the Kingdom of God was at handโ€™ and that he was โ€˜the way, the truth and the life.โ€™

tHIS DOCTRINE IS STRANGE TO YOU BUT IT WAS NOT TO THEM
    THEY WERE LOOKING FOR A KING
    โ€˜the Kingdom of God was at handโ€™ BECAUSE HE WAS THE KING
    THEY REJECTED THE KING AND HAVE SUFFERED MUCH FOR DOING SO

AND HE IS INDEED โ€˜the way, the truth and the life.โ€™ AND NO MAN CAN COME TO THE FATHER EXCEPT BY HIM

YOU NEED TO READ AND UNDERSTAND THE WORD AND THE PURPOSE OF THE CHURCH

NO WHERE IN THE NT DOES IT SAY THAT THE CHURCH IS TO PROVIDE PHYSICAL WATER

IT WILL BE MOST AMUSING TO READ THE BOVINE EXCREMENT THAT WILL NOW FLOW ON THIS THREAD.

IF YOU KNEW THE WORD YOU WOULD KNOW THAT WE ARE LIVING IN THE PERIOD OF THE PREDOMINANTLY LAODICEAN OR APOSTATE CHURCH. THE CONTEMPORARY CHURCH IS PERFORMING JUST AS IT WAS PREDICTED TO DO IN REVELATION 2 AND 3

GO READ IT. READ ALSO 2 THESALONIANS 2

RE Perhaps the church in Barbados does not understand what Jesus meant when he told the woman who he met at the well in Samaria that he was the โ€˜water of life.โ€™

โ€œEveryone who drinks this water will be thirsty again, but whoever drinks the water I give him will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.โ€ โ€“ John 4:13-14 (NIV translation). How can the Church profess to have the water of life yet remain silent when physical water is lacking to fulfil the basic needs in the lives of the people?

AGAIN YOU HAVE NOT A CLUE ABOUT WHAT YOU ARE SPEAKING
    JESUS IS NOT SPEAKING OF PHYSICAL WATER HERE AT ALL

IF YOU WANT TO SAY THAT YOU THINK THAT CHURCH PEOPLE SHOULD DONATE WATER SAY SO BUT LEAVE OUT ALL YOUR PREAMBLE ABOUT A BIBLICAL TOPIC OF WHICH YOUR KNOWLEDGE IS AT BEST SCRATCHY

9. Heather September 27, 2016 at 11:56 AM #
    @Zoe were you there? I doubt it was non alcoholic..smileโ€ฆ

Bush Tea September 27, 2016 at 12:04 PM #
    Steupsss @ Zoe
    You was thereโ€ฆ?
    It was probably a wicked alcoholic brewโ€ฆ

THREE WORDS ARE USED FOR WINE IN THE NT

gleukos as Zoe pointed out was just strained mash grape juice.

onios was fermented wine

tes ampelau is the term translated fruit of the vine

look it up in Strong’s

10. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Zoe September 27, 2016 at 10:53 AM
    โ€œBTW, Jesus, contrary to popular misunderstanding, at the wedding feast at Cana, did not turn water into Alcoholic wine, but, rather into pure sweet unfermented grape juice, which is termed โ€˜gleukosโ€™ Gk.
    Wine is a generic term, like groceries, hardware, etc; there is fermented wine, and unfermented wine, in the Bible we find both kinds referenced, only a detailed exegetical word study, will bring out the truth re which one by context is meant.โ€

Zoe, glad to see you back, Jack! I guess you know a lot about miracles, especially the one about Lazarus.

Since you claim wine a generic term as used in your Bible you could also claim that the word โ€˜Herbโ€™ is also a generic term that could include mary jane for her medicinal and culinary value. Are you against the use of this herb other than smoking it like a cigarette?

I am certain you are quite versed with the following from your book of Truth & Lies unless you think mary jane is the product of the Devil just like the tree of good and evil in the centre of the god-made garden called the human body.

โ€œThen God said, โ€œLet the land produce vegetation: seed-bearing plants and trees on the land that bear fruit with seed in it, according to their various kinds.โ€ And it was so.โ€
    โ€œThen God said, โ€œI give you every seed-bearing plant on the face of the whole earth and every tree that has fruit with seed in it. They will be yours for foodโ€

โ€œOut of the ground the LORD God caused to grow every tree that is pleasing to the sight and good for food; the tree of life also in the midst of the garden, and the tree of the knowledge of good and evil.โ€

11. Also Heather since you are quoting scripture i am reminded of the little boy who shared his five barley loaves and two small fishes which resulted in feeding thousands. The story captures the moral susaion of sharing if when applied and demonstrated by those who have water ….everyhousehold lacking of water in St. Joseph would have received more than enough water with sufficient left over

12. @ Georgie Porgie whether I have a clue about the Bible or not is not of consequence. The fact of the matter is that the Church im Barbados is noticeably silent with regards to this water problem and all the other problems facing the nation.

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac September 27, 2016 at 3:05 PM

What about Fumble the Froon asking his bosom pal Leroy Greenverbs to take some of his laundered millions sitting in the C B and โ€˜investโ€™ it in some tanks for the distribution of water to those same folk from which is real son of the rural soil.

At least this act of compassion should save his sorry ass from jail when Froon and his goons are removed.

14. RE Heather September 27, 2016 at 3:10 PM #
    @ Georgie Porgie whether I have a clue about the Bible or not is not of consequence.

IT IS………………SPEAK ABOUT WHAT YOU KNOW IS WHAT I AM SAYING

RE The fact of the matter is that the Church iN Barbados is noticeably silent with regards to this water problem and all the other problems facing the nation.

THE CHURCH IN BARBADOS IS BEHAVING LIKE THE CHURCH IN THE APOSTATE LAODICEAN AGE WAS PREDICTED TO BEHAVE

I AM NOT SURPRISED

THE CONTEMPORARY APOSTATE CHURCH IS NOT PREACHING THE GOSPEL EITHER—WHICH IS THEIR MAJOR FUNCTION

15. Wow! talk about a Preamble to a Ramble just to solve a SIMPLE water problem.

@Zoeeeee. I read of heart problem, but you stay strong my dear and this song is for your heart. Take good care of it darling don’t put any stress on that heart.

https://youtu.be/bwm1HpkaIDQ

16. millertheanunnaki September 27, 2016 at 3:12 PM #

What about Fumble the Froon asking his bosom pal Leroy Greenverbs to take some of his laundered millions sitting in the C B and โ€˜investโ€™ it in some tanks…..
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………
    Perhaps If we were in Central or South America.

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Heather September 27, 2016 at 3:10 PM #
    โ€œ Georgie Porgie whether I have a clue about the Bible or not is not of consequence. The fact of the matter is that the Church im Barbados is noticeably silent with regards to this water problem and all the other problems facing the nation.โ€

The Church has always been in cahoots with the oppressors of the people. Just check its position taken during the period of slavery and colonialism as an instrument of suppression and control of the minds of the masses.

The current administration is behaving just like the oppressors of old and the Church is their handmaiden.

You can bet that if the BLP were in power the Church headed by the likes of Father Massiah the self-appointed Massa of Saint Joseph and Durant the obeah man who is still trying to raise David Thompson from the dead would be in its element of criticism and hypocrisy just as it is soon be launching a religious war of attack on MAMโ€™s suitability to be PM because of her โ€˜rumouredโ€™ God-given sexual proclivity.

But let it be known to all the closet bullers, wickers bi- and tri-sexuals in both the Church and the DLP: Those who are without sin, cast the first stone at Fumble the professional bachelor of male convenience.

18. Christians do not have to worry about the shortage of water here on earth. As Jim Reeves lamented , “This world is not my own,I am just passing through.”
    At the stand pipe on the other side, there will flow, milk and honey.

19. The proper term is Jesus THE Christ…..not Jesus Christ.Similarly it’s THE Reverend John Smith and not Reverend Smith.

20. 70% or more of sugar cane is water!!

If we could efficiently extract water from cane we might just get around the water issue!!

Turn cane juice into water!!

21. Colonel Buggy September 27, 2016 at 3:58 PM #

Christians do not have to worry about the shortage of water here on earth. As Jim Reeves lamented , โ€œThis world is not my own,I am just passing through.โ€
    At the stand pipe on the other side, there will flow, milk and honey

You understand the values passed down from generations past!!

If the good folks in St. Joseph ever get back en masse to the core values left them by their ancestors this water issue will seem trivial.

All they need to do is to walk about and pay attention!!

Their ancestors never had piped water before the early 1900’s and they survived quite well without it for perhaps 300 years.

They were stronger, more single minded and could get steam from the water already there to make industry work.

They lived in peace and harmony with one another as did most Bajans.

Help one another!!

22. GP so what did Jesus say was the second Greatest Commandment.There is absolutely no excuse for the church not getting fully involved in helping to create a good samartian enviroment for the people of St. Joseph. I wonder what would Jesus have done. But the answer all lies in his teachings of the Fruit of the Spirit maybe GP can do a little bible research to refresh his memory

23. GP so what did Jesus say was the second Greatest Commandment.
    HE SAID THAT GP DOES NOT TEACH SUNDAY SCHOOL CLASSES TO LILLKLE CHILDREN

IF YOU WERE NOT SUCH AN ILLITERATE YOU WOULD READ AND TRY TO UNDERSTAND WHAT I HAVE WRITTEN

COMING ON BU IS SOMETIMES LIKE PULLING TEETH

24. SO THEN BECOME A DENTIST
    And no i did not read your comments because they are the usual obnoxious ignoranmus responses too much for my little brain to absorb smart ass.

25. too much for my little brain to absorb ……..EXACTLY. AT LEAST YOU ARE HONEST. YOU DO HAVE A VERY LITTLE BRAIN AND YOU ARE BETZPAENIC

HOW CAN YOU RESPOND TO SOMETHING YOU HAVE NOT READ?

26. Piss off negro and go learn some manners you pathetic despicable excuse for a christain.btw do not come here trying to trade insults with me cause i got enough to kick your ole backside up and down broad street.now go take yuh med it is way pass nursing time hours yuh ole boar.

27. The fruits of the spirit none of which resides in you which are Patience .love.compassion..understanding Peace and longsuffering.everytime you come on BU it as if someone gave you a bunch of sour lemons to eat. You seem to have a very large chip on your shoulder yet you want people to belive you are a christain negro then practice Christianity the same way your lord and saviour demonstrated but for God sake check yuhself first before lashing out at me with your evilness because this is when i will kick you a.ss any and ever where with a good tongue lashing . You are one evil doer and an impostor of the christain faith.ole man Fuh real you really need Jesus

28. I REPEAT

oo much for my little brain to absorb โ€ฆโ€ฆ..EXACTLY. AT LEAST YOU ARE HONEST. YOU DO HAVE A VERY LITTLE BRAIN AND YOU ARE BETZPAENIC

HOW CAN YOU RESPOND TO SOMETHING YOU HAVE NOT READ?

29. i told you that all of your responses are one of the same belittles offensive and obnoxious so why go through the trouble of reading more of them Btw in more ways than one you reminds me of your new best friend Donald Trump maybe he is your example of a saviour

30. John September 27, 2016 at 6:39 PM #
    70% or more of sugar cane is water!!
    ………………………………………………………………
    Back to square one. The same maguffy who is in charge of water, is the same B – , who is in charge of the few sugar canes we still have around. And quite a few of his colleagues,would not agree with you. Bowmanston Special is not as important to them, as good Old Brigand or Mount Gay Special.

31. POOR BRAINLESS AC WHO ADMITS THAT SHE HAS A LIKKLE BRAIN

YOU NEED TO TRY TO LEARN

IF YOU DONT UNDERSTAND ASK QUESTIONS

32. Water is a very fickle commodity to deal with, and if not handled properly could do untold damage.
    With the best of intentions, it maybe ok to donate sealed bottled water. Donating self filled gallon bottles,or other containers of water, is questionable.

33. When I saw this article yesterday I started to write and did two paragraphs and deleted them.

It was my reasoning that while de ole man had previously promised that he would not interfere with Ms. Cole anything that I would have said would be construed as being confrontational and therefore I deleted it

I was going to post this statement which was that this topic DID NOT MAKE SENSE

SYLLOGISTICALLY, IT DOES NOT PROGRESS REASONABLY since it “was not to prevent embarrassment that Jesus the Christ turned the water into wine” it was part of the manifestation of the Power of GOD made manifest that the water was turned and ensuingly, though not primarily, the people being married benefited from the outcome.

Rum and beverages does run out at things particularly weddings.

But this was no Embarrasment Miracle and the silly title would then suggest some inane name for raising Lazarus from the Dead like the Two Sons Funeral Home Embarrasment Miracle of the CLICO LIFE INSURANCE POLICY EMBARRASSMENT MIRACLE.

This is silly reasoning and we who profess to serve Christ need to state categorically that it is puerile reasoning to tie the two thusly.

What is the point being proposed?

That the Church is noticeably absent from the fray? whether we speak of physical succour or spiritual substance and sustenance?

That is agreed. Senators Durant and Atherley? (Not too sure if the latter is a senator and the Caribbean Elections site been down today) these men of the cloth and many others are always absent from the fore in any display that would show that the Church is doing what it is tasked to do

But this hibby jibby construct about an embarrassment miracle is inane.

This would best be described as a “yanking people’s chains” exercise.

Targets being Zoe, Dr GP, Bush Tea, my comrade the Sage Annunaki who does not believe in Jesus The Christ and My Christ, Hopi and John.

Gabriel came because he is an avid pursuer of higher knowledge.

The Colonel came because of the water? Content of the article

AC of legion represented here ONLY BECAUSE IT IS AN EMBARRASSMENT FOR THE DLP, ERGO THE USE OF THE WORD IN THE TITLE.

She came because it imputed blame to her political party but, too late became entrapped having that this was a convening of an impromptu meeting of the “Arch Diocese” of matters spiritual and erroneously thought that she could hang with the etimology that emerged.

Unfortunately for her the Dr. Who does not suffer fools gladly, and who loves My Lord, ammmmmm, I must use my words respectfully since My Lord is present in my rambling this morning, the Dr. performed his usual surgery and elicited the expected response from Legion.

Wunna see why de ole man does mek my statements and ting?

Why commingle the profound miracle of Jesus the Christ via this purposed play on this word?

I tries real hard but de ole man does fail all de time to keep de peace so to speak…

34. At the wedding at Cana, the material was ‘water’ the same element which the clouds pour down, which the vine draws up from the earth by its roots, and in its passage to the clusters changes into JUICE. the ‘operater’ was Jesus Christ, the same One who in the beginning, FIXED that law by which the vine takes up water and converts it into PURE, UNFERMENTED juice.

Therefore, the morale influence of the miracle will be determined by the character of the wine. It is pertinent to ask, Is it not derogatory to the character of Christ, and the teachings of the Bible, His Word, to suppose that He exerted His miraculous power to produce, according to Alvord, 126, and according to Smith, (et al like Bushtea), at least 60 gallons of intoxicating wine?— Wine which divine inspiration had denounced as ” a MOCKER,” as “BITING like a SERPENT,” and ” STINGING like an adder,” as “the POISON of DRAGONS,” “the CRUEL VENOM of ASPS,” and which the Holy Spirit has selected as the emblem of the WRATH of Almighty God? Is it probable that He gave that to the guests after they had used the wine provided by the host, and which, it is claimed, was INTOXICATING? (Bible Wines, Laws of Fermentation, William Patton, p.90) Emphasis added.

35. The salient point is, that we have the highest authority that ALCOHOL is not found in any living thing, and is NOT a process of life. Sir Humphry Davy says of alcohol: “It has never been found ready formed in plants.”

Count Chaptal, the eminent French chemist, says: ” Nature never forms spirituous liquors;
    she rots the grape upon the branch, but it is ART which converts the juice into (alcoholic) wine.”

Dr. Henry Monroe, in his Lecture on Alcohol, says: “Alcohol is nowhere to be found in any product of nature; was never created by God; but is essentially an artificial thing prepared by man through the destructive process of fermentation.”

Professor Liebig says: “It is contrary to all sober rules of research to regard the vital process of an animal or a plant as the cause of fermentation. The opinion that they take any share in the morbid process must be rejected as an hypothesis destitute of all support. In all fungi, analysis has detected the presence of sugar, which during the vital process is not resolved into alcohol and carbonic acid. but AFTER THEIR DEATH. It is the very reverse of the vital process to which this effect must be ascribed. Fermentation, PUTREFACTION, and DECAY are processes of DECOMPOSITION.”

Can it be seriously entertained that Christ should, by His miraculous power, make ALCOHOL, an article abundantly proved NOT to be found in all the ranges of His creation? Can it be believed that He, by making alcohol, sanctions the making of it, and the giving of it to His creatures, when He, better than all others, knew that IT, in the past, had been the cause of the temporal and eternal RUIN of myriads, and which, in all the ages to come, would plunge myriads upon myriads into the depths of eternal damnation?” (Ibid, p. 92)

36. Colonel Buggy September 27, 2016 at 9:21 PM #

Water is a very fickle commodity to deal with, and if not handled properly could do untold damage.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

How did the folks in St. Joseph live for 300 plus years without the Barbados Water Authority?

Drinking milk.

Eating honey.

…. and sucking cane.

In fact, every parish survived without the Barbados Water Authority!!

Every parish was rural.

Cane was in abundance.

Every person was involved in some way or another in agriculture!!

Bees had to be plentiful to fertilise the crops so honey was in abundance.

Cows produced calves and goats their kids so milk was in abundance.

Barbados used to be a land of milk and honey!!

No one had to wait to die to experience the land of milk and honey!!

Barbados was alive!!

And it was so because people had their brains in gear and understood how nature worked.

Barbados was in balance.

Historians have convinced us that Barbados of yore was full of ale houses and taverns and a drunken place.

It is a fact that water can kill.

It was not in plentiful supply in early days so people drank ale, beer, wine and also rum.

A little alcohol in the ale/beer/wine killed the dangerous bacteria and provided people with a safe source of liquid nourishment and if you think about it, food!!

It is possible to increase the alcohol content in ale/beer/wine but alcohol kills.

So, not surprisingly, taken in excess the brain cells die, the liver develops cirrhosis and a host of other maladies accrue to the human body because it consumes an excess of what is designed to kill!!

Alcohol is used as a disinfectant because it kills germs.

Methyl alcohol will cause blindness.

The oldest slave I found in the 1817 registrations was 114 years old.

Shortly after Westbury Cemetery opened, it received a 120 year old woman.

I have come across a woman buried in the 1700’s in Barbados who was 126 years old.

If the distribution of age is checked in either population, living slaves or burials, there is an unbelievable number of super centenarians who passed through Barbados before the advent of the Barbados Water Authority!!

Alcohol is even more fickle than water!!

… but water kills too … just look at the infant mortality prior to the 1960’s.

So, a safe source of drinking water is important …. but we don’t need a lot, a couple of gallons a day will do the trick!!

The BWA produces about 44 million gallons per day.

On average, each person consumes 44,000,000/270,000.

I will leave you to do the math and suggest that we have our priorities seriously screwed up!!

37. How did the folks in St. Joseph live for 300 plus years without the Barbados Water Authority?

Drinking milk.

Eating honey.

โ€ฆ. and sucking cane.

… and country girls would bathe their skin when the rain come down!!

Pure bliss!!

38. @ John
    steupsss … you could REALLY stop with that shiite talk!
    Black people lived without water before the BWA by ‘sucking salt’….
    Fortunately, as hardy, original stock, we were able to SURVIVE even that additional hardship.

You may not know, cause you probably had a well in your damn yard..and a windmill pump. But poor black people spent hours sourcing water from long distances for basic needs…. and largely compromised what we now take for granted in terms of basic hygiene…. all the while being forced to take care of the water needs of your damned ancestors of albino extract…

Of course you would see no problem with black people having to revert to such conditions….

39. In Barbados of 2016 the provision of piped water has become a basic right and necessity. Bajans pay such a high rate of taxes AND such levels of water rates, that this should not be a matter of discussion…
    The PM, shiite-hound minister, management of BWA and all others responsible for maintaining this basic national utility should be held personally, and if necessary, criminally responsible for the failure of such a fundamental national pillar.
    Instead, we entertain this bunch of retarded jackasses in positions of monumental responsibility, pay them huge salaries and benefits – while they steal whatever they can – and allow the utility to run into ruins.

If that is not treason, worthy of death, then someone needs to say what is….

…meanwhile John comes with his stupid nonsense about black Bajans getting used to living without piped water…as we did back in the 19th century….
    Steupsss…
    The VERY best solution offered to solve our many woes to date has been the one from Pacha of investing in a Guillotine……

40. Bush Tea September 28, 2016 at 8:33 AM #

@ John
    steupsss โ€ฆ you could REALLY stop with that shiite talk!
    Black people lived without water before the BWA by โ€˜sucking saltโ€™โ€ฆ.
    Fortunately, as hardy, original stock, we were able to SURVIVE even that additional hardship.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Today, the water wells suck salt!!

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/80539/bwa-shut

It is a simple fact of life that we therefore survive today by sucking salt!!

The fortune we had prior to surviving this way came from working together and using our collective brains!!

Then, we lived, today we survive !!

41. Not to worry BT, Dr. Estwick has it in hand!!

We have his immense brain and leadership capability to get us to work together to solve our water problems and ensure us of our right to water … without salt!!

42. His first solution is to shut down the wells on the west coast …. that is simply brilliant …. at least we won’t suck salt!!

43. Pure genius!!

44. Now, in days of yore, there were no west coast wells!!!

… so … therefore …no one sucked salt in Barbados

It is only today we have the problem!!

… and every colour is affected!!!

50 years of independence!!

45. That is exactly the point John.
    Social development is NOT about reverting to age-old remedies, but about applying advanced knowledge and learnings to continuously improve society.

Any idiot can see the need for a more even distribution of our OBVIOUSLY limited water resources….. and of managing future use so that it remains within safe capacities.

Instead, these jackasses running around looking for large-scale developments, CAHILL schemes, Super sugar factories and building sky scrapers … all the while segments of the country are completely waterless…

When you therefore offer up these ‘arguments’ about how we can “live without water” you are only encouraging the jackasses…

You think that in this day and age we should not have a distribution system that could deliver water to higher elevations in such emergency situations? …even at a cost in energy – and even if some of us at lower elevations had to make some sacrifices?

You think that billing could not be designed to ensure that ALL bajans had their basic quota of water ….and then made to ‘pay through the nose’ for any excess demands on their part…?

If we allow useless jackasses to manage our precious resources then we fully deserve the fate of having to revert to jackass days…
    …but shiite man John – don’t GIVE the jackasses ideas….

46. Bush Tea September 28, 2016 at 9:18 AM #

That is exactly the point John.
    Social development is NOT about reverting to age-old remedies, but about applying advanced knowledge and learnings to continuously improve society.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………….

The age old remedy as I interpreted John,was about working together to solve problems which as we know is sadly lacking today.

47. Oh bug off nuh Vincent…
    What age old remedy what!!??

Who ‘worked together’ in the old time days to solve problems…?
    The white plantation owners and their black slaves and labourers?

John is quite capable of defending himself….

48. Independence!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

…. and 50 years of it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

49. First reaction of BT is an ad hominem attack

He is independent and don’t give a rat’s ass about the next person!!

But he is programmed that way!!!

He cannot change … in fact he admits it … he knows it all already!!

So how is he (or is it she) going to work together with anybody?

50. There isn’t anything social in his programming so how can he contribute to social development!!!