psv-letterThe letter dated 22nd July 2016 reproduced below is self-explanatory. BU readers are encouraged to put aside the standard knee jerk reaction of emotional opposition in any matter concerning the PSV industry and to examine objectively the facts and the situation which it reveals. The further revelation is made that, two months later, the organizations which made the plea have not received a  response from the Prime Minister or any communication from the Ministry of Transport & Works.

84 responses to “Public Service Operators Have Asked Prime Minister Stuart to Intervene”

1. Here is “another hot button” to “fester” and ensure that the public votes out wunna Domonic Labour Party donkeys at the General Elections in 2017

“Drawfed this!!” (to be distinguished from “dwarf”. I know dat you does get pissed when de ole man point out your “pacific” (specific) mistakes. We dun know dat you ent went school but…whuloss my man… you is one uh de spokesmen of de DLP!!! at least mek sure when you write tomorrow NOT TO MEK DE SAME MISTAKE!!

http://imgur.com/a/SdqZm

2. Anonymouse - The Gazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – The Gazer

Two comments:
    I would like to give BU credit for raising the level of ‘journalism’ in Barbados. It seems as if the ‘rest’ of the media has moved closer to BU and are more outspoken than they were previously.

Even the ac consortium has changed. Typing less gibberish and uttering statements that contain an element of truth and sense. Seems like had an addition.

Seem like BU edumacating folks

3. Ok so Sir David has scored his brownie
    points..next step is for him to name and shamed those dealing in corruption. Let/s see if he has the balls to be openly truthful with such information.

4. @ AC
    …like all other hot button issues the blp left to fester and yet the public kept re-electing them because no one cared..
    No dummy!!
    We kept re-electing them because they could at least think coherently -even if misguidedly ….unlike the alternative … where you and Kellman are clearly the ‘brains’.

It is only because they kept pushing the envelope doing shiite that we had to kick their asses … no one imagined that wunna could be such complete donkey-holes….. Shiite, no one even thought that such levels of idiocy were possible in living organisms…. until Froon’s goons.

5. @bush sh.it….Whateverrrrrrrr

6. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

ac. September 22, 2016 at 1:01 PM #
    Ok so Sir David has scored his brownie
    points……next step is for him to name and shamed those dealing in corruption. Let/s see if he has the balls to be openly truthful with such information.”

I agree…..,.David Simmons should not be titillating with his knowledge of corruption and then dont present the proof he has hidden in his home safe….think7ng hevcan just use it becsuse election is around the corner, then run back in his hole like he never said anything.

And when the truth starts trickling out with naming and shaming corrupt government ministers….let’s see if Fruendel & Co got the balls to be openly truthful and name the corrupt wannabe ministers in BLP party.

One way or other the names of the corrupt ministers, senators and all the politicians. .gotta come out.

Art…the ACs are dizzy…hence the flip flopping.

7. http://www.centralbank.org.bb/news

19 SEP 2016
    Governor Dr. DeLisle Worrell to Deliver a Lecture at Carleton University in Toronto
    The Central Bank of Barbados governor will speak on the topic “International Financial Reform: Unintended Consequences for International Financial Centres” on Thursday, September 22, 2016..

OOPS

Carllon University is in Ottawa

8. Another OOPS

http://www.centralbank.org.bb/research-publications/the-tourism-working-group

Tourism Working Group – Member Agencies

Barbados Hotel and Tourism Association (BHTA)
    Barbados Statistical Service (BSS)
    Barbados Tourism Association (BTA)
    Caribbean Tourism Organisation (CTO)
    Central Bank of Barbados (CBB)
    Ministry of Tourism (MoT)

When did BTA become BTMI

If Central Bank cannot get something this simple right; how can their numbers be trusted?

9. WW&C

I agree…..,.David Simmons should not be titillating with his knowledge of corruption and then dont present the proof he has hidden in his home safe.
    ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

guess David Simmons got his cue from you saying a lot but showing nothing . you and him would made two peas in a pod

10. @ Due Diligence September 22, 2016 at 3:45 PM #

……..”When did BTA become BTMI”……………..

DD, when acccording to Bush Tea these “complete donkey-holes….. Shiite, no one even thought that such levels of idiocy were possible in living organisms…. until Froon’s goons”…………..decided that it was better to spilt one authority into two to get one result.

They had to find a place at the fatted calf trough for their friends. The BTA has been under funded, could not pay its bills, had no advertising parphernalia in Bridgetown or in any of its overseas offices but could find money to fund consultants to tell them to split one company into two which would now double their operating expences………two CEO’s, two this, two that.

Can you ever believe that any other government other than Froon’s goons could come up with such a plan?

No we are doomed! I feel for Barbados…….

PSV owners, I feel your pain but dont expect any response from Froon any time soon!

11. Anonymouse - The Gazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – The Gazer

The fatted calf is looking skinny….
    Prodigal, you sounding somewhat like the Bush master….

12. millertheannunaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son September 22, 2016 at 8:50 PM
    “They had to find a place at the fatted calf trough for their friends. The BTA has been under funded, could not pay its bills, had no advertising parphernalia in Bridgetown or in any of its overseas offices but could find money to fund consultants to tell them to split one company into two which would now double their operating expences………two CEO’s, two this, two that.
    Can you ever believe that any other government other than Froon’s goons could come up with such a plan?”

And to add insult to injury this splitting of BTA to further divvy up the fatted calf took place during a period when the fiscal situation was ballooning out of control and there was an obvious need to rationalize and reduce the number of statutory boards.

What has the additional fiscal parasite done other than say Barbados has become a rather unkempt destination in the eyes of the visitors with the roads strewn with litter and places of attraction turned into dumping grounds with poorly maintained facilities.

A read of BU (especially from the contributions of Colonel Buggy) over the years would have highlighted just that nasty state of affairs. Why set up another fiscal mawworm to tell you what BU has been saying to the government foc?

But never mind, as result of the coming restructuring of state owned and managed enterprises under the IMF supervision and with a new political administration on the horizon such superfluous entities will be dealt with accordingly with the intention of even outsourcing the tourism marketing to a private sector outfit.

13. miller,

Just as you has been saying for the longest while…….now the President of the CDB is telling the government that they have to sell both ports……the Bridgetown Port and the Airport.

I wonder if the Stinkliar is listening to him!

14. millertheannunaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son September 22, 2016 at 10:32 PM
    “Just as you has been saying for the longest while…….now the President of the CDB is telling the government that they have to sell both ports……the Bridgetown Port and the Airport.
    I wonder if the Stinkliar is listening to him!”

This current DLP administration is a comatosely inept bunch of liars that can get nothing right.

There is nothing new about what the CDB president is recommending.

The problem is one of implementation. This deficit of implementation is even larger that the “physical” (sorry Jester Ince) fiscal deficit incurred under this DLP led government.

Even Stinkliar himself is aware of the need to divest some of these assets in order to reduce the fiscal deficit to a manageable level. This is what the Pinocchio man said in his June 2012 presentation of a tissue of lies and empty promises:

We the DLP administration will:
    “Undertake an Initial Public Offering of 30% of the shares of Grantley Adams International Airport Inc, the Oil Company and Barbados Port Authority, and the listing of these companies on the Barbados Stock Exchange. Over the next few months, a valuation of the entities will be undertaken and the IPO process initiated. The listing of these three major entities on the stock exchange will serve to inject some much needed life in the exchange. The IPO process will be undertaken in a manner that will ensure broad share ownership which promotes economic democracy and market liquidity.”

15. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/09/22/ganja-gold/

Now how could this make any sense to government ministers who have been exposed to advanced education from the 50s….all with advanced degrees, some attended top universities.

They will say the US, Canada and UK tricked them, stole their best varieties of marijuana and now legalizing marijuana and making billions of dollars off it for them selves.

Thry locked up thrir own people and ruined thousands of lives with convictions… following these countries.

Good…they are right, da happen cause ya are idiot, ya dumb, serves ya right…lol

16. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

ACs…..I got nothing to hide…. neither DLP nor BLP can name me in their kickbacks, bribery and corruption expose.

When they are still talking about Michael Lashley, former housing minister..hiring Bounty the drug importer from St. Philip, in a high paying top job at National Housing when Bounty don’t know a brick from a rock….did you hear my name called in that….why did Fruendel move Lashley from housing.

…..ah glad Simmons exposing yall, even if he is playing possum due to his own corrupt practices.

17. @Amused

The documents referred to in the letter to the PM now attached.

18. @ David
    These DLP people REALLY carrying a joke a bit too far now though …
    even by their shitty standards.
    ….and by the same token, the ZR people are behaving like patsies…..
    Shiite man, how long wunna going bend over…?

Strike. block Bay Street/ Bridgetown / Oistins….. do something nuh!!!
    That is how real men respond to shiite….

Steupsss
    brass bowlery to the left of us,
    brass bowlery to the right..
    a deep cliff ahead of us
    …and a pack of bullers bringing up the rear.

19. @Bush Tea

A couple weeks ago PSVs in Jamaica refused to travel certain routes because of the poor state of the roads. It is time for stakeholders in Barbados government, PSV partners, insurance companies and others need to do better. And to think the Barbados Transport Authority was set up to resolve many of these issues.

20. And to think the Barbados Transport Authority was set up to resolve many of these issues.
    Says who?
    Boss…Look at the composition of the Transport Authority.
    It was clearly set up to provide some people with ‘Board appointments’.
    If even Ossie Moore intended to get results …he would have looked for people who are known to get results to sit on that shiite authority….

The Barbados Transport Authority is exactly like Arthur’s ‘Office of Public Sector Reform’ and his ‘Productivity Council’.
    …lotta shiite.

21. Bear in mind the Prime Minister is not the one responsible for acknowledging his correspondence. He therefore is within his right to say ‘don’t blame me!’

22. millertheannunaki Avatar

@ David September 23, 2016 at 4:25 PM

Are you inadvertently recommending the removal of his Private or Personal secretary or even the PS in the PM’s Office for a blatant case of continuous incompetence and the suppressing of information of national importance?

When will this “Don’t Blame Me” phenomenon of Ministerial incompetence go away!

Doesn’t the buck of responsibility stop at somebody’s desk anymore?

23. @Miller

The refusal of a public official to acknowledge receipt from a member of civil society is not only discourteous, it borders on unethical if one considers this is the maximum elected leader of the country. The action of ignoring correspondence from selected civil society players gives scary insight to the modus operand of the highest ministerial office. Note we made no mention of public sector reform.

24. @Miller

It is also patently dishonest to have to listen to the MoF or PM refer to the fact they consulted with stakeholders when they obviously have not when they have been exposed not acknowledging/responding to correspondence.

25. The Prime Minister,his Minister of Finance in particular and the Cabinet are all reeling from the recent body blows they have been receiving from Charles Herbert of the Bdos Private Sector Assoc.,from Dr Warren Smith of CDB,from Dr Keith Nurse,Senior Fellow of SALISES and from Professor Moore of UWI.Is the PM still thinking Sinckler is eminent?Is he still thinking that S & P and Moody’s views on the Barbados economy are unworthy of his attention?

26. @ Gabriel
    As said before, Bushie has a lotta time for Charles Herbert.
    The man is a genuinely talented, and a very bright meritocratic manager.

No wonder he did not stay with the ‘civil-service-like’ Sagicor….
    And no wonder Goddard’s has been such a shining example of what is possible.

Bushie would be pleasantly surprised if Stinkliar was smart enough to accept his advice…

27. @David. Thank you for posting the letters. I am deeply dismayed that the Ministry has not had the good manners to at least acknowledge receipt of each and every letter. On the face of it, they seem reasonable and non-contentious. I have to wonder what “urgent” considerations could have supplanted what appears to be a very simply-solved matter in the rumination of the Ministry. Every instinct we all have must now be screaming “scam” and “cover-up”. Unlike in court where the Minister would be innocent until proven guilty, politics is subject to the court of public opinion and the onus is on the Minister to prove himself and the Ministry innocent. So far, he and it are failing dismally. All it would have taken initially was a brief note saying, “I have your letter and many thanks. We will revert to you in due course. Yours faithfully”. Of course, “due course” if extended, as it has been, for too long, would later need to be explained. Seems that, “qui tacet consentire videtur”, meaning that silence denotes consent, has not penetrated the consciousness of the Minister and Ministry, rather like good manners are completely foreign to them.

For the love of Mike, this is not a complex issue. Operators could not operate along a certain road, because of roadworks. Roadworks are now over and they are asking for normal service to be resumed. But somewhere in there, someone has seen a chance at personal benefit, meaning cash in their own pockets, and intend to milk it for all it is worth and to hell with operators and public alike.

28. @Amused

What is disappointing is that under Stuart we never anticipated debating these issues under the specter of corruption. It is all the same, doesn’t matter if B or D. Frankly, the people have trusted the system for 50 years, it is time for a new approach.

29. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

”Barbados Transport Authority was set up to resolve many of these issues. ”

David, a lot of these authorities are set up to put free money in loyals pockets. Hardly do we see anything effective coming from these boards and other political establishments, hence the only logical conclusion that a right thinker can reach.

30. @David. It is too simple to say it is Stuart’s fault, or Owen’s fault or Sandiford’s, or Bree’s, Errol, Tom. No matter who the PM is, he/she will only be as good as the members of his/her MPs. He/she does not have the power to rule by domination, but only with consultation and consent. Otherwise he/she will face the same garbage that has already been tried on Stuart. So let us attack the relevant minister for his/her failings – as often and as loudly as possible. Maybe they may even be deselected by the DLP/BLP members in favour of people who are actually fit for purpose. Pipe dream possibly, but with BU around, you never know.

31. @Amused

Check BU pages for the last 9 years. Attacking ministers who have repeatedly exposed themselves as incompetent is what we do. At some point the buck must stop somewhere. If Stuart finds this lot ungovernable let him call the date and go home and read drink some Merlot.

32. @ Amused

One notes the “change” and the “anonymization” effort and for some of us, it is understood.

BU has an unspoken rule so to speak that many of us observe.

It is quite simple really, for those of us who are “known” that is the crew of the “Anonymice” for 99% of the encounters there is a “secrecy afforded”.

The Rule of Thumb being “we know who you are but, BECAUSE YOU SERVE THE GREATER GOOD, or because your message suggests that you do, we will not expose you, AND IT IS EXPECTED THAT you will not expose us”

The denouement that castrated Carl Moore here recently and caused that he will never return to BU with his medical condition known and the outside children was based on that rule.

He sought to expose the identities of Batman and Robin.

Even when you observe the gentle ribbing as per the identity that AC/Legion experiences, ALL FIVE OF THEM, people acknowledge and employ that rule as far as possible where “we, the people who care for our country” are permitted a sort of free passage to express our opinions about how we feel that “care” should manifest in BIM.

Your statement about “he or she will face the same garbage that was tried on Fumbles Stuart” is surprisingly puerile considering the people that we are speaking of (even Stuart)

It is puerile because, if there is one person in that party who, like Pitdog IsWhich-Ting-I-going-Protest (to mek my two-faced self look good) the mechanisms that currently exist, in both Parties, will cause their expulsion a la Maria Agard.

So that pep talk about consultation and consent, in the face of a Mugabe handpicking all of their pooch suckers or an impotent Fumbles and crew unable to disengage because (a) their pensions were at stake (b) to final computation of that pension and (c) most importantly, not one of the 16, not Pornville nor Lil Caesar Lashes, even with their political aspirations to be Prime Minister, like Eddie Hinkson, or Dale Marshall, HAS THE BALLS TO STAND UP TO THAT RULE BY DOMINATION that you mentioned above.

You are starting to talk pretty, actually prettier as one recalls you doing when you prosecuted quite fiercely the matter of Vernon Smith Marcelle Smith Affair here..

It just goes to show each and every one of us that, irrespective of how good one may argue a series of matters when it comes does to it NOT ONE OF US IS WITHOUT SIN, NARY A ONE and we must not put our hope or trust in either of you lot because it is a fickle thing that quickly, like love unrequited, turns to hate.

33. Pudyr
    I could never expound upon such weighty matters like you do so I will simply say I support your views expressed @12.40p Neither Adams 1 nor 2,nor Barrow,nor Arthur would have truck with these unsophisticated ministers Stuart has the misfortune to husband and control.It proves the point that he is not a born leader.He is a school teacher cum survivor so none expect him to act even with this sinking DLP government.His is to hold on even when developments are suggesting that he summon the shareholders for their input.