Prime Minister Mia Mottley shows off a Kensington Oval ready for T20 World Cup

psv-letterThe letter dated 22nd July 2016 reproduced below is self-explanatory. BU readers are encouraged to put aside the standard knee jerk reaction of emotional opposition in any matter concerning the PSV industry and to examine objectively the facts and the situation which it reveals. The further revelation is made that, two months later, the organizations which made the plea have not received a  response from the Prime Minister or any communication from the Ministry of Transport & Works.

84 responses to “Public Service Operators Have Asked Prime Minister Stuart to Intervene”

1. Is this the same Minister Michael Lashley who challenged Mr.P to visit with him to discuss concerns and that his office door is always open?

2. i have a soft spot in my heart for the PSV despite the many annoyances leveled against the drivers, These are small business persons whose business is in every way as helpful as others in building the economy while aiding govt and releasing some of the stress under which govt Transportation has to preform on days when buses are not in good condition to travel their daily route,
    Having said the above i am taken aback as to why govt would allow some drivers to return to the original route and why not others, that concerns sends a red flag with a somewhat instinctive eye towards those who have not for whatever reason be allowed
    the underlying question as to why might be the answers to those not having equal perission as others,
    However i am inclined to rebuke govt on the grounds that large or small business each group is deserving the same level of respect towards their concerns

3. Well, well, well

4. The PSV ‘institution’ is showing considerable finesse in language and patience.It is another serious indictment on the Freundel Stuart administration,showing its ugly face of disrespect,
    Incompetence and absurdity in another area of economic activity.When one takes into consideration the views of the Private Sector in the Social Partnership,it is no wonder Barbados is at a standstill.Simple matters unaddressed fester and become mill stones.

5. @AC

This is not a Government thing, this is an untouchable Minister thing , the going rate is 3Ox100 per opportunity to ply different route

6. DLP (Formerly CBC) Radio and TV Avatar
    DLP (Formerly CBC) Radio and TV

It is more incompetence to get things done than disrespect to the PSV associations….This gov’t has a serious case of implementation deficit disorder…the favorite statement from their MPs is that some thing will be implemented “shortly”…..a deliberately vague length of time just to give people something to hang, on to a false sense of immediacy….to be facetious.. the gov’t believes in the adage…..”a promise is a comfort to a fool” they takes us for fools so they constantly gives us promises….we could as well be for us to have reelect them in 2013 and will be giant asses to reelect them in 2017-2018

7. The battle cry is now “don’t blame me!”, so what can one expect?

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

ACs…yall are FRAUDS.

9. millertheannunaki Avatar

@ Watchman September 21, 2016 at 8:38 PM
    “This is not a Government thing, this is an untouchable Minister thing , the going rate is 3Ox100 per opportunity to ply different route”

Watchie you got this thing ‘down pat’, for real! This is one case of managerial incompetence and disrespect you can’t blame the civil servants for.

It seems Mr. Sharkmout does have the ivory touch of a King Midas in his ability to turn hundreds of unoccupied houses into 3,000 per permit in his new den of kickbacks.
    Does the minister know that those PSV operators who have been discriminated against can bring a lawsuit under the Administrative Justice Act against the said minister?

It would be most interesting to find out the background of those PSV operators who have been allowed to ply the route complained about.

Hopefully, our in-house experts in cartoon art and visual political mockery PUDRY & Colonel Buggy can depict the nonsense of incompetence, discrimination and brown paper passing of the buck ‘under-handedly taken’ at the highest political levels.

BTW, Watchie, what has become of your “friend” Walter PKK Blackie? It looks like he has sold his intellectual soul on the altar of political opportunism after being muzzled by the elite of the DLP.

He should consider running for the Ch Ch East constituency instead of the SME. There is a seat up for grabs in the East and he, Wally, has a bit of a long familiarity with that riding as he thinks he has with the SME.

Maybe the Bajan god has returned from his long holiday and has listened to his people with the promise to bring them Salvation in 2017.

But you might just have to look to the stars for the destiny of Bim. Maybe 2017 will signal an age of Aquarius for poor Bim; a new beginning after 7 years of economic turmoil, abject social confusion and depressing stasis in its political life caused by a vacuum in leadership.

“From a numerological standpoint, 2017, when you add them up: 2 + 0 + 1 + 7 = 10 and that is distilled down to: 1 + 0 = 1
    So, in 2017 we’re in a 1 year!
    A numerological perspective on the world in 2017
    ONE is a number of beginning. 2017 bids us all to start something brand new, something that expresses our uniqueness, that uses our leadership abilities, that opens us to new perspectives.

2017 as a One year is a time to think and act independently. It’s also a year to put our leadership abilities and unique talents to use in the greater world, to practice cooperating without losing individuality.

The number 1 is the maestro, the director of activities and events. 1 is a number about beginnings and new initiatives of all kinds. At best, 1 symbolizes leadership and can get a lot done.
    At worst, number 1 energy of itself can be aggressive, cruel and even violent due to its pointed, narrow focus and approach. Understanding these basic vibration can help to manifest the positive attributes and recognize and overcome the negative.”

10. So the letter was written July 22nd. Today is September 22nd. Any response from the Minister yet?

if not, why not?

11. No “knee jerk” reaction from me.

I like PSV’s
    I like ZR’s
    I like taxis
    I like Transport Board buses.
    I like trains.
    I like public service aeroplanes, LIAT, AA, AC, BA, CA, Virgin etc.

I still don’t understand why pepole feel to need to cart around tons of metal, glass and plastic (a private motor car) in order to get from point A to point B.

When any of the PSV’s listed above can do it almost as Quickly and far far cheaper.

12. Its all about money, and politic’s! Aren’t some of these PSV’s owned by ministers in office, their relatives, or constituents. How can you enforce regulations when the government itself will not bite the hand that feeds them. They can’t even enforce a simple dress code for their drivers. It’s a farce. Most of the vehicles are unsafe, and should actually should go thru a 6 month inspection. Their interiors should be inspected for graffiti, seat condition, operation of windows. It would actually be nice to require air conditioning.

13. I won’t believe that AC has changed his tune/tone or MO above (second writer above). Hope he is not one of the PSV owners feeling the pinch too. Pull a few strings and you will get action.

Anything that Lashley get his hands on he must be paid for in bribes and “Trans tech” will get some of the action or the promises to fools will fly. Don’t be fooled that Lashley has not found another way to get his ill gotten monies out of the country since he was caught at the Airport spiriting over a Milliom in cash out of the country (it was on the news then only once and nothing ever came out of that).

Although some of the PSV driver and conductors are unruly it does not mean the PSV industry must suffer at the hands of dishonest and lackadaisical ministers.

Don’t expect any action from Froon either. His excuse will be “i have not seen the letter” followed by the excuses if any at all.

What options are left now for the PSV? They cannot win any case with the lopsided Tribunal either so don’t even consider that as an option.

These people in Parliament don’t care what we the people think of them and they are heartless to our wants and our livelihoods and free to do to us whatever they want.

14. “Gabriel September 21, 2016 at 8:33 PM #

The PSV ‘institution’ is showing considerable finesse in language and patience.It is another serious indictment on the Freundel Stuart administration,showing its ugly face of disrespect,
    Incompetence and absurdity in another area of economic activity.When one takes into consideration the views of the Private Sector in the Social Partnership,it is no wonder Barbados is at a standstill.Simple matters unaddressed fester and become mill stones”

As Mr Stuart once said when he was on the other side of the fence – the social partnership is a “philosophical absurdity”. Notice the smiles on the faces of the leaders in the private sector at the touted successful partnership meeting; they have every reason to smile. Public servants have not had a raise in eight years and the private sector is therefore not obligated to increase wages for their sector either in the face of ever increasing rises even in basic food items and in such essential services as light, water, gas. Social partnership me eye.

15. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

The minister, like his counterpart Low lowe, is in dire need of a thorough investigation. I care nothing for this sector as the amount of shite done by them on the road is not going to convince me that they want to do what is right while driving on the people’s roads. However fair is fair. The minister should come out and state emphatically what criteria has the transports ministry set that one set of PSV operators can be permitted to take a route that is restricted to all others, except certain PSV’s and transport board buses. Why is the highly favoured factor raising its ugly head in this onesided script?

16. The PSV sector has been mismanaged both political parties. Case in point the content of the letter attached. Just like the water situation has been allowed to deteriorate over decade.

Do not focus on the symptoms there is the cause.

17. @David. Exactly. Cause.

18. correlating the water and the psv problems as one of the same is ludicrious,
    the PSV in part has been given very little support from the public making it easy for political parties to over look any thing that would be of value in supporting their many causes Many of their causes are legitimate and most worthy of attention they too have families to feed and a business to managed which relies on a profitable margin to keep them going , However the public support for them is very low therefore political parties over the years have taken the advantage of ignoring the PSV plight which is not fair
    Having to run and managed any business is not easy most of all if public support would have been in the PSV favor politics or political parties would have done the obvious in giving them a attentive ear, case and point the fare level by which the PSV is expected to operate their business in 2016 should be unacceptable to any one with a fair conscience but many would tear govt apart if the cost to increase was giving .
    As long as public support remains stacked against PSV the issues that plagued them would remain stagnant in the sea of politics

19. @Amused

Inability of successive governments to bring order to the PSV sector, instead there is escalation of the blame game. This started when Tom Adams saw the opportunity to tax the sector to pay for the resources required to babysit the sector.

Inability of successive governments to fix the damn leaking underground points. This government raised water rates by 60% commissioned a IDB loan to fix the pipes and then was unable to resolve IR conflict with the BWA. All governments in the last 40 years have known that that rusty underground pipes is the issue.

20. @David. I agree wholeheartedly. What upsets me is that the best interests, convenience and comfort of the consumer is being totally ignored, while costs to said consumers has risen disproportionately. Shameful. But, as you say, it does not lie at the door of any one administration, but of both B and D. And, but for you and BU, it would likely remain unresolved and, most importantly, unreported.

@ac. Our mercifully brief romance is now officially over. Any cognitive person who is a Bajan patriot as opposed to a political pimp, can see the connectivity in what David is saying and the point he is very successfully making. No one gives a flying f*** at this stage who is responsible. All we care is that it must be fixed by whichever administration is in power.

I read with appalled dismay of the meetings held with the Minister. All a total waste of time and taxpayers’ money. Nothing but an exercise in hubris and ego building for the Minister who I would take a bet (and I am not a betting man) had never bothered to even study the issue and prepare for the meetings, just turn up and wow everyone with his importance and magnificence for which our taxes are paying. Seems to me that there is some sort of private members club going on here. A monopoly. An attempt to restrain trade. The inferences re palm-greasing…….well…….! Your thoughts, @David.

21. @David. The letter refers to attachments of other letters. Can you obtain and post these?

22. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I told the ACs already to go and donate some blood, replenish that poisonous blood supply they are carrying around.

If the ACs blood is too tainted to use…QEH will throw it out, it’s the effort that counts.

23. That the Prime minister has not responded should surprise no one. A partner of mine tells me that the general secretary of the BWU is calling for dialogue between the unions to formulate a plan of action where this dishonest administration is concerned…..something I called for months ago. These heifers say what they think will make you happy, with no intention of following through. PSV groups you need to show your worth. Why not? Don’t we listen to the worthless everyday?

24. Firstly David in his article implied that all should rise above the partianship divide on this issue. Lo and behold in my attempt to do so i am villified and accused as a political pimp. One would have to be blinded themselves by political spin doctorting to read anything into my comments that associates a one-sided political apparatus to the PS V problems.
    However i will reiterate that the bad publicity associated to PSV management in part fueled by public discourse has given rise for the politics of the day to leave them stranded and somewhat disadvantage in their attempt to be given fair and conclusive resolution and that is the truth.
    Btw i do not look forward for any ones approval in whatever i comment i am grown enough to stand on my own two feet withour having to lean on any individual support

25. @well well. Right as usual.

26. @ Hamilton
    Serves us right.
    It seems that no one in Barbados is willing to make ANY KIND of personal sacrifices in the interest if justice and righteousness. Everyone wants someone else to bell the damn cat..

When the unions had government by the balls over the 60-year-old retirement issue, they got with the minister, skin their mouths and accepted shiite promises instead of clear definitive action from government…

When marches were called …. everyone sit around at home watching TV to see who went…

When the water off for two years in St Andrew … a couple dozen people marched for 30 minutes…

Those ZR people have been threatening to take action for months now… all talk.

If you were Froon…. would you reply to them…?

Bushie bets that he would reply to the Air Traffic controllers though….

27. My first comment on this issue coming from me was to rebuke govt for not giving faster resolution to the PSV problems and in jump amused with his pretensive political summary /agenda as to what i said. How amusing.
    Most comments responding to PSV problems have never been favourable to giving high regards to the problems of the PSV most have taken a political stance very few if any has given favourable priorty to the problems of the PSV in seeking resolution.
    For years the PSV has been asking for a rise in bus fares necessary to maintain their business but to no avail and all knows why but yet blame can be placed again i say if bajans want to be fair and not to be seen as hypocrites and cheerleaders they need to rise to every occassion and being fair minded in their political approach on all issues
    Not here to point finger in one direction and to support the collective voices on BU but to look across the political landscape and view from a personnel lenses in my support of those whose interests goes unnoticed.
    Yes i might be sitting alone in my views but at the end of the day all that matters is what is right

28. It is amazing how the failure to regulate this sector by successive governments has been allowed to recede to the routine.

#amazing

29. Simple Simon September 21, 2016 at 11:54 PM #

“So the letter was written July 22nd. Today is September 22nd. Any response from the Minister yet?”

Are you mekkin’ sport SS? It’s only two moths since it was sent in. If asked, Fanny Foomble’s response will be, “I am not in a position to respond to something of which I have not yet had sight. As Plato so memorably said when placed in a situation not disimilar to that in which I have been placed, “I in’t in dat” “

30. A government wanting to appear sincere and promote the notion there is a modicum of integrity should have at least sent an acknowledgement.

On Thursday, 22 September 2016, Barbados Underground wrote:

31. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Amused…we can start taking bets on how much deeper this hole that the governments have been digging for over 30 years for the country and people, has to get before they all realize that they cannot dig themselves out…without fundament changes.

Fundamental changes are not a meal ya can buy at Chefette, just in case the fools think it is.

32. Bush Tea September 22, 2016 at 7:47 AM #

“Bushie bets that he would reply to the Air Traffic controllers though….”

@ Bushie

………………… and Butch Stewart.

33. Yes failure s rooted in public approval and dishonesty as to what is wrong.
    This ongoing debate about what should be done and who is to blame on Bu smacks of hypocrisy for if these calls were genuine actions supporting the PSV causes would have been adressed and resolved years ago.However the only action taking place via commentary are those actions to support a political position.
    Move over yardfowls on this issue you cant be serious after years of electing a 14 year govt who did nothing to eliminate the PSV problems

34. @Well well. You are not going to see a lot happen on the letter quickly. First, the PM will have to copy it to the Minister and ask for his comments. Then, once the Minister finally responds, it will likely need to go to Cabinet. Meanwhile, we will all have to sit twiddling our thumbs. And people ask why I never went into politics? Because I have control over my business. I say what I want done. I expect it to be done. Otherwise…….

35. millertheannunaki Avatar

@ ac September 22, 2016 at 8:30 AM
    “My first comment on this issue coming from me was to rebuke govt for not giving faster resolution to the PSV problems and in jump amused with his pretensive political summary /agenda as to what i said. How amusing.”

Can’t you see your dirty lying party forming the current political administration has brought a curse on your country? Nothing your inept corrupt disrespectful administration is involved with seems to go right. Even simple or basic problems seem unsolvable for your out-of-its-depth incompetent administration.

Have the problems that the Cahill WTE plant was so supposed to solve gone away? What is being done as a substitute for Cahill?

Why don’t you guys just resign and call elections for the sake of Barbados? Or are you waiting on Divine Intervention compliments of Dr. Blackmout Lowedown?

36. Well Well & Consequences September 21, 2016 at 10:21 PM #

“ACs…yall are FRAUDS.”

@ WW&C

Read the below comments and tell me if want any more proof to substantiate your above comments?

“ac September 22, 2016 at 7:37 AM #: Firstly David in his article implied that all should RISE ABOVE the PARTIANSHIP DIVIDE on this issue. Lo and behold in my attempt to do so i am villified and accused as a political pimp.”

Yet:

“ac September 22, 2016 at 9:54 AM #: Move over yardfowls on this issue you cant be serious after years of electing a 14 year govt who did nothing to eliminate the PSV problems.”

37. David

What’s new?

There are many people this writer knows who have written the GOB about matters large and small and decades could pass and not even an acknowledgement of having received a correspondence was returned.

We know another set of people, including this writer, who have met with senior government officials, in several capitals. Meetings at which minutes were taken and approaches outlined. You know not even the circulation of those minutes could be recognized or further action embarked upon.

Bajans walk around with their asses up in the air pretending that there is something special about us. This writer has never been able to determine what that could be.

38. @Pacha

There is a reason why leaders of another era fleshed out a vision firmly built on educating the people (formal education). The result of this investment should have been seen by now in a working model which clearly differentiates Barbados from the others.

39. And we the people continue to sit, write letters, call radio programs and complain. I am sure that will fix our problems with THIS government. Why don’t we all just shut to face up, sit quietly and wait for the next election and then take the only action that we have been bred and trained by massa to do when voicing our disgust? We docile slaves don’t raise our voices in anger, do we?
    We are a pack of losers without any backbones so we will vote this incompetent lot out after complaining for years without taking any action, vote the next incompetent lot in and wait for another five years to do the same thing again. When will we learn?

40. Well yes Artax after being woefully attack i respond inkind to the attackers. So what

41. Now you Artax come out of the woodwork to spawn your two cents worth of political bile. Dince tge issue has been placed in the blame scale why don/t u address the issue of the blp govt doing also in ignoring the problems of the PSV. I have already rebuked govt so there is no hypocrisy on my part as being revealed by the blp yard dogs on BU

42. The minister just increased the number of new Zr permits by 50 and the number of new minibus permits. He also reissued old numbers that were of the road for over 2 years. Why? This needs to be investigated. Why the need for so many permits ?

43. DLP after BLP.

Government after government.

Minister after minister.

Even after the Barbados Transport was established.

The same fraudulent behaviour – selling/issuing permits in abundance leading into a general election.

What role can the Auditor General play? Then again the AG is a toothless tiger.

44. @ Pachamama

The “specialty of Bajan dispensation” you query lies in the scent of our shy#e – mine does not smell is the manta we intone.

@ anyone

I am going to be outlandish here (as usual)

Suppose I am party to either to APTO or the AOPT or whatever the abbreviation is for the PSV that I am a member of.

There are two things that I am going to bring to the fore

(a) the denial in increased PSV fares to offset increased operational costs and
    (b) the routing trick to discommode PSVs of revenues

Do either of the entities KNOW what is the value of the monies lost as a result of the rerouting?

I will suggest that they DO NOT KNOW, but just suppose that they did.

Let us say that it amounts to $500K cumulatively

can the ole man suggest something??

What if the AOPT & the APTO were to implement a solution that would (a) permit them to exceed that 500K shortfall (b) nullify the Transport Board and other factions illegal competition and (c) effect a de facto increase in their busfares obviating the current (and future dependence) on a non-reponsive government administration WOULD THEY DO IT?

I put it to you that even if the cost of that solution was $500K that these self centered bembers would NOT entertain that solution.

I also put it to you readers that, in similar vein to the letters that Amused is seeking now that the Spartan games are over in the gladiators’ arena, that there are letters dated twice as long that these vandagers have ignored and that this “woe is me cry” herein enunciated so eloquently, is nothing but blowing bubbles up our respective pooches, pardon my french.

But please, do not let my jaded perspective which a few of my brothers call “my pessimism” put any dampers on this ardently prosecuted subject.

I shall “away” and complete a Stoopid Cartoon poster to support the subliminal remark from Amused re “…seems to me that there is some sort of private members club going on here. A monopoly. An attempt to restrain trade. The inferences re palm-greasing…….well…….!

45. Anonymouse - The Gazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – The Gazer

Standing on the fence between the two yards
    What separates team B from team D. Different crew, different bus, different route but ending up at the same destination. Show me where your vision differ, what you will do differently, that to you the wealth of the country is more important than quickly accumulating personal wealth.

It is clear that both sides have skilled wordsmiths; but Barbados has reach a stage where words are not enough, where swapping a few seats in parliament every few years is not enough. Even the most foolish Bajan must have realized by now, that with the failure of so many services, the island is going nowhere. Rich quick schemes are stealing the future of the island.

I am waiting on the Ds to show me a new vision and for the Bs to show me what they will do differently. Both parties should field an A team and not wait until the other guy mess-up to take the wheel. A succession of mess-up (like it or not) is why we are here.

46. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Michael Lashley and Dennis Lowe Low want serious investigation into a lot of matters associated with their names.

47. @ The Gazer

The simple facts are

(a) the mechanism through which we choose our representatives is flawed
    (b) once we have chosen the doufuses to represent us the mechanisms to disavow them of that privilege DO NOT EXIST
    (c) we are a docile people who believe that because we can read and write we are bright and, coupled with that sense of our importance we are equally disposed to dislike any type of criticism because be it constructive or destructive criticism EVERY WORD OF DISSENT IS CONSTRUED AS DESTRUCTIVE CRITICISM.

What you are suggesting regarding a conversation regarding policies and practices HAPPENS EVERY GENERAL ELECTION!!

When the scvunts come to our doors to espouse what they will do better, they come prepped with lies and other people’s ideas and you and I suck it up and swallow it.

Then they print it on a glossy manifesto which we both realise was not worth the $$ spent at Acute Vision’s printery or wherever they go nowadays Coles or whatever

Like I said, the mechanism is flawed, it has never worked.

The thing is that we borrowed a system from Britain & never sought to change it.

And whereas the British system has a vibrant ecosystem of supporting industries and a proactive private and public sector to support its albino-centric initiatives, WE HAVE NOTHING and when we copied their system, post the Independence Fiasco that EWB led, we did not evolve anything that serves the collective.

We enforced the race and lass divisions to the point where if you brown skinned and I is a nigger, even though we both black, I tinks dat you is different and I gots me a dislike for “redman” farless, fuh Bizzy and COW and Baloney.

That is what successive parties have bred Gazer and on our current horizon of the Mugabe group and the tribe of current monkeys, neither of them can present a different pathway

So our collective asses are grass I am sorry to say cause that “A” team vision that you have is doomed to fail, in utero.

We need a Duterte of Change who is part of a collective that understand change and its proportionate tools.

That does not include Wiretapping people, indiscriminately, sine legal channels, nor our Office of the Commissioner of Police importing and distributing high power rifles as they please.

You know what 626 bullets on a recently released criminal means Gazer??

It means my man that we are in a heap of doo-doo and the shyte soon going hit the fan

And dere ends de ole man lesson for today…

48. @ SSS
    Michael Lashley and Dennis Lowe Low want serious investigation into a lot of matters associated with their names
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Who will investigate them? The place full of crooks.
    You expect to send Ali Baba to catch Robin Hood? …all they will do is laugh behind our backs and cook up cover stories to save each others backsides…

Caswell was our last hope….
    He don’t give a shit about a fella…. and he ain’t want nothing from a boy…

49. Nothing new here but like all other hot button issues the blp left to fester and yet the public kept re-electing them because no one cared..namely Alexander. Al Barrack and since the water issue was placed on the table that too can be added to the list.
    What we have here is the nakedness of self interest which has drawfed the problems of the PSV into nothingness and a wickedness by those who have said nothing about the psv problems over the years exposed

50. @ David,

It took comments from David Simmons to get the main stream media to talk about systemic corruption from top to bottom in Barbados.

An all dis time I thought wunna BU personages did telling lies .

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/09/21/be-afraid-sir-david-simmons-is-quite-right/