Safe drinking water and adequate sanitation are crucial for poverty reduction, crucial for sustainable development and crucial for achieving any and every one of the Millennium Development Goals. – UN Secretary General Ban Ki-moon

Jeff Cumberbatch - Chairman of the FTC and Deputy Dean, Law Faculty, UWI, Cave Hill
Jeff Cumberbatch – Chairman of the FTC and Deputy Dean, Law Faculty, UWI, Cave Hill

It should be easy for most Barbadians to sympathize, or perhaps even empathize, with the plight of the residents of those local districts who have had to endure a regrettable lack of piped water to their homes in recent months. It certainly is no laughing matter when one is forced to endure the discomfort and displeasure of not being able to flush a toilet by a mere press of the plunger or unable to take a shower at the end of a long hot day. The โ€œbathe-upโ€ or standpipe baths and gatherings of bygone Barbados ought not to be an imperative for the contemporary taxpayer. To add insult to injury, it has been reported that bills, more than nominal in some cases, continue to be issued to these long-suffering individuals for water usage by the Barbados Water Authority.

It is equally easy, if one is so inclined, to use this unfortunate circumstance as an opportunity to bash the hapless administration in office and to classify its occurrence, as has been done by more than a few, as an example of poor governance, of poor leadership, an abdication of ministerial responsibility or a heady cocktail of all the above.

At one level, the state does bear ultimate responsibility if this โ€œessential serviceโ€ should not be supplied to all citizens without discrimination. According to several of the international conventions that we have ratified, ensuring the national supply of safe, potable water is an express state obligation. For example, under Article 24 (2)(c) of the Convention of the Rights of the Child (CRC), States parties are required to pursue full implementation of this right and, in particular, shall take appropriate measures: โ€ฆ (c) To combat disease and malnutrition, including within the framework of primary health care, through, inter alia, the provision of adequate nutritious foods and clean drinking water [Emphasis added].

And Article 14 (2) of the Convention for the Elimination of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW) mandates states parties to โ€œtake all appropriate measures to eliminate discrimination against women in rural areas to ensureโ€ฆto women the right: โ€ฆ [h] To enjoy adequate living conditions, particularly in relation to housing, sanitation, electricity and water supply, transport and communications.โ€ [Emphasis added]

Other conventions such as the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities and the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights also recognize the right to water as an international human right, obligating the state to ensure to its citizens the supply of sufficient, safe, acceptable, physically accessible and affordable water for personal and domestic uses.

At another level, however, the state may lawfully claim exemption from this obligation where the failure in supply is owed to circumstances such as an Act of God or nature (drought or endemic water scarcity); act or default of another for whom the state assumes no responsibility; or where the failure is otherwise exempted by law so that the claim to an absolute entitlement in any circumstance whatsoever does not arise.

So far as the first is concerned, it may very well be that this condition currently subsists, although the people from the affected districts would not be acting unreasonably to query why the onus of this drought should fall on them unequally.

Nor can the state fairly place the blame on the Barbados Water Authority that, although not constitutionally part of the Crown, bears practically a sufficiently subordinate role thereto as to be considered integrated into the state machinery.

It bears mention in this regard nevertheless, that much of the blame for the recent happenings has been placed on the inherently defective and ancient mains that are currently undergoing replacement. To the extent that this is an ongoing process stretching across the change of governing administrations, it would be clearly inequitable to place all the blame for the delayed achievement of this initiative on the current administration. The partisan ascription of blame, though perhaps electorally beneficial in future, does little to relieve the current insecurity of the affected citizens.

I accept that the figurative horse is well and truly out of the stable, and that from now until the elections bell is rung by the Prime Minister, most civic failings will be seen in a partisan light against the party that comprises the current administration. This is par for the course and, I suppose, those concerned who are far more knowledgeable than I am in these matters will seek to apply and to resist this onslaught as forcefully as may be practicable.

โ€œIt is clear that the solutions to the delivery of water and sanitation for all are fundamentally political in nature and not just technical. The need for opening the โ€œWater Tapโ€ for transparency, accountability and participation is vital as we face the rapid increase of urbanization and the frightening implications of climate change for our scarce water resources”-George, Nhlapo and Waldorf- โ€œThe politics of achieving the Right to waterโ€ (2011)

262 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – The Politics of Water Security”

1. Colonel Buggy September 20, 2016 at 4:40 PM #

John , have you traveled the route from the back of Castle Grant, by Lil island, parallel to the village of Suriname, down to Frizers Bridge, or branching off to Joes River. There were two natural mini-dams along this route,usually filled with cray fish , and were often used as swimming pools.

Been up and down that numerous times. Usually avoid Surinam and the top of Castle Grant Gully.

Some Tuesday or Thursday evenings a group of us would meet at St. Bernard’s school at 5:00 pm, walk down Mellowes hill, then up to St. Joseph’s Church, over Horse Hill and cross the Gully at Castle Grant, often in the dark depending on the time of year before walking back along the road past Chimborazo to our starting point around 7.00-7.30 pm.

You will probably find that the spring water was in use for people of St. Joseph for hundreds of years before BWA came into existence …. and, like the monkeys of today, no one “raided the community water tanks or harassed the water tanker”!!

The monkeys of today still get all the water they need.

Maybe, having viewed the clip, a politician will catch one, feed it some salt and follow it to the spring!!

I doubt though, too much bust to get through!!

Don’t tell the politicians about the spring because they will probably borrow a whole set of money from some overseas source and try to exploit it!!

Sometimes the spring runs dry and Joes River is dry as a bone. Same process as the underground streams that feed the St. John Valley and Sweet Vale, they only run when rainfall exceeds evapotranspiration.

All the way up the hill from Frizers is the sound of water travelling from the spring under Horse Hill to the Bridge at the bottom of Mellowes Hill and then into Joes River and the sea by Edgewater Hotel, under the old railway bridge.

Wonderful walk.

Used to be a main road and parts are still paved!!!

The gully coming out by Surinam is like the Gully in Bowling Alley, the cliff has over the years receded inland as land slips undermine it so both gullies look as though they have been chopped off.

The “New” parish church is now abandoned, lasted for just under 200 years before being replaced by the “New Brand” one with the heavy development which I am yet to visit and see for myself …. no history to attract me.

The “old” one also lasted about 200 years. This new one should last a lot longer. I can’t see the edge of the cliff receding as far back as the new development in any hurry.

There was actually a Mellowes family that owned Mellowes Plantation just uphill from Frizers but the plantation was known as Bully Tree Hall, still the name of what used to be the field belonging to Frizers which butted and bounded Mellowes … or Bully Tree Hall as it was originally known.

The Frizer, perhaps Frazer, family only came into the valley around 1732, before that the plantation was owned by the early Gollop family.

2. Colonel Buggy September 20, 2016 at 5:17 PM #

In that same Castle Grant Gully ,somewhere off mid Branch Bury, is a crack in the gully eastern wall which forms a ramp way ,which allows you to reach the top of the gully directly opposite the cart road to the entrance of Grantley Adams school. This was a welcome short cut, for persons of average size. This passage way was known as โ€˜The Crackโ€.

If you look at the entrance to the gully through the cartroad you will see the cartroad is actually a water course, run off from the field into the gully.

In the bottom of the gully are caves with impressive stalactites and stalagmites on either sides of the gully.

The way the field runs into the gully I suspect is connected with the caves and underground cave ins which spread to the field … actually, towards the new development and New Brand church.

The entrance to the gully through the cartroad is narrow but a vehicle could pass.

It is the western side that would cause the name of the Crack to arise. The way up there is narrow and you have to do some climbing.

Normally our route across through the cartroad is once in the bottom, walk and come out by Castle Grant.

Going up through the crack in the western wall is dangerous and would be doubly so in the dark.

3. Colonel, you and John making me homesick. I used to walk, the Joes River gully from Edgewater right up to the old factory and the gully that comes down from the hill over St. Elizabeth village which comes out near Powell Spring and Round House. There is another gully near the bus terminal that does not go far up the hill. I am not sure if it is a separate spring or a branch from the one the comes out by Powell Spring. caught plenty crayfish in all. The ones in the big gully are now the size of lobsters. no one fishes and eat them anymore. Here they call them ‘giant tiger shrimps’ and want to charge $14 a pound. so they trick people and sell 300 grams for $10.99. lol.

4. He I am in this cyberspace maze, walking through places i have never visited led by men like Colonel Buggy and John.

They are both without colour to my cyber eyes but as they speak one becomes aware that there is a bubbling gurgling font of knowledge of the Pathway to Water that, in 30 years, may possibly be gone? forever.

When I first started these Stoopid Cartoons I will share that the process of seeing what the final outcome was easy, word association, a real no brainer.

What was hard as my girlfriend Dearest Suzanne has shared with us all, is the tools to bridge what is in your head to the world.

So I spent time searching for the precise tool to achieve all of the required “outcomes”

That is what one does with any assignment, sometimes the research is achieved in weeks, sometimes months, or sometimes years, but when one is finished, the outcome is based on the very best input and constituent elements available (at that point in time. And with technological advancements one can always improve on the output)

These two gentlemen can be likened to soldiers, they and others here who are proposing solutions to this problem, but I have single out these two, men who have walked these watering holes, and their expertise shines through, in no small way.

They present, for dis ole man, the equivalent to the raw assets or the research upon which the final product that we are collectively? seeking, a viable water source, storage, and dissemination strategy should be based.

This is an embodiment of the Wisdom of the Ancients (no insult intended)

Nonetheless, the two of you can be assured that the wufless bembers that are in charge of our water strategy even though they come here and read BU every day WILL NOT LISTEN TO EITHER OF YOU

Because wunna have committed the cardinal sins of posting wunna unbiased opinions on Barbados Underground.

Have no fear gents, when the others get in power, dem gine close down all these social media things that because of men like you make them look real stupid.

Look how wunna give sound geological discourses and ent get de 200K cunsultancy dat Pittdog give to Savadash and party. Looka leh de ole man hush do.

5. When Barbados was a bushless country, it was a spectacle to stand on top of Bissex Hill , outside of the District F Police Station, and observe the many streams glistening and snaking their ways from Castle Grant to the Joes River , Back Gate Bridge.

6. THOSE OF US WHO GREW UP IN “TOWN” IN THE DAYS WHEN TRANSPORTATION WAS NOT SO AVAILABLE CLEARLY MISSED A LOT ABOUT OUR COUNTRY SIDE.

I WENT ON THE SUNDAY WALKS FOR 4 YEARS AND LEARNED A LOT FROM THE LATE DR COLIN HUDSON WHO LOVED TO TAKE US THROUGH THE GULLIES

ONE REMEMBERS JOHN K WITH HIS WHITISH HAT AND UBIQUITOUS SMILE LEADING THE “HERE AND THERE ” GROUP. I TRUNDLED ALONG WITH THE”STOP AND STARE” GROUP and actually led a few times.

7. I find the submissions of the Colonel and John enlightening.Mum was a Josephine and the thrills of her growing up in Horse Hill and Surinam never dimmed.I always heard of Coffee Gully, Tamarind Hall and McCullough’s bridge,the dispensary and a Mr Durant.The story of a boy who placed cow dung in an envelope and placed it in the offering plate at the parish church.The rector invited the boy to come forward and confess,to no avail.The outcome according to anecdotal evidence was that the boy riding a bike down the hill,fell at the entrance to the church and broke his hand,the same hand he used to put the dung in the envelope.Fruit,vegetables and cow’s milk appear to have been in abundance in the district.

8. Another source of water in St Joseph was in Chimborazzo, just down to the east from Chimborazzo great house. One of these springs ran from the mainroad, near Todds Hill, flowing south along a cartroad. Down in this cartroad is a 4 -sided concrete structure,which used to provide water in those days before the stand pipe,and for a time was mistaken, by some residents as a garbage tip. The level of the water kept rising in this open concrete tank, but never to the extent to cause it to overflow. From there, a spring fed an area known as Gilmond, which was full of the “moses” type bull rush plants, that thrive on a constant supply of water. This spring continued under the road in Braggs Gully, and somewhere in this gully it went underground, probably emerging in the Clifton area via the Russia Gully.

@ Gabriel, that man with the cow dung in the envelope,was a relative of mine.

9. A guy call in the other day suggesting to the BWA to reopen some of those stand pipe which were blocked off, and chances are, most of them will issue water.
    60 years ago, minus 1 day, when Hurricane Janet struck, many of the communities supplied by the Castle Grant Reservoir were without a supply. Many of the stand pipes in the low lying communities fed directly from Golden Ridge , however were not affected. One such stand pipe was in the bottom of Airy Hill (St Joseph) just opposite the entrance to the St Anns Vicarage. This provided many of the residents with a constant supply of water. As the caller suggested, if the BWA were to reactive this stand pipe and others, similarly situated, they may provide some relief.

10. I recall being in England in 1975 during one of the worst droughts in history. During that period we left the UK to be part of a military exercise on the Continent. As our ship approached the Port of Esborg in Denmark, many of us were surprised moments later , to discover that what we thought were green painted walls, was actually lawn grass. After the dust and dryness of Southern England, we had completely forgotten what green plants and grass looked like.
    Thank God we have not reached that stage in Barbados.

11. Some water sources in St Joseph

Photo # 1. Mellows /Frizers
    Photo # 2. Laynes Bridge , near Sugar Hill.
    http://i.imgur.com/Sunhts9.jpg?1
    http://i.imgur.com/9aUeUrz.jpg?1

12. “AT A TIME when St Joseph residents are crying out over dry taps, a Barbados Water Authority (BWA) reservoir has been leaking for six months”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/87172/bwa-water-wasting-st-philip#sthash.tcEPzHYR.dpuf

“Over 50 residents faced the Fair Trading Commission (FTC) recently to discuss standards applicable to the BWA”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/87131/water-woes-overflow-ftc-meeting#sthash.EHSB5kPt.dpuf

13. Mellowes and Frizers featured in Mum’s memory of growing up in Horse Hill/Surinam.She spoke of oxen or horses bringing th sugar from Joes River factory to the top of Horse Hill to be transferred to trucks for carriage to Bridgetown for export.Also of Cattlewash being so named owing to cattle taken to the seaside for for a ‘cow bath’.Maybe that type of wash up was what gave rise to the name ladies refer to as a ‘cowboy’.With names supplied Mum would refer to a particular resident a poor white,whose kitchen was outside and as she put the dumplings in the soup would make sure she got the correct amount by name…..one for Effie,one for Johnny,one for Millie,one for Becky etc.This resident was a relative of a well known churchman.

14. There was an interesting intervention from Lindo of the BWA to talk radio. What the moderator did not have him clarify is if they realize there was a drought from early in the year why was there not aggressive contingency measures taken earlier.

15. I also heard Lindo, side shifting, with his claim that Vineyard Reservoir is not hooked up to BWA’s SCADA electronic monitoring system, and therefore they would not have known that this reservoir was leaking or overfilling, or words to that effect. What ever happened to the Mark 1 Eyeball. I would hate to think that the only contact that BWA’S has with its reservoirs is a piece of electronic equipment which is only concerned with the levels and pressure of the water,and not so much with security.
    If I am not mistaken a brand new 12 inch Plus main from Groves in St Philip supposedly to Ben Springs in St John , passes within yards of this reservoir.

16. Perhaps our water problems will be quickly resolved,since we now appear to have two Ministers of Water Resources. One which we cannot hear an encouraging word from, and the other ,Dennis Kellman who has taken to the call-in shows, to cover his colleague’s arse.

17. I did not hear the entire Lindo interaction with the pussy who continues to ammmm and butt
    bout the moderator’s supposed role.From Lindo’s first 15 secs I picked up his defensive attitude,and I am sorry an appointment prevented me from hearing the entire interaction.I heard as far as the beginning of the Vineyard well and he gave me the impression that whereas I among John public saw this matter in the print media since last week,Lindo was hedging behind a piece of equipment that was meant to save him having to go to Vineyard.With all this talk about water and this JA could not speak authoritively on the Vineyard water spillage.The retard of Sen Lucy suggests the water isn’t wasted,it was going back into the aquifers.What stupidity.The lack of service to the people of St Joseph means nothing.It’s going back into the aquifer.Problem solved.

18. @Gabriel.That was at a time when Horse Hill was a Bull Cow of a hill , before the other COW neutered it.
    At one time there were a series of grooves, cut across the width of this steep hill . This we were told,were to give the horses and oxen a good foot grip when pulling loads over the hill.
    After Joes River factory closed, the plantation had some small articulated trucks, known as Bedford-Scammels,which were death traps. Only the brave of the most desperate would take a job driving one of these accident prone scammels.

19. millertheannunaki Avatar

@ Gabriel September 21, 2016 at 5:16 PM
    โ€œLindo was hedging behind a piece of equipment that was meant to save him having to go to Vineyard.With all this talk about water and this JA could not speak authoritively on the Vineyard water spillage.The retard of Sen Lucy suggests the water isnโ€™t wasted,it was going back into the aquifers.What stupidity.The lack of service to the people of St Joseph means nothing.Itโ€™s going back into the aquifer.Problem solved.โ€

But you must admit the same retard of Sen Lucy would make a better โ€˜engagingโ€ PM than his Stratospheric Sesquipedalian boss even if a roll of gobbledygook incoherent bullshit constantly emanates from his โ€˜sick-nigger-backsideโ€™ watery mouth.

What both Lindo and his de facto PR man from โ€œSen Lucyโ€ (with peripatetic responsibility for all ministries, departments and sectors of government) need to address is the fact that all those problems being experienced by the water consumers in respect of water management of a scarce but vital resource have been identified long, long time ago in study after study, consultancy after consultancy and in costly report after more costly report.

Why not get back to basics and fix the burst mains as a first response priority and leave the ending of the drought or praying for the coming of the rains to the Bajan god, Mother Nature or even an โ€˜Indianโ€™ rain dancer from Kensington New Road?

When is the management of the BWA going to establish as part of its mandate an immediate response unit to fix all emergency calls to report a burst pipe (water wastage) within 24 hours as in as is the case of an accident or crime?

Canโ€™t such a unit be outsourced to independent plumbing contractors as is the case with insurance companies with their road accidents rapid response teams?

The BL&P does it in respect of electricity. Why canโ€™t the BWA which is charged with the management of a more vital resource? Is it waiting for a full dose of privatization before the BWA can see the light of becoming the Barbados Water management Inc (2018).

20. I was amazed by Minister Kellman’s statement on VOB today that the water that is leaking at Vineyard is not being wasted because it is going back into the aquifers.

Hello Minister.

The water being wasted at Vineyard is water that has been expensively processed and treated.

It is wrong to waste water that has been expensively treated using the tax payers money.

Today I wondered if the Minister Kellman is an idiot.

Or if Minister Kellman thinks that we the people are idiots.

21. SS
    Yes there is a serious cost to pump and purify that wasted water, that’s now affecting the farmer’s bottom line.But more than that,while there is an over supply at Vineyard, the acting engineer Mr Lindo does not have a solution to redirect that overflow into any of the existing aquifers.There are challenges.They can be resolved by the management of the BWA.

22. Simple Simon September 22, 2016 at 12:11 AM #

I was amazed by Minister Kellmanโ€™s statement on VOB today that the water that is leaking at Vineyard is not being wasted because it is going back into the aquifers.

Hello Minister.

The water being wasted at Vineyard is water that has been expensively processed and treated.

It is wrong to waste water that has been expensively treated using the tax payers money.

Or if Minister Kellman thinks that we the people are idiots.

There are no public water supply wells between Vineyard and the sea so any water leaking at Vineyard heads for the sea, underground.

Hampton pumping station is many miles away, but …… in the wrong direction … inland!!

If the leak is big enough to create surface flow, the water will join the streams beginning at Three Houses and some may get used in agriculture, … or the pond at East Point.

23. @ the Sage Annunaki & Bajans

I borrowed your words and appended the poster concept inspired by Bajans

Thanks to you both

http://imgur.com/a/l6MRB

24. One of these days soon, Bajans will espouse the view expressed that like the Pyramids of Egypt which were built by extra terrestrials the exploitation of water in the Scotland District was not done by Bajans, but by extra terrestrials who arrived in space ships and showed them how.

Colonel, do you remember Frizers Sugar Factory ever operating with steam boilers …. fed from the spring in Horse Hill perhaps?

It was before my time and I am assuming Bajans once could get that done!!

… or for that matter Swann Factory, Haggatts or Newcastle using water from the streams of water passing them to feed their boilers?

I see from early maps that there was a steam plant in 1859 at Baxters as well!!!

Like the Pyramids of Egypt one day Bajans will pass and remark, it must have been extra terrestrials!!

Given the monkey mentality that pervades the thinking in Barbados from the top down, ET’s can be the only explanation!!

25. DLP, BLP … doesn’t matter, same monkeys!!

26. @ Simple Simon
    Is sugar sweet….?

27. Anonymouse - The Gazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – The Gazer

Kellman may or may not be an idiot, but his statement shows that he believes a large segment of the population is full of idiots (or just yard-fowls). It take a high level of arrogance to gloss over gross incompetence.

28. @ The Gazer
    Man what arrogance what??!!
    Kellman is not arrogant, …his is a clear case of crass ignorance and stupidity.

The man is clueless, tactless, hopeless and useless.
    No wonder he is the longest serving DLP politician – he is ideally representative of Bajan brass bowls ….and serves as an excellent role model for his parliamentary colleagues….

What does it tell you that we keep re-electing a jackass…?

29. Back in 2008 I hoped Kellman might have been a beacon given he was a shopkeeper and in business and could show the rest of jokers the way.

Man, was I wrong!!

30. @ john
    Shop keeping is not a ‘business’…
    It is an assigned duty. Buying some shiite for X and selling for Y.
    It requires a herculean effort to defy success…

Kellman is a case of a fellow with one talent who have extrapolated himself extensively into other areas of total incompetence – with the full confidence that comes with total ignorance.

But you have been REAL right about our water issues though…. Bushie is humbled …and almost regrets our previous cussouts…. ๐Ÿ™‚ – almost, but not quite…

31. @John ,Frizers was long gone before I made my entrance. But I do remember seeing parts of an old mill in Mellows yard.

32. Anonymouse - The Gazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – The Gazer

Colonel…. Kids will be looking at that thingamajig and wondering what it is….
    kewl video game controller

33. I’ll have to do some digging on Frizers as it is now beginning to interest me.

I remember walking down Mellowes Hill and seeing an older man on his gallery who I asked if he knew the whereabouts of “Old Castle”!!

He instinctively pointed and then looked at me as much as to say “how you know bout dat?”

Old Castle was the name of a field belonging to Frizers Plantation up the hill from the old parish Church, below Joe’s River.

Turns out he was the superintendent at Frizers when it worked.

Old Castle is referred to in burials from the 1600’s!!

… and yes, I had it confirmed to me that human remains were found when ploughing I think by the owner, but that could also have been around the old Church.

I remember also someone pointing out to me a place called Content in the same area as Old Castle.

I need to go back to my source, if he is still living and ask about the Steam Plant at Frizers.

Frizers was one of the numerous Haynes properties in the 1800’s and probably into the early 1900’s.

They “started” at New Castle in St. John and the price rises in sugar after the Haitian economy was destroyed in 1791 gave them the werewithal to expand which they did.

34. @John.
    The area you mentioned went out of sugar production many years ago, but from many official reports another more lucrative and fiercely protected crop may be lurking in those tall bushes. Mind how you go.

35. When we read what has transpired at Vineyard, where millions of gallons of water were allowed ” to go back into the aquifers” ,we must surely ask ourselves if we are really celebrating 50 years of independence or Minus 50 years ,as we certainly seem to have regressed to the 1916 era.
    The accompanying photo shows an aqueduct , still in place at Castle Grant Reservoir, which was used to channel the reservoir overflow water cascaded downhill into a field below. Back in the early 1960’s the overflow pipe, which fed this aqueduct , was married into a distribution main coming out of the reservoir, thus saving thousands of gallons of water.
    And these fellows who ran the reservoirs and made these recommendations, never knew what a university was.
    http://i.imgur.com/wCHmdEu.jpg?1

36. “…over flow water which cascaded……….”

37. JOHN and BUGGY
    KEEP GOING
    YOU GUY NEED TO WRITE THESE THINGS DOWN FOR POSTERITY

BUGGY IS TALKING ABOUT AN AREA WHERE HE LIVED AND PLAYED
    JOHN IS TALKING ABOUT WHAT HE HAS LEARNED BY READING AND DOING THE WALKS
    FASCINATING

NICE TO SEE SOMETHING OF INTEREST AND SOMETHING THAT IS NOT BASHING FOR A CHANGE BY MEN WHO KNOW WHAT THEY ARE TALKING ABOUT
    signed “insufferable ass”

38. Frizers went to steam in 1878.

The Haynes family bought it in 1825 but sold it in 1854.

The steam plant was 15 HP!!!

It replaced two wind mills each of which was rated by Colin Hudson at less than 5HP, a lawn mower.

The difference was the steam plant could work 24/7 in crop as required but the wind mills depended on the weather.

As their abilities progressed steam factories became self sufficient in both the supply of water (brought in the canes) and source of energy to create steam (megasse, also brought in the cane).

No intervention from extra terrestrials was required. Barbadians, of all colours and stations in life figured it out together.

I am going to show the ownership of Frizers back to earliest times from the Queree papers.

Mr. Queree was a math teacher at HC before my time. He and Ronnie Hughes teamed up in the research of plantation ownership and much of their work is at the Archives in handwritten form.

More recently, Richard Goddard instigated its “digitization” so here follows how Frizers changed hands over time.

Again, it wasn’t necessary for extra terrestrials to intervene to produce this record.

There are a few things to notice from the research and work of these strictly terrestrial beings!!

In the “beginning” the Frizers Valley was made up of several small plantations. Part of Joes River was owned by the Holder family, part by the Joy family and that is why Joy Hill is called Joy Hill.
    My research reveals the owners were all Quakers. John Joy was a Quaker who followed George Fox to America. Google the names and you will find his claim to fame!!
    This explains the burials at Old Castle and the Waterman Vault (Springfield). I suspect in both instances Quaker and slave were buried side by side. Henry (?) Gollop attended the Quaker meeting at the Spring.
    In really early times, sugar was never profitable as it was made out to be by our historians and politicians. Frizers, like many other plantations big and small routinely appeared in the Court of Chancery for debts.
    I believe Barbados was a retreat from religious persecution the Quakers bore. Their values are stamped all over in Barbados in the names they chose.

Hope for hope in the Resurrection
    Content for the contentment that follows
    Harmony
    Union
    Friendship
    etc etc etc.

Anyone want to hazard a guess as to why there are so many Rocks all over Barbados?

Rock Halls in abundance
    Collymore Rock
    Coles Rock
    Goddard’s Rock
    Massiah’s Rock
    Clarke’s Rock

Doesn’t need an extra terrestrial to figure it out!!

39. Frizers, St. Joseph
    1674 Davis & Gallop (originally 2 separate pltns, joined sometime in early 19th Century)

1680 John Davis, 340 ac, St. Joseph. Henry Gallop, 138 ac, St. Joseph
    1721 Davis and Gallop
    1721 85/114 Marriage settlement. Hon. John Gallop of St. Joseph marrying Elizabeth Jones, daughter of WilliamJones of St. Joseph. John Gallopโ€™s pltn, 130 ac, St. Joseph, 70 slaves
    Bounders: (E) John Davis, Joseph Thorne, part of Joeโ€™s River?, (W) John Gallop, Humphrey Murrain, John Foot (N) John Waterman, John Frizer, Aaron Olton, (S) John Davis

1730 78/8 John Davis sells to Dr. William Frizer of st. Michael, ยฃ6000, 140 ac, St. Joseph, 46 slaves
    Bounders: (E) Col. Joseph Thorne, part of Joeโ€™s River?, (N) Col. John Gallop, (W) William Forbes (Mellowes), (S) John Wood

1730 83/115 In 1721 John Davis of St. Joseph gave a mortgage to Edward Jordan of St. Michael for ยฃ353 recurred on Davisโ€™ pltn, 180 ac, St. Joseph. Court levy for debt. Land appraised at ยฃ20-10-0 (per ac?), Buildings appraised at ยฃ500
    Bounders: William Forbes (Mellowes), Col. John Gallop (Frizers), Col. Joseph Thorne, John Wood
    4 ac and buildings purchased by William and Elizabeth Frizer
    1733 84/4 Appraisal of part of Frizerโ€™s pltn: 85 ac @ ยฃ22 per ac, Dwelling house ยฃ800, boiling house ยฃ600

1756 119/158 Elizabeth Frizer owned 140 ac pltn in St. Joseph.
    Col. John Davis was owner prior to Dr. William Frizer who purchased the pltn in 1730, died and bequeathed it to his wife in the same year. Eliabeth Frizer in her will laid certain perpetual charged in the pltn โ€“ to support organist and choir of both St. Michael and St. Joseph. Subject to these charges she bequeathed pltn in equal shares to Hon. Thomas Harrison, Rev. Edward Brace and Rev. William Duke. Quarrels between these 3 legatees and later between Brace, Duke and John Harrison, son and heir of Thomas Harrison resulted in Chancery Court proceedings in 1753. Land appraised at ยฃ35 per ac and highest valued slave @ ยฃ65. John Harrison bought the pltn at the Chancery Court auction sale in 1753 for ยฃ7875. John Harrison died in 1756 and his executors now sell pltn and three adjoining parcels of land of unstated size called Thorneโ€™s, Summerโ€™s and Alleyneโ€™s to Tohmas Walker of London for ยฃ11,375

1762 RB1/129/139
    In 1750, Hon. John Gallop now decโ€™d, became indebted to Henry Lascelles, now decโ€™d in the amount of ยฃ4500. John Gallop bequeathed pltn to son Thomas William Gallop, 178 ac, St. Joseph, 80 slaves
    Bounders: Joseph Thorne, part of Joeโ€™s River?, Elizabeth Frizer decโ€™d (Frizers) John Alder, decโ€™d, William Perry (Springfield), Benjamin Mellowes (Mellowes)
    Plantation now sold or debt assigned (?) to William Henry, George Hogshard, Philip Gibbes, snr, Philip Gibbes, jnr, of St. Peter

1782 Will 36/411
    Thomas Walker of Soho Square, London, England bequeaths pltn in St. Joseph to wife Elizabeth Walker

1787 RB7/44/250
    Power of Attoeney: Elizabeth Walker of London, England widow appoints Henry Evans Holder and Henry Evans Alleyne Holder, both of Bโ€™dos, as her attorneys to manage โ€œFrizersโ€ pltn in St. Joseph

1802 219/145 William Billers of Middlesex, England sells pltn, formerly the property of Elizabeth Frizer, decโ€™d, and subject to perpetual charges ordered in Elizabeth Frizerโ€™s will for ยฃ12,000 sterling to James Crichlow Trotman and Alexander Walrond, 250 ac, St. Joseph, 92 slaves
    Bounders: Edmund Haynes, Joes River pltn, Richard Farmer, Mellowes pltn, Martin;s old works, Thomas Morris, George Barclay, Castle Grant pltn, the properto of Charles Brandford decโ€™d

1825 Robert James Haynes (Frasers)
    1838 296/61 Lease by Robert James Haynes of St. Joseph to Francis Hedgbinson of St. George and Nathaniel Jones Pile of St. Peter and Francis King of St. Joseph for ยฃ2000 sterling per year, 444 ac
    Bounders: Joes River, Vaughanโ€™s, Springfield, Castle Grant, Mellowes pltn, Henry Todd

N.B.: Increased acreage 1802โ€“38 due to incorporation of Gallopโ€™s โ€“ BMHS 38:224
    1842โ€“54 Robert J. Haynes (โ€™48 decโ€™d) 444
    1853 Nov 10 BMHS xxi 198
    1854 Jan 7 BMHS xxii 30 โ€“ For sale, property of late Robert James Haynes 444
    1856 Jan 12 BMHS xxiii 196 44
    1856 Shilstone xxii 8 () Pur.: r. Smith ยฃ18,000 404
    1858 Two mills
    1858โ€“9 Richard H. Smith (414 in โ€™59 โ€“ Loss to Vaughnโ€™s?) 444
    1858 Shilstone xxxv, Shilstone xxii 11 (
    ) Pur.: from Smith by Woodroffe โ€“ Smith took Sherbourne in part payment for ยฃ2000 and took off 40 ac added to Vaughan โ€“ Total price ยฃ22,500 โ€“ Smith originally paid ยฃ17,000

1860โ€“66 Woodroffe & Mayers 404
    1867 Drilling for oil BMHS 32:110, 115, 127, 161
    1868 Shilstone xxii 21 () Appr. ยฃ12,300 404
    1868 Chancery Court Haynes et al v Woodroffe et al
    1869 Shilstone xxii 22 (
    ) Pur.: Best ยฃ19,000 404
    Shilstone xxii 173 โ€“ Jno. A. Best statement of liens
    1868โ€“9 Chancery Court Colonial Co Ltd v Woodroffe et al
    1870โ€“1 John A. Best
    1871 Chancery Court Osbrue et al v Best
    1877โ€“9 Chancery Court Lynch v Best
    1878 Shilstone xxii 27 (___) & 20 โ€“ Pur.: Gibbs & Bright ยฃ20,150 (App: ยฃ18,000) 404

1878 Steam
    1879โ€“1903 Nathanial Forte 404
    1880 15 HP
    1880 Absentee
    1904 9 Dec Pur.: Miss W.T. Wood ยฃ5000 404
    1905โ€“07 Mrs. Hart Wood 404
    1912โ€“21 Trustees W.J. Wood decโ€™d 404
    1929โ€“35 Trustees E.G.H. Wood 404
    1937 Est. of E.G.H. Wood et al 404
    1951 Joes River Ltd
    1957/8 Joes River Est. Ltd

40. PUBLIC SERVICE NOTICE FOR BU READERS.

Water tanker schedule in effect from today.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/87283/water-tanker-schedule-effect

41. Passed by Castle Grant yesterday, took a fleeting glance at a nearby sign, which has for sale a number of acres of tropical forest, ie Castle Grant Gully/Little island
    http://i.imgur.com/D5tB5vg.jpg?1

42. Little Island, St. Joseph โ€“ W. of Horse Hill
    Jan 22 1840 BMHS viii 176 โ€“ For Sale, attached from A.R. Henley, app. ยฃ3240 20
    1842โ€“54 James A. Garner 20
    1858, 9 Israel M. Nowell (20 in โ€™58) 23
    1860โ€“63 R.F. Hoppin 23
    1865โ€“1907 W.T. Armstrong (23 from โ€™65โ€“โ€™71) 20
    1901 Wind
    1912โ€“14 G.Oโ€™D. Walton 1(7)
    1921 E.T. Cox 1(7)
    To Castle Grant?

Looks like there was a windmill there too!!

43. No windmill there. Those are tight vines on the extreme left of the picture, angled like a frame.
    Lil Island village was on a cliff in centre of photo. A well used stand pipe was down below the village to the entrance of Castle Grant Gully. Another source of water found in this area were the numerous coconut trees,which in later years, were hacked down by the thieving coconut vendors, who could not be bothered to climb them.

44. John September 23, 2016 at 3:36 PM #

1858, 9 Israel M. Nowell (20 in โ€™58) 23
    …………………………………………………………….
    Remembered a Nowell (Blue Beard) who used to own Bushy Park Plantation in St Thomas. There was also a Nowell family living in Sugar Hill,probably descendants of this Nowell, as they lived in what could have been described as an old plantation coral stone house. One of the sister taught mainly Spanish, at the then West St Joseph school . (Remember her bajans?)

45. John September 23, 2016 at 3:36 PM #

1921 E.T. Cox 1(7)
    To Castle Grant?
    ………………………………………………………………………..
    Eddie Cox, believed to have fathered some 60 children.

46. David

I understand that relief is underway for St. Joseph residents. I have been reliably informed that two water tankers, consigned to Innotech are already on the island and a further six have already been ordered and might even be on the high seas.

I am also told that this is another no-bid contract.