education

The aim of education should be to teach us rather how to think, than what to think — rather to improve our minds, so as to enable us to think for ourselves, than to load the memory with thoughts of other men.

– Bill Beattie (18th Century Scottish physician and poet).

There appears to be pockets of acceptance in Barbados that education, broadly defined, has been a key agent of personal and national development. This sentiment is manifested both at the micro and macro levels of the society. Beginning in the 1950s with Cabinet Government under Premier Grantley Adams and the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) and, continuing through most of the last 50 years, Barbados saw the expansion of basic primary and secondary education, and the growth of tertiary and vocational education.

Education has proven to be the springboard for the development of human capacity in Barbados. Barbadians rightfully place a premium on education as a liberator, empowerment tool, and vehicle for upward social mobility. From the cane-fields to the boardrooms, and from the butchers’ stalls to the classrooms, a skilled workforce emerged, thereby, contributing to the modernisation process in Barbados. Progressively, education allowed for the exercise of personal freedom to be better expressed in a social democratic society.

Incidentally, Barbados’ Ambassador to CARICOM Robert ‘Bobby’ Morris, who is a Democratic Labour Party (DLP) stalwart, former trade union representative, and historian recently contends that “education is the most important thing we [Barbadians] have to focus on in the next 50 years as it has been our main focus for the past 50 years.” This assertion should be a wake-up call for some in our midst.

New enrolment at the University of the West Indies is not encouraging. There is a perilous drop since the ‘desperate’ but ill-conceived turn which saw the provision of ‘free’ tertiary education for our nation’s people being stopped. Affordability is now a cause for major concern and it is very likely that many of our youth could become lost. The country’s education system is at this time in need of vital reforms and transitions for the next stage of development. The work to be done must be implemented with the type of innovations and pragmatism necessary for progressing Barbados through the next 50 years as Ambassador Morris would have suggested.

Some of the political elites have kicked away the socio-economic ladder upon which Barbadians made good their escapes from the bowels of poverty and the belly of want. How could a political party be so backward and devoid of ingenuity to prefer abandoning the project of ‘free’ tertiary education, particularly, when the outcome of education can be used to rekindle economic growth? Did the DLP not envision that free education can be fittingly deployed as a market lever or economic tool with the means to improve economic growth and mitigate increasing poverty? Dr. David Browne, only a few years ago, assuredly stated that: “Free education provided the mechanism by which hundreds of families got on the social escalator out of poverty to economic progress and enfranchisement.”

The fact is that Barbados experienced virtual stagnation and very minimal economic growth over the last eight years. Hence, it is incomprehensible why the DLP government under Prime Minister Freundel Stuart would fail the population by pulling the education mat from under the poor? Today’s youth and the underemployed rely on ‘free’ education for their escape from deviance. It becomes more reprehensible that the very DLP government could have in 2014 so savagely ripped the heart out of our youth and gutted life-long learners wanting to access ‘free’ tertiary education. The current DLP alarmingly displays lack of empathetic appreciation for Barbados’ history of social and economic development.

As a maturing nation, Barbadians ought not to remain preoccupied with who will pay for the delivery of quality free education, and who must benefit as a result of the national sacrifices, without fully exploring all possible options. The DLP’s focus remain blinded by the contaminated thinking that has also done damage to the very idea of higher education being instrumental for achieving economic growth and bringing prosperity to all. Stuart’s deafening silence and abject refusal to present a clear vision for Barbados happens to be the obscurity not allowing visibility beyond the permissible term limit.

Certainly, and up to at least 2013, education was understood across the political divide as making a necessary contribution, in concert with other factors, to the success of national efforts to boost productivity, competitiveness and economic growth. Education has been paramount in setting the framework for civility and stability within Barbados, creating access and opportunities for a population emerging out of the grips of colonial exploitation and underdevelopment.

Education policies since Barbados attained independence in 1966 were driven by leadership that was cognisant of the island’s limitations, but aware of the enormous benefits that could be reaped from having a universally educated society. Persons like the Right Excellent Errol Barrow, ‘Tom’ Adams, and Owen Arthur among others were confident that investments in human capital would become even more important, as Barbados lifted the entirety of its population. Education plies to the societal development of capability and is readily relished when there is the gravitas of people empowerment.

Access to free education has, through its various avenues, reduced the incidence of poverty and fostered prosperity in Barbados. The imposition of tuition fees placed a roadblock before the potential students and their struggling parents. The DLP’s implementation of tuition fees, coming during a period when the country was already gasping under several austerity measures, is proving counterproductive.

Why would the political elites close their eyes to facts, and be adamant that the government must mercilessly bleed the society with taxes while abandoning the free education project? The rash impulses by a fumbling DLP, known to be critical of opponents and blind to the potential gains of education, will no doubt cloud out the voices of the advocates. This crop of policymakers and technocrats will remain dismissive of the investment, seeing only the financial and social costs which they readily insist are burdens on the treasury.

No one doubts that financing tertiary education is expensive and rising; but Barbados has been willing to make the huge sacrifices at the personal and societal levels. The discussion must step outside the hallways of economic formulae and the constraints of accountants’ numbers. By way of history and something that we ought to be proud, the provision of ‘free education’ in Barbados overturned the colonial order. Education would have largely benefited the wealthy and privileged – defined not only by money but by race – prior to the likes of National Heroes Adams and Barrow.

Barbados has come a long way since independence, although it now seems that the country is stuck in reverse gear. For the most part of the last 50 years, increasing demand by potential students and private sector employers as well as successive governments for tertiary education graduates was a sure indicator that education does play a major role in effecting national development.

Sadly, the Prime Minister and Cabinet demonstrated little innovation; they announced rhetorical promises built around delayed bursaries. They rolled back years of national advance while manifesting the DLP’s antithetical stance to the fact that education remains the key for growth and rebuilding Barbados. It is crucial that ‘free’ education must once again occupy a central role in any new administration governing Barbados’ national development.

Barbadians can draw direct inference in terms of investment and sacrifice from the virtue of acquiring a quality education. Perhaps, now is the time for revisiting the nation’s collective notions on free education. Barbadians should make the necessary sacrifices so that our returns on investments are palatable to the paying society. Importantly, Barbados ought to recommit to the craft of shaping a thinking society. What inherently matters is not class, status, race, gender, or even the height of educational attainment, but the capacity to have an overwhelming majority of the population that can think and have fair accessibility to higher education.

(Dr. George C. Brathwaite is a researcher and political consultant, and up until recently, he was editor of Caribbean Times (Antigua). Email: brathwaitegc@gmail.com )

84 responses to “The George Brathwaite Column – Investing in Education”

1. @ Brother Bush Tea

You play you ent know how wunna BU peeple does wait fuh a feller heah and leh he write INGRUNCE and when de feller return to he pup, den wash he way in Chatterati blows???

Whu Looka Whu wunna do wid dat feller from de Drug Place Danny Gill.

And Looka Whu wunna do wid dat feller Walther PPK and he trembling tenderonis?

Wunna tink dat man want he credentials as a researcher and political strategist to be ripped apart here pun BU?

He article may show he to be a real fool one way but he ent so foolish to rush and defend de pup and conclusively be proven to be Ingrunt

“He who pups (fights) and runs away lives to pup (fight) another day” á la George C Brathwaite He may got Adriel last name but he ent no Dimwit like we Attorney General

2. While I do not wish to focus solely on the tertiary level aspects of out education system there are some issues that are worth additional mention.

I claim no Genesis for this particular observation insofar as pertinent “training for purpose” is definitively linked to the economic value chain.

For any university read education system to contribute to economic development in any meaningful way it perforce must have close adaptable links to current initiatives, service industries, manufacturers and employers”

Any other strategy translates into educational flagellation in a public place because such means that the University would only be investing in and graduating students for whom there is little or no purpose” other that that of carnival bands for the Minister lil Caesar Lashley to wuk up on during his national, and only, pass time 😜

Cum leh we wuk up and have a good time

3. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

We need to understand that education is not what it used to be. This is firstly because any procedure which can be reduced to a sequence of instructions will be done by software more reliably, quickly and cheaply than any human can accomplish. There is simply no longer any point to educating people to follow instructions.

Secondly, it is now quite ridiculous to educate people in order to stuff their memory with information. They have a WiFi connection which gives them immediate access to more information than any human can fit in their cranium.

What then, should education do in our contemporary society? It should help people to do what computers and the internet cannot. It should enhance creativity: the process of generating new ideas which other people agree have value. It should develop judgement: the skill of sorting through oceans of information to decide which is true and which is important (these are not the same).

Notice that any educational model which relies on authority cannot possibly accomplish any of these necessary tasks. Fearless imagination, deep skepticism, and critical thinking are the skills that we need to carefully develop in our young people, starting in kindergarten. This means that the days of students being compliant little receptacles of knowledge sitting in neat well behaved rows is a dream that needs to die. We need them to talk back… we need them to break the rules… we need them to challenge us… if they do not, they are doomed.

Think about it… the children who started kindergarten a couple of days ago will not be retiring until 2086, if then. Anyone who thinks that they know what challenges these children will face over their working lifetimes is fooling themselves. You haven’t a clue anymore than your granny could have predicted Ebola or the internet. What we need to do is help our young people to be adaptable, because they will have to adapt or die, and I prefer that they have the capacity to adapt.

4. @ David
    George reads the comments and is free to jump in if you agree to shed the stinking
    Ok Boss…consider it dropped.
    Georgie can handle the ragging…Bushie is frankly surprised that he has not come out swinging… There MUST be some way that we can get some returns from that PhD of his…

@ Ping Pong
    Bushie does REALLY feel sorry for people like you and Jeff yuh know!!! It must be so frustrating to be seeing such OBVIOUS paths to progress being so consistently evaded – often at great costs – by our leaders…..even where they appear to have the tools needed for success.

When the DLP took office in 2008, it was really a mafia run by Thompson. Unlike all the others who have not yet answered Ms. Karma, he was actually quite intelligent….and would have understood your excitement about adding Human Resource Development to education…. Had he lived, he may even have actualised it… The others left are all clueless idiots who would have challenges in working out any correlation between the two….
    Unfortunately DT was too indebted to the devil for Karma to be delayed….and unfortunately, unless you understand the SPIRITUAL component, it will be impossible to follow such illogical brass bowlery

@ Piece
    George just needs to be ‘blooded’. He is still consumed with self-doubts and insecurities and is overly concerned about being ‘accepted’.
    This lack of confidence comes from the process of getting a PhD on the Hill…. It all boils down to being ‘accepted’ by the boys…. rather than from any innate talent or ingenuity.
    So when people SHOUT at such graduates, they have been trained to retreat from their position.. and to toe the line….

LOL… unlike stin….. (oops Uh mean) unlike ‘yours truly’ Bushie – whose juices begin to flow when shouted at, challenged, or (worse yet) abused…. and the trouble starts….
    SHUGGAH!!!
    ha ha ha ha

5. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@ Bush Tea said “… schooling is a CRITICAL aspect of national development, …where older generations pass on traditions, beliefs, values and knowledge to future generations…”

The problems are these: most of the older generation’s beliefs are irrational prejudices inherited from the racist colonial regime of our fathers’ time; the traditions are bankrupt as proved by where they have brought us after 50 years of independence; the values are corrupt as evidenced by the function of our churches, political parties, and private sector; and the knowledge is paltry in comparison to what is available to anyone with a WiFi connection.

We need to abandon the outdated fantasy of traditional schooling… our young people need and deserve much more.

6. @ peterlawrencethompson September 7, 2016 at 8:47 PM
    What then, should education do in our contemporary society? It should help people to do what computers and the internet cannot. It should enhance creativity: the process of generating new ideas which other people agree have value. It should develop judgement: the skill of sorting through oceans of information to decide which is true and which is important (these are not the same).
    Interesting position! This is the kind of follow-up line that Bushie expected from George…
    However you err in a number of critical areas.

The items which you specify above are just one level up from the memory stuffing that you rightly criticised as wasteful…. and you have excluded the single most important role that education should play ..if it is to take a meaningful role in national development.

It must FIRST teach people who they are; where they fit in the grand scheme of things; what is expected of them; and what represents ‘success’ at the end of their stint.

Everything else is context driven…..depending on the reality of the times…which have been changing at such an exponential rate that NO ONE knows what next year will bring…far less 2088…and…
    Talents and special skills are GIFTS of nature….and cannot be ‘taught’. (but can be refined)

The ONLY consistent subjects then for true ‘education’ are related to VALUES and PURPOSE.
    Of course, we have had no time to keep such subjects on our curricula – we have been too busy with the ‘critical’ edykashun topics like Arithmetic, English, Science and French.

7. The problems are these: most of the older generation’s beliefs are irrational prejudices inherited from the racist colonial regime of our fathers’ time
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Boss, if you think that the ‘traditions and beliefs of Black Bajans’ are those inherited from the racist colonial then you fit exactly with what is wrong with us here….

Bushie is talking about the kind of heritage that goes way back…and which was broken by centuries of slavery…
    Have you ANY idea of the TRUE legacy of Blacks…? and hence of the mirror image we OUGHT to have….?

Ask Sir Cave…..

8. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@ Bush Tea

In order for education to play a productive role in national development it needs to develop at least the two factors that I’ve enumerated: fertile creativity and good judgement. I am sure that there are other things necessary as well; what are your suggestions.

The problem with trying to tell them “who they are; where they fit in the grand scheme of things; what is expected of them” is that you don’t know these things— they are dependent on a future environment that you cannot predict, even if you think you can. These things are important, I agree with you up to that point, but they are things that our young people will have to work out for themselves using fertile creativity, good judgement and…

I have a profound distrust of those who try to tell me what my values and purpose should be, because my great great grandparents were taught by people quoting Ephesians 6:5 that it was the word of God that, “… slaves, obey your earthly masters with fear and trembling…” If people do not work out their values and purpose for themselves, then they remain slaves.

9. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@ Bush Tea

I’m delighted that you are referring to “the kind of heritage that goes way back…and which was broken by centuries of slavery…” Sadly, most Bajans are still in the thrall of Bible thumping charlatans who only serve to perpetuate the colonialism which imposed the centuries of slavery and broke the heritage which goes way back.

10. If people do not work out their values and purpose for themselves, then they remain slaves.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Boss, if Dr. George had said such a thing…. you done know that Bushie would have called him all sorta names… (to put it nicely…)
    What outcome would you expect if parent allowed children to ‘work out their values for themselves…’ Do you even GRASP the concept of “family, legacy and heritage”?
    Even some wild animals take the time for parents to pass on values to their young….

You also said…
    The problem with trying to tell them “who they are; where they fit in the grand scheme of things; what is expected of them” is that you don’t know these things…— they are dependent on a future environment that you cannot predict,
    Speak for yourself Boss…
    …and no! …they are not dependent on future environment…. Quite the opposite…

Bushie is a product of great kings of Africa – who were the original models of mankind…
    After centuries of attempted genocide of our peoples, we are duty bound to break out the bonds of slavery and brass-bowlery ….and to re-establish the great legacy of our ancestors….
    …and what is expected of us – is that we reflect the great and unmatchable spirit of strength and humanity of our race.

If you think that our children, growing up in a world overwhelmed with albino-centricity, will be able to ‘work out such values’ for themselves – without LEARNED and WISE guidance, (TRUE EDUCATION) then you probably are drinking water in Toronto …like Bushie’s pals Sarge and Dribbles….

11. …and why pick on the ‘Bible thumping charlatans’?
    How about the academic idiots? …the political pimps? ….the visionless leaders …and the clueless sheeple?
    ALL are brass bowls who are marching to self-destruction, following a path of ignorance.

The religious brass bowls who advised quoting Ephesians 6:5 that it was the word of God that, “… slaves, obey your earthly masters with fear and trembling…” may have been using a principle that is clearly beyond your (and their) field of view…. but people MISUSE excellent tools every day, however that does not invalidate that tool for its correct use.
    That line of argument is thus invalid and lame.

12. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@ Bush Tea

You got me… of course they need ” LEARNED and WISE guidance.” I’m very aware that the world is fundamentally racist and don’t advocate abandoning the next generations to chance and fate. I think that education should be all about guidance as a methodology. The etymology is from Latin, educare: to bring out, to lead forth. It’s about bringing out the student’s potential, not shoving ourselves in to their minds.

13. @ peter
    The etymology is from Latin, educare: to bring out, to lead forth. It’s about bringing out the student’s potential, not shoving ourselves in to their minds.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    We are at one…

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“Everything else is context driven…..depending on the reality of the times…which have been changing at such an exponential rate that NO ONE knows what next year will bring…far less 2088…and…
    Talents and special skills are GIFTS of nature….and cannot be ‘taught’. (but can be refined)”

The Establishment is not interested in all the philosophy. ..bottomline. ..they are only interested in what can earn them billions of dollars from century to century….that is what they will run with, using the greatest, most gifted minds.

15. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

As long as you see the Federal Government shutting down those 50 year old scam universties…read ITT TECH, Trump university, a recent addition that did not last 5 years….you would know, in 30 years, most universities will be a thing of the past…scam or not.

There is a new game in town, with only a few knowing the rules…until they are ready to tell you.

The leaders in Barbados may catch up 50 years later, when the Establishment has already upgraded to something newer and more profitable.

16. Reading the posts of PLT I am reminded of two things. One is the old saying that a little education is a dangerous thing. The other is that, in my first week as a university freshman many years ago, one of my instructors knocked me for six when he announced with great authority in class that one of his research projects was an investigation of why people “wasted so much of their lives sleeping”.
    Apparently, this guy was convinced that sleep was totally unnecessary and he had secured hundreds of thousands of dollars in research grants to demonstrate how and why we could do without sleep.
    I have no idea what happened to that crackpot, but we should all take PLT with a generous heaping of salt, especially when he starts explaining the purposes of education, and tells us that it’s useless to teach people to memorize. Really? Does PLT not understand that the habit of memorization develops the brain and helps to maintain its functions?
    And then there is all this puffery about computers taking over, which we have heard forever, even though we still don’t even have a driverless car we can rely on.
    Put a sock in it, Peter.

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol…and when Galileo told them the earth was round they swore it was flat and locked up the poor dude.

18. Ready done,
    …..all we have to do is change secondary schools to colleges.
    Done already, we have Harrison College, and Queens College…. And then the Community College which was intended to replace the absent sixth forms at those schools which were not”colleges”. at the time.

19. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@ Chad99999

The habit of memorization develops the memory, but it is a mistake to conflate memory with brain power. Human memory used to be much better before we invented the technology of writing things down (i.e. paper & ink memory); educated people in those days committed what would amount to entire novels to memory. Few of us do that anymore because it isn’t the most productive use of our brain power. Now that we have invented digital memory the function of memory in human culture changes again, and effective education needs to keep up with these changes.

Driverless cars, even in their embryonic state of development, already are far superior (i.e. safer) than the average human driven car. As of June 2015 the Google driverless cars had logged 1.8 million miles and been involved in 14 accidents, all minor, and all the fault of other human driven cars on the road.

20. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And they are still not colleges Alvin……..Even if you change the Harrison College High Schools and Combermere and Queens Collge High Schools into Colleges….they are high schools, not colleges….stop trying to mislead people you liar Alvin…..

……ya still have to introduce the majority subjects as techinical studies to get any success…the present tired old curriculum is not getting students anywhere…..at this present time where the world is moving forward to more progressive careers.

Dont tell me I dont know what I am talking about because I am well familiar with those schools and the courses offered….they are high schools….because they carry the name college dies not make them a college until the curriculum is changed…check out Hunter High School in Manhattan….then check out Hunter College.

21. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Some people live in the US…but are clueless to the advances right in their face.

22. Computer technology is like women — a hugely expensive nuisance you wish you didn’t have to put up with.
    Let’s remind ourselves that most IT projects FAIL, but only after costing their sponsors nearly every penny in their pockets.
    Most of the projects that succeed, fail to deliver even a fraction of the benefits promised, but the IT industry is very good at “managing expectations” and can convince you that all of the workarounds you end up having to do are somehow worth it because “progress is hard” and “nobody has done this stuff before”.
    Don’t ask any IT vendor about benefits realization? There are usually no benefits you haven’t paid through the nose for.
    My point is that computers only incrementally improve the way we do things, including education. PLT is a snake oil visionary, selling a future none of us will ever live to see.

23. Bushie you heard the teacher who laid bare the challenges being experienced in education today? We always forget the primary level where the systemic issue is grounded.

24. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Chad99999 said “Computer technology is like women — a hugely expensive nuisance you wish you didn’t have to put up with.”

Let’s just say that my experience with women and with computer technology seems profoundly different than yours. I love them, never found them to be expensive, and they’ve been very good to me. 😉

25. Sorry David …missed it…

26. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Makes me wonder what Chadx9 has been doing to and with his computers…if he is using it for all the wrong reasons and is still not satisfied…dont blame the computer. A computer only gives what you the user put in.

You should not drop your computer, if ya can help it, or it will break, they are designed to break, so you will have to buy another one. If you are not tech savvy, buy a book and read all about the things you need to know…or google it.

27. A sound education is not about the computer.It’s about memorization. It’s about solving problems over and over again until they become easy.
    (1) For many people, memorizing passages of great literature (e.g. Shakespeare) improves their own ability to write poetry and prose.
    (2) The first time you tackle a complex task is harder than the second time. By the tenth time, it may be a piece of cake– in part because the brain has literally built new internal nerve connections.
    (3) Orderly sequencing of individual steps in a difficult task reduces its complexity, etc.

The invention and the use of computers doesn’t change any of this. Most people cannot learn calculus by visiting websites. They cannot teach themselves any complicated task.They need an expert guide to answer questions and there are too many possible questions for a computer program to code into self-paced courses.

28. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Computers cannot code themselves and deliver finished products or end results, the human brain is needed to create those functions….using the computer…besides, you should not live on a computer, even if you code.

I recently saw someone spend 17 straight hours just coding…but that’s their job.

29. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/09/09/health-agreement-between-barbados-and-uk-ends/

Were bajans even aware that they were allowed free healthcare when visiting the UK, I know the government ministers, friends and family were well aware though, did they bother to tell the population. ..or was it a big state secret told only to a few….well the party yall had is over.

So much for Sealy and his idiocy, this is one of the fall outs from Brexit, another message is being sent to the Barbados government ministers….if only their heads were not so hard in thinking they special.

30. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Sometimes the best education does not help, just look at the idiots wanting to rule the US…this is not a joke, dumb politicians at large.

http://ow.ly/NqSx3043yk9

31. @ Chad99999

Some days you really don’t double check what you write do you?

“A sound education is not about the computer.It’s about memorization. It’s about solving problems over and over again until they become easy…”

That statement and much of its syllogistic derived aftermath is absolutely incorrect.

A sound education is not about memorization it is about understanding the principle of a subject, irrespective of its permutations and being able to apply the principle accordingly

I am on an iPad ticking with one finger so I won’t be to lengthy here but memorization of Shakespeare DOES NOT INHERENTLY MAKE ONE A MILTON, it does not word so.

That is like saying that, because I memorized all of Lionel Richie’s songs I will be the next earth wind and fire.

You and Amused like wunna hooked up a smoked some Marijuana recently though cause you writing like a man under the influence heheheheh

32. I make this pronouncement that if Mia Mottley does not do a serious revamp of the Education system when she becomes Prime Minister next election that our entire country will become a sex destination

Take a look at this

http://www.bbc.com/news/health-37246995

“Surgeons have used a robot to operate inside the eye and restore sight – in a world first.
    A team at Oxford’s John Radcliffe Hospital used the device, controlled via a joystick, to remove a membrane one hundredth of a millimetre thick.”

Artificial Intelligence and Robotics are going to make our nation of highly literate citizens a thing of the past or decided good on our back or our stomachs like AC already is.

De ole man does jes pull all she buttons at will doah!!!

Again this is the Practical Application of Pharaoh’s dream where in the time of plenty, read US$236 million and Edutech we sought to make dem Illuminated peeple Arm Strong and inevitably over 10 years later are now seeing the world changing around us while we stand, with flaccid doggies, impotent to the occasion

Where there is no vision our people will perish

33. LOL @ Piece
    You got two years put down somewhere while we wait for action from the BLP???
    …assuming that they manage to get their act together…

Boss, EVERY SINGLE DAY ..Bushie awakes with the nagging fear that it could be the watershed point where the bottom drops out… It won’t take much after the demolition job done by our political leaders since 2000.
    Wish Bushie could be as optimistic as you seem to be…. little though that is…

34. @PUDRYR
    I make this pronouncement that if Mia Mottley does not do a serious revamp of the Education system when she becomes Prime Minister next election that our entire country will become a sex destination
    I’m all for second chances so hopefully a second kick at the can could be beneficial, how come yuh left out Atty Gen (chief lawmaker in the Gov’t) in charge of Police etc. but since she has held almost every portfolio in the previous Gov’t, the only job (apart from PM of course) that will warm the cockles of her heart is Min. Of Finance (a Bajan Chancellor of the Exchequer)