Submitted by William Skinner
Prime Minister Freundel Stuart

Our Prime Minister, Mr.Freundel Stuart has now determined that technology is partially to blame for declining standards. Many of the issues we now confront began to surface in the mid-seventies. When the gangs first appeared, they were dismissed as “wayward youth”; after we ignored the agriculture sector for nearly forty years, we were then advised to make kitchen gardens and when the cracks started to manifest themselves in the school system, we opened so-called “Centers” with little or no format or known purpose.

When it was obvious that the drug culture was taking root and a drastic well planned approach was needed, the then top law enforcement officer announced his hands were tied. This led to a mammoth Crop Over hit by the Red Plastic bag. Problems at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital, we blame nurses; problems at the school plant we blame teachers and problems with garbage disposal we blame sanitation workers.

Of course all the problems related to productivity are blamed on the workers. We never critique the corporate culture that is set by management. We complain daily about our youth but ignore those who are gallantly setting up businesses, involved in the arts and are trying their best to find themselves in a society that offers little or no assistance to our young entrepreneurs.

What we are failing to admit is the woeful lack of any visionary national policy and our perpetual belief that we can complain and hope for the return of a Barbados that is really gone forever. We look around and are convinced that all the changes in the entire world are temporary. We believe that one of these mornings, we will wake up and be put in a time capsule that will land us in an idyllic Barbados with quaint little villages, where the poor are expected only to be: poor, peaceful and polite.

It is not technology, it is a deepening poverty that can no longer be ignored; it is a stagnant political culture inherent in our two major political parties and an education system that to all intents and purposes, can no longer produce the kind of citizen needed to carry us for another fifty years.

Mr. Prime Minister, technology is not the problem. We can throw all the computers, cell phones and other gadgets in the Careenage and such an act will not solve any of our problems. It is not that simple, Sir.

84 responses to “No Mr. Prime Minister”

1. @ Hal Austin,
    “The present pile of outdated paper records allow for corruption, delay, lost and all other kinds of problems.
    The efficiency improvements that will come from technology will pay for the technology over a couple years.”
    You are absolutely correct. We are under the impression that technology will lead to loss of jobs. Quite the opposite: technology pays for itself and creates jobs. The failure to reform the education system is at the root of our social and economic problems. We are drinking the same soup after we “warm it over’. The BLPDLP must first admit that they refused to get on the information idea with the old fashion mantra that if ain’t broke ,don’t fix it. Well, while it was not broken it was basically useless and outdated. In car terms , we driving a system that burning up gas at 15 miles per gallon while everybody else getting 40 miles per gallon. But in our way of thinking the old car still working.
    Your point about breeding corruption by refusing to change is absolutely brilliant.
    @ ac,
    I think we should agree to disagree but I respect your position.

2. should be “information highway” not idea. thanks

3. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Not to mention a direct access via computer connection of the birth records registry to other departmnts i.e. ID card registration dept etc so that bajans do not have to travel miles to get a birth certificate and can have someone pick up documents without jumping through unnecessary hoops.

Upgrade the technology to reflect the times.

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Years ago a parent spoke to Ronald Jones about a student who was studying a particular discipline at a top University in North America.. he had never heard of it before, cause he had to ask “what is that?

Jones did not take it seriousy, suffice it to say that student is maybe only 1of 2 from the Caribbean with that particular specialty in great demand worldwide and who is more than capable of generating foreign exchange for the island….the ministers are not ready yet.

5. @Mr.Skinner….agree
    Lest you forget the truthfulness of a story lies in its accuracy which goes beyond ones intrepretation

6. You guys just don’t get it. It serves the interest of the political class to have an inefficient public service in these islands. Padding the public service has been how both political parties reward their supporters. You think they don’t know the textbook solutions suggested here? This is about the paramountcy of the party over national objectives. The question will always be – how to hold the political class accountable with a relevant governance system.

7. Caswell Franklyn August 26, 2016 at 10:43 PM #

But do you know how many of our problems would be solved if he and a few of his colleagues were thrown into the Careenage?
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    And each outfitted with a pair of Rock Hard concrete shoes.

8. “We are under the impression that technology will lead to loss of jobs. Quite the opposite: technology pays for itself and creates jobs.”

But that might be changing as we speak:

Terminal Economy: “Private Sector Will NEVER Recover…This Time, They’re Replacing Humans Altogether”

Do you feel something is wrong with the United States and the global economy? Despite a respectable recovery and low unemployment, many people aren’t happy with their current economic situation or their outlook for the future. From rising prices for basic necessities or schooling, to harsh competition and low pay for lower income jobs to negative interest rates—the poor and the middle class all have their problems to deal with.

SNIP

Enter Viktor Shvets, the global strategist of the investment bank Macquarie Group…

“The private sector will never recover, it will never multiply money again,” he told Epoch Times in an interview. His main theme is the “declining return on humans,” which means that in today’s digital world, normal humans don’t grow productivity fast enough to justify more jobs and higher wages as the machines are taking over.

“There is no productivity on a global basis. Secular stagnation, technological shifts, monetary policy, all are suppressing productivity growth rates,” he says. But what about technology making humans more productive? Shvets says this was true in the first and second industrial revolution where displaced jobs such as horse-cart drivers eventually morphed into higher tech and higher productivity ones like the taxi driver.

However, in this, the third industrial revolution, machines are not augmenting humans, they are replacing them. The self-driving car will completely eliminate the driver.

More at: http://www.thedailysheeple.com/terminal-economy-private-sector-will-never-recover-this-time-theyre-replacing-humans-altogether_082016
    (And see the other links at the bottom of the article like this one: Billionaire: “We Are Destroying the Middle Class. That’s What Keeps Me Awake at Night.”)

9. Master Jeptor Ince said today Bim economy has turned around.

He must be right since he is a senator and a parliamentary secretary, an expert with lots of credibility and authority. Who could be more trustworthy than a senator? Surely, all the downgrades, potholes in the streets, all the capital flight, all the new taxes and all the shootings are a foreign conspiracy against the good politicians who punch above their weight.

And earth is flat like a plate.

10. @c Green Monkey,
    You are correct , in that the there is considerable debate about the fact that technology is replacing people. However, there is also the fact that countries that do not adapt will literally destroy future generations. The robots cannot create themselves and the programs needed have need for human intelligence.
    Can you imagine that our Prime Minister was in the papers heralding a seventeen or eighteen year old student, who had built a cricketer from bottle stoppers or covers. Is that really a serious achievement? We all used to make tin trucks and build lampshades from “polar” sticks 60 plus years ago! We should be parading students who have created programs /codes for computers. We should be highlighting citizens who are coming up with creative ways of feeding the population or creating robots to deal with sargassum.
    What are we going to highlight next: Somebody who finally works out that horse waste can be used as garden manure if he or she uses gloves instead of a shovel?
    Absurd leadership inevitably breeds absurd solutions; visionless leadership leads to stagnated societies. Those who fail to govern, govern to fail.
    Lets call a spade a spade; until there is progressive leadership they will be no progress.

11. sd read “there ” will be no progress not they. thanks.

12. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“We should be parading students who have created programs /codes for computers.”

Thst is the mistake being made on the island…Barbados is 15 to 25 years behind in this area.

13. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Does anyone care to indicate where and when the statement under analysis was made? Not a hyperlink even?

14. Tron@1.17p
    Dr Troy Lorde provides a more enlightened opinion of the IMF overview of the economy.To be sure we are still -0.6 negative growth when compared to ’08.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/08/27/no-comfort-2/

15. @ Jeff Cumberbatch August 27, 2016 at 5:25 PM #
    Does anyone care to indicate where and when the statement under analysis was made? Not a hyperlink even?

Page 4, Tuesday,July 26,2016-Daily Nation Caption: Stuart Too much tech

Hope this helps.

16. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/84904/investors-day

Cow & Bizzy Williams, their partner Pemberton and the 4 Seasons scam to rob bajan taxpayers and the NIS funds.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/84900/hyatt-ahead-pm

The scam with the same players involved has moved up to the Hyatt project.

Fruedel Stuart cannot slither out of this one or use stealth to deceive the taxpayers again, he gotta come clean, one way or the other.

17. I’m not a big fan of mistakes. That might surprise the people who know me best since they also know I make a lot of them.

I make a lot of mistakes because I make a lot of decisions. Mine are mistakes of action and they can be fixed, usually with just a small adjustment. Often, people don’t even realize I made the mistake at all.

Some people believe they can avoid mistakes by not making decisions. They fact is, not making a decision is a decision, it’s a decision to do nothing and it’s almost always the wrong decision. Deciding to do nothing is a huge mistake, it’s a mistake of inaction and it’s often much harder to fix than a mistake of action.

The most successful leaders make a decision the moment that they have the facts required to make it. They make good decisions because they have made a lot of them and they learned as much from the bad ones as they did the good ones.

I get asked from time to time about the best way to help young leaders learn to make decisions. My answer is nearly always the same – let them make decisions!

No one can learn how to make good decisions just by watching someone else do it. If you’re a leader hoping to build future leaders then you need to let your people make decisions. Even some bad ones!

Get out of the way and let them decide. Let them be wrong and let them fix their mistakes. Let them learn from THEIR experience and allow them to build self-confidence by doing… and redoing if that’s what it takes.

I’m not suggesting any leader stand by and let their people make decisions with potentially devastating consequences, but let them make small decisions and grow their way to bigger ones.

Lead by ensuring they find the lesson in every mistake they make and lead further by helping them develop a plan to make a better decision next time.

The ability to recover from a mistake or a poor decision can be a great encouragement to your younger leaders. Authentic Servant Leaders don’t use mistakes to criticize their people, they use them to coach and encourage their people.

It all comes down to this: as a leader, do you have a spirit of criticism or a spirt of encouragement? One forces compliance and one builds commitment.

One works and one doesn’t. Which one are you? (Credit: Steve Keating)

18. If technology is the problem, then the PM should be given a cane bill and taken out to the canefields.The public and the private sectors are like a man and a woman scuffling in the road but when the police comes she bawls not to take him away.Probably to go home for a passionate make up foop.The private sector heads just as culpable to the same stupidity as the government when they are profiting massively by backward anachronistic exploitation of the taxpayers like with the shitty garbage trucks and buses.A real technological revolution will show up both sectors for what they are worth.Not one shite.Both too stupid to see that time is running out.

19. Everybody expects Sinckler´s tax hammer.

Supermarkets overcrowded this weekend. Some people buying 100 roles of toilet paper.

Venezuela, we are coming!

20. BU has stated over and over that for the smart approach to maximizing national productivity is for the public and private sector to see the goal as operating as ONE sector. The constant blame game and political play does no good for all involved.

21. @David, a profound observation. Unfortunately we are stuck with the most selfish Prime Minister the country has ever known who trades insults to those who criticize his leadership style. Some yardfowl or yardchicken will cackle but both political parties have become irrelevant under the Westminister system.

The deceit of the two political parties could not be more evident that the passing of the Anti Corruption Bill in November 2012 prior to the 2013 elections which remains unproclaimed in 2016. Suprisingly the only BLP candiadte speaking to this deceit is Edmund Hinkson. Elections in 2018 or when next called will most likely see a lot of spoilt votes as a means of protest.

#ANewWay

22. @Kammie

Let us see what Motley has to say to Barbadians at the BLP’s Conference in October.

23. Tom Adams #Machiavellian
    Errol Barrow #Manipulative
    Bernard St John #Insouciant
    Erskine Sandiford #Stubborn
    Owen Arthur #Spiteful
    David Thompson #Cunning
    Freundel Stuart #Selfish

24. Its interesting its a blame game which plays out so well in the public.The government says we have a problem.The private sector says you are the problem.The government then says oh well then show us how to solve the problem.The private sector says with your help of course.The public asks whats going on , the private sector and the government shouts cant you see we are solving the problem???We are ceremoniously hushed and the same crap continues.Waiting ceremoniously on the government and the private sector plantation conglomerate solve anything is long past People have to stop taking these nincompoops seriously.

The purported concept of national productivity is flawed because the status quo remains intact with just enough levels of productivity with massive government subsidy with the promise of jobs for the people.That is what killed the sugar industry and they blame the workers.Now that is happening with the tourist industry with this doggedy pursuit of the failing high end product, again to blame the workers.

Time is running out and as Barbados Underground is a media outlet within the traditional media outlets with commentators pooling brain resources.There has to be a pooling of tangible resources away from the political directorate and their private sector cohorts to build a nation within a nation.I think there is enough legal capital to do so and if people cannot see the motivational capital to do so then we are doomed.

25. We need doers and not just talkers. Critical Thinkers as well as persons who are totally results focused who will solve our problems with minimum collateral damage. The problem falls squarely at the feet of the Prime Ministers feet as leader of the country who is just damn selfish to seek help from the NGOs and wider community.

Square pegs in round holes must be replaced with round pegs for too many incompetences appointed to positions due to yardfowlism. Tired of hearing party supporters saying other party did the same, Barbados is bigger than their parties. #ANewWay

26. Mr Holder, Mr King has taken upon himself to start this blog.I think we owe Mr King a huge debt to follow through on his idea and draw on that wellspring of boldness.We are too far gone to wait on Ministers and whoever in the status quo.To do is is akin to what an old man once told me, if the horse didn’t eat oats you cant expect it to shite out oats.We cant continue to expect reasonable actions from unreasonable people.A nation within a nation.

27. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

For those of you with balls, have you ever gotten up to speak and one single hair got caught in your boxers?

I tell you what!!

It is not the most complimentary picture of your grimacing face that CBC Reporting Lies shows of you at 7.30 pm.

This UNESCO Designation is likened to Fumbles being held by all of them, at the same time and yanked.

Without a doubt, had it just been the beach matter then all of this would be over and Fumbles would have done signed the permission for Baloney.

But this UNESCO tingy, whuloss.

Looka dis!

“In 2013, the San Antonio Express-News reported on that very influence when the US National Park director explained to city leaders that a proposed 26-story hotel and time-share building on top of the Joske Building at the Alamo Plaza could jeopardize the pending designation.

Former San Antonio Mayor Julian Castro, now HUD czar, wanted that UN designation badly. He said, “No one on the council is going to do anything that jeopardizes the World Heritage site designation. They canned the lucrative hotel project.”

The positioning of a hotel in Bridgetown would be the hoteliers dream.

The immediacy of the Designation and the time requirement to build the Hyatt Centric brand are the things that are “being weighed” here by Fumbles.

Whether it was Fumbles or Mugabe neither, while the future tourism related benefits of the project are favourable can afford to risk the bird in the hand for the two in the bush…and now with the curlies being held right before election time, the pain alone going mek Fumbles got to let dis one pass.

Sorry Abundant Lane and Baloney, sometimes you win and sometimes you loose…

28. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Piece.,,,,.,Fruendel and Inniss want yanking hard, both at the same time….while sitting right next to each other.

Then ya got all these retards coming on here trying to justify the idiocy.

29. Fumbles MUST get Maloney his permission, Fumbles ain’t got no choice in the matter. He owes the fact that he got PM in 2010 and re-elected in 2013 to the Great White Northern Cabal. They pull the strings and he moves accordingly.

30. @ Recall

In any other matter I would be inclined to agree with you but this is an intricate matter.

Let me show you how it is by use of this plagiarism from the same Alamo article included for impact rather relevance

“The Harbinger report also estimated the UNESCO designation’s widespread potential economic impact felt across Bexar County by 2025, as low as $44 million to as high as $105 million. They predict 465 to 1,098 jobs will be added and anywhere between $0.8-2.2 million might be added in local hotel tax revenue.

In 2014, Reuters noted that the Alamo is the largest tourist attraction in Texas, attracting about 2.5 million visitors a year.”

What will be the recurring revenues of the Hyatt?

What % of those remain in Barbados?

How many people will it employ?

What will that mean in terms of wages and other contributions to employment?

What, if anything, will Barbados loose in terms of its overall visitor count, if we loose the UNESCO designation?

Which Prime Minister, wants to be remembered as “the PM who caused Barbados to be delisted by UNESCO?”

31. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

ACs…I told yall before am done you will grunt, I have not even gotten statrted yet, brace ya selves and deal with it.

32. “The positioning of a hotel in Bridgetown would be the hoteliers dream.”

Piece what Hoteliers dream??? Bridgetown is DYING if it isn’t DEAD as yet. Many large corporations are not located there so what kind of businessmen will this hotel be catering to??? The fake hair Salesmen?

Bridgetown needs a good scrubbing and a remodeling. Many of our old warehouses can be gentrified. The problem is that those who are in charge haven’t a clue and our maintenance record is piss poor. Look at the PM’s Office, it has been like that for the past 50 years with no improvement.

This island is like a piece of litmus paper floating on the water’s surface. Eventually the paper will become waterlogged and sink if we allow things to continue as they are. Take your pick SINK or SWIM? By the way many of wunna can’t even swim so wunna better learn to dog paddle real fast.

33. Is about time I hear wunnuh talk bout alltwoboaf ah dese Labour Parties a waste of time and the yard fowls even wusser dan dat. But hear dis – the day Granville Phillips announce fuh de nex elections, I know wunnuh SAME said lickrish idjets gine lick wunnuh mout pon he head – and everybody associated with him tuh. Fickle doan even begin to describe wunnuh. Troot be told, chuppit doan even begin to describe wunnuh neidah.

Barbados nused to be THE MOST RESPECTED ISLAND IN THE EASTERN CARIBBEAN in education, manners, business and standard of living. In a short 30 years the poliTRICKS – liars and tiefs all ah dem, now lately controlled by a deaf and dumb half-asleep Chief Fumbling Jackass – turn we country into bare cow-poop shyte with rich rich politicians and poor poor people, mostly igrunt people from schoolteachers to schoolchrildren, and now the phones smarter than the people – just like wunnuh Gods and Goddesses in the NewEssEh cross de water dey y’all does beg tuh watch an foller like family pon de TV.

We country now $10 BILLION in debt. Once upon a time that could never have happened, dese days de elites does only talk bout eff dem should keep on printing we money or not. just like wunnuh Gods and Goddesses in the NewEssEh now $23 TRILLION in debt – and still printing money like um gine outta style.

So eff wunnuh doan see nuttn wrong bout hey and wunnuh doan see nuttn wrong bout dey neidah, den the real problem is wunnuh… and wunnuh does gots to be de wussest most igruntest greedy self-centered yard fowls anybody does never want tuh see.

So whuh yuh gunna gimme fuh Chrissmuss? Yuh better some up to standard!!

Look, wunnuh go and eat off some puddn’n’souse, hear. When devaluation come and all dem elites does emmygrate to ketch up wid all de millions dem did exporting to safe havens all dese years, is WUNNUH gine feel de pain, not dem.

But doan listen tuh my brassbowl idjet nonsense, I know I ent talkin bout nuttn dat y’all fowls does wants to hear.

I. Gone