Submitted by Bush Tea
Austin Sealy

From the Nation -August 17, Sir Austin calls to keep pressing on…. International Olympic Committee (IOC) member Sir Austin Sealy hopes that Barbados will not be disheartened by the modest performances at the Rio 2016 Olympics. Speaking last night on telephone link-up from the Copacabana Beach in Rio, Sir Austin told the MIDWEEK NATION that no stone should be left unturned in ensuring that Barbados make an improved showing in the future. “I know that there will be some disappointment with none of the athletes advancing and making an impact, but that is the way the cookie crumbles. We have got to keep trying and working hard and understanding what is required to do well at the Olympics,” he said.

This is the kind of convoluted thinking that explains the quagmire that Barbados has become. Here we have a recent knight – honoured for his now forty or so years of leadership in local sport, explaining the abject failure of local talent to shine in ANY WAY comparable to other Caribbean islands…calling for more of the same.

Did Sealy call for CHANGE?

Did he call for a NEW approach?

Did he critically assess the old approaches that CLEARLY does not work?

Did Sealy suggest that the current long-term leadership gracefully RESIGN?

None of the above. His advice is for us to continue ‘pressing on’…

What the hell!

But we all know why Sealy and his associates want to keep ‘pressing on’ with their luxurious lifestyles. We know how they personally thrive on the ‘fatted’ sports-calf – even as our athletes lack the most basic of requirements.

It is no wonder the DLP clings to power – even in the face of their own clear knowledge of their incompetence. It is no wonder that, even as their EVERY project fails; as their highly prized FOREX falls; as their every scam is exposed to public scrutiny and ridicule, …our leaders ‘press on…’

It is one thing for DEM to keep on doing the same thing and expect different results…but it is another thing altogether for US to be allowing clear jackasses to keep on riding US, as people ….. and expecting to EVER win.

198 responses to “Austin Sealy Says Keep Pressing On”

1. Oba just agreed that we can do better. Interesting insider perspective. A lot of it aligned with Bush Tea’s posit.

2. @ David
    A lot of it aligned with Bush Tea’s posit.
    No surprise there.
    Oba knows what he is talking about.

@ IslandGal
    You mind Sargeant…?
    Do you understand the meaning of ‘TALENT’? …think of words like ‘gift’, ‘potential’ etc
    Talents are GIFTS from God ..with which we are all born…. and what Bushie said of Bajan athletes can be TRULY said of practically any country.
    The difference between success and failure in many countries resides in their ability and willingness to IDENTIFY AND SELECT their best talents for the various jobs at hand.

…for example wunna got Caswell there wasting while a bunch of useless jackasses are unable to bring the most needed attribute to public life – transparency, justice and fairness.
    …just like we have the WRONG people managing our highly talented athletes to mediocrity…. and we have a pack of donkeys braying in parliament while Olympics are in the air…

3. Donna August 18, 2016 at 7:58 AM #
    Here’s a solution to our Olympic woes- interbreeding with Jamaicans. After all Jim Wedderburn’s family had Jamaican roots and wasn’t one of Oba’s parents a Jamaican? LOL!

THIS IS ERRONEOUS!

4. OBA’S MOTHER IS BAHAMIAN HIS FATHER IS GUYANESE

5. Sargeant August 18, 2016 at 12:21 AM #
    MOST SENSE SPOKEN ON THIS WHOLE THREAD

6. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

This is how Okympians are made to reach their full potential and boy is Jamaican Thompson rockibg the Olympics.

“How Banana Ground look?” the athlete asked.

“The crowd deh yah, and dem a wait fi see yuh run,” Graham said she responded.

Graham then said Thompson asked her to make a video recording of the crowd and assured her that she was “fit like fiddle” and confident of victory.

“She is a nice girl. She is my third grandchild,” Ricketts told the Observer. “She did sweet, man, and love nice food, because when she come from school the best way you can get her to do something for you was to give her some Soursop juice.

“She always a talk bout running, and when she a leave Manchester [High] school she seh ‘Mama, mi nah stay here with you because I have to go out there to go pon mi foot.’ So I am very proud of her, and I wish her all the best,” the grandmother shared.

According to Ricketts, Elaine started showing potential during her early days at Garlogie Primary School, as she aspired to become like the legendary Jamaican sprinter Merlene Ottey.

Last year, having rose to prominence, Thompson was considered the island’s next big name female athlete, after she became the second-fastest Jamaican woman over 200m — behind Ottey — when she clocked 21.66 seconds to take the silver medal at the IAAF World Championships in Beijing, China.

“From she a go primary school she usually go round by Kirkvine go run, and it was from that time we knew that she was going to make us proud. So mi feel good fi know seh mi tek her from that tender age and she don’t let mi down,” Ricketts told the

Observer.

According to the grandmother, Thompson, as a single child, was always focused on succeeding in school, as she was determined to help her mother, Rose Richards, who has financial challenges.

Richards now resides in a one-room dwelling with her physically challenged mother.

“The last time I spoke to her I told her to focus on her education because she is going to have to take her mother out of poverty,” Richards related.”

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

You NEVER kill children’s dreams for your own selfish wants.

8. a lot of the usual stupid BU TALK ON THIS THREAD.

QUESTION? DO OUR BEST ATHLETES REALLY WANT TO BE OLYMPIANS
    I THINK BACK TO THE EARLY 60’S AND ASK WHAT HAPPENED TO OUT ATHLETES

61 BOYS FOUNDATION ONE INTERSCHOOL SPORTS
    LEADING ATHLETES IN THOSE DAYS WERE

VS EVELYN….> BECAME A DR
    DD BOXHILL also represented Bdos at cricket before going to UK to study
    JOJ nURSE last I heard he had a big job at CDB

ALSO IN 60’S FROM BFS WERE
    GAP LEWIS………….BECAME AN ACCOUNTANT
    EUGENE PILGRIM, represented Bim in high jump at Panam games. Taught at Parkinson’s for about 40 years now lay preacher in Methodist Church

ALSO IN 60’S from Lodge School
    COLIN BLADES went to Mona then to be a teacher in Bermuda
    PAT CHELTENHAM prominent lawyer
    MALCOLM HOWITT BECAME A DR

ALSO IN 60’S FROM QC
    FREIDA NICHOLLS went to Olympics
    ANN ST JIOHN became prominent paediatrician

ALSO IN 60’S from MODERN HIGH
    PATSY CALLENDER became DR
    CLEVELAND YARD ???

ALSO IN 60’S FROM COMBERMERE
    ANTON NORRIS represented Bim in cricket and in HIgh jump at Panam games.

FROM HC in 60’s
    VICTOR BLANCHETTE went to Cambridge became a Dr
    NOELE LYNCH became lawyer
    ROLAND MANDEVILLE…………..???

DO YOU REALLY THINK THAT ANY OF THESE OUTSTANDING ATHLETES WANTED TO BE OLYMPIANS

DO YOU REALLY THINK THAT ANY OF THESE OUTSTANDING ATHLETES ARE NOT HAPPY WITH THEIR ACHIEVMENTS IN LIFE OR THERE CONTRIBUTION TO BARBADOS OR THE WORLD

9. One of the many special moments of the Olympics so far for the BU household.

Usain Bolt Could Only Laugh As Andre De Grasse Tried To Pass Him

10. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

When you allow children to realize their dreams…..they do.

Trackalerts.com

Home Articles Elaine Thompson credits coach Francis for victory over Schippers
    ARTICLES
    Elaine Thompson credits coach Francis for victory over Schippers

By Job Nelson – August 18, 2016 29535 1

Double gold medallist at the Olympic Games Elaine Thompson, credits coach Stephen Francis with her victory over World Championships winner Dafne Schippers at the Olympic Stadium in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil on Wednesday.

Thompson exacted revenge on Schippers, who caught and defeated her in the final of the World Championships last year, by leading from start to finish, with the latter, this time, engaging in a futile chase for victory.

Embed from Getty Images

Thompson was clocked at 21.78 seconds, with Schippers doing 21.88 for second. Tori Bowie of the United States of America was third in 22.51 seconds.

Thompson said, “the game plan was to get off the corner as fast as I can and then execute from there and I think I did well tonight. I think I have worked well with my coach Stephen Francis because he knew that I could do it and I knew that I could do it as well.

“He said I should keep my knees up and think through the line and I think I did that, that’s why I came out with that gold tonight. I got another gold medal and it is a very happy feeling and I am speechless right now. To come out here and getting another gold is a marvelous feeling,” she said.

Embed from Ge

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

GP…these are different times, it’s nio the 60s, these men are now old men…..there are new generations out there with the opportinities available in 2016 to be become olympians if they so desire. I have a grandson aspiring to be an olympian.

Lawyers and doctors cannot find work in 2016….doctors cannot find residencies. …times have changed…drastically.

12. GP,

So I made a mistake about Oba’s parentage. SO WHAT? It was just an aside anyway and not meant to be taken seriously. Lighten up!

13. And I know many young people who wish to be Olympians and would pursue their academic careers afterwards, like Oba. It doesn’t have to be either/or.

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol…..GP, I dont think you are aware, but you can google it, there are everal doctors and medical stuent competing in this year’s olympics….one I know of is a Ph.D…in social engineerng.

15. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

*Several doctors and medical students from North America are competing in this years olympics. I bet if you google the Europeans, you will also find several octors and other professionals.

There are students from York, McGill, Stanford and graduates from Columbia universties. It’s a new era.

A brave new world.

16. I POINTED OUT SOMETHING THAT HAPPENED IN THE 60’S AS EVIDENCE
    WHAT I SAID CAN NOT BE REFUTED

I KNOW THAT SOME DRS AND LAWYERS FROM OVERSEAS GO TO THE OLYMPICS..SO WHAT? DRS AND LAWYERS FROM OVERSEAS WENT TO THE OLYMPICS IN THE 60’S TOO. SO WHAT YOU ARE SAYING IS NOTHING NEW.

I DID NOT SAY YOU EITHER HAD TO BE AN OLYMPIAN OR A DR OR LAWYER OR NOTHING NOTHING

I STATED FACTS. IT SEEMS THAT IT IS WRONG TO STATE FACTS ON BU NOW

THE GUYS IN THE 60’S ALSO HAD OPPORTUNITIES TO GO TO OLYMPICS AS WELL SOME WERE RICH ENOUGH TO GO ON THEIR OWN DOLLAR TOO

FREIDA WENT ANN WENT TO MONA INSTEAD

SOME OF THE NAMES I MENTIONED WERE FAR SUPERIOR ATHLETES AND OFTEN REPRESENTED THEIR SCHOOLS OR/ AND BARBADOS IN SEVERAL DISCIPLINES.

I HAVE SAID WHAT I HAVE SAID AND I MAKE NO APOLOGY FOR WHAT I HAVE SAID

THE US SENT ALMOST 400 ATHLETES FOR 95 MEDALS AT THIS TIME
    MUCH EFFORT AND TIME HAS BEEN EXPENDED TO ACHIEVE THIS — MOST OFTEN BY THE FAMILIES OF THE ATHLETE THEMSELVES. NOT THE NATION

WE DO NOT HAVE THE FACILITIES NOR WHAT IT TAKES, BUT EVERY FOUR YEARS WE SING THE SAME STUPID SONG

RECENTLY IN CRICKET-ONCE OUR TOP SPORT- JOEL GARNER SAID THAT OUR PLAYERS DO NOT WORK HARD ENOUGH AT THEIR SPORT

17. When you allow children to realize their dreams…..they do. JUST LIKE THE BOYS AND GIRLS WHO COULD RUN FAST AND JUMP HIGH DID IN THE 60’S. THEY REALIZED THEIR DREAMS. IT WAS JUST NOT GOING TO THE OLYMPICS

SOME WERE JUST SIMPLE TEACHERS
    A FEW WHO DID GO ALSO BECAME JUST SIMPLE SCHOOL TEACHERS

SOME WENT TO US ON ATHLETIC SCHOLARSHIPS AND CAME BACK AND HAVE GIVEN YEOMAN SERVICE TO THE COUNTRY

A CERTAIN ONE CAME BACK TO BULL AND BE AN EVIL POLITICIAN INCLUDING FAILING US FINANCIALLY AT THE 2007 CRICKET WORLD CUP

18. THE BIOCHEMICAL ILLITERATES AT THE IOC STILL CANT FIGURE OUT WHY THE SOUTH AFRICAN 800 METER RUNNER COULD HAVE HIGH TESTOSTERONE LEVELS AND NOT BE CHEATING

19. Sir Austin in his interview telegraphed the endemic idiocy and ineptitude that characterizes the Barbados Olympic Association in particular and bajan sports in general

I will repeat part of what he said to underscore this point

“…I know that there will be some disappointment with none of the athletes advancing and making an impact, but that is the way the cookie crumbles. We have got to keep trying and working hard and understanding what is required to do well at the Olympic…”

I will focus on that last part of understanding what is required since that is my lynchpin

What is the pass mark for any CXC subject? And what is the grade required to enter Yale University? Since both are known it would seem a waste foopistic exercise to take CXC barely pass students and enter them for Yale with the unfounded hope that they will auto combust the academic requirements

If your personal best in the 100m is 12 seconds you should not be in 9.39s race meets since that is stellar waste (badword omitted)

There are this who believe that The cuntry of Barbados DOES NOT HAVE a national program that is at the level of the IOC standard at any level.

While I may not necessarily agree with that blanket statement what I will unconditionally endorse is the fact that EVEN IF WE HAD SUCH TALENT there is still, in 2016, no national system which systematically collects and collates the prerequisite data through which Sir Austin and his deluded colleagues can conclude that they do have what is required to do well at the olympics.

This is not wishful thinking this is careful assessment of your local talent pool, monitoring, coaching, assistance, and progression to that requisite level rather than confirming to the world that the BOA IS STILL GUESSING while of course thavelling first class to see the world

20. We see here the conflation of greed and ambition with talent.
    Barbados should not need to invest millions of dollars to produce great athletes. Usain Bolt and Asafa Powell rose to greatness without big bucks. Ditto Kirani.
    We need to find talent. Coaching is a simple skill set, so no need to pay for that. Van Newkirk achieved a world record coached by an old lady.

21. RE If your personal best in the 100m is 12 seconds you should not be in 9.39s race meets since that is stellar waste (badword omitted)
    THIS IS SOUND DOCTRINE THAT CAN NOT BE REFUTED

RE chad99999 August 18, 2016 at 9:33 PM #
    YOU ARE MAKING A LOT OF SENSE

22. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

GP…you must realize that the West Indies only have one cricket team at a time and ritate their players, I am sure each cricketer’s career lasts at least 20 years, the olympics is every 4 years….a much, much better turn over even if the careers last anywhere from 4-12 years….and are much more lucrative.

There is no need to spend endless millions if you have decent training facilities like Jamaica and your athleres naturally gifted abilities are recognized, developed and nurtured from age 6.

The Thompson gold medalist x2 has a very humble backgriund, her family cannot afoird her training, but now with 2 golds she can do it herself to increase her chances of goldx4 fir anither 2 olympics…..

Jamaica made sure she had the tools to work with, her poor family gave her the moral support structure…her coaches did their jobs…..

23. WE ARE PROUD OF MEDIOCRACY
    http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/84587/lashley-team-barbados-us-proud

BUT YET WE HATE EXCELLENT ONES

And besides…re cricket, most of the West Indies players get their big breaks from being trained and playing for clubs in the UK, India etc, that’s where the real money is at….but….it’s still one team at a time, whereas, ya can rotate at least 50 exceptional athletes into the olympics every 4 years, as a small island.

25. Chad,

You are spot on, I could not remember his name but that is correct.

This is about being able to nurture talent and develop skills.

There was a coach called Blackman who because he was not pedigree or from the upper class WAS NOT ACCORDED THE KEYS TO THE SANCTUM SANCTORUM

Can you see talent Chad? Can you see the wind?

Can you see a Gary Sobers? An Usain Bolt? A Van Newkirk? An Obadele? A Suki King?

But, in addition to identifying a Suki do you have that vision to understand that the age of Suki traveling all over the world is past and that Suki should have been an online investment by the governments of Barbados?

Do you understand what I just did Chad, to “shift” the archaic playing field, in favour of a commodity that cannot compete on “their playing field” but with a little ingenuity, can compete in ours?

Chad, you and I dun know what the problem here is.

It is not a lack of talent, BUT A COLLOSSAL LACK OF VISION IN THOSE OF THE TWO TRIBES OF MONKEYS WHO HOLD THE PURSE STRINGS

26. WELL WELL
    I KNOW A LOT ABOUT CRICKET
    HAVE BEEN A STUDENT OF THE GAME ALL MY LIFE
    GARNER IS CORRECT OUR CONTEMPORAY CRICKETERS DONT WORK HARD

ROOT WILKINSON DECOCK KOHLI RAHANE ETC AND PLAYERS HERE AND THERE EXCEL FOR A REASON——-THEY WORK AT IT

OUR CRICKETERS OF THE PAST PLAYED LOTS OF CRICKET OF ALL SORTS

I WATCH A LOT OF CRICKET FROM ALL OVER THE WORLD
    MOST OF OUR CURRENT PLAYERS HAVE POOR TECHNIQUES AND CAN NOT CONENTRATE FOR LONG PERIODS

IT IS QUITE OBVIOUS THAT JAMAICANS ARE DESCENDED FROM CERTAIN AFRICAN TRIBES. THEIR ATHLETIC PROWESS IN RUNNING IS INHERITED. MOST OF THESE FOLK ARE LIKELY DESCENDENTS OF THE MAROONS. IT IS INSTRUCTIVE TO READ OF THESE PEOPLE AND THEIR CUSTOMS

THESE FOLK HAVE A GENETIC ADVANTAGE AND THEY WORK HARD WITH WHAT THEY HAVE.

27. Well Well & Consequences August 18, 2016 at 10:18 PM #
    And besides…re cricket, most of the West Indies players get their big breaks from being trained and playing for clubs in the UK, India etc, that’s where the real money is at….but….it’s still one team at a time, whereas, ya can rotate at least 50 exceptional athletes into the olympics every 4 years, as a small island.

NOT TRUE
    IN THE 50’S AND DO’S SOME OF OUR PLAYERS PLAYED IN THE LEAGUES TO GET SOME MONEY AND TO HONE THEIR SKILLS WITH THE SWINGING BALL

IN THE LATE 60;S WHEN THE COUNTY CRICKET GROUNDS WERE EMPTY THEY HIRED OUR STARS SO THAT THE COUNTY CRICKET CLUBS WONT GO BANKRUPT

THE WEST INDIANS THAT PLAYED COUNTY CRICKET DIDNT LEARN THEIR CRICKET IN THE UK. THEY BETTERED THEIR PLAY BY PLAYING LOTS OF CRICKET. THEY WERE USED OFTEN AS DONKEYS PLAYING SEVEN DAYS A WEEK

NO ONE IS TRAINED TO PLAY IN INDIA
    THE IPL IS A RECENT THING WHERE INDIANS PLAY OVERSEAS CRICKETERS TO BEEF UP THEIR T 20 PROGRAM AND GIVE SOME EXPOSURE TO THEIR YOUNG PLAYERS.
    OFTEN THE OVERSEAS PLAYERS DONT PLAY MOST OF THE GAMES
    LOOK WHAT THEY DID TO CARLOS LAST IPL

WHAT THEY DO GET IS INTERACTION WITH THE GREAT CONTEMPORARY PLAYERS

28. WE FORGET THAT IN 1982 17 CRICKETERS WENT TO SA AND WERE BANNED FOR LIFE

WE USED TO HAVE IN ALL THE ISLANDS MANY CRICKETERS THAT COULD NOT GET IN THEIR NATIONAL TEAMS THAT WOULD WALK IN ANY CURRENT WEST INDIES TEAM

RECALL THAT STEPHEN FARMER BATTED TWO SATURDAYS AGAINST HOWARD AND HOLFORD TOSAVE A GAME FOR LODGE

WE HAVE “TEST” PLAYERS THAT CANT BAT TWO HOURS FARLESS TWO DAYS
    NONE OF THESE JOKERS COULD GET IN WHAT USED TO BE CALEED THE NATIONAL COLTS OR B TEAM

NONE OF THEE JOKERS PLAYING FOR THE WINDIES TO DAY COULD GET IN THE ANNUAL SCHOOLBOYS TEAM THAT PLAYED AGAINST THE BCA TEAM

29. “Every other country in this world have sport programs with children from age 6, while ours commence at age 18…… when athletes from other countries are at the olympics…
    LOL”

We could commence ours from one and the results would be the same when you return from the great beyond ha ha ha

30. “Pachamama August 18, 2016 at 6:17 AM #

If and when we produce a good athlete is happens by luck, unusual talent.”

History has proven and that can’t be denied. I believe that opportunities for tyraing and development have improved considerably from fifty years ago and I do believe the athletes try and do their best as demonstrated by the Cadogan fellow in the race he ran but compared with the required standards he like all the others in the events in which they competed turned out to be also rans. We simply have tostop burying our heads in the hands and make a concerted effort to return our premier sport of cricket to its former glory. As a boy growing up under the Union jack I didn’t mind nor was I embarrassed when The Trinis beat us in football or basketball because we gun cut their asses in cricket but they beating us in everything now because we putting our yard fowl eggs in too many baskets and all now getting addled.

31. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

GP…the late 60s turned into the 70s, 80s and 90s…where everything changed, many young cricketers got opportunities to play for clubs outside the region., things never stay the same, they will evolve and change again in the next 20 years.

Again, not everyone likes cricket, the opportinities are there for those who do…the young children from primary school going frrward need to be able to broaden their horizons and follow their individual dreams, if they are to become functioning, confident citizens, as it stands, because of limited outlets for their energies, from the 80s they have been pushed into the minibus culture, generations lost, gun and drug culture, many more generations lost….many , not all, but many can be saved through properly managed and implemented through various sports programs….the NATURALLY TALENTED AND GIFTED ATHLETES…should be singled out for individual attention…..NO MATTER THEIR BACKGROUNDS…the more humble their backgrounds the more focused and determined they are to go for gold.

What many are not aware of is that Bolt was eliminated in his very first Olympics..in Greece. ..his determination and first class training took him to gold in every olympic after that learning experience….ya cannot stagnant generations of youth and keep banishing them to mediocrity. That bad practice shows up the country after enough generations have been subjected to that backward thinking.

32. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And at present….the leaders in Barbados are being shown up because they have stagnated generations of young people and banished then to mediocrity….a one horse town, tourism and a one horse sport….cricket…..will take the island nowhere….broaden ya horizons.

33. Oba’s view:

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/84602/oba-attack

We will continue to discuss until we get it right.

34. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Stupid people never understand the dynamics at play in the olympics….it’s not about the gold or even about medaling, that is just the topping, it’s about being there, the advertisements and exposure on the world stage, the contracts….most countries never even get gold….but the exposure is priceless.

All the athletes represented at the olympics are already worldclass medalers….before entering the olympic village, just being a qualifer cements your future and exposes your country to free advertising.

Jackasses who know no better and are bacjward in thinking will always stagnate their own people.

35. @ Piece
    If your personal best in the 100m is 12 seconds you should not be in 9.39s race meets since that is stellar waste (badword omitted)
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    There are Olympic qualifying standards which all athletes MUST meet before being allowed to participate. Any athlete from Barbados who has participated would have had to meet such international standards -like all the others.
    The point here is NOT about participation or even about the cost of going …or even about the officials being there…
    It is about the approach to maximising latent talent to be the VERY BEST that it can be.

What we are doing in sport is also reflected in other areas of our society, and perhaps if we could get it right in sport, we may see the CORRECT approach adopted in politics, economics, justice, agriculture etc.

It is the DUTY of a society to RESPECT and to NURTURE the natural talents that it is blessed with through its citizens…..and then to ensure that round pegs are placed in the round holes of society, and the square peg into square holes.
    Anyone who knows Caswell (even if they dislike him) can see a clear national talent. Yet he has been a wasted resource to Barbados…even as we free fall into national chaos…

We persists in resorting to nepotism, bribery, seeking OUTSIDE talents and then putting shiite pegs into wrong holes …and somehow expecting things to work themselves out…

That is brass bowlery….

@ balance
    If we started serious training and development at age one and the results are the same, then at least we would KNOW for sure that we have do not have the talent for success. That is actually a form of success – having done the best that we could with what we had.

‘Failure’ is about having the talent and the means, …and doing shiite….
    ..such as our failure to invest in the true talents that could reap success

Much like burying those talents in the sand and waiting for the boss man to return….

36. Descendants of West Africans in the Americas and present day East Africans appear to have a genetic factor at play in the sprint and in the distance respectively.South Africa is on the periphery of challenging both these beliefs.
    Guyana had a cricketer Leonard Baichin who in spite of compiling a ton of runs,could not get into the WI test team.
    Barbados sports might better be served by adding baseball to the school’s Games programme.There are money making opportunities to be made in the US.The game was introduced at the Weymouth campus by the Major in the 50’s and was on the timetable as ‘soft ball’ but was baseball.History has shown that hockey survived and expanded from that era but not baseball.

37. Just want to say that after I watched how Marlon Samuels threw away his wicket in the midst of the team attempting to save the last game, to have him retain his place on this team is to reward recalcitrance. Till this shit stops WI cricket remains just where it is.In the doldrums.

38. re Much like burying those talents in the sand and waiting for the boss man to return….

THERE IS NO BETTER OCCUPATION THAN PREPARING YOURSELF FOR THE RAPTURE

HOW CAN IT BE FAILURE TO SEEK THOSE THINGS THAT ARE ABOVE
    HOW CAN IT BE FAILURE TO SEEK TO KNOW HIM AND TO SEEK TO GRASP WHY HE APPREHENDED YOU

reStupid people never understand the dynamics at play in the olympics….it’s not about the gold or even about medaling, that is just the topping, it’s about being there, the advertisements and exposure on the world stage, the contracts….most countries never even get gold….but the exposure is priceless.

SO WHY ARE WE COMPLAINING ABOUT WHAT SEALY SAID? OR WHAT OUR GOVERBNMENT DID OR NOT DID? OR OUR LACK OF FACILITIES? AFTER ALL WE SENT 11! AtHLETES AND 12 OFFICIALS

All the athletes represented at the olympics are already worldclass medalers….before entering the olympic village, just being a qualifer cements your future and exposes your country to free advertising.

ALL THE ATHLETES OR MOST HAVE DELUSIONS OF GRANDEUR
    HOW DOES BEING A QUALIFIER CEMENT ANYONE’S FUTURE?

Jackasses who know no better and are bacjward in thinking will always stagnate their own people.

HOW DO YOU STAGNATE YOUR PEOPLE?
    YOU FORCE YOUR SCHOLARS WITH IDEAS INTO VIRTUAL EXILE

RE a one horse sport….cricket…..will take the island nowhere….broaden ya horizons.

WHEREEVER YOU GO IN THE BRITISH COMMONWEALTH FOLK HAVE HEARD OF BARBADOS BECAUSE OF OUR PROFICIENCY IN BADMINTON GOLF WATER POLO GYMNASTICS BEACH VOLLEY BALL BOXING ETC ah lie

we go to the olympics each time so far ONE BRONZE MEDAL OUR HORIZONS ARE BROAD INDEED

re It is the DUTY of a society to RESPECT and to NURTURE the natural talents that it is blessed with through its citizens…..and then to ensure that round pegs are placed in the round holes of society, and the square peg into square holes. REALLY///

man the olympics is bare sport just like the BU RUMSHOP
    only difference is that the BU RUM SHOP IS THE SAME SHITE BY THE SAME PEOPLE EVERYDAY

THE OLYMPICS COMES EVERY FOUR YEARS where we see our athletes running backwards

let me go and see if I can get a wuk telling Trump how to replace bamacare
    let me see if I can use the talents that my Government used and abused and did not nurture

39. Piece wrote
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    big brain responded

There are Olympic qualifying standards which all athletes MUST meet before being allowed to participate. Any athlete from Barbados who has participated would have had to meet such international standards -like all the others.
    The point here is NOT about participation or even about the cost of going …or even about the officials being there…
    It is about the approach to maximising latent talent to be the VERY BEST that it can be.

I THOUGHT THAT THE FOLK WE SENT TO REPRESENT US HAD ALREADY MAXIMISED THEIR LATENT TALENTS EVEN THOUGH THEY ARE JACKASSES IN HORSE RACE

YOU MEET THE QUALIFYING TIME TO COMPETE WITH FOLK WHO YOU KNOW ARE PERFORMING MUCH HIGHER THAN THAT AND THEN YOU COMPLAIN

LOT OF HYPOCRISY AND CIRCULAR ARGUMENTS HERE

WHY DONT WE TRY TO GET AN EVENT AT THE NEXT OLYMPICS CALLED

TALKING SHITE THE BU WAY ON A DAILY BASIS

WE WOULD WIN ALL THE MEDALS ah lie?

40. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

GP..because they can do better…they can extract the naturally gifted athletes from the ones useless who are related to the coach or the teacher or who has some connection to some titled idiot.

They can be consistent in becoming the best of the best…even if it takes another 10 years, I am sure you never heard the names of the dudes Oba talked about who were not allowed to represent am syre you did not know that they have lucrative contracts, but you know they do not have olympic medals….look at the bigger picture….

…ask Oba how many doors his bronze opened, if bajans knew, they would have been more appreciative of him…in one year ask Akela what her outstanding performance at Rio is doing for her…and exposure fir the island which will see scouts converging to look for naturally takehted athletes.

Sealy is spouting rubbish, he should have been able to give specifics and an analytical outline about the way forward in sending another 15 athletes to Japan in 4 years…it’s not rocket science.

41. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

*naturally talented athletes.

Barbados is very dependent on remittances….with fireign domiciled athletes, it comes in foreign excjhnge, just like with the scholars who work outside for international companies, repay their university loans through foreign exchange, support their families through foreign exchange, buy properties on the island through foreign exchange…,..the bigger picture.

That is why Asia, South East Asia and other countries have such lucrative opportunities. ..your people are your best resource.

GP…stop playing..lol

42. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/Dba2303osBi

Oh these wicked liars, what an embarrassment.

43. @ GP
    You just lucky that the Bushman’s whacker get tek way…. cause you are here talking a lotta shiite ….while doing eff-all and ‘waiting for the rapture…’
    …you wait….!!

You of all people must be well versed in the parable of the talents – which speak SPECIFICALLY about brass bowls who bury their talents in the sand while ‘waiting for the master to come and take back what he had given them’

Success is NOT about having MANY talents – or getting multiple gold medals, it is about doing the BEST with whatever little you are given….
    …so much so that the Bossman will come back and ‘take the talent from him (hoarding the one talent) and give it to him who has the ten talents. For to everyone who has, will more be given, and he will have an abundance. But from the one who has not, even what he has will be taken away….
    …and far from ‘rapture’, that talent-hoarder will be “cast into the outer darkness. In that place there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth”

Be warned Boss….. 🙂

44. But wait if it is true that , “The point here is NOT about participation or even about the cost of going …or even about the officials being there…It is about the approach to maximising latent talent to be the VERY BEST that it can be” then that old fashioned concept popularized by that Baron fella out de wndow.

We cud talk big all we like bout small fry Bajans getting disgrace at big people do but dis Olympic thing is really all about dem big fellas national prestige and power.

When the US said not a shittte more of being beaten by Russia or Brazil at basketball and was able to get dem pros into the game dat line to mek sure dat dem VERY BEST would win de basketball gold forever and a day thereafter was all bout national power and prestige.

Of course when China did winning all de medals dem did maximising dem latent national talent to be a super power. De athletes dem was just a vehicle to dat goal so it was easy enough to have a first class pharmacology program aligned to the physical demands.

When we had dem boycotts we dun know that was all about power and prestige.

And now we got dese big ass doping bans that affect an entire nation. Putin angry as shit. Only one Russian athlete in Rio. Wanna mad or what. National power and prestige has been destroyed particularly for Vlad. And to think he only just wrap Sochi. Look out for some serious ‘fireworks’ after de games done. Clinton betta watch she backside.

Dese Olympics games dat we play is really great at the athlete level but the real games are always played off the field…so don’t let we get too tie up.

45. Success is NOT about having MANY talents – or getting multiple gold medals, it is about doing the BEST with whatever little you are given….
    THATS WHAT I HAVE DONE ALL MY LIFE DO THE BEST with whatever little you are given….
    ALSO KNOWN AS MEKING ENDS MEET
    NOW I PLAN TO SEE IF I CAN GET A LIKKLE PICK WID TRUMP TEACHING HE HOW TO REPLACE OBAMA CARE HOW TO FIX THE VA ETC

MY GUVMENT DONT WANT ME SO I HAVE TO GO ELSEWHERE

46. BT
    THIS IS IMPORTANT TO ME

Fight the good fight of faith, lay hold on eternal life, whereunto thou art also called, and hast professed a good profession before many witnesses. I TIM 6:12

47. @ GP
    …the difference with you from most of us, … is that you are LOADED with talent…
    You have no excuse for not WINNING the good fight of faith, whereunto you are called… and having the impact on all the many witnesses you encounter …of being a model of BBE’s righteousness….

@ I Brathwaite
    Bushie tells you the purpose of life …and you respond with the shiite that Baron Pierre de Coubertin said …and the jobby that current misguided nations do….
    …get thee behind Bushie….

48. The hypocrisy that is the conservative right,the Tea Party,the Religious Right especially those to be found in the South,also called the Bible Belt,these are the people who have found a voice in the Australian born Murdoch Fox News led by Ailes,now disgraced and discipled with O’really,Hannity,Kelly,Cavuto et al.These are those who found voice to rain insult on Gabby Douglas simply because she did not put her hand over the breast when the national anthem was being played.That action I find so stupid.Why should minorities even sing those words and then walk down the street to be catspraddled on the ground by more often than not a red necked policeman.
    Worse yet,the ugly American so called has been taken to task by the NY Post and the WT however I noticed last night the Shot Put was won by 2 Americans,gold and silver,and neither Ryan Croucher nor Joe Kovac placed hand over breast.It so hypocritical.Not a murmur,not a tweet but Gabby black,so she although American born is deemed UN AMERICAN.Sounds like Trump who found the American born judge of Mexican lineage to be UN American,and described as Mexican.Effing hypocrites.In the words of Franz Fanon…..”leave this Europe,this America where they are never done talking about man,yet murder men everywhere,on the corners of their own streets and in all corners of the globe”.The American right.the ugly American…out of step with the world and blinded by hatred of people of colour everywhere.

49. @ The Georgie that is Porgie

The person who said salt is unnecessary must have meant added salt

For all foods contain traces of salt, naturally.

Yes, and salt, like other minerals, is essential for good heath.

It is the overuse of salt for taste and preservation which has harmed us and has led to a range of diseases.

Even too much clean water can kill.

50. Both excess salt and sugar(actually excess anything)is bad for human health.When Sir Cave made the point that the British is responsible for the state of health of the descendants of the slave trade,this is the point he was making.Without going over what is now well known,the diet of the enslaved European and African is one of the reasons of the many amputations prevalent in the Americas where people don’t take precaution and stay away from fast foods in particular.