The Minister of Finance has announced that Budget Day in Barbados will be on the 16 August 2016. It is evident to sensible observers that Minister Chris Sinckler’s policies have failed Barbados as we observe the country’s infrastructure crumble and the confidence of a proud Bajan dissipate. His PR effort this week on the talk show is duly noted.

The following Facebook entry by Senator John Watson caught the attention of BU for many reasons. At the top of our concerns is the challenge Barbados faces to generate forex to pay for imports. It is no secret Barbadians have developed an unhealthy consumption appetite post Independence and we will live or die based on our (in)ability to generate foreign exchange.

The concern raised by Senator Watson strikes at the core of what is wrong with Barbados today. Despite a huge investment in educating our people we have been unable to fan the entrepreneurial flame. There is no Pride and Industry to float the boat of national productivity, to purchase local. Our policymakers have gambled and placed all the chips on the tourism sector.

Senator Watson makes the strong point that if items are being manufactured in Barbados, Abed a leading retailer and president of the Barbados Chamber of Commerce, should purchase local.  It is what a good corporate citizen AND Barbadians should do. The additional concern the BU household has is a retailer (Eddy Abed) heading the Barbados Chamber of Commerce at a time the priority need of the country is to generate foreign exchange. Does this make sense? We should not blame Abed because he was elected by the members. It is an indictment on all the members of the Barbados Chamber of Commerce.   In fact we go further and suggest it is an indictment on all Barbadians.

Middlecalss and not so middleclass Barbadians are travelling to Miami or buying online anyway so who cares.

It is Budget Day next week Tuesday and the feeling with many is – so what.

John A Watson

The Trade Association leaders need to set higher standards . Mr. Abed, President of the Chamber of Commerce, has chosen to import large quantities of school accessories, Bands and epaulets, which can be made locally. In fact, he may have used to the local products from which to give his Far East Supplier samples to copy.

I have to conclude that there is no regard for the welfare of Barbadian workers nor for preservation of foreign exchange. He has chosen to support the very poorly paid workers of the Far East over Bajans.

I hope that Barbadians understand that they should not buy these products because they are taking away Barbadian JOBS. Unfortunately, Barbados Industries Ltd (Uniform Factory Outlet UFO) at Wildey, and Hooper Garments at Pelican , both MANUFACTURERS, are selling those products as well.

The locally made products are being sold at Cave Shepherd, Woolworth Marmax and Wally’s. BUY FROM THESE.

Read the comments posted to Senator John Watson’s Facebook timeline HERE.

115 responses to “So What if it is Budget Day Next Week – President of the BCCI Eddy Abed Accused of Being Unpatriotic”

1. Thanks for the info on the school clothes. Will respond accordingly.

2. Interesting……..Damned if you do and damned if you dont…….should one buy “local” and charge your customers accordingly or should one source cheaper items internationally in order to assist the poor consumer by offering cheaper goods?

3. I believe in looking at the long-term effect rather than the short- term.

4. Vincent Haynes August 10, 2016 at 4:57 AM #

Interesting……..Damned if you do and damned if you dont…….should one buy “local” and charge your customers accordingly or should one source cheaper items internationally in order to assist the poor consumer by offering cheaper goods?

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

good comment / question.

a true test of nationalism and one that carries a high test of moral suasion not usually found in the human gene , as an individualistic need and a call for self preservation becomes first and foremost

5. Barbadians have always sold them self short in their abilities and have convinced themselves that others are better than theirs ,personally i find the China products are horrible and one spends a dollar on an item which is horrible in quality. i have purchase pencils made in Barbados for friends living over seas and they have been quite satisfied with the quality and ever so often i have to send them refills unfortunately the item cannot be found in that area of USA where they resides

6. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Nation of Laws' my ass. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman aka ‘Nation of Laws’ my ass.

Meanwhile the agriculture sector in Barbados continues to be treated like a red-headed stepchild, despite the fact that it holds the greatest opportunities for ForEx saving and mass employment.

To the idiot running this country (Sinckler these days I hear), the only way to put people back to work in large numbers and save some of the ForEx we spend on food is to subsidise the sugar industry with more than just liars’ promises. You’re printing the damned money anyway!

If you have to, buy the cane and dump it in the sea, at least we’ll get back the employment, apprenticeship schemes, human skills, countryside management and rotation crops.

Forget the White Dinosaur (much bigger than an elephant) that is Andrews factory, the teefs got their commission already anyway.

There will be no economic recovery under Fumble’s Fools.

7. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Up to yesterday a friend of mine was discussing where she shopped and how, when she spends $100 at Popular Supermarket she gets more food for her money than anywhere else in Barbados

I used to buy shirts made in Barbados until I washed them twice and one month later the shirt, be it tshirt or normal shirt, looked like if I was wearing it for years!!!

Epaullettes, depending on whether they were locally sources, or imported, from specific countries suffered the same rapid inordinate use fade.

The three points that I am making are

1.That buy local, at the expense of longevity of product, is not in the interest of poor consumers seeking to save a penny and ending up being screwed for a pound.

2.certain vendors MAKE IT THEIR BUSINESS to search for and deliver a proper product to Bajan consumers AND WILL NOT COMPROMISE THAT for anyone. That cannot be bought or acquired. That is the integrity of the buyer and this is why Popular and Bertram Hall will always be full.

3.The various agencies tasked with enforcing standards ARE JUST CHILLING TO EF OUT. Regardless as to whether it is the FTC, BNSI, THE OFFICE OF THE OMBUDSMAN call whatever name you like, the are woefully incapable of, or unwilling to, enforce and standards whic protect consumers

Be it cheap epaulletes or new cars with defective parts that have been recalled in the United States, we are besieged by a system of such mediocrity and sub performances that this ry of Buy Bajan is a luck and chance thing that, irrespective of what Senator Watson is saying, does not reconcile with the sub standard products and services the poor average Bajan is receiving

Any uh wunna ever try to return de ef up fans, tools, wares miss ram does sell? Or, after getting dat shyte go to the Consumer bureau to complain?

The system that we are living in is effed up AND THERE IS NOYONE WITH THE CONSTITUTION TO CHANGE IT

8. Yesterday, before I could enter Thani’s Shoe Store, I was approached by a JAMAICAN woman downstairs and a GUYANESE woman and Bajan man upstairs, following me as though they were sales clerks, asking if I “wanted duty free.” The employees seem to be involved in the scam as well

This practice could not have been maintained for the number of years it has been going on unless Barbadians were not willing participants. And the authorities, especially Customs Enforcement and the police, who obviously have knowledge/information of the activity, are turning a “blind eye.”

If Abed is accused of being UNPATRIOTIC because he purchases his school uniforms from an overseas market, then how can we describe the owners of Thani’s who are ENCOURAGING FOREIGNERS to take ADVANTAGE of the duty free concessions, which ultimately results in a LOSS of REVENUE for government in the long term?

9. Commerce Minister, Donville Inniss cannot say he is unaware of the “Thani Shoe Shop duty free scam,” because I’m sure he reads BU and listens to “Brass Tacks,” and this activity has been discussed in these forums on numerous occasions.

Perhaps he should address to this issue, rather than some of the shiite he usually spews on matters that do not fall under his portfolios.

A sting operation involving immigration, customs and police should be undertaken at these stores.

10. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Nation of Laws' my ass. Avatar

Artax August 10, 2016 at 7:22 AM #
    Yesterday, before I could enter Thani’s Shoe Store, I was approached by a JAMAICAN woman downstairs and a GUYANESE woman and Bajan man upstairs, following me as though they were sales clerks, asking if I “wanted duty free.” The employees seem to be involved in the scam as well

This practice could not have been maintained for the number of years it has been going on unless Barbadians were not willing participants. And the authorities, especially Customs Enforcement and the police, who obviously have knowledge/information of the activity, are turning a “blind eye.”

Suppose any items purchased in ForEx (cash or credit card) was duty-free and no item purchased in Bajan currency was. Would we not then realise the true value of our currency and remove the fraudsters? Money talks, bullshit walks.

The only fair tax is VAT, the rest of the system is corrupt and designed to keep idiots employed. We should be paying tax on what we spend, not what we earn. If our tax-free earnings end up untaxed in banks then someone else gets to spend it and pay VAT.

11. @ Frustrated Businessman
    Skippa, what the hell is wrong with you though?
    You keep coming with these sensible ideas and logical perspectives ….and what is worse, you seem to expect that our leaders will understand them….

Do you realise that AC is representative of the DLP hierarchy?
    Do you understand that Gline Clarke is a BLP guru and role model?
    You are speaking DUTCH skippa…

Can you devolve your ideas into PRACTICAL terms …such as how Dumbville could get another hundred votes in St James … or how Wuk fuh Wuk could get another set of apartments…?
    Cause…
    There will be no change while you continue speaking in Dutch…

12. @ Frustrated Business Man

You said and I Quote “Suppose any items purchased in ForEx (cash or credit card) was duty-free and no item purchased in Bajan currency was. Would we not then realise the true value of our currency and remove the fraudsters? ”

NO!

Emphatically NO!

Because, as such related to Duty Free Purchases, the same issue as obtains for transactions effected in Forex cash currencies would follow, namely the cash is substituted with Bajan cash and the forex disappears.

In fact we now have another phenomenon of enforced US “purchases” being perpetrated on Bajans via Digicel and Lime per topups via credit cards but that is another story.

The solution for that is over 10 year old but, because it was stolen and dufuses tried to implement it, it NEVER WORKED, HOWEVER AIRPORTS IN THE UNITED STATES ARE USING IT NOW.

When you enter an airport (read duty free store) your qualifications to purchase duty free are tied to your passport and travel details, REAL TIME!!!

If I purchase duty free as a visitor there is a realtime record of all my transactions, dates, times, items, quantities, frequencies, location, agent at till, which, in an environment with people other than Waste Foops, creates an anomaly, or person of interest who can be interdicted on, IMMEDIATELY!!

But such is not in the interest of our authorities and has not been for 10 years while the sought to teif what was not theirs

13. Ok so there are fraudsters and cheats that are cheating the govt. But how about others who would rather support the growing demand for import products rather than local. Not every local product can be deemed useless
    I find some of those who place blamed are usually the same ones who contribute to the loss of revenue when opting to buying imported products
    Yeah bozie there is enough blame to go around but one should also question self and their role in escalating the problem

14. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Nation of Laws' my ass. Avatar

Piece, you missed my point. It really is simple, I will try again.

If the duty-free price on an item is US$100 and the duty-paid price is US$200, for the sake of simplicity we will assume the tax is US$100 and also the incentive to cheat the system is worth US$100.

If all purchases in ForEx are duty-free, the real value of the US currency will be determined by the street market. That value will be somewhere between the two as consumers bid privately to purchase ForEx to save tax.

Regardless of what value is determined by the free market, the value can only be realised if the item is purchased and the money spent. There is no value other than face value if the cash is hoarded.

To be clear, the value of the ForEx will be GREATER to the possessor if it is spent or sold right here. Expatriation of the currency would be pointless, it would have less value overseas. All ForEx would therefore flow back to the central bank or simply remain in circulation like it does in Bahamas or Bermuda.

That then paves the way for shutting down the massive crookery that is the Barbados Central Bank.

Barbados could be fixed in less than a year.

There will be no economic recovery under Fumble’s Fools.

15. I was in the distributive sector and always felt guity about not earning foreign exchange. I kept a low profile and I feel Abed should do the same.

Businesses that earn foreign exchange should be front and centre and given as much help as possible. We all depend on them.

16. Frustrated
    Savings are subject to a Withholding Tax of 12.5% so tax is paid on savings also.

17. It would be interesting to debate and put to the people in a referendum if Barbados should become a republic or join a federation with the Eastern Caribbean States or Canada.It is clear that left to the political class Barbados will soon be worse off than Guyana,Jamaica or Trinidad.The country is now in the hands of corrupt,lying politicians.

18. HAVEN’T WE ALL LIVED LONG ENOUGH AND HAVE GAINED SOME WISDOM TO SEE THROUGH THE RIVERS OF UNCHECKED SPEWED RAW SEWAGE OFFERED UP TO US BY AS PURE LIVING WATERS, WITH A HOLY TINGE TO IT….

WHILE LOOKING FOR ANSWERS…

https://seeingthewhisper.files.wordpress.com/2015/02/51.jpg

19. Anonymice - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymice – TheGazer

@no name here
    Disassociate from ac. It was short and I tried to read it, but by the time I got to living waters, I was confused. Ya talking like ac. scvnt.

20. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Gazer

THere are more certifiable mad menses out, than in

21. Wait uh mean to say that ac a person attesting to a free and democratic system of goverance must be feared. And the mcguffies and socialist who are hinting there displeasures for democractic goverance should be given a free reign to associate
    Well lawd hsve merci

22. BU did not include the retailers who have have offices in the US and underinvoice. We should throw in a few car dealers as well.

23. ”Patriotism is the last refuse of scoundrels.”
    Samuel Johnson, April 1775

24. And talking about scoundrels

We believe BU has a regular who presents as an actuary

One leading actuarial society, in the US, is in the news today having withheld a report about the deleterious effects of low and negative interest rates on pension plans.

Those plans are showing viability is a major issue

Meaning that workers are not going to receive anywhere near projections.

And we are generally talking about money purchase plans

We have been moving away from defined benefit plans for decades.

We wonder when BU is likely to have access to the state of NIS from that resident actuary

Employer sponsored plans, etc

25. @Pacha

Please share that report on low rates on pension plans.

26. @ac

“Ok so there are fraudsters and cheats that are cheating the govt. But how about others who would rather support the growing demand for import products rather than local. Not every local product can be deemed useless”

Try telling that to the Minister of Commerce and (laugh) Industry, who does all he can to support importation, even if it is illegal. Hence the chicken wings fiasco, the flooding of the market with re-labelled goods, etc. Instead of looking into why goods are re-labelled, he upbraids local producers for complaining. He doesn’t give a hoot. That is why Industry and Commerce should never be under the same Minister.

27. @ Frustrated Businessman aka ‘Nation of Laws’ my ass,

“Demand for avocados destroying Mexico’s pine forests” headline news from today’s UK Independent newspaper.

Surely there must be a demand out there for our home-grown agricultural produce. Why are we not focussing more on this industry? Does anbody know the answer?

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/home-news/avocados-deforestation-demand-price-rise-destroy-mexico-pine-forests-a7182571.html

28. Abed responded to Senator John Watson’s comments by simply saying as a retailer in this environment, he (Abed) has to remain competitive, especially against the background of his competitors sourcing and supplying similar items at prices attractive to consumers.

Essentially, he has no other choice but to also source items from markets that could afford him the opportunity to retail at competitive prices as well. It’s all about business……………. customer satisfaction and making a profit.

29. Clico administered a pension plan formerly managed by Life of Barbados,nothing to do with a Clico policy as such but the plan of a private company.Clico stopped monthly payments for almost 2 years and nothing can be heard from the managers of Clico.Meanwhile the Leper is looking hale and hearty in the press,smiling for the camera as innocent as a newborn baby.His legal adviser should know that he Mr Gollop is the only person the Leper has for company.Nobody else want to have anything to do with the Leper as is to be expected by anyone carrying that tainted name.

30. At the beginning of this thread, Vincent mentioned the “poor consumer”. Undoubtedly there is real poverty in Barbados. But I have to ask, does a “poor consumer”

Carry a $1500 cell phone with all the bells and whistles?
    Purchase a $1000.00 Kadooment costume?
    Have a 56″ flat screen TV at home?
    Eat out at Sky Mall, Sheraton Centre and Lanterns Mall almost every day?

Such people only become “poor” when it comes time to buy school uniforms and supplies. People with misplaced priorities cannot claim “poverty”. Tourism is our number one export, but is it really sustainable for Barbados when its operators are free from all taxes? When the existence of duty-free supplies squeezes out local suppliers? What is left is the visitor’s pocket money – that cannot pay our import bill.

31. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Exclaimer…the tiny little avacados coming out of Mexico is exported to Canada, the avacados in Barbados and the Caribbean are far more superior, but as with everything else, the jackasses in parliament would fight people who try to export, unless it’s the minorities who pay them bribes……nuisances who think it’s their bank accounts only should benefit from business related to the island.

32. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Nation of Laws' my ass. Avatar

Peltdownman August 10, 2016 at 3:12 PM #
    Tourism is our number one export, but is it really sustainable for Barbados when its operators are free from all taxes? When the existence of duty-free supplies squeezes out local suppliers? What is left is the visitor’s pocket money – that cannot pay our import bill.

Gospel.

And the BDS Gov’t cannot continue to strangle tax payers with crippling bureaucracy and the impossible cost of employing the unemployables. A gov’t job in Bim is no different than the UK DOLE payments used to be: money for nothing. Keeping unemployables fed and out of prison is one thing, tripping over them at every turn adds insult to injury.

33. To Artax . Mr Abed is not responding to the competition. He is selling at the same or higher prices than his competitors and if he were getting the imported products cheaper then he should be selling at lower prices I am always amazed at how the WORD of some people is accepted without any thought or checking. Maybe you you should check out the market yourself

34. Visited Abed store and the evidence is there to support Senator Watson’s charge. We should thank him for dragging this matter in the public eye. Let us hope that it will be discussed in the Lower House next week when the issue of falling forex reserves come up.

35. John Watson has a reputation for being a manufacturer of integrity.

36. @ Well Well,

You are talking about niche markets. The prestige of Mount Gay rum has improved considerably since it was snapped up by the french. They have brought out a variety of rum’s to the market place. They have re-energised the brand name.

Apparently, Tesco’s (supermarket) have just introduced an advocado spread to the market place. Each story is revealing and exposes the poverty of ambition that prevails in Barbados.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/business/news/tesco-launches-uk-s-first-ever-avocado-spread-a7022526.html#commentsDiv

Finally, we have on our shores a creative entrepreneur called Levi Roots (Jamaican extraction – no surprise!). His brand is sold in a large number of UK retailers.

http://www.leviroots.com/

37. Anonymice - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymice – TheGazer

As one man sees it…
    Business dealings of this type are like a dagger to the heart of the local industries. Struggling to survive in a small market and keeping nationals gainfully employed but yet forced to compete against large external suppliers. It may be more than “all about business”, this could be a nail in the coffin of a local business.

In a conspiracy theory world. perhaps there is a next group in the wings, just waiting to replace the established local business. From the discussion so far, you ain’t even saving pennies today (by buying from Abeds). The successor company will be more expensive.
    Don’t assist in hurting yourself..

Goverment must protect local industries.

38. How can we prosper as Bajans if we dumb down our the environment to nothing more than being vessels, no creativity or innovation require.

39. John A Watson August 10, 2016 at 4:21 PM #

“To Artax . Mr Abed is not responding to the competition. He is selling at the same or higher prices than his competitors and if he were getting the imported products cheaper then he should be selling at lower prices I am always amazed at how the WORD of some people is accepted without any thought or checking. Maybe you should check out the market yourself…”

@ John A. Watson

It SEEMS as though COMPREHENSION CONTINUES to ELLUDE so called intelligent individuals in Barbados.

John Watson, don’t be a JACKASS now. One of the news items in VOB’s 12:30pm news was Abed’s RESPONSE to your ACCUSATIONS and I wrote his comments for the benefit of those BU contributors who may not have heard the news broadcast.

For you to state you are “always amazed at how the WORD of some people is accepted without any thought or checking” is pure shiite, because there is not any STATEMENT or PHRASE in my contribution which could be INTERPRETED to SUGGEST I ACCEPTED Abed’s “word.” I never mentioned Abed is correct and you are wrong.

Majority of you politicians have your heads so far up your asses that you never TAKE TIME to READ and UNDERSTAND BEFORE responding in accordance to what is politically expedient to you.

Your response clearly illustrates why I, as I have consistently mentioned in this forum, do not like politicians.

40. I have also mentioned in this forum that I do not shop at Abed’s because of an incident I witnessed happened in that store a few years ago. When I was about to approach the cashier with an item, Tony Abed shouted so loudly at a young sales clerk, causing me to leave the item on the desk and walk out.

41. Artax
    I have known John Watson since Weymouth campus days and its news to me that he is a politician.

42. Anonymice - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymice – TheGazer

@Artax,
    You are on my required reading list.

Ease up a bit. You may not have intended it, but I came away with the impression you were an ‘Abed man’. We just have what we read here, and by the time we apply our filters some things get lost/gained in transmission.

Tek it easy.

43. @ Artax
    Wuh you very ‘acid’ bozie…!!
    A casual reading of your original post would suggest that you are DEFENDING Abed’s position. It is therefor nor surprising or disrespectful for Watson to direct his response to you …or to suggest that you seem to believe Abed’s word.
    Re-read your second paragraph…

Now if you had said there “Essentially, (WHAT ABED IS SAYING IS THAT) he has no other choice but to……..
    THEN you may have a point…

44. @ Frustrated Businessman aka ‘Nation of Laws’ my ass. August 10, 2016 at 3:42 PM

Since GP is on pre-retirement leave, and Bushie’s whacker get tek way, …the Bushman will take this opportunity to correct your classification of Peltdownman’s comments as ‘Gospel’.
    It is NOT GOSPEL ….. or even ‘Gospel Truth’

It is certainly ‘TRUTH’…. but definitely NOT ‘Good News’ (which is what ‘Gospel’ means….

45. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Some years ago the InterAmerican Development bank funded a project that gave computers to a department in the Old NIS building that was responsible for monitoring prices on good or was it vegetables? I forget now.

My point is as follows.

Whichever entity Senator John Williams represents – Manufacturers of whatever – should be able to approach the IDB in concert with Consumer Affairs and ask them, the IDB, to fund a Real time Prices Intake platform for this specific purpose.

Said APP would permit some youth who are always in town to walk into various establishments and collect this type of price data ON A CELL PHONE.

How will a platform like this generate revenue to maintain itself? after the first influx of capital by the IDB?

The market

When Karnani Enterprises learns that po’ peeple got the “Bajan Price is RIght” app pun dem Iphone or android, and that app displays the price of curtain material at Abed as $3 a yard and his is at $4, he, and others in his sector, will pay to get online and advertise his products.

Dun wid advertising at the Nation, Advocate and Barbados Today!!

We simply do not understand what the power of these Mobile Apps is and how car parts dealers, dry goods, everyone is using these virtual tools to advertise their product cheaper

46. “Perhaps he should address to this issue, rather than some of the shiite he usually spews on matters that do not fall under his portfolios.”

Not only the Indian stores; the unlawful facility is available at Cave Shepherd as well.

47. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Senator John Watson *** errata

48. Gabriel August 10, 2016 at 6:02 PM #

“I have known John Watson since Weymouth campus days and its news to me that he is a politician.”

@ Gabriel

Minister, shadow minster, back-bencher, senator, speaker, parliamentary secretary….. in my opinion, all uh dem is politicians.

49. are-we-there-yet Avatar

PUDRYR

Excellent suggestion at 6:40 pm.

An IDB project platform is probably the best avenue for funding but the Enterprise Growth Fund or the Innovation fund are good alternatives and they might possibly have quicker implementation times.