corruptionAustria’s highest court annulled their recent presidential election. In delivering the decision the head of the court said:

“The decision I am announcing today has no winner and no loser, it has only one aim: to strengthen trust in the rule of law and democracy”.

That quotation set me thinking about this country’s elections that are constitutionally due in less than two years.

Over time there have been many calls by well-intentioned persons to change the electoral laws to ensure that elections are free and fair. My view is that their focus is too narrow. There are more than adequate laws to ensure that the system of electing the government is fair and transparent.

The obstacle to achieving fairness and transparency, in this regard, lies in what I describe as a system that is designed to be corrupt. The fact that no one has been prosecuted for corruption so far is testimony to the ingrained honesty of Barbadians or that the system has worked well to cover corruption.

It might have been unintentional, but the first steps in the process to where we find ourselves came with the passage of the 1974 constitutional amendments. Those amendments gave the Prime Minister the right to recommend the appointment of judges, after consultation with the Leader of the Opposition; and the right to be consulted on the appointments of permanent secretaries and their deputies, and heads of department and their deputies. But, from inception, the right to be consulted has been misinterpreted to mean that the Prime Minister recommends the appointments. In essence, the Public Service Commission has abdicated its role. Persons who have experienced the Public Service prior to 1974 lament the dramatic decline in today’s standards and output and trace the genesis to those amendments.

It is now widely accepted in the Public Service that an officer does not reach those grades unless he/she has some connection to the party in power or some other relationship to a political operative. A person who obtained an appointment this manner might find his/her impartiality compromised, and be less inclined to be apolitical as the Public Service Act requires.

While in power both political parties have complained that persons who were appointed by the “other side” have given less than their best when called upon to do so. This might be the reason why persons who were acting in senior posts, when the government changed in 2008, continue to act to this day.

To my mind, the Government might be using acting appointments to ensure the loyalty and compliance of those officers. A situation like this would lead to an officer giving his Minister the advice he wants rather than the best possible advice. Failing to give the Minister the advice he requires would result in the acting officer being reverted and replaced with someone more amenable to the Minister’s will.

The corruption in the system ensures that the politician always gets his way on important matters, whether awarding contracts or the appointing staff.

The political contamination in the electoral system is as bad or worse than the infelicities in the general Public Service. Under our laws, a politician can imprisoned, lose his seat, or disqualified from seeking future political office, if he/she is found to have overspent, bought vote, or filed a false return. The problem with the system is not that there is an absence of laws to regulate the process: it is that there is little or no enforcement.

Again, this lack of enforcement comes from the fact that politicians are required to select the persons who are required to regulate the same politicians who selected them in the first place. If that is not a recipe for corruption nothing is.

To strengthen trust in the rule of law and democracy, those well-intentioned persons would be better employed, campaigning against the entrenched corruption that is the Barbadian way.

119 responses to “The Caswell Franklyn Column – Corruption is the Barbadian Way”

1. A truer column was NEVER written!

2. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Politicians and Public service officers are all out of us,how or what do we set in motion for this changing of the us?

This discussion can be usefull once we collectively admit our culpability and seek to change our individual ways.

3. @Casewell. Good one.

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

https://imgur.com/9hhFq2I

I made absolutely sure to save this poster by Piece and his grandson for this very reason, bajans need to be reminded for the next yesr and a half leading up to elections that they can stop politicians from perpetrating and forcing corruption on public servants and the population in general to secure a job by turning everyone into yardfowls and pimps and when you refuse, ya out of a job…that is not democracy, thst is extortion, bribery snd corruption by both political parties….do something about it.

https://imgur.com/gallery/9hhFq2I

Enouhh talk…time for action, expose them for the world to see.

5. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Caswell;

I think that you have once more perfectly diagnosed the situation.

Now who will bell the cat? and how?

6. Should we laugh after reading the report in today’s Sun that the Transport Board owes several million to the NIS which they cannot repay?

7. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

I corruption is indeed endemic and cultural to Barbados, Caswell, then, as Bushie so frequently asserts, we are doomed.

8. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

*If

9. We call again for the institutionalization of that antiquarian device.

Heads will roll!

But one will be enough to send the correct message throughout the body politic.

Of course, we’ll have to bypass the current processes. LOL

10. David July 10, 2016 at 9:14 AM #

โ€œShould we laugh after reading the report in todayโ€™s Sun that the Transport Board owes several million to the NIS which they cannot repay?โ€

Interesting comments.

I recall reading a news article which stated UCAL was โ€œseriously requestingโ€ the payment of $22M the Transport Board owes the company. In response, the NIS Department issued a DIRECTIVE to the Transport Board for all future payments to UCAL to be paid to NIS instead. [Nation News, September 15, 2015]

โ€œWho guards the guards?โ€

11. @ Caswell

Well said. Take a look at Transparency International. The Trinidad chapter helped push through FOI and other anti-corruption laws. Check it out. If you call a meeting I and many others will come.

12. All sensible Barbadians knew that these monies would never be repaid by the Transport Board when voted by parliament under John Boyce at the time. This is the kind of mismanagement we have given a pass to our officials and tugs at the dysfunctional democracy we hold so dear.

Transport Board owes NIS $32 million

13. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

Violet C Beckles July 10, 2016 at 9:34 AM #

Barbados did not even follow the laws of , care nor celebrate the 800 year of the Magna Carta on June 15th 2015, England Rule started 1066 and now we are on a 9 ,, the 801 year of that Magna Carta June 15th 2016 . which is the 166 day of the year, Bim 166 sq miles, 1966 ind, 166 pages of fraud Act to defraud people of a Clear Title Deed of 70 Years, Numbers add up in their Numbers to 13 =4 a foundation where a lot of new foundation are being done this year, England makes its moves , Barbados sit back like slaves to see what your pimp title holders look to see what Massa doing before you think of your own minds thinking,
    We all have a right to call it what it is no mater the word , Its must be called out then to be fixed for the better of the People,
    So Barbados is not following the laws of the Maga Carta nor common law, they doing as crime bosses do,
    Panama papers,vote buying, Laundering, Fraud, CLICO , bank fraud,police fraud , lawyer fraud,high court fraud,judge fraud,record fraud ,History fraud, news fraud, Fraud squad fraud,murder , rape , welcome to 50 years of crooks that write their own history to feed to the people like PIG food. How does it taste?

14. @Caswell
    I find it very difficult to comment on your posts. Always excellent.

15. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Jeff Cumberbatch July 10, 2016 at 9:26 AM re “If corruption is indeed endemic and cultural to Barbados, Caswell, then, as Bushie so frequently asserts, we are doomed.”

That is a very depressing statement coming from a Law Dean.

If an experienced legal practitioner and avowed social warrior cannot help this nation combat a creeping, insidious culture of corruption despite all the benefits of world wide assistance (like Transparency International) then we ARE doomed.

@Caswell, your essay is excellent as usual.

I make one simple point however. You are certainly not REALLY suggesting that when the Act was amended in 1974 to allow the PM “the right to be consulted on the appointments…” that the direct and clear intent was not to ‘recommend’!

I am always ‘dumb-blonde’ awestruck myself when we get to the position that we ascribe an awestruck ‘dumb-blonde’ wonder to otherwise savvy men and women when they enact certain pieces of legislation.

The parties put in place what they wanted. And Bajans accept it completely. Since 1974 there have been changes in power that would have allowed a ‘re-amendment’ of that act if desired.

“Corruption is indeed endemic and cultural!”

16. This column criticizes the status quo but the system that was in place prior to 1974 could easily have led to the same corruption we complain about today. It is telling that the details of the previous system are not described. To do so would remind us of its susceptibility to abuse.
    Giving the public service commissions and senior civil servants more control over decisions elected politicians make today could potentially reduce the transparency and accountability of the state. In the “good old days” a few men, acting in secret, called the shots, and the man in the street barely knew their names.
    The integrity we associate with the previous system was a legacy of British rule. Once political independence was achieved, corruption was bound to follow.

17. Extremely good Caswell, but while we are talking and debating, the Government Ministers (and we do know who) are keeping as quiet as church mice and the others who are accustomed to putting their feet in their collective mouths are spewing their venom, while the others are quietly writing a new constitution to turn our lovely country into a republic which, other than the big heads we don’t want.

18. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

A sound analysis and one robust enough to stand up against refutation and criticism from those who have something to protect and hide. There is no question or doubt that the influences of party politics on the functioning aspect of the government civil duty are responsible for many things going wrong in government operations. It is a ‘perfectly’ well-guarded system that allows for the continuance of corruption and for that corruption to remain a standard practice in the ‘accounting’ process of public sector operations.

So ingrained is this process that those who have been doing it for so long do not see it as corruption or protection for the continuance of a practice that paints them negatively and immorally. After all, what corrupt activity practice over time that does not become an accepted norm (if the two laws system in Barbados affords the status quo the right to continue in fraudulent financial exploitation without consequence), that is so normal that society embraces it as standard operational practice?

On the mouths of every bajan, politicians are expected to get affluent from the fruits of political life. Thus, it is a normal fact of life that hardly upsets bajans when politician A buys plantations, and politician B has several million in accounts in other names.

The flipside to this is that coming from the mouths of politicians you would hear that they are not corrupt. Because, in the absence of proof and no evidence, how could you say that I am corrupt when my salary remains the same every month. The loan to build two houses comes from my salary every month. Your claims are just libellous and false and border on defamation of my character.

The perfect cover up!

19. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Jeff

I am limited to 650 words which prevented me from going further. Here are some examples where corruption is designed to thrive:

The Prime Minister decides who should be Governor-General and when that person has the opportunity to appoint independent senators, what happens? This current GG appointed Tony Marshall and a host of other old Dems. Like Austria, we should elect our Head of State.

I have seen persons who held the office as DPP being elevated to the office of Judge. If a DPP aspires to be a judge, he must make sure he finds favour with the Prime Minister, and be selective with whom he prosecutes.

The PM is required by the Constitution to consult with the Leader of the Opposition when making recommendations for the appointment of a judge. Let’s say the PM selects one of his incompetent friends and then consults with the Opposition Leader who objects. No matter the PM gets his man. That judge then pussyfoots or give bad rulings in cases against the Government. Even if a judge is does not favour the party in power but would like to become a justice of appeal, he can only do so if he finds favour with the PM so he can’t rock the boat either.

There are many more but I will give one example from the Public Service. There was a vacancy for the post of Chief Marshal. The preferred candidate did not have the qualifications and the Minister with responsibility for the Public Service made an order changing the qualifications to suit Adrian Lovell, the eventual winner. Sometime after that there was a warrant of arrest out for a man from the Bayland, who happens to be a canvasser. The Chief Marshal recalled the warrant and perjured himself by endorsing it with an affidavit saying that he took possession of the warrant after an authoritative request and that the person could not be found. Another marshal went to the man’s home and served him with a summons to come to court on another matter. He came to court on the summons and seeing him in the courtyard another marshal went into the office and took possession of the warrant to commit and carried the fellow to Dodds.

An acting supervisor, Shane Wiseman, reported the perjury of his Chief to the Registrar and the Public Service Commission, as required by the Public Service Act, and got reverted to a junior post for his troubles after acting for three years.

I could not go without mentioning this one a junior marshal embezzled some money that he collected. Rather than prosecute him, they promoted him to act and used the acting allowance over time to pay off the money that was stolen. I could go on but won’t for now.

20. @Caswell

Any update on the VAT monies owed by Courts Barbados ltd? Not sure how many here are aware this company is owned by a South American company.

21. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

Transport Board owes NIS $32 million @

How much does CLICO owes?
    How much does L&P owes?
    How much does COURTS owes?
    How much does LIME,SLIME owes?
    How much does UDC Owes?
    How much does Digi Cell owes?
    How much does the DLP Ministers Owes?
    How much does the lawyers Owes?
    How much does the Water company owes?
    How much does the Yacht Club owes?
    How much other taxes and VAT owed by all sections of government removed for favor,
    Full Audit of the Government of all funds Owen Mia, David , Fumble,AG,MOF, NHC, UDC,
    How much does COW owes and his family and friends running most of the business in Barbados,

22. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Caswell Franklyn:

Excellent article! Very informative and just simply the best.

The vital question to be addressed (as you quite perspicaciously identified) is why are there so many ‘actors’ in very senior and strategic positions in the public service.
    Is it because of laziness or incompetence of the present holder of the post whose sanction is required before those Heads of ministries and departments are approved by way of a rubber stamp?

23. In a more sophisticated democracy jounalists would follow up on Caswell’s revelations above. Even in Barbados the truth is an absolute defence against a claim of defamation.

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David July 10, 2016 at 9:52 AM #
    โ€œAll sensible Barbadians knew that these monies would never be repaid by the Transport Board when voted by parliament under John Boyce at the time. This is the kind of mismanagement we have given a pass to our officials and tugs at the dysfunctional democracy we hold so dear.โ€

David, the money will be repaid by way of a setoff of the additional NIS contributions from the ‘significant drop’ in those in the unemployment category now classified as the not voluntarily idle or the โ€˜unregisteredโ€™ self-employed but making a productive contribution to the economic growth of the country and to the long-term viability of the NIS to make sure your much promised State(d) pension entitlements are secured.

Ask Walter Blackman, if you need unbiased political confirmation.

25. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Dribbler

There is a similar provision in the Constitution of Trinidad and Tobago, where the PM is consulted on those appointments. In one case PM, Patrick Manning, consulted with the Public Service Commission but thet rejected the PM’s recommendation and appointed another person. Manning took the PSC to court and lost the case.

26. Wait!!
    What is so ‘excellent’ about this article?
    Lotta shiite!!
    Caswell sits down and pens THE OBVIOUS ….. and all kinda praise comes forth…?
    What the hell!!??

Caswell has merely summarised what we have been agreeing now for YEARS….
    True… he said it sweetly – and in his usual frank style …but ‘excellent’ shiite!!!

What we want to hear from Caswell is what HE intends to do about this now well documented malady. This is EXACTLY the diagnosis made by Bushie over TEN YEARS AGO.
    Bushie then went on to identify THE SOLUTION that was most likely to work…
    …the PERSON most suited to make it work..
    …the PROCESS best suited for its implementation
    ….and even a possible STRUCTURE and methodology.

If wunna look back (or ask David), wunna would see that Bushie called Caswell’s name on BU even BEFORE Caswell posted here…or perhaps even heard of it…

TEN YEARS HENCE…. after ignoring Bushie’s pleas, wasting his time on ‘Unity’, and casting his pearls to various other swine, Caswell now comes and tells us what we all already know…. ….and wunna clapping like shiite!!!
    Steupsss…

@ Jeff
    It is BECAUSE corruption is indeed endemic and cultural to Barbados, that Bushie can CONFIDENTLY tell you that we are doomed. Unfortunately, it CANNOT be stopped by doing more of the same shiite that caused it in the first place…..
    Our end will thus be the same as the other albino-centric centres of greed and selfishness that are imploding around the world as we speak.

@ Caswell
    You will NEVER know how potentially valuable a GIFT you were to Barbados….at least Bushie suspects that you can never imagine…..

27. @ Bushie

What about what we asked you to help with ever since.

We are yet looking for signs and wonders, and action, to remove the whole shebang, at its root!

28. @ Pacha
    Bushie is powerless to help…
    Even de little shiite whacker that empowered the bushman ‘get tek way’ …in what seems to be a clear message that umm don’t mek nuh more sense cutting the lawn….

YOU are looking for signs and wonders…??!!!
    YOU…Pachamama???

You see a cloud come out of the East, straightway you say, There cometh a shower; and so it is….and when you see the wind blow from the South, you say, There will be heat; and it cometh to pass.
    Shiite man!!! you can discern the face of the sky and of the earth; and of geopolitics…but how is it that ye do not discern this time?

The signs, wonders and actions abound…..

29. You know we have never thought that this system could be reformed, transform.

No matter how much people may try. The level of evil is much too great for humans.

Every time yuh think yuh dot de Devil on de run

He comes back worse and worse, all de time

We will join any sets of forces that will bring this whole thing down.

30. @ Pacha
    We will join any sets of forces that will bring this whole thing down.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    If you REALLY meant that you would look to be adopted by BBE …like Bushie…

You are wrong on this occasion though… The system CAN BE REFORMED (or could have been…) It would have taken some REALLY special people; some serious HARD work; unprecedented vision; and plenty sackcloth and ashes….

We have the ‘special people’ …
    Bushie provided the vision…
    …but Bajans hate hard work …and are too busy wuking up on each other’s asses to be concerned about any repentance from brass bowlery…

Caswell probably saw the whole thing as a bridge too far… or perhaps he has become so cynical that, like Jonah, he honestly don’t feel that Nineveh is worth saving….

31. @Bush Tea

We have Walter to have tossed his hat in the long so far.

32. @ David
    Walter committed harakari.

If he understood Pacha’s point that ‘the level of evil is TOO MUCH TOO GREAT FOR HUMANS” he would not have so tamely fallen on his sword.

Einstein put it another way.
    “We can’t solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them.”

His joining with the pack of idiots in the DLP/BLP is tantamount to expecting one good apple to heal the whole bunch……. or “Harakari’.

33. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Did the Transport Board not borrowed money from the NIS to pay those workers who were laid off during this Government’s Bob-a-Job operation?

A few weeks ago a large British retail company folded up ,and its CEO was summoned before a Parliamentary select Committee. (Westminster governance at work) and was thoroughly grilled.
    Surprisingly the former owner who had sold the business a couple of years previously,was also called before the PSC, and one of the questions he was asked, ” Why did you sell your business to this man, knowing that he has a history of wrecking businesses?”
    Perhaps we need to ask the NIS a similar question.

34. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

I am an ole man without many airs.

Simple and simpleton, exposed to many lessons and, unfortunately, I have not learnt too much.

One thing that i do understand well is the power of rumour and, when such rumour is amplified by truth, IN BARBADOS such is tantamount to death, a slow and painstaking death.

Be you pauper priest, politician or prime minister as long as de bajans malicious in your business and, AND, the evidence is displayed to the public, during that 9 day wonder (which, given the social media, can be extended to 90 days) one at least has the ability to scuttle a man ship.

Here are some interesting things about this article.

1.If it were not true Caswell Franklyn WAS NOT GOING TO PUBLISH IT.

2.if it were not endemic, WE DONKEYS WERE NOT GOING TO READ IT

3.AND IF IT WERE NOT POSSIBLE TO DISRUPT, we would truly be wasting our time here on BU

There are ways and means to disseminate this and similar information that will cause people to have a serious thought about doing any sort of business with these persons.

We are just afraid of putting our hands into the shy*e to clean it up.

That is why, WHEN WUNNA STOOL AND BLOCK UP WUNNA TOILETS, wunn does call de plumber and hightail it (no pun intended) to less smelly parts of the house, which is why de plumber does wipe he hands in wunna face towel when wunna lef he deah alone!!

EXPOSE THEM

It should be the norm that people take these matters and send them by confidential mail to Barbados Underground as a norm

Of course it will mean that Adriel Nitwit Brafwit and Dale Smiley Teeets Marshall will petition the United States Embassy and others to get WordPress to shut down the site more aggressively BUT, nine years has shown that the Honourable Blogmaster is not going to be moved.

For your viewing pleasure

http://imgur.com/IzxApng

35. Once again and for the umpteenth time,I posit the view that the Barbados I have tremendous respect and admiration for was the Barbados of the 50’s,60’s and 70’s.We had and observed Law and Order then.We experienced trust and respect and fantastic neighbourliness.There was the odd scoundrel about and abroad but nothing like what we have experienced since Independence and the worse Barbados is what we have under this Freundel Stuart administration of incompetents and shameless corruptors.And don’t try to mollycoddle people that these folk who are dropping dead is a normal situation.It is all the stress even the young are having with all the poor health standards brought about by the fast food contaminants.Most Bajans don’t cook any more.They go to the fast food joints which are all over the island like James Tudor shops of the 50’s and 60’s.

36. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

These posters are fantastic, just right for the next geberal elections.

But Piece…do you feel the US is interesred in any problems Adriel Nitwit, Fruendel, their snitch Leacock or Marshall or anyone else on the island will have with social media in Barbados or the Caribbean. …did you see the role social media played in the unrest re the police shooting and then with the officers been shot and killed…in the US..

Dont you know the US will now be more than happy to see all the corrupt politicians exposed…they may even give a hand….if ya ask them nicely…lol

37. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Gabriel…the people gotta stay out of Chefette, Burger King, Kentucky, etc.., they have to est healthy and exercise, buy fresh food and cook….drink lots of water, cut out sugars and salt…if they do not do these simple things. ….with all the stress to survive combined with unhealthy living, they will continue to drop dead at a higher rate.

All the years I lived in the US…I have never eaten their garbage fast food and was shocked that Caribbean people would buy that unhealthy stuff….trying to convince themselves that idiocy makes a country developed….all it ultimately does is overburden the healthcare system,…just like the US.

38. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Well Well and Consequences

There must be a geopolitical perspective on a Person of Interest in these Caribbean banana republics for there to be any concerted effort to interdict against a corrupt west indian politician.

When Lashes was detained there for not declaring the US$ above their US$10K limit it was not something that they were interested in OR HE WOULD HAVE BEEN CHARGED!!

Jack Warner is a Person of Interest since he is part of the Football Cabal and such s of economic interest to the USofA.

Unless it will usurp a budding US economic interest, unless it will dislodge a competing drug cartel, sorry a covert drug cartel unless is is promoting a contra-US interest in domestic or global affairs, it will not attract US interest. barring some “sprats” and tokens of “we really dont give a sh*te but…”

@ Caswell.

The “stoopid cartoon” poster is a template.

What is the issue?

Who is involved?

Where did it or is it happening?

When did it happen and what is its current status?

Why is it and issue?

The mere exposure of the article{s) will lead into the last query “How can we stop this?”

You are a facts man.

Everything that you post here is facts, you are a grand master who understands what serious trouble using your own real real name, and untruths, can get you into

The concept here is quite simple for those instances that you and others know to be true we start to publicize what they are doing or, have done, and as long as it is (a) in the Court Registry and (b) can be substantiated by incontrovertible documents which safeguard BU, PUBLISH IT!!

The dynamics of Self Preservation will quickly engage and as an anti corruption deterrent, quickly engender honesty and transparency

39. @Caswell … Who is the official that “sorted” out the “canvasser” by getting the Chief Marshall to not find his man?

40. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Honourable Blogmaster

Me Grandson was researching Transparency International earlier and came accross this article

http://www.transparencyinternational.eu/2016/02/how-to-install-lobbycal/

While it is somewhat a stretch to your core model, given that it is Transparency International whose focus is oriented towards many of the issues that we are dealing with here in Barbados, it might be an item that you could give some consideration to.

Nonetheless you have told others before I particularly remember that you spoke to SSS recently on this, that while you were not adverse to “collaborations” there were certain considerations regarding HR and or associated costs and time to maintain siad initiativesIt might be possible to have their blog like a RSS feed with a smalll interactive element of their site devoted to airing local Corruption issues in Europe.

Bajan Politicians, both DLP and BLP doan like to get embarrassed in international settings.

Shame and Blame and some anonymous posters does do a thing or two, in the right circles

41. Thank you, Pieces for the above post. It might be difficult for David to get involved with this and maintain his essential anonymity. Caswell, Heather or Kammie or all 3 would be the ideal people to spearhead a chapter of TI in Barbados. I have been assured that the Trinidad chapter would be willing to help in many ways including financially.

42. Here are the steps in setting up a chapter of Transparency International:

https://www.transparency.org/files/content/ouraccountability/2014_TI_NCAccreditationIMAppointmentPolicy.pdf

43. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Old Baje

I was intrigued by the suggestion about forming a chapter of Transparency International and I started to check. I could be wrong but there’s a chapter in B’dos already.

44. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

105 The River’s photo.
    105 The River
    16 November 2013 ยท

Priceless.

https://www.facebook.com/jeffrey.merritt.100/posts/1451990538151795

45. Disgusted Voter Avatar
    Disgusted Voter

Trinidad is very keen and assisting in the setup of a local chapter. @Caswel. Barriteau from UWI and some others had discussion but got cold feet it seems or just could not be bothered.

46. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/zFZM3027fRD

Piece…looks like NYC officials have been seeing your posters..lol

Set up the Transparency International Chapter in Bim, join the Chapters….make it international, there are protections for international movements….speak to an attorney in international law.

Trinidad would have some good ones.

47. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“When Lashes was detained there for not declaring the US$ above their US$10K limit it was not something that they were interested in OR HE WOULD HAVE BEEN CHARGED!!

Jack Warner is a Person of Interest since he is part of the Football Cabal and such s of economic interest to the USofA.”

Not as long as they hold diplomatic passports…. Piece

Kamla had to fire Jack, get the diplomatic passport out if his hand, of course international pressure had to be applied…it’s only after that there was an arrest, now an interpol red notice on Warner, it takes steps and time..

Re…Lashley, what missed him ain’t pass him. With enough pressure and exposure, the leaders in Barbados who refuse to stop their bribery and corruption again people and country…will be caught in their own rat trap….it takes perseverance, time and determination.

48. @ old Baje

Yesssss I understand that thing called essential anonymity.

The Honourable Blogmaster hath indeed been very true to that precept here and elsewhere.

We the nom de plumes need to hide behind this anonymity because good men fear the long arm of the unlawful and the corrupt.

Baje, I’d asked this earlier in another blog, what is Heather s last Name?

Is Cole her maiden name ? or married name?

Maybe Caswell and Kammie would entertain the Transparency International initiative if it remains open.

The thing about such mandates is that if the parties who agitate for such status are themselves part of the status quo and non transparent cadre, then it is a futile exercise in pretending to out the fire with gasoline

There has to be “heart” and “skin in the game” we are not speaking Angela Davis but to appoint sloths or another Ombudsman like *** to the TI would be a veritable waste

@ Caswell

I’ll be yah Huckleberry!

If you are interested

49. @ Caswell

I am pretty sure that Barbados does not yet have a chapter of TI.
    Please go to https://www.transparency.org/whoweare/contact and click on TRANSPARENCY INTERNATIONAL WHERE YOU ARE then click on SELECT COUNTRY. Guyana, Jamaica and Trinidad come up but not Barbados.

Call an exploratory meeting. I will be there.

50. In addition to FOI and integrity legislation we sorely need whistle blower legislation. If any civil servant in barbados went to the police with evidence of corruption they would be prosecuted for violating the Official Secrets Act (an iniquitous piece of legislation if ever there was one).

@ Pacha
    There ARE some good things we can copy from the albinos